ecw header image
Department Home | Council Initiatives | Reports | Resources | Contact Us | |

Council Initiatives


Ninth Annual Economic Summit for Women

Lilly Ledbetter, namesake of the 2009 Fair Pay Restoration Act, recounted her 14 year struggle for fair pay after learning that Goodyear Tire and Rubber, Co. had severely underpaid her for years.


Members of the Economic Council and Foundation enjoy a networking reception with Sofield, Bellows, Ledbetter, and Yeakel, as well as two of three E-Award recipients, Dr. Shirley Hastings of the University of Tennessee Extension Services and Anita Vaughn, CEO of Baptist Women's Hospital. Hastings and Vaughn were presented E-Awards on Monday, along with Deloitte, for their substantial support of women and women's programs in the state.



State Senator Thelma Harper (center-left), original sponsor of the legislation that created the Economic Council on Women, poses with TECW Director Phyllis Qualls-Brooks (left), Veronica Marable Johnson of the Council and Pat Pierce of the Foundation (right).


(Left to Right) Advocate Lilly Ledbetter, ABA President Laurel Bellows, TECW
Chair Yvonne Wood, and Vision 2020 lead Lynn Yeakel pose at the 2012 Economic Summit for Women.


Lilly Ledbetter and Senator Thelma Harper