Skip to Content

Specialty License Plates - Military/Memorial

Active MilitaryActive/Retired/Honorable Discharge - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are registering a private passenger motor vehicle and who are active/retired/honorable discharged members or members spouse of the United States military and military reserves in good standing. Active military applicants must provide a current copy of their LES and stationing orders, along with a copy of the vehicle's registration. The retired and honorable discharge military applicants must provide a military ID card and show one of the following official military forms to prove their status: DD Form 2A (RES), DD Form 2N (RES), DD Form 2MC (RES), DD Form 2AF (RES), DD Form 2CG (RES) or DD214. A surviving spouse of such a deceased active, retired or honorably discharged member, upon complying with state motor vehicle laws relating to registration and licensing of motor vehicles and upon paying the regular fee applicable to the vehicle and the fee prescribed by Tenn. Code Ann. 55-4-203, shall be issued a registration plate pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. 55-4-244, until the surviving spouse remarries.

Please note: Applicants must submit proof of their status each year upon renewal of their vehicle's registration. Retired and Honorable Discharged members can elect to choose to obtain a retired and honorable discharged plate instead, which only requires the submission for proof upon initial application.

The annual fee for automobile registration is $21.50 with an initial fee of $25.75 required. The annual fee for motorcycle registration is $14.50 with an initial fee of $18.75. The plate cannot be personalized.

Air Force Army Coast Guard Marines Marine Corps League Navy Reserved Forces
Air Force Army Coast Guard Marine Corps Marine Corps League Navy Reserve Forces
Retired Honorably Discharged
Retired and Honorably Discharged
Retired Honorably Discharged Retired and Honorably
Discharged

For office use only: Class Code - 3490 (automobile); 3945 (Retired & Honorably Discharged automobile); 5526 (motorcycle - Air Force); 5533 (motorcycle - Air Force Retired); 5540 (motorcycle - Air Force Honorably Discharged); 5525 (motorcycle - Army); 5532 (motorcycle - Army Retired); 5539 (motorcycle - Army Honorably Discharged); 5528 (motorcycle - Coast Guard); 5535 (motorcycle - Coast Guard Retired); 5542 (motorcycle - Coast Guard Honorably Discharged); (5527 (motorcycle - Marine Corps); 5534 (motorcycle - Marine Corps Retired); 5541 (motorcycle - Marine Corps Honorably Discharged); 5531 (motorcycle - Marine Corps League); 5538 (motorcycle - Marine Corps League Retired); 5545 (motorcycle - Marine Corps League Honorably Discharged); 5530 (motorcycle - Navy); 5537 (motorcycle - Navy Retired); 5544 (motorcycle - Navy Honorably Discharged); 5529 (motorcycle - Reserve Forces); 5536 (motorcycle - Reserve Forces Retired); 5543 (motorcycle - Reserve Forces Honorably Discharged)


Air Medal - Meritorious Air Medal - Meritorious - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are registering a private passenger motor vehicle and who are recipients of the Air Medal Meritorious. Applicants must provide a DD214 form or a letter from the Department of Veterans Affairs indicating they are an Air Medal Meritorious recipient. The annual fee for automobile registration is $21.50 with an initial fee of $25.75. The annual fee for motorcycle registration is $14.50 with an initial fee of $18.75 required. The plate cannot be personalized.

For office use only: Class Code - 3003 (automobile, full fee); 5576 (motorcycle, full fee)


Air Medal - Valor Air Medal - Valor - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are registering a private passenger motor vehicle and who are recipients of the Air Medal Valor. Applicants must provide a DD214 form or a letter from the Department of Veterans Affairs indicating they are an Air Medal Valor recipient. There is no annual fee for one Air Medal Valor plate (automobile or motorcycle). The initial fee for the second automobile plate is $23.63 and $21.50 for renewal. Subsequent automobile plates are $25.75 and $21.50 for renewal. The initial fee for the second motorcycle plate is $16.63 and $14.50 for renewal. Subsequent motorcycle plates are $18.75 and $14.50 for renewal. This plate cannot be personalized.

For office use only: Class Code - 3000 (automobile, free); 3001 (automobile, reduced fee); 3002 (automobile, full fee); 5577 (motorcycle, free); 5578 (motorcycle, reduced fee); 5579 (motorcycle, full fee)


Blue Star Family Blue Star Family - Blue Star Family license plates are offered for purchase to any eligible person whose spouse, parent, sibling, or child is currently serving in the armed forces of the United States at the time of application. Armed forces includes members serving in the Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard (when mobilized to augment the Navy) to include reservists and National Guard members.

To obtain this license plate, a registrant must:

  1. Submit proof of current service from their service member. Examples of this documentation include copies of one of the following:
    1. Current Leave and Earnings Statement (LES),
    2. Member’s military ID card, or
    3. A letter from their unit commander on official letterhead stating the family member’s current status as a member of the U.S. armed forces; and
  2. Provide a written statement by the service member indicating the family relationship with the registrant.

Proof of eligibility must be submitted for each renewal year. The initial fee for obtaining this license plate is $25.75, and the subsequent annual fee is $21.50. Additional charges for county and/or city wheel tax, where imposed locally, plus county clerk fees will apply. The plate cannot be personalized.

Retired members of the military may apply for this license plate if they also meet the criteria above, but may wish to obtain one of several choices of registration plates available for them in honor of their service.

For office use only: Class Code - 3041; 5562 (motorcycle)


Bosnia Veterans Bosnia Veterans - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are registering a private passenger motor vehicle and are honorary discharged veterans who served in Bosnia with the United States Armed Forces. The applicant will be required to show proof of service. The annual fee for automobile registration is $21.50 with an initial fee of $25.75 required. The annual fee for motorcycle registration is $14.50 with an initial fee of $18.75 required. The plate can not be personalized.

For office use only: Class Code - 3660; 5520 (motorcycle)


Bronze Start (Meritorious) Bronze Star (Meritorious) - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are registering a private passenger motor vehicle and who are recipients of the Bronze Star - Meritorious. The applicant must provide a letter or DD214 from the Department of Veterans Affairs indicating they are a recipient of one of the applicable medals. The annual fee for automobile registration is $21.50 with an initial fee of $25.75 required. The annual fee for motorcycle registration is $14.50 with an initial fee of $18.75 required. The plate can not be personalized.

For office use only: Class Code - 3043; 5501 (motorcycle)


Bronze Star (Valor) Bronze Star (Valor) - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are registering a private passenger motor vehicle and who are recipients of the Bronze Star - Valor. The applicant must provide a letter or DD214 from the Department of Veterans Affairs indicating they are a recipient of one of the applicable medals. The annual fee for automobile registration is $21.50 with an initial fee of $25.75 required. The annual fee for motorcycle registration is $14.50 with an initial fee of $18.75 required. The plate can not be personalized.

For office use only: Class Code - 3044; 5502 (motorcycle)


Congressional Medal of Honor Congressional Medal of Honor - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are registering a private passenger motor vehicle and who are recipients of the Congressional Medal of Honor. Applicants must provide a DD214 form or a letter from the Department of Veterans Affairs indicating they are a recipient of the Congressional Medal of Honor. There is no annual fee for one Congressional Medal of Honor plate (automobile or motorcycle). The initial fee for the second automobile plate is $23.63 and $21.50 for renewal. Subsequent automobile plates are $25.75 and $21.50 for renewal. The initial fee for the second motorcycle plate is $16.63 and $14.50 for renewal. Subsequent motorcycle plates are $18.75 and $14.50 for renewal. This plate cannot be personalized.

For office use only: Class Code - 3060 (automobile - free); 3061 (automobile - reduced fee); 3062 (automobile - full fee); 5503 (motorcycle - free); 5591(motorcycle - reduced fee); 5592 (motorcycle - full fee)


Desert Storm Veteran Desert Storm Veteran - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are registering a private passenger motor vehicle and are honorably discharges veterans of Desert Storm. Applicants must provide proof of service. The annual fee for automobile registration is $21.50 with an initial fee of $25.75 required. The annual fee for motorcycle registration is $14.50 with an initial fee of $18.75 required. The plate can not be personalized.

For office use only: Class Code - 3670; 5522 (motorcycle)


Disabled Veteran Disabled Veteran - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are registering a private passenger motor vehicle, are veterans of the United States military and are entitled to compensation under the laws administered by the Veterans Administration; due to disability incurred in or aggravated by active military services of the United States (Tenn. Code Ann. 55-4-237). For more information on obtaining a disabled veteran plate, click here.

For office use only: Class Code - 3080 (Disabled Veteran , no wheelchair); 3070 (Disabled Veteran with wheelchair, no fee); 3071 (Disabled Veteran with wheelchair, with fee); 5506 (motorcycle - no wheelchair); 5504 (motorcycle - with wheelchair, no fee); 5505 (motorcycle - with wheelchair, with fee)


Distinguished Flying Cross Distinguished Flying Cross - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are registering a private passenger motor vehicle and who are recipients of the Distinguished Flying Cross. Applicants must provide a DD214 form or a letter from the Department of Veterans Affairs indicating they are a Distinguished Flying Cross recipient. . There is no annual fee for one Distinguished Flying Cross plate (automobile or motorcycle). The initial fee for the second automobile plate is $23.63 and $21.50 for renewal. Subsequent automobile plates are $25.75 and $21.50 for renewal. The initial fee for the second motorcycle plate is $16.63 and $14.50 for renewal. Subsequent motorcycle plates are $18.75 and $14.50 for renewal. The plate cannot be personalized.

For office use only: Class Code - 3081 (automobile - free); 3078 (automobile - reduced fee); 3079 (automobile - full fee); 5567 (motorcycle - free); 5589 (motorcycle - reduced fee); 5590 (motorcycle - full fee)


Enemy Evadee Enemy Evadee - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are registering a private passenger motor vehicle and are certified as an enemy evadee by the Department of Veterans Affairs. The application must be accompanied by discharge papers from the United States Armed Forces that have been certified by the Department of Veterans Affairs. A copy of the death certificate should be supplied in the event a surviving spouse wishes to renew such plate. The annual fee for automobile registration is $21.50 with an initial fee of $25.75 required. The annual fee for motorcycle registration is $14.50 with an initial fee of $18.75 required. The plate can not be personalized.

For office use only: Class Code - 3110; 5509 (motorcycle)


Gold Star Gold Star Family - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are registering a private passenger motor vehicle and are a person whose spouse, parent, sibling or child served and died in the line of duty in the United States Armed Forces or its allies, or died as a result of injuries sustained in such service. Applicant must provide a DD Form 1300 Report of Casualty. The first plate is free. Additional plates will cost $25.75 for initial issuance and $21.50 for renewal. The plate can not be personalized.

For office use only: Class Code - 3935 (without fee); 5553 (without fee - motorcycle); 3940 (with fee); 5554 (with fee - motorcycle)


Handicapped Veteran Handicapped Veteran - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are registering a private passenger motor vehicle, are veterans who have served in the United States Armed Forces and has a service-connected disability which is determined by the federal Department of Veterans Affairs to constitute less than one hundred percent (100%) permanent total disability. Note: This plate does not have handicapped parking privileges with it. The annual fee for automobile registration is $21.50 with an initial fee of $25.75 required. The annual fee for motorcycle registration is $14.50 with an initial fee of $16.75 required. The plate can not be personalized.

For office use only: Class Code - 3870, 5524 (motorcycle)


Honorably Discharged Honorably Discharged - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are registering a private passenger motor vehicle and are honorably discharged veterans of the United States Armed Forces. An applicant must provide proof of service. The annual fee for automobile registration is $21.50 with an initial fee of $25.75 required. The annual fee for motorcycle registration is $14.50 with an initial fee of $18.75 required. The plate can not be personalized.

For office use only: Class Code - 3082; 5507 (motorcycle)


Korean War Korean War - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are registering a private passenger motor vehicle and are honorably discharged veterans of the Korean War. An applicant must provide proof of service. The annual fee for automobile registration is $21.50 with an initial fee of $25.75 required. The annual fee for motorcycle registration is $14.50 with an initial fee of $18.75 required. The plate can not be personalized.

For office use only: Class Code - 3665; 5521 (motorcycle)


Legion of Valor Legion of Valor - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are registering a private passenger motor vehicle and are recipients of the Congressional Medal of Honor, the Distinguished Service Cross, the Navy Cross, the Air Force Cross or the Legion of Valor. Applicants must provide a letter or DD214 from the Department of Veterans Affairs indicating they are a recipient of one of the applicable medals. There is no annual fee for this plate and it can not be personalized.

For office use only: Class Code - 3200; 5510 (motorcycle)


National GuardNational Guard - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are registering a private passenger motor vehicle and are officers and enlisted members of the Tennessee National Guard, as well as spouses of members. The annual fee (active officers, enlisted members and their spouses) is $21.50 for automobiles and $14.50 for motorcycles. Enlisted members - There is no charge for the first plate. Regular fees apply for additional plates. Active officers - This plate is available at the standard registration fee. It expires on September 30 and can not be personalized.

National GuardThe annual fee (retired and honorably discharged members and spouses) for automobile registration is $21.50 with an initial fee of $25.75 required. The annual fee for motorcycle registration is $14.50 with an initial fee of $18.75 required. The plate can not be personalized. Expiration dates are staggered and the plate can not be personalized.

County clerks will receive an eligibility list from the Vehicle Services Division as provided by the Adjutant General of the Tennessee National Guard. Any guard member not shown on this listing must provide documentation to the county clerk demonstrating their proof of eligibility for these plates. This documentation must identify the eligible member by name, social security number, and indicate they are in good standing with the unit.

National Guard officer's plates are produced annually. These plates are only issued in September since there is no statutory provision to prorate the registration fee. Officers who do not register in September may use a passenger vehicle registration until the following September.

If a member is discharged from the guard prior to the expiration of the registration under which it was issued, the special plate may remain valid for display on the vehicle until the expiration date of the registration by the provisions of Tenn. Code Ann. Section 55-4-228(e).

National Guard retirees and honorably discharged members may obtain their plates with a retired or honorably decal affixed. Each application must be accompanied by a current and valid armed forces of Tennessee card stating their retired or honorably discharged status.

For office use only: 3300 (NG Enlisted, expires in September); 3290 (NG Enlisted - Additional tag, expires in September); 3310 (NG Officer, expires in September); 3320 (NG Retired & Honorably Discharged, staggard expiration); 5511 (NG - motorcycle, no fee); 5512 (NG - motorcycle, with fee); 5513 (NG Retired - motorcycle); 5548 (NG Honorably Discharged - motorcycle)


Operation Enduring Freedom

Operation Enduring Freedom - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are registering a private passenger motor vehicle and are honorably discharged veterans of Operation Enduring Freedom or active members of the United State Armed Forces serving in Operation Enduring Freedom. Active members are required to show an award certificate indicating receipt of campaign ribbon (Afghanistan). Discharged members are required to show a DD214 form indicating receipt of campaign ribbon (Afghanistan). The annual fee for automobile registration is $21.50 with an initial fee of $25.75 required. The annual fee for motorcycle registration is $14.50 with an initial fee of $18.75 required. The plate can not be personalized.

For office use only: Class Code - 3930; 5547 (motorcycle)

Operation Enduring Freedom - Motorcycle

Operation Iraqi Freedom

Operation Iraqi Freedom - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are registering a private passenger motor vehicle and are honorably discharged veterans of Operation Iraqi Freedom or active members of the United States Armed Forces serving in Operation Iraqi Freedom. Active members are required to show an award certificate indication receipt of campaign ribbon (Iraq). Discharged members are required to show a DD214 form indicating receipt of campaign ribbon (Iraq). The annual fee for automobile registration is $21.50 with an initial fee of $25.75 required. The annual fee for motorcycle registration is $14.50 with an initial fee of $18.75 required. The plate can not be personalized.

For office use only: Class Code - 3925; 5546 (motorcycle)

Operation Iraqi Freedom - Motorcycle

Operation New Dawn Operation New Dawn - This plate is available to an owner or lessee of a motor vehicle who is a resident of Tennessee and who is an active member of the armed forces serving in Operation New Dawn or a honorably discharged veteran of Operation New Dawn in the United States Armed Forces or a civilian veteran of the United States army corps of engineers, upon complying with the state motor vehicle laws relating to registration and licensing of motor vehicles and upon paying the regular fee applicable to the motor vehicle and the fee provided in Tenn. Code Ann. 55-4-203, shall be issued an honorably discharged veteran registration plate for a motor vehicle authorized by Tenn. Code Ann. 55-4-210(c). All applications shall be accompanied by orders or a statement of discharge, DD214, from the appropriate branch of the United States armed forces classifying the applicant as an honorably discharged veteran, or by orders or official documentation from the United States army corps of engineers classifying the applicant as a civilian veteran provided; that, notwithstanding any law to the contrary, an honorably discharged veteran of the United States armed forces shall be required to submit documentation of honorable discharge status only when initially applying for registration plates and subsequent registration plates shall be issued to that person without the repeated presentation of honorable discharge status documentation. Tenn. Code Ann. 55-4-253. The annual fee for automobile registration is $21.50 with an initial fee of $25.75 required. The annual fee for motorcycle registration is $14.50 with an initial fee of $18.75 required. The plate cannot be personalized.
 
For office use only: Class Code - 3931; 5571 (motorcycle)


Pearl Harbor Pearl Harbor Survivor - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are registering a private passenger motor vehicle and were members of the United State Armed Forces and present at Pearl Harbor, Hawaii on December 7, 1941. A copy of the membership card from the Pearl Harbor Survivor's Association, Inc. must be provided for eligibility. The annual fee for automobile registration is $21.50 with an initial fee of $25.75 required. The annual fee for motorcycle registration is $14.50 with an initial fee of $18.75 required. The plate can not be personalized.

For office use only: Class Code - 3330; 5514 (motorcycle)


POW - Former Prisioner of WarPOW - Former Prisioner of War - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are registering a private passenger motor vehicle and are former prisoners of WWI, WWII, the Korean War or the Vietnam War or the surviving spouse of such prisoner of war. There is no annual fee for one POW - Former Prisoner of War plate (automobile or motorcycle). The initial fee for the second automobile plate is $23.63 and $21.50 for renewal. Subsequent automobile plates are $25.75 and $21.50 for renewal. The initial fee for the second motorcycle plate is $16.63 and $14.50 for renewal. Subsequent motorcycle plates are $18.75 and $14.50 for renewal. This plate cannot be personalized.

Notes: The application should be accompanied by a certificate from the U.S. Defense Department stating the period of time the applicant was a prisoner of war. In the case of an application for continuation of a license plate or plates held by a spouse of the deceased prisoner of war, a copy of the death certificate should be submitted. A surviving spouse is entitled to the plates until such time as they remarry.

For office use only: Class Code - 3340 (automobile - free); 3342 (automobile - reduced fee); 3341 (automobile - full fee); 5515 (motorcycle - free); 5593 (motorcycle - reduced fee); 5516 (motorcycle - full fee)


Purple Heart Purple Heart - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are registering a private passenger motor vehicle and are holders of The Purple Heart Medal. A copy of Form DD214 or the equivalent prior to 1951 (WWK 53-55), indicating the individual has been awarded the Purple Heart should accompany the application for registration. In the event neither form is available and there is other documentation which indicates the awarding of the Purple Heart, that documentation should be forwarded to the Vehicle Services Division prior to issuing the plate in order that the Department of Revenue may consult with veterans' groups to ascertain eligibility. There is no annual fee and the plate can not be personalized. A disabled veteran may have two plates.

For office use only: Class Code - 3349 (Combat Wounded with fee); 3350 (Combat Wounded no fee); 5517 (Combat Wounded with fee - motorcycle); 5518 (Combat Wounded with fee - motorcycle)


Silver Star Silver Star - Valor - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are registering a private passenger motor vehicle and who are recipients of the Silver Star. Applicants must provide a letter or DD214 form from the Department of Veterans Affairs indicating they are a recipient of one of the applicable medals.The annual fee for automobile registration is $21.50 with an initial fee of $25.75 required. The annual fee for motorcycle registration is $14.50 with an initial fee of $18.75 required. The plate can not be personalized.

For office use only: Class Code - 3395; 5519 (motorcycle)


Sons of Confederate Veterans

Sons of Confederate Veterans - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are registering a private passenger motor vehicle. The annual fee is $56.50 and $15.62 of the additional $35 collected is allocated to the Tennessee Division of Sons of Confederate Veterans. The plate can be personalized with 5 characters available.

For office use only: Class Code - 3855; if personalized - 2470


Submarine Veterans

Submarine Veteran - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are registering a private passenger motor vehicle and are honorably discharged veterans of the United States armed forces having served on a submarine in the line of military duty, and whose submarine service has been certified by the department of veterans affairs.  Applicants must submit a DD214 indicating they are a Submarine Veteran.  After the ranking on the DD214 there should be an SS which stands for Submarine Services. The annual fee for automobile registration is $21.50 with an initial fee of $25.75 required. The plate can not be personalized.

For office use only: Class Code - 3986; 5563 (motorcycle)


Support Our Troops

Support Our Troops - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are registering a private passenger motor vehicle. The annual fee is $56.50 and $15.38 of the additional $35 collected is allocated to Support Our Troops, Inc. to be used exclusively to operate such organization's programs and activities in this state. The plate can be personalized with 5 characters available.

For office use only: Class Code - 3997; if personalized - 2580


Vietnam Veteran Vietnam Veteran - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are registering a private passenger motor vehicle and are honorably discharged veterans of the Vietnam War Veterans. Applicants will be required to show proof of service. The annual fee for automobile registration is $21.50 with an initial fee of $25.75 required. The annual fee for motorcycle registration is $14.50 with an initial fee of $18.75 required. The plate can not be personalized.

For office use only: Class Code - 3084; 5508 (motorcycle)


Women Veterans Women Veterans - This plate is available to female Tennessee residents who are registering a private passenger motor vehicle and who is an honorably discharged member from the armed services. The applicant must submit a copy of their DD214 form. The annual fee for automobile registration is $21.50 with an initial fee of $25.75 required. The annual fee for motorcycle registration is $14.50 with an initial fee of $18.75 required. The plate cannot be personalized.

For office use only: Class Code - 3970; 5552 (motorcycle)


World War II World War II - This plate is available to Tennessee residents who are registering a private passenger motor vehicle and are honorably discharged veterans of World War II. Applicants will be required to show proof of service. The annual fee for automobile registration is $21.50 with an initial fee of $25.75 required. The annual fee for motorcycle registration is $14.50 with an initial fee of $18.75 required. The plate can not be personalized.

For office use only: Class Code - 3675; 5523 (motorcycle)