
Tennessee Board of Medical Examiners’ Advisory Committee for 
Acupuncture 

Continuing Education Policy Statement   
 

 
A practitioner licensed in Tennessee is required to complete thirty (30) hours of continuing 
Professional Development Activity (PDA) points for the two (2) years (January 1 – December 
31) that precede the licensure renewal year. (See Tennessee Rules and Regulations 0880-12-.12 
regarding continuing education requirements)  
  
Should the practitioner fail to obtain the continuing education hours, the following shall 
occur:  
  

1. The practitioner must pay a Type C civil penalty in the amounts as follows: 
 

a) If five (5) for fewer PDA points are missed, a practitioner shall have thirty 
(30) days to cure the deficiency without penalty; 

b) If six (6) or more but less than ten (10) PDA points are missed, a practitioner 
shall pay a penalty of fifty dollars ($50); 

c) If eleven (11) or more but less than fifteen (15) PDA points are missed, a 
practitioner shall pay a penalty of one hundred dollars ($100); 

d) If sixteen (16) or more but less than twenty (20) PDA points are missed, a 
practitioner shall pay a penalty of one hundred fifty dollars ($150); 

e) If twenty-one (21) or more but less than twenty-five (25) PDA points are 
missed, a practitioner shall pay a penalty of two hundred dollars ($200); and 

f) If twenty-six (26) or more but less than twirty (30) PDA points are missed, a 
practitioner shall pay a penalty of two hundred fifty dollars ($250). 

 
2. Payment must be rendered within sixty days of notification from the Board that 

the practitioner has been found to have failed to obtain the required continuing 
education hours. 
 

3. The practitioner must make up the amount of continuing education hours that 
he/she is lacking, in addition to completing the continuing education hours 
requirement for the current calendar year. The deficient hours must be made 
up within one hundred eighty (180) days of receipt of this policy.  Documented 
proof of the deficient hours obtained must be submitted to the Committee upon 
completion.  

  
Failure to comply with this policy may result in disciplinary action. Failure to respond to the 
Committee’s request for documentation or to make up deficient continuing education hours after 
notification by the Committee may also result in disciplinary action. 
 
ADOPTED BY THE TENNESSEE ADVISORY COMMITTEE FOR ACUPUNCTURE ON 
SEPTEMBER 12, 2023. 
 
RATIFIED BY THE BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS ON SEPTEMBER 26, 2023. 


