

TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE Natural Disaster Claim for Refund of Sales Tax

Name of Claimant			SSN		
Name of Claimant	(print or type)	SSN		
Spouse's Name		•	SSN		
Address of Primary Residence		Street address at time of disa	aster		
City	State Zip Code		County		
Mailing Address					
Mailing AddressStreet	or P.O. Box	City State Zip Code		Zip Code	
FEMA Application Number	FEMA Application Number		FEMA Disaster Number		
Total Amount of Tax Refund CI	aimed \$ (can	not exceed \$2 500)			
	-				
SCHEDULI Dates Qualifying Item(s)	OF QUALIFYING PURCHASE	S AND TAX PAID (attach	additional sheet if needed)		
Purchased (Purchases must be made on or after the date of the disaster)	Name of Retailer		f Item(s) Purchased efinitions of qualifying items)	Amount of Sales Tax Paid on Item(s)	
EXAMPLE: 01-14-2012	RETAILER NAME	LIGHT	T FIXTURES	\$19.99	
EXAMPLE: 2-15-2012	RETAILER NAME		NG SUPPLIES	\$17.25 \$70.00	
EXAMPLE: 3-09-2012	RETAILER NAME		WASHER/DRYER		
EXAMPLE: 12-31-2012	RETAILER NAME	FLO	DORING	\$250.0	
 The damage was cause The damage occurred a Any "major appliances" inatural disaster, Any "residential building repair, replacement, or replacement, or residential furniture destroyed in this disaster. 	ed above is/was my primary resided by a natural disaster that occurred by a natural disaster that occurred my primary residence, included in this claim were purchas supplies" included in this claim was used in this claim was used in this claim was used or, and cluded in this claim and paid the electare that the statements made restand that I may be subject to circular and	red on or after January 1 ased to replace an applia vere used in my primary r ster, I in my primary residence sales tax directly to the re in support of this claim a vil penalty of up to \$25,00	, 2012, ance that was damaged or residence for purposes of residence furniture that was etailer or through a contractive true, correct, and complete.	estoration, as damaged or tor. ete to the best of	
	CERTIFICATION	for FEMA Natural Disas	ter		
I received FEMA disas	ter assistance as a result of th				
Signature		Date			
	FOR OFF	ICE USE ONLY			
Claim Examined By		Date	Amount Approved		

Class of Tax _____ Claim Date _____ Account Number ____

Director or Delegate _____

ADDITIONAL SHEET SCHEDULE OF QUALIFYING PURCHASES AND TAX PAID

Dates Qualifying Item(s) Purchased (Purchases must be made on or after the date of the disaster)	Name of Retailer	Description of Item(s) Purchased (See instructions for definitions of qualifying items)	Amount of Sales Tax Paid on Item(s)
,			

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING NATURAL DISASTER CLAIM FOR REFUND OF SALES TAX

Tennessee Code Annotated § 67-6-396 authorizes a refund of sales tax paid by any natural person receiving disaster assistance through the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) as a result of a natural disaster. In addition, Tennessee Code Annotated § 67-6-396(g) authorizes a refund of sales tax paid by certain individuals affected by a natural disaster that is not a federally declared natural disaster in limited instances.

To receive a refund of sales tax, you must:

1) Complete all items on the reverse side:

- Name and social security number (Name should be one shown on FEMA documents)
- o Spouse's name and social security number
- o Address of primary residence at time of disaster
- Current mailing address
- o FEMA Application Number and Disaster Number, if applicable
- o Schedule of qualifying purchases and tax paid

2) Attach copy of the FEMA decision letter, if applicable.

As proof that FEMA assistance was received, include a copy of your FEMA decision letter or payment from FEMA bearing the FEMA application number and disaster number.

3) Remember to sign the claim form.

Refunds can be claimed for Tennessee sales tax paid to a retailer only on qualifying items. Qualifying items are items that meet the definitions of "major appliance," "residential building supplies," or "residential furniture." By signing the claim form, you are attesting that all purchases were used for the repair, replacement, or construction of the primary residence.

4) Retain records of purchases.

Claimant must keep and preserve all receipts and invoices for a period of three (3) years from December 31 of the year in which this claim for refund form was filed.

5) File only one refund claim.

You can only apply once per residence. Thus, you should include all your qualifying purchases in this claim for refund. The only limit on including multiple items is that the total tax refunded to you cannot exceed \$2,500.

6) Mail this claim form and documentation to:

Attn: Natural Disaster Refund Claim Tennessee Department of Revenue Andrew Jackson State Office Building Nashville, Tennessee 37242

7) File claim by applicable due date.

The claim for refund must be filed within one (1) year from the date shown on the FEMA decision letter received by the claimant. If filing as a result of a non FEMA disaster the claim must be filed by the date defined in Tennessee Code Annotated § 67-6-396(g).

Qualifying items on which you can claim a refund of sales tax paid:

"Major appliance" means any water heater, dishwasher, washer, dryer, refrigerator, freezer, stove, range, oven, cooktop, microwave, vacuum, or fan that is used in your primary residence to replace an appliance that was damaged or destroyed, provided that the sales price per item is \$3,200 or less.

"Residential building supplies" means any of the following items if used in your primary residence for purposes of restoration, repair, replacement, or rebuilding due to the disaster provided that the sales price per item is \$500 or less:

- Cleaning and disinfecting materials,
- Trash bags, boxes, construction tools, and hardware, or
- Roofing shingles, roofing paper, gutters, downspouts, vents, doors, windows, sheetrock, drywall, insulation, paint and paint materials, flooring, and other necessary building materials.

"Residential furniture" means furniture commonly used in a residential dwelling that is used in your primary residence to replace furniture that was damaged or destroyed in this disaster, provided that the sales price per item is \$3,200 or less.

NEED HELP?

Taxpayer assistance is available from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. (Central Time) Monday through Friday.

1-800-342-1003 General information 615-253-0600 Nashville area

615-741-0443 For information on filing refund claims

615-532-6396 Refund Fax number

File on TNTAP: https://tntap.tn.gov/eservices/ /

Website: www.tn.gov/revenue
Email address: revenue.support@tn.gov