Administrative Hearings | Business Services | Charitable Fundraising | Elections | Library & Archives | Publications

Online Services

UCC Online Services Link

 

Business Services Searches

The Office of Small Business Advocate

The Office of Small Business Advocate serves as a point of contact to state government for owners of businesses with fifty (50) or fewer employees. The Office of Small Business Advocate is located within the Comptroller of the Treasury.

Go to Web Site

Motor Vehicle Temporary Liens FAQs

Where do I find the application to file a Motor Vehicle Temporary Lien?
Click here for the application for temporary lien.

Where do I find the law for the Motor Vehicle Temporary Lien program?
The law relating to the Motor Vehicle Temporary Lien program is found in the Tennessee Code at §55-3-126.  You can access the Tennessee Code at: TN Code Unannotated (Michie/LexisNexis)

Can I search the Motor Vehicle Temporary Lien database?
Click here for the Motor Vehicle Temporary Lien database.

Where can I find Title and Lien information?                     
Title and Lien information can be found at the Tennessee Department of Revenue.

Where can I find License Plate information?                                              
License Plate information can be found at the Tennessee Department of Revenue.

Where can I find Driver’s License information?
Driver’s License information can be found at the Tennessee Department of Safety.

What is the filing fee for a Motor Vehicle Temporary Lien temporary lien?
The filing fee is ten dollars ($10). Checks should be made payable to the Tennessee Secretary of State.

When does a Motor Vehicle Temporary Lien terminate?
A temporary lien properly filed with the Division of Business Services automatically terminates after 180 days or upon being otherwise perfected, whichever occurs first.  After 270 days, the temporary lien documents are purged from the filing system and destroyed.

How do I record a Motor Vehicle Temporary Lien ?
A  Motor Vehicle Temporary Lien may be obtained by filing the following information with the Division of Business Services:

  1. A completed cover sheet, form SS-4258;
  2. A notarized copy of the instrument creating and evidencing the lien; and
  3. Payment of the ten dollar ($10) filing fee (checks made payable to: “Tennessee Secretary of State”.

An acknowledgment/receipt will be provided for each properly filed motor vehicle temporary lien.

Where do I mail my Motor Vehicle Temporary Lien  application?

Tennessee Department of State
Division of Business Services
Motor Vehicle Temporary Lien Section
6th Floor, Snodgrass Tower
312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue
Nashville, TN 37243