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MINERAL SEVERANCE TAX RATE CHANGE — PERRY COUNTY

Notice #09-10

Highlights

» Effective
September 1,
2009, the mineral
severance tax rate
changes in Perry
County

» New rate is 10
cents per ton.

'%l References:
T.C.A. 8 67-7-201

Mineral Severance Tax August 2009

INTRODUCTION

This notice is intended to provide taxpayers and the general public with
information concerning a recent change in the mineral severance tax rate in
Perry County, Tennessee.

Effective September 1, 2009, the governing body of Perry County,
Tennessee has increased the mineral severance tax rate to 10 cents
per ton by means of a resolution approved by the county governing
body. The new rate will apply to all sand, chert, sandstone, limestone,
and gravel severed from the ground on or after September 1, 2009, by
persons located in all areas of Perry County, Tennessee.

DISCUSSION

County governing bodies are permitted to establish the rate of mineral
severance tax effective within the county, up to a maximum amount of 15
cents per ton. The governing body of Perry County has passed a resolution
increasing the mineral severance tax rate effective in all areas of Perry County
from 5 cents per ton to a new rate of 10 cents per ton. The mineral severance
tax rate is applicable to the severance of sand, chert, gravel, sandstone, and
limestone.

The information provided here is current as of the date of publication but may change
as a result of new statutes, regulations, or court decisions. While this notice is intended
to be comprehensive, events and situations unanticipated by this notice may occur. In
such cases you should contact the department or your tax professional for further
guidance.

For more tax information, call toll free 1-800-342-1003
Nashville area and out-of-state call (615) 253-0600
Email TN.Revenue@tn.gov






