Skip to Content

Office of Safe & Supportive Schools

"Assisting Tennessee schools in their efforts to provide safe and supportive learning environments for all students"

The Office of Safe & Supportive Schools was established to assist Tennessee schools in their efforts to provide and maintain a safe and supportive learning environment. A particular focus is placed upon fostering partnerships between schools and the communities they serve.

The Office coordinates training and program development activities related to alternative and nontraditional education, dropout prevention, extended learning, school safety, and school climate.  Four centers provide professional training and technical assistance aimed at helping schools address the myriad of challenges facing today’s highest need, highest risk students.  Those specialized centers include the following:

  • The Center for Extended Learning (Afterschool Programming)
  • The Center for Dropout Prevention
  • The Center for School Climate
  • The Tennessee School Safety Center 

The Office of Safe & Supportive Schools also administers several grant programs including the following: 21st Century Community Learning Centers, Lottery for Education: Afterschool Programs (LEAPs), Safe Schools Act of 1998, the Safe and Drug Free Schools and Communities Act, and the Safe and Supportive Schools Grant (S3).

To learn more about our Office and current training events, click on the appropriate link of interest on the left navigation bar.  Please do not hesitate to call or email if you would like additional assistance.

Pat Conner, Executive Director
Tennessee Department of Education
710 James Robertson Parkway
9th Floor, Andrew Johnson Tower
Nashville, Tennessee 37243
Phone: (615) 741-3248
Fax: (615) 532-4791

Office of Safe and Supportive Schools Contact Information

NewOffice of Safe and Supportive Schools NewsletterNew