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Eligibility
Eligible
« Ateacher as defined in Tennessee Code Annotated,
Section 8-34-101-(49)

* An interim teacher whose salary is based on the local
school system’s schedule

* Full-time employees not defined above who
are regularly scheduled to work at least 30 hours per
week

* Full-time non-certified employees who have
completed 12 months of employment with a local
education agency that participates in the plan and
work a minimum of 25 hours per week. A resolution
passed by the school system’s governing body
authorizing the expanded 25 hour rule for the
local education agency must be sent to Benefits
Administration before enroliment

+ School board members (health insurance only)

+ All other individuals cited in state statute, approved
as an exception by the Local Education Insurance
Committee or defined as full-time employees for
health insurance purposes by federal law

NOT Eligible
Individuals who do not meet the employee eligibility
rules outlined above are ineligible UNLESS they
otherwise meet the definition of an eligible employee
under applicable state or federal laws or by approval
of the Local Education Insurance Committee. As an
example, the following individuals are normally ineligible
but might qualify for coverage if they meet the federal
definition of a full-time employee under the Patient
Protection and Affordable Care Act:

* Substitute teachers

* Individuals performing services on a contract basis

* Individuals in positions that are temporary
appointments

Dependents

Eligible

If you enroll in health, vision or dental coverage, you may
also enroll your eligible dependents.

* Your spouse (legally married); individual agencies
may deny eligibility to the spouses of employees who
are eligible for group health insurance through the
spouse’s employer

* Natural or adopted children

+ Stepchildren

+ Children for whom you are the legal guardian,
custodian or conservator

NOT Eligible
+ Ex-spouse (even if court ordered)

+ Parents of the employee or spouse

+ Children in the care, custody or guardianship of the
Tennessee Department of Children’s Services or
equivalent placement agency who are placed with
the head of contract for temporary or long-term
foster care

+ Children over age 26 (unless they meet qualifications
for incapacitation/disability)

+ Live-in companions who are not legally married to
the employee

Proof of the dependent’s eligibility is also required and
must be submitted to Benefits Administration no later
than 10 business days after the 30-day enrollment
deadline. Refer to the dependent definitions and required
documents chart at https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/
tn/finance/fa-benefits/documents/deva_eligible_docs.
pdf for the types of proof you must provide.

A dependent can only be covered once within the Local
Education Plan but can be covered under two separate
plans (state, local education or local government).
Dependent children are usually eligible for coverage
through the last day of the month of their 26th birthday.
Orders for guardianship, custody or conservatorship may
expire at an earlier age. If you have a dependent who is
not your child, but is placed with you by a placement order,
coverage will be terminated when the order expires unless
additional eligibility requirements are met.

All eligible dependents must be listed by name on

the enrollment change application in part 7 https://
www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/partnersforhealth/
documents/2023_forms/1043_2023.pdf. You are also
required to provide a valid Social Security number for a
dependent (if they are eligible for one). Other required
information includes date of birth, relationship, gender
and acquire date.

Children who are mentally or physically incapacitated and
not able to earn a living may continue health, dental and
vision coverage beyond age 26 if they were incapacitated
before their 26th birthday and they were enrolled in the
State Group Insurance Program prior to and on their
26th birthday. The child must meet the requirements for
dependent eligibility listed above. A request for extended
coverage must be provided to Benefits Administration
before the dependent’s 26th birthday. Benefits
Administration will determine if all plan requirements have
been met by confirming if the insurance carrier’s review
of submitted documentation establishes incapacity and
participating in annual reviews as required to confirm
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continued incapacity. Coverage will end and will not be
restored once the child is no longer incapacitated or if
other plan requirements are not satisfied. Following
termination, the child will not be enrolled again as an
incapacitated dependent.

An employee may not be enrolled as both head of contract
and dependent within the Local Education Plan. A newly
hired employee can choose coverage for his/her spouse

as a dependent when that spouse is an eligible employee
who declined coverage when first eligible. The employee’s
spouse will have dependent status unless he or she
requests to change during the Annual Enrollment period or
later qualifies under the special enrollment provisions.

Enroliment and Effective Date of Coverage
Enrollment must be completed and submitted to BA
within 30 calendar days of your hire date or date of
becoming eligible. The 30 days includes the hire date
or other date you become eligible. You should enroll
as quickly as possible to avoid the possibility of double
premium payroll deductions.

If you are a newly hired employee (including someone
moving between local education agencies or someone
coming from a local government agency, the state plan
or a higher education institution), coverage will start on
the first day of the month following your hire date or
date of becoming eligible.

If you are an existing employee gaining eligibility for
coverage (including part-time to full-time employment,
interim teachers accepting permanent teaching
positions, and non-certified employees accepting
certified positions), coverage starts the first day of the
month following gaining eligibility for coverage and your
submission of a completed enrollment form to BA.

If you enroll dependents during your initial enrollment
period, their coverage starts on the same day as yours. If
served with a Qualified Medical Child Support Order that
requires a child to be enrolled on the local education plan,
the child will be enrolled, and the child’s coverage will
start according to the terms of the order.

If you do not enroll in health coverage by the end of
your enrollment period, you must wait for the Annual
Enrollment period, unless you have a qualifying
event during the year. Refer to the special enrollment
provisions in this guide for more information.

Insurance cards will be mailed to you three to four
weeks after your application is processed. You may call
the insurance carrier to ask for extra cards or print a
temporary card from the carrier's website.

Choosing a Premium Level
There are four premium levels for health, dental and
vision coverage. You may choose the same or different
levels for health, dental and vision.

+ Employee Only

+ Employee + Child(ren)

* Employee + Spouse

* Employee + Spouse + Child(ren)
If you enroll as a family, which is any coverage level
other than Employee Only, all of you must enroll in the
same health, dental and vision insurance. However, if
you are married to an employee who is also a member
of the state, local education or local government plan,
you can each enroll in Employee Only coverage if you are
not covering dependent children. If you have children,
one of you can choose Employee Only and the other
can choose Employee + Child(ren). Then you can each
choose your own benefit option and carrier.

Edison

You can log in to Edison at www.edison.tn.gov/ to
enroll. Your agency may also process your enroliment
for you. Reach out to your agency benefits coordinator
for more information.

Premium Payment

The state pays about 45% of the cost of health coverage
for certified teaching staff in the Local Education Plan.
Some agencies may give more premium support. Your
agency benefits coordinator can explain when your
premium will be taken from your paycheck. Voluntary
insurance options get no state support, and you may have
to pay the total premium.

The plan permits a 30-day deferral of premium for
premiums being billed directly instead of through payroll
deduction. If the premium is not paid at the end of that
deferral period, coverage will be cancelled back to the
last month for which you paid a premium. There is a
one-time opportunity for coverage reinstatement.
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Premiums are not prorated. You must pay the premium
for the entire month in which the effective date occurs
and for each covered month thereafter.

School Board Members

State law says a school board member of a local
education agency may participate in the state’s health
insurance plan if the member pays the total monthly
premium for the coverage, unless the LEA assumes
liability for all or a portion of the cost. The LEA does not
have to participate in the state plan for its school board
members to be eligible to enroll in the State's health
insurance plan. The member is not eligible to enroll in
any other coverage offered by the State, i.e., vision or
dental insurance.

You may enroll within 30 days of being sworn into

office, or during the state’s fall Annual Enroliment
period. You may also make changes if you have a special
qualifying event, as outlined on page 4 of the enroliment
application. Your eligibility date is the date you were
sworn in or no later than the end of the subsequent
month. Coverage starts on the first day of the month
after your eligibility date.

If your school system participates in the State Group
Insurance Program, the human resources staff (agency
benefits coordinator) will provide information about
your options and premiums and help you enroll. If not,
the Benefits Administration service center will help.

Call 800.253.9981. Be prepared to fill out an Enrollment
Change Application found on the forms page of Benefits
Administration website at tn.gov/partnersforhealth. In
addition to the application, you will need to provide:

* Aletter from the school district on official school board
stationary stating the date you were sworn in and the
date your term ends. Your coverage will continue as
long as you serve on the school board. We must have
this documentation for our annual audit purposes.
You will be eligible for COBRA when you leave office.
You may also be eligible for continuing insurance at
retirement. The Guide to Continuing Insurance at
Retirement for Local Education is available on the
ParTNers for Health website under “Publications” at
tn.gov/partnersforhealth.

* The required verification documents listed on
page 2 of the application if you want to enroll any
dependents.

« An Authorization Agreement for Preauthorized
Payment available from HR or the BA service center
and a voided check.

Cancelling Coverage

Outside of the Annual Enrollment period, you can
only cancel coverage for yourself and/or your covered
dependents, IF:

* You lose eligibility for the State Group Insurance
Program (e.g., changing from full-time to part-time)

* You experience a special qualifying event, family
status change or other qualifying event as approved
by Benefits Administration

You must notify your agency benefits coordinator of any
event that causes you or your dependents to become
ineligible for coverage. You must repay any claims paid in
error. Refunds for any premium overpayments are limited
to three months from the date notice is received.

When cancelled for loss of eligibility, coverage ends the last
day of the month eligibility is lost. For example, coverage
for dependent children generally ends on the last day

of the month in which the child reaches age 26, unless
otherwise stated in plan rules.

Divorce — If you request to terminate coverage of a
dependent spouse while a divorce case is pending,
such termination will be subject to laws and court
orders related to the divorce or legal separation.

This includes the requirements of Tennessee Code
Annotated Section 34-4-106 and the requirement that
you provide notice of termination of health insurance
to your covered dependent spouse under Tennessee
Code Annotated Section 56-7-2366. As the employee,
it is your responsibility to make sure that any request
to terminate your dependent spouse is consistent with
those legal requirements.

UPDATING PERSONAL
INFORMATION

You can update personal information, such

as home address and email, in Edison or by
contacting your agency benefits coordinator. You
can also call the BA service center to request an
address change or email address change. You
will be required to provide your Social Security
number or Edison ID, date of birth, previous
address and confirm authorization of the change
before BA can update your information.

It is your responsibility to keep your address,
phone number and email address current with
your employer.
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Cancelling coverage in the middle of the plan year —
You may only cancel coverage for yourself and/or your
dependents in the middle of the plan year if you lose
eligibility or you experience an event that results in you/
your dependents becoming newly eligible for coverage
under another plan. There are no exceptions. You have
60 days from the date that you and/or your dependents
become newly eligible for other coverage to turnin an
application and proof to your agency benefits coordinator

The required proof is shown on the application. https://
www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/finance/fa-benefits/
documents/2023_forms/1047_2023.pdf. Events that
might result in becoming newly eligible for coverage
elsewhere are:

+ Marriage, divorce, legal separation, annulment

* Birth, adoption/placement for adoption

* Death of spouse, dependent

+ New employment, return from unpaid leave, change
from part-time to full-time employment (spouse or
dependents)

+ Entitlement to Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE

+ Court decree or order

* Open enrollment

* Change in place of residence or workplace out of the
national service area (i.e., move out of the U.S.)

+ Marketplace enrollment (Marketplace enrollments
are those offered under the Patient Protection and
Affordable Care Act)

Once your application and required proof are received,
the coverage end date will be either:

+ The last day of the month before the eligibility date of
other coverage; or

* The last day of the month that the event occurred

You may request to cancel the Dental Health Maintenance
Organization (Prepaid Provider) plan if there is no
participating general dentist within a 25-mile radius of
your home address.

Moving Between Plans

If you are eligible for coverage under more than one
state-sponsored plan, you may move between the state,
local education and local government plans. You may
apply to change plans during the plan’s designated
Annual Enrollment period with an effective date of
January 1 of the following year. In no case may you move
to another state-sponsored plan and remain on your
current plan as the head of contract.

If You Don’t Apply When First Eligible

If you do not enroll in coverage when you are first eligible,
you must wait for the Annual Enroliment period. You

can apply to enroll or make changes to your coverage
during the year, but ONLY if you experience a special
qualifying event or you have a recognized status change
as described below.

Special Enroliment and Enrolilment Due to an
Acquire Event or Loss of Eligibility for Other
Coverage Event

Special Enrollment for Health Coverage — If you or a
dependent lose eligibility for coverage under any other
group health insurance plan, or if you acquire a new
dependent during the plan year, the federal Health
Insurance Portability and Accountability Act may provide
additional opportunities for you and eligible dependents to
enroll in health coverage.

Enrollments Due to Acquire Events or Loss of Eligibility for
Other Coverage Events - You or eligible dependents may
also enroll in voluntary dental and vision if you meet the
requirements stated in the certificates of coverage for
those programs.

NOTE: Application for special enroliment or enroliment
due to an acquire event or loss of eligibility for other
coverage event (https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/
partnersforhealth/documents/2023_forms/1043_2023.
pdf) must be made:

* within 60 days of the loss of eligibility for other health
insurance coverage; or

* within 30 days of a new dependent’s acquire date.

You must also submit proof as listed on the enroliment
application.

Retroactive coverage (a coverage effective date

that begins before an enrollment is completed and
submitted to BA) is not allowed except in the event
of birth, adoption and placement for adoption. For
all other events, the earliest effective date allowed for
health coverage under this plan is the first day of the
month following the date that your enrollment request,
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including all required documentation, is completed and
submitted to BA. Note: Effective dates for voluntary
dental and vision are specified in the certificates of
coverage for those programs. Enrollment should be
completed and submitted to BA as soon as possible to
ensure the earliest possible effective date.

The chart on page 3 of the enrollment change
application explains the kinds of events that afford
special enroliment or enroliment due to experiencing
an acquire event or loss of eligibility event for other
coverage, the effective dates of coverage and the
documentation you will need to provide.

Important Reminders

+ If you are adding dependents to your existing
coverage, you can choose a different carrier or health
care option, if eligible.

* If you or your dependents had Consolidated Omnibus
Budget Reconciliation Act or COBRA continuation
coverage under another plan and coverage has been
exhausted, enrollment requirements will be waived
if application is received within 60 days of the loss of
coverage.

* Loss of eligibility does not include voluntary actions
resulting in loss of coverage (such as voluntary
cancellation of coverage and cancellation for not
paying premiums), electing to cancel, waive or decline
coverage during another plan’s enrollment period, or
termination of coverage for cause.

* Premiums are not prorated. If approved, you must
pay premium for the entire month in which the
effective date occurs.

Continuing Coverage During
Leave or After Termination

Extended Periods of Leave

Family and Medical Leave Act

FMLA allows you to take up to 12 weeks of leave during
a 12-month period for things like a serious illness, the
birth or adoption of a child or caring for a sick spouse,
child or parent. If you are on approved family and
medical leave, you will continue to get the portion of
your health insurance premium that your employer
would pay if you were in a positive pay status. Initial
approval for family and medical leave is up to each
agency head. You must have completed a minimum of
12 months of employment immediately before the onset
of leave. Cancellation due to failure to pay premiums
does not apply to FMLA.

Leave Without Pay —

Health Insurance Continued

If continuing coverage while on an approved leave of
absence, you must pay the total monthly health insurance
premium once you have been without pay for one full
calendar month. You will be billed at home each month
for your share and the employer’s share. The maximum
period for a leave of absence is two continuous years. At
the end of the two years, you must immediately report
back to work for no less than one full calendar month
before you can continue coverage during another leave
of absence. If you do not immediately return to work at
the end of two years of leave, coverage is cancelled and
COBRA eligibility will not apply.

Leave Without Pay — Insurance Suspended

You may suspend coverage while on leave if your
premiums are current. All insurance programs are
suspended, including any voluntary coverages. You

may reinstate coverage when you return to work. If
cancelled for nonpayment, you must wait for the next
Annual Enrollment period to re-enroll unless you have a
qualifying event under the special enroliment provisions
during the year.

To Reinstate Coverage After You Return

You must submit an application to your agency benefits
coordinator within 30 days of your return to work. You
must enroll in the same health option you had before. If
you do not enroll within 30 days of your return to work,
you must wait for the next Annual Enrollment period to
re-enroll unless you have a qualifying event under the
special enrollment provisions during the year. Coverage
goes into effect the first of the next month after you
return to work.

If you and your spouse are both insured with the State
Group Insurance Program, you can be covered by your
spouse as a dependent during a leave of absence.
Any deductibles or out-of-pocket expenses will be




transferred to the new contract. To transfer coverage,
submit an enrollment application to suspend coverage.
Your spouse should submit an enrollment application to
add you as a dependent. BA must be contacted to assist
with this change and transfer deductibles and out-of-
pocket expenses.

Reinstatement for Military Personnel Returning
from Active Service

An employee who returns to work after active military
duty may reinstate coverage on the earliest of the
following:

* The first day of the month, which includes the date
discharged from active duty

* The first of the month following the date of discharge
from active duty

* The date returning to active payroll

* The first of the month following return to the
employer's active payroll

If restored before returning to the employer’s active
payroll, you must pay 100% of the total premium. In
all instances, you must pay the entire premium for the
month. Reinstatement of coverage is not automatic.
Military personnel must re-apply within 90 days from the
end of leave.

Leave Due to a Work-related Injury

If you have a work-related injury or illness, contact your
agency benefits coordinator about how this will affect your
insurance.

Termination of Employment

Your insurance coverages end when your agency
terminates your employment and the information is sent
to BA. A COBRA notice to continue health, dental and/or
vision insurance (depending upon your enrollment as an
active employee) will be mailed to you.

In the event that your spouse is also insured as a head of

contract under either the state, local education or local
government plan, you have the option to move to your
spouse’s contract as a dependent. Application must be
made within 60 days of your loss of eligibility for other
coverage. See section on special enrollment provisions
for details.

Continuing Coverage through COBRA

You may be able to continue health, dental and/or vision
insurance under the Consolidated Omnibus Budget
Reconciliation Act. This is a federal law known as COBRA.
This law allows employees and dependents whose
insurance would end to continue the same benefits for

specific periods of time. You may continue health, dental
and/or vision insurance if:

+ Coverage is lost due to a qualifying event (refer to the
COBRA brochure on our website for a list of events)

* You are not insured under another group health plan
as an employee or dependent

BA will send you a COBRA packet to the address on

file within 7-10 days after receiving notification of your
coverage ending. Make sure your correct home address
is on file with your agency benefits coordinator. You
have 60 days from the date coverage ends or the date
of the COBRA notice, whichever is later, to return your
application to Benefits Administration. Coverage will

be restored immediately if premiums are sent with the
application. If you do not receive a letter within 30 days
after your insurance ends, you should contact BA.

Continuing Coverage at Retirement

Please note that under TCA 8-27-305, your initial
employment with the state or participating local education
agency must have commenced prior to July 1, 2015 in
addition to other eligibility criteria. There are separate
eligibility guides for retirement insurance. The Guide to
Continuing Insurance at Retirement for Local Education

is available on the ParTNers for Health website under
“Publications” at https://www.tn.gov/partnersforhealth.

Coverage for Dependents

in the Event of Your Death

If you die while actively employed, your covered
dependents will be offered continuation of whatever state
health, dental and vision insurance they have on the date
of your death. Your surviving dependent(s) should contact
Benefits Administration to confirm the type of coverage
continuation for which they are eligible.
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Health — Your covered dependents get six months of
health coverage at no cost. After that, your dependents
may continue health coverage under COBRA for a
maximum of 36 months, as long as they remain eligible.
Instead of COBRA, your eligible dependents may apply

to continue coverage through retiree group health if you
meet the eligibility criteria for continuation of coverage as a
retiree at the time of your death.

If you are a member of the Tennessee Consolidated
Retirement System, election of a monthly pension benefit
is one of the required criteria to continue insurance for
your covered dependents on the retiree plan if you die.
Your covered dependents do not have to be the pension
beneficiaries, but if either you or your designated pension
beneficiary elected to take a lump sum pension payout,
this will result in your surviving dependents losing the right
to continue retiree health insurance coverage even if the
other eligibility criteria are met.

If eligible, premiums for continued coverage of your
eligible surviving dependents will be deducted from your
monthly TCRS pension check if a covered dependent is
your designated pension beneficiary. Covered surviving
dependents must submit insurance premiums directly
to Benefits Administration if your TCRS pension check is
insufficient to cover the premiums or if your designated
pension beneficiary is someone other than a dependent
covered on your insurance at the time of your death.

Dental and Vision — Your dependents may be eligible
for continuation of dental and/or vision coverage through
COBRA or the retirement program as outlined below.

Your surviving dependents covered under your dental and/
or vision plan on the date of your death may continue their
enrollment in the plan with one of the two options listed
below. (Note: your dependents must continue enrollment
in the retiree health plan to be able to continue retiree
vision insurance.)

+ If you are eligible for continuation of coverage as a
retiree at time of death, your dependents may elect
COBRA or retiree continuation of dental and/or vision
elections in effect for them on the date of your death; or

* If you are not eligible for continuation of coverage as
a retiree at time of your death, your dependents may
elect COBRA continuation for dental and/or vision
elections in effect for them on the date of your death.

All eligibility questions to continue coverage for surviving
dependents on the state plans should be directed to
Benefits Administration.

If You Are Covered Under COBRA

Your covered dependents will have up to a total of 36
months of COBRA, provided they continue to meet the
eligibility requirements.

Other Information

Coordination of Benefits

If you are covered under more than one insurance plan,
the plans will coordinate benefits together to determine
which plan will pay first, how much each plan will pay, and
how much you will pay. When this plan pays secondary
you will pay your member cost share as noted in this guide
on the Benefit Comparison. At no time should payments
exceed 100% of the eligible charges.

As an active employee, your health insurance coverage

is generally considered primary for you. However, if you
have other health coverage as the head of contract, the
oldest plan is your primary coverage. If covered under a
retiree plan and an active plan, the active plan will always
be primary. If your spouse has coverage through his/

her employer, that coverage would be primary for your
spouse and secondary for you. Generally, Medicare will
pay secondary unless the covered individual is enrolled in
Medicare due to end stage renal disease or disability, as
other coordination of benefits rules may apply.

Primary coverage on children is determined by which
parent's birthday comes earliest in the calendar year.
The insurance of the parent whose birthday falls last will
be considered the secondary plan. This coordination of
benefits can be superseded if a court orders a divorced
parent to provide primary health insurance coverage.

If none of the above rules determines the order of
benefits, the benefits of the plan which has covered an
employee, member or subscriber longer are determined
before those of the plan which has covered that person
for the shorter time.

From time to time, carriers will send letters to members
asking for other coverage information. This is necessary
because it is not uncommon for other coverage
information to change. This helps ensure accurate claims
payment. In addition to sending a letter, the carriers may
also attempt to gather this information when members
call. You must respond to the carrier's request for
information, even if you just need to report that you have
no other coverage.

If you do not respond to requests for other coverage
information, your claims may be pended or held for

payment. When claims are pended, it does not mean
that coverage has been terminated or that the claims



have been denied. However, claims will be denied if the
requested information is not received by the deadline.
Once the carrier gets the requested information, they
will update the information regarding other coverage,
and claims that were pended or denied will be released
or adjusted for payment.

Subrogation
The medical plan has the right to subrogate claims. This
means that the medical plan can recover the following:

« Any payments made as a result of injury or illness
caused by the action or fault of another person

+ A lawsuit settlement that results in payments from a
third party or insurer of a third party

* Any payments made due to a workplace injury or
illness

These payments would include payments made by
worker's compensation insurance, automobile insurance
or homeowners insurance whether you or another party
secured the coverage.

You must assist in this process and should not settle
any claim without written consent from the Benefits
Administration subrogation section. If you do not
respond to requests for information or do not agree to
pay the plan back for any money received for medical
expenses for which the plan has already paid, you may
be subject to collections activity.

On-the-job lliness or Injury

Work-related illnesses or injuries are not covered under
the plan. The plan will not cover claims related to a work-
related accident or illness regardless of the status of a
worker’s compensation claim or other circumstances.

Fraud, Waste and Abuse

Making a false statement on an enrollment or claim
form is a serious matter. Only people defined by the
group insurance program as eligible may be covered.
Eligibility requirements for employees and dependents
are covered in detail in this guide.

If your covered dependent becomes ineligible, you must
inform your agency benefits coordinator and submit an
application within one full calendar month of the loss

of eligibility. Once a dependent becomes ineligible for
coverage, he/she cannot be covered even if you are under
court order to continue to provide coverage.

If there is any kind of error in your coverage or an

error affecting the amount of your premium, you must
notify your agency benefits coordinator. Any refunds of
premiums are limited to three months from the date

a notice is received by Benefits Administration. Claims
paid in error for any reason will be recovered from you.

Financial losses due to fraud, waste or abuse have a direct
effect on you as a plan member. When claims are paid

or benefits are provided to a person who is not eligible
for coverage, this reflects in the premiums you and

your employer pay for the cost of your health care. It is
estimated that between 3-14 percent of all paid claims
each year are the result of provider or member fraud. You
can help prevent fraud and abuse by working with your
employer and plan administrator to fight those individuals
who engage in fraudulent activities.

How You Can Help
+ Pay close attention to the explanation of benefits
forms sent to you when a claim is filed under your
contract and always call the carrier to question any
charge that you do not understand

* Report anyone who permits a relative or friend to
“borrow” his/her insurance identification card

+ Report anyone who makes false statements on their
insurance enrollment applications

* Report anyone who makes false claims or alters
amounts charged on claim forms

Please contact Benefits Administration to report fraud,
waste or abuse of the plan. All calls are strictly confidential.

To File an Appeal

If you have a problem with coverage or payment

of medical, behavioral health and substance use or
pharmacy services, there are internal and external
procedures to help you. These procedures do not
apply to any complaint or grievance alleging possible
professional liability, commonly known as malpractice,
or for any complaint or grievance concerning benefits
provided by any other plan.

You should direct any specific questions regarding initial
levels of appeal (the internal appeal process) to the
insurance carrier member service numbers provided

in this guide. You can also find those numbers on your
insurance cards. Benefits Administration is not involved in
the appeal process. The appeals process follows federal
rules and regulations and assigns appeal responsibilities
to the carriers and independent review organizations.

Benefit Appeals

Before starting an appeal related to benefits (e.g., a
prior authorization denial or an unpaid claim), you or
your authorized representative should first contact
the insurance carrier to discuss the issue. You or your



authorized representative may ask for an appeal if the
issue is not resolved as you would like.

Different insurance carriers manage approvals and
payments related to your medical, behavioral health,
substance use and pharmacy benefits. To avoid delays
in the processing of your appeal, submit your request
on time and direct it to the correct insurance carrier.
For example, you or your authorized representative

will have 180 days to start an internal appeal with the
medical insurance carrier following notice of an adverse
determination with regard to your medical benefits.

Appealing to the Insurance Company

To start an appeal (sometimes called a grievance), you or
your authorized representative should call the toll-free
member service number on your insurance card. You

or your authorized representative may file an appeal/
member grievance by completing the correct form or as
otherwise instructed.

The insurance company will process internal levels of
appeal — Level | and Level Il appeals. Decision letters
will be mailed to you at each level. These letters will
tell you if you have further appeal options (including
independent external review) and if so, how to pursue
those options and how long you have to do so.

Annual Enrollment Period

Benefit information is sent to you each fall. This
information is also published on our Partners for Health
website at tn.gov/partnersforhealth. Review this
information carefully to make the best decisions for you
and your family members. The Annual Enrollment period
gives you a chance to enroll in health, dental, and vision
coverage. You can also make changes to your existing
coverage, like transferring between health, dental and
vision options and cancelling insurance.

Employees have one opportunity to revise Annual
Enrollment elections as described in Plan Document
Section 2. The Plan Document is posted on the
Partners website under Publications at tn.gov/
PartnersForHealth.

Annual Enrollment benefit selection will remain in effect
for a full year (January 1 through December 31). You
may not make changes to other coverage outside of
the enrollment period unless eligibility is lost or there

is a qualifying event. Other coverage outside of the
enrollment period unless eligibility is lost or there is a
qualifying event.

2024 Health Plan Options

You have a choice of four health plans from ParTNers
for Health. Each health plan has different out-of-pocket
costs. Some examples include your copays, deductibles
and coinsurance.

All health care options cover the same services and
treatments, but coverage decisions may vary by
carrier (see Health Plan Carrier Networks). Eligible
preventive care is free with all plans if you use an in-
network provider.

Here is a comparison of the four plans:

Premier Preferred Provider Organization: Higher
monthly premium, lower out-of-pocket costs (deductible,
copays and coinsurance).

Standard Preferred Provider Organization: Lower
monthly premium than Premier PPO, higher out-of-
pocket costs.

Limited Preferred Provider Organization: Lower
monthly premiums than the other PPOs, higher out-of-
pocket costs than the other PPOs.

Local Consumer-driven Health Plan/Health Savings
Account: Lowest monthly premium. In-network
preventive care has no member cost. For most other
services, you pay your deductible first before the plan
pays anything. Then you pay coinsurance, not copays.


http://tn.gov/partnersforhealth
https://www.tn.gov/partnersforhealth.html
https://www.tn.gov/partnersforhealth.html

Learn more about Health Savings Accounts

There are limits on how much money you can putin
your HSA each year:

*  $4,150 for employee-only coverage in 2024,
+ $8,300 for all other family tiers in 2024; and
*  Members 55+ can add $1,000 more each year.

These limits include any contributions your employer
may make to your HSA. HSA contributions in excess
of the IRS maximums listed above are not tax
deductible and are subject to a 6% excise tax, so
monitor your HSA contributions carefully.

Local education employees who enroll in the Local
CDHP will need to check if your employer allows you
to contribute to your HSA through payroll deduction.
You may need to update this amount each year. You
would provide this amount to your employer.

With the HSA, your total contribution is not
available up-front. Your pledged amount is taken
out of each paycheck, if your employer offers payroll
deduction. You may only spend the money that is

in your HSA at the time of service, but you can pay
yourself back later with HSA funds. Newly enrolled
members get a debit card from Optum Financial

to use for qualified expenses. Current enrolled
members who stay in the Local CDHP/HSA will use
their same debit card.

Local HSA and FSA restrictions: There are certain
restrictions about who can enroll in a plan with

an HSA. If you enroll in the Local CDHP/HSA, you
cannot enroll in another medical plan, including any
government plan, and you cannot have a medical
flexible spending account or health reimbursement
account, among other restrictions. You can enroll in
the Local CDHP/HSA and a limited purpose FSA if one
is offered by your employer. If you enroll in Social
Security at age 65, you'll automatically be enrolled
in Medicare Part A, and if enrolled in a CDHP, this
may have tax consequences affecting your HSA
contribution. Consult your tax advisor for advice.
Go to CDHP/ HSA Insurance Options for certain
restrictions, maximum contribution amounts, debit
card details, and more information.

See health plan options, deductibles, copays and
coinsurance in the 2024 Health Plan Comparison Chart
by clicking on Enroliment Materials.

Find premium charts, including COBRA, by clicking on
Premiums.

Click on Health for plan option details.
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Health Plan Carrier Networks

BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee and Cigna, our health
insurance carriers, administer the network options. Both
carriers offer expansive networks of doctor, hospital and
facility providers.

You can choose from four carrier networks for your
medical care.

BlueCross BlueShield Network S
Cigna LocalPlus

These networks include many providers, hospitals and
facilities throughout Tennessee and across the country.
Not all providers and hospitals are in the BlueCross
Network S and Cigna LocalPlus networks, which helps
keep premiums and claims costs low. There is no
additional monthly cost added to the premium for the
BlueCross Network S or Cigna LocalPlus networks.

BlueCross BlueShield Network P
Cigna Open Access Plus

These networks include more hospitals and facilities.
There is an additional cost added to the monthly
premium for the BlueCross Network P and Cigna OAP
networks. This cost is going up in 2024. You'll see the
total cost for these networks in the premium chart. You
may also pay more per claim because the costs for
services in these networks are generally higher than
the other two networks.

+ Additional $75 per month for the employee-only tier

« Additional $85 per month for the employee +
child(ren) tier

+ Additional $150 per month for the employee +
spouse and employee + spouse + child(ren) tiers

It's important to check the networks carefully. The
network choice you make during Annual Enrollment is for
the entire calendar year (Jan. 1 until Dec. 31). You may be
able to make changes allowed by the plan if you have a
qualifying event. Information about qualifying events is on
page three of the Enroliment Change Application.



https://www.tn.gov/partnersforhealth/health-options/cdhp.html
https://www.tn.gov/partnersforhealth/ae/materials.html
https://www.tn.gov/partnersforhealth/insurance-premiums.html
https://www.tn.gov/partnersforhealth/insurance-premiums.html
https://www.tn.gov/partnersforhealth/health-options/health.html
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/partnersforhealth/documents/2023_forms/1043_2023.pdf

Network providers and facilities can and do change.
Benefits Administration cannot guarantee all providers and
hospitals in a network at the beginning of the year will stay
in that network for the entire year. A provider or hospital
leaving a network is not a qualifying event and does not
allow you to make changes to your insurance choices.

Covered Services

Covered services are generally the same whether

you choose BlueCross BlueShield or Cigna. For some
procedures, different medical criteria may apply based
on the carrier you select. For detailed information on
covered services, exclusions and how the plans work,
view the BCBST or Cigna Member Handbook and your
Plan Document by going to the Publications webpage.
If you have questions about your benefits or medical
criteria for a specific service, contact the carriers’
member services.

Contact the Carriers

Contact BlueCross or Cigna if you have questions about
a provider or hospital in a network:

BlueCross, 800.558.6213, M-F, 7 a.m. -5 p.m. CT,
bcbst.com/members/tn_state/

Cigna, 800.997.1617, 24/7, cigna.com/stateoftn

Learn More about Your
Health Plan Carrier Networks

Click on Carrier Information for network hospital lists
and directories.

How to Enroll

If you want to enroll in health insurance, you can choose
or change your health insurance option, carrier and
network by enrolling in Edison at www.edison.tn.gov.

Included Health Benefits

Along with your medical coverage, your health plan
provides the following benefits: pharmacy, behavioral
health, an Employee Assistance Program and a wellness
program. Learn about benefits such as telehealth, the
Diabetes Prevention Program, behavioral health virtual
visits and more by going to Included Benefits Extras.

Pharmacy
Managed by CVS Caremark

All health plans include full prescription drug benefits.

The health plan you choose (Premier PPO, Standard,
Limited PPO or Local CDHP/HSA) determines your out-
of-pocket prescription costs.
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How much you pay depends on three things:

+ the drug tier - if you choose a generic, preferred
brand, nonpreferred brand or specialty drug (two
different cost tiers in the PPOs);

+ the day supply you receive - 30-day (or <30) or 90-day
(>31) supply; and

+ where you fill your prescription - at a retail, Retail-90
or mail-order pharmacy.

Learn more about prescription drug benefits, the
preferred drug list, vaccines and how to save money by
clicking on Pharmacy.

Contact: CVS Caremark, 877.522.8679, 24/7,
info.caremark.com/stateoftn

Behavioral Health
Managed by Optum Health

All health plans include access to outpatient and facility-
based behavioral health and substance use disorder
services. Optum can help members and eligible
dependents find a provider for in-person or virtual visits,
explain benefits, identify best treatment options, schedule
appointments and answer questions.

Your benefits also include applied behavior analysis
therapy and preferred no-cost substance use treatment
facilities (for PPO plans, no coinsurance after deductible
for Local CDHP).

Learn more about your behavioral health benefits by
clicking on Behavioral Health.

For all programs and services and help finding a provider,
contact Optum at 855.HERE4TN (855.437.3486), 24/7 or
visit HERE4TN.com.


https://www.tn.gov/partnersforhealth/publications/publications.html
https://www.bcbst.com/members/tn_state/index/!ut/p/z1/04_Sj9CPykssy0xPLMnMz0vMAfIjo8zi_QK9LQwNnQ38_F0MjAwCzUxCA139vA0NDE30w9EUmHmbGwQ6BgaHmBgEG7ibmOpHEaPfAAdwNCBOPx4FUfiND9ePwm-FAYYCTC8SsqQgNzQ0wiDTEwBz4vxk/dz/d5/L2dBISEvZ0FBIS9nQSEh/
https://stateoftn.cigna.com/
https://www.tn.gov/partnersforhealth/health-options/carrier-network.html
https://hub.edison.tn.gov/psp/paprd/EMPLOYEE/EMPL/h/?tab=PAPP_GUEST
https://www.tn.gov/partnersforhealth/health-options/included-benefits-extras.html
https://www.tn.gov/partnersforhealth/health-options/pharmacy.html
https://www.tn.gov/partnersforhealth/health-options/pharmacy.html
https://info.caremark.com/oe/stateoftn
https://www.tn.gov/partnersforhealth/health-options/behavioral-health.html
https://www.here4tn.com/

Employee Assistance Program
Managed by Optum Health

EAP services are available to all enrolled health plan
members and eligible dependents, even if your
dependents are not enrolled in a health plan.

Master's level specialists are available 24/7 to assist with
stress, legal, financial, mediation and work/life services.
With EAP services:

+ Get five counseling visits, per problem, per year, per
individual at no cost to you.

+ Available in person or by virtual visit to get the care you
need in the privacy and comfort of your own home.

Your benefits include Self Care by AbleTo, an on-demand
mobile app to help with stress, anxiety and depression;
Talkspace online therapy; and Take Charge at Work, a
telephonic coaching program that helps those working
and eligible for EAP services deal with stress and
depression.

Learn more about your EAP benefits by clicking on EAP.

For all EAP programs and services and help finding
a provider, contact Optum 24/7 at 855.HERE4TN
(855.437.3486) or HERE4TN.com

Wellness Program
Managed by new vendor Sharecare in 2024

To help you achieve your health goals, the wellness
program is available to local education employees, spouses
and adult dependents enrolled in the health plan.

Sharecare will be the wellness program vendor beginning
in 2024. Members enrolled in health benefits will

have access to lifestyle counseling, chronic condition
management, a weight management program, digital
health devices, the website, mobile app and biometric
screenings. A diabetes remission and Diabetes Prevention
Program will also be offered to members who qualify.

The Diabetes Prevention Program is offered through
health insurance carriers BlueCross or Cigna.
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Additional Benefits

Along with health insurance, you may be offered dental
and vision insurance benefits through ParTNers for Health.
These benefits provide additional coverage for you and
your eligible dependents. Typically, employees pay 100%
of the dental and vision premiums. Your employer may
contribute to the premium in some instances.

Dental Insurance (if offered by your agency)
Offered through Cigna and Delta Dental

ParTNers for Health offers two different dental plans.

Cigna: Dental Health Maintenance Organization -
Prepaid Provider

You are required to select and use a Cigna network
general dentist. You must notify Cigna of your choice.
Find the list of dentists at cigna.com/stateoftn.

Members pay copays. Review the Patient Charge
Schedule before having procedures performed. Lab fees
may apply for some procedures.

Completion of crowns, bridges, dentures, implants or
root canals already in progress on a new member’s
effective date will not be covered.

Members can contact Cigna customer service for
additional information about coverage for orthodontic
services in progress.

Delta Dental: Dental Preferred Provider Organization

Use any dentist but save money by choosing an in-
network dentist.

Discuss any estimated expenses with your dentist or
specialist. Charges for dental procedures are subject to
change. Members pay deductibles and coinsurance.

Waiting periods apply to select procedures.

Find 2024 dental premiums by clicking on Premiums
and going to Other Insurance Coverages - Dental.



https://www.tn.gov/partnersforhealth/other-benefits/eap.html
https://www.here4tn.com/
https://stateoftn.cigna.com/
https://www.tn.gov/partnersforhealth/insurance-premiums.html

Review the dental DHMO and DPPO network options,
get a comparison of the two plans and find more
information by clicking on Dental. The premium rates
for the Cigna DHMO plan are less than for the DPPO
plan; however, the network options are fewer in the
DHMO. Employees should carefully review all details of
each plan before making a selection.

To learn about all dental benefits, find the Cigna DHMO
handbook, Cigna Patient Charge Schedule and the Delta
Dental DPPO handbook by clicking on Publications.

Contact our dental carriers:
Cigna, 800.997.1617, 24/7, cigna.com/stateoftn

Delta Dental, 800.552.2498, M-F, 7 a.m. - 5 p.m. CT,
DeltaDentalTN.com/StateofTN

Vision Insurance (if offered by your agency)
Offered through EyeMed

You'll save money when using in-network providers.

Choose from two vision insurance options, the Basic
Plan or Expanded Plan.

All members in both vision plans get:
* Routine eye exam every calendar year

+ Choice of eyeglass lenses or contact lenses once
every calendar year

+ Low vision evaluation and aids available once every
two calendar years

Basic Plan: Pays for your eye exam after you pay a $10
copay and provides various allowances (dollar amounts)
for materials such as eyeglass frames and contact lenses.

+ Frames available once every two calendar years.

Expanded Plan: Free routine eye exam annually.
Includes greater allowances versus the Basic Plan.

+ Frames available once every calendar year.

In both plans, you pay copays; or when the cost exceeds
the allowed dollar amount paid by the plan, you pay
the cost of materials and services above the allowance.
Discounts may be available for select materials.

Find 2024 vision premiums by clicking on Premiums,
then go to Other Insurance Coverages - Vision.

Find information including a comparison of both plans
by clicking on Vision.

Find the EyeMed handbook by clicking on Publications
and Vision Insurance.

Contact: EyeMed, 855.779.5046, M-S, 7 a.m. - 10 p.m.
CT, Sun. 10 a.m. - 7 p.m. CT, eyemed.com/stateoftn

Legal Notices

Anti-Discrimination and
Civil Rights Compliance

Benefits Administration does not support any
practice that excludes participation in programs or
denies the benefits of such programs on the basis
of race, color, national origin, sex, age or disability
in its health programs and activities. If you have a
complaint regarding discrimination, contact the
Finance and Administration Civil Rights Coordinator
at FA.CivilRights@tn.gov or 615.532.9617.

Have you been denied services or treated differently
for the above stated reasons? Find the Department

of Finance and Administration’s Nondiscrimination
Policy and Complaint Procedures and Form under F&A
Department Policies at https://www.tn.gov/finance/
looking-for/policies.html (Policy 36); contact the F&A
Civil Rights Coordinator; or mail a complaint to F&A

Civil Rights Coordinator/Office of General Counsel, 19th
Floor, 312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, William R. Snodgrass
Tennessee Tower, Nashville, TN 37243.

Need free language help? Have a disability and need
free help or an auxiliary aid or service such as Braille or
large print? If you speak a language other than English,
help in your language is available for free. Contact the
F&A Civil Rights Coordinator at 615.532.9617.

ATENCION: si habla espafiol, tiene a su disposicién servicios
gratuitos de asistencia linguistica. Llame al 1.866.576.0029
(TTY: 1.800.848.0298).

puadl Cila 1.(800.848.0298. o dua) Ulzadln dd il s
85 g5 Jd) 83 lused) o s g ) el Sy e 1) rada g Ja
.576.0029. ai3_( 866 1 :aladls

AR MRCEREREPX - BOURBEESESER
7 - FFHE 1.866.576.0029 (TTY:1.800.848.0298) -


https://www.tn.gov/partnersforhealth/other-benefits/dental.html
https://www.tn.gov/partnersforhealth/publications/publications.html
https://stateoftn.cigna.com/
https://deltadentaltn.com/StateofTN
https://www.tn.gov/partnersforhealth/insurance-premiums.html
https://www.tn.gov/partnersforhealth/other-benefits/vision.html
https://www.tn.gov/partnersforhealth/publications/publications.html
https://member.eyemedvisioncare.com/stateoftn/en
mailto:mailto:FA.CivilRights%40tn.gov?subject=
https://www.tn.gov/finance/looking-for/policies.html
https://www.tn.gov/finance/looking-for/policies.html

CHU Y: Néu ban ndi Tiéng Viét, c6 cac dich vy hd trg
ngdn nglr mién phi danh choban. Goi s6 1.866.576.0029
(TTY:1.800.848.0298).

FO|: ot 0l E AMESIHA = B2, 20 X[ MHAE REE
0|25t 4= UELLCE 1.866.576.0029 (TTY: 1.800.848.0298)
HO 2 Folsl| FHAIL.

ATTENTION : Si vous parlez frangais, des services d'aide
linguistique vous sont proposés gratuitement. Appelez le
1.866.576.0029 (ATS : 1.800.848.0298).

Ni songen mwohmw ohte, komw pahn sohte anahne kawehwe
mesen nting me koatoantoal kan ahpw wasa me ntingie
[Lokaiahn Pohnpei] komw kalan- gan oh ntingidieng ni lokaiahn
Pohnpei. Call 1.866.576.0029 (TTY: 1.800.848.0298).

@Y FOA; PTR5TI4F £ RACE NPT PFCHIR ACSF BCESTI NS
ALTHPF +HIB+PA: ML MNFADEML LM~ 1.866.576.0029
(@NTF A+AGTFD-: 1.800.848.0298).

ACHTUNG: Wenn Sie Deutsch sprechen, stehen Ihnen kostenlos
sprachliche Hilfsdienstleistungen zur Verfligung. Rufnummer:
1.866.576.0029 (TTY: 1.800.848.0298).

Yuell: ) di esUdl ollddl €l, dl «i(Yes @l dSl
ARl dHRlL HI2 Gudwd 8. sled 52U 1.866.576.0029
(TTY:1.800.848.0298)

IRFE: HAFEFINLIBE. BROSEXEECH
AW 2 4 £ 866.576.0029 ( TTY:1.800.848.0298) £ T. &
BEEIC TIEEE W,

PAUNAWA: Kung nagsasalita ka ng Tagalog, maaari kang
gumamit ng mga serbisyo ng tulong sa wika nang walang
bayad. Tumawag sa 1.866.576.0029 (TTY: 1.800.848.0298).

T & Fgf ey &fd serd § o e e Fohd 7 AT HeRIaT HaT] SUeEy ¢ |
1.866.576.0029 (TTY: 1.800.848.0298) W @ict ¢ IBHUMAHMUE: Ecam
Bbl FOBOPMTE Ha PYCCKOM A3blKe, TO Bam JOCTYMHbI 6ecniaTHble
ycnyrv nepesoga. 3BoHuTe 1.866.576.0029 (TeneTann:
1.800.848. 0298).

SRG1) spme Ol DIt S Gp 5808 (5l Ol
2 18 g 55 s s At s a8 i 1.800.848.0298) (TTY:
866.576.0029 asi s s 3 ssSe

If you have questions about civil rights compliance or
concerns, you may also contact:

+ U.S. Department of Health & Human Services - Region IV
Office for Civil Rights, Sam Nunn Atlanta Federal Center,
Suite 16T70, 61 Forsyth Street, SW, Atlanta, GA 30303-8909
or 1.800.368.1019 or TTY/TDD at 1.800.537.7697.

+ U.S. Office for Civil Rights, Office of Justice Programs, U.S.
Department of Justice, 810 7th Street, NW, Washington,
DC 20531.

+ Tennessee Human Rights Commission, 312 Rosa Parks
Avenue, 23rd Floor, William R. Snodgrass Tennessee
Tower, Nashville, TN 37243.
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The Notice of Privacy Practice

Your health record contains personal information about
you and your health. This information that may identify
you and relates to your past, present or future physical

or mental health or condition and related health care
services is referred to as protected health information, or
PHI. The Notice of Privacy Practices describes how we may
use and disclose your PHI in accordance with applicable
law, including the Health Insurance Portability and
Accountability Act, or HIPAA, including Privacy and Security
Rules. The notice also describes your rights regarding how
you may gain access to and control your PHI.

We are required by law to maintain the privacy of PHI

and to provide you with notice of our legal duties and
privacy practices with respect to PHI. We are required to
abide by the terms of the Notice of Privacy Practices. The
Notice of Privacy Practices is located on the Partners for
Health website at https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/
tn/finance/fa-benefits/documents/hipaa.pdf. You may
also request the notice in writing by emailing benefits.
privacy@tn.gov.

Prescription Drug Coverage and Medicare

Medicare prescription drug coverage is available to
everyone with Medicare. However, as a member of the
State Group Insurance Program you have options for
your drug coverage. For information about your current
prescription drug coverage with the SGIP and your options
under Medicare's prescription drug coverage, review this
notice on the Partners for Health website: www.tn.gov/
content/dam/tn/finance/fa-benefits/documents/
medicare_part_d_notice.pdf.

Summary of Benefits and Coverage

As required by law, a Summary of Benefits and Coverage
is available which describes your health coverage options.
The SBC is found at www.tn.gov/ParTNersForHealth/
summary-of-benefits-and-coverage. SBC documents
are updated annually, and new versions are available on
or after Sept. 1. The Partners for Health website contains
much of the same information. To get a SBC paper copy,
free of charge, call 855.809.0071. Please include your
name, complete mailing address and name of the SBCs
you want; State and Higher Education Plan; Local Education
Plan; or Local Government Plan.

Plan Document

The information contained on the Partners for Health
website provides a detailed overview of the benefits
available to you through the State of Tennessee. Specific
plan information is contained within the formal plan
documents and certificates of coverage. If there is any
discrepancy between the information on the website and
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the formal plan documents and certificates of coverage,
the plan documents and certificates of coverage will govern
in all cases. You can find a copy of these documents on

the Benefits Administration website at www.tn.gov/
PartnersForHealth/publications/publications.html

Other Publications

In addition to the documents mentioned above, the
Benefits Administration website contains many other
important publications, including, but not limited to,
brochures and handbooks for medical, pharmacy,
dental and vision and the brochure and handbook for
the Supplemental Medical Insurance for Retirees with
Medicare.
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Notice Regarding Wellness Program

The law requires the Plan to provide you with certain
notices and information regarding the Wellness Program.
Please find the Notices regarding the Wellness Program
online at tn.gov/Partnersforhealth under Wellness. To
request a mailed copy of the Wellness Program Notices,
you may send an email to benefits.info@tn.gov.

If you have questions or concerns regarding this notice, or
about protections against discrimination and retaliation,
please contact ParTNers for Health at partners.wellness@
tn.gov. Here is the link to the wellness page: www.tn.gov/
content/tn/partnersforhealth/other-benefits/wellness-
program.html
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PARTNERS
FOR HEALTH Local Education

2024 Active Employees Monthly Health Premiums

BCBST CIGNA BCBST CIGNA
NETWORK S LOCALPLUS NETWORKP | OPEN ACCESS

PREMIER PPO

Employee Only $713.00 $713.00 $788.00 $788.00
Employee + Child(ren) $1,175.00 $1,175.00 $1,260.00 $1,260.00
Employee + Spouse $1,604.00 $1,604.00 $1,754.00 $1,754.00
Employee + Spouse -+ Child(ren) $1,852.00 $1,852.00 $2,002.00 $2,002.00
STANDARD PPO

Employee Only $662.00 $662.00 $737.00 $737.00
Employee + Child(ren) $1,092.00 $1,092.00 $1,177.00 $1,177.00
Employee + Spouse $1,490.00 $1,490.00 $1,640.00 $1,640.00
Employee + Spouse -+ Child(ren) $1,721.00 $1,721.00 $1,871.00 $1,871.00
LIMITED PPO

Employee Only $625.00 $625.00 $700.00 $700.00
Employee + Child(ren) $1,031.00 $1,031.00 $1,116.00 $1,116.00
Employee + Spouse $1,407.00 $1,407.00 $1,557.00 $1,557.00
Employee + Spouse + Child(ren) $1,625.00 $1,625.00 $1,775.00 $1,775.00
LOCAL CDHP/HSA

Employee Only $546.00 $546.00 $621.00 $621.00
Employee + Child(ren) $900.00 $900.00 $985.00 $985.00
Employee + Spouse $1,228.00 $1,228.00 $1,378.00 $1,378.00
Employee + Spouse + Child(ren) $1,419.00 $1,419.00 $1,569.00 $1,569.00

The premium amounts shown reflect the total monthly premium. Please see your agency benefit coordinator for your monthly deduction and
your employer's contribution, if applicable.
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PARTNERS
FOR HEALTH

2024 Monthly Vision Premiums

BASICPLAN EXPANDED PLAN

Employee Only $3.18 $6.30
Employee + Child(ren) $6.35 $12.60
Employee + Spouse $6.03 $11.98
Employee + Spouse -+ Child(ren) $9.33 $18.54

COBRA PARTICIPANTS

Employee Only/Single $3.24 $6.43
Employee + Child(ren) $6.48 $12.85
Employee + Spouse $6.15 $12.22
Employee + Spouse + Child(ren) $9.52 $18.91

COBRA DISABILITY PARTICIPANTS

Employee Only/Single $4.77 $9.45
Employee + Child(ren) $9.53 $18.90
Employee + Spouse $9.05 $17.97
Employee + Spouse + Child(ren) $14.00 $27.81
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PARTNERS
FOR HEALTH

2024 Monthly Dental Premiums

CIGNA DHMO
(PREPAID PROVIDER) PLAN DELTA DENTAL DPPO PLAN

ACTIVE MEMBERS TOTAL PREMIUM LOCAL EDUCATION TOTAL PREMIUM LOCAL EDUCATION

Only $14.19 $20.02
Employee + Child(ren) $29.47 $53.23
Employee + Spouse §25.15 $39.37
Employee + Spouse + Child(ren) $34.58 $81.53
COBRA PARTICIPANTS

Employee Only/Single $14.47 $20.42
Employee + Child(ren) $30.06 $54.29
Employee + Spouse $25.65 $40.16
Employee + Spouse + Child(ren) $35.27 $83.16
COBRA DISABILITY PARTICIPANTS

Employee Only/Single $21.29 $30.03
Employee + Child(ren) $44.21 $79.85
Employee + Spouse $37.73 $59.06
Employee + Spouse + Child(ren) $51.87 $122.30

18



2024 Health Plan Comparison of Member Costs — Local Education
PPO services in this table ARE NOT subject to a deductible. CDHP/HSA services in this table ARE subject to a deductible and coinsurance with the exception of in-network preventive care

and maintenance medications.

HEALTH PLAN OPTION

COVERED SERVICES
PREVENTIVE CARE — OFFICE VISITS

IN-NETWORK [!

IN-NETWORK 1!

OUT-OF-NETWORK !

IN-NETWORK 1!

PREMIER PPO STANDARD PPO LIMITED PPO

OUT-OF-NETWORK ! OUT-OF-NETWORK !

LOCAL CDHP/HSA

IN-NETWORK [!

OUT-OF-NETWORK !

« Well-baby, well-child visits as
recommended

« Adult annual physical exam

« Annual well-woman exam

« Immunizations as recommended

+ Annual hearing and non-refractive
vision screening

« Screenings including Pap smears, labs,
nutritional guidance, tobacco cessation
counseling and other services as
recommended

Primary Care Office Visit

- Family practice, general practice,
internal medicine, OB/GYN and
pediatrics

« Provider-based telehealth

No charge

$45

No charge

$50

No charge

$50

No charge

50%

OUTPATIENT SERVICES — SERVICES SUBJECT TO A COINSURANCE MAY BE EXTRA

« Nurse practitioners, physician assistants b b
Ni iti hysici i $25 $45 $30 $50 $35 $55 30% 50%
and nurse midwives (licensed healthcare
facility only) working under the
supervision of a primary care provider
- Including surgery in office setting and
initial maternity visit
Specialist Office Visit
« Including surgery in office setting
« Provider-based telehealth
- Nurse practitioners, physician $45 $70 $50 $75 $55 $80 30% 50%
assistants and nurse midwives (licensed
healthcare facility only) working under
the supervision of a specialist
i 7]
Behavioral Health and Substance Use $25 $45 $30 $50 $35 $55 30% 50%
« Including virtual visits
Telehealth Carrier Programs (MDLive/ $15 N/A $15 N/A $15 N/A 30% N/A
Teledoc)
Allergy Injection Without an Office Visit 5 o o
- Allergy serum has additional member 100% covered 100% covered up to 100% covered 100% covered up to 100% covered 100% covered up to 30% 50%
R4 MAC MAC MAC
cost
Chiropractic and Acupuncture Visits 1-20: $25 Visits 1-20: $45 Visits 1-20: $30 Visits 1-20: $50 Visits 1-20: $35 Visits 1-20: $55 30 500
+ Limit of 50 visits of each per year Visits 21-50: $45 Visits 21-50: $70 Visits 21-50: $50 Visits 21-50: $75 Visits 21-50: $55 Visits 21-50: $80 ° °
Convenience Clinic $25 $45 $30 $50 $35 $55 30% 50%
Urgent Care Facility $45 $70 $50 $75 $55 580 30% 50%

PHARMACY

medications from 90-day network
pharmacy or mail order) 3!

$160 non-preferred

$180 non-preferred

$200 non-preferred

to meet deductible

oeyseeRy (a0 prefanedrand; | 0Py usamount | oo SESTEE | copayplusamount | (2SR | copay plusamount 30% 50% plus amount
$90 non-preferred exceeding MAC $100 non-preferred exceeding MAC $110 non-preferred exceeding MAC exceeding MAC
90-Day Supply (90-day network $14 generic; $28 generic; $28 generic;
pharmacy or mail order) $80 preferred brand; N/A - no network  [$100 preferred brand;| N/A-no network |$120 preferred brand;| N/A - no network 30% N/A - no network
$180 non-preferred $200 non-preferred $220 non-preferred
Maintenance Medications (90- - - - O vuri
day supply of certain maintenance $7 generic; $14 generic; $14 generic; 20/owrchout first
$40 preferred brand; N/A - no network $50 preferred brand; N/A - no network $60 preferred brand; N/A - no network having N/A - no network

Specialty Medication Tier 1 (generics;
30-day supply from a specialty network
pharmacy)

20%;
min $100; max $200

Specialty Medication Tier 2 (all brands;
30-day supply from a specialty network
pharmacy)

30%;
min $200; max $400

N/A - no network

20%;
min $100; max $200

30%;
min $200; max $400

N/A - no network

20%;
min $100; max $200

30%;
min $200; max $400

N/A - no network

30%

N/A - no network

Download the chart at
https://www.tn.gov/content/

dam/tn/partnersforhealth/

documents/2024_comparison_
charts/benefit_grid_2024_le_Ig.pdf
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2024 Health Plan Comparison of Member Costs — Local Education

PPO services in this table ARE subject to a deductible unless noted with a [5]. Local CDHP/HSA services in this table ARE subject to a deductible and coinsurance with the exception of in-network
preventive care.

HEALTH PLAN OPTION PREMIER PPO STANDARD PPO LIMITED PPO LOCAL CDHP/HSA
COVERED SERVICES OUT-OF-NETWORK 1! OUT-OF-NETWORK 1! OUT-OF-NETWORK 1! OUT-OF-NETWORK !

PREVENTIVE CARE — OUTPATIENT FACILITIES

« Recommended screenings such as
colonoscopy, mammogram, colorectal, No charge 1*/ 40% No charge [*) 40% No charge [°) 50% No charge 50%
lung imaging and bone density scans

Hospital/Facility Services 4!

- Inpatient care 7}; outpatient surgery /)

« Inpatient behavioral health and
substance use 216!

- Emergency room services 7] 15% 20% 30% 30%

15% 40% 20% 40% 30% 50% 30% 50%

Maternity

« Global billing for labor and delivery and
routine services beyond the initial office
visit

Home Care ¥

- Home health; home infusion therapy

Rehabilitation and Therapy Services

- Inpatient and skilled nursing facility !

- Outpatient PT/ST/OT/ABA [*; Other
therapy

X-Ray, Lab and Diagnostics (not

including advanced X-rays, scans and 15% 20% 30% 30% 50%

imaging) 1°!

Advanced X-Ray, Scans and Imaging
« Including MRI, MRA, MRS, CT, CTA, PET 15% 40% 20% 40% 30% 50% 30% 50%
and nuclear cardiac imaging studies 4/

Pathology and Radiology Reading,
Interpretation and Results !
Ambulance (medically necessary, air and
ground)
Equipment and Supplies 4!
- Durable medical equipment and
external prosthetics 15% 40% 20% 40% 30% 50% 30% 50%
« Other supplies (i.e., ostomy, bandages,
dressings)
Allergy Serum 15% 40% 20% 40% 30% 50% 30% 50%
Also Covered Certain limited Dental benefits, Hospice Care and Out-of-Country Charges are also covered. See Member Handbook for coverage details.
DEDUCTIBLE — ONLY ELIGIBLE EXPENSES COUNT TOWARD THE DEDUCTIBLE
Employee Only $750 $1,500 $1,300 $2,600 $1,800 $3,600 $2,000 $4,000
Employee + Child(ren) $1,125 $2,250 $1,950 $3,900 $2,500 $4,800 $4,000 $8,000
Employee + Spouse $1,500 $3,000 $2,600 $5,200 $2,800 $5,500 $4,000 $8,000
Employee + Spouse + Child(ren) $1,875 $3,750 $3,250 $6,500 $3,600 $7,200 $4,000 $8,000
OUT-OF-POCKET MAXIMUM - MEDICAL AND PHARMACY COMBINED - ELIGIBLE EXPENSES, INCLUDING DEDUCTIBLE, COUNT

15% 40% 20% 40% 30% 50% 30% 50%

15% 40% 20% 40% 30% 50% 30% 50%

15% 40% 20% 40% 30% 50% 30% 50%

15% 20% 30% 30%

15% 20% 30% 30%

TOWARD THE OUT-OF-POCKET MAXIMUM

Employee Only $3,600 $7,200 $4,400 $8,800 $6,800 $13,600 $5,000 $10,000
Employee + Child(ren) $5,400 $10,800 $6,600 $13,200 $13,600 $27,200 $10,000 $20,000
Employee + Spouse $7,200 $14,400 $8,800 $17,600 $13,600 $27,200 $10,000 $20,000
Employee + Spouse + Child(ren) $9,000 $18,000 $11,000 $22,000 $13,600 $27,200 $10,000 $20,000

For PPO Plans, no single family member will be subject to a deductible or out-of-pocket maximum greater than the “employee only”amount. Once two or more family members (depending on premium level) have met the total deductible and/or out-of-pocket maximum, it will be met by all covered

family members. For Local CDHP Plan, the deductible and out-of-pocket maximum amount can be met by one or more persons, but must be met in full before it is considered satisfied for the family. No one family member may contribute more than $8,700 to the in-network family out-of-pocket

maximum total.

[1] Subject to maximum allowable charge. The MAC is the most a plan will pay for a covered service. For non-emergent care from an out-of-network provider who charges more than the MAC, you will pay the copay or coinsurance PLUS the difference between MAC and actual charge, unless otherwise
specified by state or federal law.

[2] The following behavioral health services are treated as “inpatient”for the purpose of determining member cost-sharing: residential treatment, partial hospitalization/day treatment programs and intensive outpatient therapy. In addition to services treated as “inpatient,’ prior authorization (PA) is
required for certain outpatient behavioral health services including, but not limited to, applied behavioral analysis, transcranial magnetic stimulation, electroconvulsive therapy, psychological testing, and other behavioral health services as determined by the Contractor’s clinical staff.

[3] CDHP list of eligible medications, PPO list of eligible medication classes, and a list of participating Retail-90 pharmacies can be found at https://www.tn.gov/partnersforhealth/health-options/pharmacy.html.

[4] Prior authorization required, for non-emergent services. When using out-of-network providers, benefits for non-emergent medically necessary services will be reduced by half if PA is required but not obtained, subject to the maximum allowable charge. If services are not medically necessary, no
benefits will be provided.

[5] For PPO plans, the deductible DOES NOT apply to IN-NETWORK outpatient PT/ST/OT/ABA and other PPO services as noted.

[6] Select Substance Use Treatment Facilities are preferred with an enhanced benefit - PPO members won't have to pay a deductible or coinsurance for facility-based substance use treatment; CDHP members must meet their deductible first, then coinsurance is waived. Copays for PPO and deductible/
coinsurance for CDHP will apply for standard outpatient treatment services. Call 855-Here4TN for assistance.

[7] In-network benefits apply to certain out-of-network professional services at certain in-network facilities.

Download the chart at
https://www.tn.gov/content/
dam/tn/partnersforhealth/
documents/2024_comparison_
charts/benefit_grid_2024_le_Ig.pdf
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PARTNERS
FOR HEALTH

Tennessee Department of Finance and Administration.
Authorization Number 317374, November 2023. This public
document was promulgated at a cost of $0.01 per copy.

https://www.tn.gov/partnersforhealth.html
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