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Preventing tobacco use among youth is critical to ending the tobacco epidemic in the U.S. 

● Tobacco use is started and established primarily during adolescence.1,2 

o Nearly 9 out of 10 cigarette smokers first tried smoking by age 18, and 98% first 

tried smoking by age 26.1 

o Each day in the United States, more than 

3,200 youth aged 18 years or younger 

smoke their first cigarette, and an 

additional 2,100 youth and young adults 

become daily cigarette smokers.1 

● Flavorings in tobacco products can make them 

more appealing to youth.3 

o In 2019, 73% of high school students and 

60% of middle school students who used 

tobacco products in the past 30 days 

reported using a flavored tobacco 

product during that time. 3  

● In 2019, 1 out of 8 middle school students 

(12.5%) and nearly 1 out of 3 high school 

students (31.2%) reported current use of some 

type of tobacco product.3 

Youth using tobacco in any form is unsafe. 

● If smoking continues at the current rate among youth in this country, 5.6 million of 

today’s Americans younger than 18 will die early from a smoking-related illness. That’s 

about 1out of 13 Americans aged 17 years or younger alive today.1 

Youth who use multiple tobacco products are at higher risk for developing nicotine 

dependence and might be more likely to continue using tobacco into adulthood.4 

 

1 U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The Health Consequences of Smoking—50 Years of Progress: 

A Report of the Surgeon General. Atlanta: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease 

Control and Prevention, National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office on 

Smoking and Health, 2014 
2 U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Preventing Tobacco Use Among Youth and Young Adults: A 

Report of the Surgeon General. Atlanta: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease 

Control and Prevention, National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office on 

Smoking and Health, 2012 
3 Wang TW, Gentzke AS, Creamer MR, et al. Tobacco Product Use and Associated Factors Among Middle and 

High School Students—United States, 2019. MMWR Surveill Summ 2019;68(No. SS-12):1–22. DOI: 
http://dx.doi.org/10.15585/mmwr.ss6812a1 
4 U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Reducing Tobacco Use: A Report of the Surgeon General. 

Atlanta: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National 

Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office on Smoking and Health, 2000  

https://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/data_statistics/sgr/50th-anniversary/index.htm
https://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/data_statistics/sgr/50th-anniversary/index.htm
https://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/data_statistics/sgr/2012/index.htm
https://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/data_statistics/sgr/2012/index.htm
http://dx.doi.org/10.15585/mmwr.ss6812a1
https://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/data_statistics/sgr/2000/index.htm
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Below are brief descriptions of the laws pertaining to selling tobacco and vapor products to 

youth in Tennessee. The full text can be found at TN.gov/government under “Tennessee Code 

and Revenue Rules.” 

• Sale to Minors (TCA § 39-17-1504) 

o Effective January 1, 2021 – Makes it unlawful to sell or distribute ANY tobacco, 

smoking hemp or vapor product to anyone under the age of 21 or to purchase a 

tobacco, smoking hemp or vapor product on behalf of a person under the age of 

21. 

o Effective January 1, 2021 – Proof of age is required if an ordinary person would 

conclude on the basis of appearance that a prospective buyer or recipient may 

be under the age of 30. 

 

• Prohibited Purchases or Possession by Minors (TCA § 39-17-1505) 

o Effective January 1, 2021 – Makes it unlawful for anyone under the age of 21 to 

possess, purchase, or accept any tobacco, smoking hemp or vapor product or to 

present proof of age that is false, fraudulent, or not actually that person's own 

for the purpose of purchasing or receiving any tobacco or vapor product. 

 

• Required Postings (TCA § 39-17-1506) 

o Effective January 1, 2021 – Lists the dimensions and the required wording for 

signs that must be posted at retail locations, which shall be no smaller than 

ninety-three and one-half (93 ½) square inches, to ensure that it is likely to be 

read at each point of sale and must read:  

▪ “STATE LAW STRICTLY PROHIBITS THE SALE OF TOBACCO PRODUCTS, 

VAPOR PRODUCTS, OR SMOKING PARAPHERNALIA TO PERSONS UNDER 

THE AGE OF TWENTY-ONE (21) YEARS 

PROOF OF AGE MAY BE REQUIRED” 

o The sign shall be kept in a conspicuous place and kept posted. 

 

• Vending Machine Sales 

o State Law (TCA § 39-17-1507) 

▪ Effective January 1, 2021 – Makes it unlawful for any person to sell 

tobacco, smoking hemp or vapor products through a vending machine 

unless located in any of the locations listed in the full description of the 

law,  

o Federal Law (21 C.F.R. § 1140.16(c)(2))  

▪ Bans vending machines (including vending machines that sell packaged, 

single cigarettes) and self-service displays except in facilities where the 

retailer ensures that no person younger than 18 years of age is present, 

or permitted to enter, at any time.  

https://www.tn.gov/government.html
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▪ (This new law preempts state law and must be considered with regard to 

vending machine sales.) 

 

• Required Packaging (TCA § 39-17-1508) 

o Makes it unlawful to sell cigarettes or smokeless tobacco products except in the 

original, sealed package in which they were placed by the manufacturer that 

bears the health warning required by federal law. 

 

• Enforcement-Inspections-Reporting-Civil Penalties (TCA § 39-17-1509) 

o Describes enforcement, inspections, and reporting procedures. Also lists civil 

penalties for non-compliance (see page 10). 

 

• Prevention of Youth Access to Tobacco and Vapor Products Act – Criminal 

Penalties (TCA § 39-17-1510) 

o A person who violates § 39-17-1504, § 39-17-1506, § 39-17-1507, or § 39-17-1508 

commits a Class C misdemeanor, which is punishable by not more than 30 days 

in jail and up to $50 fine. 

 

• Children’s Act for Clean Indoor Air (TCA § 39-17-1602 through 1606) 

o Lists the purpose of the act along with places where smoking is prohibited, 

required postings, and penalties.  
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• Cigarettes 

• Cigars, Cigarillos, etc., 

including flavored products 

• Chewing/Spitting/Smokeless 

Tobacco 

• Snuff 

• Loose Tobacco (pipe tobacco) 

• “Loosies” – A slang term given 

to individual cigarettes 

• Bidis (pronounced “bee-dees”) 

– Small, thin, hand-rolled 

cigarettes that are wrapped in 

a tendu or temburni leaf 

• Vapor Products (including E-

cigarettes, E-hookah, E-cigars, 

Vape pens, JUUL, etc.) 

• Alternative Nicotine Products 

• Any product containing 

tobacco 

• Tobacco Accessories 

(including rolling papers, 

vapor product component 

parts, or parts used to refill 

vapor products) 

 

*If you are unsure if a 

product is illegal to sell to 

youth – DON’T SELL! 
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• State-issued Driver’s License 

• State-issued ID card (for non-drivers) 

• Passport 

• Immigration Card 

• Military ID 

Federal law requires that retailers check the identification of 

everyone under 30 years old before selling them tobacco and 

vapor products. You must refuse to sell tobacco and vapor 

products to anyone under the age of 21.  

 

Accept only a valid government issued photo ID that clearly 

shows a photo of the person, a physical description, and a date 

of birth showing that the person is at least 21 years old. To be 

valid, the ID must be current and not expired. 

The following forms of government issued photo ID are 

acceptable: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*Note: There are many types of Military 

Identification Cards and Immigrant Visa Cards and 

they come in a variety of colors. If a customer 

provides you with a Military ID or an Immigrant 

Visa, check for the photo and the date of birth on 

the card. They may appear on opposite sides of 

the ID card.  

 

*Note: Effective July 1, 2018 TN Driver’s Licenses 

for minors under the age of 21 will be in vertical 

format (similar to the state-issued ID). Licenses issued 

before this date are valid until they expire.  

  
Date of 

Birth 

Date of 

Birth 
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*REMEMBER:  
When in doubt, 

don’t make the sale.  

You are NOT 

obligated to sell any 

tobacco products. 

 

1. Ask anyone who appears under the age of 30 to show their photo ID. 

2. Have the customer remove the ID from their wallet. 

3. Look at the photo. Make sure the photo and physical description match the customer.  

4. Check the expiration date. If the expiration date has passed, the ID is not valid. 

5. Check the date of birth and compare it to a calendar. If the customer is under the age 

of 21, DO NOT sell them any tobacco products. 

6. If the driver’s license is vertical, this could mean that the customer is under the age of 

21. Check the date of birth to verify that the customer is at least 21 years old. 

7. Check for DUPLICATE or REPLACEMENT. This could mean that this is not the actual 

customer’s ID. 

8. Check for signs of tampering. 

9. Be cautious if a customer shows the interim paper copy of their ID. Check the date it 

was issued. They should have received the permanent copy of their ID within 20 days of 

the issue date. 

10. Ask for a 2nd or 3rd form of ID if you are unsure. 

*Contact your local beer distributor for a copy of the most recent ID Checking Guide. 

 

*Note: The information most tampered with is the picture, birth date, and height. 

1. Compare the ID to the person. 

• Compare facial features 

• Check for red eye in the photo 

• Compare the height information to the person 

• Compare the birth date to the person 

2. Check for signs of tampering. 

• Feel for bumpy surfaces or bubbles under the lamination 

• Look for erasure marks 

• Check for fuzzy numbers or letters, numbers or letters 

that do not line up, or numbers or letters that have 

different fonts 

• Check for a misaligned state seal 

• Check that appropriate watermarks are present 

• Look for rough edges, especially around the picture 

3. Ask for other forms of ID. 

• Ask the customer for a 2nd or 3rd form of ID if you are unsure. 

• In the case of a borrowed driver’s license where the customer looks similar to 

the owner of the ID, there will probably not be multiple cards with the same 

name as the ID. Ask to see a credit card. 
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• Use a fake ID 

o Pro tip:  If you have doubts the ID is real, ask the person what their horoscope 

sign is based on the birth date of the card. 

o Pro tip 2: Ask them the capital of the state listed on their card.  

• Use a borrowed ID 

o Pro tip: The most faked IDs in the United States are Florida, Pennsylvania, 

Connecticut, and Illinois. If you ever see these IDs, quick and easy signs that it’s 

fake! 

• Flirt with, Make “friends” with, or Bribe the clerk OR Travel in groups  

o Pro tip: Don’t let yourself be bullied! 

▪ There are things you can do if you are being bullied: 

• Look at the person bullying you and tell him or her to stop in a 

calm, clear voice. You can also try to laugh it off. This works best if 

joking is easy for you. It could catch the person bullying you off 

guard. 

• If speaking up seems too hard or not safe, contact a supervisor or 

a coworker. 

o (From: https://www.stopbullying.gov/kids/what-you-can-do) 

• Have someone else buy the product for them 

o Pro tip: A 2005 study based on the California Tobacco Survey found that 82 

percent of adolescent smokers obtained their cigarettes from others, most of 

whom were friends. 

• Choose stores that don’t ask for ID (easy sale store) 

• Try to purchase during the busy part of the day when the clerks are more 

distracted and in a hurry 

o Pro tip: Real IDs never have a good looking signature. It’s hard to write on that 

digital pad. If it looks like a font, it’s probably not real and you can tell that 

quickly!  

• Claim they are buying for their parent/guardian 

o Pro Tip: There is help for people who want to quit! Let them know! Check out: 

https://www.tn.gov/health/health-program-areas/fhw/tobacco.html  

 

https://www.stopbullying.gov/kids/what-you-can-do
https://www.tn.gov/health/health-program-areas/fhw/tobacco.html
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• Check ID first. Always ask the customer for 

ID before taking the tobacco product from 

the shelf.  

• Take your time. Take your time when 

checking the ID. Do not rush. 

• Be firm and polite. Firmly and politely 

refuse any sale that seems suspicious. Do 

not accuse. 

• Explain why. Tell the person why you can’t 

sell the tobacco product. 

• Resist customer pressure. The customer 

may try to make you feel bad for not selling 

to them. Stand your ground. You are not 

required to sell any tobacco products. 

• Resist peer pressure. Train and encourage  

young employees to resist any pressure  

to sell tobacco products to their classmates 

or peers. 

• Get help. If a customer becomes irate: stay 

calm, don’t argue, and call a supervisor or 

manager for assistance. Offer to get a police 

officer’s opinion. The law is on your side. 

• Next customer. Shift your attention to the 

next customer in line. 

• Practice. Managers, practice role-playing 

these scenarios with your employees.  

• Practice ID checking with staff. The average clerk spends 2 seconds checking an ID. 

This is not enough time to properly check an ID. 

• Have staff training and meetings regularly. It is important that retail clerks are 

trained properly on how to spot fake, altered, borrowed, or underage IDs. Document 

these trainings and keep them in your employee records. 

• Placement Practices. State (TCA § 39-17-1511) and federal laws require that all tobacco 

products and smoking paraphernalia be placed behind the counter or in locked cases 

where customers cannot access. If inspectors find Self-Service Displays of tobacco 

products (where customers can access them), you will be fined. 

WHAT TO SAY: 

 

“I’m sorry; I must check a 

photo ID of anyone under 30 

before selling tobacco. It’s 

nothing personal–it’s the law.” 

 

“I’m sorry; I can’t sell tobacco 

products to anyone under 21. 

It’s nothing personal–it’s the 

law. I could lose my job or be 

fined a lot of money.” 

 

 

REASONS TO REFUSE A SALE: 

 

The customer has no photo ID. 

The ID photo does not match the customer. 

The ID contains no date of birth. 

The ID doesn’t appear to be authentic. 

The ID shows the customer is underage. 

The ID has expired. 
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• Train your staff on the law. It is your staff’s responsibility to know the laws that govern 

the industry of tobacco sales. Knowing these laws will help reduce failing tobacco 

compliance checks in the future. 

• Train your staff on how to properly use the store’s register and scanning system. If 

your store does not have an ID scanning system, train your staff on how to look for the 

under 21 information.  

 

• No fines 

• Keep your job 

• Gain/maintain respect of the 

community 

• May be rewarded by management 

• Reduce the number of youth who 

may become addicted to tobacco 

• Fewer youth will target your store 

for illegal purchases 

 

• Anyone who violates T.C.A. §§ 39-17-1504, 1506, 1507, 1508, or 1511, shall be subject to 

enforcement actions, including civil penalties.  

Offense Civil Penalties 

1st  Warning Letter 

2nd  Fine up to $500 

3rd  Fine up to $1,000 

4th & Subsequent Fine up to $1,500 

 

o For the purpose of determining subsequent violations, only those violations that 

occurred within the previous five (5) years shall be counted. 

o Violations will be recorded in retailers’ records for five (5) years.   
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1. A valid ID: 

A. Includes a photo of the person  

B. Includes the birthdate 

showing the person is 21 or 

older  

C. Is current and not expired 

D. All of the above  

2. It is illegal to sell or give ______ to 

minors (anyone under 21).  

A. Cigarettes  

B. Smokeless Tobacco  

C. E-cigarettes  

D. All of the above 

3. When should you decline a sale: 

A. If ID is expired 

B. If ID is not legible 

C. If you are unsure the ID 

belongs to the person 

presenting it 

D. All of the above 

4. Proof of age is required from anyone 

that appears to be under the age of  

A. 17 

B. 30 

C. 47 

D. 57 

5. If a customer can’t provide a valid ID 

or you don’t think it’s real, you should:  

A. Refuse the sale. You do not 

have to sell any tobacco 

products.  

B. Sell them the tobacco product 

only if they look over 21.  

C. Sell them the tobacco product 

only if they are with someone 

with a valid and real ID.   

D. Sell them the tobacco product 

only if they say they are over 

21.

 

6. Local law enforcement, public health 

agencies, and the State of Tennessee 

_________ throughout the year to 

ensure retailers do not sell tobacco to 

kids.  

A. Provide Educational 

Information  

B. Conduct Compliance Checks  

C. Both A & B  

D. None of the above 

7. Selling tobacco products to a minor 

under the age of 21 could result in up 

to $1500 in fines or civil penalties. 

A. True   

B. False 

8. Law enforcement must give an 

establishment 24 hour notice before 

conducting a compliance check.  

A. True  

B. False 

9. E-cigarettes and other similar 

products do not contain tobacco; 

therefore, no ID is required to 

purchase. 

A. True  

B. False 

10. A loose cigarette or “loosies” is legal to 

sell in the state of Tennessee. 

A. True  

B. False 

11. In July 2018, the State of Tennessee 

changed the under 21 license from 

the traditional horizontal format to 

vertical (tall) to make it easier to tell if 

the person is under 21. 

A. True  

B. False 

12. If a person appears to be over the age 

of 21, you do not have to check their 

ID. 

A. True 

B. False

Answers: 1. D   2. D   3. D   4. B   5. A   6. C   7. True   8. False   9. False   10. False   11. True   12. False 
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1) FDA 

• Summary of Federal Laws 

i. www.fda.gov/TobaccoProducts/GuidanceComplianceRegulatoryInformati

on/Retail/ucm205021.htm 

• Tobacco 21 

i. https://www.fda.gov/tobacco-products/retail-sales-tobacco-

products/tobacco-21  

• Tobacco Products 

i. www.fda.gov/TobaccoProducts/default.htm 

• Compliance, Enforcement, & Training 

i. www.fda.gov/TobaccoProducts/GuidanceComplianceRegulatoryInformati

on/default.htm  

• Retailer Training & Enforcement 

i. https://www.fda.gov/tobacco-products/retail-sales-tobacco-

products/retailer-training-and-enforcement  

•  “This is Our Watch” Education Program 

i. https://www.fda.gov/TobaccoProducts/GuidanceComplianceRegulatoryIn

formation/Retail/ucm237741.htm  

2) Annual Tennessee Synar Report FFY 2020 

• https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/mentalhealth/documents/TDMHSAS_FFY202

0_Draft_Synar.pdf 

3) TN Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services, Tobacco 

Prevention for Youth 

• https://www.tn.gov/behavioral-health/substance-abuse-

services/prevention/tobacco-prevention.html 

4) Tennessee Tobacco Use Prevention & Control Program (TUPCP) 

• https://www.tn.gov/health/health-program-areas/tennessee-tobacco-

program.html 

5) Office of the Tennessee Attorney General 

• https://www.tn.gov/attorneygeneral/working-for-tennessee/enforcing-tobacco-

laws.html 

6) Family Smoking Prevention & Tobacco Control Act 

• https://www.fda.gov/TobaccoProducts/Labeling/RulesRegulationsGuidance/ucm

246129.htm 

http://www.fda.gov/TobaccoProducts/GuidanceComplianceRegulatoryInformation/Retail/ucm205021.htm
http://www.fda.gov/TobaccoProducts/GuidanceComplianceRegulatoryInformation/Retail/ucm205021.htm
https://www.fda.gov/tobacco-products/retail-sales-tobacco-products/tobacco-21
https://www.fda.gov/tobacco-products/retail-sales-tobacco-products/tobacco-21
http://www.fda.gov/TobaccoProducts/default.htm
http://www.fda.gov/TobaccoProducts/GuidanceComplianceRegulatoryInformation/default.htm
http://www.fda.gov/TobaccoProducts/GuidanceComplianceRegulatoryInformation/default.htm
https://www.fda.gov/tobacco-products/retail-sales-tobacco-products/retailer-training-and-enforcement
https://www.fda.gov/tobacco-products/retail-sales-tobacco-products/retailer-training-and-enforcement
https://www.fda.gov/TobaccoProducts/GuidanceComplianceRegulatoryInformation/Retail/ucm237741.htm
https://www.fda.gov/TobaccoProducts/GuidanceComplianceRegulatoryInformation/Retail/ucm237741.htm
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/mentalhealth/documents/TDMHSAS_FFY2020_Draft_Synar.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/mentalhealth/documents/TDMHSAS_FFY2020_Draft_Synar.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/behavioral-health/substance-abuse-services/prevention/tobacco-prevention.html
https://www.tn.gov/behavioral-health/substance-abuse-services/prevention/tobacco-prevention.html
https://www.tn.gov/health/health-program-areas/tennessee-tobacco-program.html
https://www.tn.gov/health/health-program-areas/tennessee-tobacco-program.html
https://www.tn.gov/attorneygeneral/working-for-tennessee/enforcing-tobacco-laws.html
https://www.tn.gov/attorneygeneral/working-for-tennessee/enforcing-tobacco-laws.html
https://www.fda.gov/TobaccoProducts/Labeling/RulesRegulationsGuidance/ucm246129.htm
https://www.fda.gov/TobaccoProducts/Labeling/RulesRegulationsGuidance/ucm246129.htm


  

 
 

 

 
 

Thank you for your support in our efforts to reduce tobacco sales to minors. 

 

Division of Substance Abuse Services 

Andrew Jackson Building, 5th Floor 

500 Deaderick Street 

Nashville, TN 37243 

(615) 532-6500 

TN.gov/behavioral-health 

 
This project is funded under a grant contract with the state of Tennessee, Department of Mental Health and 

Substance Abuse Services. 

http://www.tn.gov/behavioral-health

