Tennessee Historical Commission

Meeting Details (Revised May 11, 2017)

June 16, 2017 - 9:00 a.m. CST

Pickwick Landing State Park
Conference Center
120 Playground Loop
Counce, TN 38326
  • Meeting agenda will be posted 1-2 weeks in advance.  
  • Rulemaking Hearing, June 13, 2017 at 1:30 PM - The Tennessee Historical Commission is currently in the process of promulgating rules to carry out the provisions of the Tennessee Heritage Protection Act. The rulemaking hearing will be held in the Tennessee Room, 3rd Floor, William R. Snodgrass Tennessee Tower, 312 Rosa L. Parks Ave. Nashville, TN 37243 on June 13, 2017 at 1:30 PM. Video conference will be available at the Memphis Environmental Field Office, 8383 Wolf Lake Drive, Memphis, TN 38133. View the proposed rules, and instructions for submitting comments.

Board Characteristics

Twenty-nine members: 24 appointed by the Governor for terms of five years and 5 ex officio members.

Members include

  • Governor of Tennessee
  • State Historian
  • State Archaeologist
  • Commissioner of Environment and Conservation
  • State Librarian and Archivist
  • 24 members who shall be equally divided among the three grand divisions of the state

Commissioned under T.C.A. 4-11-102.

The statute authorizing this board expires June 30, 2019 and the one-year wind-down period begins.


Term Expires


Ernie Bacon 10-15-2020 Middle Tennessee
David "Ray" Smith 10-31-2021 East Tennessee
Dr. Douglas Cupples  06-30-2021 West Tennessee
Elizabeth A. Campbell 06-30-2017 Middle Tennessee
Allen F. Carter, Vice-Chair 09-30-2021 East Tennessee
Dr.  Kent Dollar 09-30-2020 Middle Tennessee
Sam D. Elliott 05-31-2020 East Tennessee
Governor Ex Officio Governor of Tennessee
Jeremy S. Harrell 09-30-2020 Middle Tennessee
Yolanda (Loni) Harris 09-30-2019 West Tennessee
Toye Heape 09-30-2019 Middle Tennessee
Vacant 09-30-2017 West Tennessee
Alpha B. (Tiny) Jones 06-30-2019 Middle Tennessee
Bill Landry 06-30-2021 East Tennessee
Lucy W. Lee 11-15-2020 Middle Tennessee
William Lyons 02-28-2021 East Tennessee
Robert Martineau Ex Officio Commissioner TDEC
Linda Moss Mines 11-15-2020 East Tennessee
Dr. Reavis L. Mitchell, Jr., Chairman 06-30-2019 Middle Tennessee
Joanne Cullom Moore 09-30-2021 West Tennessee
Mike Moore Ex Officio State Archaeologist
Keith Norman 09-30-2020 West Tennessee
Beverly C. Robertson 09-30-2020 West Tennessee
Chuck Sherrill Ex Officio State Librarian and Archivist
Joe Swann 02-28-2021 East Tennessee
Judge David Tipton 09-30-2018 East Tennessee
Dr. Carroll Van West Ex Officio State Historian
Ronald A. Walter 09-30-2017 West Tennessee
Derita Coleman Williams, Vice-Chair 06-30-2017 West Tennessee