
 POLICY ON CONTINUING EDUCATION AND COMPLIANCE 

 

APPROVED CONTINUING EDUCATION 

The Board accepts for license renewal continuing education (CE) courses conducted by the 

International Chiropractors Association, American Chiropractic Association, Tennessee 

Chiropractic Association, and courses approved by the Tennessee Chiropractic Association or 

Federation of Chiropractic Licensing Boards/Providers of Approved Continuing Education 

(FCLB/PACE) program that are consistent with RULE 0260-02-.12. However, no courses on the 

topics of philosophy or practice-building are approved.   

With regard to FCLB/PACE approval, as of June 1, 2017, courses must be listed on the PACE 

website 30 days in advance of the date the course is to begin.  The FCLB/PACE logo must 

additionally be listed on the submitted certificate. Courses offered by third party entities 

regardless of cooperation with a PACE recognized provider will not be approved.   

With regard to submitted certificate documentation, refer to Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. Rule 

section 0260-02-.12, 0260-03-.12, and/or 0260-05-.12 for additional guidance as to specific 

requirements for submission and approval.  

Ratified by the Board of Chiropractors on February 20, 2014   

Reaffirmed by the Board of Chiropractors on January 22, 2015   

Revised by the Board of Chiropractors on February 27, 2017 

 

NEW LICENSEE REQUIREMENTS 

The required six (6) hour course for chiropractors pursuant to Rule 0260-2-.12(2), two (2) hour 

course for chiropractic x-ray technologists pursuant to Rule 0260-3-.12(2) (a) and/or two (2) 

hour course for chiropractic therapy assistants pursuant to Rule 0260-5-.12(2) (a) in risk 

management, sexual/ professional boundaries and Tennessee statutory and regulatory 

chiropractic jurisprudence is required during the first six months of licensure for chiropractors 

and during the first year of licensure for chiropractic therapy assistants and/or chiropractic x-ray 

technologists.   

Courses meeting Tennessee criteria, and beyond the regular chiropractic education programs 

may be taken up to 12 months prior to licensure.  

 

The Board of Chiropractic Examiners adopted the following on February 21, 2008 

 

 COMPLIANCE POLICY 

A Chiropractic Physician licensed in Tennessee is required to complete twenty-four (24) clock 

hours of Board-approved continuing education each calendar year.   



Chiropractic Therapy Assistants and Chiropractic X-ray Technologists are required to complete 

six (6) clock hours of Board-approved continuing education each calendar year. 

Licensees must ensure educational courses submitted to fulfill annual continuing education 

requirements meet criteria for Tennessee approval and must be submitted by December 31 of 

each calendar year.  If hours submitted are determined to not meet Tennessee continuing 

education criteria, licensee will be deemed deficient by that number of hours and subject to 

Agreed Citation and a civil penalty.  If a Tennessee licensed Chiropractic Physician, Chiropractic 

Therapy Assistant or Chiropractic X-ray Technologist fails to obtain the required amount of 

approved continuing education during the calendar year due, the following shall occur: 

 

1. Beginning January 1 of each calendar year and prior to the institution of any disciplinary 

proceedings, a letter shall be sent from the Board’s administrative office to the licensee’s 

last known address of record stating the deficiency and asking that licensee cure the 

deficiency within ninety (90) days from the date of notification.   

2. If a Chiropractic Physician fails or refuses to cure the deficiency after ninety (90) days 

from the date of notification, the Board will present to the licensee an Agreed Citation 

which specifies a civil penalty payment in the amount of six hundred dollars ($600.00), to 

be rendered within thirty (30) days upon notification from the Board. Chiropractic 

Therapy Assistants and Chiropractic X-ray Technologists who fail or refuse to cure the 

deficiency upon notification by the Board will be issued an Agreed Citation specifying a 

civil penalty payment in the amount of three hundred dollars ($300.00), to be rendered 

within thirty (30) days upon notification from the Board. 

3. Licensee must make up the non-disputed number of required hours that he/she is 

deficient, in addition to the continuing education hours necessary to be obtained each 

calendar year. Documented proof of the deficient hours obtained must be submitted to the 

Board upon completion, but no later than 90 days following the date of signed Agreed 

Citation by the board.  Failure to fulfill these conditions may subject licensee to further 

disciplinary action. 

4. If the licensee refuses to execute the Agreed Citation and/or remit the civil penalty 

described therein within thirty (30) days of the date of the Agreed Citation is sent to the 

licensee, or if the licensee fails to provide proof of completion of deficient hours, the 

licensee shall be referred to the Office of Investigations and Office of General Counsel 

for formal disciplinary action. 

 

The Board administrative offices shall conduct annual audits prior to July 1 of each calendar 

year. Beginning June 1, 2018, licensees may begin to submit proof of completion of approved 

CE courses to CE Broker.  Effective January 1, 2019, licensees shall submit proof of continuing 

education through CE Broker and all licensees shall maintain, at the minimum, a free basic 

account with CE Broker to enable the Board to track submission of CE courses and conduct its 

annual audit of course completions.   

 

Policy statement was revised and ratified by the Board on July 19, 2018. 

Adopted by the Board of Chiropractic Examiners on January 26, 2017.  

Policy statement was previously amended on January 1, 2007 and November 9, 2004. 


