Superintendent Study Council


The purpose of the Superintendent Study Council is to:

  • Provide an opportunity for the continuous study of problems of the profession;
  • Jointly evaluate, with the Tennessee Department of Education, ongoing instructional programs and recommend changes designed to improve those programs;


Membership in the Supervisor Study Council is open to all superintendents and directors of Tennessee schools.


In order to provide a more direct opportunity for active participation in the activities of the study council and to keep responsive to the needs of its members and to facilitate more direct cooperation between the department and the supervisors of the state, the Superintendent Study Council is organized into Area Study Councils for meeting purposes.

For further information, contact your Area liaison or Don Boyd, Strategic Planning Director, Centers of Regional Excellence.

Reporting attendance of State Alternative Credit is the sole responsibility of the Event Coordinator.

Study Council Executive Committee

Rob Britt, Chair

Blount County

Joe Barlow, Past Chair

Jackson County

Sam Miles, Vice-Chair

Henry County


Chad Moorehead

Moore County

South Central

Don Roberts

Meigs County


Jerry Strong

Clay County  

Upper Cumberland

David Snowden

Franklin Special

Mid Cumberland

Vicki Violette

Clinton City


Steve Wilkinson

Henderson County


Jubal Yennie

Sullivan County

First Tennessee

Candice McQueen

Commissioner of Eduction


Wayne Miller



Valerie Rutledge

Higher Education Advisor Member


Don Boyd

Cliff Sturdivant

Executive Secretaries


Related Links


Last Update: May 26, 2015