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INCENTIVE PROGRAM

It’s Been a While

It has been a while since we have sent out our e-newsletter. However, we have been just a little on the busy
side. This is what has been happening since January 3, 2011.

» On January 3™, CMS began accepting registrations from eligible professionals (EP) and eligible hospitals (EH)
for registration in the EHR Incentive Program on its National Level Repository (NLR) website.

» On January 4", TennCare received its first data file from CMS consisting of 92 EPs. Applying that first day
were physicians and nurse practitioners. Out of those 92, only four registrations are denied because the
provider did not have a Medicaid ID number. (By the end of the first week, Tennessee was second in the
nation in number of registrants, and continues to remain so as of January 24".)

> By January 7", the end of the first week, total applications equal 119, including 1 hospital and 1 dentist.

> As of January 20", TennCare had received a total of 333 registrations:

(o] Acute Care Hospitals — 10 Dentists —5
o Physicians — 222 Certified Nurse Midwives — 4
(o] Nurse Practitioners — 88 Physician Assistants - 4

The majority of registrations TennCare receives from the CMS NLR are being accepted by TennCare and notice
(email) sent to the applying provider. We are still refining our system, so please allow a little time for your
eligibility to be reviewed and determined. However, processing is speeding up daily.

What does TennCare Do?

Following receipt of your registration information, TennCare will do its own verification of that information.
TennCare is also required by CMS to verify your state medical license number, that you have a Tennessee
Medicaid provider number, that you are alive, and that there are not any sanctions imposed against you that
prohibit your participation in TennCare/Medicaid. Following this review, we will inform the NLR of whether your
registration has been accepted.

We will send you a notice indicating whether you passed or if there is a problem. Your acceptance letter will
indicate the next step to registering for the TennCare/Medicaid EHR Incentive Program. If there is a problem
with your registration, we will inform you of the problem. We will also tell you what needs to be done to correct
it. Some problems can only be corrected by going back to the NLR. Other problems may be handled by
TennCare.

If you are a provider from another state wishing to participate in the TennCare/Medicaid EHR Incentive
program, we will verify with your home state the same information (i.e., state medical license, sanctions, alive).
HOWEVER, you MUST have a Tennessee Medicaid provider number to participate in Tennessee’s program.
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“What’s Next?

TennCare’s registration approval letter informs providers that the Application & Attestation Portal will be
available by the end of March or the first of April. Questions have already been received about what can be
done next. There are a few things that you can be doing to get ready for attestation:

++ Identify the 90-day period that you are going to use to attest to your patient volume. It must be a period
that is representative of your practice. Medicaid patient volume is determined based on PAID Medicaid
encounters. You can use any 90-day period, it does not have to be a calendar quarter. Remember,
encounters submitted late in the year may not be processed and paid in time to show up when we verify
your volume. “Needy Individual” patient volume is to be used only by EPs who practice predominately in
FQHCs or RHCs. “Needy Individuals” are individuals meeting any of the following three criteria: (1) They are
receiving medical assistance from Medicaid or CHIP; (2) they are furnished uncompensated care by the
provider; or (3) they are furnished services either at no cost or reduced cost based on a sliding scale
determined by the individual’s ability to pay.

«» Once you have identified your 90-day qualifying period, go ahead and begin gathering your data (numbers).
You will need the total of all paid encounters (Medicare, commercial, private, Medicaid, etc.) as well as the
total number of all paid Medicaid encounters (Needy Individuals if you practice predominately in an FQHC or
RHC).

%+ Gather your documentation showing how you have acquired, updated, or implemented your certified EHR
technology. These are things such as copies of receipts, bill of sale, contracts, leases, etc.

About the NLR

When you applied through the NLR website, you were given an NLR Registration Number. You should have

either printed that page or written the number down. You will need that number for several purposes.

«+ If you need to return to the NLR website to update information, you will need the registration number. In
addition, you must page all the way through until you come to the button to submit your changes. Failure to
do so may result in your change/update not being accepted and forwarded to TennCare.

«» Our acceptance letter refers you to our web page where you can check the status of your registration. You
will need the NLR Registration Number and your NPI to access that information. (FYI, it is usually a day or
two after you register with the NLR before we receive your information. Allow us a couple of days to verify

your information before checking your status. We are going as fast as we can, but is does take a while.)

CMS EHR Certification Number

There has been some confusion on what exactly is the CMS EHR Certification Number that the NLR requests
when you register.

It is NOT the certification number assigned by the companies evaluating and approving EHR systems and
modules. This number can be anywhere from 9 to 15 digits in length and may contain alpha characters and/or
dashes.
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The CMS EHR Certification Number IS a 15-position number that is an alpha/numeric combination. There are not
any dashes or other characters in this number. To get the CMS EHR Cert Number, you must go to this web site:
http://onc-chpl.force.com/ehrcert. Follow the instructions to identify your certified system and/or modules. You
will then place them in the “shopping cart.” If your shopping cart meets 100% of the needed requirements, you
will then be given your CMS EHR Certification Number. THAT is the number that you enter in your NLR
registration and give to us for verification.

Upcoming Events

TennCare works with tnREC and other organizations to get out the word about the EHR Incentive Program and
answer your questions. We want to let you know what is happening on the national scene and in Tennessee.
Usually a couple of vendors are present to demonstrate their products that may be of interest to you. We
encourage you to attend one of the following workshops nearest you:

Tuesday, February 1 — ParkRidge East, Chattnooga
Tuesday, February 15 — Skyline, Madison Campus
Thursday, March 3 — Erlanger, Chattanooga

Registration begins at 7:30 AM Local Time, and the program normally begins about 8:15. Contact Robert Morris
at (615) 946-3937, RMorris@qSource.org, if you are interested in attending.

More workshops will be scheduled in the future and we’ll let you know when those are. If you are interested in
hosting a workshop/vendor lab, contact Robert and let him know.

We look forward to seeing you.

TennCare/Medicaid EHR Incentive Program



http://onc-chpl.force.com/ehrcert

