
 

                                                                     continued on reverse 

401 Church Street, 4th Floor L & C Annex 

Nashville, Tennessee 37243 

 

To:  Active Drycleaning Facilities 

  Current or Prior Owners/Operators of Abandoned Drycleaning Facilities  

  Potentially Impacted Third Parties 

 

From:  Drycleaner Environmental Response Program (DCERP) 

 

Subject: 2012 Annual Registration Notice (New Fee Structure adopted by the DCERP Board 7/13/2010)  

 

The annual drycleaner facility registration fees are changing for 2012. There are now five (5) fee categories ($500, $1,000, 

$1,500, $2,000, $2,500) and the drycleaner facility registration fee is based on the reported amount of solvent purchased 

from July 1, 2010 through June 30, 2011 (see attached). The reported amounts were verified by comparing the amount the 

drycleaner reported to the amount reported by the solvent distributors. To dispute the reported amount of solvent 

purchased, submit a statement along with any supporting documentation or verifiable proof along with the invoiced 

amount. In order for the disputed assessment to be considered, you must pay the invoiced fee or be subject to a late 

penalty. We will review your documentation and verify if the amount invoiced was erroneous. If it is determined the 

invoiced amount was erroneous the amount exceeding the corrected annual fee will be processed as a refund. 

 

Active Drycleaning Facilities:  All active drycleaning facilities must return the three (3) items listed below on or before 

October 31, 2011.  

 

1. A completed Registration Form certified/signed and notarized. 

2. A check for the 2012 Annual Registration invoiced fee payable to the ‘Treasurer, State of Tennessee’. 

3. All facilities must have one staff employee that is CED or ECT trained. Please include a copy of the certificate. 

 

Abandoned Facilities and Potentially Impacted Third Parties: Abandoned facilities annual registration fee is 

$2,500.00 and the two (2) items listed below must be returned on or before October 31, 2011 to maintain eligibility for the 

Response Program. The late registration penalty for abandoned facilities is $50.00 per month until December 31, 2011 at 

which time the facility will be removed as an abandoned facility that is eligible for reimbursement from the DCERP fund. 

 

1. A Registration Form certified/signed and notarized. 

2. A check for the 2012 Annual Registration fee. 

 

Active Drycleaner Facilities 2012 Registration Fee Late Payment Penalty Policy: 
 

Postmarked after October 31
st
 but by December 31

st
 will be assessed a $250.00 late penalty. 

Postmarked after December 31
st
 but by February 28

th
 an additional penalty of $500.00 will be assessed. 

Postmarked after February 28
th
 but by March 31

st
 an additional penalty of $1,000.00 will be assessed. 

 

Penalties for late payment or non-payment of program registration fees will continue to accrue until the registration fee is 

paid.  An additional penalty of $130.00 will be assessed for each returned check. A drycleaning facility is considered 

unregistered and will not receive a Certificate of Registration until all the required forms are submitted and all fees, 

surcharges, and penalties have been paid. Call the DCERP administrator at (615)741-2281 with any questions about late 

penalties or total fees owed. A return addressed envelope has been provided for your convenience. 

 

There is a lost/damaged certificate fee of $25.00 with a limit of one duplicate per year.   

A facility that fails to post a Certificate of registration is subject to a $50.00 penalty. 

 

Facilities that cease operations on or before December 31, 2011 must notify DCERP by phone at 615-741-2281 or in 

writing. 



  

Instructions for the Drycleaning Facilities Annual Registration 

 
Submit a completed Annual Registration Form to the Department by October 31st of each year. A change in information, which 

requires filing a revised registration form, includes the following: a change in ownership, machines or other information (identified in 

Section 1 and 2 of the registration form).  

 

1. Registration Type: Circle the registration type; Initial, Renewal, Initial Abandoned or Renewal Abandoned. An abandoned 

facility means any real property premises or individual leasehold space on which a drycleaning facility formerly operated. Fill in 

date operations began for initial registrations only. 

2.  Facility Information: Initial registrations will be assigned a registration number by the DCERP. Fill in the facility’s Name, 

Address, City, State, Zip Code, Tax ID or EIN number and the Phone Number. Provide the facility owner and property owner 

information (not the same address or phone number as the facility). The owner is defined as the person or entity that owns the 

drycleaning facility. The property owner means any individual or entity that is vested with any ownership, dominion, or legal or 

rightful title to the real property or control over the facility. Circle the box to specify the preferred mailing address for all 

correspondence. Complete 2(a) through 2(d) as noted below. 

 

a)    Circle the appropriate location for the drycleaner facility. 

b)  Circle yes or no if you submitted all quarterly solvent facility reports during the year. Circle (yes/no) if you reported all 

solvent purchases/transfers on the quarterly solvent reports and if the appropriate solvent surcharge fees were paid. Reminder, 

even solvent purchased from out-of-state suppliers must be reported and surcharges must be submitted by the vendor.  

c)    Circle yes or no if drycleaning solvent was sold or transferred to another drycleaning facility during the year. If yes identify 

the date the solvent was sold or transferred, the drycleaning facility which received the solvent, and the quantity of solvent 

sold or transferred. Note: a permitted solvent supplier or a licensed hazardous waste hauler must transfer solvent.  

d)   Circle yes or no if any solvent was purchased in the past year.  A no answer requires an explanation on how the facility was 

able to continue operating without additional solvent.  

 

3. CED/ECT Information: Active dry-cleaning facilities must be staffed with a Certified Environmental Drycleaner (CED) or have 

completed the DCERP ECT (Environmental Compliance Training) course. Include a current copy of the CED certificate or the 

ECT certificate of the current certified staff with the registration. 

 

4. Machine Specific Information: 

a)   Fill in the machine make, model, type of solvent used, the age of the machine and when the machine was placed into 

operation at this facility.  Circle the machine type and the method of solvent delivery from the supplier. All “perc” machines 

must have their solvent delivered by the closed loop direct coupled method, but other solvents may be delivered in a different 

method. If more than one method is used describe all methods in the space provided.  

b)    Provide the name of your hazardous waste handler.  

c)    If you are using an evaporator or a mister with a carbon filter provide the make/model of the machine you are using. This 

machine also requires secondary containment. Circle yes or no if there is secondary containment under the machine.  

d)    Indicate if there is containment under or around the drycleaning machine (Yes or No). Write the capacity of the containment 

system and circle the type of construction material used for containment.  

 

5. Certification: Compliance with Class 1 and Class 2 BMPs is included with the certification. The owner/manager or an authorized 

representative of the drycleaning facility must sign; include their title and the date signed. For a corporation, a responsible 

corporate officer should sign the registration form. A responsible corporate officer means: a president, secretary, treasurer, vice-

president or any other person who performs similar policy or decision making functions for the corporation. For a partnership or 

sole proprietorship, the general partner or the proprietor should sign the registration form.  

 

Important Note: The registration form must be notarized or the registration will be withheld. 

 

If you have any questions or need help filling out the form, contact us at (615) 741- 2281. 

 

Make checks payable (no cash) to: "Treasurer, State of Tennessee" for the total fee invoiced and submit along with the annual 

registration form in the enclosed envelope to: 

 

Department of Environment and Conservation 

Division of Fiscal Services – Fee Section 

14th Floor L&C Tower, 401 Church Street 

Nashville, TN 37243 


