
BOARD OF DENTISTRY POLICY STATEMENT ON DISCIPLINING 
CONTINUING EDUCATION DEFICIENCIES 

 
DENTIST 

 
Should a licensed Tennessee dentist fail to obtain the required amount of continuing 
education during a biennial CE cycle, the following shall occur: 
 
1.  The licensee must pay a civil penalty in the amount of $600 within thirty days of 
notification from the Board; and  
 
2.  The licensee must make up the amount of hours he or she is deficient.  All deficient 
hours must be made up within ninety days of notification from the Board.    If a licensee 
is deficient in hours for a particular category of required CE (i.e., chemical dependency 
hours or CPR hours), the licensee must make up the hours required for that particular 
category.  If a licensee is deficient in CPR hours, such licensee must also provide proof 
within ninety days that he or she is currently certified in CPR. 
 
CE make-up hours do not count toward the hour requirement for any CE cycle other than 
the one which was found to be deficient.   
 
In the event a licensed Tennessee dentist fails for a second time to obtain the required 
amount of continuing education during a biennial CE cycle, such licensee must pay a 
$1,200 civil penalty, and must also meet the requirements of number 2, above.   
 

DENTAL HYGIENIST 
 
Should a licensed Tennessee dental hygienist fail to obtain the required amount of 
continuing education during a biennial CE cycle, the following shall occur: 
 
1.  The licensee must pay a civil penalty in the amount of $300 within thirty days of 
notification from the Board; and  
 
2.  The licensee must make up the amount of hours he or she is deficient.  All deficient 
hours must be made up within ninety days of notification from the Board.    If a licensee 
is deficient in hours for a particular category of required CE (i.e., chemical dependency 
hours or CPR hours), the licensee must make up the hours required for that particular 
category.  If a licensee is deficient in CPR hours, such licensee must also provide proof 
within ninety days that he or she is currently certified in CPR. 
 
CE make-up hours do not count toward the hour requirement for any CE cycle other than 
the one which was found to be deficient.   
 
In the event a licensed Tennessee dental hygienist fails for a second time to obtain the 
required amount of continuing education during a biennial CE cycle, such licensee must 
pay a $600 civil penalty, and must also meet the requirements of number 2, above.   



 
REGISTERED DENTAL ASSISTANT 

 
Should a registered Tennessee dental assistant fail to obtain the required amount of 
continuing education during a biennial CE cycle, the following shall occur: 
 
1.  The licensee must pay a civil penalty in the amount of $150 within thirty days of 
notification from the Board; and  
 
2.  The licensee must make up the amount of hours he or she is deficient.  All deficient 
hours must be made up within ninety days of notification from the Board.    If a licensee 
is deficient in hours for a particular category of required CE (i.e., chemical dependency 
hours or CPR hours), the licensee must make up the hours required for that particular 
category.  If a licensee is deficient in CPR hours, such licensee must also provide proof 
within ninety days that he or she is currently certified in CPR. 
 
CE make-up hours do not count toward the hour requirement for any CE cycle other than 
the one which was found to be deficient.   
 
In the event a registered Tennessee dental assistant fails for a second time to obtain the 
required amount of continuing education during a biennial CE cycle, such licensee must 
pay a $300 civil penalty, and must also meet the requirements of number 2, above.   
 
 
Adopted by the Board of Dentistry on the 13th day of September, 2007 
 


