Wednesday, August 02, 2017 | 3:27pm

NASHVILLE – Governor Bill Haslam and First Lady Crissy Haslam today recognized 23 state employees for providing outstanding service to the state and their fellow Tennesseans at a luncheon at the Tennessee Residence. The Governor’s Excellence in Service Awards was launched in 2016 to honor exceptional state employees who are transforming how the state delivers services every day.

“Great service in state government is like great service anywhere – the key ingredient is great employees,” Gov. Haslam said. “The employees being honored today are on the front lines of what we do, leading the effort to help us provide the very best service and make Tennessee the best managed state in the nation. I thank them for their hard work and dedication.”

Employees selected by their department’s leadership to receive the biannual award are on the forefront of improving how Tennessee state government delivers services. By exceeding leadership and customer expectations, creating innovative solutions or improving processes and services, these employees are helping provide taxpayers with the highest quality service at the lowest possible cost.

The spring 2017 recipients of the Governor’s Excellence in Service Award include:

  • Naomi Kelly, microbiologist, Agriculture
  • Kellee Smith, family services worker, Children’s Services
  • Maliaka Bass, deputy general counsel, Commerce and Insurance
  • Brittany Hageseth, probation and parole officer, Correction
  • Sally Avery, director, Center for Economic Research, Economic and Community Development
  • Linda Stachera, systems administrator for ePlan, Education
  • Paula Middlebrooks, grants and community engagement, TDEC
  • April Mayambu, executive administrative assistant, F&A
  • Wade McCullough, program administrator, Financial Institutions
  • David Keith, fleet supervisor 2, General Services
  • Rhonda Edens, vital records clerk, Health
  • Thomas Wood, training coordinator, HCFA
  • Sharon Moidja, director, human resources service center, HR
  • Linda Baharloo, supervisor, vocational training, Human Services
  • Margi Story, director, East Tennessee Homes, DIDD
  • Charlotte Ely, regional director, Labor and Workforce Development
  • Tijuana Williams, lead psychiatric technician, Mental Health
  • HeeChong Yu, GIS analyst, Military
  • Justin Rodgers, taxpayer services representative, Revenue
  • Christopher Osbourn, TITAN program director, Safety
  • Sherry Hutchison, welcome center manager, Tourist Development
  • Emerson Boguskie, highway response supervisor, Transportation
  • Robert Million, cemetery foreman, Veterans Services

More information on each spring 2017 recipient can be found here.