Haslam Announces Transportation Grant for City of Franklin

Friday, July 21, 2017 | 3:44pm

Grant To Fund Phase II of SR 96 Multiuse Trail

FRANKLIN – Tennessee Gov. Bill Haslam and Tennessee Department of Transportation Commissioner John Schroer announced today the award of a $1,000,000 transportation alternative grant to the city of Franklin for Phase II of the State Route 96 Multiuse Trail Project.

The SR 96 Multiuse Trail currently begins near Carlisle Lane and extends to Vera Valley Road. Phase I of the project is under development, and will extend the trail to Jim Warren Park on Boyd Mill Avenue. The Phase II project will begin there and run all the way to 5th Avenue North. Once completed, the trail will provide connections between residential areas, schools, shopping, and city centers.

“In addition to providing residents and visitors with critical connections to areas of the city, this project will also greatly improve safety for pedestrians and bicyclists,” Haslam said.

“Tennessee’s downtowns are the heart of our communities, and projects like this enhance the lives of Tennesseans and make our communities more livable.”

The transportation alternative grant is made possible through a federally funded program formerly known as transportation enhancement, and is administered by the Tennessee Department of Transportation.

“Through these grants, TDOT has funded more than $345 million in non-traditional transportation projects,” said TDOT Commissioner John Schroer.  “This program has assisted communities all over the state in their efforts to revitalize downtowns, highlight historic areas, provide alternative means of transportation, and increase opportunities for economic development.”

A variety of activities, such as the restoration of historic facilities, bike and pedestrian trails, landscaping and other non-traditional transportation projects, are eligible for grant funds under the federal program.

Sen. Jack Johnson (R-Franklin), Rep. Glen Casada (R-Franklin), Rep. Charles Sargent (R-Franklin), and Rep. Sam Whitson (R-Franklin) represent Williamson County in the Tennessee General Assembly.