A Commission Report to the 105th General Assembly

Building Tennessee's Tomorrow:

Anticipating the State's Infrastructure Needs

July 2004 through June 2009

Harry A. Green, Ph.D. Executive Director

Lynnisse Roehrich-Patrick, J.D. Associate Executive Director Co-Author

> David W. Lewis, M.A. Project Manager Co-Author

Catherine Corley, M.A. Senior Research Associate Co-Author

Daniel Merchant, M.S. Senior Research Associate Co-Author

Brian Avent, B.S. Information Systems Support

Teresa Gibson
Web Development & Publications Manager

Other Contributing Staff:

Leah Eldridge, J.D.

Jane Howell, M.S.

Emily Hunter, M.C.R.P.

Sallie Hussey, M.A.

Rose Naccarato, Ph.D.

Libby Thurman, M.A.

September 2007

TACIR staff wish to acknowledge the efforts of the development district staff responsible for the inventory:

Susan Reid, Executive Director Beulah Ferguson, Director of Special Projects First Tennessee Development District

Wendy Askins, Executive Director Larry Webb, Deputy Director Ben Stewart, Planner James Wheeler, Planner Upper Cumberland Development District

Sam Edwards, Executive Director Phil Armor, Director of Regional Planning Tonya Blades, Regional Planner Annie Trauernicht, Chief Research Analyst Mitzi Cerjan, Regional Planner Patty Cavanah, Executive Admin. Secretary Greater Nashville Regional Council

John Bucy, Executive Director Wanda Fuzzell, Planner Northwest Tennessee Development District

John Sicola, Executive Director Adrienne Royals, Planner Robert Brimhall, Planner Memphis Area Association of Governments Terry Bobrowski, Executive Director Jennifer Lehto, Transportation Planner Mollie Childress, Regional Planner Angela Burgin, Administrative Assistant East Tennessee Development District

Beth Jones, Executive Director Chuck Hammonds, Regional Planner Mike Bourne, Regional Planner Southeast Tennessee Development District

Jerry Mansfield, Executive Director Daryl Phillips, Rural Development Specialist South Central Tennessee Development District

Evelyn Robertson, Jr., Executive Director Dvon Duncan, Economic Development Director Frank Zerfoss, Planner Drew Christian, Planner Southwest Tennessee Development District

The staff of the TACIR would like to acknowledge the contributions of Brian Avent, who served as information systems support from 1999 through 2007. He played a major role in improving the quality of the inventory that is the basis of this report. The staff would also like to acknowledge the support of Joe Max Williams, former executive director of the South Central Tennessee Development District, and Hale Booth, former executive director of the Southeast Tennessee Development District for their support of the Public Infrastructure Needs Inventory.