2021 COVID-19 Policy To Further Clarify Continuing Education Requirements

On July 16, 2020, the Board of Chiropractic Examiners adopted a policy entitled "COVID 19: Policy Regarding Health, Safety, Advertising, and Continuing Education Safety". Since the adoption of that policy, the Commissioner of Health adopted Policy No. 20-1 on July 20, 2020. The Governor has adopted a series of Executive Orders relative to the COVID-19 pandemic, the most recent being Executive Order No. 73 on December 22, 2020. Both of these subsequently adopted orders require modification of the Board's previously adopted policy.

The purpose of this Policy is to clarify for licensees the continuing education requirements they must meet for 2020 and 2021. Prior to the COVID pandemic, chiropractic physicians were required to complete 24 clock hours of Board-approved continuing education during each calendar year (Rule 0260-02-.12(1)). A maximum of 6 of the 24 clock hours could be obtained through distance learning courses (Rul3 0260-02-.12(4)(b)).

The Governor's Executive Order No. 73 suspends, for all healthcare professionals, "the requirement that any continuing education credits and hours be obtained in-person or at a live event" (page 2 of Executive Order, section 7.4). This suspension will continue until the expiration of the Executive Order (currently February 27, 2021, but expected to be extended to a later date). All other requirements of the statute and rules regarding continuing education remain in effect. As a result of this Executive Order, a chiropractic physician must obtain 24 hours of approved continuing education for 2020 and 24 hours of approved continuing education for 2021, but these hours may be obtained through either live events or distance learning courses or any combination of the two.

T.C.A. §63-4-112(c)(2)(A) provides that attendance at any course conducted by the American Chiropractic Association, the International Chiropractors Association, or the Tennessee Chiropractic Association is considered appropriate for compliance with the continuing education requirements. **This applies to both live events and distance learning courses conducted by any of these organizations.**

A <u>distance learning course</u> conducted by any other organization or person during the duration of this policy (including FCLB/PACE program), must be approved by the Board of Chiropractic Examiners based on the items mentioned in §63-4-112(c)(2)(A) and Rule 0260-02-.12(d) and on other factors that the Board believes should be considered in determining the quality of the course. All distance learning courses must be accompanied by the licensee's successful completion of a written post experience examination to evaluate the licensee's retention of the material in the course, as required by Rule 0260-02-.12(4)(a).

Through this Policy, the Board reaffirms its previously stated policy that licensees have until December 31, 2021 to obtain the total of 48 hours of continuing education that they must obtain for 2020 and 2021.

For additional information regarding COVID-19 guidelines please visit the Department of Health's webpage https://covid19.tn.gov/

Adopted by the Board of Chiropractic Examiners on the 28th day of January, 2021

Rationale: To provide clarity to Tennessee licensed chiropractic physicians, chiropractic therapy assistants, and chiropractic x-ray technologists regarding continuing education considerations as a result of recent executive orders during the COVID-19 pandemic.