
Disclaimer:  The information provided here is current as of the date of publication but may change as a result of new statutes, regulations, 

or court decisions.  While this notice is intended to be comprehensive, events and situations unanticipated by this notice may occur.  In such 

cases you should contact the department or your tax professional for further guidance. 

A Festival Operator May Obtain an LBD License to 

Sell Alcohol at a Festival 

Tennessee law authorizes a for-profit festival 

operator, or a third-party vendor who has contracted 

with the festival operator, to obtain a liquor-by-the-

drink (LBD) license for sales of alcohol for 

consumption on the premises of a festival that lasts 

up to seven days. The Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage 

Commission (ABC) issues the license for a fee of 

$1,000 per day of the festival.   

Note that because this LBD license is obtained by for-

profit organizations only, it does not affect the special 

occasion licenses that nonprofits can obtain. 

Festival Operator LBD Licensees Must Follow All 

Requirements of LBD Licensees 

Festival operator LBD licensees must follow the same 

legal requirements as all other LBD licensees. These 

requirements include, but are not limited to: 

 Before obtaining a license with the ABC, a

licensee must post a $10,000 indemnity bond,

cash deposit, or bond secured by a certificate

of deposit with the Department.

 Licensees must purchase the alcohol they sell

at a festival from a licensed wholesaler.

 Licensees must register for and pay the 15%

LBD tax on their sales of alcoholic beverages,

as well as collect and remit sales tax on each

drink.  For more information on how to set up

an LBD account, click here.

 Licensees must file LBD returns, which are

due monthly on the 15
th

 day of the month

following the month in which the festival took

place.

 Licensees must file a price schedule of their 
drinks sold with their first LBD return. For 
more information on price schedules, see 
Important Notice 15-15 or click here. Returns 
and price schedules must be filed online 
under the licensee’s TNTAP account.

After the festival is over and the license has expired, 

the licensee may choose to keep its account and bond 

open if it intends to hold regular festivals. Licensees 

who choose to do this must also do the following: 

 After a year and for each subsequent year, the

Department will conduct a bond review and

notify the licensee if the amount should

increase or decrease. The bond amount

should be four times the average monthly tax

liability, but no less than $1,000.

 For any month the licensee does not have a

festival operator license and does not make

sales subject to LBD tax, the licensee should

file a return on the 15
th

 day of each month

indicating zero sales.

 The licensee must file a price schedule

annually, during the month the first return

was filed.

For More Information 

Visit www.tn.gov/revenue.  Click on Revenue Help to 

search for answers or to submit an information 

request to one of our agents. 
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