
What  Are Title Pledge Agreements 

Tennessee Code Annotated (“TCA”) allows licensed 

lenders to conduct and operate business as title pledge 

lenders by this department pursuant to the Tennessee 

Title Pledge Act (“the Act”) in TCA §45-15-101 et seq.   

 

Title and property pledge agreements are thirty (30) 

day written agreements in which the lender agrees to 

make a loan of money to the consumer (“pledgor”) and  

the  pledgor   in   turn   agrees  to   give  the  lender an 

unencumbered (free of lien)  security   interest in the 

titled personal property owned by the pledgor. The 

pledgor  further  agrees  that the lender may keep 

physical possession of the certificate of title the entire 

length of the agreement.  The pledgor regains their 

right to redeem the title by repaying the 30 day loan in 

full by complying with their pledge agreement.  

 

Length of Contracts 
Although,  TCA  §45-15-113(a) states, “title pledge 

agreements and property pledge agreements...shall not 

exceed thirty  (30) days in length” an agreement may 

provide for additional thirty-day period renewals (which 

may occur automatically) unless one (1) of the following 

occurs between the lender and pledgor:  
 

 pledgor pays all principal, interest and customary 

fees as agreed. 

 pledgor surrenders possession, title and all other 

interest in and to titled personal property and 
certificate of title to lender.  

 lender notifies pledgor in writing the agreement 

is not to be renewed; or 

 pledgor defaults on any obligation pursuant to 

the agreement. 



Rate of Interest and Charges 
Section 45-15-111(a) of the Act specifies that the title 

pledge lender may contract for and receive an effective 

rate of interest not to exceed 2% per month; additionally, 

the lender may charge a fee equal to no more than 1/5 of 

the original principal amount (or unpaid balance in the 

case of renewals) to defray the ordinary costs of operat-

ing a title pledge office.  Therefore, between the interest 

rate and fee assessments, the statute allows a maximum 

assessment of twenty-two percent (22%) per month on a 

title pledge agreement.  

What Happens If I Can’t Pay 
If the agreement is not paid within the 30 day time frame 

of the contract, the lender can choose to automatically 

renew the agreement for another 30 day period. If they 

make this  decision,  the  lender  can   assess another 

interest rate and fee charge for the “new” 30-day period. 

This is pursuant to language in TCA §45-15-111(a) where 

it is stated, “the interest and fees shall be deemed to be 

earned, due and owing as of the date of the title pledge 

agreement or property pledge agreement and a like sum 

shall be deemed earned, due and owing on the same day 

of each subsequent thirty-day period.”  

Pursuant to TCA §45-15-113(d), beginning 

with  the  third   renewal   and   at each 

successive renewal thereafter, the pledgor 

or  borrower,  shall  be  required to make a  

payment of  at  least  five  percent (5%) of the original 

principal amount of the title pledge transaction, in addi-

tion to the interest rate and fees authorized by the Act.   

Remember: This loan is not intended to meet long-term 
financial needs. You should use this loan only to meet 

short-term cash needs.   
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