Skip to Content

Specialty License Plates

The State of Tennessee offers more than 90 specialty license plates for Tennessee motorists to display on their registered motor vehicles. These plates represent colleges and universities, branches of the military, special interest organizations, professional organizations and other topics. Most of these plates are readily available at your local county clerk's office. However, you may want to verify such availability before traveling to the clerk's office.

Personalized License Plates

Initial Application for personalized plate.
To personalize a regular passenger plate requires submission of a completed Application for Tennessee Personalized License Plate along with a fee of $35 mailed to the Vehicle Services Division.  The application will be processed, if approved, and the personalized plate will be sent to your local county clerk’s office.  Any additional county fees will be collected when you pick up your new plate from your clerk’s office.

IMPORTANT-PLEASE NOTE: If you wish to personalize a specialty plate you must complete the Application for Tennessee Personalized License Plate and send it to the Vehicle Services Division with the $70 fee indicated on the application. The application will be processed and the personalized plate will be sent to your local county clerk’s office.  Any additional county fees will be collected when you pick up your new plate from your clerk’s office.

DO NOT MAIL YOUR RENEWAL NOTICE OR REGULAR REGISTRATION FEE WITH THE APPLICATION FOR PERSONALIZED LICENSE PLATE.

Already have a personalized plate? Renewing a personalized plate or a regular license plate should always be completed at your local county clerk's office or the county’s online plate renewal service.  At renewal time the entire amount of the registration plus specialty/personalized fees can be paid.

Special note:  County clerks charge an additional $1 fee for the issuance of a specialty plate.  This makes the fee $36 for specialty plates and $71 for personalized specialty plates, plus the standard state registration fee and any wheel taxes imposed by local governments.

Please note that future specialty plates will appear on the Web site as they are approved by the state legislature.

For more information on specific plates, follow the links below to view plate descriptions.