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* Traffic Signals

At some signalized intersections, an electrical circuit with loops embedded in the

pavement is used to detect vehicles waiting for a green light. The light will not turn
green until the sensor detects metal, indicating the presence of a vehicle. Some
sensors are not sensitive enough to detect the metal in a bicycle, and some bicycles

are made of carbon fiber and do not contain enough metal to be detected. The most
sensitive position for a bicycle to be detected is directly over the pavement cut. An
unresponsive loop should be reported to the local traffic engineering office.

Tennessee state law has made it legal for motorcycles and bicycles to stop and proceed
through a red light if the sensor does not detect them.

* Aggressive Driving/Harassment

A few motorists verbally threaten bicyclists, or even throw objects at them.
Bicyclists are often not clear on what to do in this situation. If you are physically
threatened by a driver or passenger’s actions, note the license plate number and a
description of the vehicle and the harasser, and call the appropriate law enforcement
agency as soon as possible.

¢ Assault
Every driver of a vehicle must exercise due care by operating the vehicle at a safe speed,

Infroduction

Traffic rules exist to improve everyone’s safety and are based on collective
experience. Most crashes can be avoided if both bicyclists and motorists follow the
rules of the road.

The Tennessee Department of Transportation reminds both motorists and bicyclists
to remember a few things when out on the roads.

MOTORISTS

Individual drivers can make the roads safer by driving at reasonable speeds,
expecting and slowing for bicyclists and pedestrians, and leaving plenty of room
when passing. Remember that if bicyclists and pedestrians were not out walking
and riding, they would probably be out driving, creating more traffic congestion!

When you pass a bicyclist on the street, remember:

by maintaining a safe lookout, by keeping the vehicle under control, and by devoting full
time and attention to operating the vehicle. Failure to overtake and pass a bicyclist safely is
a violation of due care. If the violation results in serious bodily injury of another, it is a
Class B misdemeanor punishable by a fine of $250. If the violation results in the death of
another, it is a class A misdemeanor punishable by a fine of $500 and up to a year in jail
time (55-8-197).

If the driver or passenger assaults you with an object, that would be simple assault.
If they use the vehicle to try to run you off the road or hit you, that is considered
aggravated assault because the vehicle is a weapon.
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BICYCLISTS

For bicyclists, safety depends more on how you ride rather than where. Many
studies show that bicyclists who practice “Vehicular Cycling,” following the rules

of the road and using front and rear lights starting at dusk, are statistically as safe as
motorists and up to twenty times safer than bicyclists who don’t follow road rules or
use lights. Following these rules makes the streets safe for everyone:

Bicycling in cooperation with traffic and the law is an enjoyable experience with
many health benefits.

* Signals for Turns

Every driver who intends to start, stop or turn, or partly turn from a direct

line, shall first see that such movement can be made in safety, and whenever the
operation of any other vehicle may be affected by such movement, shall give a signal
required in this section, plainly visible to the driver of such other vehicle of the
intention to make such movement.

Whenever the signal is given by means of the hand and arm, the driver shall

indicate the intention to start, stop, or turn, or partly turn, by extending the hand
and arm from and beyond the left side of the vehicle, in the following manner:
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e For left turn, or to pull to the left, the arm shall be extended in a horizontal
position straight from and level with the shoulder;

* For right turn, or pull to the right, the arm shall be extended upward.
(You can also use your right arm, extended straight out. The law was written for
drivers of motor vebicles, who cannot use their right arms for turn signals.)

* For slowing down or to stop, the arm shall be extended downward

(55-8-143)

 Sidewalk Riding

While there is no state law that prohibits sidewalk riding, some local

jurisdictions in Tennessee do have ordinances that prohibit bicycling on sidewalks,
particularly in downtown business districts where pedestrian traffic is common.
Where bicycling on sidewalks is allowed, bicyclists must yield to pedestrians and
give audible warnings before passing pedestrians.



* Bicycle Lamps and Brakes

Every bicycle when used at night must be equipped with a
front white headlight visible at a distance of 500 feet, and
a red rear reflector visible at a distance of 50 feet. Bicycles
must also be equipped with brakes that allow the bicyclist
to stop within 25 feet at 10 mph on dry pavement
(55-8-177).

* Carrying Articles on Bicycles
No bicyclist shall carry any package, bundle or article which prevents them from

keeping at least one hand upon the handlebars (55-8-176).

* No Passengers
No one can ride a bicycle other than on a permanent seat. No bicycle shall be used
to carry more persons than the number for which it is designed (55-8-173).

¢ Clinging to Vehicles
A bicyclist may not attach themselves or their bicycle to any other vehicle on a

roadway (55-8-174).

* Helmet Law and Child Bicycle Safety

With regard to any bicycle operated on any highway, street or sidewalk, all bicyclists
under the age of 16 must wear a protective bicycle helmet of good fit fastened
securely upon the head with the straps of the helmet.

All passengers on bicycles must weigh less than 40 pounds or be less than 40 inches
in height, and be properly seated in and adequately secured to a restraining seat

(55-52-105).

\ Bicycle helmets, properly fitted and secured, have
v been found effective at reducing the incidence
Q, and severity of head, brain and upper facial
‘ injuries. Head injuries account for about 30% of
f emergency room visits of injured bicyclists. We
NO ’ encourage anyone riding a bike to wear a helmet,
no matter what age you are!
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Uniform Traffic Control Synopsis

For purposes of reducing high-risk behaviors, the most important sections of the
Tennessee Code Title 55 are indicated below.

* Legal Status of Bicycles

A bicycle is defined as a vehicle and bicyclists are subject to the same rights and
responsibilities of other drivers, except those provisions which by their nature can
have no application to bicyclists (55-8-101, 55-8-172).

«=| ° Obedience to Any Required Traffic-Control Device
All drivers, including bicyclists, must obey all official
traffic-control devices

(55-8-109).
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* Driving on Right Side of Roadway
Upon all roadways of sufficient width, a vehicle shall be driven upon the right half
of the roadway, except:

1T e When passing another vehicle proceeding in the
same direction (pass on the left)
* When the right half of a roadway is closed because
of construction
* On a roadway divided into three marked lanes for
traffic under the rules applicable thereon; or
* On a one-way street (55-8-115)

* Paved Shoulders

Since the definition of “roadway” excludes the shoulder (55-8-101), bicyclists are not
required to ride on the shoulder, although they may prefer to do so. Shoulders are
often filled with debris and broken glass, so they are not always good places to ride.

* Passing

The operator of a motor vehicle when overtaking and passing a bicycle proceeding
in the same direction on the roadway, shall leave a safe distance between the motor
vehicle and the bicycle of not less than three feet (3°) and shall maintain such
clearance until safely past the overtaken bicycle.
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Bicyclists must pass stopped or slower vehicles on the left, just as motorists do.
Passing on the right is only allowed when the vehicle overtaken is making or about

to make a left turn, on a road with unobstructed pavement not occupied by parked
vehicles of sufficient width for two or more lines of moving vehicles in each direction;
and on a one-way street where the roadway is free from obstructions and of sufficient
width for two or more lines of moving vehicles. The driver of a vehicle may overtake
and pass another vehicle upon the right only under conditions permitting such
movement in safety. In no event shall such movement be made by driving off the
pavement or main-traveled portion of the roadway (55-8-117, 55-8-118).

We recommend that bicyclists 7oz pass cars on the right, though it may be tempting.
Motorists may suddenly turn right into a driveway, or pull out in front of you
because they see a line of stopped cars, not you.

* Intersections and Turning Movements
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Right Turns. The law specifies that both the approach to a right turn and the turn
itself must be made “in the rightmost lane and as close as practicable to the curb

or edge of road.” This is rarely a problem for bicyclists. However, motorists often
fail to observe this rule. Passing a bicyclist and then immediately turning right is a
violation of this rule. Drivers must pass at a safe distance to the left and not return
to the right until safely passed.

Bicyclists intending to go straight ahead who overtake vehicles that are waiting to
turn right are at high risk of collision. This is particularly a problem with trucks and
buses that must necessarily begin the right turn from a distance away from the
right curb. If the motorist is at the intersection first and is clearly indicating a right
turn, it is the bicyclist who is at fault for passing on the right, since it is clearly
unsafe to do so in such circumstances.

Left Turns. A bicyclist who cannot readily merge left in advance of turning left may
turn at the next block or stop at the far side of the intersection, turn left and then
proceed across the street after complying with right-of-way rules. But when
operating normally on the roadway, bicyclists, like motorists, must move towards the
middle of the road before turning left.

'The bicyclist should turn left from the right side of a left-turn lane, or from the
middle to left of a lane that also serves through traffic. Moving to the proper
position for a left turn may require the bicyclist to begin moving left a block or more
in advance of the turn, especially if there are several lanes to cross.

All drivers turning left must yield to traffic coming from the opposite direction. The
duty to yield depends on who is turning and who is going straight, not they type of
vehicle the operator is driving.

Straight Through. Drivers may have to change lane position in order to go straight
through an intersection. If the right lane becomes a right-turn-only lane, bicyclists
will need to merge left in order to go straight. If the rightmost lane permits both
straight-through and right-turn movements, a bicyclist may merge towards the
center of the lane to communicate to following motorists that the bicyclist does not
intend to turn right, and to prevent the motorists from overtaking and turning at
the same time. (55-8-140)

* Road Position for Bicyclists
Bicyclists moving more slowly than other traffic should ride as close as practicable
to the right-hand curb or edge of the roadway, except:

* When overtaking and passing another vehicle
proceeding in the same direction;

* When preparing for a left turn at an intersection or
into a private road or driveway; or

¢ When reasonably necessary to avoid conditions
including, but not limited to, parked vehicles,
animals, surface hazards, or a lane that is too

narrow for a bicycle and another vehicle to travel

safely side by side within the lane (55-8-175).

* Riding Side-by-side

Bicyclists shall not ride more than two abreast, except on paths or parts of roadways
set aside for the exclusive use of bicycles. Persons riding two abreast shall not
impede the normal and reasonable movement of traffic and, on a laned roadway,

shall ride within a single lane (55-8-175).
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