Title Pledge Loan Agreements

What Are Title Pledge Agreements

Tennessee Code Annotated (“TCA" allows licensed
lenders to conduct and operate business as title pledge
lenders by this department pursuant to the Tennessee
Title Pledge Act ("the Act") in TCA §845-15-101 et seq.

Title and property pledge agreements are thirty (30)
day written agreements in which the lender agrees to
make a loan of money to the consumer (“pledgor”) and
the pledgor in turn agrees to give the lender an
unencumbered (free of lien) security interest in the
titled personal property owned by the pledgor. The
pledgor further agrees that the lender may keep
physical possession of the certificate of title the entire
length of the agreement. The pledgor regains their
right to redeem the title by repaying the 30 day loan in
full by complying with their pledge agreement.

Length of Contracts

Although, TCA 845-15-113(a) states, “title pledge
agreements and property pledge agreements...shall not
exceed thirty (30) days in length” an agreement may
provide for additional thirty-day period renewals {which
may occur automatically) unless one (1) of the following
occurs between the lender and pledgor:

¢ pledgor pays alk principal, interest and customary
fees as agreed. h

¢ pledgor surrenders‘pessession, title and all other
interest in and to titled personal property and
certificate of title to lender.

¢ lender notifies pledgor in writing the agreement
is not to be renewed; or:

o pledgor defaults on any ebligation pursuant to
the agreement. '

Rate of Interest and Charges

Section 45-15-111(a) of the Act specifies that the title
pledge lender may contract for and receive an effective
rate of interest not to exceed 2% per month; additionally,
the lender may charge a fee equal to no more than 1/5 of
the original principal amount (or unpaid balance in the
case of renewals) to defray the ordinary costs of operat-
ing a title pledge office. Therefore, between the interest
rate and fee assessments, the statute allows a maximum
assessment of twenty-two percent (22%) per month on a
title pledge agreement.

What Happens If | Can't Pay

If the agreement is not paid within the 30 day time frame
of the contract, the lender can choose to automatically
renew the agreement for another 30 day period. If they
make this decision, the lender can assess another
interest rate and fee charge for the “new” 30-day period.
This is pursuant to language in TCA 845-15-111(a) where
it is stated, “the interest and fees shall be deemed to be
earned, due and owing as of the date of the title pledge
agreement or property pledge agreement and a like sum
shall be deemed earned, due and owing on the same day
of each subsequent thirty-day period.”

Pursuant to TCA 845-15-113(d), beginning &=
with the third renewal and at each
successive renewal thereafter, the pledgor = s*
or borrower, shall be requiredto makea & -7
payment of at least five percent (5%) of the or|g|na|
principal amount of the title pledge transaction, in addi-
tion to the interest rate and fees authorized by the Act.

Remember: This loan is not intended to meet long-term
financial needs. You should use this loan only to meet
short-term cash needs.
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