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CASKETS AND BURIAL VAULTS 
 
Notice #07-16 Sales and Use Tax December 2007 

 
 $500 exemption 

repealed for 
caskets, burial 
vaults & 
cremation urns. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 Treatment of 
other sales: 

 
Taxable – flowers, 

clothing & stationary 
 

Nontaxable – 
Embalming, hearse 
service & limousine 

service 
 
 

 Treatment of 
pre-need funeral 
contracts sold 
prior to 
1/1/2008. 

 
 
 
 

 
PC 602 § 93 (2007) 
 

 

INTRODUCTION 
 

This notice is intended to provide taxpayers and the general public with information 
concerning Public Chapter 602, Acts of 2007, which makes substantial changes to 
Tennessee sales and use tax statutes in order to comply with the Streamlined Sales and 
Use Tax Agreement. 
 
Effective January 1, 2008, the entire sales price of caskets, burial vaults, and 
cremation urns will be subject to sales and use tax. 
 
DISCUSSION 

 
Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-6-329(a)(11) previously provided an exemption from sales and 
use tax on the first $500 of the sales price of caskets, burial vaults, and cremation urns.  
This exemption has been repealed effective January 1, 2008.  This statutory change 
supersedes Tennessee Sales and Use Tax Rule 1320-5-1-.61(1) related to the $500 
exemption.  
 
Undertakers and funeral home operators must charge sales and use tax on the total 
sales price of caskets, burial vaults, and cremation urns.  Sales by undertakers and 
funeral home operators of other tangible personal property that are itemized on an 
invoice given to the customer continue to be subject to sales and use tax.  Examples of 
other sales of tangible personal property that are subject to sales and use tax include: 
 

• Flowers 
• Clothing 
• Stationery 

 
Sales of otherwise nontaxable services that are separately itemized on an invoice given 
to the customer are not subject to sales tax.  Examples of such nontaxable services 
include:  

• Embalming 
• Hearse service  
• Limousine service 

 
For pre-need funeral contracts sold prior to January 1, 2008: 
 
• If the purchaser elected to pay sales tax at the time the services and merchandise 

under the contract are delivered, tax should be collected on the entire sales price of 
the casket, burial vault, or cremation urn. 

 
• If the purchaser elected to pay sales tax at the time of contracting for the services 

and merchandise, no additional tax is due on the first $500 of the sales price of the 
casket, burial vault, or cremation urn.  

 
 
 

The information provided here is current as of the date of publication but may change 
as a result of new statutes, regulations, or court decisions.  While this notice is intended 
to be comprehensive, events and situations unanticipated by this notice may occur. In 
such cases you should contact the department or your tax professional for further 
guidance. 

 
For more tax information, call toll free 1-800-342-1003 

Nashville area and out-of-state call (615) 253-0600 
Email TN.Revenue@state.tn.us 


