#### **DISCIPLINARY ACTION REPORT**

NASHVILLE, Tenn. -- Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 68-1-114 requires the Tennessee Department of Health to issue a monthly media release listing all disciplinary actions taken by the health related boards during the prior month. Below is a list of actions taken in December 2020. information about disciplinary actions is available our website Detailed on https://apps.health.tn.gov/Licensure/default.aspx. Enter the name of the person. When the license information comes up, click either "disciplinary action" or "adverse licensure action" in the right column.

## **BOARD OF EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES**

Licensee: Bradley Romaine Abram, AEMT, Memphis, Tennessee

Violation: Engaging in acts of dishonesty which relate to the practice of emergency

medical care. Performing or attempting emergency care techniques or

procedures without proper permissions, license, certification, training, medical

direction, or otherwise engaging in unethical practices or conduct;

Action: License suspended for 6 months then to be placed on probation for 3 years;

obtain 4 hours of ethics training

Licensee: Jeremy McNeal, Paramedic, Memphis, Tennessee

Violation: Failure of random drug screen; Habitual intoxication or personal misuse of any

drugs or the use of intoxicating liquors, narcotics, controlled substances, controlled substance analogues or other drugs or stimulants in such manner as to adversely affect the delivery, performance or activities in the care of the

patients requiring medical care

Action: License suspended until evaluation by TnPAP, follow recommendations by

TnPAP; license then placed on probation for no less than 3 years.

# **BOARD OF MASSAGE LICENSURE**

Licensee: Lacy Summer Baggett, LMT, Clarksville, Tennessee

Violation: Failed to properly maintain sufficient continuing education credits

Action: Agreed Citation: must obtain 12 hours of continuing education plus an additional

6 penalty hours of continuing education before the end of the current 2 year

continuing education period; assessed civil penalty of \$450.00

\*Late submission from November, 2020

Licensee: Jeremy Kevin Bellamy, LMT, Kingsport, Tennessee

Violation: Failed to timely renew license and practiced massage duties on a lapsed

license.

Action: Agreed Citation; assessed civil penalty of \$200.00

\*Late submission from November, 2020

Licensee: Kimberly Irene Bizub LMT, Crosby, Tennessee

Violation: Failed to properly maintain sufficient continuing education credits

Action: Agreed Citation; must obtain 5 hours of continuing education plus an additional

6 penalty hours of continuing education before the end of the current 2 year

continuing education period; assessed civil penalty of \$275.00

#### \*Late submission from November, 2020

Licensee: Amanda Juliene Clifford, LMT, Seymour, Tennessee

Violation: Failed to timely renew license and practiced massage duties on a lapsed

license.

Action: Agreed Citation; assessed civil penalty of \$300.00

#### \*Late submission from November, 2020

Licensee: Shelisa Faye Doran, LMT, Nashville, Tennessee

Violation: Failed to properly maintain sufficient continuing education credits

Action: Agreed Citation; must obtain11 hours of continuing education plus an additional

6 penalty hours of continuing education before the end of the current 2 year

continuing education period; assessed civil penalty of \$425.00

#### \*Late submission from November, 2020

Licensee: Allison Diane Keesee, LMT, Kingsport, Tennessee

Violation: Failed to properly maintain sufficient continuing education credits

Action: Agreed Citation; must obtain 4 hours of continuing education plus an additional

6 penalty hours of continuing education before the end of the current 2 year

continuing education period; assessed civil penalty of \$250.00

#### \*Late submission from November, 2020

Licensee: Grace Danielle Lewis, LMT, Newport, Tennessee

Violation: Failed to properly maintain sufficient continuing education credits

Action: Agreed Citation; must obtain 6 hours of continuing education plus an additional

6 penalty hours of continuing education before the end of the current 2 year

continuing education period; assessed civil penalty of \$300.00

### \*Late submission from November, 2020

Licensee: McCarter Massage & Bodywork, Establishment, Greeneville, Tennessee Violation: Failed to timely renew license and practiced massage duties on a lapsed

license.

Action: Agreed Citation; assessed civil penalty of \$200.00

#### \*Late submission from November, 2020

Licensee: Shannon Jean McElhose, LMT, Knoxville, Tennessee

Violation: Failed to properly maintain sufficient continuing education credits

Action: Agreed Citation; must obtain 9 hours of continuing education plus an additional

6 penalty hours of continuing education before the end of the current 2 year

continuing education period; assessed civil penalty of \$375.00

#### \*Late submission from November, 2020

Licensee: Sue Ann Medcalf, LMT, Walland, Tennessee

Violation: Failed to properly maintain sufficient continuing education credits

Action: Agreed Citation; must obtain 4 hours of continuing education plus an additional

6 penalty hours of continuing education before the end of the current 2 year

continuing education period; assessed civil penalty of \$250.00

#### \*Late submission from November, 2020

Licensee: Megan Enderle White Michael, LMT, Nashville, Tennessee Violation: Failed to properly maintain sufficient continuing education credits

Action: Agreed Citation; must obtain 17 hours of continuing education plus an additional

6 penalty hours of continuing education before the end of the current 2 year

continuing education period; assessed civil penalty of \$575.00

\*Late submission from November, 2020

Licensee: Revive Day Spa, Establishment, Savannah, Tennessee

Violation: Guilty of operating as a massage establishment without a license. Action: Conditional License granted; assessed civil penalty of \$250.00

\*Late submission from August, 2020

Licensee: SOzen Therapy, Establishment, Kingsport, Tennessee

Violation: Failed to timely renew license and practiced massage duties on a lapsed

license.

Action: Agreed Citation; assessed civil penalty of \$200.00

\*Late submission from November, 2020

#### **BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS' COMMITTEE ON PHYSICIAN ASSISTANTS**

Licensee: Lisa Anne Wilson Gressel, PA, Tullahoma, Tennessee

Violation: Guilty of unprofessional conduct; Dispensing, prescribing, or otherwise

distributing any controlled substance or any other drug not in the course of professional practice, or not in good faith to relieve pain and suffering, or not to

cure an ailment, physical infirmity or disease.

Action: License placed on probation for 12 months; successfully complete courses

entitled "Prescribing Controlled Drugs" and "Intensive Course in Medical Record Keeping;" assessed civil penalty of \$4,000.00 plus the costs of prosecuting this

case.

\*Late entry from October, 2020

# **BOARD OF PHARMACY**

Licensee: Robert B. Clevenger, D.Ph., Charlotte, North Carolina

Violation: Failed to comply with a...duly promulgated rule of the board...it is unlawful for

any individual to engage in the practice of pharmacy unless currently licensed or otherwise authorized... No licensee may obtain, possess, administer, dispense, distribute or manufacture any controlled substance in this state and no representative of a manufacturer or wholesaler/distributor may distribute any controlled substance in this state, without obtaining a controlled substance registration from the board. Application for such registration shall be submitted on a form prescribed by the board and shall be accompanied by a fee of \$40.00 and thereafter a biennial renewal fee of \$40.00. A pharmacist may compound and dispense prescription drugs and devices and related materials only in a pharmacy practice site which is duly licensed by the Board and which operates in compliance with Tennessee and federal laws and rules governing the practice of pharmacy. The practice of the knowledge skills of pharmacy is not pharmacy practice pharmacy must be licensed by the Board. Upon request, the Board may waive selected portions of these requirements so long as any waiver granted is

consistent with the Board's authority under Tenn. Code Ann. Title 63. Chapters 1 and 10, and Tenn. Code Ann. Title 4, Chapter 5; The data required by this part shall be submitted in compliance with this part to the database by any healthcare practitioner who dispenses a controlled substance contained in Schedules II, III, and IV, and Schedule V controlled substances identified by the committee as demonstrating a potential for abuse, or by any healthcare practitioner delegate who is designated to submit data on a healthcare practitioner's behalf; Each healthcare practitioner or healthcare practitioner's agent shall, regarding each controlled substance dispensed, submit to the database all of the following information[.] Every person who manufactures, distributes, dispenses, or is a third-party logistics provider for any controlled substance pursuant to Sec. 53-11-301 within this state or who proposes to engage in the manufacture, distribution, dispensing, warehousing, or providing logistics services for any controlled substance within this state, shall annually obtain a registration issued by the board of pharmacy and the appropriate occupational or professional licensing board governing persons who may legally dispense controlled substances in accordance with the licensing board's rules; Engaged in conduct prohibited or made unlawful by any of the provisions of parts 2-5 of this chapter or any other laws of the state or of the United States relating to drugs or to the practice of pharmacy

Action: Assessed civil penalty of \$4,500.00

Licensee: Daniel M. France, D.Ph. Dowelltown, Tennessee

Violation: Failure to conduct proper patient counseling and a proper Drug Regimen

Review for this prescription. Failed to comply with a lawful order or duly

promulgated rule of the board.

Action: License reprimanded

Licensee: Sabrina Gilliam, RT, Manchester, Tennessee

Violation: Guilty of drug diversion. It is unlawful for any person, firm or corporation to

possess, sell, barter or give away any drug known as legend drugs, as defined in Sec. 53-10-101, except upon the written prescription of a duly licensed physician, certified physician's assistant, nurse authorized pursuant to Sec. 63-6-204 or Sec. 63-9-113, who is rendering service under the supervision, control and responsibility of a licensed physician, and who meets the requirements pursuant to 63-7-123, a dentist, an optometrist authorized pursuant to Sec. 63-8-102(12), or a veterinarian, and compounded or dispensed by a duly registered pharmacist. It is unlawful for any person, firm or corporation to obtain or attempt to obtain a legend drug, or to procure to attempt to procure the administration of a legend drug, by fraud, deceit, misrepresentation, subterfuge, forgery, alteration of a prescription, by the concealment of a material fact, or by the use of a false name or address. It is unlawful for any person to have in such person's possession, any drug herein defined or enumerated, without the same having been prescribed by a duly licensed physician, certified physician assistant, dentist, optometrist authorized pursuant to Sec. 63-8-102(12), or veterinarian, and having been dispensed by a pharmacy duly licensed and registered in this state, unless such person was a resident of another state and had the prescription therefore filled by a duly licensed and registered pharmacist of such other state. It is unlawful for any person knowingly or intentionally to: Acquire or obtain, or attempt to acquire or attempt to obtain, possession of a

controlled substance by misrepresentation, fraud, forgery, deception or

subterfuge; Engaging in conduct prohibited or made unlawful by any of the provisions of parts 2-5 of this chapter or any other laws of the state or of the United States relating to drugs or to the practice of pharmacy; Been guilty of

dishonorable, immoral, unethical or unprofessional conduct.

Action: License voluntarily surrendered

Licensee: Morris Haddox, III, D.Ph., Madison, Tennessee

Violation: Failed to timely renew license. A pharmacist seeking active status for an

inactive, delinquent, suspended or revoked license must fulfill the following minimum requirements. If the license has been inactive, delinquent, suspended or revoked for less than one year, the pharmacist shall provide written notice to the board requesting an active license and provide all cumulative license renewal fees and any applicable penalty fees for the period during which the

license was inactive, delinquent, suspended or revoked.

Action: Assessed civil penalty of \$250.00

Licensee: Alexis Hall, RT, Johnson City, Tennessee

Violation: Guilty of drug diversion. Been guilty of dishonorable, immoral, unethical or

unprofessional conduct. It is unlawful for any person, firm or corporation to possess, sell, barter or give away any drug known as legend drugs, as defined in Sec. 53-10-101, except upon the written prescription of a duly licensed physician, certified physician's assistant, nurse authorized pursuant to Sec. 63-6-204 or Sec. 63-9-113, who is rendering service under the supervision, control and responsibility of a licensed physician, and who meets the requirements pursuant to Sec. 63-7-123, a dentist, an optometrist authorized pursuant to 63-8-102(12), or a veterinarian, and compounded or dispensed by a duly registered pharmacist. It is unlawful for any person, firm or corporation to obtain or attempt to obtain a legend drug, or to procure to attempt to procure the administration of

a legend drug, by fraud, deceit, misrepresentation, subterfuge, forgery,

alteration of a prescription, by the concealment of a material fact, or by the use

of a false name or address. It is unlawful for any person to have in such

person's possession, any drug herein defined or enumerated, without the same having been prescribed by a duly licensed physician, certified physician assistant, dentist, optometrist authorized pursuant to Sec. 63-8-102(12), or

veterinarian, and having been dispensed by a pharmacy duly licensed and registered in this state, unless such person was a resident of another state and had the prescription therefore filled by a duly licensed and registered pharmacist of such other state. Acquire or obtain, or attempt to acquire or attempt to obtain,

possession of a controlled substance by misrepresentation, fraud, forgery,

deception or subterfuge.

Action: License voluntarily surrendered.

Licensee: Christopher Reed Helms, D.Ph., Clinton, Tennessee

Violation: Failure to comply with a lawful order or duly promulgated rule of the board. The

pharmacy practice site and equipment therein shall be maintained in a clean, sanitary, orderly and well-lighted condition, and all persons working in the pharmacy practice site shall be required to keep themselves and their apparel in a clean and sanitary condition. Any person acting as a pharmacy technician shall register with the Board by submitting a complete application on a form prescribed by the Board accompanied by the following: An affidavit signed by both the applicant and employer attesting that the applicant has read and

understands the laws and rules relative to pharmacy technicians and the practice of pharmacy in Tennessee. (A copy of this affidavit shall be retained at the applicant's place of employment) Pharmacy technicians must wear appropriate identification showing name and appropriate title. Upon receipt of a medical or prescription order and following a review of the patient's record, a pharmacist shall personally counsel the patient or caregiver "face-to-face" if the patient or caregiver is present. If the patient or caregiver is not present, a pharmacist shall make a reasonable effort to counsel through alternative means. As a necessary health care provider, pharmacists shall...develop a working and collaborative relationship with licensed practitioners to enable the pharmacist to accomplish comprehensive management of a patient's pharmacy related care and to enhance a patient's wellness, quality of life and optimize outcomes. Each medical and prescription order when dispensed shall be serially numbered, filed numerically and maintained so as to be readily retrievable at the pharmacy practice site for at least 2 years from the date the medical prescription order was last dispensed. Institutional pharmacies shall not be required to serially number medical and prescription orders dispensed for administration to inpatients of that institution. It is permissible for any pharmacy practice site, pharmacist, or pharmacy intern or pharmacy technician under the supervision of a pharmacist, or any other place of business engaged in compounding and dispensing prescription drugs and devices and related materials for human consumption to receive from any patient or other person the return of any portion of an order that has been taken from the premises of the pharmacy practice site or other place of business, only if authorized: Pursuant to Tennessee Board of Pharmacy rule 1140-04-.10; or for the purpose of collection for disposal or destruction of any prescription drug; provided that participation in the program shall be voluntary, and such collection and destruction shall be conducted in accordance with the provisions of 21 CFR Sec. 1317.

Action:

License reprimanded; assessed the costs of investigations in connection with the prosecution of this matter.

Licensee: Violation:

Kenneth Horner, D.Ph., McKenzie, Tennessee

Guilty of prescribing for self and immediate family. It is unlawful for any person, firm or corporation to possess, sell, barter or give away any drug known as legend drugs, as defined in Sec. 53-10-101, except upon the written prescription of a duly licensed physician, certified physician's assistant, nurse authorized pursuant to Sec. 63-6-204 or Sec. 63-9-113, who is rendering service under the supervision, control and responsibility of a licensed physician, and who meets the requirements pursuant to Sec. 63-7-123, a dentist an optometrist authorized pursuant to Sec. 63-8-102(12), or a veterinarian, and compounded or dispensed by a duly registered pharmacist. It is unlawful for any person, firm or corporation to obtain or attempt to obtain a legend drug, or to procure to attempt to procure the administration of legend drug, by fraud, deceit, misrepresentation, subterfuge, forgery, alteration of a prescription, by the concealment of a material fact, or by the use of a false name or address. It is unlawful for any person to have in such person's possession, any drug herein defined or enumerated, without the same having been prescribed by a duly licensed physician, certified physician assistant, dentist, optometrist authorized pursuant to Sec. 63-8-102(12), or veterinarian, and having been dispensed by a pharmacy duly licensed and registered in this state, unless such person was a resident of another state and had the prescription therefore filled by a duly licensed and

registered pharmacist of such other state. It is unlawful for any person knowingly or intentionally to: Acquire or obtain, or attempt to acquire or attempt to obtain possession of a controlled substance by misrepresentation, fraud forgery, deception or subterfuge. It is unlawful for any personal knowingly or intentionally to acquire or obtain, or attempt to acquire or obtain, possession of a controlled substance by misrepresentation, fraud, forgery, deception, or subterfuge or in violation of Sec. 39-14-150. A violation of this section shall be deemed the offense of prescription drug fraud. Engaging in conduct prohibited or made unlawful by any of the provisions of parts 2-5 of this chapter or any other laws of the state or of the United States relating to drugs or to the practice of pharmacy. Been guilty of dishonorable, immoral, unethical or unprofessional conduct.

Action: License is reprimanded.

Licensee: Violation:

Marley Drug, Inc., Pharmacy, Winston Salem, North Carolina Guilty of dispensing prescriptions into the state of Tennessee without proper licensure; pharmacist dispensing prescriptions without a license to practice in the State of Tennessee; and failure to report controlled substances to the Tennessee's Controlled Substance Monitoring Database. Each healthcare practitioner or healthcare practitioner's agent shall, regarding each controlled substance dispensed, submit to the database all...information. Every person who manufactures, distributes, dispenses, or is a third-part logistics provider for any controlled substance pursuant to Sec. 53-11-301 within this state or who proposes to engage in the manufacture, distribution, dispensing, warehousing, or providing logistics services for any controlled substance within this state, shall annually obtain a registration issued by the board of pharmacy and the appropriate occupational or professional licensing board governing persons who may legally dispense controlled substances in accordance with the licensing board's rules. A pharmacy that dispenses and mails a prescription into Tennessee from another state shall first pay the licensure fee required of a Tennessee pharmacy in accordance with the fees established by the board under the authority of Sec. 63-10-308. The license fees for out-of-state pharmacies and pharmacists shall not exceed those charged to Tennessee pharmacies and pharmacists. Engaged in conduct prohibited or made unlawful by any of the provisions of parts 2-5 of this chapter or any other laws of the state or of the Unites States relating to drugs or to the practice of pharmacy. No outof-state pharmacy practice site, manufacturer outsourcing facility, oxygen supplier or wholesaler/distributor shall conduct business in the state of Tennessee until such pharmacy practice site, manufacturer, outsourcing facility, oxygen supplier or wholesaler/distributor obtains the required license from the board. In order to obtain a license for a pharmacy practice site, manufacturer, outsourcing facility, oxygen supplier or wholesaler/distributor physically located out-of-state the following standards must be met. No license may obtain, possess, administer, dispense, distribute, or manufacture any controlled substance in this state, and no representative of a manufacture or wholesaler/distributor may distribute any controlled substance in this state, without obtaining a controlled substance registration from the board. A pharmacist may compound and dispense prescription drugs and devices and related materials only in a pharmacy practice site which is duly licensed by the Board and which operates in compliance with Tennessee and federal laws and rules governing the practice of pharmacy. The practice of the knowledge skills of pharmacy is not pharmacy practice site dependent. However, any person practicing any aspect of the art and science of pharmacy must be licensed by the Board. Upon request, the Board may waive selected portions of these requirements so long as any waiver granted is consistent with the Board's authority under T.C.A. Title 63, Chapters 1 and 10, and T.C.A. Title 4, Chapter 5. Medical and prescription orders cannot be accepted, solicited, collected or advertised at any location other than a pharmacy practice site for which a license has been issued by the Board, and such pharmacy practice site shall be actively engaged in compounding and dispensing medical and prescription orders. An entity or other non-licensed site which does not dispense drugs directly to patients may accept, solicit, and collect prescriptions for the purpose of medication therapy management or other consultative services related to drug therapy and patient care.

Action:

License suspended for 30 days; suspension stayed and license is placed on probation for 2 years; assessed civil penalty of \$75,500.00

Licensee: Violation:

Alex S. Owens, RT, Johnson City, Tennessee

Guilty of drug diversion. Been guilty of dishonorable, immoral, unethical or unprofessional conduct. It is unlawful for any person, firm or corporation to possess, sell, barter or give away any drug known as legend drugs, as defined in Sec. 53-10-101, except upon the written prescription of a duly licensed physician, certified physician's assistant, nurse authorized pursuant to Sec. 63-6-204 or Sec. 63-9-113, who is rendering service under the supervision, control and responsibility of a licensed physician, and who meets the requirements pursuant to Sec. 63-7-123, a dentist, an optometrist authorized pursuant to 63-8-102(12), or a veterinarian, and compounded or dispensed by a duly registered pharmacist. It is unlawful for any person, firm or corporation to obtain or attempt to obtain a legend drug, or to procure to attempt to procure the administration of a legend drug, by fraud, deceit, misrepresentation, subterfuge, forgery, alteration of a prescription, by the concealment of a material fact, or by the use of a false name or address. It is unlawful for any person to have in such person's possession, any drug herein defined or enumerated, without the same having been prescribed by a duly licensed physician, certified physician assistant, dentist, optometrist authorized pursuant to Sec. 63-8-102(12), or veterinarian, and having been dispensed by a pharmacy duly licensed and registered in this state, unless such person was a resident of another state and had the prescription therefore filled by a duly licensed and registered pharmacist of such other state. Acquire or obtain, or attempt to acquire or attempt to obtain. possession of a controlled substance by misrepresentation, fraud, forgery, deception or subterfuge.

Action:

License is revoked; assessed costs of prosecuting this case

Licensee: Violation:

Jessica Phipps, D.Ph., Lebanon, Virginia

Failed to offer counseling on prescriptions. Failed to comply with a... duly promulgated rule of the board. Upon the receipt of a medical or prescription order and following a review of the patient's record, a pharmacist shall personally counsel the patient or caregiver "face-to-face" if the patient or caregiver is present. If the patient or caregiver is not present, a pharmacist shall make a reasonable effort to counsel through alternative means. Upon the receipt of a request for a refill of a medical or prescription order, a pharmacist or

a person designated by the pharmacist shall offer for the pharmacist to

personally counsel the patient or caregiver. Counseling as described above is not required unless requested by the patient or deemed necessary in the

professional judgment of the pharmacist.

Action: Assessed civil penalty of \$1,000.00

Licensee: Brittany Erin Pugh, RT, Finger, Tennessee

Violation: Guilty of drug diversion. Been guilty of dishonorable, immoral, unethical or

unprofessional conduct. It is unlawful for any person, firm or corporation to possess, sell, barter or give away any drug known as legend drugs, as defined in TCA Sec. 53-10-101, except upon the written prescription of a duly licensed physician, certified physician's assistant, nurse authorized pursuant to TCA Sec. 63-6-204 or Sec. 63-9-113, who is rendering service under the supervision,

control and responsibility of a licensed physician, and who meets the

requirements pursuant to Sec. 63-8-102(12), or a veterinarian, and compounded or dispenses by a duly registered pharmacist. It is unlawful for any person, firm or corporation to obtain or attempt to obtain a legend drug, or to procure to attempt to procure the administration of a legend drug, or to procure to attempt

to procure the administration of a legend drug, by fraud, deceit,

misrepresentation, subterfuge, forgery, alteration of a prescription, by the concealment of a material fact, or by the use of a false name or address. It is unlawful for any person to have in such person's possession, any drug herein defined or enumerated, without the same having been prescribed by a duly licensed physician, certified physician assistant, dentist, optometrist authorized pursuant to Sec. 63-8-102(12), or veterinarian, and having been dispensed by a pharmacy duly licensed and registered in this state, unless such person was a resident of another state and had the prescription therefore filled by a fully licensed and registered pharmacist of such other state. It is unlawful for any person knowingly or intentionally to acquire or obtain, or attempt to acquire or attempt to obtain, possession of a controlled substance by misrepresentation,

fraud, forgery, deception or subterfuge.

Action: License revoked; assessed costs incurred in the prosecution of this case.

Licensee: Phillip R. Reed, D.Ph., Johnson City, Tennessee

Violation: Failed to provide effective controls and procedures to guard against theft and

diversion of controlled substances. Every registrant required to keep records pursuant to Sec. 1304.03 shall maintain, on a current basis, a complete and accurate record of each substance manufactured, imported, received, sold, delivered, exported, or otherwise disposed of by him/her, and each inner liner, sealed inner liner, and unused and returned mail-back package, except that no registrant shall be required to maintain a perpetual inventory. Failed to comply with a... duly promulgated rule of the Board. A pharmacist shall, by utilizing education, skill, experience, and professional judgment, make every reasonable

effort to prevent the abuse of drugs which the pharmacist dispenses.

License reprimanded; conduct a monthly audit of oxycodone 30 mg and

amphetamine 30mg and send a copy of each audit to the Board's executive director. Every 90 days for a total of one year from the date of ratification conduct an audit of 10% of the total NDC numbers listed in most recent Controlled Substance Inventory Log and send a copy of each audit to the Board's executive director. Assessed the actual and reasonable costs of

prosecuting this case.

Action:

Licensee: Reed's Pharmacy, Inc., Johnson City, Tennessee

Violation: Failed to provide effective controls and procedures to guard against theft and

diversion of controlled substances. Every registrant required to keep records pursuant to Sec. 1304.03 shall maintain, on a current basis, a complete and accurate record of each substance manufactured, imported, received, sold, delivered, exported, or otherwise disposed of by him/her, and each inner liner, sealed inner liner, and unused and returned mail-back package, except that no registrant shall be required to maintain a perpetual inventory. Failed to comply with a... duly promulgated rule of the Board. A pharmacist shall, by utilizing education, skill, experience, and professional judgment, make every reasonable

effort to prevent the abuse of drugs which the pharmacist dispenses.

Action: License reprimanded; conduct a monthly audit of oxycodone 30 mg and

amphetamine 30mg and send a copy of each audit to the Board's executive director. Every 90 days for a total of one year from the date of ratification conduct an audit of 10% of the total NDC numbers listed in most recent Controlled Substance Inventory Log and send a copy of each audit to the Board's executive director. Assessed the actual and reasonable costs of

prosecuting this case.

Licensee: Cindy Ann Riggs, R.T., Dyersburg, Tennessee

Violation: Guilty of theft of property and been guilty of dishonorable, immoral, unethical or

unprofessional conduct to wit: A person commits theft of property if, with intent to deprive the owner of property, the person knowingly obtains or exercises

control over the property without the owner's effective consent.

Action: License suspended for 90 days, suspension stayed and placed on probation for

90 days

Licensee: VGM Group, Inc., Nashville, Tennessee

Violation: Failed to be properly licensed in the State of Tennessee. Before any 3PL

provides or coordinates warehousing or other logistics services within this state for a prescription drug and/or prescription device on behalf of a manufacturer, wholesale distributor, or dispenser the 3PL shall be licensed by the Board in accordance with this Chapter whether physically located within this state or outside this state. Where operations are conducted at more than one location, each such location shall be licensed by the Board. A warehouse provided by a 3PL shall be inspected by the Board's inspector(s) or inspectors of the state

where the warehouse is physically located prior to providing services.

Action: Assessed civil penalty of \$1,200.00

Licensee: Walgreens, Pharmacy, Clarksville, Tennessee

Violation: Failed to comply with a... duly promulgated rule of the board. It shall be the

responsibility of the person, partnership, firm, or corporation holding a pharmacy

practice site license...to notify the board immediately of the resignation, removal, or death of the pharmacist in charge named in the application for license. The notice...shall contain the name and signature of the outgoing pharmacists in charge; the effective date of the appointment of the new

pharmacist in charge; the name and signature of the pharmacist in charge; and

the name and address of pharmacy practice site.

Action: Assessed civil penalty of \$900.00.

Licensee: Walgreens, Pharmacy, Johnson City, Tennessee

Violation: Failed to comply with a... duly promulgated rule of the board. Upon the receipt

of a medical or prescription order and following a review of the patient's record, a pharmacist shall personally counsel the patient or caregiver "face-to-face" if the patient or caregiver is present. If the patient or caregiver is not present, a pharmacist shall make a reasonable effort to counsel through alternative means. Upon the receipt of a request for a refill of a medical or prescription order, a pharmacist or a person designated by the pharmacist shall offer for the pharmacist to personally counsel the patient or caregiver. Counseling as described above is not required unless requested by the patient or deemed

necessary in the professional judgment of the pharmacist.

Action: Assessed civil penalty of \$1,000.00 and submit an acceptable Corrective Action

Plan.

Licensee: Violation: Wesscare Home Medical, LLC, Wholesale/Distribution, Savannah, Tennessee Failed to comply with a... duly promulgated rule of the board. All licenses and certificates of registration shall be renewed on or before the last day of the 2 year license cycle. Every manufacturer, outsourcing facility, oxygen supplier or wholesaler/distributor, before engaging in the manufacture, sale or distribution of prescription drugs and prescription devices in this state, must be licensed by the Board in accordance with this chapter. All facilities shall be equipped with a security system that will provide suitable protection against theft and diversion. When appropriate, the security system shall provide protection against theft or diversion that is facilitated or hidden by tampering with computers or electronic records. Appropriate manual, electromechanical, or electronic temperature and humidity recording equipment, devices, and/or logs shall be utilized to document proper storage of prescription drugs and prescription devices. Manufacturers, outsourcing facilities, oxygen suppliers and wholesalers/distributors shall establish and maintain inventories and records of all transactions regarding the receipt and distribution or other disposition of prescription drugs and prescription devices. These records shall include the following information: 1. The source of the prescription drugs and prescription devices including the name and principal address of the seller or transferor, and the address of the location from which the prescription drugs and prescription devices were shipped; 2. The identity and quantity of the prescription drugs and prescription devices received and distributed or disposed of; and 3. The dates of receipt and distribution or other disposition of the prescription drugs ad prescription devices. Written policies and procedures. Manufacturers, outsourcing facilities, oxygen suppliers and wholesalers/distributors shall establish, maintain and adhere to written policies and procedures, which shall be followed for the receipt, security, storage, inventory and distribution of prescription drugs and prescription devices: including policies and procedures for identifying, recording, and reporting losses or thefts, and for correcting all errors and inaccuracies in inventories.

Manufacturers, outsourcing facilities, oxygen suppliers and

wholesalers/distributors shall include in written policies and procedures the

following[.]

Action: Assessed civil penalty of \$800.00

Licensee: Daija A'Yanna Woods, RT, Greenbrier, Tennessee

Violation: Guilty of dishonorable, immoral, unethical or unprofessional conduct; drug

diversion. It is unlawful for any person, firm or corporation to possess, sell,

barter or give away any drug known as legend drugs, as defined in sec. 53-10-101, except upon the written prescription of a duly licensed physician, certified physician's assistant, nurse authorized pursuant to Sec. 63-6-204 or Sec. 63-9-113, who is rendering service under the supervision, control and responsibility of a licensed physician, and who meets the requirements pursuant to Sec. 63-7-123, a dentist, an optometrist authorized pursuant to Sec. 63-8-102(12), or veterinarian, and compounded or dispensed by a duly registered pharmacist. It is unlawful for any person, firm or corporation to obtain or attempt to obtain a legend drug, or to procure to attempt to procure the administration of a legend drug, by fraud, deceit, misrepresentation, subterfuge, forgery, alteration of a prescription, by the concealment of a material fact, or by the use of a false name or address. It is unlawful for any person to have in such person's possession, any drug herein defined or enumerated, without the same having been prescribed by a duly licensed physician, certified physician assistant, dentist, optometrist authorized pursuant to Sec. 63-8-102(12), or veterinarian, having been dispensed by a pharmacy duly licensed and registered in this state, unless such person was a resident of another state and had the prescription therefore filled by a duly licensed and registered pharmacist of such other state. It is unlawful for any person knowingly or intentionally to acquire or obtain, or attempt to acquire or attempt to obtain, possession of a controlled substance by misrepresentation, fraud, forgery, deception or subterfuge. Engaging in conduct prohibited or made unlawful by any of the provisions of parts 2-5 of this chapter or any other laws of the state or of the United States relating to drugs or to the practice of pharmacy.

Action: License voluntarily surrender

# BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS, MARITAL AND FAMILY THERAPISTS AND PASTORAL THERAPISTS

Licensee: Jason Adams, LPC/MHSP, Old Hickory, Tennessee

Violation: Guilty of engaging in professional misconduct, unethical or unprofessional

conduct, including but not limited to, willful acts, negligence and conduct likely to

deceive, defraud or harm the public or engaged in such conduct.

Action: License is suspended pending a substance abuse evaluation and a

determination of safe to practice, suspension is stayed and license is placed on probation for 3 years with practice monitoring to run concurrent to probation; assessed civil penalty of \$300 plus the reasonable costs of investigation and

enforcement in this matter.

Licensee: Leah Johansson, Applicant, Nashville, Tennessee

Violation: Guilty of engaging in professional misconduct, unethical or unprofessional

conduct, including, but not limited to, willful acts, negligence and conduct likely to deceive, defraud or harm the public or engaged in such conduct. For an applicant pursuing post-master's professional experience, the place or practice shall not be owned or independently operated by the applicant. An applicant shall not seek a clinical setting or supervisor that is in conflict with the multiple relationships addressed by the American Counseling Association's Code of Ethics. Prior to choosing a clinical setting, if an applicant is uncertain, he or she

shall seek advice about what is considered acceptable from the Board.

Action: License granted and placed on probation for a period of no less than 2 years;

assessed civil penalty of \$4,800.00

Licensee: James McGill, LPC/MHSP, Murfreesboro, Tennessee

Violation: Summary action taken for engaging in professional misconduct, unethical or

unprofessional conduct, including but not limited to, willful acts, negligence and

conduct likely to deceive, defraud or harm the public or engaged in such

conduct.

Action: License restricted; Respondent must have a chaperone present during all client

sessions.

## **BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICAL EXAMINERS**

Licensee: Julia Lane Adams, DVM, Lebanon, Tennessee

Violation: Guilty of conduct reflecting unfavorably upon the profession of veterinary

medicine; conviction of a felony in the courts of this state. Engaging in acts of

dishonesty which relate to the practice of veterinary medicine.

Action: License voluntarily surrendered; assessed with the costs of prosecution of this

case.

Licensee: Berclair Animal Hospital, VFV, Memphis, Tennessee

Violation: Failure to timely renew premises permit license and continued to practice on an

expired license. Any person who owns or operates any veterinary facility, including mobile clinics or any other premises where a licensed veterinarian practices or where the practice of veterinary medicine occurs shall apply for and secure a premises permit from the board prior to the commencement of any services that would subject the provider of those services to licensure under this

chapter. Practicing in a facility without a premises permit.

Action: Assessed civil penalty of \$6,200.00; plus the costs of prosecuting this case.

Licensee: Callahan Drive Animal Hospital, VFV, Knoxville, Tennessee

Violation: Failure to timely renew premises permit license and continued to practice on an

expired license. Any person who owns or operates any veterinary facility, including mobile clinics or any other premises where a licensed veterinarian practices or where the practice of veterinary medicine occurs shall apply for and secure a premises permit from the board prior to the commencement of any services that would subject the provider of those services to licensure under this

chapter. Practicing in a facility without a premises permit.

Action: Assessed civil penalty of \$13,500.00; plus the costs of prosecuting this case.

Licensee: Getwell Animal Hospital, VFV, Memphis, Tennessee

Violation: Failure to timely renew premises permit license and continued to practice on an

expired license. Any person who owns or operates any veterinary facility, including mobile clinics or any other premises where a licensed veterinarian practices or where the practice of veterinary medicine occurs shall apply for and secure a premises permit from the board prior to the commencement of any services that would subject the provider of those services to licensure under this

chapter. Practicing in a facility without a premises permit.

Action: Assessed civil penalty of \$7,000.00; plus the costs of prosecuting this case.

Licensee: The Pets' Hospital – Downtown, VFV, Memphis, Tennessee

Violation: Failure to timely renew premises permit license and continued to practice on an

expired license. Any person who owns or operates any veterinary facility, including mobile clinics or any other premises where a licensed veterinarian practices or where the practice of veterinary medicine occurs shall apply for and secure a premises permit from the board prior to the commencement of any services that would subject the provider of those services to licensure under this

chapter. Practicing in a facility without a premises permit.

Action: Assessed civil penalty of \$2,000.00; plus the costs of prosecuting this case.

Licensee: Walnut Grove Animal Clinic, VFV, Memphis, Tennessee

Violation: Failure to timely renew premises permit license and continued to practice on an

expired license. Any person who owns or operates any veterinary facility, including mobile clinics or any other premises where a licensed veterinarian practices or where the practice of veterinary medicine occurs shall apply for and secure a premises permit from the board prior to the commencement of any services that would subject the provider of those services to licensure under this

chapter. Practicing in a facility without a premises permit.

Action: Assessed civil penalty of \$4,000.00; plus the costs of prosecuting this case.

Licensee: White House Animal Hospital, VFV, White House, Tennessee

Violation: Failure to timely renew premises permit license and continued to practice on an

expired license. Any person who owns or operates any veterinary facility, including mobile clinics or any other premises where a licensed veterinarian practices or where the practice of veterinary medicine occurs shall apply for and secure a premises permit from the board prior to the commencement of any services that would subject the provider of those services to licensure under this

chapter. Practicing in a facility without a premises permit.

Action: Assessed civil penalty of \$15,200.00; plus the costs of prosecuting this case.

Licensee: Timothy A. Williams, DVM, Sharps Chapel, Tennessee

Violation: Failure to timely renew license and practiced on an expired license.

Action: Assessed civil penalty of \$2,100.00; plus the costs of prosecuting this case.

#### **ABUSE REGISTRY**

Name: Jordan Anthony Coleman

Abuse: Drug possession Profession: Unknown/Unlicensed

Name: Cynthia Pearson Abuse: Exploitation

Profession: Unlicensed Caregiver

Name: Eric Scott

Abuse: Misappropriation

Profession: Residential Technicians

Name: Tella Thomas Abuse: Exploitation Profession: **Unlicensed Caregiver** 

Rudolf Otto Thomsen, III Sexual Abuse Name:

Abuse:

Profession: Unknown/Unlicensed