

March 9, 2021

Dear Dealer:

This letter serves as notice that as of April 15, 2021, the Motor Vehicle Commission, in an effort to promote a fair and level playing field for all licensees and to prevent abuses to the public, will begin auditing advertising through all media, state-wide.

Please ensure all advertising is compliant. Failure to do so may result in substantial civil penalties. Again, the Motor Vehicle Commission will begin a thorough review of advertising across all mediums beginning April 15, 2021. For laws and rules which govern Tennessee dealer advertising, you may visit https://www.tn.gov/commerce/regboards/mvc/rules-and-laws.html

The Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission has primary authority over motor vehicle dealer advertising. Remedies include civil penalties, license suspension and/or revocation. Its authority is also shared with other authorities, such as the Attorney General's Office and the Federal Trade Commission. For Federal Advertising regulations, please visit www.ftc.gov.

Specifically, Tenn. Code Ann. § 55-17-114, outlines conditions under which the Motor Vehicle Commission maintains authority for <u>license revocation and/or suspension</u>. Additionally, pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 55-17-117(a), any person violating this part or any rule promulgated under this part, or any order issued by the commission, is subject to a civil penalty of not less than one hundred dollars (\$100) nor more than five thousand dollars (\$5,000) for each day of violation or for each act of violation.

We thank you and appreciate your attention to this important matter.

Kindest Regards, Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission

Cc: Dealer File