POLICY TENNESSEE MASSAGE LICENSURE BOARD

CONTINUING EDUCATION VIOLATIONS

A massage therapist licensed in Tennessee must obtain twenty-four (24) hours of continuing education every two (2) years. If a licensed massage therapist fails to obtain the required continuing education hours, in an effort to avoid the matter being forwarded to the Department's Office of General Counsel for full prosecution and the possibility of more severe discipline, the therapist, if he or she is a first time offender, shall be offered an agreed citation with discipline as follows:

- 1. The licensee shall, within thirty (30) days of being notified of the assessment, pay:
 - a) a one hundred and fifty dollar (\$150.00) civil penalty; AND
 - b) twenty-five dollars (\$25.00) per hour, or portion thereof, the licensee is deficient; and
- 2. The licensee shall obtain the number of continuing education hours that he or she was deficient and an additional six (6) penalty hours of continuing education before the end of the next two (2) year period, in addition to the twenty-four (24) hours required for that period.

If the therapist fails to accept this offer or fails to comply with its terms the matter shall be referred to the Department's Office of General Counsel for full prosecution. <u>Full</u> **prosecution may include, and not be limited to, civil penalties double the amount offered in the agreed citation, the costs of prosecuting the case, and probation of the therapist's massage license**. Likewise, if the massage therapist is found deficient in any subsequent biennial continuing education period he or she shall be referred to the Department's Office of General Counsel for full prosecution rather than be offered the benefit of this policy.

Notwithstanding the above, if a massage therapist is deficient no more than two hours, has complied with 0870-01-.12(1)(b) and (c), and has not been found deficient on the previous audit, the therapist shall be not be sent an agreed citation, but shall instead be sent a letter notifying them of the deficiency and advising them that future deficiencies will result in disciplinary action.

Assessment of a civil penalty and/or requiring the completion of additional continuing education hours for failure to obtain the required number of hours is discipline that is reportable on the monthly disciplinary report.

Revised March ____, 2018.

Marvis Burke, Chairperson Tennessee Massage Licensure Board