Skip to Content

Home Inspector Licensing Program

FAQs - Frequently Asked Questions

 

Becoming licensed:

Who is required to be licensed?

How do I obtain a license?

How long will it take to process my application?

How do I apply for licensing exam?

Is the licensing exam schedule online? May I sign up online?

I passed my exam, what do I do next?

I am licensed in another state and want to operate in Tennessee. Do you have reciprocity agreements with other states? Which states?

Changes in license status:

How do I renew a license?

How far in advance of expiration date should my renewal be completed?

I let my license expire. How do I have it reinstated?

How do I retire my license?

Can I change my license to inactive status?

How do I reactivate my inactive license?

I recently updated my status. Why hasn’t my status changed online?

Complaints:

How do I file a complaint against a company/individual?

What happens after I file a complaint?

What can the state do if I have a legitimate grievance?

Change of Address/other key information:

Am I required to notify the board if I change my address?

Am I required to notify the board if I change my firm’s address?

Can I change my information online?

Training/Continuing Education:

Is continuing education required?

Are courses available online?

Is there a list of approved courses, schools, trainers, etc., and how may I obtain a list?

Misc.:

How do I determine if an individual/company is licensed?

How can I get the forms I need?

How do I know when and where regulatory boards meet?

Does this board have a newsletter to which I can subscribe?


Who is required to be licensed?

Any person who engages in the business of performing home inspections and writing home inspection reports

Return to top


How do I obtain a license?

Applicant must submit an application and $300 initial license fee along with proof that the applicant:

  • Is at least eighteen (18) years of age
  • Has graduated from high school or earned a general education development (GED) certificate
  • Has successfully completed ninety (90) hours of a commissioner-approved training program or course of study involving the performance of home inspections and the preparation of home inspection reports
  • Has passed state-selected National Home Inspector Examination (NHIE)
  • Has General Liability insurance - must include minimum of $500,000 policy coverage, valid policy number (TBA not accepted), effective coverage dates.
  • Has Errors and Omissions (E&O) insurance. There are no minimum limits specified in the statute; you may set your own policy limits. Must include valid policy number (TBA not accepted) and effective coverage dates. Also be sure that the insurance provider notes the TN Home Inspector Licensing Program 500 James Robertson Parkway Nashville, TN 37243 as the Certificate Holder.


Return to top


How long will it take to process my application?

Approximately 5 business days if all requirements have been met

Return to top


How do I apply for licensing exam?

Contact PSI (1-800-733-9267)

Return to top


Is the licensing exam schedule online? May I sign up online?

You can sign up online at www.psiexams.com

Return to top


I passed my exam, what do I do next?

Submit your application packet, being sure to include a copy of your test results.

Return to top


I am licensed in another state and want to operate in Tennessee. Do you have reciprocity agreements with other states? Which states?

Individuals living as a nonresidents of Tennessee may apply for a Tennessee home inspector license if they currently hold a like, unexpired license as a home inspector in the individual’s state of residence, if the requirements for licensure in that state are at least equivalent to the requirements for licensure in Tennessee.

Return to top


How do I renew a license?

Renewal notices are mailed 60 days prior to the date of expiration.  To renew a license, the licensee must submit the renewal application, $200 renewal fee, and proof of thirty-two (32) hours of commissioner-approved continuing education no later than thirty (30) days prior to the expiration date of the license.

Return to top


How far in advance of expiration date should my renewal be completed?

No earlier than one hundred twenty (120) days prior to the expiration date of the license

Return to top


I let my license expire. How do I have it reinstated?

Renewals received within thirty (30) days prior to the expiration date must submit an additional late fee of $25.

Renewals received within thirty (30) days after the expiration date must submit an additional late fee of $50.

Renewals received within sixty (60) days after the expiration date must submit an additional late fee of $75.

Any person seeking renewal of a license more than sixty (60) days after the expiration date of the license is required to re-apply for licensure and fulfill all requirements for initial licensure.

Return to top


How do I retire my license?

There is no retirement status.

Return to top


Can I change my license to inactive status?

A licensee may be placed in inactive status; contact the program to fully understand this process.


Can I reactivate my inactive license?

An inactive license can be placed back active; contact the program to determine which route to go back active.

I recently updated my status. Why hasn’t my status changed online?

Your status will change online the business day after it is processed and approved by our office.

Return to top


How do I file a complaint against a company/individual?

Complete and submit a complaint form. You may download or request one by phone (615 741-1831).

Return to top


What happens after I file a complaint?

Your complaint will be processed by our complaint coordinator, who will forward a copy to the company, or individual complained against, for their response(s).  The response will reviewed to determine if further investigation or disciplinary action by the Home Inspector Licensing Program may be necessary.  The complaint will be forwarded to legal counsel with or without a response.

Return to top


What can the state do if I have a legitimate grievance?

If you have a grievance against a person or business regulated by the Home Inspector Licensing Program, you can file a complaint with our office or consider consulting legal counsel.

If a review and/or investigation of the complaint and related documents demonstrate a violation of state Home Inspector laws or rules, a civil penalty may be assessed against the home inspector.  In some cases, the Department may seek revocation of a Home Inspector’s license.  However, the Department does not have the authority to order the Home Inspector to pay restitution or other damages to a complainant.

Return to top


Am I required to notify the board if I change my address?

Yes, a written notification must be submitted.

Return to top


Am I required to notify the board if I change my firm’s address?

Home Inspectors are not required to have firm affiliations.

Return to top


Can I change my information online?

No. Only renewals may be processed online.

Return to top


Is continuing education required?

Yes.  Home Inspectors must complete thirty-two (32) hours of commissioner-approved continuing education before a license can be renewed.

Return to top


Are courses available online?

Yes.

Return to top


Is there a list of approved courses, schools, trainers, etc., and how may I obtain a list?

A list is posted on our Web site.

Return to top


How do I determine if an individual/company is licensed?


License Search is available on out Web site.

Return to top


How can I get the forms I need?

You can download them on our Web site or call our office (615 741-1831).

Return to top


How do I know when and where regulatory boards meet?

The Home Inspectors Advisory Committee does not meet on a regular basis.  If a meeting is announced, it will be posted on our Web site.

Return to top


Does this board have a newsletter to which I can subscribe?

No

Return to top