## **Tennessee Board of Dispensing Opticians**

## **Policy on Continuing Education Violations**

The Tennessee Board of Dispensing Opticians requires each licensee to complete clock hours of approved continuing education courses during each calendar year. CE requirements will be set each January by the board and licensees will be notified in writing.

Any licensee who failed to obtain the required continuing education hours during the calendar year being audited and who provides proof of obtaining the deficient hours and the following year required hours will then be considered in compliance with continuing education requirements.

Any licensee who failed to obtain the required continuing education hours during the calendar year being audited and who provides documentation of obtaining the required hours of continuing education of the following calendar year, will be considered in compliance with continuing education requirements if the licensee obtains the deficient hours and submits proof of completion of the deficient hours and following year's required hours to the Board's office within 90 days of issuance of notice.

Any licensee who fails to submit sufficient documentation of obtaining the required hours in the audit year and the following calendar year; and/or any licensee who failed to make up the deficient hours and/or who failed to submit sufficient proof of completion of the deficient hours and following year required hours; and/or any licensee who failed to respond pursuant to a written request; and/or any licensee whose mail was returned due to an incorrect address on file of record in the Board's office, will be subject to disciplinary action by the Board. The licensee may avoid formal disciplinary proceedings if the licensee agrees to:

• Pay a civil penalty in the amount of one hundred dollars (\$100.00)

• Complete the number of deficient hour(s) and submit proof of completion to the Board's office within ninety (90) days.

Please note that the above agreement will not affect the existing number of hours of continuing education required to be obtained each calendar year.

Any licensee failing to comply with this policy will be referred to the Office of General Counsel for further review and/or disciplinary action.

For further information, please contact the Board of Dispensing Opticians by telephone at (615) 741-5735 or toll-free 1-800-778-4123, or in writing:

Board of Dispensing Opticians 665 Mainstream Drive Nashville, TN 37243

Adopted by the Board of Dispensing Opticians on the 15<sup>th</sup> day of October 2008, and amended on the 24<sup>th</sup> day of April 2019.