
BUSINESS NAME AND EXACT LOCATION
NAME (GIVE TRADE NAME AT THIS LOCATION)

STREET, HIGHWAY, COMMUNITY (DO NOT USE P.O. BOX #)

CITY COUNTY STATE ZIP CODE

EFFECTIVE DATE FEIN/SSN

CONTACT PERSON

PHONE NUMBER
Area Code (            )

1. Check Type of A. Tobacco Distributor - $100
Tobacco License: B. Wholesale Dealer & Jobber - $200

C. Manufacturing Distributor - $200
D. Tobacco Manufacturer's Warehouse - $200
E. Cigarette Rolling Machine Operator - $500 per machine ..........

   2.Penalty - Enter the amount of penalty as calculated in the instructions ......................................

RV-R0010501

Authorized Signature & Title

NOTE: Please check appro-
priate box at right and enter
amount on line provided.

TOB
555

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that the statements in this
application are true and correct to the best of my knowledge
and belief.  This application applies only to the specified busi-
ness and location listed hereon.

MAKE CHECK PAYABLE TO:
TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT

OF REVENUE

BUSINESS MAILING ADDRESS
STREET OR ROUTE, P.O. BOX #

CITY STATE ZIP CODE

BUSINESS TELEPHONE NUMBER FAX NUMBER
Area Code (            ) Area Code (            )
BUSINESS E-MAIL ADDRESS

CONTACT E-MAIL ADDRESS

FAX NUMBER
Area Code (            )

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

Acct. Number ____________________

APPLICATION FOR TOBACCO LICENSE

COMPLETE THIS FORM AND RETURN IT WITH YOUR REMITTANCE.  ALL QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED COMPLETELY FOR YOUR
REMITTANCE TO BE PROPERLY CREDITED. This license may be revoked upon the failure to pay a tax or taxes, or for the violation of any rule
or regulation that the commissioner has authorized (including the sale of illegal cigarettes). For additional information regarding this
application you may call Taxpayer  Services between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. (CT), Monday through Friday, holidays excepted.  Please see
the back of this notice for our local offices and phone numbers.

INTERNET (02-16

(1)

(2)

(3) $

$

$__________________

__________________

__________________3.Total Amount Due..................................................................................................................

(A)

(B)

(C)

(D)

(E)

(F)

(G)

Are you aware of Tennessee's "complementary legislation", T.C.A. Section 67-4-2601 et eq.
and will you comply?
Will you only receive, purchase, or sell tobacco products as a secondary wholesaler and
acquire only pre-stamped cigarettes and/or other tobacco products on which the tax has
been previously paid?

Will you receive, store, or import unstamped cigarettes on otherwise handle other tobacco
products on which the tax has not been paid?

Will you be affixing tax stamps to cigarettes?

Are you engaged in the business of manufacturing or processing consumable tobacco
products and have a manufacturing plant located in Tennessee?
Are you a manufacturer with a warehouse, building, or structure maintained serparately
from your Tennessee manufacturing operation where tobacco products are stored, and
where you retain title and control?
Do you control possess, or maintain a cigarette rolling machine at a retail establishment
that enables any person to process tobeacco into a roll or a tube? (A Manufacturer's Permit
issued by the TTB is required.)

Yes No

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

No

No

No

Yes

NoYes

No



For additional information or assistance regarding this application, contact the Department of Revenue. Tennessee residents may use the
toll-free number, 1-800-342-1003.  Nashville area and out-of-state callers may call (615) 253-0600.  You may call either of these numbers
between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. (CT), Monday through Friday, holidays excepted.  You may direct any correspondence or submit written
information to the following address:  Tennessee Department of Revenue, Andrew Jackson State Office Building, 500 Deaderick Street,
Nashville, Tennessee 37242.

For additional information, contact the Taxpayer Services Division in one of our Department of Revenue Offices:

Tennessee residents can also call our statewide toll free number at 1-800-342-1003.
Out-of-state callers must dial (615) 253-0600.
www.tn.gov/revenue

Johnson City
(423) 854-5321
204 High Point Drive

Chattanooga
(423) 634-6266
1301 Riverfront
      Parkway
Suite 203

Memphis
(901) 213-1400
3150 Appling Road
Bartlett, TN

Nashville
(615) 253-0600
Andrew Jackson Building
500 Deaderick Street

Jackson
(731) 423-5747
Suite 340
Lowell Thomas Building
225 Martin Luther King Blvd.

Knoxville
(865) 594-6100
7175 Strawberry
   Plains Pike
Suite 209

INTERNET (02-16)

Instructions
Each person engaged in the business of selling, distributing, or handling tobacco products at the wholesale level in this state and each
cigarette rolling machine operator in this state are required to file an application with the Department of Revenue on or before May 31 of
each year for a license to engage in such business. Any person commencing business subsequent to May 31 shall apply for such license
prior to the commencement of business. The license will expire on May 31 of each year.

What Kind of Tobacco License Do I Need?
Tobacco Distributor - $100 for each wholesale location where tobacco products are received or ordered for delivery to someone
                                         other than the ultimate consumer.

Wholesale Dealer and Jobber - $200 for each separate warehouse.

Manufacturing Distributor - $200 for each plant or processing location.

Tobacco Manufacturer's Warehouse - $200 for each storage warehouse.

Line 2: Any person failing to apply for a tobacco license prior to the commencement of doing business will be subject to a penalty in
accordance with Tenn. Code Ann. Section 67-4-1015. The amount of penalty is equal to the amount of the license fee for each
month (or part of month) in which activity occurred without  the appropriate license.

Amount of license fee: _____________ x Number of months or partial months in which you conducted business without a
license: ___________ = [Amount of Penalty].

For example: If you begin acting as a Tobacco Distributor on October 15 but failed to apply for a tobacco license until
December 1, you would be subject to a penalty in the amount of $200.

Line 3: Enter the total of Lines 1 and 2. This is the amount due. Sign the application form. Send the completed and signed application and
your payment, made payable to the Tennessee Department of Revenue, to the Tennessee Department of Revenue, Andrew Jackson
State Office Building, 500 Deaderick Street, Nashville, Tennessee 37242.

If you receive, purchase, or sell tobacco products as a secondary wholesaler and acquire only pre-stamped cigarettes and/or
other tobacco products on which the tax has been previously paid, but do not sell to the ultimate consumer, you need a Tobacco
Distributor's license.

If you maintain wholesale facilities in one or more permanent locations; if you are in the business of receiving, storing,
purchasing, selling at wholesale, importing unstamped tobacco products, or otherwise handling tobacco products for resale at
a wholesale price; and if you sell only to other licensed wholesalers and distributors or retailers but not to the ultimate
consumer, you need a Wholesale Dealer & Jobber license. This license requires a minimum $2,000 bond.

If you are engaged in the business of manufacturing or processing consumable tobacco products and you have a manufacturing
plant located in this state, you need a Manufacturing Distributor license. This license requires a minimum $2,000 bond.

If you are a manufacturer with a warehouse, building, or structure maintained separately from your manufacturing operation
where you store tobacco products for distribution, and where you retail title to and control of distribution of such tobacco
products, you need a Tobacco Manufacturer's Warehouse license. This license requires a minimum $20,000 bond.

Cigarette Rolling Machine Operator - $500 for each cigarette rolling machine.

If you control, possess, or maintain a cigarette rolling machine at a retail establishment that enables any person to process
tobacco into a roll or a tube, you need a Cigarette Rolling Machine Operator license. "Cigarette Rolling Machine" means a
machine at a retail establishment that enables any person to process at that establishment tobacco into a roll or tube. A copy
of your tobacco product manufacturer's permit, issued by the TTB, must be submitted with this application.

Line 1:


