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News and Stories of the Tennessee Real Estate Appraiser Commission 
 http://tn.gov/commerce/boards/treac/index.shtml  

The Real Estate Appraiser Commission welcomes its newest members, 
Rosemarie Johnson (Paris), Michael Green (Johnson City), Norman Hall 
(Brentwood) and Tim Walton (Collierville).  

The Commission staff wishes to express our sincere appreciation to our 
Commission members whose terms on the Board have recently ended:  

W.R. Flowers, Jr., Marc Headden, Thomas Carter and Najanna Coleman for the 
many years of dedicated service and outstanding leadership in giving voice and 
vision for the past, present and future. You have made an invaluable contribution 
to the Real Estate Appraisal profession. 

Governor Haslam Appoints 4 New Commission Members  
 

AMC Registration in Tennessee 
 On May 26, 2010, former Governor Phil Bredesen signed into law the 
Tennessee Appraisal Management Company Registration and Regulation Act. 
The Act requires that Appraisal Management Companies (AMC’s) acting or 
conducting business in Tennessee to register with the Tennessee Real Estate 
Appraiser Commission. The Act became effective July 1, 2011. The Real 
Estate Appraiser Commission website has applications available at: 
http://tn.gov/commerce/boards/treac/company.shtml  

You can search for licensees at: http://verify.tn.gov/  

The Laws and Rules for AMC’s are posted on the Commission website. For a 
direct link to the rules, click on this link: 
http://www.tn.gov/sos/rules/1255/1255.htm  

Federal Registry Fee Increase Effective January 1, 2012 
 
On October 14, 2010, the Appraisal Subcommittee (ASC) of the Federal 
Financial Institutions Examination Council approved a modification in the 
annual National Registry fee from $25 to $40.  This fee increase will be 
reflected on Tennessee license or certification renewals where the licensee has 
expiration date of January 1, 2012 or later.   
 
On-Line renewals will begin in October 2011 
For those that wish to renew their registration, license or certification on-line 
you will be able to do so by visiting the Tennessee License Renewal Link: 
 https://apps.tn.gov/cirens/  

http://tn.gov/commerce/boards/treac/index.shtml
http://tn.gov/commerce/boards/treac/company.shtml
http://verify.tn.gov/
http://www.tn.gov/sos/rules/1255/1255.htm
https://apps.tn.gov/cirens/
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The Dodd-Frank Wall 
Street Reform and 
Consumer Protect Act 
requires Appraisal 
Management Companies 
(AMCs) to register in, and 
be subject to supervision 
by, each state in which 
such companies operate. 
The Act requires each 
State appraiser certifying 
and licensing agency to 
fulfill these regulatory 
responsibilities.  

The Act further requires 
AMCs to verify that only 
licensed or certified 
appraisers are used for 
federally related 
transactions; that 
appraisals coordinated by 
an AMC comply with the 
Uniform Standards of 
Professional Appraisal 
Practice; and that 
appraisals are conducted 
independently and free 
from inappropriate 
influence and coercion 
pursuant to the appraisal 
independence standards 
established under section 
129E of the Truth in 
Lending Act. 

The Act defines Appraisal 
Management Company as 
“…in connection with 
valuing properties 
collateralizing mortgage 
loans or mortgages 
incorporated in 
securitization, any 
external third party 
authorized… by a creditor 
of a consumer credit 
transaction secured by a 
consumer’s principal 
dwelling… that oversees a 

The Snare of “Non-traditional” Appraisal Products      
by Bob Keith 

network or panel of more 
than 15 certified or 
licensed appraisers in a 
State or 25 or more 
nationally within a given 
year…” 

There are many uses for 
alternative valuation 
products other than for 
valuing properties 
collateralizing a mortgage 
loan secured by a 
consumer’s principle 
dwelling and that are not 
federally related 
transactions. Such uses 
include, but are not limited 
to: HELOC, asset 
management, portfolio 
management and short 
sale negotiation (hereafter 
referred to as “other 
uses”).  

Companies that utilize the 
services of an appraiser 
for these “other uses” 
typically fall outside of the 
Dodd-Frank definition of 
an AMC (depending upon 
state law), thus are not to 
subject to the otherwise 
mandatory AMC 
registration and 
supervision by the States. 
They also do not require a 
traditional appraisal using 
Fannie Mae appraisal 
forms, but instead often 
ask appraisers to provide 
a service utilizing the 
company’s own 
proprietary reporting 
format (alternative 
valuation product) for a 
nominal fee for the 
appraiser.  

These alternative 
valuation products vary in 

terms of the information 
appraisers are asked to 
provide. Many of them ask 
the appraiser to evaluate 
comparable sales used in 
a previous appraisal and 
to provide additional sales 
that the appraiser believes 
are comparable to a 
subject property.  Others 
ask the appraiser to 
evaluate a previous 
Broker’s Price Opinion 
(BPO) and form an 
opinion about whether the 
broker’s price opinion is 
too high or to low. Still 
others ask an appraiser to 
reconcile value or price 
opinions previously 
provided by other 
professionals to arrive at 
the appraiser’s conclusion 
of value or price. And still 
others may provide an 
appraiser with an older 
appraisal performed by 
someone else and ask the 
appraiser to opine 
whether a subject’s 
market has increased or 
decreased in value since 
the effective date of the 
previous appraisal.  

The examples listed 
above, and many other 
variations thereof, all call 
for an appraiser to 
develop some type of 
value opinion about a 
subject property. The 
mere act of providing a list 
of comparable sales after 
filtering through all 
available sales in a 
neighborhood results in a 
range of value opinion by 
the appraiser. 
(CONTINUED) 
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This is because the 
appraiser applies some 
form of analysis on all of 
sales in a neighborhood to 
determine which of those 
sales are “comparable” to 
a subject property. This 
results in the appraiser’s 
opinion on the range of 
value for the subject since 
one of the comps provided 
represents the lowest and 
another the highest sale 
price of “comparables” to 
the subject property.  

Likewise, an appraiser 
who reviews a previous 
appraisal or BPO and 
opines that real estate 
values have decreased 
since that time is 
expressing an opinion that 
the value of the subject 
property is less today than 
when the appraisal or BPO 
under review was 
performed.  

Any time an appraiser 
develops his or her opinion 

The Snare of “Non-traditional” Appraisal Products (Continued) 

The economy and the 
related mortgage lending 
crisis have led to many 
changes in the lending 
and real estate appraisal 
industry.  As the director 
of the TN Real Estate 
Appraiser Commission, I 
take a lot of calls from 
appraisers and users of 
appraiser services 
pertaining to these 
changes.  Questions 
pertaining to changes 
resulting from the Home 
Valuation Code of 
Conduct (HVCC), which 

Communicating with an Appraiser by Nikole Avers 
 

Bob Keith graduated from The 
University of Texas and was a 
real estate appraiser for 21 years 
before becoming the 
Administrator of the Oregon 
Appraiser Certification and 
Licensure Board in July 2001.  
Bob is a past president of the 
Association of Appraiser 
Regulatory Officials (AARO), is 
the immediate past chair of The 
Appraisal Foundation Advisory 
Council, holds the IFA 
designation from the National 
Association of Independent Fee 
Appraisers and is a nationally 
certified USPAP instructor. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

of (a single point of) value, 
range of value or a 
direction of value (relative 
to a benchmark e.g. a 
previous appraisal or 
BPO) that constitutes an 
appraisal. State licensed 
and certified appraisers 
are obligated to adhere to 
the Uniform Standards of 
Professional Appraisal 
Practice (USPAP) that 
requires the performance 
of certain steps in the 
development of an opinion 
of value as well as 11 
specific elements that are 
required to be included in 
a written report 
communicating that 
opinion of value. Many of 
the alternative valuation 
products (proprietary 
reporting formats) 
discussed in this article fail 
to comply (without 
significant 
supplementation by the 
appraiser) with USPAP.  

Companies that are not 
subject to Dodd-Frank 
requirements to register 
with the State as an AMC 
and who do not require 
traditional appraisal 
products to suit their 
purposes MUST be aware 
that appraisers are subject 
to strict rules of conduct 
with respect to developing 
and reporting their 
opinions about value. 
Failure to adhere to these 
professional standards of 
practice can have a 
significant adverse impact 
on an appraiser’s 
professional license.   

 

To view the Tennessee 
laws and rules pertaining 
to registration of Appraisal 
Management Companies 
(AMC’s) please visit the 
TREAC website at: 
http://tn.gov/commerce/bo
ards/treac/index.shtml  

developed into the 
Appraiser Independence 
Requirements (AIR), 
federal changes with the 
Dodd-Frank Wall Street 
Reform and Consumer 
Protection Act; Title XIV - 
Mortgage Reform and 
Anti-Predatory Lending 
Act; the Fed’s Regulation 
Z (the regulation used to 
implement various 
sections of the Truth in 
Lending Act); regulation of 
Appraisal Management 
Companies; and changes 
in the FHA requirements.  

Whew!  After all that, it is 
easy to be confused and 
feel the need to catch your 
breath. One issue keeps 
rising to the surface again 
and again - how to 
communicate with an 
appraiser in the aftermath 
of all the changes we 
have gone through in the 
past two years.  Appraisal 
independence has been at 
the heart of almost every 
substantive change that 
affects users of appraiser 
services.  (CONTINUED) 

http://tn.gov/commerce/boards/treac/index.shtml
http://tn.gov/commerce/boards/treac/index.shtml
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Federal law, State law, 
and secondary market 
requirements have long 
had requirements 
pertaining to appraisal 
independence.  The 
mortgage crisis and the 
difficult economic climate 
have caused the market 
participants to establish 
additional safeguard 
requirements to preserve 
this independence.  From 
these requirements many 
myths were born.  Do the 
changes mean you can’t 
talk to an appraiser?  No.  
Communication is critical 
to the appraisal process – 
entire appraisal standards 
are devoted to it – and 
communication is not a 
one-way street.   

USPAP requires that an 
appraiser protect the 
confidential nature of the 
appraiser-client 
relationship.  The 
appraiser must not 
disclose confidential 
information or assignment 
results to anyone other 
than the client, persons 
authorized by the client to 
receive this information; 
state appraiser regulatory 
agencies, third parties 
authorized by due process 
of the law, or authorized 
peer review committees.  
See USPAP ETHICS 
RULE – Confidentiality 
Section, and the 
DEFINITIONS section for 
Assignment Results and 
Confidential Information, 
for more detail.  This 
requirement pertains to 
what an appraiser may 
communicate to others, 

Communicating with an Appraiser (Continued) 
 

 

“Many have 
misinterpreted the 

HVCC requirements.” 

not what information users 
of appraisal services may 
transmit to the appraiser. 

Many have misinterpreted 
the HVCC requirements to 
have banned mortgage 
loan officers and real 
estate agents from 
speaking with a real 
estate appraiser.  Some 
have indicated that FHA 
prohibits communication 
with real estate 
appraisers.  Still others 
believe there is a 
prohibition in federal law, 
but there isn’t.  There are 
requirements to preserve 
appraiser independence 
and protect the public. 

There is no prohibition for 
communicating with a real 
estate appraiser.  FHA 
specifically requires that 
the lender and the 
appraiser “avoid even the 
appearance of a conflict of 
interest, which would 
include providing the 
appraiser anything of 
value in consideration of 
returning the appraisal at 
a given value,” and “that 
(the lender) may not 
condition continued 
selection of an appraiser 
on inflating values or 
disregarding repair 
requirements.”  For a 
more detailed list of 
prohibited activities by 
FHA concerning appraiser 
independence, please visit 
their website and read 
mortgage letter 09-26: 

http://www.hud.gov/offices
/adm/hudclips/letters/mort
gagee/files/09-28ml.pdf   

The HVCC did not prohibit 

communication with a real 
estate appraiser, it 
required the loan 
production staff not have 
“substantive 
communications with an 
appraiser or appraisal 
management company 
relating to or having an 
impact on valuation, 
including ordering or 
managing an appraisal 
assignment.”  The loan 
production staff and the 
staff of an appraisal 
management company 
may communicate with 
the appraiser to correct 
factual errors on the 
appraisal report.  The 
HVCC did not prohibit real 
estate agents or brokers 
from communicating with 
an appraiser.  They are 
allowed to communicate 
with an appraiser as long 
as the communication was 
not done in a way 
intended to influence the 
outcome of the appraisal.  
Appraisers may receive 
information from others on 
information pertaining to 
the subject and market 
data information such as: 
relevant property 
information such as 
condition, improvements, 
deferred maintenance and 
amenities; income and 
cost data; closed and 
pending sales data; 
conditions of sale and 
seller concession 
information; and builder or 
inspection information.  
The HVCC pertained only 
to one-four-family loans 
that lenders sold to Fannie 
Mae or Freddie Mac.    

  (CONTINUED) 

  

http://www.hud.gov/offices/adm/hudclips/letters/mortgagee/files/09-28ml.pdf
http://www.hud.gov/offices/adm/hudclips/letters/mortgagee/files/09-28ml.pdf
http://www.hud.gov/offices/adm/hudclips/letters/mortgagee/files/09-28ml.pdf
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The Federal Housing 
Finance Agency (FHFA), 
Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac 
and others developed the 
Appraiser Independence 
Requirements (AIR), 
which replaced the HVCC 
on October 15, 2010.  
Fannie Mae issued a FAQ 
on these changes in 
November 2010; a link to 
that FAQ can be found at:  
https://www.efanniemae.c
om/sf/guides/ssg/relateds
ellinginfo/appcode/pdf/airf
aqs.pdf  

Recommendations for 
Communicating with an 
appraiser: 

1) Communicate by e-mail 
or written correspondence 
whenever possible.  
Written communication 
has the benefit of 
documenting the 
exchange between an 
appraiser and a user of 
appraisal services.  You 
may wish to indicate you 
are communicating by 
letter or e-mail to preserve 
the appraiser’s 
independence.  In my 
experience, you will have 
more success if the 
communication is in 
writing, especially if you 
do not have an 
established professional 
relationship with the 
appraiser. 

2) Determine your 
objective before you begin 
writing. Take your time 
with the correspondence 
to ensure only the specific 
and necessary information 
is communicated.  Be brief 
and to the point. 

3)  Be professional.   

Communicating with an Appraiser (Continued) 
Whenever possible, use 
appropriate terminology to 
the lending and real estate 
industry.  This will set the 
tone for a professional 
response.  No one 
expects you to be 100 
percent knowledgeable of 
appraisal methodology or 
techniques, but if you can 
specifically identify the 
areas of concern, the 
appraiser will be able to 
respond to your specific 
concerns.  Avoid sending 
emails or letters before 
proof reading them for 
spelling accuracy and 
tone. 

4) Don’t send an angry e-
mail or letter to an 
appraiser.  It won’t likely 
help the situation if the 
appraiser finds the 
communication offensive 
or disrespectful.  Sending 
an e-mail in all capital 
letters can suggest that 
you are “yelling” at them.  
If you wish to dispute 
information contained in 
an appraisal report, be 
specific and professional.  
Mistakes can happen; my 
experience is that a 
professional will want to 
correct an error. 

5) Avoid opining on the 
“value” of the property.  
Rendering an opinion of 
value is the reason the 
appraiser was engaged.  
Telling an appraiser what 
you think the value of a 
property should be may 
close the communication 
door.  Do not 
communicate in a manner 
that impairs or attempts to 
impair an appraiser’s 
independence, objectivity 

or impartiality. 

6) Just the facts.  If you 
have information you want 
the appraiser to consider, 
present it as information.  
Acknowledge in your 
correspondence that it is 
the appraiser’s decision to 
determine if the 
information is relevant to 
the appraisal assignment.   

7) If an appraiser is 
hesitant to respond to 
communication, reference 
the specific independence 
requirements pertaining to 
the transaction.  For 
example, if the appraisal 
is an FHA appraisal, 
provide them with the link 
to the above mortgage 
letter on appraisal 
independence.    If the 
appraisal is for Fannie 
Mae or Freddie Mac, 
reference the link to the 
above Fannie Mae FAQ’s 
link on appraisal 
independence.  Many 
appraisers have fallen 
victim to the myths 
created pertaining to 
appraiser communication; 
they may not know their 
specific allowances for 
communication. 

8) Be patient.  If you want 
a well-thought-out 
response or 
reconsideration, it may 
take time. You may want 
to indicate in your 
communication, “Please 
let me know you have 
received this 
inquiry/information and, if 
possible, a time frame for 
your response.” 

  

As an appraiser, a lender’s 
review appraiser, and as a 
regulatory official, I have 
been privy to both sides of 
the conversation.  Appraisers 
communicate for a living; the 
tricky part is knowing how to 
start the conversation.  I 
hope the above tips help in 
beginning that conversation. 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
Nikole Avers is the Executive 
Director of the Tennessee 
Real Estate Appraiser 
Commission. She is a 
Certified Residential Real 
Estate Appraiser with 
experience in real estate 
appraisal, appraisal review 
and teaching appraisal 
courses. She is an AQB 
certified USPAP instructor 
and she contributed as a 
subject matter expert for the 
AQB on the 2008 and 2009 
National Real Property 
Appraiser Examinations.  
Nikole is currently the chair 
of the AARO ASB oversight 
committee. 

https://www.efanniemae.com/sf/guides/ssg/relatedsellinginfo/appcode/pdf/airfaqs.pdf
https://www.efanniemae.com/sf/guides/ssg/relatedsellinginfo/appcode/pdf/airfaqs.pdf
https://www.efanniemae.com/sf/guides/ssg/relatedsellinginfo/appcode/pdf/airfaqs.pdf
https://www.efanniemae.com/sf/guides/ssg/relatedsellinginfo/appcode/pdf/airfaqs.pdf
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Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac, at 
the direction of the Federal Housing 
Finance Agency (FHFA), have 
developed the Uniform Appraisal 
Dataset (UAD), to improve the 
quality and consistency of 
residential appraisal data on loans 
delivered to the government-
sponsored enterprises. 

For appraisals with an effective 
date of September 1, 2011 or after, 
the following four appraisal report 
forms must be in compliance with 
the UAD for conventional loans sold 
to Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac: 

1. Uniform Residential Appraisal 
Report (URAR);  

2. Individual Condominium Unit 
Appraisal Report;  

3. Exterior-Only Inspection 
Individual Condominium Unit 
Appraisal Report; and 

4.  Exterior-Only Inspection 
Residential Appraisal Report. 

 

You can review UAD information on 
the Fannie Mae website at:  

https://www.efanniemae.com/sf/lqi/um
dp/uad/index.jsp  

 UAD Frequently Asked Questions: 

https://www.efanniemae.com/sf/lqi/um
dp/pdf/uadfaqs.pdf  

 UAD Specification Appendix D: 

https://www.efanniemae.com/sf/lqi/um
dp/pdf/uadappendixdfieldreqs.pdf  

FHA has also adopted the use of the 
URAR form and the Individual 
Condominium Unit Appraisal Report, 
but has an implementation date of 
January 1, 2012.  Mortgagees may, 
at their discretion, accept and submit 
for loan endorsement an appraisal 
that is UAD compliant prior to that 
date. 

At this time, these changes only 
pertain to residential appraisals 
completed on or after the effective 
dates specified above which will be 
sold to Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac or 
FHA. 

 

https://www.efanniemae.com/sf/lqi/umdp/uad/index.jsp
https://www.efanniemae.com/sf/lqi/umdp/uad/index.jsp
https://www.efanniemae.com/sf/lqi/umdp/pdf/uadfaqs.pdf
https://www.efanniemae.com/sf/lqi/umdp/pdf/uadfaqs.pdf
https://www.efanniemae.com/sf/lqi/umdp/pdf/uadappendixdfieldreqs.pdf
https://www.efanniemae.com/sf/lqi/umdp/pdf/uadappendixdfieldreqs.pdf
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Disciplinary actions taken by the Real Estate Appraiser Commission against 
real estate appraiser licensees or those matters relating to unlicensed 
conduct are reported monthly to the Division of Regulatory Boards.  To view 
the most recent information and archived disciplinary action reports, please 
visit this web page: http://tn.gov/commerce/boards/archive.shtml  

Real Estate Appraiser Disciplinary Action Report 

 

The changes to 2012-13 edition of USPAP were adopted by the ASB and will be effective January 1, 
2012.  These changes include: 

• Revisions to DEFINITIONS OF “Client,” “Extraordinary Assumption,” “Hypothetical Condition,” and a 
new definition, “Exposure Time” 

• Revisions Relating to Development and Disclosure of Exposure Time Opinion 
• Revision to Standards Rules 2-3, 3-6, 5-3, 6-9, 8-3 and 10-3 
• Creation of a new RECORD KEEPING RULE and Related Edits to the Conduct Section of the 

ETHICS RULE 
• Revisions to Advisory Opinion 21, USPAP Compliance 
• Revisions to STANDARDS 7 and 8: PERSONAL PROPERTY APPRAISAL, DEVELOPMENT and 

REPORTING 
• Revisions to Advisory Opinion 13 (AO-13), Performing Evaluations of Real Property Collateral to 

Conform with USPAP  
Additional Information regarding these changes can be review on the Appraisal Foundation website at: 
https://appraisalfoundation.sharefile.com/d/sd470eea561f412ab  
 
USPAP Q & A information is available on the Appraisal Foundation website at: 
http://netforum.avectra.com/eweb/DynamicPage.aspx?Site=taf&WebCode=USPAPQA  

1825-1860 Greek Revival House Style 1840-1880: Gothic Revival House Style 

 

http://tn.gov/commerce/boards/archive.shtml
https://appraisalfoundation.sharefile.com/d/sd470eea561f412ab
http://netforum.avectra.com/eweb/DynamicPage.aspx?Site=taf&WebCode=USPAPQA
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Proposed Changes from the AQB 4th Exposure Draft 
Proposed Revision to Require Education and Experience as Prerequisites for the Examination 
Proposed Revision to College Degree Requirements and Removal of “In Lieu Of” Option for College-
Level Education 
Proposed Requirement for Background Checks 
Proposed Revisions Pertaining to College Degrees in Real Estate 
Proposed Revision   to 7-Hour National USPAP Update Course Eligibility 
Proposed Removal of Segmented Approach to Criteria Implementation 
Proposed Restriction on Continuing Education Course Offerings 
Proposed Revisions to Distance Education Requirements 
Proposed Revisions to Trainee Appraiser Qualifications 
Proposed Supervisory Appraiser Requirements 
Proposed Revisions to Guide Note 1 (GN-1) 
Proposed Revisions to Illustrative List of Continuing Education Topics 

 
You can view a copy of the 4th Exposure Draft with detail change proposals on the Appraisal 
Foundation website at: https://appraisalfoundation.sharefile.com/d/s5a7d219c81c48e19  
Please address all comments in writing to directly to the AQB.  

 
The Appraisal Foundation 
1155 15th Street, NW, Suite 1111 
Washington, DC 20005 
info@appraisalfoundation.org  

 

 

Non-Residential (Commercial) Building Photos 

https://appraisalfoundation.sharefile.com/d/s5a7d219c81c48e19
mailto:info@appraisalfoundation.org
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