Skip to Content

U.S. Department of Education's NCLB Blue Ribbon Schools Award

On July 28, 2002, the Secretary announced that schools singled out for national honors will now reflect the goals of our nation's new education reforms for high standards and accountability.

The No Child Left Behind —Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private K-12 schools that are either academically superior in their states or that demonstrate dramatic gains in student achievement.

2012 Blue Ribbon School Awardees (press releasedownload pdf file)

The Tennessee Department of Education is proud to announce that six Tennessee schools have been chosen as 2012 No Child Left Behind – Blue Ribbon Schools. The award, presented by the U.S. Department of Education, honors public and private schools whose students attain and maintain high academic goals that work towards closing achievement gaps. The schools will receive $2,500 and recognition during a ceremony in Washington, D.C. in November. This year, all of Tennessee's Blue Ribbon Schools are "High Performing" (schools in the top 15% of the state).

  • Cascade Elementary: Bedford County Schools, Martha Fisher, Principal
  • E.E. Jeter Elementary: Shelby County Schools, Paulette Bond, Principal
  • Glenwood Elementary: Oak Ridge Schools, Pearl Goins, Principal
  • John Hay Elementary: Hamblen County Schools, Matthew Drinnon, Principal
  • Merrol Hyde Magnet School: Sumner County, Brad Schreiner, Principal
  • The Discovery School at Reeves Rogers: Murfreesboro, Linda Clark, Principal

The Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle, and high schools that are either high-performing (schools in the Top 15% of the state) or have improved student achievement (schools with at least 40% disadvantaged students that have dramatically improved student achievement to high levels). The program is part of a larger Department of Education effort to identify and disseminate knowledge about best teaching practice and school leadership.  For more information about the Blue Ribbon Schools program, visit