Principal of the Year

Each year a public school principal earns the distinction as Tennessee Principal of the Year. This award is given for meritorious service in education and outstanding leadership that leads to overall improvements in their school.

Nominations are received from the Principals’ Study Council Steering Committee. Nominees must have a minimum of three years' experience as a principal and a minimum of five years' experience in the Tennessee public schools. All nominees must have a proven track record of exceptional gains in student learning.

The winner is honored during the annual Tennessee Education LEADership Conference in Nashville.

Members of the Principals’ Study Council Steering Committee and an area map are available¬†here.


Last Update: April 23, 2014