Tennessee resident drivers or passengers who are confined to a wheelchair, able to walk only with difficulty or uncertainty, or who have vision of not more than 20/200 with corrective lenses may qualify for special disabled driver or passenger license plates or disabled placards.
Disabled drivers may apply for license plates or placards. Disabled passengers may apply only for placards. Additionally, any owner or lessee of a motor vehicle who is the parent or legal guardian of a person who is permanently disabled and who is incapable of operating a motor vehicle qualifies for a disabled person license plate.
An agency transporting disabled clients may be issued a disabled placard for the sole purpose of transporting disabled clients. The number of placards issued to the agency may not exceed the number of vehicles owned and operated for the purpose of transporting disabled clients.
Temporary disabled person placards are also available for those with a temporary disabling condition for the estimated duration of the condition up to a maximum of six months. The temporary placard may be re-issued one time.
For more information concerning laws relating to disabled plates and placards, click here.
Placards are issued personally to the disabled driver or passenger and may be used on any vehicle in which they are riding or driving.
Disabled Veteran - Disabled Veteran plates are available to Tennessee residents who are veterans of the United States military and are entitled to compensation under the laws administered by the Veteran's Administration; due to disability incurred in or aggravated by active military services of the United States (Tenn. Code Ann. 55-4-237).
The application for title and registration should be accompanied by an approval letter from the Department of Veterans Affairs stating a disability of the following:
There is no annual fee for two disabled veteran plates. Additional plates may be obtained. The initial fee for the third plate is $25.75 and $21.50 for renewal. This plate is also available for motorcycles at no charge, if the conditions for the free plate are satisfied. Otherwise, the cost is $16.75 for the initial issuance and $14.50 for renewal. A customer's free plates can be two of the same plate or a combination of one with a wheelchair emblem and one without the emblem. This plate can not be personalized.
Note: Disabled veteran plates with the wheelchair emblem are the only plates that entitle the veteran to park in disabled areas. If an applicant chooses to have a plate without the emblem they would be relinquishing disabled parking privileges.
For office use only: Class Code - 3080 (Disabled Veteran , no wheelchair); 3070 (Disabled Veteran with wheelchair, no fee); 3071 (Disabled Veteran with wheelchair, with fee); 5506 (motorcycle, no wheelchair); 5504 (motorcycle with wheelchair, no fee); 5505 (motorcycle with wheelchair, with fee)
Handicapped Veteran - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are registering a private passenger motor vehicle, are veterans who have served in the United States Armed Forces and has a service-connected disability which is determined by the federal Department of Veterans Affairs to constitute less than one hundred percent (100%) permanent total disability. The annual fee for automobile registration is $21.50 with an initial fee of $25.75 required. The annual fee for motorcycle registration is $14.50 with an initial fee of $16.75 required. The plate can not be personalized.
Note: This plate does not have handicapped parking privileges with it.
For office use only: Class Code - 3870 (automobile), 5524 (motorcycle)
Hearing Impaired - This plate is Tennessee residents with a hearing disability registering a private passenger motor vehicle.
The annual fee is $21.50 and the plate can not be personalized.
This plate can not be used in any commercial venture. The plate number assigned in sequence with alpha characters being TTY. An application must be accompanied with a doctor's statement indicating applicant is deaf. A hearing impaired placard, personal to the driver, is also available. This placard is issued by the Vehicle Services Division. One placard is provided free, the second issued for $5.
For office use only: Class Code - 1012