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LOCAL SALES TAX RATE CHANGE – Gibson County 
 
Notice #12-02 Sales and Use Tax March 2012 

 
 
 
 

 Effective May 1, 
2012, the local 
sales tax rate 
changes in Gibson 
County, Tennessee 

 
 
 
 

 New rate is 2.75% 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 Single article tax 
rate 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
T.C.A. § 67-6-702 

 
INTRODUCTION 
 
This notice is intended to provide taxpayers and the general public with 
information concerning a recent change in the local sales and use tax rate in 
Gibson County, Tennessee. 
 
Effective May 1, 2012, the governing body of Gibson County, 
Tennessee has increased the local sales tax rate to 2.75% by means of 
a referendum approved by a majority of the voters. The new rate will 
apply to all taxable sales of tangible personal property made on or 
after May 1, 2012 and to the sale of taxable services for billing periods 
starting on or after May 1, 2012 by sellers located in Gibson County, 
Tennessee and the cities of Bradford, Dyer, Gibson, Rutherford, and 
Yorkville.  
 
The corresponding local consumer use tax rate for persons in all areas 
of Gibson County, Tennessee also increases to 2.75%.  
 
The cities of Trenton, Humboldt, Medina, Kenton, and Milan had 
previously increased the local tax rate to 2.75%.  This referendum 
increases the local tax rate to 2.75% in all areas of Gibson County. 
 
DISCUSSION 
 
In Gibson County, the local option tax rate is applicable to the first $1,600 of 
the sale price of any single article of tangible personal property sold, unless 
that item is specifically exempted from local tax or taxed at another rate by 
statute. The local tax cap on sales of single articles of tangible personal 
property will be $44. The local rate is also applicable to the total sales price of 
any taxable service.  

In addition, there is a state single article tax rate of 2.75% applicable to the 
sales price, from $1,600.01 up to and including $3,200, of any item of tangible 
personal property.  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The information provided here is current as of the date of publication but may change 
as a result of new statutes, regulations, or court decisions.  While this notice is intended 
to be comprehensive, events and situations unanticipated by this notice may occur. In 
such cases you should contact the department or your tax professional for further 
guidance.  

 


