
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

  
May 24, 2022 

 

The Honorable Bill Lee 

Governor 

State of Tennessee 

 

The Honorable Members of the 112th General Assembly 

State of Tennessee 

Cordell Hull Building 

Nashville, TN 37243 

 

Re:  Report on the Title Pledge Industry 

 

Dear Governor Lee and Members of the General Assembly: 

 

Beginning November 1, 2005, pursuant to Chapter 440 of the Public Acts of 2005, the Department of 

Financial Institutions was charged with the enforcement of the Tennessee Title Pledge Act (the “Act”).  

The Act provides, at Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-15-109(c), that each title pledge lender shall file a report 

with the Commissioner of the Department, commencing on October 1, 2007, and every odd-

numbered year thereafter, containing specific information, and that the Commissioner shall submit 

to the Governor and General Assembly a biennial analysis and recapitulation of the reports for the 

preceding calendar year for the purpose of reflecting the general results of operations under the 

Act.  The enclosed Report will serve to fulfill the Department’s reporting obligations under the Act. 

 

Respectfully submitted, 

 

 
Greg Gonzales 

 

 

 

BILL LEE 
GOVERNOR 

STATE OF TENNESSEE 

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS 

TENNESSEE TOWER, 26TH FLOOR 
312 ROSA L. PARKS AVENUE 

NASHVILLE, TENNESSEE  37243 
(615)741-2236    FAX (615)253-7794 

GREG GONZALES 
 COMMISSIONER 
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Title pledge lenders are governed by the Tennessee Title Pledge Act (“Act”), codified at Tennessee Code 

Annotated (“Tenn. Code Ann.”) Title 45, Chapter 15.  The Department’s regulatory oversight includes 

reviewing all applications to ensure that licensing requirements are met, conducting periodic 

examinations for compliance with the Act, issuing enforcement actions, and investigating consumer 

complaints.   

This report is provided pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-15-109(c)(5).  The report is a biennial analysis 

and recapitulation of annual report data submitted by licensees for calendar year 2020.  The purpose 

of the report is to reflect the general results of operations of the industry.  Licensees provide 

transactional information with their license renewal submissions.  Licensees attest to the accuracy of 

the information, and the Department’s Compliance Division audits a randomly selected sample of 

reports for accuracy. 

A title pledge agreement is a 30-day loan secured by the borrower’s motor vehicle.  These loans can 

be renewed for additional 30-day periods.  Title pledge lenders may charge interest at a rate not to 

exceed 2% per month and a customary fee of no more than 1/5 of the original principal amount of 

the loan or of the unpaid balance due at the inception of any renewal.  If a borrower fails to repay a 

loan, the lender may repossess and sell the vehicle.  The borrower is not personally liable for any 

deficiency balance arising from the sale of the vehicle. 

 

Licensing 

To lawfully engage in business in Tennessee, each institution must first obtain a license from the 

Department.  Each application must meet the licensing eligibility requirements of Tenn. Code Ann. § 

45-15-106. Applicants shall demonstrate financial responsibility, financial condition, business 

experience, character, and general fitness to reasonably warrant the belief that the business will be 

conducted lawfully and fairly. 

Applications for a license must be accompanied by a nonrefundable supervision fee, as provided in 

Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-1-118(i).  A supervision fee of $600 per location was required at the time of filing 
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for calendar year 2021.  The applicant must also provide a surety bond or irrevocable letter of credit 

in the amount of $25,000 per location, with the aggregate amount not to exceed $200,000 for any 

single title pledge lender.  A completed application must include a listing of the owners, along with 

their resumes and credit reports.   

An applicant is required to submit a set of financial statements, including a balance sheet and income 

statement, prepared by a non-affiliated certified public accountant or public accounting firm, in 

accordance with generally accepted accounting principles per Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-15-109(c)(1)(D).  

The applicant must meet and maintain a tangible net worth of at least $75,000 per location.  Licenses 

are non-transferable and must be renewed annually.  As of 12/31/2021, there were 528 licensed title 

pledge locations.  This is a reduction from 640 licensed locations as of 12/31/2020, attributed to 

consolidation and office closures.  

 

Risk-Focused Examination Program 
 
The Department implemented the Risk-Focused Examination Program (“the program”) on July 1, 2013, 

for title pledge lenders.  The program utilizes questions that were derived from a study of historical 

examination reports and other related regulatory information for each license type.   This information 

provides a logical basis for developing risk questions.  Each licensee’s examination data is used to 

build a database of information for each license type and provides a way for the Department to 

compile, combine, and analyze the raw data to develop a risk rating.  The database is used to develop 

an industry average by license type.  Each licensee’s score is then compared to the industry average 
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by license type.  The risk rating is then determined by whether the licensee’s score is below or above 

the industry average.  This rating system allows the Department to focus on licensees that appear to 

have the greatest risk.  The program is designed to identify potential risks to consumers.  Through 

examination scheduling, we focus examiner resources on institutions that present a greater level of 

risk while lessening the burden on institutions presenting the least level of risk by extending the period 

between examinations.  

 

Examination scheduling is based upon the risk rating.  A “Low” risk rating would result in a scheduled 

examination in 15 to 18 months, a “Moderate” rating would be 12 to 15 months, and a “High” risk 

rating would be within nine (9) to 12 months of the date of last examination.  The risk ratings are 

updated at the beginning of each fiscal year.  

 

Based on the FY 2022 risk period, the title pledge industry had the highest percentage of locations in 

the “High” risk rated category with 15.96%.  The main factor for the high rated locations was violations 

found during examinations.  The “Low” risk rated locations made up 45.45% of the total licensed 

locations for FY 2022.  

  FY 2018 FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021 FY 2022 

Low  39.50% 59.80% 49.60% 48.23% 45.45% 

Moderate 49.80% 27.40% 36.00% 34.87% 38.59% 

High 10.70% 12.80% 14.40% 16.90% 15.96% 

Total 100.00% 100.00% 100.00%  100.00%  100.00%   
 

 

The program has provided some positive impacts to the regulated industries and to the Compliance 

Division as well.  The program has shown that 97.1% of the companies examined in FY 2020 had 

written policies and procedures.  For FY 2020, companies with training regarding elder abuse was 

75.72%.  This rose to 87.5% in FY 2021, which shows the industry’s growing awareness regarding this 

issue. 

 

The program also reviews the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau complaint portal.  The review 

covers a 24-month window, and for the FY 2022 risk period, there were 105 complaints with 15 title 

loan related complaints.  These complaints were reviewed by examiners as part of the program.    
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Examinations 

The regulatory oversight of licensees includes compliance examinations conducted pursuant to Tenn. 

Code Ann. § 45-15-108.  Examinations are designed to test and enforce compliance with Tennessee 

laws, as well as certain federal laws and regulations such as the Truth in Lending Act.  These laws and 

regulations were established to protect consumers.  For example, limiting the amount of interest and 

loan charges that may be imposed, as well as providing for specific disclosures to the consumer 

regarding loan provisions.  Examinations review for violations which represent instances where the 

licensee did not comply with statutory requirements.   

The examiners document and present findings to the licensee in a written report of examination.  The 

Department requests each lender to respond in writing to each violation cited in the examination, 

detailing the actions taken to correct all violations.  Most violations are resolved through the response 

process.  However, unresolved issues are referred within the Department for further review and 

action.  

In calendar year 2020, the Department conducted 286 examinations, resulting in consumer refunds 

of $43,840.82, as compared to 327 examinations in calendar year 2021, resulting in refunds of 

$37,071.56.  Issues found during the examination process can result in enforcement actions against 

licensees.  In calendar years 2020 and 2021, the Department initiated 69 enforcement actions against 

Title pledge lenders resulting in civil money penalties totaling $285,600. 

Common Violations 
 
Approximately 44% of the locations examined in FY 2020 had violations, and for FY 2021 the 

percentage dropped to 33%.  The three-year average for FY 2019-2021 was 40% with 27% of these 

examinations having repeat violations.  The common violations are described below.  Corrective 

action for these violations can include refund of fees to consumers. 

Missing Renewal Statements/Disclosures 

Title pledge agreements are structured as 30-day written agreements but may be renewed for an 

additional 30 days, which can occur automatically.  Disclosing a renewal period other than 30 days is 
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a violation of Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-15-113(a).  Renewal statements shall either be hand delivered at 

the time of renewal or mailed to the borrower at least five (5) days prior to the beginning of each 

renewal period.  Failure to do so is a violation of Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-15-113(b)(1).  This violation is 

present when the examination finds no documentation supporting the renewal.   

Exceeding $2,500 Limitation 

A title pledge lender cannot enter into an agreement or agreements where the amount of money 

loaned when combined with the outstanding balance of other outstanding title pledge agreements 

exceeds $2,500 when secured by a single certificate of title per Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-15-115(3). 

Sale of Repossession/Unauthorized Charges 

The title pledge lender has, upon default by the pledgor, the right to take possession of the titled 

personal property.  After taking possession, the lender must retain possession of the titled personal 

property and the certificate of title for a 20-day holding period.  If the pledgor fails to redeem the titled 

personal property and certificate of title during the required 20-day holding period, the title pledge 

lender has a period of 60 days in which to sell the titled personal property in a commercially 

reasonable manner.  Failure to dispose of the titled personal property within 60 days, failure to remit 

surplus funds to pledgor, or imposing unauthorized charges to the pledgor is a violation of Tenn. Code 

Ann. § 45-15-114(b)(3).  Examples of unauthorized charges include “fix up” costs such as replacing tires 

or detailing a vehicle after taking possession of the vehicle. 

Consumer Complaints 

The Department’s Consumer Resources Section investigates and attempts to resolve complaints filed 

against financial institutions chartered or licensed by the Department.  Any person aggrieved by the 

conduct of a title pledge lender may file a written complaint with the Commissioner through the 

Consumer Resources Section pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-15-118(c)(1).  The Department will 

take appropriate action once the complaint is fully investigated.  Complaints about customer service, 

as compared to violations of the Act, are very difficult to substantiate since they are much more 

subjective.   
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For the calendar years 2020 and 2021, the Consumer Resources Section received and investigated 12 

consumer complaints, as compared to 15 for calendar years 2018 and 2019, which is a 20% decline 

from the last reporting cycle.  Additionally, this is the fifth (5th) consecutive reporting cycle that has 

experienced a decline in the number of consumer complaints for an overall 80% decline since 60 

consumer complaints were reported during the calendar years 2012 and 2013.  

 

In calendar year 2020, eight (8) title pledge related consumer complaints were investigated and in 

calendar year 2021, four (4) consumer complaints concerning title pledge were investigated and 

reviewed by the Consumer Resources Section.  For both calendar years included in this report, none 

of the consumer complaints investigated resulted in any consumer refunds to the complainants. 

Licenses under the Act expire on December 31 of each year and may be renewed by the filing of a 

renewal application, through the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System (NMLS), between November 

1 and December 31.  Licensees must submit, together with the renewal applications, supplemental 

financial reports for the preceding calendar year.  Companies engaging in more than one line of 

business were asked to segment their income and expenses and report such data exclusively for their 

title pledge business.  The following data presented in this section was compiled from information 

provided by 72 title pledge lenders, representing 506 licensed locations in Tennessee and reflects the 

general results of operations for calendar year 2020.  The industry is predominately made up of 

corporations and limited liability companies with these representing 83% of the marketplace. 
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Company Market Share 

Title pledge lenders entered into 48,666 new agreements with borrowers in calendar year 2020, 

representing $40,439,021 in loan volume.  A review of the data for preceding years shows that the top 

ten (10) companies continue to control most of the loan volume.  As illustrated in the chart below, the 

top ten (10) companies by number of locations entered into 37,346 new agreements, representing 

77% of the market share by volume.  This reflects a decrease from the 2020 report of 89%.  While the 

marketplace for title pledge lending is diverse with both small and large sized companies, the bulk of 

the loan volume continues to come from the larger companies.     

 

New Title Pledge Agreements 

For calendar year 2020, licensees entered into a total of 48,666 new title pledge agreements, not 

including renewals of these initial agreements.  Of the new agreements written, 36,518 were for 

$1,000 or less, whereas 3,034 were made for amounts between $2,251 and $2,500 which is the 
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maximum loan amount permitted by law.  The following schedule presents the breakdown of new 

title pledge agreements by loan amount:  

New Agreements by Loan Amount 

  Number 

% of 

Total 

$0 - $250 5,880 12.08% 

$251 - $500 15,310 31.46% 

$501 - $750 7,323 15.05% 

$751 - $1,000 8,005 16.45% 

$1,001 - $1,250 2,572 5.29% 

$1,251 - $1,500 3,242 6.66% 

$1,501 - $1,750 1,087 2.23% 

$1,751 - $2,000 1,821 3.74% 

$2,001 - $2,250 392 0.81% 

$2,251 - $2,500 3,034 6.23% 

Total Number of Agreements 48,666 100.00% 

 

Agreements Renewed 

From the following analysis, 49,230 agreements were renewed during calendar year 2020.  Of these, 

approximately nine percent (9%) were renewed only one (1) time.  Of the total number of agreements 

executed in 2020, 6,082, or 11% were paid in full after 30 days without renewing.  

Total Number of Agreements Renewed in 2020 

  Number % of Total     Number % of Total 

1 Time 4,203 8.54%  12 Times 1,521 3.09% 

2 Times 3,861 7.84%  13 Times 1,377 2.80% 

3 Times 3,106 6.31%  14 Times 1,416 2.88% 

4 Times 3,238 6.58%  15 Times 1,433 2.91% 

5 Times 3,674 7.46%  16 Times 1,480 3.01% 

6 Times 3,394 6.89%  17 Times 1,384 2.81% 

7 Times 2,587 5.25%  18 Times 1,387 2.82% 

8 Times 1,970 4.00%  19 Times 1,545 3.14% 

9 Times 1,938 3.94%  20 Times 1,804 3.66% 

10 Times 1,880 3.82%  21 Times 3,204 6.51% 

11 Times 1,681 3.41%  22 Times 1,147 2.33% 
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Principal Reduction Requirements 

Prior to the 2005 amendments to the Act, a title pledge agreement could be renewed for 30-day-

periods indefinitely, and interest and fees charged over the life of the loan were unlimited.  With these 

amendments, and pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-15-113(d), beginning with the third renewal and 

at each successive renewal, the borrower is required to make a payment of at least five percent (5%) 

of the original principal amount of the title pledge transaction, in addition to interest and fees.  This 

enables the borrower to reduce the original loan amount by five percent (5%) with each payment, 

resulting in a decrease in interest and fees with each subsequent renewal.  The number of renewals 

over the life of the loan is limited based on this statutory requirement of a five percent (5%) principal 

reduction.  

In the event the borrower cannot make the scheduled principal reduction(s), the lender may defer 

such payment(s) until the end of the title pledge agreement.  However, the lender cannot charge fees 

and interest on the deferred amount.  For year-end 2020, the number of deferred principal reduction 

payments was 4,871, compared to 8,859 deferrals in 2018.   

Borrower Default  

Under the Act, the interest and fees which a title pledge lender is authorized to charge are deemed to 

be earned, due and owing as of the date of the title pledge agreement and on the same day of each 

subsequent renewal period.  The borrower is legally obligated to pay back the principal, interest, and 

fees.  If the borrower defaults, the lender’s recourse is limited to taking possession of and selling the 

pledged collateral.  In calendar year 2020, the industry took possession of 7,742 vehicles due to non-

payment, compared to 12,802 in 2018.  If the borrower fails to redeem the titled property during a 20-

day holding period, the lender then has 60 days to sell it in a commercially reasonable manner.  

Proceeds from the sale must be applied against the outstanding loan balance and any surplus 

returned to the borrower.  The industry returned a surplus of $174,494 to borrowers in 2020, 

compared to $641,310 in 2018. 

Bad debt is an expense associated with a company’s inability to collect accounts receivable.  Unless 

all proceeds from the sale of pledged collateral offset the debt, the balance due is considered 

uncollectible by the lender and is subsequently charged-off.  Unpaid accounts and balances remaining 
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from sale of repossessions represents bad debt on the financial statements.  In calendar year 2020, 

lenders incurred bad debt expense of $12,754,920, due to non-payment of all or part of the original 

principal balance, representing 17% of total revenues. 

Profitability Analysis 

In analyzing profitability industry-wide, this report focuses on net income before tax and performs a 

break-even analysis based upon interest and fees charged.  Net income before tax is revenue from 

operations less business expenses.  In the industry, the revenues are made up of interest and 

customary fees.  Company expenses can include salaries, repossessions, bad debt expense, and other 

general expenses, such as rent, utilities, insurance, supplies, and licensure. 

There are several measures of a company’s profitability, but pretax income is generally viewed as a 

better indicator of financial performance and is commonly used to compare a company’s financial 

performance with the performance of its peers.  The combined net income before tax, excluding 

owner compensation for the 72 companies (506 licensed locations) reporting, was $753,445. 

In calendar year 2020, the amount of revenue earned was $76,479,059.  Of this amount, 41% was paid 

toward general expenses.  The next largest expense category for the industry was employee salaries 

which made up 24% of total revenues.    

Industry Percentage 

   

Revenue $         76,479,059 100% 

Employee Salary $         18,068,689 24% 

Bad Debt Expense $         12,754,920 17% 

Repossession Expense $           4,007,838 5% 

General Expense $         31,294,891 41% 

Total Expense $         66,126,338 86% 

Net Income Before Tax* $        10,352,721 14% 

*Net Income Before Tax Excludes Officer/Owner Compensation 

**The numbers above are rounded to the nearest whole number. 

 

An Income Summary Comparison for years 2014, 2016, 2018, and 2020 can be found in Exhibit A. 
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The break-even point is where a company is earning neither a profit nor loss, or in other words, it is 

the amount of activity where a company’s revenues and expenses are equal.  For the title pledge 

industry, the break-even point was 86%.  This means that $0.86 of every dollar of revenue goes toward 

expenses. 

 

Title pledge lending in Tennessee continues to be a significant but declining segment of the financial 

services sector.  Based on reported information covering calendar year 2020, there were 48,666 new 

title pledge agreements during the reporting period.  This compares to 122,580 new agreements for 

calendar year 2018, 181,367 new agreements for calendar year 2016, and 250,257 new agreements 

for calendar year 2014.  The total dollar loan volume of these new agreements in 2020 amounted to 

$40,439,021, compared to $106,248,639 in 2018, $167,713,147 in 2016, and $230,652,734 in 2014.  

From calendar year 2014 to 2020, the percentage decrease in dollar loan volume was approximately 

82%.  

The largest companies, by number of licensed locations, appear to continue to dominate the industry, 

as measured by the number of new agreements entered into, accounting for 77% of new agreements 

during 2020.  The number of locations for the top ten (10) companies decreased from 503 in 2018 to 

384 in 2020.  The number of single location licensees decreased from 63 to 47.  We believe that the 

largest companies frequently offer rates less than 22%, often significantly less.  A lowering of rates 

86%

14%

INDUSTRY NET INCOME

Expense Net Income
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could be a consideration that might still permit a segment of the industry to operate profitably.  Bad 

debt expense, as a percentage of revenues, ranged from 0% to 100%; whereas the industry average 

for employee salaries was 24% of revenue.  There appears to be little variance in the other expense 

categories among companies of various sizes.  As of June 30, 2021, 36% of title pledge lender locations 

are in five (5) counties (Shelby, Davidson, Hamilton, Knox, and Rutherford).  Please refer to Exhibit B 

for a complete list of the counties and the corresponding number of locations.   

This report cannot make a judgment on the efficiency of licensee operations.  Employee salaries and 

repossession expenses are generally consistent from year-to-year.  Bad debt expenses for the 

industry amounted to 17% of revenues for calendar year 2020, which was a decrease from 29% of 

revenues for calendar year 2018.  General expenses for the industry increased from 32% of revenues 

for calendar year 2018 to 41% of revenues for calendar year 2020.  As a percentage of revenues, total 

expenses remained at 86% in 2018 and 2020.   

While attention is placed on the rates and practices of title pledge lenders, we also see a more 

fundamental need facing a segment of Tennessee consumers.  The lack of financial literacy among 

some citizens is a concern.  We understand that some consumers are hindered by circumstances 

outside of their control, such as a serious illness, that may force a short term need for immediate 

credit.  Apart from unexpected events that may seem to force some to seek out immediate credit, we 

believe that a lack of a basic understanding of financial concepts has permeated generations of 

Tennessee families.  This has created an environment that perhaps supports some of the numbers 

reported herein. 

We are hopeful that a personal finance class, which has become mandatory in Tennessee schools, will 

pay long term dividends.  Financial literacy continues to be an important segment of our core 

operations, and the Department has reached out with workshops and established partnerships with 

other public and private entities.  The Department has worked for many years with organizations such 

as the Tennessee Jumpstart Coalition and others that have done much to promote financial literacy.  

The Department also supports, and is a member of, the Tennessee Financial Literacy Commission.  

Their mission is to equip Tennesseans to make sound financial decisions when it comes to planning, 

saving, and investing.  The Tennessee Financial Literacy Commission reports that several teachers and 

children have been reached through their efforts to train Tennessee teachers.  Not only is financial 
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literacy important for the welfare of the individual, but we believe it is a key factor for the health of 

well-meaning financial institutions and ultimately for the Tennessee economy. 

Considering this, the Department is focused on a three (3) part response.  First, we continue to work 

with depository institutions in Tennessee to determine if some might be able to increase small dollar 

loans to the public.  Secondly, ongoing emphasis should be placed on financial literacy, and we will 

continue to work with the Tennessee Financial Literacy Commission to determine what else can be 

done in that regard.  The Department has just begun an initiative to visit schools in economically 

distressed areas to provide students with basic information on how to handle credit.  Finally, the 

Department has created a Risk-Focused Examination Program that allows us to risk profile over 4,500 

non-bank licensees as to potential consumer risk.  The program is giving us the data to expedite 

examinations of “High” risk rated companies by deferring exams to an extent on “Low” risk rated 

licensees.  Over time, the goal is to demonstrate improvement in the risk profile of all regulated 

industries. This program has reflected a general decrease in the comprehensive risk profile of all the 

non-deposit industries supervised by the Department’s Compliance Division since implementation. 

The Department will continue to ensure, through the licensing and examination processes, that all 

licensed title pledge lenders meet the qualifications for a license and, through the examination 

process, comply with applicable laws.  While these traditional areas of operation are very important, 

we also realize that more focus needs to be placed on educating consumers about the responsible 

use of credit.  The Risk-Focused Examination Program is intended to help lenders provide fair and 

appropriate access to credit for all consumers. 

 

 

 



 

Exhibit A 

Income Statement Summary for Prior Years' Comparison 

  Calendar 2014 Calendar 2016 

  149 Companies 951 Locations 97 Companies 719 Locations 

  Amount % of Revenue Amount % of Revenue 

Revenue $188,561,805    $146,491,993    

     Employee Salary $37,383,923  20% $27,835,390  19% 

     Bad Debt Expense $43,099,679  23% $41,999,943  29% 

     Repossession Expense $6,134,853  3% $4,619,398  3% 

     General Expense $52,326,990  28% $46,095,850  31% 

Total Expense $138,945,445  74% $120,550,580  82% 

Net Income Before Tax* $49,616,360  26% $25,941,413  18% 

  Calendar 2018 Calendar 2020 

  94 Companies 655 Locations 72 Companies 506 Locations 

  Amount % of Revenue Amount % of Revenue 

Revenue $121,936,800    $76,479,059    

     Employee Salary $26,279,914  22% $18,068,689  24% 

     Bad Debt Expense $35,131,220  29% $12,754,920  17% 

     Repossession Expense $4,425,750  4% $4,007,838  5% 

     General Expense $39,177,019  32% $29,776,403  41% 

Total Expense $105,013,903  86% $64,607,850  86% 

Net Income Before Tax* $16,922,897  14% $11,871,209  14% 

*Net Income Before Tax Excludes Officer/Owner Compensation 

 **The numbers above are rounded to the nearest whole number. 

  

 

 

 

 



 

Exhibit B 

 

County

Licensed 

Locations

 

Population 

2020 

 Area-

Square 

Miles 

Locations per 

100 Square 

Miles

 Population 

per 

Locations County

Licensed 

Locations

 

Population 

2020 

 Area-

Square 

Miles 

Locations per 

100 Square 

Miles

 Population 

per 

Locations 

Anderson 6 77,123         338          1.78 12,854           Lauderdale 1 25,143         470            0.21 25,143          

Bedford 6 50,237         474          1.27 8,373             Lawrence 7 44,159         617            1.13 6,308             

Benton 2 15,864         394          0.51 7,932             Lewis 3 12,582         282            1.06 4,194             

Bledsoe 1 14,913         406          0.25 14,913           Lincoln 5 35,319         570            0.88 7,064             

Blount 6 135,280       559          1.07 22,547           Loudon 5 54,886         229            2.18 10,977          

Bradley 10 108,620       329          3.04 10,862           Macon 3 25,216         307            0.98 8,405             

Campbell 4 39,272         480          0.83 9,818             Madison 12 98,823         557            2.15 8,235             

Cannon 2 14,506         266          0.75 7,253             Marion 3 28,837         500            0.60 9,612             

Carroll 3 28,440         599          0.50 9,480             Marshall 4 34,318         375            1.07 8,580             

Carter 4 56,356         341          1.17 14,089           Maury 10 100,974       613            1.63 10,097          

Cheatham 4 41,072         303          1.32 10,268           McMinn 8 53,276         430            1.86 6,660             

Chester 1 17,341         289          0.35 17,341           McNairy 2 25,866         560            0.36 12,933          

Claiborne 3 32,043         434          0.69 10,681           Meigs 1 12,758         195            0.51 12,758          

Clay 1 7,581            236          0.42 7,581             Monroe 8 46,250         635            1.26 5,781             

Cocke 5 35,999         434          1.15 7,200             Montgomery 13 220,069       539            2.41 16,928          

Coffee 6 57,889         429          1.40 9,648             Moore 0 6,461            129            0.00 -                 

Crockett 0 13,911         265          0.00 -                  Morgan 1 21,035         522            0.19 21,035          

Cumberland 3 61,145         682          0.44 20,382           Obion 4 30,787         545            0.73 7,697             

Davidson 44 715,884       502          8.76 16,270           Overton 3 22,511         433            0.69 7,504             

Decatur 1 11,435         333          0.30 11,435           Perry 1 8,366            415            0.24 8,366             

DeKalb 2 20,080         304          0.66 10,040           Pickett 1 5,001            163            0.24 5,001             

Dickson 5 54,315         490          1.02 10,863           Polk 3 17,544         435            1.84 5,848             

Dyer 5 36,801         510          0.98 7,360             Putnam 9 79,854         401            2.07 8,873             

Fayette 3 41,990         705          0.43 13,997           Rhea 3 32,870         316            0.75 10,957          

Fentress 1 18,489         499          0.20 18,489           Roane 4 53,404         361            1.27 13,351          

Franklin 3 42,774         553          0.54 14,258           Robertson 6 72,803         477            1.66 12,134          

Gibson 6 50,429         603          1.00 8,405             Rutherford 19 341,486       619            3.98 17,973          

Giles 3 30,346         611          0.49 10,115           Scott 2 21,850         532            0.32 10,925          

Grainger 0 23,527         280          0.00 -                  Sequatchie 4 15,826         266            0.75 3,957             

Greene 7 70,152         622          1.13 10,022           Sevier 7 98,380         592            2.63 14,054          

Grundy 1 13,529         361          0.28 13,529           Shelby 79 929,744       755            13.34 11,769          

Hamblen 6 64,499         161          3.73 10,750           Smith 2 19,904         314            0.26 9,952             

Hamilton 27 366,207       543          4.97 13,563           Stewart 1 13,657         458            0.32 13,657          

Hancock 1 6,662            222          0.45 6,662             Sullivan 13 158,163       413            2.84 12,166          

Hardeman 1 25,462         668          0.15 25,462           Sumner 14 196,281       529            3.39 14,020          

Hardin 3 26,831         578          0.52 8,944             Tipton 4 60,970         459            0.76 15,243          

Hawkins 2 56,721         487          0.41 28,361           Trousdale 1 11,615         114            0.22 11,615          

Haywood 3 17,864         533          0.56 5,955             Unicoi 2 17,928         186            1.75 8,964             

Henderson 4 27,842         520          0.77 6,961             Union 1 19,802         224            0.54 19,802          

Henry 2 32,199         562          0.36 16,100           Van Buren 0 6,168            247            0.00 -                 

Hickman 1 24,925         613          0.16 24,925           Warren 3 40,953         433            1.21 13,651          

Houston 1 8,283            200          0.50 8,283             Washington 10 133,001       326            2.31 13,300          

Humphreys 2 18,990         532          0.38 9,495             Wayne 2 16,232         734            0.61 8,116             

Jackson 1 11,617         309          0.32 11,617           Weakley 2 32,902         580            0.27 16,451          

Jefferson 5 54,683         274          1.82 10,937           White 3 27,351         377            0.52 9,117             

Johnson 0 17,948         299          0.00 -                  Williamson 3 247,726       582            0.80 82,575          

Knox 22 478,971       509          4.32 21,771           Wilson 10 147,737       571            1.72 14,774          

Lake 0 7,005            163          0.00 -                  
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