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TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
 

MINIMUM WAGE SCALES FOR FEDERAL AID HIGHWAY CONSTRUCTION 
 

 
General Decision Number: TN170148 01/06/2017  TN148 
 
Superseded General Decision Number: TN20160148 
 
State: Tennessee 
 
Construction Type: Highway 
 
Counties: Tennessee Statewide. 
 
HIGHWAY CONSTRUCTION PROJECTS 
 
Note: Under Executive Order (EO) 13658, an hourly minimum wage 
of $10.20 for calendar year 2017 applies to all contracts 
subject to the Davis-Bacon Act for which the contract is awarded 
(and any solicitation was issued) on or after January 1, 2015. 
If this contract is covered by the EO, the contractor must pay 
all workers in any classification listed on this wage 
determination at least $10.20 per hour (or the applicable 
wage rate listed on this wage determination, if it is higher) 
for all hours spent performing on the contract in calendar 
year 2017. The EO minimum wage rate will be adjusted annually. 
Additional information on contractor requirements and worker 
protections under the EO is available at 
www.dol.gov/whd/govcontracts. 
 
 
Modification Number     Publication Date 
          0             01/06/2017 
 
  SUTN2016-001 07/13/2016 
 
                                  Rates          Fringes 
 
BRICKLAYER.......................$ 14.26                  
   
CARPENTER........................$ 17.52                  
   
CEMENT MASON/CONCRETE FINISHER...$ 15.55                  
   
ELECTRICIAN......................$ 24.08                  
   
IRONWORKER   
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     Reinforcing.................$ 16.29                  
     Structural..................$ 16.89                  
   
LABORER   
     Common/Unskilled............$ 13.11                  
     Skilled 
      Air Tool Operator,  
      Asphalt Raker, Chain Saw  
      Operator, Concrete Mixer   
      (less than 1 yd),  
      Concrete Rubber, Edger,  
      Fence Erector, Form  
      Setter (steel), Guard  
      Rail Erector, Mechanic's  
      Tender (tire changer or  
      oiler), Mortar Mixer,  
      Nozzleman or Gun Operator  
      (gunite), Pipelayer,   
      Sign Erector...............$ 15.27                  
   
PAINTER (INCLUDES SANDBLASTER)...$ 26.36                  
   
POWER EQUIPMENT OPERATOR:   
     GROUP 1 
      Backhoe/Hydraulic  
      Excavator (3/4 yd &  
      over), Crane (less than  
      20 Tons), End Loader (3  
      yd & over), Motor Patrol  
      (finish),Piledriver,  
      Dragline...................$ 19.14                  
     GROUP 1A 
      Drill Operator (Caisson)...$ 25.26                  
      Farm Tractor Operator  
      (Power Broom)..............$ 13.50                  
     GROUP 2 
      Backhoe/Hydraulic  
      Excavator (less than 3/4  
      yd), Bulldozer or Push  
      Dozer, End Loader (less  
      than 3 yd), Motor Patrol  
      (rough), Tractor  
      (crawler/ utility), Truck  
      Driver (Heavy Duty, Off  
      Road) Scraper, Shovel, or  
      Trenching Machine..........$ 17.08                  
     GROUP 3 
      Asphalt Paver, Concrete  
      Finishing Machine,  
      Concrete Paver, Scale,  
      Spreader (self- 
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      propelled), Concrete  
      Grinder, Asphalt Milling  
      Machine, Boring Machine  
      (horizontal)...............$ 17.75                  
     GROUP 4 
      Bobcat, Central Mining  
      Plant, Concrete Pump,  
      Concrete Saw, Curb  
      Machine (automatic or  
      manual), Dozer or Loader  
      (stockpile), Drill  
      (piling), Mulcher or  
      Seeder, Rock Drill (truck  
      mounted), Roller  
      (asphalt), Roller  
      (compaction self- 
      propelled), Soil  
      Stabilization Machine,  
      Tractor (boom and hoist),  
      Bituminous Distributor  
      Machine, pump, Track  
      Drill, Striping Machine....$ 16.48                  
      Heavy Duty Mechanic........$ 20.33                  
      Light Duty Mechanic........$ 19.53                  
      Sweeping Machine (Vacuum)  
      Operator...................$ 15.56                  
     GROUP 5 
      Crane (over 20 Tons).......$ 20.44                  
   
TRUCK DRIVER   
     2 axles.....................$ 15.36                  
     3-4 axles...................$ 14.86                  
     5 or more axles.............$ 16.27                  
---------------------------------------------------------------- 
 
WELDERS - Receive rate prescribed for craft performing 
operation to which welding is incidental. 
 
================================================================ 
  
Note: Executive Order (EO) 13706, Establishing Paid Sick Leave 
for Federal Contractors applies to all contracts subject to the 
Davis-Bacon Act for which the contract is awarded (and any 
solicitation was issued) on or after January 1, 2017.  If this 
contract is covered by the EO, the contractor must provide 
employees with 1 hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours 
they work, up to 56 hours of paid sick leave each year. 
Employees must be permitted to use paid sick leave for their 
own illness, injury or other health-related needs, including 
preventive care; to assist a family member (or person who is 
like family to the employee) who is ill, injured, or has other 
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health-related needs, including preventive care; or for reasons 
resulting from, or to assist a family member (or person who is 
like family to the employee) who is a victim of, domestic 
violence, sexual assault, or stalking.  Additional information 
on contractor requirements and worker protections under the EO 
is available at www.dol.gov/whd/govcontracts. 
 
Unlisted classifications needed for work not included within 
the scope of the classifications listed may be added after 
award only as provided in the labor standards contract clauses 
(29CFR 5.5 (a) (1) (ii)). 
 
 
---------------------------------------------------------------- 
  
 
The body of each wage determination lists the classification 
and wage rates that have been found to be prevailing for the 
cited type(s) of construction in the area covered by the wage 
determination. The classifications are listed in alphabetical 
order of "identifiers" that indicate whether the particular 
rate is a union rate (current union negotiated rate for local), 
a survey rate (weighted average rate) or a union average rate 
(weighted union average rate). 
 
Union Rate Identifiers 
 
A four letter classification abbreviation identifier enclosed 
in dotted lines beginning with characters other than "SU" or 
"UAVG" denotes that the union classification and rate were 
prevailing for that classification in the survey. Example: 
PLUM0198-005 07/01/2014. PLUM is an abbreviation identifier of 
the union which prevailed in the survey for this 
classification, which in this example would be Plumbers. 0198 
indicates the local union number or district council number 
where applicable, i.e., Plumbers Local 0198. The next number, 
005 in the example, is an internal number used in processing 
the wage determination. 07/01/2014 is the effective date of the 
most current negotiated rate, which in this example is July 1, 
2014. 
 
Union prevailing wage rates are updated to reflect all rate 
changes in the collective bargaining agreement (CBA) governing 
this classification and rate. 
 
Survey Rate Identifiers 
 
Classifications listed under the "SU" identifier indicate that 
no one rate prevailed for this classification in the survey and 
the published rate is derived by computing a weighted average 
rate based on all the rates reported in the survey for that 
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classification.  As this weighted average rate includes all 
rates reported in the survey, it may include both union and 
non-union rates. Example: SULA2012-007 5/13/2014. SU indicates 
the rates are survey rates based on a weighted average 
calculation of rates and are not majority rates. LA indicates 
the State of Louisiana. 2012 is the year of survey on which 
these classifications and rates are based. The next number, 007 
in the example, is an internal number used in producing the 
wage determination. 5/13/2014 indicates the survey completion 
date for the classifications and rates under that identifier. 
 
Survey wage rates are not updated and remain in effect until a 
new survey is conducted. 
 
Union Average Rate Identifiers 
 
Classification(s) listed under the UAVG identifier indicate 
that no single majority rate prevailed for those 
classifications; however, 100% of the data reported for the 
classifications was union data. EXAMPLE: UAVG-OH-0010 
08/29/2014. UAVG indicates that the rate is a weighted union 
average rate. OH indicates the state. The next number, 0010 in 
the example, is an internal number used in producing the wage 
determination. 08/29/2014 indicates the survey completion date 
for the classifications and rates under that identifier. 
 
A UAVG rate will be updated once a year, usually in January of 
each year, to reflect a weighted average of the current 
negotiated/CBA rate of the union locals from which the rate is 
based. 
 
  
 
---------------------------------------------------------------- 
 
                   WAGE DETERMINATION APPEALS PROCESS 
 
1.) Has there been an initial decision in the matter? This can 
be: 
 
*  an existing published wage determination 
*  a survey underlying a wage determination 
*  a Wage and Hour Division letter setting forth a position on 
   a wage determination matter 
*  a conformance (additional classification and rate) ruling 
 
On survey related matters, initial contact, including requests 
for summaries of surveys, should be with the Wage and Hour 
Regional Office for the area in which the survey was conducted 
because those Regional Offices have responsibility for the 
Davis-Bacon survey program. If the response from this initial 
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contact is not satisfactory, then the process described in 2.) 
and 3.) should be followed. 
 
With regard to any other matter not yet ripe for the formal 
process described here, initial contact should be with the 
Branch of Construction Wage Determinations.  Write to: 
 
            Branch of Construction Wage Determinations 
            Wage and Hour Division 
            U.S. Department of Labor 
            200 Constitution Avenue, N.W. 
            Washington, DC 20210 
 
2.) If the answer to the question in 1.) is yes, then an 
interested party (those affected by the action) can request 
review and reconsideration from the Wage and Hour Administrator 
(See 29 CFR Part 1.8 and 29 CFR Part 7). Write to: 
 
            Wage and Hour Administrator 
            U.S. Department of Labor 
            200 Constitution Avenue, N.W. 
            Washington, DC 20210 
 
The request should be accompanied by a full statement of the 
interested party's position and by any information (wage 
payment data, project description, area practice material, 
etc.) that the requestor considers relevant to the issue. 
 
3.) If the decision of the Administrator is not favorable, an 
interested party may appeal directly to the Administrative 
Review Board (formerly the Wage Appeals Board).  Write to: 
 
            Administrative Review Board 
            U.S. Department of Labor 
            200 Constitution Avenue, N.W. 
            Washington, DC 20210 
 
4.) All decisions by the Administrative Review Board are final. 
 
================================================================ 
 
          END OF GENERAL DECISION 

 


