Criminal Investigation Division

Contact Information

Captain Roy Brown
1150 Foster Ave, Cooper Hall
Nashville, TN 37243
(615) 251-5185

Ashley Holland
Office (615) 251-5185
Fax (615) 253-5981

Kim Early
Administrative Assistant
Office (615) 251-6324

Our Mission

The mission of the Criminal Investigation Division is to investigate, gather evidence, and assist federal, state, and local law enforcement, when requested per T.C.A. 4-7-401 et al.

Agents of the Criminal Investigation Division have the authority to:

  • Provide investigative and technical support to members of the Highway Patrol in all criminal matters initiated by their actions.
  • Provide investigative and technical support to the Driver License Division.
  • Provide investigative and technical support to the Internal Affairs Division.
  • Conduct overt and covert criminal investigations relating to:
    1. Theft of motor vehicles and parts there from,
    2. Stolen boats, airplanes, and parts there from,
    3. Violation of title and registration laws,
    4. Operation of chop shops,
    5. Odometer fraud,
    6. Vehicular homicides and assaults, and
    7. Insurance fraud relating to motor vehicles

This division also conducts background investigations for prospective Department of Safety employees, and provides specialized training to other law enforcement agencies when requested.

Regional Offices

In addition to the Nashville central office, the Criminal Investigation Division has four regional offices. For more information concerning the Criminal Investigation Division, please contact your local office.

Region 1 - Knoxville/Fall Branch

Lieutenant Tim Ryan
Office: 423-587-7081

District 5 Counties

Claiborne, Hancock, Hawkins, Sullivan, Johnson, Grainger, Hamblen, Greene, Washington, Carter, Jefferson, Cocke and Unicoi

District 1 Counties

Scott, Campbell, Anderson, Morgan, Roane, Loudon, Knox, Union, Monroe, Blount and Sevier

Region 2 - Cookeville/Chattanooga

Lieutenant Troy Human
Office: 931-528-4130

District 6 Counties

Trousdale, Macon, Clay. Pickett, Smith, Jackson, Overton, Fentress, Putnam, DeKalb, White, Cumberland, Cannon, Warren and Van Buren

District 2 Counties

Coffee, Grundy, Sequatchie, Bledsoe, Rhea. Meigs, McMinn, Franklin, Marion, Hamilton, Bradley and Polk

Region 3 - Nashville/Lawrenceburg

Lieutenant Chris Ray
Office: 615-251-5185

District 3 Counties

Stewart, Montgomery, Robertson. Sumner. Houston, Cheatham, Davidson, Wilson, Humphreys, Dickson, Williamson and Rutherford

District 7 Counties

Perry, Hickman, Lewis, Maury, Marshall, Bedford, Wayne, Lawrence, Giles, Lincoln and Moore

Region 4 - Jackson/Memphis

Lieutenant Dan Moore
Office: 731-668-9644

District 8 Counties

Weakley, Henry, Gibson, Carroll, Benton, Madison, Henderson, Decatur, Chester, McNairy and Hardin

District 4 Counties

Lake, Obion, Dyer, Lauderdale, Crockett, Tipton, Haywood, Shelby, Fayette and Hardeman