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Tennessee Compilation of Selected Laws on Children,
Youth and Families

TITLE 8
PUBLIC OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES
CHAPTER 21
FEES CHARGED

Part 4. Clerks of Court

SECTION.
8-21-401. Schedule of fees.

PART 4
CLERKS OF COURT

8-21-401. Schedule of fees.

(a) Except as otherwise provided by law, the costs
provided in this section in civil cases are chargeable
and may be collected at the time the services are
requested from the clerk or other officer of the court;
however, nothing in this section should be construed to
limit the ability of a party to initiate a judicial proceed-
ing by filing a pauper’s oath. In cases where payment of
the clerk’s fees would create a substantial hardship for
a party, judges are encouraged to use the discretion
provided in Rule 29 of the Tennessee Rules of the
Supreme Court to find that the party is indigent, even
if that person does not meet the Legal Services Corpo-
ration’s poverty guidelines. If a party, other than a
party who initiated a proceeding under a pauper’s oath,
pays costs at the time the services are requested, such
payment shall be deemed to satisfy the requirement for
security to be given for costs, pursuant to § 20-12-120.
In proceedings covered by subdivision (b)(1)(A), and in
workers compensation complaints, the attorney filing
the action shall have the option to sign a cost bond, in
lieu of the party paying the clerk’s fees at the time
services are requested. The clerk shall not refuse to file
an action where the attorney has opted to sign a cost
bond. In any action where the clerk refuses to accept
such cost bond in lieu of the party paying the clerk’s
fees, all costs in that action shall be forfeited by the
clerk. These requirements for fees to be paid or security
provided when services are requested from the clerk do
not apply in criminal cases. The fees listed in this
section do not include officer’s fees as provided for in
§ 8-21-901 and elsewhere. These fees also do not in-
clude state and local litigation taxes.

(b) Fees in Civil Cases in Circuit and Chancery
Court.

(1)(A) Unless otherwise provided, court clerks in
civil cases in courts of record shall charge a stan-
dard court cost of two hundred twenty-five dollars

($225) at the institution of a case. The types of
cases covered by this fee would include, but not be
limited to, actions for enforcement of contracts or
breach of contract actions; injunctions; all torts,
personal injury and property damage cases, includ-
ing malpractice actions, health care liability ac-
tions, and wrongful death suits; employment dis-
crimination suits; civil rights suits; tax disputes;
special remedies; other property disputes; and any
other type of actions not otherwise designated in
this section or elsewhere by law.

(B) In divorce cases involving minor children,
the clerk shall charge a standard court cost of two
hundred dollars ($200) at the institution of a case.
In divorce cases that do not involve minor children,
the clerk shall charge a standard court cost of one
hundred twenty-five dollars ($125) at the institu-
tion of a case.

(C) In the following specific types of civil actions,
the clerk shall charge a standard court cost of one
hundred fifty dollars ($150) at the institution of a
case:

(i) Appeals to the circuit or chancery court
from juvenile court, general sessions court, pro-
bate courts, municipal courts or an administra-
tive hearing; writs of certiorari from lower
courts; or administrative hearings;

(i) Transfers of cases from foreign counties;

(iii) Requests for writ of mandamus;

(iv) Worker’s compensation actions;

(v) Condemnations and inverse condemna-
tions; and

(vi) Quo warranto proceedings.

(D) In the following specific types of civil ac-
tions, the clerk shall charge a standard court cost
of one hundred dollars ($100) at the institution of a
case:

(i) Adoptions;

(i) Legitimations;

(iii) Paternity cases;

(iv) Restoration of citizenship;

(v) Termination of parental rights;

(vi) Other domestic relations matters not oth-
erwise designated;

(vii) Name changes;

(viii) Minor settlements;

(ix) Enforcement of foreign judgments;

(x) Civil expungements where authorized by
law; and

(xi) Orders of protection.

(E) In the following specific actions, the clerk
shall charge a standard court cost of seventy-five
dollars ($75.00): child support enforcement and
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modification, including interstate support cases
and civil contempt actions, and requests for modi-
fication of a parenting plan.

(F) In delinquent property tax cases, the clerk

shall assess a filing fee of forty-two dollars ($42.00)
per parcel. For each parcel of property for which
the judge issues an order to sell, there shall be a fee
of one hundred dollars ($100) for clerk’s services
related to that action.
(2)(A) For the purposes of determining the fees of
the clerk of court, when any third party complaint
in a civil case is filed, the party filing the complaint
shall be charged the same fee as was charged at
the initiation of the original civil proceeding.

(B) The fee for cross-filings and counter com-
plaints in civil cases in courts of record shall be one
hundred dollars ($100).

(¢c) The clerks of the various courts administering
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for in probate court, seven dollars ($7.00); and

(10) For filing, reviewing, recording annual or in-
terim settlement or accounting and entering order
approving settlement only, forty dollars ($40.00).
(d) Fees in Criminal Cases in Courts of Record.

(1) Unless otherwise provided in this section,
court clerks in criminal cases in courts of record shall
charge a standard court cost of three hundred dollars
($300). This fee shall apply per case per defendant.

(2) The clerk shall charge a fee of one hundred
dollars ($100) for proceedings related to a violation of
probation or any post-judgment actions other than
expunctions.

(3) The clerk may charge a fee of up to one hun-
dred dollars ($100) for expunctions.

(4) The clerk shall charge a fee of seventy-five
dollars ($75.00) for criminal contempt actions, in-
cluding criminal contempt proceedings in civil

courts, for failure to appear, requests for bonding
company release from final forfeiture, requests to
reinstate a driver license, and requests for relief.

estates, guardianships, conservatorships, and other
probate matters are entitled to demand and shall
receive for their services the following fees:

(1) For opening and closing an estate, other than a
small estate, two hundred thirty dollars ($230);

(A) For filing and docketing claims, giving notice
and filing release on each claim for a decedent’s
estate, to be paid by claimant, eleven dollars
($11.00);

(B) For filing exceptions to claims against es-
tates, mailing notices and entering order, forty-two
dollars ($42.00);

(2) For filing small estate affidavits, forty-one dol-
lars ($41.00);

(3) For filing a request for letters of guardianship
and conservatorship; issuing all initial process and
cost bond; entering order and issuing certificate of
guardianship and conservatorship, not including fee
of the sheriff; and including final accounting and
order closing, regardless of court where filed, one
hundred sixty dollars ($160);

(4) For filing a new request for removal of disabili-
ties of minority, and incompetence, filing affidavits
and entering orders; for filing a new request to
legitimate a person, change a name or correct a birth
certificate and enter orders; for filing a new request
for habeas corpus, filing cost bond, issuing process
and enter orders, not including fee of the sheriff, one
hundred dollars ($100);

(5) For filing requests under the mental health
law, compiled in title 33, issuing notices, entering
return, and entering judgments after hearing, not
including fee of the sheriff, fifty dollars ($50.00);

(6) For filing and docketing any request on an
existing case, other than a request to close the case,
not otherwise provided for, eighteen dollars ($18.00);

(7) For entering any order on an existing case,
other than closing order, not otherwise provided for,
twelve dollars ($12.00);

(8) For issuing summons, subpoenas, citations,
writs and notices, including copies of process when
required by law, other than initial process, six dollars
($6.00);

(9) For filing any document not otherwise provided

(5) Reimbursement from the state shall be limited
to the fees as currently allowed by law.

(e) Fees for Proceedings in Juvenile Court.

(1) Unless otherwise provided in this section,
court clerks in juvenile proceedings shall charge a
standard court cost of one hundred dollars ($100).
This fee shall apply to all juvenile proceedings not
otherwise designated, including, but not limited to,
requests to establish support or nonsupport, proceed-
ings related to parentage, paternity cases, and
legitimations.

(2) For requests for modification of child support,
the clerk shall charge a fee of seventy-five dollars
($75.00).

(3) In the following actions, the clerk of the juve-
nile court shall charge a fee of forty-two dollars
($42.00): juvenile traffic cases, consent orders, diver-
sion and nonjudicial disposition of juvenile cases,
voluntary motions to grant custody, marriage waiv-
ers, attachment pro corpus, and bench warrants.

(4) In the following actions, the clerk of the juve-
nile court shall charge a fee of twenty-five dollars
($25.00): restricted licenses, drug screenings, enter-
ing order of appeal and taking appeal bond, entering
judgment from appellate court, entering order allow-
ing rehearing, and special pleas.

(5) In the following actions, the clerk of the juve-
nile court shall charge a fee of sixty-two dollars
($62.00): delinquency and unruly cases, and felony
and misdemeanor cases in juvenile court.

(f) Actions in General Sessions Court.

(1) General sessions civil filing fee, forty-two dol-
lars ($42.00). Unless otherwise provided elsewhere in
this section, court clerks in civil cases in general
sessions court shall charge a standard filing fee of
forty-two dollars ($42.00). This fee is intended to
cover all initial court clerk’s costs for initiating a civil
proceeding in general sessions court, including, but
not limited to, hearings regarding short term mental
health commitments, appeals of decisions denying
the issuance of handgun permits, and requests not
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otherwise provided for. This fee shall not apply to
orders of protection, which shall have the same fee,
when costs are adjudged, as in courts of record, of one
hundred dollars ($100).

(2) When a general sessions court is exercising
concurrent civil jurisdiction with a court of record,
the clerk shall charge the litigation taxes and court
costs applicable in courts of record.

(g) Criminal Actions in General Sessions Court.

(1) General session criminal base fee, sixty-two
dollars ($62.00). This fee shall be charged per convic-
tion per defendant. For cases involving traffic cita-
tions, instead of sixty-two dollars ($62.00), the base
court cost shall be forty-two dollars ($42.00).

(2) Failure to appear, forty dollars ($40.00). In
cases where the defendant fails to appear or pay fines
or costs and the court issues an attachment, bench
warrant, capias or other process to compel the defen-
dant’s attendance at the court, the defendant shall be
charged an additional fee for clerk’s costs of forty
dollars ($40.00).

(3) Calling in surety, forty dollars ($40.00). The
clerk shall charge the defendant this fee each time a
scire facias or other proceeding is instituted to bring
in a surety, or make action against a bond in criminal
cases for failure to appear.

(4) The clerk shall charge a fee of seventy-five
dollars ($75.00) for requests for bonding company
release from final forfeiture, or requests to reinstate
a driver license.

(5) The clerk may charge a fee of up to one hun-
dred dollars ($100) for expunctions.

(h) Clerk’s Commissions.

(1) Except as provided in subdivisions (h)(2) and
(3), for receiving and paying over all taxes, fines,
forfeitures, fees and amercements, the clerk of the
court is entitled to a five percent (5%) commission.

(2) In counties having a population of more than
seven hundred thousand (700,000), according to the
1990 federal census or any subsequent federal cen-
sus, the commission for receiving and paying over all
taxes, fines, forfeitures, fees and amercements, shall
be ten percent (10%), except as provided in subdivi-
sion (h)(3).

(3) For receiving and paying over all privilege
taxes on litigation, the clerk of the court is entitled to
a six and seventy-five hundredths percent (6.75%)
commission. The total amount of commissions receiv-
able by the clerk of the court during any fiscal year
shall not be less than the amount received by such
clerk during the fiscal year ending June 30, 2005;
provided, that if the statewide amount of litigation
tax collected during such fiscal year is less than the
amount collected during the fiscal year ending June
30, 2005, then the total amount of commissions
receivable by the clerk of the court for that fiscal year
shall be reduced by a percentage equal to the per-
centage reduction in statewide litigation tax collec-
tions for that fiscal year.

(i) Other Fees of Court Clerks. The following fees
apply uniformly in all courts, general sessions, juve-
nile, probate, circuit or chancery, and may be charged
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in addition to the fees for cases listed in this section:

(1) Standard Post-judgment Fee. Unless oth-
erwise provided, court clerks in criminal and civil
cases in all courts shall charge a standard post-
judgment fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00). This fee
shall be charged per occurrence and shall be charged
regardless of whether judgment is enforced by gar-
nishment, execution, levy or other process. This fee
shall also apply to post-judgment interrogatories,
publications, motions to set installment payments,
and orders and pleas.

(2) For issuing a subpoena or subpoena duces
tecum, the fee shall be six dollars ($6.00).

(3)(A) In all cases in all courts, the clerk shall

charge a fee of five dollars ($5.00) for each re-

quested continuance.

(B) In addition to the fee provided for in subdi-
vision (1)(3)(A), the clerk shall also collect a court-
room security enhancement fee of two dollars
($2.00). The revenues from the two-dollar court-
room security enhancement fee shall be deposited
into the county general fund. All revenue from this
fee shall be used exclusively for the purposes of
providing security and enhancing the security of
court facilities in the county. For each fiscal year,
the court security committee, created by § 16-2-
505(d)(2), shall develop and submit recommenda-
tions to the county legislative body regarding how
such funds shall be utilized.

(C) The fees for continuances shall be collected
at the conclusion of the case. If multiple litigants
request a continuance, the judge may assess these
fees to one (1) or more parties.

(4) For making copies as requested, other than for
an original filing and other than when preparing a
record upon appeal, the fee shall be fifty cents (50¢)
per page.

(5) For making certification and seal, providing a
copy of an abstract, or providing driver license certi-
fication, the fee shall be five dollars ($5.00).

(6) For receiving funds paid into court on confir-
mation of private sales or other funds paid into the
clerk pursuant to court order, and collecting and
paying out the proceeds, the fee shall be forty dollars
($40.00). This fee also applies where there is a
pre-judgment judicial attachment or similar process
to bring property into the court’s possession prior to
judgment. This fee shall not apply to payments of
proceeds made pursuant to court order to any person
from funds held by the clerk, except for court orders
concerning a redemption of delinquent taxes prop-
erty sale; in such case, the fee shall only be charged
one (1) time against the total amount of proceeds
generated from the property.

(7) For selling real or personal property under
decree of court, and receiving, collecting, and paying
out the proceeds, a commission not to exceed three
percent (3%) on the amount of sales. The clerk shall
collect the sheriff’s fee, plus the sheriff’s fee for each
additional defendant, in a proceeding to sell real
estate.

(8) The clerks of the various courts have the au-
thority to invest idle funds held under their control,
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not otherwise invested. Such investments shall be in
banks or savings and loan associations operating
under the laws of the state or under the laws of the
United States; provided, that such deposits are in-
sured under the federal deposit insurance corpora-
tion. Such investments shall not exceed the amounts
that are federally insured, unless otherwise fully
collateralized under a written collateral agreement,
or unless the funds are deposited with an institution
that is a member of the state collateral pool. The
interest on such investments shall become part of the
fees of the court clerk and the clerk shall be required
to account for interest received, the same as with
other fees received. Any funds authorized to be in-
vested may be invested by the clerk in the local
government investment pool administered by the
state treasurer.

(9) Nothing in this section shall be construed to
relieve the clerks of courts from the responsibility of
investing funds held under their control, pursuant to
court order or under the rules of court. The interest
on those investments shall accrue to the benefit of
those directed by the court or by agreement of the
parties to the litigation.

(10) For investing funds, the clerk shall receive a
fee of five percent (5%) of the earnings of such
investment.

(11) For preparing a record on appeal from a court
of record to an appellate court, the fee shall be three
hundred dollars ($300).

(12) Whenever the clerk is required by law or by a
judge to send documents by certified or registered
mail, the clerk is entitled to recover the clerk’s actual
costs for mailing the documents.

(j) Earmarked Funds for Computerization.

(1) Out of all the general filing fees charged by
court clerks, two dollars ($2.00) of the amount col-
lected shall be earmarked for computer hardware
purchases or replacement, but may be used for other
usual and necessary computer related expenses at
the discretion of the clerk. Such amount shall be
preserved for these purposes and shall not revert to
the general fund at the end of a budget year if
unexpended.

(2) Effective July 1, 2012, all the general filing fees
charged by court clerks shall be increased by two
dollars ($2.00). The amount collected pursuant to
this two-dollar increase shall be earmarked, along
with the two dollars ($2.00) in subdivision (j)(1), for
the purposes set forth in subdivision (j)(1), and shall
be preserved for those purposes and shall not revert
to the general fund at the end of a budget year if
unexpended. Pursuant to subsection (), the fees
increased by this subdivision (j)(2) shall not be as-
sessed against the state or otherwise represent a cost
to the state in criminal cases, child support actions,
mental health proceedings, actions under the Ten-
nessee Adult Protection Act, compiled in title 71,
chapter 6, part 1, actions with regard to child care
licensing, and collection efforts brought by the de-
partment of human services.

(k) Costs in Extraordinary Cases. In any extraor-
dinary cases, the clerk may petition the judge to award
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reasonable costs, in excess of the amounts provided in
this section, to reimburse the clerk for the additional
services demanded by the case. In such cases, the clerk
may also petition the judge to require an appropriate
cost bond. For the purposes of this subsection (k), an
extraordinary case is defined as one in which there are
ten (10) or more plaintiffs or ten (10) or more defen-
dants.

(/) Charges to the State Unchanged.

Notwithstanding any provision of this section to the
contrary, any fees increased by this section that are
assessed against the state or that otherwise represent
a cost to the state in criminal cases, child support
actions, mental health proceedings, actions under the
Tennessee Adult Protection Act. compiled in title 71,
chapter 6, part 1, actions with regard to child care
licensing, and collection efforts brought by the depart-
ment of human services, shall be limited to the
amounts chargeable prior to January 1, 2006.

(m) Indigent Parties. No clerk shall be permitted
to collect any fee authorized by this section without
permitting any person the opportunity to institute a
cause of action by means of a pauper’s oath, in accor-
dance with Rule 29 of the Rules of the Tennessee
Supreme Court.

(n) [Deleted by 2021 amendment.]

(o) Fees for Electronic Filing and Retrieval of
Court Documents.

(1) In any court where electronic filing, signing, or
verification of papers has been authorized by local
court rule and is in compliance with technological
standards established by the supreme court, clerks
may assess a transaction fee for each filing submitted
by a party to the case. The transaction fee shall be
limited to a maximum of five dollars ($5.00) per filing
up to a maximum of fifty dollars ($50.00) per case. As
an alternative to a transaction fee, clerks may assess
an annual subscription fee for each registered user of
the electronic filing system. The subscription fee
shall permit the registered user unlimited electronic
filing for a one-year period. The one-year period shall
be defined by the clerk and shall be consistently
maintained for all registered users of the electronic
filing system. The annual subscription fee shall not
exceed three hundred dollars ($300) for each annual
period. Each of these fees shall be set in an amount
necessary to defray the expenses associated with
implementation and maintenance of the electronic
filing and document retrieval system and shall be
included in the local court rule authorizing it. Pur-
suant to subsection (I), these fees shall not be as-
sessed against the state.

(2) Pursuant to subsection (m), neither the trans-
action fee nor the subscription fee shall be assessed
to a party declared indigent or to that indigent
party’s legal representative.

(3) In any court where electronic filing, signing, or
verification of papers has been authorized by local
court rule, the state and any department or contrac-
tor of the state shall not be required to file documents
electronically, notwithstanding any local court rule.

(4) Neither the electronic filing transaction fee or
subscription fee shall limit a clerk’s statutory author-



5 STATE FUNDS, STATE BUDGET AND APPROPRIATIONS

ity to charge subscription fees or transaction fees for
obtaining copies of documents maintained by the
clerk as part of an electronic filing system of a
separate document management system.

History.

Code 1858, §§ 2306, 2844, 4551 (deriv. Acts 1837-1838, ch. 125, § 8);
Acts 1897, ch. 6, § 5; 1897, ch. 9, § 2; 1897, ch. 96, § 1; 1899, ch. 96,
§§ 67, 68; 1903, ch. 377, § 12; 1917, ch. 63, § 48; Shan., § 6388; Acts
1919, ch. 137, § 1; mod. Code 1932, § 10692; Acts 1951, ch. 157, § 1;
1957, ch. 59, § 1; 1961, ch. 131, § 1; 1961, ch. 202, § 1; 1965, ch. 355,
§ 1; 1972, ch. 813, §§ 1, 2; modified; 1974, ch. 556, § 1;impl. am. Acts
1976, ch. 529, § 23; Acts 1976, ch. 651, § 1;1977, ch. 240, § 1;1977, ch.
291, § 1; impl. am. Acts 1978, ch. 934, §§ 22, 36; T.C.A. (orig. ed.),
§ 8-2115; Acts 1980, ch. 612, § 1;1981, ch. 427,§ 1; 1981, ch. 488, § 6;
1984, ch. 665, § 1; 1985, ch. 143, § 2; 1985, ch. 304, § 1; 1985, ch. 305,
§§ 1, 2; 1986, ch. 701, § 1; 1986, ch. 755, §§ 1, 2; 1987, ch. 135, § 2;
1987, ch. 282, § 8; 1987, ch. 327, § 1; 1987, ch. 414, §§ 1-5; 1991, ch.
415, 8§ 1,2, 6; 1992, ch. 924, § 1; 1995, ch. 456, §§ 1-4; 1996, ch. 675,
§ 12; 1997, ch. 384, §§ 1, 2; 1999, ch. 530, §§ 1-8; 2005, ch. 429, § 17;
2008, ch. 1047, § 1;2011, ch. 234, § 1;2012, ch. 623, § 1; 2012, ch. 798,
§ 2;2012, ch. 886, §§ 1, 2;2012, ch.998,§ 1;2012, ch. 1039, § 1;2013,
ch. 412, § 1; 2014, ch. 912, § 1; 2016, ch. 731, § 1; 2016, ch. 970, § 1;
2020, ch. 647, § 1;2021, ch. 475, § 1; 2021, 539, §§ 1, 2; 2022, ch. 665,
§§ 4, 5.

Compiler’s Notes.

Acts 1997, ch. 384, § 3 provided that subsection (¢) (now subsection
(b)) shall have no effect unless it is approved by a two-thirds (%5) of the
county commission of Shelby County. Its approval or nonapproval shall
be proclaimed by the presiding officer of the county commission and
certified to the secretary of state.

Acts 2012, ch. 1039, § 3 provided that the two-dollar increases
implemented by the act, which added subdivision (j)(2), shall terminate
on July 1, 2016, unless continued by the general assembly. If the
two-dollar increases are not continued by the general assembly, §§ 8-
21-401(j) and 8-21-409(d), that existed immediately prior to the enact-
ment of the act shall be revived and shall be in effect as they existed
immediately prior to July 1, 2012.

Acts 2016, ch. 731, § 1 amended Chapter 1039 of the Public Acts of
2012 to repeal the sunset of the amendments to this section by that act,
thereby continuing the two-dollar increases without a termination
date.

For table of U.S. decennial populations of Tennessee counties, see
Volume 13 and its supplement.

TITLE 9
PUBLIC FINANCES
CHAPTER 4

STATE FUNDS, STATE BUDGET AND
APPROPRIATIONS

Part 2. Accounts or Appropriations for Designated Purposes

SECTION.
9-4-213. State appropriations to child advocacy centers.

PART 2

ACCOUNTS OR APPROPRIATIONS FOR
DESIGNATED PURPOSES

9-4-213. State appropriations to child advocacy
centers.

(a) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (b), on
and after July 1, 1998, no state funds appropriated
specifically for child advocacy centers shall be allocated
or paid to any such center unless the center clearly
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demonstrates that it:

(1) Is a nonprofit corporation which has received a
determination of exemption from the internal rev-
enue service under 26 U.S.C. § 501(c)(3);

(2) Employs an executive director who is answer-
able to the board of directors and who is not the
salaried employee of any governmental entity sign-
ing the memorandum of understanding and working
protocol identified in subdivision (a)(3);

(3) Has a signed memorandum of understanding
and working protocol executed among:

(A) The department of children’s services;

(B) All county and municipal law enforcement
agencies within the geographical area served by
the center;

(C) All district attorneys general offices within
the geographical area served by the center; and

(D) Any other governmental entity which par-
ticipates in child abuse investigations or offers
services to child abuse victims within the geo-
graphical area served by the center;

(4) Facilitates the use of a multidisciplinary team
(representing prosecution, law enforcement, mental
health, medical, child protective and social services
professionals and the juvenile court) which jointly:

(A) Assess victims of child abuse and their fami-
lies; and

(B) Determine the need for services;

(5) Provides a facility that is child-focused, neu-
tral, comfortable, private, and safe, where the multi-
disciplinary team can meet to coordinate the efficient
and appropriate disposition of child abuse cases
through the civil and criminal justice systems;

(6) Provides for the provision of needed services,
referral to such services, and case tracking;

(7) Has written policies and procedures consistent
with the standards established by the National Chil-
dren’s Alliance; and

(8) Agrees to accurately collect and report key
outcome data and information relative to each cen-
ter’s operations to the Tennessee chapter of children’s
advocacy centers, which is the statewide membership
organization. The Tennessee chapter of children’s
advocacy centers shall compile and report such data
annually to the chairs of the judiciary committee of
the senate, civil justice committee of the house of
representatives, health and welfare committee of the
senate, and health committee of the house of repre-
sentatives. The data and information collected pur-
suant to this subdivision (a)(8) shall include, at a
minimum, the following:

(A) Number and demographic profiles of cases
served by age, gender, race, type of abuse, and
treatment thereof, including mental health and
medical services rendered;

(B) Demographic profiles of perpetrators of
abuse by age, gender, race, relationship to victim,
and the outcome of any legal action taken against
such perpetrators;

(C) Nature of services and support provided by
or through the center; and

(D) Data and information relative to community
investment in and community support of the cen-
ter.
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(b)(1) On and after July 1, 1998, no state funds
appropriated specifically for one-time, start-up assis-
tance for new child advocacy centers shall be allo-
cated or paid to any such center unless the center
clearly demonstrates that it:
(A) Has a signed memorandum of understand-
ing and working protocol executed among:
(i) The department of children’s services;
(i1) All county and municipal law enforcement
agencies within the area served by the center;
(iii) All district attorneys general offices
within the area served by the center; and
(iv) Any other governmental entity which par-
ticipates in child abuse investigations or offers
services to child abuse victims within the area
served by the center; and
(B) Has formally filed an application for a deter-
mination of exemption from the internal revenue

service under 26 U.S.C. § 501(c)(3).

(2) After receiving any such start-up assistance,
no additional state funds appropriated specifically
for child advocacy centers shall be allocated or paid to
such center unless the center clearly demonstrates
that it complies with the enumerated requirements
set forth in subsection (a).

(¢) In those geographical areas in which a child
advocacy center meets the requirements of subsection
(a) or (b), child advocacy center directors or their
designees shall be members of the child protective
multi-disciplinary teams under title 37, chapter 1,
parts 4 and 6, for purposes of provision of services and
functions established by this section or delegated pur-
suant to this section. In such event, child advocacy
center directors or their designees may access and
generate all necessary information, which shall retain
its confidential status, consistent with § 37-1-612.

(d) Notwithstanding any other provision of this sec-
tion to the contrary, the department of children’s ser-
vices, or any other department administering state
funds specially appropriated for child advocacy centers,
shall continue to allocate and/or pay such funds to
existing child advocacy centers with active applications
on file with the department, if such centers demon-
strate satisfactory progress in efforts to achieve com-
pliance with this section.

History.
Acts 1998, ch. 988, § 1; T.C.A. § 9-6-123; Acts 1999, ch. 453, § 3;

2011, ch. 410, § 3(a); 2013, ch. 236, § 21; 2018, ch. 678, §§ 1-3; 2019,
ch. 345, § 17; 2021, ch. 64, § 10.

TITLE 16
COURTS
CHAPTER 1
GENERAL PROVISIONS

SECTION.
16-1-114. Immunity for judges sitting specially or by interchange.

COURTS 6

16-1-114. Immunity for judges sitting specially or
by interchange.

Any judge or lawyer sitting specially under § 16-15-
209 or § 17-2-208 or by interchange shall have the
same immunity as the judge for whom the judge or
lawyer is sitting, and the state or county that would
provide the defense for the judge for whom the lawyer
or judge is sitting shall be required to provide the
defense for the substitute judge.

History.
Acts 1997, ch. 473, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former title 16, ch. 1, part 1, §§ 16-1-101 — 16-1-120 concerning
general provisions — in general was renumbered to title 16, ch. 1 in
2021.

CHAPTER 15
COURTS OF GENERAL SESSIONS

Part 2. Judge

SECTION.
16-15-209. Failure of judge to attend — Selection of special judge.

Part 50. Compensation and Qualifications of Judges —
Jurisdiction

16-15-5014. Domestic violence court for Shelby County.

PART 2
JUDGE

16-15-209. Failure of judge to attend — Selection
of special judge.

(a)(1) If the judge of a court of general sessions or
juvenile court finds it necessary to be absent from
holding court, the judge may seek a special judge in
accordance with the requirements of and in the
numerical sequence designated by this section.

(2) If a special judge is necessary, the judge shall
attempt to identify another judge who may serve by
interchange, pursuant to § 17-2-208. If another
judge cannot serve by interchange, a judge may seek
to find any former or retired judge, who will, by
mutual agreement, sit as special judge. The special
judge shall serve by designation of the chief justice of
the supreme court.

(3) If the judge is unable to secure a judge under
subdivision (a)(2), the judge may apply to the admin-
istrative office of the courts for assistance in finding a
judge to sit by designation of the chief justice as a
special judge.

(4) Only after exhausting the procedures set out in
subdivisions (a)(2) and (3), a judge may appoint a
lawyer from a list, on a rotating basis, of lawyers that
have been previously approved by the judge or judges
of the district or county who are constitutionally
qualified, in good standing, and possess sufficient
experience and expertise. A lawyer appointed is sub-
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ject to the following limitations, which shall be made

known to persons attending any court proceeding

presided over by a lawyer, as evidenced by an entry
in the minutes or other permanent record of the
court:

(A) The lawyer may preside only if the parties
and counsel are notified that the duly elected or
appointed judge will be absent and that a practic-
ing lawyer will serve as a special judge;

(B) The parties choose to proceed and not to
continue the case pending return of the duly
elected or appointed judge;

(C) The lawyer shall not approve the payment of
attorney’s fees involving an indigent defense claim
or any discretionary fees. A special judge shall
approve fees only when the exact amount is set by
statute; and

(D) At the opening of any court session presided
over by a lawyer appointed pursuant to this sec-
tion, an announcement shall be made to persons in
attendance conveying the information contained in
subdivisions (a)(4)(A) and (B). The making of such
an announcement constitutes compliance with the
notice requirements of this section.

(b) A general sessions or juvenile judge assigned to a
court outside the judge’s county of residence shall
receive reimbursement for travel expenses from the
county to which the judge is assigned. Reimbursement
shall be in an amount in accordance with the compre-
hensive travel regulations promulgated by the supreme
court.

(¢) The county legislative body, by resolution adopted
by a two-thirds (24) vote, may authorize the payment of
compensation to a special judge selected pursuant to
subdivision (a)(3). The amount of compensation shall
not exceed the rate of compensation for other judges of
the general sessions court or juvenile court for the
county.

(d) Notwithstanding subdivisions (a)(2) and (3), a
general sessions or juvenile judge who encounters a
sudden and unexpected emergency which causes the
judge to be absent from court may forego the require-
ments of those subdivisions and appoint a lawyer in
accordance with subdivision (a)(4). The circumstances
requiring the appointment of a lawyer pursuant to this
subsection (d) shall be entered upon the minutes or
other permanent record of the court in addition to the
information required in subdivision (a)(4).

(e)(1) Upon approval of this subsection (e) and sub-

sections (f)-(h) by resolution adopted by a two-thirds

(%5) vote of the county legislative body of any county

having a population in excess of eight hundred thou-

sand (800,000), according to the 1990 federal census
or any subsequent federal census, and notwithstand-
ing any other provision of this subsection (e) and
subsections (f)-(h) to the contrary, if a judge of a court
of general sessions or juvenile court in the county
finds it necessary to be absent from holding court,
another judge may sit by interchange for the absent
judge upon entering an order finding it in the best
interest of judicial efficiency. The order shall identify
the absent judge and the interchanging judge, and
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shall be kept on file in the office of the clerk of the
court. Upon a finding that interchange is not in the
best interest of judicial efficiency, the judge so finding
may appoint an attorney as a special judge. The
appointments shall be on a rotating basis, from a list
of attorneys previously approved by all of the duly
elected or appointed general sessions or juvenile
court judges, as being constitutionally qualified, in
good standing, and possessing sufficient experience
and skill. The appointment of a special judge shall be
by written order, identifying the absent judge and the
special judge, and shall be kept on file in the office of
the clerk of the court.

(2) During the month of September each year, the
clerk of the court shall prepare, for each division of
court governed by subdivision (e)(1), an annual re-
port for the preceding twelve (12) months, setting out
the total number of sessions of court presided over by
a special judge, or by a judge sitting by interchange.
The clerk shall also report the total number of
sessions of court that are scheduled in each division
of court for that period. The orders and reports
required by this subdivision (e)(2) shall be filed, and
kept open for public inspection, by the clerk of the
court. The clerk of the court shall promptly file a copy
of the annual report with the administrative office of
the courts, created by § 16-3-801.

(f) All special judges appointed under subsection (e)
shall be subject to the following limitations:

(1) All parties and counsel appearing before the
special judge shall be notified that the duly elected or
appointed judge is absent, and that a practicing
attorney is serving as special judge;

(2) If there is no duly elected or appointed judge
available to preside over the trial of a contested case,
either side shall be entitled to continue the case
pending the return of a duly elected or appointed
judge;

(8) A special judge shall not preside over a con-
tested cause without a consent form signed by all
litigants who are present at the beginning of the
proceeding. The consent form shall be kept on file
with the clerk of the court as part of the legal record
of that cause; and

(4) A special judge shall not approve the payment
of attorney fees, involving an indigent defense claim
or any discretionary fees; provided, that a special
judge may enter a judgment for attorney fees when:

(A) The exact amount is set by statute; or

(B) The party to be charged has executed a
written agreement calling for the payment of at-
torney fees, and the fees shall be the amount
specified in the agreement, but in no case more
than one-third (¥3) of the principal amount of the
debt upon which the suit is brought.

(g)(1) Subsections (e) and (f) shall not apply where a
judge finds it necessary to be absent from holding
court and appoints as a special judge:

(A) A duly elected or appointed judge of any
other juvenile or general sessions court, a trial
court judge; or

(B) A full-time officer of the judicial system
under the judge’s supervision whose duty it is to
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perform judicial functions, such as a juvenile mag-
istrate, a child support magistrate or clerk and
master, who is a licensed attorney in good standing
with the Tennessee supreme court. The judicial
officer shall only serve as special judge in matters
related to that officer’s duties as a judicial officer.

(2) Notwithstanding subsections (e) and (), a gen-

eral sessions or juvenile court judge shall have the
authority to appoint a special judge as provided in
subdivision (g)(1).
(h)(1) Notwithstanding any other law to the con-
trary, in any county having a population of more than
eight hundred thousand (800,000), according to the
1990 federal census or any subsequent federal cen-
sus, the county governing body of that county may
appoint a special substitute judge or judges to serve
as a judge in the court of general sessions or juvenile
court in the county in the absence of any one (1) of
such elected judge or judges.

(2) A special substitute judge appointed shall be
an attorney licensed to practice law by this state and
in good standing with the board of professional
responsibility.

(3) The compensation for a special substitute
judge pursuant to subsections (e)-(f) and this subsec-
tion (h) shall be fixed by the county governing body
and shall be paid from any fund appropriated for
such purpose by the county governing body.

(i) A general sessions or juvenile judge selected to
serve by interchange pursuant to subdivision (a)(1) in a
court outside the judge’s county of residence shall
receive reimbursement for travel expenses from the
county to which the judge travels to serve. Reimburse-
ment shall be assessed in accordance with the standard
mileage rate, maximum parking fee, maximum lodging
credit, maximum meals, and incidentals credit set forth
in the last published comprehensive travel regulations
promulgated by the department of finance and admin-
istration and approved by the attorney general and
reporter. Travel expenses relative to mileage, parking,
meals, and incidentals shall not exceed one hundred
dollars ($100) per day. A general sessions or juvenile
judge entitled to reimbursement pursuant to this sub-
section (i) must submit all travel expense claims to the
appropriate county official responsible for processing
travel reimbursement.

History.
Acts 1959, ch. 109, § 14; 1968, ch. 533, § 1; T.C.A., § 16-1114; Acts

1994, ch. 751, § 1; 1997, ch. 473, § 3; 1998, ch. 943, § 1; 2009, ch. 235,
§ 1; 2010, ch. 757, §§ 1, 2; 2021, ch. 266, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

For table of U.S. decennial populations of Tennessee counties, see
Volume 13 and its supplement.

Acts 2009, ch. 235, § 1 directed the code commission to change all
references from “child support referee” to “child support magistrate”
and all references from “juvenile referee” to “juvenile magistrate” and
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to include all such changes in supplements and replacement volumes
for the Tennessee Code Annotated.

PART 50

COMPENSATION AND QUALIFICATIONS OF
JUDGES — JURISDICTION

16-15-5014. Domestic violence court for Shelby
County.

(a) In order to maximize and concentrate limited
prosecutorial, counseling and other social resources to
victims of domestic violence, the tenth division of the
Shelby County general sessions court shall serve as the
domestic violence court for Shelby County.

(b) Provided that the caseload of the domestic vio-
lence court does not exceed the capacity of the tenth
division to hear all such cases, the tenth division of the
Shelby County general sessions court shall have exclu-
sive jurisdiction over matters involving domestic vio-
lence, orders of protection, domestic assault and all
other cases incident to domestic abuse as defined in
§ 36-3-601; provided, however, that the tenth division
may retain concurrent jurisdiction over other types of
cases. The determination whether the tenth division of
the Shelby County general sessions court has exceeded
its capacity to hear all domestic violence cases shall be
made by the presiding judge of the tenth division in
consultation with the chief judge of the Shelby County
general sessions court.

(¢) If it has been determined pursuant to subsection
(b) that the caseload of the domestic violence court
exceeds the capacity of the tenth division of the Shelby
County general sessions court to hear all such cases,
then the excess cases shall be distributed among the
remaining divisions of the Shelby County general ses-
sions court to be heard.

(d) The general sessions court shall commence as the
domestic violence court for Shelby County no later than
September 1, 2009.

History.
Acts 2009, ch. 391, § 1.

TITLE 17
JUDGES AND CHANCELLORS
CHAPTER 2
SPECIAL JUDGES AND INTERCHANGE

Part 1. Special Judges

SECTION.
17-2-108. [Reserved.]

17-2-109. Special judge by judicial appointments.

17-2-122. Failure of judge to attend — Selection of special judge.
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SECTION.
Part 2. Interchange

17-2-208. Interchange of general sessions and juvenile court judges.

PART 1
SPECIAL JUDGES

17-2-108. [Reserved.]

17-2-109. Special judge by judicial appointments.

(a)(1) Whenever litigation in any chancery, circuit,
criminal, general sessions, juvenile, probate or appel-
late court of this state becomes congested or delay in
the disposition of litigation becomes imminent for
any reason, the chief justice of the supreme court
shall assign a retired or regular chancellor or judge
to assist in the removal of the congestion or delay;
provided, that the assignment shall not materially
interfere with the performance of the assigned chan-
cellor’s or judge’s official duties. In such situation
both chancellors or judges may hear, try and dispose
of litigation in such court at the same time, both
signing their respective minutes.

(2) Whenever litigation in any chancery or circuit
court of this state becomes congested, or whenever
litigation in any chancery or circuit court has re-
quired the recusal of a chancellor or judge, or when-
ever delay in the disposition of litigation becomes
imminent for any reason, the chief justice of the
supreme court may assign a former chancellor or
judge to assist in the removal of the congestion or
delay.

(b) Notwithstanding subsection (a), any chancellor
or judge has the discretion to request another chancel-
lor or judge to assist in the removal of congestion or
delay if the original chancellor or judge becomes aware
of the need for assistance before the supreme court
makes the assignment; and, in such situation, both the
requesting chancellor or judge and the requested chan-
cellor and judge may hear, try and dispose of litigation
in such court at the same time, both signing their
respective minutes.

(¢) Nothing in this section shall be construed to
interfere with the appointment of special chancellors or
judges as provided elsewhere by statute.

History.
Acts 1949, ch. 278; § 1; C. Supp. 1950, § 9945.7 (Williams,

§ 9923.1); Acts 1963, ch. 87,§ 1; T.C.A. (orig. ed.), § 17-215; Acts 1987,
ch. 65, § 1; 1995, ch. 236, § 1; 1997, ch. 473, § 5; 1999, ch. 23, § 1.

17-2-122. Failure of judge to attend — Selection
of special judge.

(a) Notwithstanding § 16-15-209 or § 17-2-109 or
any other relevant provision to the contrary, a judge
shall have the authority to appoint a special judge as
provided in this section.

(b) Sections 16-15-209 and 17-2-109 and any other
relevant provision shall not apply where a judge finds it
necessary to be absent from holding court and appoints
as a substitute judge an officer of the judicial system

24-7-101

under the judge’s supervision whose duty it is to
perform judicial functions, such as a juvenile magis-
trate, a child support magistrate or clerk and master,
who is a licensed attorney in good standing with the
Tennessee supreme court. The judicial officer shall only
serve as special judge in matters related to their duties
as judicial officer.

History.
Acts 1997, ch. 473, § 6; 2009, ch. 235, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

Acts 2009, ch. 235, § 1 directed the code commission to change all
references from “child support referee” to “child support magistrate”
and all references from “juvenile referee” to “juvenile magistrate” and
to include all such changes in supplements and replacement volumes
for the Tennessee Code Annotated.

PART 2
INTERCHANGE

17-2-208. Interchange of general sessions and ju-
venile court judges.

Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary,
judges of courts of general sessions and juvenile courts
may interchange with each other whenever causes
exist making an interchange necessary or for mutual
convenience. The interchanging judge shall not be
required to be a resident of the county of the judge for
whom such judge is sitting, but must otherwise possess
the same qualifications as such judge.

History.
Acts 1973, ch. 41, § 1; T.C.A., § 17-229; Acts 1997, ch. 473, § 2.

TITLE 24
EVIDENCE AND WITNESSES
CHAPTER 7
ADMISSIBILITY OF EVIDENCE

SECTION.
24-7-101.
24-7-112.

Child’s out-of-court, non-testimonial statement.

Tests to determine parentage — Admissibility in evidence —
Costs.

Voluntary acknowledgment of paternity.

Audiovisually recorded testimony in child sexual abuse pro-
ceedings.

Child’s testimony—Closed circuit television.

Child support payment records.

Admission of video recording of interview of child describing
sexual conduct.

Admissibility of evidence of other crimes, wrongs, or acts —
Conditions for admission.

24-7-113.
24-7-117.

24-7-120.
24-7-121.
24-7-123.

24-7-125.

24-7-101. Child’s out-of-court,
statement.

non-testimonial

(a) An out-of-court, non-testimonial statement made
by a child who is under twelve (12) years of age at the
time of a criminal trial describing any sexual act
performed by, with, or on the child or describing any act
of physical violence directed against the child shall not
be excluded from evidence at the criminal trial as
hearsay if all of the following apply:
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(1) The court finds that the totality of the circum-
stances surrounding the making of the statement
provides particularized guarantees of trustworthi-
ness that make the statement at least as reliable as
statements admitted pursuant to Rules 803 and 804
of the Tennessee Rules of Evidence. The circum-
stances shall establish that the child was particu-
larly likely to be telling the truth when the statement
was made and that the test of cross-examination
would add little to the reliability of the statement. In
making a determination of the reliability of the
statement, the court shall consider all of the circum-
stances surrounding the making of the statement,
including, but not limited to, the spontaneity, inter-
nal consistency of the statement, mental state of the
child, child’s motive or lack of motive to fabricate,
child’s use of terminology unexpected of a child of
similar age, means by which the statement was
elicited, and lapse of time between the act and the
statement. In making this determination, the court
shall not consider whether independent proof exists
of the sexual act or act of physical violence;

(2) The child’s testimony is not reasonably obtain-
able by the proponent of the statement;

(3) Independent proof exists of the sexual act or
act of physical violence; and

(4) At least ten (10) days before the trial or hear-
ing, a proponent of the statement has notified all
other parties in writing of the content of the state-
ment, the time and place at which the statement was
made, the identity of the witness who is to testify
about the statement, and the circumstances sur-
rounding the statement that are claimed to indicate
trustworthiness of the statement.

(b) The child’s testimony is not reasonably obtain-
able by the proponent of the statement under subdivi-
sion (a)(2) only if:

(1) The child refuses to testify concerning the
subject matter of the statement or claims a lack of
memory of the subject matter of the statement after
a person trusted by the child, in the presence of the
court, urges the child to both describe the acts
described by the statement and to testify;

(2) The court finds that:

(A) The child is absent from the trial or hearing;

(B) The proponent of the statement has been
unable to procure the child’s attendance or testi-
mony by process or other reasonable means despite
a good faith effort to do so; and

(C) It is probable that the proponent would be
unable to procure the child’s testimony or atten-
dance if the trial or hearing were delayed for a
reasonable time; or
(3) The court finds that:

(A) The child is unable to testify at the trial or
hearing because of death or then-existing physical
or mental illness or infirmity; and

(B) The illness or infirmity would not improve
sufficiently to permit the child to testify if the trial
or hearing were delayed for a reasonable time.

(¢c) The proponent of the statement fails to establish
that the child’s testimony or attendance is not reason-
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ably obtainable under subdivision (a)(2) if the child’s
refusal, claim of lack of memory, inability, or absence is
due to the procurement or wrongdoing of the proponent
of the statement for the purpose of preventing the child
from attending or testifying.

(d) The court shall make the findings required by
this section on the basis of a hearing conducted outside
the presence of the jury and shall make findings of fact
on the record, as to the bases for the court’s ruling.

(e) Nothing in this section shall affect the admissi-
bility of evidence admitted under § 24-7-117 or § 24-
7-120.

History.
Acts 2018, ch. 708, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.
Acts 2018, ch. 708, § 2 provided that the act, which enacted this
section, shall apply to offenses committed on or after July 1, 2018.

24-7-112. Tests to determine parentage — Admis-
sibility in evidence — Costs.

(a)(1)(A) In any contested paternity case, unless the

individual is found to have good cause under
§ 654(29) of the Social Security Act (42 U.S.C.
§ 654(29)), the court, or the department of human
services in Title IV-D child support cases, shall
order the parties and the child to submit to genetic
tests to determine the child’s parentage upon the
request of any party if the request is supported by
an affidavit of the party making the request:

(i) and such affidavit: Alleges paternity, and
sets forth facts establishing a reasonable possi-
bility of the requisite sexual contact between the
parties; or

(i) Denies paternity, and sets forth facts es-
tablishing a reasonable possibility of the nonex-
istence of sexual contact between the parties;

(iii) and such affidavit: Denies paternity.

(B) In addition, upon the court’s own motion, at
such times as it deems equitable, or by adminis-
trative order by the department of human services
in Title IV-D child support cases, tests and com-
parisons pursuant to this section shall be ordered;
or

(C) In any case, except terminations of parental
rights or adoptions under title 36 or title 37, in
which the paternity of a child is at issue and the
question of parentage arises, and an agreed order
or divorce decree has been entered finding that an
individual is not the parent of the child, the finding
shall not be entitled to preclusive effect unless the
finding was based upon scientific tests to deter-
mine parentage which excluded the individual
from parentage of the child in question.

(2) During any other civil or criminal proceeding
in which the question of parentage arises, upon the
motion of either party or on the court’s own motion,
the court shall at such time as it deems equitable
order all necessary parties to submit to any tests and
comparisons which have been developed and adapted
for purposes of establishing or disproving parentage.
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(3) In any civil or criminal proceedings pursuant
to this section, the tests ordered shall be conducted
by an accredited laboratory. In the case of genetic
tests, and at such time as the secretary of health and
human services designates accreditation entities
which acknowledge the reliability of types of genetic
tests used in the establishment of paternity, such
genetic tests shall be of the type which are generally
acknowledged as reliable by accreditation entities
designated by the secretary, and the genetic tests
shall be performed by a laboratory approved by such
a designated accreditation entity.

(4) The results of such tests and comparisons
which are ordered pursuant to this section, including
the statistical likelihood of the alleged parent’s par-
entage, if available, may be admitted into evidence as
provided in subsection (b).

(b) Upon receiving the results of the tests and com-
parisons conducted pursuant to subsection (a), the

court shall proceed as follows:

(1)(A) Either party may request an additional par-
entage test upon the advanced payment of the
costs of the additional parentage test. If the addi-
tional tests are requested by the department of
human services, its contractors or any state
agency, the costs of such additional tests shall be
paid for upon being billed for such by the testing
agent and may be recovered by those entities in
any parentage proceeding from the person estab-
lished as parent of the child;

(B)3@) If the results of the first test exclude
paternity and the second test also exclude pater-
nity, or, if the initial test results are negative on
the issue of paternity establishment and no
second test is requested, this shall be conclusive
evidence of nonpaternity and the action shall be
dismissed;

(i) If the results of the first test establish
paternity and the second test again establishes a
positive statistical probability of parentage as
described in subdivision (b)(2)(B) or (C), the
positive test results with the greater positive
probability of parentage shall be definitive for
purposes of the application of the appropriate
evidentiary standards relative to the presump-
tions and the defenses available in subdivision
(b)(2);

(iii) If the results of the second test are differ-
ent from the first test in their outcome relative to
the exclusion or establishment of paternity, the
court, or the department in appropriate cases,
may order a third test, or the court may make a
determination between the accuracy of the pre-
vious two (2) tests for purposes of determining
paternity;

(C) The results of any tests which may exclude a
person as the father shall not preclude the initia-
tion of a new paternity action involving another
putative father or by a putative father against a
mother to establish his paternity;

(2)(A) In any proceeding where the paternity of an
individual is at issue, the written report of blood,

ADMISSIBILITY OF EVIDENCE

24-7-112

genetic, or DNA test results by the testing agent
concerning the paternity is admissible without the
need for any foundation testimony or other proof of
the authenticity or accuracy of the test unless a
written objection is filed with the court and served
upon all parties thirty (30) days prior to the date of
the hearing. For purposes of this section, service
shall be deemed made upon the date of mailing;

(B) Arebuttable presumption of the paternity of
an individual is established by blood, genetic, or
DNA testing showing a statistical probability of
paternity of that individual at ninety-five percent
(95%) or greater. In such event, the case shall be
tried before the court without a jury regarding the
issue of paternity without the evidentiary limita-
tions of subdivision (b)(2)(C);

(C) When the results of blood, genetic or DNA
tests show a statistical probability that a man is
the father of the child in question by a statistical
probability of ninety-nine percent (99%) or greater,
the putative father may only attempt to rebut his
paternity of the child by filing a motion with the
tribunal and establishing upon clear and convinc-
ing evidence one (1) or more of only the following
circumstances:

(i) The putative father had undergone a medi-
cal sterilization procedure prior to the probable
period of conception, or other medical evidence
demonstrates that he was medically incapable of
conceiving a child during the probable period of
conception;

(i1) That the putative father had no access to
the child’s mother during the probable period of
conception;

(iii) That the putative father has, or had, an
identical twin who had sexual relations with the
child’s mother during the probable period of
conception; or

(iv) The putative father presents evidence in

the form of an affidavit that another man has
engaged in sexual relations with the mother of
the child in question during the period of prob-
able conception. In this case, the court shall
order genetic testing of that other man in con-
formity with this section. The results of that
genetic test must indicate that the other man
has a statistical probability of paternity of
ninety-five (95%) or greater to establish an effec-
tive defense pursuant to this subdivision;
(D)1) If, after test results showing a statistical
probability of ninety-nine percent (99%) or
greater, the putative father is able to show by
clear and convincing evidence to the court that
one (1) of the enumerated defenses in subdivi-
sion (b)(2)(C) is present, the matter shall be set
for trial before the court without a jury;

(i1) Ifthe putative father does not raise one (1)
of the enumerated defenses in subdivision
(b)(2)(C) or does not establish by clear and con-
vincing evidence that one (1) of the enumerated
defenses in subdivision (b)(2)(C) is present after
test results showing a statistical probability of
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paternity of ninety-nine percent (99%) or

greater, the court shall, upon motion by the other

party, establish that individual as the father of
the child in question, and shall order child sup-

port as required by title 36, chapter 5;

(E) An affidavit documenting the chain of cus-
tody of any specimen used in any test pursuant to
this section is admissible to establish the chain of
custody;

(3) All costs relative to the tests and comparisons
under this section shall be paid initially by the party
requesting such tests with the final allocation of costs
awaiting the outcome of the proceedings, at which
time the court shall determine the proper allocation
of costs. Costs for initial tests requested by the
department of human services or its contractors or
any other state agency shall be paid by those entities
with the costs to be recovered in any parentage
proceeding from the person established as parent of
the child.

History.

Acts 1957,ch. 30,§ 1; T.C.A., § 24-716;Acts 1983, ch. 459, § 1;1991,
ch. 268, § 1; 1994, ch. 988, §§ 2-4; 1997, ch. 551, §§ 43, 44; 2000, ch.
922, § 1.

24-7-113. Voluntary
paternity.

acknowledgment of

(a) A voluntary acknowledgment of paternity which
is completed under § 68-3-203(g), § 68-3-302, or § 68-
3-305(b) by an unwed father or under similar provi-
sions of another state or government shall constitute a
legal finding of paternity on the individual named as
the father of the child in the acknowledgment, subject
to rescission as provided in subsection (c). The acknowl-
edgment, unless rescinded pursuant to subsection (c),
shall be conclusive of that father’s paternity without
further order of the court.

(b)(1) A voluntary acknowledgment of paternity
which is completed under § 68-3-203(g), § 68-3-302,
or § 68-3-305(b), or under similar provisions of an-
other state or government, when certified by the
state registrar or other governmental entity main-
taining the record of the acknowledgment, or the
copy of the voluntary acknowledgment completed
pursuant to § 68-3-302(d), shall be a basis for estab-
lishing a support order without requiring any further
proceedings to establish paternity.

(2) An acknowledgment of paternity executed as
described in subdivision (b)(1) shall be entitled to full
faith and credit in any judicial or administrative
proceeding in this state.

(38) No judicial or administrative proceedings are
required, nor shall any such proceedings be permit-
ted, to ratify an unchallenged acknowledgment of
paternity in order to create the conclusive status of
the acknowledgment of paternity.

(c)(1) A signatory to a voluntary acknowledgment

shall be permitted to rescind the voluntary acknowl-

edgment at the earlier of:
(A) The completion and submission of a sworn
statement refuting the named father on a form
provided by the state registrar. This form must be
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filed in the office of vital records of the department

of health, together with the fee required by the

registrar within sixty (60) days of the date of
completion of the acknowledgment; or

(B) Within the sixty-day period following
completion of the acknowledgment, at any judicial
or administrative proceeding during that period at
which the signatory is a party and which proceed-
ing relates to the child, by completion of the form
described in subdivision (c)(1)(A) or by the entry of
an order by the administrative or judicial tribunal
which  directs the rescission of such
acknowledgment.

(2) The registrar may impose a fee for the filing of
the rescission of voluntary acknowledgment in sub-
division (¢)(1)(A) and the registrar shall send a copy
of the rescinded acknowledgment to the other signa-
tory of the original acknowledgment. If an individual
seeking to rescind an acknowledgment completes an
affidavit of indigency which accompanies the rescis-
sion form, the fee shall be waived. Any fee for filing a
rescission of a voluntary acknowledgment based
upon fraud shall be assessed by the court against the
person found to be the perpetrator of the fraud.

(d) If, at any time during the hearing described in
subdivision (c)(1)(B), the court, the referee, or the
hearing officer has reasonable cause to believe that a
signatory of the acknowledgment is or was unable to
understand the effects of executing such acknowledg-
ment, the court, the referee or hearing officer shall
explain orally to the individual the effects of the execu-
tion of the acknowledgment, and the right to rescind
the voluntary acknowledgment pursuant to subsection
(c), and the right to parentage tests to determine
paternity pursuant to § 24-7-112 in any proceeding
relative to the issue of paternity of the child.

(e)(1) Ifthe voluntary acknowledgment has not been

rescinded pursuant to subsection (c), the acknowl-

edgment may only be challenged on the basis of
fraud, whether extrinsic or intrinsic, duress, or ma-
terial mistake of fact.

(2) The challenger must institute the proceeding
upon notice to the other signatory and other neces-
sary parties including the Title IV-D agency, and if
the court finds based upon the evidence presented at
the hearing that there is substantial likelihood that
fraud, duress, or a material mistake of fact existed in
the execution of the acknowledgment of paternity,
then, and only then, the court shall order parentage
tests. Nothing herein shall preclude the challenger
from presenting any other form of evidence as a
substitute for the parentage tests if it is not possible
to conduct such tests.

(3) The test results certified under oath by an
authorized representative of an accredited laboratory
shall be filed with the court and shall be admissible
on the issue of paternity pursuant to § 24-7-112(b). If
the acknowledged father is found to be excluded by
the tests, an action seeking support shall be dis-
missed or the acknowledgment of paternity shall be
rescinded, as appropriate. If the test results show a
statistical probability of ninety-five percent (95%) or
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greater, a rebuttable presumption of paternity shall
be established and the issue of paternity shall be
tried before the court without a jury. If the test
results show a probability of paternity of ninety-nine
percent (99%) or greater, the acknowledgment of
paternity will become conclusive and no further
action shall be necessary to establish paternity un-

less a motion asserting the defenses of § 24-7-

112(b)(2)(C) is successfully brought.

(4) The burden of proof in any such proceeding
shall be upon the challenger.

(5) During the pendency of the hearing under this
subsection (e) and any appeal from such hearing, the
legal responsibilities of the signatory, including any
child support obligations, may not be suspended,
except for good cause shown.

(f) The state of Tennessee, its officers, employees,
agents or contractors, or any Title IV-D child support
enforcement agency shall not be liable in any case to
compensate any person for repayment of child support
paid or for any other costs as a result of the rescission
of any voluntary acknowledgment or the rescission of
any orders of legitimation, paternity, or support en-
tered under this section.

(g)(1) The rescission of an acknowledgment of pater-
nity or entry of any order rescinding any acknowl-
edgment of paternity pursuant to subsection (c) shall
not preclude the initiation of a paternity action
against the signatory who is the alleged putative
father, or by a putative father against a mother to
establish his paternity, nor shall it preclude the
initiation of a paternity action against another puta-
tive father.

(2) If, however, the voluntary acknowledgment is
rescinded by order of the court based upon tests
conducted pursuant to subsection (e) which excluded
a person as parent, no further action may be initiated
against such excluded person.

(h)(1) The original of the form rescinding the volun-

tary acknowledgment of paternity or a certified copy

of any order rescinding a voluntary acknowledgment
of paternity or a prior order of legitimation or pater-
nity shall be sent by the person rescinding it or, as
the case may be, by the clerk to the state registrar at
the office of vital records of the department of health.

(2) Upon receipt of the form rescinding the ac-
knowledgment which was executed and filed with the
registrar within the sixty-day period or upon receipt
of the order which shows on its face that the volun-
tary acknowledgment has been rescinded at the
hearing which is held no later than the sixtieth day
following the completion of the voluntary acknowl-
edgment, or upon receipt of a certified court order
with a finding shown clearly in the court order that
the voluntary acknowledgment of paternity was re-
scinded due to fraud, either intrinsic or extrinsic,
duress or material mistake of fact, the registrar shall
make the appropriate amendments to the birth cer-
tificate of the child who was the subject of the order.

24-7-117

History.
Acts 1994, ch. 988, § 1; 1997, ch. 551, § 35; 1998, ch. 1098, §§ 1, 2;
T.C.A., § 24-7-118; 2022, ch. 863, §§ 1, 2.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former § 24-7-113, concerning inadmissibility of testimony before
committee of the general assembly, was transferred to § 24-7-114 in
2000.

24-7-117. Audiovisually recorded testimony in
child sexual abuse proceedings.

(a) This section shall apply to proceedings in the
prosecution of offenses defined in § 37-1-602 as “child
sexual abuse” and to any civil proceeding in which child
sexual abuse as defined in § 37-1-602 is an issue, and
it shall apply only to the statements of a child or
children under the age of thirteen (13) years of age who
are victims of such abuse.

(b) The court may, on the motion of any party, order
that the testimony of the child be taken outside the
courtroom and be recorded for showing in the court-
room before the court and the finder of fact. Only the
court, the attorneys for the parties, the defendant,
persons necessary to operate the equipment, and any
person whose presence would contribute to the welfare
and well-being of the child may be present in the room
with the child during the child’s testimony. Only the
attorneys or the court may question the child. The
persons operating the equipment shall be confined to
an adjacent room or behind a screen or mirror that
permits such persons to see and hear the child during
the child’s testimony, but does not permit the child to
see or hear them. The court shall permit the defendant
to observe and hear the testimony of the child in
person. The court shall also ensure that:

(1) The recording is both visual and oral and is
recorded on film or videotape or by other similar
audiovisual means;

(2) The recording equipment was capable of mak-
ing an accurate recording, the operator was compe-
tent, and the recording is accurate and is not altered,;

(3) Each voice on the recording is identified; and

(4) The attorney for the defendant is afforded an
opportunity to view the recording before it is shown
in the courtroom.

(¢c) The court may, on the motion of either party upon
showing of good cause, order that additional testimony
of the child be taken, if time and circumstances permit,
outside the courtroom and be recorded for showing in
the courtroom before the court and the finder of fact in
the proceeding in accordance with subsection (b). If
time and circumstances do not permit such additional
out of court recording, the court may order the child to
testify in court. The testimony of the child shall be
restricted to the matters specified by the court as the
basis for granting such order.

(d) If the court orders the testimony of a child to be
taken under subsection (b) or (c¢), the child shall not be
required to testify in court at the proceeding for which
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the testimony was taken, unless so ordered pursuant to
subsection (c).

History.
Acts 1985, ch. 478, § 18; 1991, ch. 273, § 29; T.C.A., § 24-7-116.

Compiler’s Notes.
Former § 24-7-117, concerning admissibility in evidence of DNA
analysis, was transferred to § 24-7-118 in 2000.

24-7-120. Child’s testimony—Closed
television.

circuit

(a) In a criminal case where the victim of any of the
offenses listed in subsection (e) was under eighteen (18)
years of age at the time the offense was committed, the
court may order the child’s testimony be taken outside
the courtroom by means of two-way closed circuit
television, hereafter referred to as “CCTV.” Prior to
entering such an order, the trial judge must make a
case-specific finding of necessity that:

(1) The particular child involved would be
traumatized;

(2) The source of the trauma is not the courtroom
generally, but the presence of the defendant; and

(3) The emotional distress suffered by the child
would be more than de minimis, such that the child
could not reasonably communicate.

(b) If the testimony of a child is ordered to be taken
by two-way CCTYV, it shall be taken during the judicial
proceeding and the following rules shall apply:

(1) Only the prosecuting attorney, the attorney for
the defendant, and the judge may question the child;

(2) The operators of CCTV shall make every effort
to be unobtrusive;

(3) Only the following persons shall be permitted
in the room with the child while the child testifies by
CCTV:

(A) The prosecuting attorney;

(B) The attorney for the defendant;

(C) An interpreter, where necessity dictates;

(D) The operators of CCTV equipment;

(E) Court security personnel, where required,;

(F) A parent, counselor or therapist; and

(G) Any person whose presence, in the opinion
of the court, contributes to the well-being of the
child, including a person who has dealt with the
child in a therapeutic setting concerning the
offense;

(4) The child’s testimony shall be memorialized by
video-taped recording;

(5) During the child’s testimony by CCTYV, the
judge, jury and the defendant shall remain in the
courtroom;

(6) The judge and the defendant shall be allowed
to communicate with those persons in the room
where the child is testifying by any appropriate
electronic method; and

(7) The defendant shall not be allowed to enter the
room where the child is testifying by way of CCTV,
except where the defendant is acting as an attorney
pro se.

(c) This section shall not be interpreted to preclude,
for the purpose of identification of the defendant, the
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presence of both the victim and the defendant in the
courtroom at the same time.

(d) This section shall also apply to a witness who
was not the victim of any of the offenses set out in
subsection (e) but who was under eighteen (18) years of
age at the time the offense which gave rise to the
criminal case was committed; provided, there is an
individual finding of necessity by the trial judge that
conforms to the requirements of this section.

(e) The offenses to which this section applies are:

(1) Aggravated sexual battery, as defined in
§ 39-13-504;

(2) Rape of a child, as defined in § 39-13-522;

(3) Incest, as defined in § 39-15-302;

(4) Aggravated child abuse, as
§ 39-15-402;

(5) Kidnapping, as defined in § 39-13-303;

(6) Aggravated kidnapping, as defined in
§ 39-13-304;

(7) Especially aggravated kidnapping, as defined
in § 39-13-305;

(8) Criminal attempt, as defined in § 39-12-101, to
commit any of the offenses enumerated within this
subsection (e);

(9) Trafficking for commercial sex act as defined in
§ 39-13-309; and

(10) Patronizing prostitution as defined in § 39-
13-514.

defined in

History.
Acts 1998, ch. 1086, § 1; 2013, ch. 251, § 1; 2022, ch. 1115, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.
Acts 1998, ch. 1086, § 2 applies to all applicable criminal trials
occurring on or after July 1, 1998.

24-7-121. Child support payment records.

(a)(1)(A) The department of human services child
support payment records shall be the official re-
cords for all payments which have been appropri-
ately sent to the central collection and distribution
unit pursuant to § 36-5-116.

(B) Notwithstanding any other law or rule of
evidence to the contrary, a computer printout or
copy, by telecopier facsimile or otherwise, an elec-
tronic mail copy or copy obtained by way of inter-
net access, of the child support payment screen
which is generated from the Tennessee child sup-
port enforcement system (TCSES) operated by the
department or its contractors shall be admitted
into evidence as a nonhearsay, self-authenticating
document in all judicial and administrative pro-
ceedings without the need for certification by a
records custodian.

(2) No conclusive presumption of correctness shall
attach to such record following admission, but the
record shall constitute prima facie evidence of its
correctness and shall be subject to rebuttal by alter-
native or conflicting documentary evidence of pay-
ment of the support obligation.

(b)(1) In order to implement the provisions of sub-

section (a) and to provide access to any other request-

ing persons, the department shall develop child sup-
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port program policies and procedures which allow the

department, through its staff or its contractors, to

provide copies of payment information from the

TCSES child support payments screens utilized by

the department or its contractors to any person

requesting such information. The department may
provide such information in any suitable manner
which provides the information necessary for judicial

or administrative proceedings under subsection (a)

including, but not limited to, the transmission of the

hard-copy prints of the TCSES child support pay-
ment screens by facsimile or by transmission by any
electronic means, and may, specifically, make such
payment records available through electronic mail of
the record, or by internet access to information
contained on TCSES. The department may establish

a reasonable fee for such services.

(2) Any individual who knowingly alters, or who
assists any individual to alter, any information ob-
tained from the department pursuant to this section
and such altered information is utilized for the pur-
poses of establishing, enforcing, or modifying child or
spousal support or defending such actions, or for the
purposes of defending or prosecuting any contempt
action involving child or spousal support, commits a
Class A misdemeanor.

(¢) For purposes of the Uniform Interstate Family
Support Act (UIFSA), compiled in title 36, chapter 5,
parts 21-29, the department or its contractors shall be
considered custodians of the support records subject to
such act.

(d) In the event that any testimony regarding pay-
ment records is required by any state officer, employee
or contractor of the department in any child support
case, no personal appearance shall be required and
such officer, employee or contractor of the department
shall have the option to appear in person or to testify by
telephonic or other suitable electronic means or by
affidavit. In no event shall any state officer, employee or
contractor of the department be required to testify in
any proceeding unless such officer, employee or contrac-
tor of the department has personal knowledge of the
facts underlying such payment record.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 922, § 2.

24-7-123. Admission of video recording of inter-
view of child describing sexual
conduct.

(a) Notwithstanding this part to the contrary, a video
recording of a child by a forensic interviewer containing
a statement made by the child under eighteen (18)
years of age describing an act of sexual or physically
violent contact performed with or on the child by a
person or describing an act of sexual or physically
violent contact performed by a person with or on
another and witnessed by the child is admissible and
may be considered for its bearing on any matter to
which it is relevant in evidence at any stage of a
criminal proceeding of the person for any offense aris-
ing from the sexual or physically violent contact if the
requirements of this section are met.

24-7-123

(b) Avideo recording may be admitted as provided in
subsection (a) if:

(1) The child testifies, under oath, that the offered
video recording is a true and correct recording of the
events contained in the video recording and the child
is available for cross examination;

(2) The video recording is shown to the reasonable
satisfaction of the court, in a hearing conducted
pretrial, to possess particularized guarantees of
trustworthiness. In determining whether a state-
ment possesses particularized guarantees of trust-
worthiness, the court shall consider the following
factors:

(A) The mental and physical age and maturity
of the child;

(B) Any apparent motive the child may have to
falsify or distort the event, including, but not
limited to, bias or coercion;

(C) The timing of the child’s statement;

(D) The nature and duration of the alleged
abuse;

(E) Whether the child’s young age makes it
unlikely that the child fabricated a statement that
represents a graphic, detailed account beyond the
child’s knowledge and experience;

(F) Whether the statement is spontaneous or
directly responsive to questions;

(G) Whether the manner in which the interview
was conducted was reliable, including, but not
limited to, the absence of any leading questions;

(H) Whether extrinsic evidence exists to show
the defendant’s opportunity to commit the act
complained of in the child’s statement;

(I) The relationship of the child to the offender;

(J) Whether the equipment that was used to
make the video recording was capable of making
an accurate recording; and

(K) Any other factor deemed appropriate by the
court;

(8) The interview was conducted by a forensic
interviewer who met the following qualifications at
the time the video recording was made, as deter-
mined by the court:

(A) Was employed by a child advocacy center
that meets the requirements of § 9-4-213(a) or (b);
provided, however, that an interview shall not be
inadmissible solely because the interviewer is em-
ployed by a child advocacy center that:

(i) Is not a nonprofit corporation, if the child
advocacy center is accredited by a nationally
recognized accrediting agency; or

(ii)) Employs an executive director who does
not meet the criteria of § 9-4-213(a)(2), if the
executive director is supervised by a publicly
elected official;

(B) Had graduated from an accredited college or
university with a bachelor’s degree in a field re-
lated to social service, education, criminal justice,
nursing, psychology or other similar profession;

(C)i) Had experience equivalent to three (3)

years of full-time professional work in one (1) or

a combination of the following areas:
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(a) Child protective services;

(b) Criminal justice;

(¢) Clinical evaluation,;

(d) Counseling; or

(e) Forensic interviewing or other compa-
rable work with children; or
(i1) Had been supervised by an experienced

forensic interviewer for a minimum of twenty

(20) forensic interviews, in addition to the re-

quirement of subdivision (b)(3)(E);

(D) Had completed a minimum of forty (40)
hours of forensic training in interviewing trauma-
tized children and fifteen (15) hours of continuing
education annually;

(E) Had completed a minimum of eight (8) hours
of interviewing under the supervision of a qualified
forensic interviewer of children;

(F) Had knowledge of child development
through coursework, professional training or
experience;

(G) Had no criminal history as determined
through a criminal records background check; and

(H) Had actively participated in peer review;
(4) The recording is both visual and oral and is

recorded on film or videotape or by other similar

audiovisual means;

(5) The entire interview of the child was recorded
on the video recording and the video recording is
unaltered and accurately reflects the interview of the
child; and

(6) Every voice heard on the video recording is
properly identified as determined by the court.

(¢) The video recording admitted pursuant to this
section shall be discoverable pursuant to the Tennessee
Rules of Criminal Procedure.

(d) The court shall make specific findings of fact, on
the record, as to the basis for its ruling under this
section.

(e) The court shall enter a protective order to restrict
the video recording used pursuant to this section from
further disclosure or dissemination. The video record-
ing shall not become a public record in any legal
proceeding. The court shall order the video recording be
sealed and preserved following the conclusion of the
criminal proceeding.

History.
Acts 2009, ch. 413, § 1; 2015, ch. 320, § 1; 2023, ch. 139, §§ 1, 2.

24-7-125. Admissibility of evidence of other
crimes, wrongs, or acts — Condi-
tions for admission.

In a criminal case, evidence of other crimes, wrongs,
or acts is not admissible to prove the character of any
individual, including a deceased victim, the defendant,
a witness, or any other third party, in order to show
action in conformity with the character trait. It may,
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however, be admissible for other purposes. The condi-
tions which must be satisfied before allowing such
evidence are:

(1) The court upon request must hold a hearing
outside the jury’s presence;

(2) The court must determine that a material
issue exists other than conduct conforming with a
character trait and must upon request state on the
record the material issue, the ruling, and the reasons
for admitting the evidence;

(3) The court must find proof of the other crime,
wrong, or act to be clear and convincing; and

(4) The court must exclude the evidence if its
probative value is outweighed by the danger of unfair
prejudice.

History.
Acts 2014, ch. 713, § 2.

Compiler’s Notes.
For the Preamble to the act concerning admissibility of certain
character evidence in criminal cases, please refer to Acts 2014, ch. 713.
Acts 2014, ch. 713, § 1 provided that the act, which enacted this
section, shall be known and may be cited as the “Channon Christian
Act”.

TITLE 29
REMEDIES AND SPECIAL PROCEEDINGS
CHAPTER 31
REMOVAL OF DISABILITY OF MINORS

SECTION.

29-31-101.
29-31-102.
29-31-103.
29-31-104.
29-31-105.

Power to remove.

Application — Process — Appearance to resist application.
Defendants not required.

Hearing and decree — Specific purpose.

Scope of decree.

29-31-101. Power to remove.

(a) The chancery court of a county in which a minor
resides or the chancellor in vacation may remove the
disabilities of minority; and the chancery court of any
county, or the chancellor of such court in vacation, may
remove the disabilities of minority of a nonresident
minor of the state of Tennessee who owns, or has an
interest in, any real or personal property located in the
state of Tennessee, so as to enable the minor to sell and
convey such real or personal property, or any interest
therein, or to do any other act in respect thereof; all as
fully and effectively as if the minor was eighteen (18)
years of age.

(b) In all cases where a minor petitions for the
removal of disabilities of minority in a county other
than the county in which property is located, petition
must show that no application has been previously
made in the county where the property is located.

(c) The circuit court and the judge thereof shall have
concurrent jurisdiction with the chancery court and
chancellor to remove the disabilities of minority.
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History.

Acts 1915, ch. 162, § 1; Shan., § 6106a3; mod. Code 1932, § 10370;
Acts 1941, ch. 60, § 1; C. Supp. 1950, § 10370; Acts 1957, ch. 195, § 1;
1961, ch. 142, § 1; 1967, ch. 354, § 1; 1968, ch. 453, § 1; 1971, ch. 162,
§ 2; T.C.A. (orig. ed.), § 23-1201; modified.

29-31-102. Application — Process — Appearance
to resist application.

(a) The application therefor shall be made in writing
by the minor by next friend, and shall state the age of
such minor and the names and places of residence of
the minor’s parents, and if the minor has no parents,
the names and places of residence of two (2) of the
minor’s nearest kin, within the third degree, computed
according to the civil law, and the reason on which the
removal of the disability is sought.

(b) When such petition shall be filed, the clerk of the
court shall issue proper process as in other cases, to
make the proper parties defendant, the same to be
executed and returned as in other cases.

(c) Any person so made a party or other relative or
friend of the minor, may appear and resist the applica-
tion.

History.
Acts 1915, ch. 162, § 2; Shan., § 6106a4; mod. Code 1932, § 10371;
T.C.A. (orig. ed.), § 23-1202.

29-31-103. Defendants not required.

If such kindred unite in such application, or if the
minor has no kindred within the prescribed degree, or
the place of residence of such kindred is unknown to the
minor or the next friend, it shall not be necessary to
make any person defendant thereto; provided, that if
any such minor shall have a general guardian, the
minor’s guardian shall be made a defendant.

History.
Acts 1915, ch. 162, § 3; Shan., § 6106a5; mod. Code 1932, § 10372;
Acts 1961, ch. 219, § 1; T.C.A. (orig. ed.), § 23-1203.

29-31-104. Hearing and decree —
purpose.

Specific

(a) The court, or chancellor in vacation, shall exam-
ine the application and the objections thereto, if any,
and may hear testimony, by depositions or by viva voce,
in reference thereto, and shall make such decree
thereon as may be for the best interest of the minor.

(b) If a decree is rendered removing the disability of
a minor, it shall be rendered by the court having
jurisdiction for a specific purpose and such purpose
shall be so stated in such decree.

History.

Acts 1915, ch. 162, § 4; Shan., § 6106a6; mod. Code 1932, § 10373;
1971, ch. 71, § 1; 1980, ch. 844, § 1; T.C.A. (orig. ed.), § 23-1204.

29-31-105. Scope of decree.

The decree may be for the partial removal of the
disability of the minor so as to enable the minor to do
some particular act, proposed to be done, to be specified
in the decree; or it may be general and empower the
minor to do all acts in reference to the minor’s property,

33-1-101

making contract, suing and being sued and engaging in
any profession or vocation which the minor could do if
eighteen (18) years of age; and the decree shall dis-
tinctly specify to what extent the disability of the minor
is removed and what character of business the minor is
empowered to do, notwithstanding minority, and may
impose such restrictions and qualifications as the court
or chancellor may judge proper.

History.

Acts 1915, ch. 162, § 5; Shan., § 6106a7; mod. Code 1932, § 10374,
Acts 1973, ch. 76, § 1; T.C.A. (orig. ed.), § 23-1205.

TITLE 33

MENTAL HEALTH AND SUBSTANCE
ABUSE AND INTELLECTUAL AND
DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES

CHAPTER 1
GENERAL PROVISIONS

Part 1. Definitions

SECTION.

33-1-101. Title definitions.
Part 2. Policies, Values, and Principles
33-1-201. Responsibilities of department — State policy toward men-
tal health and developmental disabilities.
33-1-202. Statement of values underlying title.
33-1-203. Principles of service.
33-1-204. Unnecessary entitlements not created — Programs subject

to funding by general assembly.

PART 1
DEFINITIONS

33-1-101. Title definitions.

As used in this title, unless the context otherwise
requires:

(1) “Alcohol abuse” means a condition character-
ized by the continuous or episodic use of alcohol
resulting in social impairment, vocational impair-
ment, psychological dependence or pathological pat-
terns of use;

(2) “Alcohol dependence” means alcohol abuse that
results in the development of tolerance or manifes-
tations of alcohol abstinence syndrome upon cessa-
tion of use;

(3) “Available suitable accommodations” or “suit-
able available accommodations” means that a state-
owned or operated hospital or treatment resource
has the capacity, as reasonably determined by the
commissioner, and the medical capability, equipment
and staffing to provide an appropriate level of care,
treatment and physical security to an individual in
an unoccupied and unassigned bed;

(4) “Chief officer” means the person with overall
authority for a public or private hospital, develop-
mental center, treatment resource, or developmental
disabilities service or facility, or the person’s
designee;
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(5) “Child” means a person who is under eighteen
(18) years of age;

(6) “Commissioner” means the commissioner of
mental health and substance abuse services when
the statute at issue relates to mental illness or
serious emotional disturbance and means the com-
missioner of intellectual and developmental disabili-
ties when the statute at issue relates to intellectual
and developmental disabilities;

(7T)(A) “Community mental health center” means

an entity that:

(i) Provides outpatient services, including
specialized outpatient services for persons of all
ages with a serious mental illness, and persons
who have been discharged from inpatient treat-
ment at a hospital or treatment resource;

(i1) Provides twenty-four hour a day emer-
gency care services;

(iii) Provides day treatment or other partial
hospitalization services, or psychosocial rehabili-
tation services;

(iv) Provides screening for persons being con-
sidered for admission to state mental health
facilities to determine the appropriateness of the
admission; and

(v) Has community participation in its plan-
ning, policy development, and evaluation of
services;

(B) “Community mental health center” includes
for profit corporations and private entities quali-
fied as tax exempt organizations under Internal
Revenue Code, § 501(c)(3) (26 U.S.C. § 501(c)(3)),
or public entities created by private act of the
general assembly that, prior to July 1, 1992, were
approved providers in the state under the medicaid
clinic option and grantees of the department and
the successor or surviving corporation of any such
entity that underwent a corporate name change or
corporate restructuring after July 1, 1992;

(8) “Consent” means voluntary agreement to what
is reasonably well understood regardless of how the
agreement is expressed,

(9) “Department” means the department of mental
health and substance abuse services when the stat-
ute at issue deals with mental illness or serious
emotional disturbance and means the department of
intellectual and developmental disabilities when the
statute at issue deals with intellectual and develop-
mental disabilities;

(10) “Developmental center” means a department
of intellectual and developmental disabilities facility
or part of it that provides residential and habilitation
services to persons with intellectual disabilities;

(11)(A) “Developmental disability” in a person

over five (5) years of age means a condition that:

(i) Is attributable to a mental or physical
impairment or combination of mental and physi-
cal impairments;

(i1) Manifested before twenty-two (22) years of
age;

(ii1) Likely to continue indefinitely;

(iv) Results in substantial functional limita-

tions in three (3) or more of the following major
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life activities:
(a) Self-care;
(b) Receptive and expressive language;
(¢) Learning;
(d) Mobility;
(e) Self-direction;
(f) Capacity for independent living; or
(g) Economic self-sufficiency; and

(v) Reflects the person’s need for a combina-
tion and sequence of special interdisciplinary or
generic services, supports, or other assistance
that is likely to continue indefinitely and need to
be individually planned and coordinated;

(B) “Developmental disability” in a person up to
five (5) years of age means a condition of substan-
tial developmental delay or specific congenital or
acquired conditions with a high probability of re-
sulting in developmental disability as defined for
persons over five (5) years of age if services and
supports are not provided;

(12) “Drug abuse” means a condition character-
ized by the continuous or episodic use of a drug or
drugs resulting in social impairment, vocational im-
pairment, psychological dependence or pathological
patterns of use;

(13) “Drug dependence” means drug abuse that
results in the development of tolerance or manifes-
tations of drug abstinence syndrome upon cessation
of use;

(14) “Hospital” means a public or private hospital
or facility or part of a hospital or facility equipped to
provide inpatient care and treatment for persons
with mental illness or serious emotional disturbance;

(15) “Indigent person” means a service recipient
whose resources, including property, assets, and in-
come, are insufficient, under chapter 2, part 11 of this
title, to pay for the cost of providing services and
supports and who does not have a responsible rela-
tive or other legally responsible person who is able to
pay for the cost of providing the services and
supports;

(16)(A) “Intellectual disability” means, for the pur-

poses of the general functions of the department as

set forth in § 4-3-2701(b), substantial limitations
in functioning:

(i) As shown by significantly sub-average in-
tellectual functioning that exists concurrently
with related limitations in two (2) or more of the
following adaptive skill areas: communication,
self-care, home living, social skills, community
use, self-direction, health and safety, functional
academics, leisure, and work; and

(ii) That are manifested before eighteen (18)
years of age;

(B) References to “mental retardation” in this
title shall be deemed to be references to “intellec-
tual disability”;

(17) “Licensed physician” means a graduate of an
accredited medical school authorized to confer upon
graduates the degree of doctor of medicine (M.D.)
who is duly licensed in the state, or an osteopathic
physician who is a graduate of a recognized osteo-
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pathic college authorized to confer the degree of
doctor of osteopathy (D.O.) and who is licensed to
practice osteopathic medicine in the state;

(18) “Medical capability” means that a state-
owned or operated hospital or treatment resource
has the ability to treat an individual’s medical needs
onsite or that the individual’s medical needs do not
exceed the onsite capability of the state-owned or
operated hospital or treatment resource to treat;

(19) “Mental illness” means a psychiatric disorder,
alcohol dependence, or drug dependence, but does not
include intellectual disability or other developmental
disabilities;

(20) “Qualified mental health professional” means
a person who is licensed in the state, if required for
the profession, and who is a psychiatrist; physician
with expertise in psychiatry as determined by train-
ing, education, or experience; psychologist with
health service provider designation; psychological
examiner or senior psychological examiner; licensed
master’s social worker with two (2) years of mental
health experience or licensed clinical social worker;
marital and family therapist; nurse with a master’s
degree in nursing who functions as a psychiatric
nurse; professional counselor; or if the person is
providing service to service recipients who are chil-
dren, any of the above educational credentials plus
mental health experience with children;

(21) “Responsible relative” means the parent of an
unemancipated child with mental illness, serious
emotional disturbance, alcohol dependence, drug de-
pendence, or developmental disabilities who is re-
ceiving service in programs of the department or any
relative who accepts financial responsibility for the
care and service of a service recipient;

(22) “Serious emotional disturbance” means a con-
dition in a child who currently or at any time during
the past year has had a diagnosable mental, behav-
ioral, or emotional disorder of sufficient duration to
meet psychiatric diagnostic criteria that results in
functional impairment that substantially interferes
with or limits the child’s role or functioning in family,
school, or community activities and includes any
mental disorder, regardless of whether it is of biologi-
cal etiology;

(23) “Service recipient” means a person who is
receiving service, has applied for service, or for whom
someone has applied for or proposed service because
the person has mental illness, serious emotional
disturbance, or a developmental disability;

(24) “Support” means any activity or resource that
enables a service recipient to participate in a service
for mental illness, serious emotional disturbance, or
developmental disabilities or in community life; and

(25) “Treatment resource” means any public or
private facility, service, or program providing treat-
ment or rehabilitation services for mental illness or
serious emotional disturbance, including, but not
limited to, detoxification centers, hospitals, commu-
nity mental health centers, clinics or programs, half-
way houses, and rehabilitation centers.

33-1-201

History.

Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2001, ch. 334, § 1; 2002, ch. 730, § 1; 2006,
ch. 674, § 1;2008, ch. 1016, § 3;2009, ch. 531, §§ 31, 32; 2010, ch. 734,
§ 1; 2010, ch. 1100, §§ 25-27; 2011, ch. 158, §§ 10-12; 2012, ch. 575,
§§ 1, 2.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former chapter 1, §§ 33-1-101, 33-1-201 — 33-1-209, 33-1-301 —
33-1-303 (Acts 1965, ch. 38, §§ 2, 8; 1965, ch. 82, §§ 1-2, 4-7; 1965, ch.
305, § 1; 1971, ch. 247, § 1; 1972, ch. 644, §§ 1, 2; 1973, ch. 85, § 1;
1973, ch. 127, §§ 3, 4; 1973, ch. 341, §§ 1, 2, 5-7; 1974, ch. 802, §§ 3,
5-7, 16, 21; 1975, ch. 248, §§ 1, 4; 1976, ch. 806, § 1(95); 1978, ch. 533,
§ 2;1978,ch. 853,§ 10; 1981, ch. 98, §§ 3,4; 1981, ch. 224,§ 2; T.C.A,,
§§ 33-301 - 33-302, 33-104 — 33-107, 33-308; 1984, ch. 794, § 11; 1984,
ch. 922, § 1; 1986, ch. 570, § 1; 1987, ch. 98, § 1; 1988, ch. 623, § 1;
1990, ch. 920, § 1; 1990, ch. 1024, §§ 17-18; 1992, ch. 991, § 12; 1994,
ch. 861, §§ 1-4; 1996, ch. 993, § 1; 1997, ch. 305, § 1; 1997, ch. 534,
§ 1; 1999, ch. 466, § 1; 2000, ch. 947, § 6; 2000, ch. 981, § 53) was
deleted and replaced in the revision of title 33 by Acts 2000, ch. 947,
§ 1, effective March 1, 2001.

Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 9 provided that the act does not affect rights
and duties that matured, penalties that were incurred, or proceedings
that were begun before its effective date.

For the Preamble to the act concerning the operation and funding of
state government and to fund the state budget for the fiscal years
beginning on July 1, 2008, and July 1, 2009, please refer to Acts 2009,
ch. 531.

For the Preamble to the act regarding changing the term “mental
retardation” to “intellectual disability”, please refer to Acts 2010, ch.
734.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 1 provided that the Tennessee code commission
is directed to change all references to “mental retardation”, wherever
such references appear in titles 33, 39 and 41, to “intellectual disabil-
ity”, as supplements are issued and volumes are replaced.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 7 provided that for purposes of each provision
amended by the act, a reference to intellectual disability shall be
considered to refer to mental retardation, as defined by that provision
on the day before the date of enactment of the act.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 8 provided that nothing in the act shall be
construed to alter or otherwise affect the eligibility for services or the
rights or responsibilities of individuals covered by the provision on the
day before the date of enactment of the act.

Acts 2010, ch. 1100, §§ 25-27 amended the definitions of “commis-
sioner”, “department” and “intellectual disability” effective January 15,
2011. Prior to January 15, 2011, the definitions of “commissioner”,
“department” and “intellectual disability” read as set out in the
amendment notes. On and after January 15, 2011, the definitions of
“commissioner”, “department” and “intellectual disability” read as set
out above.

Acts 2010, ch. 1100, § 27(a) purported to amend this section by
substituting “Intellectual disability” for “Mental retardation” at the
beginning of subdivision (A) of the former definition of “mental retar-
dation”, effective January 15, 2011. Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 1 made the
same amendment to the former definition of “mental retardation”
effective April 9, 2010; therefore, the amendment by Acts 2010, ch.
1100, § 27(a) was not given effect.

Acts 2010, ch. 1100, § 153 provided that the commissioner of mental
health and developmental disabilities, the commissioner of mental
health (now commissioner of mental health and substance abuse
services), the commissioner of intellectual and developmental disabili-
ties, and the commissioner of finance and administration are autho-
rized to promulgate rules and regulations to effectuate the purposes of
the act. All such rules and regulations shall be promulgated in
accordance with the provisions of the Uniform Administrative Proce-
dures Act, compiled in title 4, chapter 5.

PART 2
POLICIES, VALUES, AND PRINCIPLES
33-1-201. Responsibilities of department — State

policy toward mental health and de-
velopmental disabilities.

The department serves as the state’s mental health
and developmental disabilities authority and is respon-



33-1-202

sible for system planning, setting policy and quality
standards, system monitoring and evaluation, dissemi-
nating public information and advocacy for persons of
all ages who have mental illness, serious emotional
disturbance, or developmental disabilities. It is the
policy of the state to plan on the basis of and to promote
the use of private and public service providers, without
regard for funding source, to achieve outcomes and
accomplishments that create opportunities for service
recipients and potential service recipients to have the
greatest possible control of their lives in the least
restrictive environment that is appropriate for each
person. The department shall plan for and promote the
availability of a comprehensive array of high quality
prevention, early intervention, treatment, and habili-
tation services and supports based on the needs and
choices of service recipients and families served. The
department shall include service recipients and mem-
bers of service recipients’ families in planning, devel-
oping, and monitoring the service systems.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former chapter 1, §§ 33-1-101, 33-1-201 — 33-1-209, 33-1-301 —
33-1-303 (Acts 1965, ch. 38, §§ 2, 8; 1965, ch. 82, §§ 1-2, 4-7; 1965, ch.
305, § 1; 1971, ch. 247, § 1; 1972, ch. 644, §§ 1, 2; 1973, ch. 85, § 1;
1973, ch. 127, §§ 3, 4; 1973, ch. 341, §§ 1, 2, 5-7; 1974, ch. 802, §§ 3,
5-7, 16, 21; 1975, ch. 248, §§ 1, 4; 1976, ch. 806, § 1(95); 1978, ch. 533,
§ 2;1978,ch. 853,§ 10;1981,ch. 98,88 3,4;1981,ch. 224,§ 2; T.C.A,,
§§ 33-301 - 33-302, 33-104 — 33-107, 33-308; 1984, ch. 794, § 11,1984,
ch. 922, § 1; 1986, ch. 570, § 1; 1987, ch. 98, § 1; 1988, ch. 623, § 1;
1990, ch. 920, § 1; 1990, ch. 1024, §§ 17-18; 1992, ch. 991, § 12; 1994,
ch. 861, §§ 1-4; 1996, ch. 993, § 1; 1997, ch. 305, § 1; 1997, ch. 534,
§ 1; 1999, ch. 466, § 1; 2000, ch. 947, § 6; 2000, ch. 981, § 53) was
deleted and replaced in the revision of title 33 by Acts 2000, ch. 947,
§ 1, effective March 1, 2001.

33-1-202. Statement of values underlying title.

Values upon which the law is predicated include, but
are not limited to, individual rights, promotion of
self-determination, respect, optimal health and safety,
service recipient inclusion in the community, and ser-
vice recipient life and service in typical community
settings.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-1-203. Principles of service.

The following service principles are fundamental to
carrying out the department’s responsibilities:

(1) Stable service systems that provide flexibility,
advocacy, effective communication, targeted out-
comes, continuous evaluation, and improvement
based on best practice and research;

(2) Early identification of needs and the inclusion
of both prevention and early intervention services
and supports;

(3) Timely response to the needs, rights and de-
sires of those served,;

(4) Treating service recipients and families with
dignity and respect;

(5) Protection of service recipients from abuse,
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neglect, and exploitation;

(6) Accurate and responsible accountability for the
use of public resources;

(7) Ongoing education and skills development of
the workforce; and

(8) Cultural competence of persons providing ser-
vice.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-1-204. Unnecessary entitlements not created
— Programs subject to funding by
general assembly.

(a) This title shall not create entitlement to services
and supports from the state except to the extent that
services and supports are necessarily attached to de-
privation of liberty by placement in facilities operated
by the department. Implementation of any service or
support at state expense under this title is subject to
the availability of funds appropriated for that purpose
in the general appropriations act.

(b) While the department of intellectual and devel-
opmental disabilities is charged with the planning and
development of services for persons with developmen-
tal disabilities, such services shall be subject to the
availability of funding, and to approval of any waiver
amendments which would be required to effectuate
such new programs at such time that they are devel-
oped. The reassignment of responsibility for develop-
mental disabilities services to the department of intel-
lectual and developmental disabilities does not create
an entitlement to services for persons with develop-
mental disabilities. Nor does it expand or affect in any
way the population of persons who are currently eli-
gible for programs and services currently available to
persons with mental retardation.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2010, ch. 1100, § 28.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former chapter 1, §§ 33-1-101, 33-1-201 — 33-1-209, 33-1-301 —
33-1-303 (Acts 1965, ch. 38, §§ 2, 8; 1965, ch. 82, §§ 1-2, 4-7; 1965, ch.
305, § 1; 1971, ch. 247, § 1; 1972, ch. 644, §§ 1, 2; 1973, ch. 85, § 1;
1973, ch. 127, §§ 3, 4; 1973, ch. 341, §§ 1, 2, 5-7; 1974, ch. 802, §§ 3,
5-7,16, 21; 1975, ch. 248, §§ 1, 4; 1976, ch. 806, § 1(95); 1978, ch. 533,
§ 2;1978,ch. 853,§ 10;1981, ch. 98, §§ 3,4;1981,ch. 224,§ 2; T.C.A,,
§§ 33-301 - 33-302, 33-104 — 33-107, 33-308; 1984, ch. 794, § 11; 1984,
ch. 922, § 1; 1986, ch. 570, § 1; 1987, ch. 98, § 1; 1988, ch. 623, § 1;
1990, ch. 920, § 1; 1990, ch. 1024, §§ 17-18; 1992, ch. 991, § 12; 1994,
ch. 861, §§ 1-4; 1996, ch. 993, § 1; 1997, ch. 305, § 1; 1997, ch. 534,
§ 1; 1999, ch. 466, § 1; 2000, ch. 947, § 6; 2000, ch. 981, § 53) is
deleted and replaced in the revision of title 33 by Acts 2000, ch. 947,
§ 1, effective March 1, 2001.

In order to effectuate the purposes of this section, funds were
appropriated in Acts 2000, ch. 994.

Acts 2010, ch. 1100, § 153 provided that the commissioner of mental
health and developmental disabilities, the commissioner of mental
health (now commissioner of mental health and substance abuse
services), the commissioner of intellectual and developmental disabili-
ties, and the commissioner of finance and administration are autho-
rized to promulgate rules and regulations to effectuate the purposes of
the act. All such rules and regulations shall be promulgated in
accordance with the provisions of the Uniform Administrative Proce-
dures Act, compiled in title 4, chapter 5.
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CHAPTER 2
SERVICES AND FACILITIES

Part 1. Community Service System

SECTION.

33-2-101.
33-2-102.
33-2-103.
33-2-104.
33-2-105.

Services and support to be community-based system.

Goals and purposes of mental health care system.

Requirements for community-based systems.

Core values of service system.

Geographic area for service systems — Designation of infor-
mation sources.

33-2-106. Legislative intent — Alleviation of geographical disparities.

Part 3. Setting Service Standards

33-2-301.
33-2-302.

Basic quality standards for services and supports.
Regulation of compliance.

Part 4. Mental Health, Alcohol and Drug Abuse Prevention and/or
Treatment, Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities, and Personal
Support Services Licensure Law

33-2-401.
33-2-402.
33-2-403.

Short title.

Part definitions.

Licensure of mental health, substance abuse, and intellec-
tual and developmental disabilities services and fa-
cilities — Exemptions — Rules.

Rules for licensure — Amendment of rules.

Operation of unlicensed facility unlawful — Penalty.

Application for licensure.

Suspension or revocation of license — Civil penalties.

Sanctions against licensed entities.

Amount of civil penalties.

Service recipient protection trust fund.

Surveyor to notify licensee of violations.

Suit to enjoin services rendered without license or under
suspended or revoked license.

Inspections of facilities.

Departmental assistance to applicants and to service recipi-
ents affected by license denial, suspension or revoca-
tion.

Provisional licenses.

Department to investigate reports of abuse, dereliction or
deficiency in operation of facility — Private cause of
action — Departmental remedies.

Provision of services without license — Actions by commis-
sioner — Violations.

Residential facilities.

Standardized training and continuing education required —
Classifications.

Dual licensing not required.

Providers of personal support services.

Differentiation between licensed physicians based on main-
tenance of certification.

Prohibited marketing practices.

Prohibited practices generally.

Licensing by other state departments or agencies. [Effective
on July 1, 2024.]

33-2-404.
33-2-405.
33-2-406.
33-2-407.
33-2-408.
33-2-409.
33-2-410.
33-2-411.
33-2-412.

33-2-413.
33-2-414.

33-2-415.
33-2-416.

33-2-417.

33-2-418.
33-2-419.

33-2-420.
33-2-421.
33-2-422.

33-2-423.
33-2-424.
33-2-425.

Part 7. Community Mental Health Center Cooperation Act

33-2-701.
33-2-702.
33-2-703.
33-2-704.

Short title.

Statement of policy.

Part definitions.

Cooperative agreements among community mental health
centers — Review by department — Certificate of
public advantage.

Judicial review of department decision.

Effect of grant or denial of certificate of public advantage.

Application fees.

Center not authorized to act as insurer.

Part not deemed to authorize referral to provider-owned
facility in violation of law.

33-2-705.
33-2-706.
33-2-707.
33-2-708.
33-2-709.

Part 11. Costs in State Facilities

33-2-1101. Calculation of charges for service.
33-2-1102. Determination of indigency — Periodic payments.

33-2-101

SECTION.

33-2-1103.
33-2-1104.
33-2-1105.

Persons liable for charges.

Nonindigent recipients.

Information from liable parties — Effect of failure to
provide information.

Person receiving services under court order.

Claims against recipients.

Voluntary contribution of funds.

Prohibition on maintenance at state’s expense.

Discrimination for inability to pay prohibited.

33-2-1106.
33-2-1107.
33-2-1108.
33-2-1109.
33-2-1110.

Part 12. Personnel and Volunteers

33-2-1201. Department employees, volunteers and applicants to sub-
mit to background check and fingerprinting.

33-2-1202. Organizations to perform background checks on employees.

Part 13. Conflict of Interest

33-2-1301. Department officers, employees and licensees to disclose
interest in mental health facilities — Conflict of
interest.

Penalty for violation of § 33-2-1301.

Contractors to disclose interest in facility.

Personnel records to indicate conflict of interest as reason
for relief of duties.

33-2-1302.
33-2-1303.
33-2-1304.

PART 1
COMMUNITY SERVICE SYSTEM

33-2-101. Services and support to be community-
based system.

The department shall plan, coordinate, administer,
monitor, and evaluate state and federally funded ser-
vices and supports as a community-based system
within the total system of services and supports for
persons with mental illness, serious emotional distur-
bance, developmental disabilities, or at risk for those
conditions and for their families. All functions shall be
carried out in consultation and collaboration with cur-
rent or former service recipients, their families, guard-
ians or conservators, service recipient advocates, ser-
vice providers, agencies, and other affected persons and
organizations.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former chapter 2, §§ 33-2-101 — 33-2-108, 33-2-201 — 33-2-202,
33-2-301 — 33-2-311, 33-2-401, 33-2-501 — 33-2-513, 33-2-601 —
33-2-602, 33-2-604, 33-2-701, 33-2-901 — 33-2-909 (Acts 1965, ch. 82,
§ 8; 1973, ch. 341, §§ 3, 4; 1974, ch. 802, § 8; 1975, ch. 248, §§ 1, 3;
1976, ch. 806, § 1(35); 1978, ch. 617, § 2; 1978, ch. 853, §§ 1-9, 11-13;
1979, ch. 199, § 1; 1979, ch. 369, § 1; 1981, ch. 18, § 1; 1981, ch. 98,
§ 5; 1981, ch. 436, §§ 1, 4, 5; 1981, ch. 436, § 3; 1982, ch. 584, §§ 2,
4-12; 1983, ch. 323, §§ 25-28, 31; 33-201, T.C.A. § 33-350, 33-1801,
T.C.A,, §§ 33-1803 —33-1812, T.C.A,, §§ 33-1902 — 33-1911; 1985, ch.
437, § 5, 31-32; 1987, ch. 143, §§ 1, 6; 1987, ch. 248, §§ 1-3; 1987, ch.
320, § 1; 1988, ch. 586, § 1; 1988, ch. 828, §§ 3-8; 1988, ch. 875, §§ 1,
2; 1989, ch. 253, § 3; 1989, ch. 254, § 3; 1989, ch. 255, § 2; 1989, ch.
256, 8§ 2;1989, ch. 257, § 3; 1989, ch. 259, § 3; 1989, ch. 260, § 3; 1989,
ch. 261, § 3; 1989, ch. 271, § 3; 1989, ch. 272, § 3; 1989, ch. 434, § 5;
1989, ch. 513, §§ 1, 14; 1989, ch. 559, §§ 1-4; 1989, ch. 591, § 112;
1991, ch. 459, §§ 9, 10; 1992, ch. 913, § 2; 1993, ch. 234, §§ 22-26;
1994, ch. 760, § 1; 1996, ch. 796, § 1; 1996, ch. 1074, § 1; 1998, ch.
1005, § 1-9; 2000, ch. 947, § 6); § 33-2-603 (Acts 1985, ch. 437, § 31;
1987, ch. 143, § 5), which had been previously repealed by Acts 1988,
ch. 586, § 2; § 33-2-801 (Acts 1989, ch. 513, § 4), which had been
previously repealed by Acts 1993, ch. 234, § 9; §§ 33-2-802 and
33-2-803 (Acts 1989, ch. 513, § 4), which were transferred to §§ 68-24-



33-2-102

602, 68-24-603 in 1993, is deleted and replaced in the revision of title 33
by Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1, effective March 1, 2001.

33-2-102. Goals and purposes of mental health
care system.

(a) Within the limits of available resources, it is the
goal of the state to develop and maintain a system of
care that provides a comprehensive array of quality
prevention, early intervention, treatment, habilitation
and rehabilitation services and supports that are geo-
graphically available, equitably and efficiently allo-
cated statewide, allowing people to be in their own
communities in settings, based on the needs and
choices of individuals and families served.

(b) The state’s purposes are to:

(1) Establish and sustain a broad range and scope
of flexible services and supports across the domains
of residential living, working, learning, community
participation, and family support, including crisis,
respite and other emergency services, that help ser-
vice recipients maintain respected and active posi-
tions in the community; and

(2) Promote the early identification of children
with mental illness, serious emotional disturbance,
developmental disabilities, and developmental delay
to assure that they receive services and supports
appropriate to their developmental level and chang-
ing needs.

(¢) The general assembly finds as facts that the
needs of persons with mental illness, serious emotional
disturbance, and developmental disabilities cannot be
met by the department in isolation and that those
persons need to receive services and supports that are
integrated, have linkages between and among other
human service agencies and programs, and have
mechanisms for planning, developing, coordinating,
and monitoring services and supports to meet their
needs.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-2-103. Requirements
systems.

for community-based

The state will accomplish its purposes through com-
munity-based systems that provide:

(1) Access to services and supports that are indi-
vidualized to the capacities, needs and values of each
person;

(2) Accountability of services and supports
through statewide standards for monitoring, report-
ing, and evaluating information;

(3) At least basic quality standards for service
delivery;

(4) Priorities for the use of available resources;

(5) Coordination of services and supports within
the department, among other state agencies, and
other public and private service providers aimed at
reducing duplication in service delivery and promot-
ing complementary services and supports among all
relevant entities;

(6) Conflict resolution procedures; and
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(7) Extensive involvement of service recipients,
families, and advocates.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-2-104. Core values of service system.

The core values of the service system shall include:
(1) The system of care is person-centered and
family-focused, with the needs and choices of the
individual and family, as appropriate, determining
the types and mix of services and supports provided,
because, to make good decisions, service recipients
and their families need complete information about
the availability, alternatives, and costs of services
and supports, how the decision-making process
works, and how to participate in that process;

(2) The system of care provides individualized
services and supports based on an individualized
service plan that is comprehensive, coordinated, age
appropriate, provides smooth transition through life
stages, involves families as appropriate, and is devel-
oped by qualified professionals in consultation with
service recipients and family members as
appropriate;

(3) The system of care is community-based and
provides for service in the least restrictive, most
appropriate setting;

(4) The system of care is culturally competent with
agencies, programs, services, and supports that are
responsive to the cultural, racial, and ethnic differ-
ences of the populations they serve;

(5) The system of care takes into account the
safety and health of service recipients, while respect-
ing their choices and protecting their rights, includ-
ing their right to be free from abuse, neglect, and
exploitation; and

(6) The system of care is continuously improved
based on research and best practices.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-2-105. Geographic area for service systems —
Designation of information sources.

The department shall establish areas for planning
and resource allocation. The department shall define
geographically dispersed and accessible points of access
to service systems and designate providers or mecha-
nisms to provide information and referral for services
and supports and for eligibility decisions.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-2-106. Legislative intent — Alleviation of geo-
graphical disparities.

(a) It is the intent of the general assembly that the
system of care developed to reflect § 33-2-102 provides
a comprehensive array of services and supports that
are geographically available, equitably and efficiently
allocated statewide and in each grand division of the
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state, that allows people to be in their own community
settings, based on the needs and choices of individuals
and families served. Services and supports provided to
persons generally and as part of the medical assistance
program, pursuant to title 71, chapter 5, shall seek to
alleviate geographic service and support disparities
across the state and its grand divisions. In striving to
alleviate the geographic disparities, the state should
seek to allocate budget improvements and other new
resources in a manner that promotes equitable distri-
bution of services and supports among the grand divi-
sions of the state.

(b) In order to implement subsection (a), the state
shall strive to avoid gaps in services and endeavor to
achieve a delivery system that ensures that services
are available to service recipients on a substantially
equitable basis, regardless of place of residence within
the state. To that end, the commissioner of finance and
administration shall report to the health and welfare
committee of the senate and the health committee of
the house of representatives, no later than January 15,
2008, and annually thereafter, on the following indica-
tors of equity in the service delivery system:

(1) The extent to which special services and pro-
grams such as programs for assertive community
treatment (PACT), crisis stabilization units, resil-
iency and recovery programs, etc. are available on a
substantially equitable basis throughout the state;

(2) The extent to which psychiatric and medical
services of the same level, intensity, and duration are
available on a substantially equitable basis through-
out the state; and

(3) The extent to which rates of service utilization
by service recipients are substantially equitable
throughout the state.

History.
Acts 2007, ch. 429, § 1; 2013, ch. 236, § 50.

PART 3
SETTING SERVICE STANDARDS

33-2-301. Basic quality standards for services
and supports.

(a) The department shall set basic quality standards
for services and supports to all persons served on the
basis of mental illness, serious emotional disturbance,
or developmental disabilities regardless of whether
they are served by the department, the department’s
contractors, private service providers, other state or
local public agencies, agencies licensed by the depart-
ment, or private service providers that are not licensed
under this title and regardless of whether the service
recipients are in the custody of state or local govern-
ment.

(b) Basic quality standards shall be the same for all
service recipients regardless of where they are served
and by whom they are served. Basic quality standards
may vary according to the ages of the service recipients
to assure appropriate service for children, adults, and
the elderly.

33-2-401

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former chapter 2, §§ 33-2-101 — 33-2-108, 33-2-201 — 33-2-202,
33-2-301 — 33-2-311, 33-2-401, 33-2-501 — 33-2-513, 33-2-601 —
33-2-602, 33-2-604, 33-2-701, 33-2-901 — 33-2-909 (Acts 1965, ch. 82,
§ 8; 1973, ch. 341, §§ 3, 4; 1974, ch. 802, § 8; 1975, ch. 248, §§ 1, 3;
1976, ch. 806, § 1(35); 1978, ch. 617, § 2; 1978, ch. 853, §§ 1-9, 11-13;
1979, ch. 199, § 1; 1979, ch. 369, § 1; 1981, ch. 18, § 1; 1981, ch. 98,
§ 5; 1981, ch. 436, §§ 1, 4, 5; 1981, ch. 436, § 3; 1982, ch. 584, §§ 2,
4-12; 1983, ch. 323, §§ 25-28, 31; 33-201, T.C.A. § 33-350, 33-1801,
T.C.A, §§ 33-1803 — 33-1812, T.C.A., §§ 33-1902 — 33-1911; 1985, ch.
437, § 5, 31-32; 1987, ch. 143, §§ 1, 6; 1987, ch. 248, §§ 1-3; 1987, ch.
320, § 1; 1988, ch. 586, § 1; 1988, ch. 828, §§ 3-8; 1988, ch. 875, §§ 1,
2; 1989, ch. 253, § 3; 1989, ch. 254, § 3; 1989, ch. 255, § 2; 1989, ch.
256, 8§ 2;1989, ch. 257, § 3;1989, ch. 259, § 3; 1989, ch. 260, § 3; 1989,
ch. 261, § 3; 1989, ch. 271, § 3; 1989, ch. 272, § 3; 1989, ch. 434, § 5;
1989, ch. 513, §§ 1, 14; 1989, ch. 559, §§ 1-4; 1989, ch. 591, § 112;
1991, ch. 459, §§ 9, 10; 1992, ch. 913, § 2; 1993, ch. 234, §§ 22-26;
1994, ch. 760, § 1; 1996, ch. 796, § 1; 1996, ch. 1074, § 1; 1998, ch.
1005, § 1-9; 2000, ch. 947, § 6); § 33-2-603 (Acts 1985, ch. 437, § 31;
1987, ch. 143, § 5), which had been previously repealed by Acts 1988,
ch. 586, § 2; § 33-2-801 (Acts 1989, ch. 513, § 4), which had been
previously repealed by Acts 1993, ch. 234, § 9; §§ 33-2-802 and
33-2-803 (Acts 1989, ch. 513, § 4), which were transferred to §§ 68-24-
602, 68-24-603 in 1993, is deleted and replaced in the revision of title 33
by Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1, effective March 1, 2001.

33-2-302. Regulation of compliance.

The department shall regulate compliance with basic
quality standards to the extent otherwise authorized by
this title. The department may monitor compliance
with basic quality standards in all settings, including
those over which it does not have regulatory authority.
The department may monitor by inspections conducted
by other state agencies as part of their regular duties.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

PART 4

MENTAL HEALTH, ALCOHOL AND DRUG
ABUSE PREVENTION AND/OR TREATMENT,
INTELLECTUAL AND DEVELOPMENTAL
DISABILITIES, AND PERSONAL SUPPORT
SERVICES LICENSURE LAW

33-2-401. Short title.

This part shall be known and may be cited as the
“Mental Health, Alcohol and Drug Abuse Prevention
and/or Treatment, Intellectual and Developmental Dis-
abilities, and Personal Support Services Licensure
Law.”

History.
Acts 1978, ch. 853, § 1; T.C.A,, §§ 33-1801, 33-2-501; Acts 2000, ch.
947, § 1; 2001, ch. 282, § 2; 2012, ch. 1010, § 2.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former chapter 2, §§ 33-2-101 — 33-2-108, 33-2-201 — 33-2-202,
33-2-301 — 33-2-311, 33-2-401, 33-2-501 — 33-2-513, 33-2-601 —
33-2-602, 33-2-604, 33-2-701, 33-2-901 — 33-2-909 (Acts 1965, ch. 82,
§ 8; 1973, ch. 341, §§ 3, 4; 1974, ch. 802, § 8; 1975, ch. 248, §§ 1, 3;
1976, ch. 806, § 1(35); 1978, ch. 617, § 2; 1978, ch. 853, §§ 1-9, 11-13;
1979, ch. 199, § 1; 1979, ch. 369, § 1; 1981, ch. 18, § 1; 1981, ch. 98,
§ 5; 1981, ch. 436, §§ 1, 4, 5; 1981, ch. 436, § 3; 1982, ch. 584, §§ 2,
4-12; 1983, ch. 323, §§ 25-28, 31; 33-201, T.C.A. § 33-350, 33-1801,
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T.C.A,, §§ 33-1803 —33-1812, T.C.A,, §§ 33-1902 — 33-1911; 1985, ch.
437, § 5, 31-32; 1987, ch. 143, §§ 1, 6; 1987, ch. 248, §§ 1-3; 1987, ch.
320, § 1; 1988, ch. 586, § 1; 1988, ch. 828, §§ 3-8; 1988, ch. 875, §§ 1,
2; 1989, ch. 253, § 3; 1989, ch. 254, § 3; 1989, ch. 255, § 2; 1989, ch.
256, § 2;1989, ch. 257,§ 3;1989, ch. 259, § 3; 1989, ch. 260, § 3;1989,
ch. 261, § 3; 1989, ch. 271, § 3; 1989, ch. 272, § 3; 1989, ch. 434, § 5;
1989, ch. 513, §§ 1, 14; 1989, ch. 559, §§ 1-4; 1989, ch. 591, § 112;
1991, ch. 459, §§ 9, 10; 1992, ch. 913, § 2; 1993, ch. 234, §§ 22-26;
1994, ch. 760, § 1; 1996, ch. 796, § 1; 1996, ch. 1074, § 1; 1998, ch.
1005, § 1-9; 2000, ch. 947, § 6); § 33-2-603 (Acts 1985, ch. 437, § 31;
1987, ch. 143, § 5), which had been previously repealed by Acts 1988,
ch. 586, § 2; § 33-2-801 (Acts 1989, ch. 513, § 4), which had been
previously repealed by Acts 1993, ch. 234, § 9; §§ 33-2-802 and
33-2-803 (Acts 1989, ch. 513, § 4), which were transferred to §§ 68-24-
602, 68-24-603 in 1993, is deleted and replaced in the revision of title 33
by Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1, effective March 1, 2001.

33-2-402. Part definitions.

As used in this part, unless the context otherwise
requires:

(1) “Abuse” means the knowing infliction of injury,
unreasonable confinement, intimidation, or punish-
ment with resulting physical harm, pain, or mental
anguish;

(2) “Alcohol and drug prevention and/or treatment
facility” means an institution, treatment resource,
group residence (boarding home, sheltered work-
shop, activity center), rehabilitation center, hospital,
community mental health center, nonresidential of-
fice-based opiate treatment facility, nonresidential
substitution-based treatment center for opiate addic-
tion, DUI school, counseling center, clinic, halfway
house, or other entity, by these or other names,
providing alcohol and drug services; provided, that a
DUI school operated by a state institution of higher
education shall not be considered an alcohol and drug
treatment facility for purposes of this chapter; pro-
vided, further, that “alcohol and drug prevention and
treatment facility” does not include any facility oth-
erwise licensed by the department or the department
of health or approved by the department of
education;

(3) “Alcohol and drug services” includes evalua-
tion, treatment, residential personal care, habilita-
tion, rehabilitation, counseling, or supervision of
persons with substance use disorder, or services to
persons designed to prevent substance use disorder
that either receive funds from the department of
health or assess fees for services provided; however, a
DUI school operated by a state institution of higher
education is not considered alcohol and drug services
for purposes of this part;

(4) “Commissioner” means the commissioner of
mental health and substance abuse services, or,
when applicable, the commissioner of intellectual
and developmental disabilities, the commissioner’s
authorized representative, or in the event of the
commissioner’s absence or a vacancy in the office of
commissioner, the deputy commissioner of mental
health and substance abuse services, or, when appli-
cable, the deputy commissioner of intellectual and
developmental disabilities;

(5) “Consumer direction” means a model of service
delivery for certain medicaid home and community-
based services in which the person receiving the
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services, family member, or other representative em-
ploys and supervises the individual who provides the
services;

(6) “Department” means the department of mental
health and substance abuse services, or, when appli-
cable, the department of intellectual and develop-
mental disabilities;

(7) “Facility” means a developmental center, treat-
ment resource, group residence, boarding home, shel-
tered workshop, activity center, rehabilitation center,
hospital, community mental health center, counsel-
ing center, clinic, group home, halfway house or any
other entity that provides a mental health, intellec-
tual or developmental disability service or an alcohol
and drug abuse prevention and/or treatment facility;

(8) “Licensee” means a proprietorship, a partner-
ship, an association, a governmental agency, or cor-
poration, that operates a facility or a service and has
obtained a license under this part;

(9) “Misappropriation of property” means the de-
liberate misplacement, exploitation, or wrongful,
temporary or permanent use of belongings or money
without consent;

(10) “Neglect” means failure to provide goods or
services necessary to avoid physical harm, mental
anguish, or mental illness, which results in injury or
probable risk of serious harm;

(11)(A) “Nonresidential office-based opiate treat-

ment facility” includes, but is not limited to, stand-

alone clinics, treatment resources, individual
physical locations occupied as the professional
practice of a prescriber or prescribers licensed
pursuant to title 63, or other entities prescribing
products containing buprenorphine, or products
containing any other controlled substance de-
signed to treat opiate addiction by preventing
symptoms of withdrawal to twenty-five percent

(25%) or more of its patients or to one hundred fifty

(150) or more patients;

(B) For the purposes of subdivision (11)(A),
“physical location” means real property on which is
located a physical structure, whether or not that
structure is attached to real property, containing
one (1) or more units and includes an individual
apartment, office, condominium, cooperative unit,
mobile or manufactured home, or trailer, if used as
a site for prescribing or dispensing products con-
taining buprenorphine, or products containing any
other controlled substance designed to treat opiate
addiction by preventing symptoms of withdrawal,

(C) “Nonresidential office-based opiate treat-
ment facility” does not include any facility that
meets the definition of a nonresidential substitu-
tion-based treatment center for opiate addiction;
(12) “Nonresidential substitution-based treatment

center for opiate addiction” or “nonresidential opioid
treatment program” includes, but is not limited to,
stand-alone clinics offering methadone, products con-
taining buprenorphine such as Subutex and Subox-
one, or products containing any other formulation
designed to treat opiate addiction by preventing
symptoms of withdrawal,
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(13) “Personal support services” means nursing
consultation, education services, and other personal
assistance services as defined by rule, which are
provided to individuals with substantial limitation in
two (2) or more major life activities in either their
regular or temporary residences, but does not mean
direct nursing services provided in connection with
an acute episode of illness or injury;

(14) “Reputable and responsible character” means
that the applicant or licensee can be trusted with
responsibility for persons who are particularly vul-
nerable to abuse, neglect, and financial or sexual
exploitation; and

(15) “Service” includes any activity to prevent,
treat, or ameliorate mental illness, serious emotional
disturbance, alcohol and drug use, intellectual or
developmental disabilities, which includes diagnosis,
evaluation, residential assistance, training, habilita-
tion, rehabilitation, prevention, treatment, counsel-
ing, case coordination, or supervision of persons with
mental illness, alcohol and drug abuse issues, serious
emotional disturbances, and intellectual or develop-
mental disabilities.

History.

Acts 1978, ch. 853, § 2; 1981, ch. 436, § 1; 1983, ch. 323, §§ 25, 26;
T.C.A., § 33-1802; Acts 1987, ch. 143, § 1; 1987, ch. 248, § 3; 1988, ch.
828, §§ 3, 4; 1988, ch. 875, §§ 1, 2; 1989, ch. 513, §§ 1, 14; 1993, ch.
234, § 22; 1996, ch. 1074, § 1; T.C.A., § 33-2-502; Acts 2000, ch. 947,
§§ 1, 6;2001, ch. 282, § 1;2003, ch. 103, § 1; 2003, ch. 242, § 2; 2009,
ch. 186, §§ 46, 47; 2010, ch. 1100, §§ 24, 34, 35; 2011, ch. 158, § 14;
2012, ch. 575, §§ 1, 2; 2012, ch. 1010, § 3; 2016, ch. 912, §§ 1, 2; 2018,
ch. 978, §§ 1, 2; 2019, ch. 89, § 1; 2021, ch. 309, § 3.

Compiler’s Notes.

Acts 2010, ch. 1100, § 153 provided that the commissioner of mental
health and developmental disabilities, the commissioner of mental
health (now commissioner of mental health and substance abuse
services), the commissioner of intellectual and developmental disabili-
ties, and the commissioner of finance and administration are autho-
rized to promulgate rules and regulations to effectuate the purposes of
the act. All such rules and regulations shall be promulgated in
accordance with the provisions of the Uniform Administrative Proce-
dures Act, compiled in title 4, chapter 5.

Acts 2016, ch. 912, § 5 provided that the commissioner of mental
health and substance abuse services, upon consultation with the
commissioner of health, is authorized to promulgate rules to implement
this act in accordance with the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act,
compiled in title 4, chapter 5. Medication assisted treatment guide-
lines, developed by nationally recognized addiction treatment organi-
zations, such as the United States department of health and human
services’ substance abuse and mental health services agency, the
United States department of health and human services’ national
institute on drug abuse, and the American Society of Addiction Medi-
cine, shall serve as a guide to the development of the rules.

Acts 2016, ch. 912, § 6 provided that notwithstanding this act or the
Uniform Administrative Procedures Act, compiled in title 4, chapter 5,
any rule promulgated to implement the provisions of this act shall be
provided to the chairs of the health committee of the house of repre-
sentatives and the health and welfare committee of the senate by the
secretary of state, after approval by the attorney general and reporter,
at the same time the text of the rule is made available to the
government operations committees of the senate and the house of
representatives for purposes of conducting the review required by
§ 4-5-226 in order for the health committee of the house of represen-
tatives and the health and welfare committee of the senate to be
afforded the opportunity to comment on the rule.

For the Preamble to the act concerning the importance of recovery
residences in the treatment of substance use disorder, please see Acts
2021, ch. 309.

Acts 2021, ch. 309, § 1 provided that the act, which amended this
section, shall be known and may be cited as the “Stopping Addiction
and Fostering Excellence (SAFE) Act.”

33-2-403

33-2-403. Licensure of mental health, substance
abuse, and intellectual and develop-
mental disabilities services and fa-
cilities — Exemptions — Rules.

(a) The departments have the authority to license
services and facilities operated for the provision of
mental health services, alcohol and drug abuse preven-
tion or treatment, for the provision of services for
intellectual and developmental disabilities, and for
personal support services. The department of mental
health and substance abuse services shall license ser-
vices and facilities operated for persons with mental
illness or serious emotional disturbance or in need of
alcohol and drug abuse prevention or treatment ser-
vices. Subject to subsection (¢), the department of
mental health and substance abuse services shall also
license personal support services for the aged as well as
persons with mental illness. Subject to subsection (c),
services and facilities operated for persons with intel-
lectual or developmental disabilities and personal sup-
port services for persons with intellectual or develop-
mental disabilities shall be licensed by the department
of intellectual and developmental disabilities. A per-
sonal support services agency licensed by either depart-
ment may also serve individuals with physical or other
disabilities. Notwithstanding any references in this
part to the licensing of “facilities” or “services,” only
persons, proprietorships, partnerships, associations,
governmental agencies, or corporations may be listed
on license applications or licenses as the licensed entity.

(b) The following are exempt from licensing under
this part:

(1) Private practitioners who are authorized to
practice by the boards of healing arts and only in
private practice in that capacity. This subdivision
(b)(1) shall not apply to a private practitioner, pre-
scriber, or prescribers operating a nonresidential
office-based opiate treatment facility, as defined in
§ 33-2-402;

(2) A person providing personal care solely to one
(1) person with mental illness, serious emotional
disturbance or developmental disability, or other
service recipient receiving personal support services
and not in a business arrangement with any other
service recipient. This exception shall not apply to an
individual who holds out to the public as being in the
business of personal support services for
compensation;

(3) An individual providing service or support only
to members of the person’s own family or relatives;

(4) An individual providing service or support that
is not subject to licensing under any other title of the
code and doing so only on a part-time basis as defined
in department rules;

(5) Foster homes that accept placements only from
agencies of state government or licensed child-plac-
ing agencies;

(6) Services or facilities providing employee assis-
tance programs;

(7) Services or facilities providing only employ-
ment placement;

(8) Facilities that are appropriately licensed by
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the health facilities commission as a:

(A) Hospital whose primary purpose is not the
provision of mental health or developmental dis-
abilities services; or

(B) Satellite hospital, as defined by rules of the
health facilities commission, whose primary pur-
pose is the provision of mental health or develop-
mental disabilities services, and that the depart-
ment verifies to the health facilities commission as
satisfying standards under this chapter;

(9) Facilities that are operated by state, county, or
municipal departments of education, the department
of correction, the department of human services, or
the department of children’s services and that affir-
matively state that the primary purpose of the facil-
ity is other than the provision of mental health,
alcohol and drug abuse prevention and/or treatment
services or intellectual or developmental disabilities
services; and

(10) A person providing direct care services to no

more than three (3) people receiving services through
consumer direction in a medicaid home- and commu-
nity-based services program. This subdivision (b)(10)
does not apply to an individual who holds out to the
public as being in the business of providing personal
support services for compensation.
(c)(1) A service or facility that can demonstrate com-
pliance with rules and standards by a current per-
sonal support services license from another state
agency is considered in compliance with rules and
standards under this part so that duplicate licensing
is not necessary. Personal support services agencies
that provide services for the aged or persons with
mental illness and persons with intellectual or devel-
opmental disabilities shall not be required to obtain a
license from both departments. The departments
shall work together to ensure that licensure stan-
dards for personal support services agencies are
appropriate across all of the populations that may be
served and are consistently applied.

(2) The licensing entity shall be determined based

on the larger population served by the agency as of
April 10, 2015, or in the case of new applicants for
licensure, the larger population anticipated to be
served by the agency at the time of licensure appli-
cation.
(d)(1) The department shall appoint a review panel
to review periodically all exclusions and waivers
granted under the licensure law and perform other
duties under this part. The department’s legal coun-
sel shall advise the panel.

(2) The panel’s membership shall be:

(A) The commissioner or the commissioner’s
designee;

(B) For the mental health panel, a representa-
tive of licensed community mental health services
and a representative of licensed alcohol and drug
abuse prevention and/or treatment services;

(C) For the intellectual and developmental dis-
abilities panel, a representative of licensed intel-
lectual disability community services and a repre-
sentative of licensed developmental disability
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community services;

(D) For the mental health panel, a representa-
tive of a licensed residential facility for persons
with mental illness or serious emotional distur-
bance and a representative of a licensed residential
facility for alcohol and drug abuse prevention
and/or treatment services;

(E) For the intellectual and developmental dis-
abilities panel, a representative of a licensed resi-
dential facility for persons with intellectual and
developmental disabilities;

(F) For the mental health panel, a representa-
tive of a licensed residential mental health facility
for children and youth;

(G) Five (5) service recipient representatives;
and

(H) A representative of a personal support ser-
vices agency.

(3) The panel shall elect a chair and vice chair and
shall report any findings directly to the
commissioner.

(4) The vote of a majority binds the panel.

(5) Travel expenses for panel members shall be
reimbursed. All reimbursement for travel expenses
shall be in conformity with the comprehensive state
travel regulations as promulgated by the commis-
sioner of finance and administration and approved by
the attorney general and reporter.

(e) The license holder of a nonresidential office-based
opiate treatment facility shall ensure that adequate
billing records are maintained, in any format, onsite at
the nonresidential office-based opiate treatment facil-
ity and shall ensure that adequate billing records are
maintained for all patients and for all patient visits.
Billing records shall be maintained for a period of three
(3) years from the date of the patient’s last treatment at
the nonresidential office-based opiate treatment facil-
ity. Billing records shall be made for all methods of
payment. Billing records shall be made available to the
department upon request. Billing records shall include,
but not be limited to, the following:

(1) The amount paid for services;

(2) Method of payment;

(3) Date of the delivery of services;

(4) Date of payment; and

(5) Description of services.

(f) The license holder of a nonresidential office-based
opiate treatment facility shall ensure that records of all
bank deposits of cash payments for services provided at
the nonresidential office-based opiate treatment facil-
ity are maintained, in any format, at the nonresidential
office-based opiate treatment facility for a period of
three (3) years.

(g) The license holder of a nonresidential office-
based opiate treatment facility shall ensure that pa-
tient medical records are maintained, in any format, for
a period of ten (10) years from the date of the patient’s
last treatment at the facility.

(h) By January 1, 2019, the commissioner of mental
health and substance abuse services shall revise rules
for nonresidential office-based opiate treatment facili-
ties to be consistent with state and federal law and to
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establish:

(1) Standards for determining what constitutes a
high dose of the opioid employed in treatment at a
nonresidential office-based opiate treatment facility;

(2) Protocols for initiating or switching a patient
at a nonresidential office-based treatment facility to
a high dose of the opioids employed in treatment; and

(3) Protocols for initiating periodic prescriber-ini-
tiated-and-led discussions with patients regarding
patient readiness to taper down or taper off the
opioids employed in treatment.

(i) The commissioner is authorized to use emergency
rulemaking under § 4-5-208 to promulgate the rules
pursuant to subsection (h). The rules must be promul-
gated in accordance with the Uniform Administrative
Procedures Act, compiled in title 4, chapter 5.

(j)(1) Beginning in 2020, the commissioner of mental

health and substance abuse services shall review the

rules for nonresidential office-based opiate treatment
facilities by September 30 of each even-numbered
year.

(2) The commissioner of mental health and sub-
stance abuse services shall submit the rules for
nonresidential office-based opiate treatment facili-
ties to each health-related board that licenses any
practitioner authorized by the state to prescribe the
products for the treatment of an opioid use disorder
as defined in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual
of Mental Disorders and to the board of pharmacy.

(3)(A) Each board shall review the rules and en-

force the rules with respect to that board’s

licensees.

(B) When a board’s licensees are subject to the
rules for nonresidential office-based opiate treat-
ment facilities, the definition of “enforce” for pur-
poses of this subdivision (j)(3) means referring any
complaints or information regarding those licens-
ees to the department.

(4) Each board shall post the rules on the licensing
board’s website.

(k)(1) The commissioner of mental health and sub-

stance abuse services shall provide a copy of any

emergency rule developed pursuant to subsection (h)

or (i) and any revision to a rule developed pursuant to

subsection (j) to the chairs of the health committee of
the house of representatives and the health and
welfare committee of the senate at the same time the
rules are submitted to the licensing boards pursuant

to subdivision (j)(2).

(2) The commissioner of mental health and sub-
stance abuse services shall provide a copy of any rule
developed pursuant to subsection (h) or (j) and any
revision to a rule developed pursuant to subsection (j)
to the chairs of the health committee of the house of
representatives and the health and welfare commit-
tee of the senate at the same time the text of the rule
is made available to the government operations com-
mittees of the senate and the house of representa-
tives for purposes of conducting the review required
by § 4-5-226 in order for the health committee of the
house of representatives and the health and welfare
committee of the senate to be afforded the opportu-
nity to comment on the rule.

33-2-404

() A violation of a rule described in subsections (h)
and (j) is grounds for disciplinary action against a
practitioner licensed under title 63 by the board that
licensed that practitioner.

History.

Acts 1978, ch. 853, §§ 2, 3, 13; 1981, ch. 436, § 1; 1983, ch. 323,
§§ 25, 26, 31; T.C.A., § 33-1802; Acts 1987, ch. 143, § 1; T.C.A,,
§ 33-1812; Acts 1987, ch. 248, §§ 2,3; T.C.A,, § 33-1803; Acts 1988, ch.
828, §§ 3-5; 1988, ch. 875, §§ 1, 2; 1989, ch. 513, §§ 1, 14; 1989, ch.
559, § 1; 1993, ch. 234, §§ 22, 23; 1994, ch. 760, § 1; 1996, ch. 1074,
§ 1, T.C.A, §§ 33-2-502, 33-2-503, 33-2-512; Acts 2000, ch. 947, §§ 1, 6;
2001, ch. 282, § 3;2002, ch. 730, § 2;2007, ch. 304, § 1;2010, ch. 1100,
§ 24; 2012, ch. 575, § 1; 2012, ch. 1010, §§ 4-6; 2015, ch. 110, §§ 1, 2;
2016, ch. 912, §§ 3, 4; 2018, ch. 978, § 3; 2019, ch. 89, §§ 2-4; 2022, ch.
1119, § 4.

Compiler’s Notes.

Acts 2010, ch. 1100, § 153 provided that the commissioner of mental
health and developmental disabilities, the commissioner of mental
health (now commissioner of mental health and substance abuse
services), the commissioner of intellectual and developmental disabili-
ties, and the commissioner of finance and administration are autho-
rized to promulgate rules and regulations to effectuate the purposes of
the act. All such rules and regulations shall be promulgated in
accordance with the provisions of the Uniform Administrative Proce-
dures Act, compiled in title 4, chapter 5.

Acts 2016, ch. 912, § 5 provided that the commissioner of mental
health and substance abuse services, upon consultation with the
commissioner of health, is authorized to promulgate rules to implement
the act in accordance with the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act,
compiled in title 4, chapter 5. Medication assisted treatment guide-
lines, developed by nationally recognized addiction treatment organi-
zations, such as the United States department of health and human
services’ substance abuse and mental health services agency, the
United States department of health and human services’ national
institute on drug abuse, and the American Society of Addiction Medi-
cine, shall serve as a guide to the development of the rules.

Acts 2016, ch. 912, § 6 provided that notwithstanding the act or the
Uniform Administrative Procedures Act, compiled in title 4, chapter 5,
any rule promulgated to implement the provisions of this act shall be
provided to the chairs of the health committee of the house of repre-
sentatives and the health and welfare committee of the senate by the
secretary of state, after approval by the attorney general and reporter,
at the same time the text of the rule is made available to the
government operations committees of the senate and the house of
representatives for purposes of conducting the review required by
§ 4-5-226 in order for the health committee of the house of represen-
tatives and the health and welfare committee of the senate to be
afforded the opportunity to comment on the rule.

33-2-404. Rules for licensure — Amendment of
rules.

(a) Each department shall adopt rules for licensure of
services and facilities regarding adequacy of services,
qualification of professional staff, and facility condi-
tions. A department shall require for licensure satisfac-
tion of basic quality standards set under part 3 of this
chapter, as applicable, and may require higher stan-
dards. The rules shall include consideration of the
adequacy of environment, life safety, treatment or
habilitation services, education and training require-
ments of the staff, and other considerations that a
department deems necessary to determine the ad-
equacy of the provision of mental health, alcohol and
drug abuse prevention and/or treatment, and intellec-
tual and developmental disabilities services. Each de-
partment may adopt rules for the administration of the
licensure program.

(b) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, each
department shall have the authority to amend its rules
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for licensure as needed to be consistent with the federal
home-based and community-based settings final rule,
published in the Federal Register at 79 FR 2947
(January 16, 2014), including the authority to differen-
tiate licensure requirements for any entity contracted
to provide medicaid-reimbursed home- and community-
based services in order to allow the facility or entity to
comply with the federal rule and continue to receive
medicaid reimbursement for home- and community-
based services. Rules adopted by the department under
this subsection (b) shall be developed with input from
stakeholders and promulgated in accordance with the
Uniform Administrative Procedures Act, compiled in
title 4, chapter 5; provided, however, that the depart-
ment shall not promulgate emergency rules under this
subsection (b) as defined in § 4-5-208. Licensure sur-
vey and enforcement shall be conducted in a manner
consistent with any rule issued under this subsection

(b).

History.

Acts 1978, ch. 853, § 4; T.C.A., § 33-1804; Acts 1985, ch. 437, § 5;
1993, ch. 234, § 24; T.C.A., § 33-2-504; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2012,
ch. 1010, § 7; 2015, ch. 153, § 1.

33-2-405. Operation of unlicensed facility unlaw-
ful — Penalty.

(a) It is unlawful for a person, partnership, associa-
tion or corporation to own or operate a service or facility
that provides mental health, alcohol and drug abuse
prevention and/or treatment or intellectual or develop-
mental disability services, or personal support services
within the meaning of this title without having ob-
tained a license as required by this part.

(b) A violation of this requirement is a Class B
misdemeanor.

(c) Each day of operation without a license consti-
tutes a separate offense.

History.

Acts 1978, ch. 853, § 5; 1981, ch. 436, § 2; T.C.A., § 33-1805; Acts
1989, ch. 591, § 112; T.C.A., § 33-2-505; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2001,
ch. 282, § 4; 2012, ch. 1010, § 8.

33-2-406. Application for licensure.

(a) A person, proprietorship, partnership, associa-
tion, corporation, or any state, county or local govern-
mental unit or any division, department, board or
agency of government shall obtain a license from a
department in order to lawfully establish, conduct,
operate, or maintain a service or facility that provides
mental health, alcohol and drug abuse prevention
and/or treatment, intellectual or developmental dis-
ability, or personal support services.

(b) The applicant shall submit an application on a
department’s form showing that the applicant is of
reputable and responsible character and able to comply
with the minimum standards for a service or facility
providing mental health, alcohol and drug abuse pre-
vention and/or treatment, intellectual or developmen-
tal disability services, or personal support services. The
application will also show the applicant is able to
comply with the department’s rules adopted under this
part. The application shall contain the following addi-
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tional information:

(1) The name of the applicant;

(2) The type of facility or service;

(3) The location,;

(4) The name of the person or persons to be in
charge; and

(5) Any other information as a department may
require.

(¢) The department may approve the issuance of a
license upon the application without further evidence,
or, in its discretion, it may conduct its own investiga-
tion.

(d)(1) Proof that a person or business has a personal

or business history in any jurisdiction of:

(A) Operation of substandard services or facili-
ties; or
(B) A felony conviction
creates a presumption that the applicant or licensee
does not have reputable and responsible character.

(2) An applicant denied a license on the basis of
the presumption may request a hearing for the
purpose of rebutting the presumption created by this
subsection (d).

(e) A license shall not be issued or renewed if the
applicant, or any chief executive officer or director of
the applicant, does not have reputable and responsible
character.

(f) If the department determines that a license
should not be granted, it shall notify the applicant.
Within fifteen (15) days of notification of denial, the
applicant may file a written request for review by the
panel appointed under § 33-2-403(d). The review shall
be at the earliest possible date, and recommendations
shall be reported to the commissioner. The commis-
sioner shall determine whether the original license
denial shall remain effective and shall notify the appli-
cant. Within fifteen (15) days of notification, the appli-
cant may file a written request for a hearing before the
department. The hearing shall be conducted under the
Uniform Administrative Procedures Act, compiled in
title 4, chapter 5.

(g) If the department determines that the applicant
complies with and will in the future comply with this
part and rules adopted under this title and has a
reputable and responsible character, the department
shall issue a license.

(h)(1) Alicense is valid for up to one (1) year from the

date of issuance. A license may be issued only for the

premises or services named in the application, must
be posted in a conspicuous place at the service or

facility, and may be renewed from year to year. A

license is not assignable or transferable except as

permitted by § 33-2-418(b)(3). The department may
charge a reasonable fee for processing the application
and issuance of licenses.

(2)(A) Notwithstanding this part, beginning July

1, 2018, the licensing fee for a nonresidential

office-based opiate treatment facility is one thou-

sand five hundred dollars ($1,500) per year. On or
after July 1, 2019, the department may revise the
fee by rule as otherwise permitted by law.

(B) Notwithstanding this part, beginning July

1, 2018, the department shall apply a reinspection
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fee of five hundred dollars ($500) to a nonresiden-
tial office-based opiate treatment facility. On or
after July 1, 2019, the department may revise the
fee by rules as otherwise permitted by law.

History.

Acts 1978, ch. 853, §§ 2, 6; 1981, ch. 436, §§ 1, 3; 1983, ch. 323,
§§ 25-27; T.C.A., § 33-1802; Acts 1987, ch. 143,§ 1; T.C.A., § 33-1806;
Acts 1987, ch. 248, §§ 2, 3; 1988, ch. 828, §§ 3, 4, 6, 7; 1988, ch. 875,
§§8 1, 2; 1989, ch. 434, § 5; 1989, ch. 513, §§ 1, 14; 1989, ch. 559, § 2;
1991, ch. 459, §§ 9, 10; 1992, ch. 913, § 2; 1993, ch. 234, §§ 22, 25;
1996, ch. 1074, § 1; T.C.A., §§ 33-2-502, 33-2-506; Acts 2000, ch. 947,
§§ 1,6;2001, ch. 282, 8§ 5;2002, ch. 730, § 3;2012, ch. 1010, § 9;2018,
ch. 978, § 4.

33-2-407. Suspension or revocation of license —
Civil penalties.

(a) The department may suspend or revoke a license
on the following grounds:
(1) A violation of this title or rules adopted under
this title;
(2) Permitting, aiding or abetting the commission
of any illegal act during a licensed service or in a
licensed facility;
(3) Conduct or practice found by the department to
be detrimental to the welfare of the service recipients
of a licensed service or facility; or
(4) Abuse, misappropriation of property or neglect.
(b) The department may impose a civil penalty on a
licensee for a violation of this title or a department rule.
Each day of a violation constitutes a separate violation.
The department shall establish by rule a schedule
designating the minimum and maximum civil penalties
within the ranges set in § 33-2-409 that may be as-
sessed under this part for violation of each statute and
rule that is subject to violation. The department may
exclude a statute or rule from the schedule if it deter-
mines that a civil penalty for violation of that statute or
rule would not achieve the purposes of licensure. If the
department has not adopted a rule designating the
minimum and maximum civil penalty that may be
assessed for violation of a statute or rule, the maximum
civil penalty that may be imposed for violation of that
statute or rule shall be the lowest figure set under the
appropriate subsection of § 33-2-409 that applies to the
violation.

(c)(1) The procedure governing the suspension or

revocation of a license or imposition of a civil penalty

shall be as prescribed in this subsection (c).

(2) A complaint shall be filed by the department
stating facts constituting a ground or grounds for the
proposed action.

(3) If the department determines that a license
should be suspended or revoked, a civil penalty
imposed, or both, it shall so notify the licensee.
Within fifteen (15) days of notification, the licensee
may file a written request for review by the panel
appointed under § 33-2-403(d). The review shall be
at the earliest possible date, and the panel shall
report its recommendations to the commissioner. The
commissioner shall determine whether the original
action shall remain effective and shall notify the
licensee. Within fifteen (15) days of notification, the
licensee may file a written request for a hearing
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before the department. The hearing shall be con-

ducted under the Uniform Administrative Proce-

dures Act, compiled in title 4, chapter 5.

(4) The department may determine after the hear-
ing that the license be suspended or revoked, that a
civil penalty be imposed, or that no action be taken.

(5) If the department determines that a license
should be suspended, the department may also set
the conditions to be met by the licensee during the
period of suspension to entitle the licensee to resume
operation of the service or facility.

(6) If the department determines that a license
should be suspended or revoked, a civil penalty
should be imposed, or both, the department shall
enter an order stating the grounds for the action.

(7) The department may, after a hearing, hold a
case under consideration and specify requirements to
be met by a licensee to avoid either suspension,
revocation, or civil penalty. In those cases, the de-
partment shall enter an order accordingly and notify
the licensee by certified mail. If the licensee complies
with the order and proves that fact to the satisfaction
of the department, the department shall enter an
order showing satisfactory compliance and dismiss
the case because of compliance.

(d) Ifa civil penalty lawfully imposed under this part
is not paid, the penalty shall be recoverable in the
name of the state by the attorney general and reporter
in the chancery court of Davidson County or by legal
counsel for the department in the chancery court of the
county in which all or part of the violation occurred.

History.

Acts 1978, ch. 853, § 7; 1981, ch. 436, § 4; T.C.A., § 33-1807; Acts
1989, ch. 559, § 3; T.C.A., § 33-2-507; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1;2003, ch.
103, § 2.

33-2-408. Sanctions against licensed entities.

(a) All proceedings by the department of intellectual
and developmental disabilities (DIDD) to impose sanc-
tions against licensed entities under this title shall be
conducted in accordance with the Uniform Administra-
tive Procedures Act, compiled in title 4, chapter 5. The
proceedings shall include notice and opportunity for a
hearing before an administrative law judge who shall
issue an initial order.

(b) Sanctions shall include any action by DIDD,
based upon alleged deficient practices of the licensed
entity, to impose financial or contractual penalties,
including the following:

(1) Financial penalties shall include fines, liqui-
dated damages or denial, withholding or delay of a
payment;

(2) Imposition of moratoria on admissions when
the limitations are unrelated to state budget consid-
erations; or

(3) Actions against the entity based upon allega-
tions that the entity is responsible for abuse, neglect,
exploitation, misappropriation or mistreatment of an
individual for whom the entity is responsible.

(c) Sanctions do not include any action to recoup
moneys that are determined by DIDD to be unearned,
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according to stipulations specified in the provider
agreement between DIDD and the provider.

(d) This section shall not prevent termination of any
contract with the licensed entity in accordance with the
provisions of that contract. In those cases the contrac-
tor shall have only the due process rights, if any,
otherwise provided by law regarding termination of
state contracts.

(e) All sanctions, except for financial sanctions, may
be imposed immediately by DIDD. This does not pre-
vent the provider from appealing the decision using the
process as provided in the Uniform Administrative
Procedures Act.

(f) These requirements shall not prevent the DIDD
or the provider from pursuing alternative means of
resolving issues related to sanctions while the process
as provided in the Uniform Administrative Procedures
Act is pending.

History.

Acts 2001, ch. 299, § 1;2009, ch. 477, § 1; 2010, ch. 1100, § 32; 2011,
ch. 158, § 15.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former § 33-2-408, concerning amount of civil penalties, was trans-
ferred to § 33-2-409 by Acts 2001, ch. 299, § 1.

Acts 2010, ch. 1100, § 153 provided that the commissioner of mental
health and developmental disabilities, the commissioner of mental
health (now commissioner of mental health and substance abuse
services), the commissioner of intellectual and developmental disabili-
ties, and the commissioner of finance and administration are autho-
rized to promulgate rules and regulations to effectuate the purposes of
the act. All such rules and regulations shall be promulgated in
accordance with the provisions of the Uniform Administrative Proce-
dures Act, compiled in title 4, chapter 5.

33-2-409. Amount of civil penalties.

(a) A civil penalty of not less than two hundred fifty
dollars ($250) and not more than five hundred dollars
($500) may be imposed on a licensee for a violation of a
statute or rule.

(b) A civil penalty of not less than five hundred
dollars ($500) and not more than five thousand dollars
($5,000) may be imposed on a licensee for a second or
subsequent violation of the same kind committed
within twelve (12) months of the first penalty being
imposed.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; T.C.A. § 33-2-408; Acts 2001, ch. 299, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.
Former § 33-2-409, concerning the service recipient protection trust
fund, was transferred to § 33-2-410 by Acts 2001, ch. 299, § 1.

33-2-410. Service recipient protection trust fund.

(a) The commissioner shall establish and maintain a
service recipient protection trust fund, created by the
deposit of all civil penalty moneys collected under this
part.

(b) The trust fund shall be maintained for the pur-
pose of protecting the service recipients of a facility or
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service, whose noncompliance with the conditions of
continued licensure, applicable state and federal stat-
utes, rules, or contractual standards threatens the
service recipients’ care or property or the facility’s or
service’s continued operation.

(¢) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, trust
funds remaining unspent at the end of the fiscal year
shall be carried over into the budget of the department
for the subsequent fiscal year, and shall continue to be
carried over from year to year until expended for the
purposes prescribed in this section.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; T.C.A. § 33-2-409; Acts 2001, ch. 299, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.
Former § 33-2-410, concerning surveyor notification to licensee of
violations, was transferred to § 33-2-411 by Acts 2001, ch. 299, § 1.

33-2-411. Surveyor to licensee of

violations.

notify

If a licensure surveyor finds a violation of a statute or
rule that may be a ground for a civil penalty, the
surveyor shall advise the licensee of the finding orally
before concluding the survey.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; T.C.A. § 33-2-410; Acts 2001, ch. 299, § 1;
2004, ch. 565, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former § 33-2-411, concerning suit to enjoin services rendered
without license or under suspended or revoked license, was transferred
to § 33-2-412 by Acts 2001, ch. 299, § 1.

33-2-412. Suit to enjoin services rendered with-
out license or under suspended or
revoked license.

(a) A department may sue to enjoin any person,
partnership, association or corporation from establish-
ing, conducting, managing or operating any service or
facility providing mental health, alcohol and drug
abuse prevention and/or treatment, intellectual or de-
velopmental disability services, or personal support
services within the meaning of this part without having
obtained a license or while its license has been sus-
pended or revoked. Suit may be brought in the name of
the state by the attorney general and reporter in the
chancery court of Davidson County or by legal counsel
for a department in the chancery court of the county in
which all or part of the violations occurred.

(b) In charging any defendant in a complaint for
injunction, it shall be sufficient to charge that the
defendant did, upon a certain day and in a certain
county, establish, conduct, manage or operate a service
or facility providing mental health, alcohol and drug
abuse prevention and/or treatment, intellectual or de-
velopmental disability services, or personal support
services or that the defendant is about to do so without
having a license, without averring any further or more
particular facts concerning the case.
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History.

Acts 1978, ch. 853, § 8; 1981, ch. 436, § 5; T.C.A., § 33-1808; Acts
1988, ch. 828, § 8; 1993, ch. 234, § 26; T.C.A., § 33-2-508; Acts 2000,
ch. 947, § 1; T.C.A. § 33-2-411; Acts 2001, ch. 282, § 6; 2001, ch. 299,
§ 1; 2012, ch. 1010, § 10.

Compiler’s Notes.
Former § 33-2-412, concerning inspections of facilities, was trans-
ferred to § 33-2-413 by Acts 2001, ch. 299, § 1.

33-2-413. Inspections of facilities.

(a) The department shall make at least one (1)
unannounced life safety and environmental inspection
of each licensed service or facility yearly. The depart-
ment shall inspect for quality standards all licensees
that contract with the department as part of its con-
tract monitoring. The department shall inspect for
quality standards all licensees that do not contract
with the department. The department may deem a
service or facility in compliance without inspection if
the service or facility meets another government agen-
cy’s certification or accreditation requirements pro-
vided for in rules of the department.

(b) With or without giving notice, the department
may enter the premises and inspect any applicant or
licensee when a complaint is filed with the department
against the applicant or licensee or when the depart-
ment otherwise deems inspection in the interest of
service recipients. Inspection may include review of
physical plant, program, activities, and applicant or
licensee records.

(¢) The department may charge a fee for any service
or facility inspection in an amount not to exceed fifty
dollars ($50.00).

(d) If the department finds noncompliance with life
safety or food service standards relating to non-life
threatening issues, the department shall refer the
findings to the state or local agency responsible for life
safety or food service inspection for reinspection or
review in accordance with life safety or food service
standards. The department will accept the state or
local agency’s determination.

(e) The department shall, to the extent practicable,
coordinate life safety inspections to avoid duplication
without good cause in the same calendar year by other
government agencies that apply substantially the same
standards.

(f) The department shall include in its annual in-
spection of each hospital licensed under this title a
determination of the hospital’s compliance with the
reporting requirements of § 33-3-117. The hospital
must document its compliance with a record of its
communication with local law enforcement with re-
spect to the commitments. A hospital’s failure to comply
with the reporting requirements shall subject the hos-
pital to civil penalties or other action against the
hospital’s license under § 33-2-407.

33-2-415

History.

Acts 1978, ch. 853, § 9; 1983, ch. 323, §§ 28, 29; T.C.A., § 33-1809;
Acts 1989, ch. 559, § 4; T.C.A., § 33-2-509; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1;
T.C.A. § 33-2-412; Acts 2001, ch. 299, § 1; 2018, ch. 1015, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former § 33-2-413, concerning departmental assistance to appli-
cants and to service recipients affected by license denial, suspension or
revocation, was transferred to § 33-2-414 by Acts 2001, ch. 299, § 1.

33-2-414. Departmental assistance to applicants
and to service recipients affected by
license denial, suspension or
revocation.

The department may provide assistance to appli-
cants for a license under this part. The department
shall provide assistance in placing service recipients
who are adversely affected by denial, suspension, or
revocation of a license under this part.

History.

Acts 1978, ch. 853, § 11; T.C.A., §§ 33-1810; 33-2-510; Acts 2000, ch.
947, § 1; T.C.A. § 33-2-413; Acts 2001, ch. 299, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.
Former § 33-2-414, concerning provisional licenses, was transferred
to § 33-2-415 by Acts 2001, ch. 299, § 1.

33-2-415. Provisional licenses.

(a) The department may grant a provisional license
for up to one (1) year to a service or facility if:

(1) The service or facility is making a diligent
effort to comply with standards adopted under this
part;

(2) The continued operation of the service or facil-
ity will not endanger the health or safety of its
service recipients;

(3) The continued operation of the service or facil-
ity is necessary because care is not otherwise reason-
ably available for its service recipients;

(4) The service or facility has submitted an accept-
able compliance plan specifying how and when defi-
ciencies will be corrected; and

(5) The service or facility has substantially met
the commitments made in the preceding year’s com-
pliance plan, if any.

(b) Failure to meet the commitments made in the
compliance plan is a ground for revocation or suspen-
sion of the license.

(c) Copies of provisional licenses and compliance
plans shall be maintained in a central location and are
open to public inspection.

History.

Acts 1978, ch. 853, § 12; 1979, ch. 199, § 1; 1983, ch. 323, § 30;
T.C.A., §§ 33-1811, 33-2-511; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; T.C.A. § 33-2-
414; Acts 2001, ch. 299, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.
Former § 33-2-415, concerning requirement that department inves-
tigate reports of abuse, dereliction or deficiency in operation of facility,
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private cause of action, and departmental remedies, was transferred to
§ 33-2-416 by Acts 2001, ch. 299, § 1.

33-2-416. Department to investigate reports of
abuse, dereliction or deficiency in
operation of facility — Private cause
of action — Departmental remedies.

(a) The department shall investigate reports of seri-
ous abuse, dereliction or deficiency in the operation of a
licensed service or facility.

(b)(1) A person making any report or investigation
pursuant to this part, including representatives of
the department in the reasonable performance of
their duties and within the scope of their authority,
shall be presumed to be acting in good faith and shall
be immune from any liability, civil or criminal, that
might otherwise be incurred or imposed.

(2) Any such person shall have the same immunity
with respect to participation in any judicial proceed-
ing resulting from the report or investigation.

(3) Any person making a report under this part
shall have a civil cause of action for appropriate
compensatory and punitive damages against any
person who causes a detrimental change in the
employment status of the reporting party by reason
of the report.

(c)(1) The commissioner shall suspend or revoke the

license of any service or facility if serious abuse,

dereliction or deficiency is found and not corrected in

a reasonable time.

(2) The commissioner, in the commissioner’s dis-
cretion, may suspend enrollment in a service or
facility pending resolution of the investigation or of
proceedings to suspend, revoke, or deny the license,
or until the service or facility corrects any serious
abuse, dereliction, or deficiency found in the course of
the investigation. The commissioner may suspend
enrollment in a licensed service or facility based on
probable cause to believe that serious abuse, derelic-
tion, or deficiency in the operation of the licensed
service or facility has occurred or would occur with-
out suspension of enrollment. Suspension of enroll-
ment shall not exceed a period of one hundred twenty
(120) days except that, in the discretion of the com-
missioner, the period may be extended for an addi-
tional period not to exceed one hundred twenty (120)
days. Nothing in this part takes away from the right
of the department to issue an order of summary
suspension of the license pursuant to § 4-5-320(c)

and (d).

History.

Acts 1978, ch. 853, § 13; 1983, ch. 323, § 31; T.C.A., § 33-1812; Acts
1987, ch. 248, § 2; 1994, ch. 760, § 1; T.C.A., § 33-2-512; Acts 2000, ch.
947, § 1; T.C.A. § 33-2-415; Acts 2001, ch. 299, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former § 33-2-416, concerning the provision of services without
license, actions by commissioner, and violations, was transferred to
§ 33-2-417 by Acts 2001, ch. 299, § 1.
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33-2-417. Provision of services without license —
Actions by commissioner —
Violations.

(a) If a commissioner finds that a service or facility is
providing mental health, alcohol and drug abuse pre-
vention and/or treatment, intellectual or developmen-
tal disability services, or personal support services
without a license, the commissioner may, without prior
notice, order the service or facility immediately to cease
and desist from providing mental health, alcohol and
drug abuse prevention and/or treatment, intellectual or
developmental disability services, or personal support
services. Before issuing a cease and desist order, the
commissioner shall find that entering the order is in
the public interest; necessary for the protection of the
health, safety, or welfare of the service recipients of the
service or facility; and consistent with the purposes
fairly intended by this part.

(b) The order shall state the relevant findings of fact
and conclusions of law that support the commissioner’s
finding that entering the order without prior notice is
in the public interest, necessary for the protection of
the service recipients of the service or facility, and
consistent with this part. The order shall provide notice
to the respondent of the respondent’s rights and re-
sponsibilities concerning review of the order.

(c)(1) The owner of the service or facility ordered to

cease and desist operation may seek review of the

order before the commissioner or the commissioner’s

designee under this subsection (c).

(2) The owner or legal representative of the ser-
vice or facility may request an informal conference
before the commissioner or the commissioner’s des-
ignee. The request shall be filed with the commis-
sioner within thirty (30) days of entry of the order.
The commissioner or the commissioner’s designee
shall convene the requested informal conference
within seven (7) days of the date of receipt of the
request. The conference is informal and the service or
facility has the right to be represented by counsel at
all stages of the informal conference.

(3) The sole issue to be determined at the informal
conference is whether the service or facility was
operating without a license as required by this part
prior to or concurrently with the date of the entry of
the order. This part and its rules control this deter-
mination. At the conference the commissioner may
uphold, amend, or rescind the cease and desist order.
Unless contested under subdivision (c)(4), the origi-
nal or amended cease and desist order becomes a
final order within seven (7) days.

(4) If the commissioner or the commissioner’s des-
ignee determines, as a result of the informal confer-
ence, that the cease and desist order should be
amended or should not be rescinded, the owner or
legal representative of the service or facility may
seek review of the order under the Uniform Admin-
istrative Procedures Act, compiled in title 4, chapter
5, part 3. The request shall be made in writing to the
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commissioner within seven (7) days of receipt of

written notice of the commissioner’s decision. Upon

receipt of the request, the commissioner shall imme-
diately refer the matter to the department of state for
initiation of contested case proceedings.

(5) If the respondent fails to request an informal
conference under subdivision (¢)(1), then the cease
and desist order becomes a final order of the commis-
sioner within thirty (30) days of its entry. The service
or facility may obtain judicial review of this final
order in the chancery court of Davidson County
under the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act.
(d) It is a Class B misdemeanor to violate a cease

and desist order lawfully entered by the commissioner.
Each day of operation in violation of the commissioner’s
cease and desist order, calculated from the date of its
service upon the owner or operator of the service or
facility, is a separate offense.

(e) Nothing in this part precludes any person, in-
cluding the department, who is aggrieved by the opera-
tion of an unlicensed service or facility from pursuing
other remedies and sanctions, including those provided
by §§ 33-2-405 and 33-2-412.

History.

Acts 1996, ch. 796, § 1; T.C.A,, § 33-2-513; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1;
T.C.A. § 33-2-416; Acts 2001, ch. 282, § 7; 2001, ch. 299, § 1; 2012, ch.
1010, § 11.

Compiler’s Notes.
Former § 33-2-417, concerning residential facilities, was transferred
to § 33-2-418 by Acts 2001, ch. 299, § 1.

33-2-418. Residential facilities.

(a) Any residential facility that houses persons with
intellectual or developmental disabilities and is re-
quired by law to be licensed by the department shall
not receive a license if the facility houses more than
four (4) persons served and is not licensed on June 23,
2000. The department shall not license more than two
(2) such residential facilities within five hundred yards
(500 yds.) in any direction from other such facilities
housing persons served. All set-back requirements ap-
plicable to lots where such facilities are located shall
apply to such residential facilities.

(b) This section does not apply to:

(1) Housing for persons with mental illness or
serious emotional disturbance;

(2) Housing for residents on property owned or
leased by the state or a corporation that provides
that housing if the property was recorded in the
corporate or state name before January 1, 1989;

(3) Housing for service recipients when the com-
missioner authorizes the transfer of a license at the
same site to a successor provider, if, and only if, the
license holder’s contract with the department is ter-
minated, the transfer of license is necessary to sus-
tain the quality of life of the service recipients, and
the successor provider does not increase the number
of service recipients at the site; or

(4) Housing for persons on a temporary or transi-
tional basis, such as boarding facilities provided by
residential schools or facilities providing services
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through a specialized court program addressing the

needs of individuals both in court custody and dually

diagnosed with an intellectual or developmental dis-

ability and mental illness.

(c) Notwithstanding any law or rule to the contrary,
a residential facility or provider licensed by the depart-
ment of intellectual and developmental disabilities to
provide residential services to persons with intellectual
or developmental disabilities shall not be prohibited
from providing residential services to the elderly or
adults with physical disabilities, so long as the services
are adequate to ensure the health, safety and welfare of
each resident.

History.

Acts 1989, ch. 504, § 1; T.C.A., § 33-5-105; Acts 2000, ch. 947, §§ 1,
6; T.C.A. § 33-2-417; Acts 2002, ch. 730, § 4; 2009, ch. 426, § 1; 2012,
ch. 1010, §§ 12-14.

33-2-419. Standardized training and continuing
education required —
Classifications.

(a) Any individual employed by a personal support
services agency to provide personal support services
must complete standardized training and continuing
education under department rules.

(b) The department may create classifications for
personal support services agencies specializing in a
type of service or care and may require additional
training and continuing education for those classifica-
tions.

History.
Acts 2001, ch. 282, § 8.

33-2-420. Dual licensing not required.

If an agency is licensed as a personal support services
agency under this title, it does not have to be licensed
under title 68, chapter 11, part 2, as a home care
organization to provide personal support services. If an
agency is licensed under title 68, chapter 11, part 2, as
a home care organization, it does not have to be
licensed under this title to provide personal support
services.

History.
Acts 2001, ch. 282, § 9.

Compiler’s Notes.

Acts 2001, ch. 299, effective May 29, 2001, added a new section
designated as § 33-2-408 and renumbered existing §§ 33-2-408
through 33-2-417 as §§ 33-2-409 through 33-2-418. Accordingly, §§ 33-
2-418 and 33-2-419 added by Acts 2001, ch. 282, have been renumbered
as §§ 33-2-419 and 420.

33-2-421. Providers of personal support services.

(a) As used in this section, unless the context other-
wise requires:

(1) “Personal support services agency”’” means a
sole proprietorship, partnership, corporation, limited
liability company, or a limited partnership that pro-
vides personal support services as defined in this
part. “Personal support services agency” includes an
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entity that employs or subcontracts with individuals

who provide personal support services to service

recipients; and

(2) “Personal support services worker” means a
person licensed as a personal support services
agency, or an employee or an individual subcon-
tracted by a personal support services agency who is
providing personal support services pursuant to an
arrangement between a service recipient and a per-
sonal support services agency.

(b) In addition to the standards and requirements
for personal support services as established by rules
adopted by the department, personal support services
agencies shall comply with the requirements in this
section.

(c) A personal support services agency shall provide
to each service recipient a consumer notice before
beginning service, which shall include, at a minimum,
the following:

(1) The duties, responsibilities, obligations and
legal liabilities of the personal support services
agency, the personal support services worker, and the
personal support services recipient. The description
shall clearly set forth the service recipient’s respon-
sibility, if any, for:

(A) Day-to-day supervision of the personal sup-
port services workers;

(B) Assigning duties to the personal support
services worker;

(C) Hiring, firing and discipline of the personal
support services worker;

(D) Provision of equipment or materials for use
by the personal support services worker;

(E) Performing a criminal background check on
the personal support services worker;

(F) Checking the personal support services
worker’s references; and

(G) Ensuring credentials and appropriate licen-
sure/certification of a personal support services
worker; and

(2) A statement identifying the personal support
services agency as an employer, or contractor, as
applicable, of the personal support services worker
along with the responsibility the personal support
services agency will assume for the payment of the
personal support services worker’s wages, including
overtime pay for hours worked in excess of forty (40)
hours in a workweek, taxes, social security, workers’
compensation and unemployment compensation pay-
ments.

(d) A personal support services agency shall provide
a notice to each personal support services worker who
is placed with a service recipient before the worker
provides any service to the service recipient. The
worker notice shall contain the following information:

(1) The relationship between the personal support
services agency and the personal support services
workers; and

(2) A description of the duties, responsibilities,
obligations and legal liabilities of the personal sup-
port services agency, the service recipient, and the
personal support services worker. That description
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shall include the following information:

(A) A statement identifying the employing or
contracting personal support services agency as
responsible for the payment of the personal sup-
port services worker’s wages, including overtime
pay for hours worked in excess of forty (40) hours
in a workweek, taxes, social security, unemploy-
ment and workers’ compensation insurance as pre-
scribed by state and federal law; and

(B) A statement identifying which party will be
responsible for the personal support services work-
er’s hiring, firing, discipline, day-to-day supervi-
sion, assignment of duties and provision of equip-
ment or materials for use by the personal support
services worker.

(e) The notices required under subsection (c) shall be
signed by the service recipient or authorized represen-
tative and retained by the personal support services
agency at its office for not less than two (2) years
following termination of service.

History.
Acts 2007, ch. 408, § 1.

33-2-422. Differentiation between licensed physi-
cians based on maintenance of
certification.

(a) For purposes of this section:

(1) “Maintenance of certification” means any
process requiring periodic recertification examina-
tions or other activities to maintain specialty medi-
cal board certification; and

(2) “Organized medical staff” means an orga-
nized body composed of individuals appointed by a
facility’s governing board that operates under by-
laws approved by the governing body and is re-
sponsible for the quality of medical care provided
to patients by the facility.

(b) Except as otherwise provided by this section,
facilities licensed under this title may only differen-
tiate between licensed physicians based on a physi-
cian’s maintenance of certification in medical staff
privileging and credentialing when authorized
through the following process:

(1) The voting members of the facility’s orga-
nized medical staff vote to adopt the differentia-
tion; and

(2) The facility’s governing body reviews and
approves the action of the medical staff.

(¢) An authorization described by subsection (b)
may:
(1) Establish terms applicable to the facility’s
differentiation, including:

(A) Appropriate grandfathering provisions;
and

(B) Limiting the differentiation to certain
medical specialties; and
(2) Be rescinded at any time when:

(A) The voting members of the facility’s orga-
nized medical staff vote to rescind the differen-
tiating action; and

(B) The facility’s governing body reviews and
approves the rescinding action of the organized
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medical staff.

(d) Nothing in this section restricts a facility’s
ability to differentiate between physicians in medical
staff privileging and credentialing based on a physi-
cian’s maintenance of certification when:

(1) The facility’s designation under law or certi-
fication or accreditation by a national certifying or
accrediting organization is contingent on the facil-
ity requiring a specific maintenance of certification
by physicians seeking staff privileges or credential-
ing at the facility; and

(2) The differentiation is limited to those physi-
cians whose maintenance of certification is re-
quired for the facility’s designation, certification,
or accreditation as described by subdivision (d)(1).
(e) Nothing in this section requires a facility’s

organized medical staff or governing body to recon-
sider or vote to reconsider maintenance of certifica-
tion differentiation or requirements made prior to
July 1, 2018.

History.
Acts 2018, ch. 694, § 1.

33-2-423. Prohibited marketing practices.

(a) The general assembly recognizes that consumers
of substance abuse treatment have disabling conditions
and that consumers and their families are vulnerable
and at risk of being easily victimized by fraudulent
marketing practices that adversely impact the delivery
of health care. To protect the health, safety, and welfare
of this vulnerable population, a service provider of
alcohol and drug services or an operator of an alcohol
and drug treatment facility (ADTF) shall not engage in
any of the following marketing practices:

(1) Making a materially false or misleading state-
ment or providing materially false or misleading
information about the provider’s or operator’s iden-
tity, products, goods, services, or geographical loca-
tions in its marketing, advertising materials, or
media or on its website;

(2) Including on its website false information or
electronic links, coding, or activation that provides
false information or that surreptitiously directs the
reader to another website;

(3) Soliciting, receiving, or making an attempt to
solicit or receive a commission, benefit, rebate, kick-
back, or bribe, directly or indirectly, in cash or in
kind, or engaging or making an attempt to engage in
a split-fee arrangement in return for a referral or an
acceptance or acknowledgement of treatment from a
service provider of alcohol and drug services or
ADTF; or

(4) Entering into a contract with a marketing
provider who agrees to generate referrals or leads for
the placement of patients with a service provider of
alcohol and drug services or in an ADTF through a
call center or a web-based presence. This subdivision
(a)(4) shall not apply if the service provider of alcohol
and drug services or the operator of the ADTF
discloses to the prospective patient, so that the
patient can make an informed healthcare decision, in
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clear and concise language and instructions that

allow the prospective patient to easily determine

whether the marketing provider represents specific

service providers or recovery residences that pay a

fee to the marketing provider, and the identity of

such service providers of alcohol and drug services or

ADTF.

(b) In addition to any other punishment authorized
by law, a person or entity that knowingly violates this
section is subject to suspension or revocation of the
person’s or entity’s license pursuant to § 33-2-407 and
the imposition of civil penalties under § 33-2-409.

History.
Acts 2018, ch. 855, § 1.

33-2-424. Prohibited practices generally.

(a) A treatment facility shall not:

(1) Refer drug tests to an out-of-network labora-
tory if an in-network laboratory is reasonably avail-
able to meet the patient’s drug testing needs;

(2) Order or perform confirmatory testing in the
absence of a documented medical or legal need for the
testing;

(3) Enter into any contract or agreement with a
third-party payor that includes any inducement or
incentive to reduce or limit services to a level or
duration below what is in the best clinical interest of
the patient; or

(4) Request, receive, or retain payment for sub-
stance use disorder treatment services provided to a
patient as a result of conduct described in subdivi-
sion (a)(1), (a)(2), or (a)(3).

(b) In addition to any other punishment authorized
by law, an entity that knowingly violates this section is
subject to suspension or revocation of the entity’s
license pursuant to § 33-2-407 and the imposition of
civil penalties under § 33-2-409.

(c) As used in this section, “treatment facility”
means a developmental center, treatment resource,
group residence, boarding home, sheltered workshop,
activity center, rehabilitation center, hospital, commu-
nity mental health center, counseling center, clinic,
group home, halfway house, or any other entity that
provides a mental health, intellectual, or developmen-
tal disability service or an alcohol and drug abuse
prevention and/or treatment facility.

History.
Acts 2021, ch. 309, § 4.

Compiler’s Notes.

For the Preamble to the act concerning the importance of recovery
residences in the treatment of substance use disorder, please see Acts
2021, ch. 309.

Acts 2021, ch. 309, § 1 provided that the act, which enacted this
section, shall be known and may be cited as the “Stopping Addiction
and Fostering Excellence (SAFE) Act.”

33-2-425. Licensing by other state departments
or agencies.
[Effective on July 1, 2024.]

Mental health facilities and substance abuse facili-
ties that are licensed under this part may additionally
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be licensed by other departments or agencies of this
state.

History.
Acts 2023, ch. 466, § 75.

PART 7

COMMUNITY MENTAL HEALTH CENTER
COOPERATION ACT

33-2-701. Short title.

This part shall be known and may be cited as the
“Community Mental Health Center Cooperation Act of
1998.”

History.
Acts 1998, ch. 1005, § 1; T.C.A., § 33-2-901; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former chapter 2, §§ 33-2-101 — 33-2-108, 33-2-201 — 33-2-202,
33-2-301 — 33-2-311, 33-2-401, 33-2-501 — 33-2-513, 33-2-601 —
33-2-602, 33-2-604, 33-2-701, 33-2-901 — 33-2-909 (Acts 1965, ch. 82,
§ 8; 1973, ch. 341, §§ 3, 4; 1974, ch. 802, § 8; 1975, ch. 248, §§ 1, 3;
1976, ch. 806, § 1(35); 1978, ch. 617, § 2; 1978, ch. 853, §§ 1-9, 11-13;
1979, ch. 199, § 1; 1979, ch. 369, § 1; 1981, ch. 18, § 1; 1981, ch. 98,
§ 5; 1981, ch. 436, §§ 1, 4, 5; 1981, ch. 436, § 3; 1982, ch. 584, §§ 2,
4-12; 1983, ch. 323, §§ 25-28, 31; 33-201, T.C.A. § 33-350, 33-1801,
T.C.A., §§ 33-1803 — 33-1812, T.C.A., §§ 33-1902 — 33-1911; 1985, ch.
437, § 5, 31-32; 1987, ch. 143, §§ 1, 6; 1987, ch. 248, §§ 1-3; 1987, ch.
320, § 1; 1988, ch. 586, § 1; 1988, ch. 828, §§ 3-8; 1988, ch. 875, §§ 1,
2; 1989, ch. 253, § 3; 1989, ch. 254, § 3; 1989, ch. 255, § 2; 1989, ch.
256, § 2;1989, ch. 257,§ 3;1989, ch. 259, § 3;1989, ch. 260, § 3;1989,
ch. 261, § 3; 1989, ch. 271, § 3; 1989, ch. 272, § 3; 1989, ch. 434, § 5;
1989, ch. 513, §§ 1, 14; 1989, ch. 559, §§ 1-4; 1989, ch. 591, § 112;
1991, ch. 459, §§ 9, 10; 1992, ch. 913, § 2; 1993, ch. 234, §§ 22-26;
1994, ch. 760, § 1; 1996, ch. 796, § 1; 1996, ch. 1074, § 1; 1998, ch.
1005, § 1-9; 2000, ch. 947, § 6); § 33-2-603 (Acts 1985, ch. 437, § 31;
1987, ch. 143, § 5), which had been previously repealed by Acts 1988,
ch. 586, § 2; § 33-2-801 (Acts 1989, ch. 513, § 4), which had been
previously repealed by Acts 1993, ch. 234, § 9; §§ 33-2-802 and
33-2-803 (Acts 1989, ch. 513, § 4), which were transferred to §§ 68-24-
602, 68-24-603 in 1993, is deleted and replaced in the revision of title 33
by Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1, effective March 1, 2001.

33-2-702. Statement of policy.

It is the policy of this state to displace competition
among community mental health centers with regula-
tion to the extent set forth in this part and to actively
supervise the regulation to the fullest extent required
by law, in order to promote cooperation and coordina-
tion among community mental health centers in the
provision of mental health services to citizens receiving
the services under programs funded or administered by
departments or agencies of state government, includ-
ing, but not limited to, the TennCare program.

History.

Acts 1998, ch. 1005, § 2; T.C.A., § 33-2-902; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1;
2001, ch. 349, § 2.

33-2-703. Part definitions.

As used in this part, unless the context otherwise
requires:
(1) “Community mental health center” includes
any parent or corporate affiliate of a community
mental health center as defined in § 33-1-101;
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(2) “Cooperative agreement” means an agreement
among two (2) or more community mental health
centers for the offering, provision, operation, coordi-
nation, planning, funding, pricing, contracting, utili-
zation review, or management of mental health and
related services under programs funded or adminis-
tered by departments or agencies of state govern-
ment, including, but not limited to, the TennCare
program, or the sharing, allocation, or referral of
service recipients, personnel, instructional pro-
grams, support services, ancillary services, and fa-
cilities, or other services traditionally offered by
community mental health centers for the programs;
and

(3) “Intervenor” means any hospital, physician,
allied health professional, health care provider or
other person furnishing goods or services to, or in
competition with, community mental health center,
insurer, hospital service corporation, medical service
corporation, hospital and medical services corpora-
tion, preferred provider organization, health mainte-
nance organization, behavioral health organization,
or any employer or association that directly or indi-
rectly provides health care benefits to its employees
or members.

History.
Acts 1998, ch. 1005, § 3; T.C.A., § 33-2-903; Acts 2000, ch. 947, §§ 1,
6.

33-2-704. Cooperative agreements among com-
munity mental health centers — Re-
view by department — Certificate of
public advantage.

(a) A community mental health center may negotiate
and enter into cooperative agreements with other com-
munity mental health centers in the state if the likely
benefits resulting from the agreements outweigh any
disadvantages attributable to a reduction in competi-
tion that may result from the agreements.

(b) Parties to a cooperative agreement may apply to
the department for a certificate of public advantage
governing that cooperative agreement. The application
shall include an executed written copy of the coopera-
tive agreement and describe the nature and scope of
the cooperation in the agreement and any consider-
ation passing to any party under the agreement. A copy
of the application and copies of all additional related
materials shall be submitted to the attorney general
and reporter and to the department at the same time.

(¢) The department shall review the application in
accordance with the standards set forth in subsection
(e) and may hold a public hearing in accordance with
the rules adopted by the department. The department
shall give notice of the application to interested parties
by publishing a notice in the state administrative
register in accordance with the Uniform Administra-
tive Procedures Act, compiled in title 4, chapter 5. Any
intervenor may intervene in the proceeding and shall
have standing under the Uniform Administrative Pro-
cedures Act. The department shall grant or deny the
application within sixty (60) days of the date of filing of
the application, and that decision shall be in writing
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and set forth the basis for the decision. The department
shall furnish a copy of the decision to the applicants,
the attorney general and reporter, and any intervenor.
Should the department determine that additional time
is needed to review the application, the department,
upon written notice to the applicants, the attorney
general and reporter and any intervenor, may extend
the time for review for a period of thirty (30) days
except that, in the discretion of the commissioner, the
period may be extended for an additional thirty (30)
days.

(d) If the cooperative agreement primarily relates to
a program funded or administered by another depart-
ment or agency of state government, the department
may refer the application to that other department or
agency to conduct the review and render the decision
required by this part.

(e) The department shall issue a certificate of public
advantage for a cooperative agreement if it, or the other
department or agency to which the department has
referred the application pursuant to subsection (d),
determines that the likely benefits resulting from the
agreement outweigh any disadvantages attributable to
a reduction in competition that may result from the
agreement.

(f) In evaluating the potential benefits of a coopera-
tive agreement, the department may consider whether
one (1) or more of the following benefits may result
from the cooperative agreement:

(1) Enhanced quality of mental health and mental
health-related care provided to state citizens, espe-
cially those receiving the services under programs
funded or administered by departments or agencies
of state government;

(2) Preservation of community mental health fa-
cilities in geographical proximity to the communities
traditionally served by those facilities;

(3) Gains in the cost-efficiency of services provided
by the community mental health centers involved;

(4) Improvements in the utilization of mental
health resources and equipment;

(5) Avoidance of duplication of mental health re-
sources; and

(6) Enhanced efficiency of the administration of
programs of state government to provide mental
health services to citizens of this state.

(g) The department’s evaluation of any disadvan-
tages attributable to any reduction in competition
likely to result from the agreement may include, but
need not be limited to, the following factors:

(1) The extent of any likely adverse impact on the
ability of health maintenance organizations, pre-
ferred provider organizations, managed health care
organizations or other health care payers to negoti-
ate optimal payment and service arrangements with
community mental health centers, or other health
care providers;

(2) The extent of any reduction in competition
among physicians, allied health professionals, other
health care providers, or other persons furnishing
goods or services to, or in competition with, commu-
nity mental health centers that is likely to result
directly or indirectly from the cooperative
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agreement;

(8) The extent of any likely adverse impact on
persons with mental illness or serious emotional
disturbance in the quality, availability and price of
health care services; and

(4) The availability of arrangements that are less
restrictive to competition and achieve the same ben-
efits or a more favorable balance of benefits over
disadvantages attributable to any reduction in com-
petition likely to result from the agreement.

(h) The department, or other department or agency
to which the department has referred the application
under subsection (d), shall consult with the attorney
general and reporter regarding its evaluation of any
potential reduction in competition resulting from a
cooperative agreement. The attorney general and re-
porter may consult with the United States department
of justice or the federal trade commission regarding its
evaluation of any potential reduction in competition
resulting from a cooperative agreement. Should the
attorney general and reporter, after consultation with
the department, determine that it is necessary to
consult with the United States department of justice or
the federal trade commission, or determines that fur-
ther information is needed to review the application,
the department, upon written notice to the applicant,
attorney general and reporter, and any intervenor, may
extend the time for approval or disapproval of an
application an additional forty-five (45) days.

(i) If the department, or the other department or
agency to which the department has referred the ap-
plication under subsection (d), determines that the
likely benefits resulting from a certified agreement no
longer outweigh any disadvantages attributable to any
potential reduction in competition resulting from the
agreement, the department, or the other department or
agency to which the department has referred the ap-
plication under subsection (d), may initiate contested
case proceedings to terminate the certificate of public
advantage in accordance with the Uniform Administra-
tive Procedures Act.

(j) The department shall maintain on file all coop-
erative agreements for which certificates of public
advantage remain in effect. Any party to a cooperative
agreement who terminates the agreement shall file a
notice of termination.

(k) The department, or the other department or
agency to which the department has referred the ap-
plication under subsection (d), shall review, on at least
an annual basis, each certificate of public advantage it
has granted under this part. The certificate shall be
renewed if it is determined that the certificate contin-
ues to comply with the standards of subsection (e).

(I) Prior to making an application for a certificate of
public advantage, the parties may submit an initial
filing at least forty-five (45) days prior to filing the
application. The initial filing shall summarize the pro-
posed cooperative agreement, describe the affected geo-
graphic market areas and those matters described in
subsections (f) and (g). The department shall review the
initial filing within thirty (30) days of receipt of the
filing, informing the parties of any deficiencies along
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with a statement of specific remedial measures as to
how the deficiencies could be corrected. A review of the
initial filing by the department does not constitute
approval of the final application.

History.
Acts 1998, ch. 1005, § 4; T.C.A., § 33-2-904; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1;
2001, ch. 349, §§ 3-8.

33-2-705. Judicial review of department decision.

Any applicant or intervenor aggrieved by a decision
of the department, or the other department or agency of
state government to which the department has referred
the application under § 33-2-704(d), in granting or
denying an application, refusing to act on an applica-
tion, or terminating a certificate, is entitled to judicial
review of the decision in accordance with Uniform
Administrative Procedures Act, compiled in title 4,
chapter 5.

History.
Acts 1998, ch. 1005, § 5; T.C.A., § 33-2-905; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-2-706. Effect of grant or denial of certificate of
public advantage.

(a) Notwithstanding title 47, chapter 25, or any other
law to the contrary, a cooperative agreement for which
a certificate of public advantage has been issued is a
lawful agreement. Notwithstanding title 47, chapter
25, or any other law to the contrary, if the parties to a
cooperative agreement file an application for a certifi-
cate of public advantage governing the agreement with
the department, the conduct of the parties in negotiat-
ing and entering into a cooperative agreement is lawful
conduct. Nothing in this subsection (a) immunizes any
person for conduct in negotiating and entering into a
cooperative agreement for which an application for a
certificate of public advantage is not filed.

(b) If the department, or the other department or
agency of state government to which the department
has referred the application under § 33-2-704(d), de-
termines that the likely benefits resulting from a coop-
erative agreement do not outweigh any disadvantages
attributable to any potential reduction in competition
resulting from the agreement, the agreement is invalid
and has no further force or effect.

(¢) Any dispute among the parties to a cooperative
agreement concerning its meaning or terms is governed
by principles of contract law.

History.
Acts 1998, ch. 1005, § 6; T.C.A., § 33-2-906; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1;
2001, ch. 349, § 9.

Compiler’s Notes.

Acts 2001, ch. 349, § 10 provided that, notwithstanding any provi-
sion of law to the contrary, any increased costs resulting from that act
in fiscal year 2001-2002 shall be paid from funds in the indigent
defendants’ counsel fund.

33-2-707. Application fees.

The department has the authority to establish rea-
sonable application fees to cover the actual costs of
administering this part by rules adopted in accordance
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with the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act, com-
piled in title 4, chapter 5. The department is authorized
to adopt necessary rules to implement this part in
accordance with the Uniform Administrative Proce-
dures Act.

History.
Acts 1998, ch. 1005, § 7; T.C.A., § 33-2-907; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1;
2003, ch. 149, § 1.

33-2-708. Center not authorized to act as insurer.

Unless otherwise permitted by law, nothing in this
part shall be deemed to grant any community mental
health center or group of community mental health
centers pursuant to a cooperative agreement, the au-
thority to operate as a health maintenance organiza-
tion, preferred provider organization, or insurer with-
out obtaining an appropriate license from the
department of commerce and insurance.

History.
Acts 1998, ch. 1005, § 8; T.C.A., § 33-2-908; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-2-709. Part not deemed to authorize referral
to provider-owned facility in viola-
tion of law.

Nothing in this part shall be deemed to permit any
referral to a provider-owned facility otherwise prohib-
ited by state or federal law.

History.
Acts 1998, ch. 1005, § 9; T.C.A., § 33-2-909; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

PART 11
COSTS IN STATE FACILITIES

33-2-1101. Calculation of charges for service.

(a) The commissioner, with the approval of the comp-
troller of the treasury and the commissioner of finance
and administration, shall establish by rule a method
for determination at least annually of charges for
services and supports provided to service recipients in
programs operated by the department, including the
charges for all institutional or professional services.

(b) Charges shall be calculated using generally ac-
cepted accounting principles.

History.
Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 32; 1996, ch. 795, § 1; T.C.A,, § 33-4-101; Acts
2000, ch. 947, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former chapter 2, §§ 33-2-101 — 33-2-108, 33-2-201 — 33-2-202,
33-2-301 — 33-2-311, 33-2-401, 33-2-501 — 33-2-513, 33-2-601 —
33-2-602, 33-2-604, 33-2-701, 33-2-901 — 33-2-909 (Acts 1965, ch. 82,
§ 8; 1973, ch. 341, §§ 3, 4; 1974, ch. 802, § 8; 1975, ch. 248, §§ 1, 3;
1976, ch. 806, § 1(35); 1978, ch. 617, § 2; 1978, ch. 853, §§ 1-9, 11-13;
1979, ch. 199, § 1; 1979, ch. 369, § 1; 1981, ch. 18, § 1; 1981, ch. 98,
§ 5; 1981, ch. 436, §§ 1, 4, 5; 1981, ch. 436, § 3; 1982, ch. 584, §§ 2,
4-12; 1983, ch. 323, §§ 25-28, 31; 33-201, T.C.A. § 33-350, 33-1801,
T.C.A, §§ 33-1803 — 33-1812, T.C.A., §§ 33-1902 — 33-1911; 1985, ch.
437, § 5, 31-32; 1987, ch. 143, §§ 1, 6; 1987, ch. 248, §§ 1-3; 1987, ch.
320, § 1; 1988, ch. 586, § 1; 1988, ch. 828, §§ 3-8; 1988, ch. 875, §§ 1,
2; 1989, ch. 253, § 3; 1989, ch. 254, § 3; 1989, ch. 255, § 2; 1989, ch.
256, § 2;1989, ch. 257,§ 3;1989, ch. 259, § 3; 1989, ch. 260, § 3;1989,



39 SERVICES AND FACILITIES

ch. 261, § 3; 1989, ch. 271, § 3; 1989, ch. 272, § 3; 1989, ch. 434, § 5;
1989, ch. 513, §§ 1, 14; 1989, ch. 559, §§ 1-4; 1989, ch. 591, § 112;
1991, ch. 459, §§ 9, 10; 1992, ch. 913, § 2; 1993, ch. 234, §§ 22-26;
1994, ch. 760, § 1; 1996, ch. 796, § 1; 1996, ch. 1074, § 1; 1998, ch.
1005, § 1-9; 2000, ch. 947, § 6); § 33-2-603 (Acts 1985, ch. 437, § 31;
1987, ch. 143, § 5), which had been previously repealed by Acts 1988,
ch. 586, § 2; § 33-2-801 (Acts 1989, ch. 513, § 4), which had been
previously repealed by Acts 1993, ch. 234, § 9; §§ 33-2-802 and
33-2-803 (Acts 1989, ch. 513, § 4), which were transferred to §§ 68-24-
602, 68-24-603 in 1993, is deleted and replaced in the revision of title 33
by Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1, effective March 1, 2001.

33-2-1102. Determination of indigency — Peri-
odic payments.

(a) The commissioner, with the approval of the comp-
troller and the commissioner of finance and adminis-
tration, shall establish rules for determining indigence
and payments to be made periodically by nonindigent
recipients of service or their responsible relatives.

(b) Periodic payments by the recipient of service or
the responsible relative shall be based on ability to pay
as determined by factors the commissioner considers
relevant.

History.
Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 32; 1996, ch. 795, § 2; T.C.A.,, § 33-4-102; Acts
2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-2-1103. Persons liable for charges.

If a person is a service recipient in a program
operated by the department or is the parent of an
unemancipated child who is a service recipient in a
program operated by the department, then the person
is liable for the charges for the services and supports
provided.

History.
Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 32; T.C.A. (orig. ed.), 33-4-104; Acts 1996, ch.
795, 8§ 3; T.C.A., § 33-4-103; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-2-1104. Nonindigent recipients.

If a service recipient who is not indigent receives
service from a program operated by the department,
then the department shall at least annually establish
an amount to be paid periodically by the service recipi-
ent and each responsible relative.

History.
Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 32; T.C.A. (orig. ed.), § 33-4-106; Acts 1996, ch.
795, § 4: T.C.A., § 33-4-105; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-2-1105. Information from liable parties — Ef-
fect of failure to provide
information.

(a) The service recipient who receives services and
supports, the service recipient’s conservator or guard-
ian, and persons who are legally liable for charges for
services and supports shall furnish all information that
the department deems necessary to determine the
person’s financial liability.

(b) If a person willfully refuses to provide the infor-
mation or knowingly provides false information that
results in an underassessment of liability, the person is
liable for the total charges for services and supports
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provided and for the amount of the state’s expenses
incurred in recovering the amounts, including attorney
salaries or fees.

History.
Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 32; 1996, ch. 795, § 5; T.C.A., § 33-4-107; Acts
2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-2-1106. Person receiving services under court
order.

If a service recipient obtains services and supports
under a court order from a program operated by the
department, the department may demand any of the
service recipient’s money that is in the custody of the
court and credit it to the service recipient’s account.

History.
Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 32; 1996, ch. 795, § 6; T.C.A., § 33-4-108; Acts
2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-2-1107. Claims against recipients.

The state has a continuing claim against the recipi-
ent of service from a program operated by the depart-
ment and the recipient’s estate and against responsible
relatives for any unpaid difference between what the
department determines the person owes and what was
paid for the service provided. If the recipient of service
dies, or a responsible relative of the recipient of service
dies, and the commissioner presents a claim for a sum
unpaid and owing to the state on account of the
recipient of service, then the claim shall be paid from
the estate of the deceased person.

History.
Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 32; T.C.A. (orig. ed.), 33-4-110; Acts 1996, ch.
795,§ 7; T.C.A., § 33-4-109; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-2-1108. Voluntary contribution of funds.

If a person who is not legally responsible to pay for a
service recipient’s care contributes funds voluntarily
for the service recipient’s care, the department may
accept the funds.

History.
Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 32; 1996, ch. 795, § 8; T.C.A., § 33-4-111; Acts
2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-2-1109. Prohibition on maintenance at state’s
expense.

(a) No service recipient may receive care at the
expense of the state in a program operated by the
department except:

(1) One who is indigent;

(2) A person subject to evaluation, diagnosis or
treatment under chapter 5, part 5 of this title, or
chapter 7, part 3 of this title and charged with a
felony, or chapter 7, part 4 of this title;

(38) A person whose service is paid for, in part, by
state or federal government and the payment is
conditioned on the department’s acceptance of it as
full satisfaction of the person’s liability; or

(4) A person whose service is paid for by the
service recipient or another person or a third party
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and the department determines, under standards
approved by the commissioner of finance and admin-
istration and the comptroller of the treasury, that the
state’s interests are best served by accepting pay-
ment offered as full satisfaction of the service recipi-
ent’s liability.

(b) Subdivision (a)(4) does not apply to any claim for
payment for which the state has a suit pending to
recover payment.

History.

Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 32; 1996, ch. 795, 8§ 9; T.C.A., § 33-4-112; Acts

2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2002, ch. 730, § 7; 2009, ch. 531, § 33.

Compiler’s Notes.

For the Preamble to the act concerning the operation and funding of
state government and to fund the state budget for the fiscal years
beginning on July 1, 2008, and July 1, 2009, please refer to Acts 2009,
ch. 531.

33-2-1110. Discrimination for inability to pay
prohibited.

There shall be no discrimination in provision of
services or supports based on inability to pay.

History.
Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 32; 1996, ch. 795,§ 10; T.C.A., § 33-4-113; Acts
2000, ch. 947, § 1.

PART 12
PERSONNEL AND VOLUNTEERS

33-2-1201. Department employees, volunteers
and applicants to submit to back-
ground check and fingerprinting.

(a) To help the department determine the suitability
of a person for volunteer services or employment and
verify the accuracy of information submitted in support
of an application to work for the department, any
person who applies to work for the department as an
employee, or any volunteer, whose function would in-
clude direct contact with or direct responsibility for
persons with mental illness, serious emotional distur-
bance, or developmental disabilities shall:

(1) Agree to the release of all investigative records
about the person from any source, including federal,
state and local governments; and

(2) Supply a fingerprint sample for the conduct of
a criminal background investigation by the Tennes-
see bureau of investigation. If no disqualifying record
is identified, the bureau shall send the fingerprints to
the federal bureau of investigation for a national
criminal history record check.

(b) The department shall pay the costs for conduct-
ing any investigation under this section.
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History.
Acts 1996, ch. 993, § 1; 1997, ch. 305, § 1; 1999, ch. 466, § 1; T.C.A.
§ 33-1-209(a), (b); Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2004, ch. 565, § 11.

33-2-1202. Organizations to perform background
checks on employees.

(a) As used in this section and § 38-6-109, “organi-
zation” means a facility or service licensed under chap-
ter 2, part 4 of this title.

(b) Each organization shall have a criminal back-
ground check completed on any employee or volunteer
who will be in a position that involves providing direct
contact with or direct responsibility for service recipi-
ents. The background check shall be completed before
allowing the person to have any direct contact with or
direct responsibility for service recipients. The persons
applying for employment shall:

(1) Provide past work history containing a con-
tinuous description of activities over the past five (5)
years;

(2) Identify at least three (3) individuals as per-
sonal references, one (1) of whom shall have known
the applicant for at least five (5) years;

(3) Release all investigative records to the organi-
zation for examination for the purpose of verifying
the accuracy of criminal violation information con-
tained on an application to work for the organization,;
and

(4)(A) Supply fingerprint samples to be submitted

for a criminal history records check to be conducted

by the Tennessee bureau of investigation or the
federal bureau of investigation; or

(B) Release information for a criminal back-
ground investigation by a state licensed private
investigation company.

(c)(1) The organization shall check past work and
personal references prior to employment of appli-
cants. At a minimum the organization shall commu-
nicate directly with the most recent employer and
each employer identified by the applicant as having
employed the applicant for more than six (6) months
in the past five (5) years. The organization shall
communicate directly with at least two (2) of the
personal references identified by the applicant.

(2) Subsection (b) and this subsection (c) shall not
apply to organizations which contract with the divi-
sion of intellectual disabilities services for residential
services, day services or supported employment ser-
vices and such organizations shall comply with sub-
section (e).

(3) The organization shall check the registry
maintained by the department of health pursuant to
§ 68-11-1001 prior to employment of applicants or
their use as a volunteer in the organization. No
individual who is listed on the registry may be hired
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or otherwise permitted to provide services in the

organization.

(d) Any cost incurred by the Tennessee bureau of
investigation, the federal bureau of investigation, or a
state licensed private investigation company shall be
paid by the organization requesting the investigation
and information. If the background check is conducted
by the Tennessee bureau of investigation or the federal
bureau of investigation, the payment of the costs shall
be made in the amounts established by § 38-6-103.

(e)(1) Notwithstanding subsection (b), only with re-

spect to organizations which contract with the de-

partment of intellectual and developmental disabili-
ties for residential services, day services or supported
employment services, each such organization shall
have a criminal background check completed prior to
employing any person who will be in a position that
involves providing direct care to a service recipient. If

a current employee of such organization has a change

of responsibilities that includes direct care to a

service recipient, then the organization shall have a

criminal background check completed prior to such

change. The organization shall inform the employee
that it will conduct a background check. The em-
ployee shall:

(A) Provide past work history containing a con-
tinuous description of activities over the past five
(5) years;

(B) Identify at least three (3) individuals as
personal references, one (1) of whom shall have
known the applicant for at least five (5) years;

(C) Release all investigative records to the orga-
nization for examination for the purpose of verify-
ing the accuracy of criminal violation information
contained on an application to work for the orga-
nization; and

(D)d) Supply fingerprint samples to be submit-

ted for a criminal history records check to be

conducted by the Tennessee bureau of investiga-
tion or the federal bureau of investigation; or

(i) Release information for a criminal back-
ground investigation by a state licensed private
investigation company.

(2) An organization which contracts with the divi-
sion of intellectual disabilities services for residential
services, day services or supported employment ser-
vices shall check past work and personal references
prior to employment of applicants. At a minimum
such organization shall communicate directly with
the most recent employer and each employer identi-
fied by the applicant as having employed the appli-
cant for more than six (6) months in the past five (5)
years. The organization shall communicate directly
with at least two (2) of the personal references
identified by the applicant. Prior to employment, the
organization shall submit the information required
to be provided by this subsection (e) to the entity that
will conduct the criminal background check.

(3) An organization which contracts with the de-
partment of intellectual and developmental disabili-
ties shall check the registry maintained by the de-
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partment of health pursuant to § 68-11-1001 prior to

employment of applicants or their use as volunteers

in the organization. No individual who is listed on
the registry may be hired or otherwise permitted to
provide services in the organization.

(f) Notwithstanding any provision of this section to
the contrary, background checks for employees of state-
operated intermediate care facilities for individuals
with intellectual disabilities shall fully comply with
§ 33-2-1201.

History.

Acts 1996, ch. 993, § 1; 1997, ch. 305, § 1; 1999, ch. 466,§ 1; T.C.A.,
§ 33-1-209(c); Acts 2000, ch. 981, § 53; 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2010, ch.
1084, §§ 3, 4; 2011, ch. 165, §§ 1, 2; 2014, ch. 668, § 3; 2016, ch. 1044,
§8 9, 10; 2017, ch. 427, § 2.

Compiler’s Notes.

The division of intellectual disabilities services (DIDS), referred to in
this section, was replaced by the department of intellectual and
developmental disabilities by Acts 2010, ch. 1100, effective January 15,
2011.

PART 13
CONFLICT OF INTEREST

33-2-1301. Department officers, employees and li-
censees to disclose interest in men-
tal health facilities — Conflict of
interest.

IF
(1)(A) a person is an officer or employee of the
department, OR
(B) a person is an officer or employee of a li-
censee of the department, AND
(2)(A) the person or the person’s spouse, parent,
grandparent, brother, sister, or child has an own-
ership interest in a residential facility that is not
publicly held or an ownership interest in a busi-
ness that is not publicly held that owns or manages
a residential facility that provides mental health or
developmental disabilities services or supports, OR
(B) the person or combination of persons named
in subdivision (2)(A) has an ownership interest of
at least thirty-five percent (35%) in a residential
facility that is publicly held that provides mental
health or developmental disabilities services, OR
(C) the person or combination of persons named
in subdivision (2)(A), has an ownership interest of
at least thirty-five percent (35%) in a business that
is publicly held that owns or manages a residential
facility that provides mental health or develop-
mental disabilities services,
THEN
(3) the person shall disclose the interest to the
department or licensee, AND
(4) the person may not serve in a capacity of
decision making or influence or responsibility for the
direct referral or placement of persons to any resi-
dential facility that provides mental health or devel-
opmental disabilities services or supports.
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History.
Acts 1996, ch. 669, § 1; T.C.A., § 33-3-112(a); Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former chapter 2, §§ 33-2-101 — 33-2-108, 33-2-201 — 33-2-202,
33-2-301 — 33-2-311, 33-2-401, 33-2-501 — 33-2-513, 33-2-601 —
33-2-602, 33-2-604, 33-2-701, 33-2-901 — 33-2-909 (Acts 1965, ch. 82,
§ 8; 1973, ch. 341, §§ 3, 4; 1974, ch. 802, § 8; 1975, ch. 248, §§ 1, 3;
1976, ch. 806, § 1(35); 1978, ch. 617, § 2; 1978, ch. 853, §§ 1-9, 11-13;
1979, ch. 199, § 1; 1979, ch. 369, § 1; 1981, ch. 18, § 1; 1981, ch. 98,
§ 5; 1981, ch. 436, §§ 1, 4, 5; 1981, ch. 436, § 3; 1982, ch. 584, §§ 2,
4-12; 1983, ch. 323, §§ 25-28, 31; 33-201, T.C.A. § 33-350, 33-1801,
T.C.A,, §§ 33-1803 —33-1812, T.C.A,, §§ 33-1902 — 33-1911; 1985, ch.
437, § 5, 31-32; 1987, ch. 143, §§ 1, 6; 1987, ch. 248, §§ 1-3; 1987, ch.
320, § 1; 1988, ch. 586, § 1; 1988, ch. 828, §§ 3-8; 1988, ch. 875, §§ 1,
2; 1989, ch. 253, § 3; 1989, ch. 254, § 3; 1989, ch. 255, § 2; 1989, ch.
256, 8§ 2;1989, ch. 257,§ 3;1989, ch. 259, § 3; 1989, ch. 260, § 3; 1989,
ch. 261, § 3; 1989, ch. 271, § 3; 1989, ch. 272, § 3; 1989, ch. 434, § 5;
1989, ch. 513, §§ 1, 14; 1989, ch. 559, §§ 1-4; 1989, ch. 591, § 112;
1991, ch. 459, §§ 9, 10; 1992, ch. 913, § 2; 1993, ch. 234, §§ 22-26;
1994, ch. 760, § 1; 1996, ch. 796, § 1; 1996, ch. 1074, § 1; 1998, ch.
1005, § 1-9; 2000, ch. 947, § 6); § 33-2-603 (Acts 1985, ch. 437, § 31;
1987, ch. 143, § 5), which had been previously repealed by Acts 1988,
ch. 586, § 2; § 33-2-801 (Acts 1989, ch. 513, § 4), which had been
previously repealed by Acts 1993, ch. 234, § 9; §§ 33-2-802 and
33-2-803 (Acts 1989, ch. 513, § 4), which were transferred to §§ 68-24-
602, 68-24-603 in 1993, is deleted and replaced in the revision of title 33
by Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1, effective March 1, 2001.

33-2-1302. Penalty for violation of § 33-2-1301.

(a) If a person violates § 33-2-1301, the commis-
sioner shall assess a civil penalty of one thousand five
hundred dollars ($1,500) per incident against the per-
son for each violation.

(b) Apenalty shall be assessed only after an informal
hearing is held in the same manner as an informal
hearing is held prior to the suspension of a license
under § 4-5-320(d).

(c¢) If services or supports to a recipient of mental
health or developmental disabilities services or sup-
ports have been provided in violation of § 33-2-1301,
the commissioner may:

(1) Require transfer of the recipient of services or
supports to another provider of services or supports
as soon as is reasonably practical;

(2) Authorize the recipient of services or supports
to remain with the provider of services or supports if
the commissioner determines it to be in the best
interests of the recipient of services or supports to
remain with the provider of services or supports;

(3) Restrict the referral of other recipients of ser-
vices or supports to the provider of services or
supports;

(4) Exercise a combination of the preceding pow-
ers; or

(5) Impose any other appropriate sanctions in the
discretion of the commissioner.

History.
Acts 1996, ch. 669, § 1; T.C.A., § 33-3-112(b); Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-2-1303. Contractors to disclose interest in
facility.

A person to whom this part applies shall disclose the
information required by this part before being hired or
as a part of a contract entered into with a provider of
mental health or developmental disabilities services or
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supports. Failure to disclose the information shall
subject the person to removal from the position held or
the contract to cancellation or renegotiation.

History.
Acts 1996, ch. 669, § 1; T.C.A., § 33-3-112(c); Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-2-1304. Personnel records to indicate conflict
of interest as reason for relief of
duties.

If a person is relieved of decision-making authority or
responsibility under this part, the personnel records of
the officer or employee shall state that the officer or
employee was relieved of authority or responsibility
solely to conform to this part.

History.
Acts 1996, ch. 669, § 1; T.C.A,, § 33-3-112(d); Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

CHAPTER 3

GENERAL RULES APPLICABLE TO SERVICE
RECIPIENTS

Part 1. General Rights of All Service Recipients

SECTION.

33-3-101. Rights of persons under this title equal to those of other
persons except as limited by this title — Records.

33-3-102. Specific rights protected.

33-3-103. Confidentiality of mental health records.

33-3-104. Persons who may consent to disclosure of confidential infor-
mation.

33-3-105. Disclosure of confidential information without consent.

33-3-106. Disclosure to advocacy agency — Disclosure to organization
paying for treatment — Limitations.

33-3-107. Rules relating to disclosure of confidential information.

33-3-108. Access permitted for reports of harm and granting of access
in cases of abuse.

33-3-109. Release of information to family members and other desig-
nated persons — Acceptance of information from
family members of service recipients.

33-3-110. Disclosure to law enforcement agencies in cases of felony
acts of bodily harm or sexual abuse.

33-3-111. Records of child service recipient not available to person
accused of abusing recipient — Exceptions and limi-
tations.

33-3-112. Disclosure to service recipient of records kept and proce-
dures for accessing records.

33-3-113. Request by recipient to have record amended.

33-3-114. Exceptions to evidentiary privilege of mental health profes-
sionals.

33-3-115. Information to be collected and reported to the federal
bureau of investigation-NICS index and the depart-
ment of safety by any clerk of court that maintains
records of an adjudication as a mental defective or a
judicial commitment to a mental institution.

33-3-116. Penalty for violation.

33-3-117. Reporting to local law enforcement by inpatient treatment
facility of involuntary commitment of service recipi-
ent.

33-3-118, 33-3-119. [Reserved.]

33-3-120. Isolation and restraints prohibited — Exceptions and limi-
tations.

33-3-121 — 33-3-124. [Reserved.]

33-3-125. Professional not to be related or to have financial interest.

33-3-126. Right to religious expression.

Part 2. Special Liability Rules

33-3-201. Liability of counselor for suicide or attempted suicide of
person counseled.

33-3-202. Director of not-for-profit corporation providing service not
liable for torts of recipients.

33-3-203 — 33-3-205. [Reserved.]
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SECTION.

33-3-206. Duty to predict, warn or take precautions to provide protec-
tion — Liability.

33-3-207. Discharge of duty.

33-3-208. Duty of employees who transmit or record patient commu-
nications.

33-3-209. Immunity from liability where duty satisfied.

33-3-210. Reporting to local law enforcement by a qualified mental
health professional or behavior analyst of an actual
threat of serious bodily harm or death against an
identifiable victim.

33-3-211. [Reserved.]

33-3-212. Immunity for refusal to perform act prohibited by this title.

33-3-213 — 33-3-216. [Reserved.]

33-3-217. Uniform assessment process for determining recipient’s de-
cision making capacity.

33-3-218. Decision making capacity of recipient.

33-3-219. Surrogate decision maker for medical decisions — Immunity
from liability.

33-3-220. Eligibility to serve as surrogate decision maker.

33-3-221. Immunity of medical professional acting in accordance with
decision of surrogate decision maker.

Part 3. Transfers of Residential Service Recipients
33-3-301. Transfer between facilities.

Part 4. Transfers from Department of Correction and Department of
Children’s Services

33-3-401. Mentally ill or intellectually disabled minors in youth devel-
opment centers.

Mentally ill or intellectually disabled adult inmates.

Emergency residential care and treatment.

Transfer committees — Appointment of members.

Transfer committee — Chair — Vice chair — Voting —
Hearings — Rights of transferees — Evidence.

Approval or disapproval of transfer.

When person to be transferred.

Determination of appropriateness of transfer.

Return of transferee from public facility.

Return of transferee from private facility.

Runaways — Custody.

Emergency residential care and treatment for minors in
youth development centers.

33-3-402.
33-3-403.
33-3-404.
33-3-405.

33-3-406.
33-3-407.
33-3-408.
33-3-409.
33-3-410.
33-3-411.
33-3-412.

Part 5. Judicial Procedures Generally

33-3-501. Patient or resident not released during pendency of proceed-
ings — Exceptions.

Record of proceedings — Copy of court order with recipient’s
history to hospital or developmental center.

Costs of proceedings.

Physician, psychologist, or other person, as witness.

Use of audio visual technology in judicial proceeding.

Delivery of pleadings and certificates of need for care and
treatment by telefax transmission.

33-3-502.

33-3-503.
33-3-504.
33-3-505.
33-3-506.

Part 6. Judicial Procedures for Residential Treatment

33-3-601.
33-3-602.
33-3-603.
33-3-604.
33-3-605.
33-3-606.
33-3-607.
33-3-608.

Application of part.

Contents of complaint for commitment.

Jurisdiction and venue.

[Reserved.]

Service on defendant.

Time for hearing.

Examination of defendant — Detention and release.

Attorney — Notification of representation — Appointment
by court.

Jury trial.

Place of hearing.

Transportation to hearing.

Evidence — Witnesses — Continuances — Presence or
exclusion of defendant.

Conduct of hearing.

Names of examining professionals — Availability to defen-
dant.

Testimony of professionals — Depositions or affidavits.

Place of detention.

Requisites for commitment.

33-3-609.
33-3-610.
33-3-611.
33-3-612.

33-3-613.
33-3-614.

33-3-615.
33-3-616.
33-3-617.

33-3-101

SECTION.

33-3-618. Dismissal of proceedings — Release of defendant.

33-3-619. Commitment to involuntary care — Disclosure of informa-
tion.

33-3-620. Appeals.

Part 7. Judicial Procedures for Review of Transfers

33-3-701.
33-3-702.
33-3-703.
33-3-704.
33-3-705.
33-3-706.
33-3-707.

Commencement of proceedings.

Notice of complaint and hearing.

When hearings held — Continuances.

Transferee’s attorney.

Jury trial.

Place of hearings — Exclusion of public.

Evidence — Witnesses — Continuances — Presence or
exclusion of transferee.

Hearings informal.

Testimony of examining professionals — Depositions and
affidavits.

Findings by court or jury.

Limitations on filing complaint.

33-3-708.
33-3-709.

33-3-710.
33-3-T11.

Part 8. Habeas Corpus

33-3-801.
33-3-802.
33-3-803.
33-3-804.

Right to file for writ of habeas corpus.

Determination of mental condition of person seeking release.
Disposition of case.

Order of discharge.

Part 9. Violations of Service Recipient Rights

33-3-901. Wrongful hospitalization or admission — Instituting wrong-

ful action — Penalties — Immunity.

33-3-902. Furnishing false information — Misdemeanor.

33-3-903. Sexual relations with service recipient.

33-3-904. Aiding or abetting escape — Inciting service recipient to
violence — Supplying with dangerous or intoxicating
substances.

PART 1

GENERAL RIGHTS OF ALL SERVICE
RECIPIENTS

33-3-101. Rights of persons under this title equal
to those of other persons except as
limited by this title — Records.

(a) No person shall be deprived of liberty on the
grounds that the person has or is believed to have a
mental illness, a serious emotional disturbance, a de-
velopmental disability, or is in need of service for such
a condition except in accordance with this title.

(b) A person with mental illness, serious emotional
disturbance, or developmental disability has the same
rights as all other persons except to the extent that the
person’s rights are curtailed in accordance with this
title or other law.

(¢c) A person with mental illness, serious emotional
disturbance, or developmental disability shall be pro-
vided services or supports, to the extent that facilities,
equipment and personnel are available, in accordance
with community standards.

(d) The chief officer shall keep records detailing
services or supports received by each person. Records
shall be preserved by the chief officer for not less than
ten (10) years after termination of service. The records
may be generated, maintained, or transferred in whole
or in part to any recording medium that assures
accurate preservation of the record. If a record is
transferred from one medium to another, the source
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record may be destroyed upon determination by the
chief officer that the reproduced record is true and
correct and will be accurately preserved. The repro-
duced record is deemed to be the original record.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; T.C.A. § 33-4-102; Acts 2002, ch. 730, § 23.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former chapter 3, §§ 33-3-101 — 33-3-112, 33-3-201 — 33-3-203,
33-3-301 — 33-3-303, 33-3-401 — 33-3-412, 33-3-501 — 504, 33-3-601
— 33-3-603, 33-3-605 — 33-3-619, 33-3-623, 33-3-701 — 33-3-711,
33-3-801, 33-3-901 — 33-3-908 (Acts 1955, ch. 187, § 1; 1965, ch. 38,
§§ 4-7, 16-19, 23-26; 1974, ch. 802, §§ 17-20, 22-25, 29-32; 1975, ch.
248, §§ 1, 5-7, 11; 1976, ch. 489, §§ 1, 2; 1976, ch. 763, §§ 1, 2, 10;
1977, ch. 482, § 11; 1978, ch. 533, §§ 3-5; 1978, ch. 533, § 7; 1978, ch.
877, §§ 1, 2; 1979, ch. 366, § 15; 1980, ch. 838, § 5; 1983, ch. 323,
§ 4-7, 9, 12, 15, 16; T.C.A. §§ 33-303 — 33-307, 33-309 — 33-312,
33-317 — 33-320, 33-330 — 33-337, 33-345 — 33-347, 33-355, 33-360 —
33-362, 33-364 — 33-378, 33-382, 33-610, 33-1101; Acts 1984, ch. 922,
§§ 2-5, 7, 16-23, 34; 1984, ch. 986, §§ 1, 2; 1985, ch. 437, §§ 6-13, 33;
1986, ch. 570, §§ 2-4; 1986, ch. 836, § 3, 5; 1987, ch. 143, §§ 2, 3, 7;
1988, ch. 828, § 1; 1989, ch. 278, §§ 30-33; 1989, ch. 513, §§ 2, 5-13;
1989, ch. 591, §§ 29-31, 113; 1992, ch. 991, § 13; 1993, ch. 66, § 44;
1993, ch. 439, § 1; 1993, ch. 356, § 4; 1994, ch. 630, §§ 1, 2; 1994, ch.
743,§ 1;1995, ch. 320, § 1;1995, ch. 411,§ 1;1996, ch. 669, § 1;1996,
ch. 675, § 15; 1996, ch. 1079, §§ 31-47, 49-56; 2000, ch. 947, § 6);
§ 33-3-304 (Acts 1974, ch. 464, § 1; 1975, ch. 248, § 20; T.C.A,,
§ 33-702), which was previously repealed by Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 33;
§ 33-3-604 (Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 9; T.C.A., § 33-363), which was
repealed by Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 33;§ 33-3-620, which was previously
transferred to § 33-6-104(e) and (f) in 1984; § 33-3-621, which was
previously transferred to § 33-6-104(g) in 1984; and § 33-3-622, which
was previously transferred to § 33-6-104(h) in 1984, is deleted and
replaced in the revision of title 33 by Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1, effective
March 1, 2001.

Former § 33-4-102 was transferred and designated as subsection (c)
of this section in 2002. See the Compiler’s Notes under former § 33-4-
102 for the history of subsection (c) prior to its transfer.

33-3-102. Specific rights protected.

(a) No person with mental illness, serious emotional
disturbance, or developmental disability hospitalized
or admitted, whether voluntarily or involuntarily, or
ordered to participate in nonresidential treatment or
service under this title, shall, solely by reason of the
hospitalization, admission, or order, be denied the right
to dispose of property, execute instruments, make pur-
chases, enter into contractual relationships, give in-
formed consent to treatment, and vote, unless:

(1) The service recipient has been adjudicated
incompetent by a court of competent jurisdiction and
has not been restored to legal capacity; or

(2) The denial is authorized by state or federal
statute.

(b) No person shall make decisions for a service
recipient on the basis of a claim to be the service
recipient’s conservator, legal guardian, guardian ad
litem, caregiver under title 34, chapter 6, part 3, or to
be acting under a durable power of attorney for health
care under title 34, chapter 6, part 2, until the person
has presented written evidence of the person’s status.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2002, ch. 730, § 9; 2004, ch. 565, § 2.

Compiler’s Notes.

The former last undesignated paragraph of (a) which read: “If the
chief officer of a facility in which a service recipient is hospitalized or
admitted is of the opinion that the service recipient is unable to

MENTAL HEALTH, SUBSTANCE ABUSE, DISABILITIES 44

exercise any of the aforementioned rights, the chief officer shall notify
immediately the service recipient and the service recipient’s attorney,
parent, legal custodian, spouse or other nearest known adult relative of
the fact, and the chief officer may file for the appointment of a
conservator and shall notify those persons as to whether the chief
officer intends to do so.” was transferred to § 33-4-110 in 2002.

33-3-103. Confidentiality of
records.

mental health

All applications, certificates, records, reports, legal
documents, and pleadings made and all information
provided or received in connection with services applied
for, provided under, or regulated under this title and
directly or indirectly identifying a service recipient or
former service recipient shall be kept confidential and
shall not be disclosed by any person except in compli-
ance with this part.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-104. Persons who may consent to disclosure
of confidential information.

Information about a service recipient that is confi-
dential under § 33-3-103 may be disclosed with the
consent of:

(1) The service recipient who is sixteen (16) years
of age or over;

(2) The conservator of the service recipient;

(3) The attorney in fact under a power of attorney
who has the right to make disclosures under the
power;

(4) The parent, legal guardian, or legal custodian
of a service recipient who is a child;

(5) The service recipient’s guardian ad litem for
the purposes of the litigation in which the guardian
ad litem serves;

(6) The treatment review committee for a service
recipient who has been involuntarily committed;

(7) The executor, administrator or personal repre-
sentative on behalf of a deceased service recipient;

(8) The caregiver under title 34, chapter 6, part 3;
or

(9) An individual acting as an agent under the
Tennessee Health Care Decisions Act, compiled in
title 68, chapter 11, part 18 or a person’s surrogate as
designated under title 68, chapter 11, part 18.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2004, ch. 565, § 3; 2013, ch. 238, § 4.

33-3-105. Disclosure of confidential information
without consent.

Information that is confidential under § 33-3-103
may be disclosed without consent of the service recipi-
ent if:

(1) Disclosure is necessary to carry out duties
under this title;

(2) Disclosure may be necessary to assure service
or care to the service recipient by the least drastic
means that are suitable to the service recipient’s
liberty and interests;
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(3) As a court orders, after a hearing, upon its
determination that disclosure is necessary for the
conduct of proceedings before it and that failure to
make the disclosure would be contrary to public
interest or to the detriment of a party to the
proceedings;

(4) It is solely information as to a residential
service recipient’s overall medical condition without
clinical details and is sought by the service recipi-
ent’s family members, relatives, conservator, legal
guardian, legal custodian, guardian ad litem, foster
parents, or friends;

(5) A service recipient moves from one service
provider to another and exchange of information is
necessary for continuity of service;

(6) A custodial agent for another state agency that
has legal custody of the service recipient cannot
perform the agent’s duties properly without the in-
formation; or

(7) Necessary for the preparation of a post-mortem
examination report in accordance with § 38-7-110(e)
and authorized to be obtained pursuant to § 38-7-
117(b).

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2002, ch. 730, § 10; 2016, ch. 672, § 1.

33-3-106. Disclosure to advocacy agency — Dis-
closure to organization paying for
treatment — Limitations.

(a) If the head of the federally mandated protection
and advocacy agency for persons with mental illness,
serious emotional disturbance, or developmental dis-
ability, or the designated representative of the agency
head, requests disclosure of information protected by
§ 33-3-103 and specifies the personally identifiable
service recipient information sought and the federally
mandated function for which it is required, the infor-
mation may be disclosed to the agency without consent.
The disclosure of information shall be made solely for
use in connection with the federally mandated func-
tion. The disclosures are subject to federal confidenti-
ality laws, including the requirement that there be no
further disclosure of the personally identifiable infor-
mation by the agency without consent of the service
recipient or conservator or of the parent’s or legal
guardian’s consent in the case of a child. The service
provider shall notify the service recipient, a child
service recipient’s parent or legal guardian, and the
service recipient’s conservator, if any, of the disclosure.
All public and private service providers shall cooperate
with the agency in responding to requests, including,
but not limited to, those made under the Developmen-
tal Disabilities Assistance and Bill of Rights Act of 1975
(42 U.S.C. § 6000 et seq.); the Protection and Advocacy
for Mentally Ill Individuals (PAMII) Act of 1986 (42
U.S.C. § 10801 et seq.); and the Protection and Advo-
cacy for Individual Rights Act (29 U.S.C. § 794e).

(b) If an organization may pay for a service provid-
er’s service to a service recipient, the service provider
may disclose to the organization without service recipi-
ent consent only such information about the service
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recipient as is reasonably necessary to obtain timely
payment. Disclosures are on the condition that there be
no further disclosure of the personally identifiable
information by the agency without service recipient
consent.

(c) If the department determines that an emergency
substantially impairs a provider’s capacity to provide
service to its service recipients and the department
appoints a receiver for service recipient information,
the service recipient’s information may be transferred
to a new service provider without service recipient
consent.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2002, ch. 730, § 11.

Compiler’s Notes.

The Developmental Disabilities Assistance and Bill of Rights Act of
1975,42U.S.C. § 6000 et seq., has been replaced by the Developmental
Disabilities Assistance and Bill of Rights Act of 2000, compiled as 42
U.S.C. § 15001 et seq.

33-3-107. Rules relating to disclosure of confiden-
tial information.

The department may adopt rules to implement § 33-
3-103 — 33-3-114, including rules on the form, content,
and means of consent and disclosure, scope of permis-
sible disclosure, and definitions of terms.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-108. Access permitted for reports of harm
and granting of access in cases of
abuse.

(a) Section 33-3-103 does not preclude making re-
ports of harm or granting access to records if making
reports of harm or granting access to records is ex-
pressly required by:

(1) The Child Abuse Reporting Law, compiled in

title 37, chapter 1, part 4;

(2) The Child Sexual Abuse Reporting Law, com-
piled in title 37, chapter 1, part 6; or
(3) The Adult Protective Services Law, compiled in

title 71, chapter 6.

(b)(1) The identity of a person who reports abuse,

exploitation, fraud, neglect, misappropriation or mis-

treatment to the department is confidential and may
not be disclosed without the person’s consent, except
as follows:
(A) As necessary to carry out the laws cited in
subsection (a);
(B) To employees of the department as neces-
sary to investigate the report;
(C) To the abuse registry;
(D) To the appropriate district attorney general;
(E) By order of a court with jurisdiction over
abuse, exploitation, fraud, neglect, misappropria-
tion or mistreatment; or
(F) By order of a court or administrative law
judge in a proceeding involving sanctions or disci-
plinary actions against a caregiver or an entity
accused of abuse, exploitation, fraud, neglect, mis-
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appropriation or mistreatment, when it appears to

such court or administrative law judge that the

person making the report is or may be a witness to
facts relevant to the proceeding.

(2) The person’s identity is irrelevant to any civil
proceeding and is not subject to disclosure, except in
cases where a caregiver or other person is the subject
of a complaint and can make a showing that the
complaint was made with malice so that the care-
giver or other person may pursue such remedies as
may be permitted by law. The person may be subpoe-
naed if the department or district attorney general
deems it necessary to protect the service recipient
who is the subject of the report, but the fact that the
person made the report may not be disclosed.

History.
T.C.A. § 33-3-104(10)(B); Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1;2002, ch. 730, § 12;
2011, ch. 158, § 16.

33-3-109. Release of information to family mem-
bers and other designated persons
— Acceptance of information from
family members of service
recipients.

(a) A service recipient for services under chapter 6 of
this title shall be given an opportunity to approve and
sign an information release that authorizes the facility
or program to release certain information concerning
the recipient to certain family members and other
designated persons. This opportunity shall be offered
when the recipient is entering inpatient or outpatient
treatment at a facility, admitted in an emergency room,
entering in a crisis response setting, or admitted in
ongoing treatment with a community mental health
care provider. This opportunity shall be offered to the
recipient at the time of admission, periodically during
treatment, and at discharge.

(b) The service recipient may withdraw authority to
release all information previously authorized, with-
draw authority to release the information to any indi-
viduals previously authorized or modify either the type
of information authorized in subsection (c¢) or the indi-
viduals to whom the information may be provided. All
such changes must be executed in writing by the
service recipient or:

(1) The conservator of the service recipient;

(2) The attorney in fact under a power of attorney
who has the right to make disclosures under the
power;

(3) The parent, legal guardian, or legal custodian
of a service recipient who is a child;

(4) The service recipient’s guardian ad litem for
the purposes of the litigation in which the guardian
ad litem serves;

(5) The treatment review committee for a service
recipient who has been involuntarily committed;

(6) The executor, administrator or personal repre-
sentative on behalf of a deceased service recipient; or

(7) The caregiver under title 34, chapter 6, part 3.
(¢) The information release shall provide the service

recipient options for authorized disclosures to:

(1) Specified family members that discloses only
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location;

(2) Specified family members who are to be in-
volved with discharge instructions and linking to
other services; and

(8) Specified family who are to be involved in and
supportive in the treatment process.

(d) The department shall encourage education of
mental health care providers regarding accepting infor-
mation from family members in the course of the
treatment process.

History.
Acts 2007, ch. 356, § 1; 2008, ch. 789, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former § 33-3-109 (Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1), concerning adjudica-
tions of competence not confidential records that must be kept sepa-
rate, was repealed by Acts 2002, ch. 735, § 9.

Acts 2002, ch. 730, § 13, purported to amend § 33-3-109; however,
that section was repealed by Acts 2002, ch. 735, § 9.

33-3-110. Disclosure to law enforcement agencies
in cases of felony acts of bodily
harm or sexual abuse.

(a) Section 33-3-103 does not prohibit disclosure to a
law enforcement agency that has jurisdiction over
felonious acts of bodily harm or sexual offenses that
appear to have been committed on the premises of a
facility whose records are made confidential by § 33-3-
103.

(b) If the felonious act involves a sexual offense
governed by title 37, chapter 1, part 6, and title 71,
chapter 6, part 1, in a locality having a sex abuse crime
unit, disclosure for law enforcement investigative pur-
poses shall be made only to that unit of the law
enforcement agency. This section does not limit the
requirements of disclosure of reports of harm and
access to records required by title 37, chapter 1, parts 4
and 6, and title 71, chapter 6, part 1, for investigations
by the department of human services.

(¢) Permissible disclosure of a felonious act for the
purpose of conducting a necessary investigation
includes:

(1) The name of, and providing access to, wit-
nesses or potential witnesses of the offense;

(2) The name of, and providing access to, suspects
or potential suspects of the offense; and

(8) The scene of, and providing access to, where
the offense occurred.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-111. Records of child service recipient not
available to person accused of abus-
ing recipient — Exceptions and
limitations.

(a) In any case where a person is known to have been
accused of physically or sexually abusing or neglecting
a service recipient who is a child, the service recipient’s
record shall not be accessible to the person accused of
the abuse or neglect, except if:

(1) A court orders access under § 33-3-105(3); or
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(2)(A) The child’s qualified mental health profes-
sional has determined in the course of the treat-
ment or service, after consultation with the child,
the child’s guardian ad litem, and others on the
child’s behalf whom the professional deems appro-
priate, that the release of the child’s record to the
accused person would not be harmful to the child;
and

(B) The accused person is the parent, legal
guardian, or legal custodian of the child.

(b) If the court permits access to the child’s record
under subsection (a), the court shall have jurisdiction
to issue any necessary orders to control access to and
use of the information by the person seeking access,
including the issuance of injunctive relief.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-112. Disclosure to service recipient of re-
cords kept and procedures for ac-
cessing records.

(a) Upon request by a service recipient sixteen (16)
years of age or older, a service provider shall disclose to
the service recipient what records the provider main-
tains on the service recipient and how the service
recipient can obtain access to them. Upon written
request by a service recipient, a service provider shall
permit the service recipient, within a reasonable time,
to review the service recipient’s record itself or the part
of it that the service recipient requests or a copy of the
record or the part except to the extent that:

(1) Service recipient access to the record is ex-
pressly restricted or prohibited by another statute; or
(2) The provider is authorized to deny access un-

der subsection (b).

(b) If a person’s qualified mental health professional
determines that giving the service recipient, or a per-
son acting for the service recipient, access to part of the
service recipient’s record poses a substantial risk of
serious harm to the health or safety of the service
recipient or another person, then the qualified mental
health professional may refuse access to that part of
the record.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-113. Request by recipient to have record
amended.

(a) If a service recipient requests amendment of the
service recipient’s record by revision, deletion, or addi-
tion to correct the record, the service provider shall,
within ten (10) working days after receiving the re-
quest, either make the amendment to assure that
service recipient’s records do not contain inaccurate,
irrelevant, or otherwise inappropriate information or
inform the service recipient of its refusal, of the reason
for the refusal, and of the procedure, if any, for further
internal review of the decision.

(b) If any provider decides that it will not amend the
record in accordance with the request, it shall permit
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the service recipient to file a concise statement of the
reasons for the service recipient’s disagreement.

(¢) If any provider discloses any of the disputed
information, it shall clearly note the disputed informa-
tion and provide a copy of the statement of disagree-
ment. If the provider wishes, it may also provide a
concise statement of its reasons for not making the
requested amendments.

(d) The service recipient may not personally alter
the record.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-114. Exceptions to evidentiary privilege of
mental health professionals.

Notwithstanding any evidentiary privilege a quali-
fied mental health professional may have, including
§§ 24-1-207, 63-11-213, 63-22-114, and 63-23-109, the
qualified mental health professional may be compelled
to testify in:

(1) Judicial proceedings under this title to commit
a person with mental illness, serious emotional dis-
turbance, or developmental disability to treatment if
the qualified mental health professional decides that
the service recipient is in need of compulsory care
and treatment;

(2) In proceedings for which the qualified mental
health professional was ordered by the court to
examine the service recipient if the service recipient
was advised that communications to the qualified
mental health professional would not be privileged;

(3) Judicial proceedings under chapter 8, part 3 of
this title; and

(4) Guardianship, conservatorship, and veterans’
guardianship proceedings under title 34.

History.

Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2002, ch. 730, § 14.

33-3-115. Information to be collected and re-
ported to the federal bureau of in-
vestigation-NICS index and the de-
partment of safety by any clerk of
court that maintains records of an
adjudication as a mental defective
or a judicial commitment to a men-
tal institution.

(a) Any clerk of court that maintains records of an
adjudication as a mental defective or a judicial commit-
ment to a mental institution pursuant to chapter 6 or
chapter 7 shall, in accordance with the procedures
outlined in title 16, disclose the following information
set out in subsection (b) solely for the purposes of
complying with §§ 39-17-1316, 39-17-1351, 39-17-
1352, 16-1-117(a)(6) and the NICS Improvement
Amendments Act of 2007, Public Law 110-180.

(b) The following information shall be collected and
reported to the federal bureau of investigation-NICS
Index, and the department of safety, pursuant to this
subsection (b):

(1) Complete name and all aliases of the indi-
vidual judicially committed or adjudicated as a men-
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tal defective, including, but not limited to, any names

that the individual may have had or currently has by

reason of marriage or otherwise;

(2) Case or docket number of the judicial commit-
ment or the adjudication as a mental defective;

(3) Date judicial commitment ordered or adjudica-
tion as a mental defective was made;

(4) Private or state hospital or treatment resource
to which the individual was judicially committed,;

(5) Date of birth of the individual judicially com-
mitted or adjudicated as a mental defective, if such
information has been provided to the clerk;

(6) Race and sex of the individual judicially com-
mitted or adjudicated as a mental defective; and

(7) Social security number of the individual judi-
cially committed or adjudicated as a mental defective
if available.

(¢) The information in subdivisions (b)(1) — (7), the
confidentiality of which is protected by other statutes
or regulations, shall be maintained as confidential and
not subject to public inspection pursuant to such stat-
utes or regulations, except for such use as may be
necessary in the conduct of any proceeding pursuant to
§§ 38-6-109, 39-17-1316, and 39-17-1352 — 39-17-
1354.

(d) For purposes of this section, the following defini-
tions shall apply:

(1) “Judicial commitment to a mental institution”
means a judicially ordered involuntary admission to

a private or state hospital or treatment resource in

proceedings conducted pursuant to title 33, chapter 6

or title 33, chapter 7;

(2) “Adjudication as a mental defective or adjudi-
cated as a mental defective” means:
(A) A determination by a court in this state that
a person, as a result of marked subnormal intelli-
gence, mental illness, incompetency, condition or
disease:
(i) Is a danger to such person or to others; or
(i1) Lacks the ability to contract or manage
such person’s own affairs due to mental defect;
(B) A finding of insanity by a court in a criminal
proceeding; or
(C) A finding that a person is incompetent to
stand trial or is found not guilty by reason of
insanity pursuant to 50a and 72b of the Uniform
Code of Military Justice (10 U.S.C. §§ 850a, 876b).

History.
Acts 2009, ch. 578, § 5; 2013, ch. 300, § 7; 2019, ch. 262, §§ 1, 2.

Compiler’s Notes.

The NICS Improvement Amendments Act of 2007, Public Law
110-180, may be found as a note to 18 USCS § 922.

Former § 33-3-115 (T.C.A. § 33-3-104(10)(B); Acts 2000, ch. 947,
§ 1), concerning penalties for violations of §§ 33-3-103—33-3-114, was
transferred to § 33-3-116 by Acts 2009, ch. 578, §§ 5 and 6, effective
January 1, 2010.

33-3-116. Penalty for violation.

A violation of §§ 33-3-103—33-3-115 is a Class C
misdemeanor.
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History.
T.C.A. § 33-3-104(10)(B); Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; Acts 2009, ch. 578,
§ 6; T.C.A. § 33-3-115.

Compiler’s Notes.
Former § 33-3-115 was transferred to this section by Acts 2009, ch.
578, 88 5 and 6, effective January 1, 2010.

33-3-117. Reporting to local law enforcement by
inpatient treatment facility of invol-
untary commitment of service
recipient.

(a) If a service recipient is involuntarily committed to
an inpatient treatment facility under this title, the
inpatient treatment facility shall report the service
recipient to local law enforcement as soon as practi-
cable, but no later than the third business day follow-
ing the date of such commitment, who shall report the
service recipient to the federal bureau of investigation-
NICS Index and the department of safety as soon as
practicable, but no later than the third business day
following the date of receiving such notification, for the
purposes of complying with the NICS Improvement
Amendments Act of 2007, Public Law 110-180, as
enacted and as may be amended in the future.

(b) If an inpatient treatment facility is required to
report pursuant to subsection (a), the facility shall
report the following information:

(1) Complete name of the person involuntarily
committed;

(2) Date involuntary commitment was ordered;

(3) Private or state hospital or treatment resource
to which the individual was involuntarily committed;

(4) Date of birth of the person involuntarily
committed;

(5) Race and sex of the person involuntarily com-
mitted; and

(6) Social security number of the person involun-
tarily committed if available.

(¢) The information in subdivisions (b)(1)-(4), the
confidentiality of which is protected by other statutes
or regulations, shall be maintained as confidential and
not subject to public inspection pursuant to such stat-
utes or regulations, except for such use as may be
necessary in the conduct of any proceedings pursuant
to §§ 39-17-1316, 39-17-1353 and 39-17-1354.

History.
Acts 2013, ch. 300, § 8; 2018, ch. 799, § 3.

Compiler’s Notes.
The NICS Improvement Amendments Act of 2007, Public Law
110-180, may be found as a note to 18 USCS § 922.

33-3-118, 33-3-119. [Reserved.]
33-3-120. Isolation and restraints prohibited —
Exceptions and limitations.

(a) Service recipients have the right to be free from
isolation and restraints, in any form, imposed as a
means of coercion, discipline, convenience or retaliation
by staff. Restraints include physical and mechanical
restraints and drugs used to control behavior or to
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restrict freedom of movement if the drug or the dosage
of the drug is not a standard treatment for the service
recipient’s medical or psychiatric condition. Isolation is
placement of a person alone in a room from which
egress is prevented. Isolation and restraint may be
used only while the condition justifying its use exists.

(b) A person with mental illness or serious emotional
disturbance may be isolated or restrained only in
emergency situations if necessary to assure the physi-
cal safety of the person or another person nearby or to
prevent significant destruction of property. If a person
imposes restraints or isolation, the person shall imme-
diately contact a professional who is permitted under
department rules to authorize the isolation or re-
straint. If the treating physician is not the person who
orders isolation or restraint, the treating physician
shall be consulted as soon as possible. A professional
authorized by department rules shall see and evaluate
the person’s condition within one (1) hour of the inter-
vention.

(c) A person with developmental disability may be
restrained only as part of an approved plan or in
emergency situations if necessary to assure the physi-
cal safety of the person or another person nearby or to
prevent significant destruction of property. Isolation
may only be used with a person with developmental
disability as part of the person’s approved plan. Only
psychologists, psychological examiners, senior psycho-
logical examiners, physicians, behavior analysts, mas-
ters degree social workers, and others authorized to do
so under department rules may develop a plan that
includes or authorizes isolation or restraint of a person
with developmental disability.

(d) Staff shall remain in the physical presence of a
person in restraint. Staff shall continuously observe a
person in isolation or restraint for the health and well
being of the person.

(e) The professional shall record the use of restraint
or isolation, the reasons for its use, and the duration of
its use in the person’s record.

(f) All staff who may have direct contact with a
person being restrained or isolated shall receive ongo-
ing education and training in alternative methods for
handling behavior and the safe use of isolation and
restraint.

(g) The department shall adopt rules as to circum-
stances under which use of restraint and isolation are
permitted. The department shall distribute the rules to
all who provide services covered by this title.

(h) The department shall report annually to the
statewide planning and policy council on the use of
restraint and isolation in the state and its rules on the
subject.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1;2001, ch. 334, § 2;2002, ch. 730, § 15; 2007,
ch. 96, § 1.

33-3-121 — 33-3-124. [Reserved.]

33-3-125. Professional not to be related or to have
financial interest.

A certificate of need for commitment for care and
treatment as a person with mental illness, serious

33-3-201

emotional disturbance, or developmental disability
that is authorized or required to be made by a physi-
cian, psychologist, or other professional under this title
is not valid for any purpose if:

(1) Itis made by a professional who is a relative by
blood, marriage, or adoption, or the legal guardian,
conservator, or legal custodian of the person who is
the subject of the petition, application or certificate;
or

(2) It is made by a professional who has an own-
ership interest in a private facility in which the
person is to be admitted.

History.
941;025 1983, ch. 323, § 16; T.C.A,, §§ 33-345, 33-3-108; Acts 2000, ch.

33-3-126. Right to religious expression.

A licensee or provider under this title may not
discourage or preclude a service recipient from exercis-
ing the right to religious expression and shall inform
each service recipient in a residential environment of
this right. A licensee or provider of religious service
may provide transportation for a service recipient un-
der this section.

History.
Acts 2002, ch. 730, § 8.

PART 2
SPECIAL LIABILITY RULES

33-3-201. Liability of counselor for suicide or at-
tempted suicide of person
counseled.

(a) As used in this section, unless the context other-
wise requires:

(1) “Counseling center” means any nonprofit ser-
vice operated at least partially with volunteer assis-
tance that provides counseling, assistance or guid-
ance, either in person or by telephone, to persons
with mental illness or serious emotional disturbance;
and

(2) “Counselor” means any psychiatrist, psycholo-
gist, licensed psychologist with health service pro-
vider designation, certified or licensed marital and
family therapist, certified or licensed professional
counselor, certified or licensed social worker, or other
professional trained in the field of psychiatry or
psychology or any nonprofessional person acting un-
der the guidance or supervision of the professionals.
(b) A counselor, while acting within the scope of

responsibilities assigned by a counseling center, is not
liable civilly or criminally for the suicide or attempted
suicide of any person consulting the counselor.

History.

Acts 1978, ch. 632, §§ 1, 2; T.C.A,, §§ 33-1701, 33-1702; §§ 33-17-
101, 33-17-102; Acts 1984, ch. 710, § 1; 1990, ch. 760, § 3; T.C.A,,
§§ 33-10-101, 33-10-102; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2002, ch. 730, § 16.

Compiler’s Notes.
Former chapter 3, §§ 33-3-101 — 33-3-112, 33-3-201 — 33-3-203,
33-3-301 — 33-3-303, 33-3-401 — 33-3-412, 33-3-501 — 504, 33-3-601
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— 33-3-603, 33-3-605 — 33-3-619, 33-3-623, 33-3-701 — 33-3-711,
33-3-801, 33-3-901 — 33-3-908 (Acts 1955, ch. 187, § 1; 1965, ch. 38,
§§ 4-7, 16-19, 23-26; 1974, ch. 802, §§ 17-20, 22-25, 29-32; 1975, ch.
248, §§ 1, 5-7, 11; 1976, ch. 489, §§ 1, 2; 1976, ch. 763, §§ 1, 2, 10;
1977, ch. 482, § 11; 1978, ch. 533, §§ 3-5; 1978, ch. 533, § 7; 1978, ch.
877, §§ 1, 2; 1979, ch. 366, § 15; 1980, ch. 838, § 5; 1983, ch. 323,
§ 4-7, 9, 12, 15, 16; T.C.A. §§ 33-303 — 33-307, 33-309 — 33-312,
33-317 — 33-320, 33-330 — 33-337, 33-345 — 33-347, 33-355, 33-360 —
33-362, 33-364 — 33-378, 33-382, 33-610, 33-1101; Acts 1984, ch. 922,
§§ 2-5, 7, 16-23, 34; 1984, ch. 986, §§ 1, 2; 1985, ch. 437, §§ 6-13, 33;
1986, ch. 570, §§ 2-4; 1986, ch. 836, § 3, 5; 1987, ch. 143, §§ 2, 3, T;
1988, ch. 828, § 1; 1989, ch. 278, §§ 30-33; 1989, ch. 513, §§ 2, 5-13;
1989, ch. 591, §§ 29-31, 113; 1992, ch. 991, § 13; 1993, ch. 66, § 44;
1993, ch. 439, § 1; 1993, ch. 356, § 4; 1994, ch. 630, §§ 1, 2; 1994, ch.
743,8 1;1995, ch. 320, § 1;1995, ch. 411,§ 1;1996, ch. 669, § 1; 1996,
ch. 675, § 15; 1996, ch. 1079, §§ 31-47, 49-56; 2000, ch. 947, § 6);
§ 33-3-304 (Acts 1974, ch. 464, § 1; 1975, ch. 248, § 20; T.C.A,,
§ 33-702), which was previously repealed by Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 33;
§ 33-3-604 (Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 9; T.C.A., § 33-363), which was
repealed by Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 33; § 33-3-620, which was previously
transferred to § 33-6-104(e) and (f) in 1984; § 33-3-621, which was
previously transferred to § 33-6-104(g) in 1984; and § 33-3-622, which
was previously transferred to § 33-6-104(h) in 1984, is deleted and
replaced in the revision of title 33 by Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1, effective
March 1, 2001.

33-3-202. Director of not-for-profit corporation
providing service not liable for torts
of recipients.

(a) While acting in good faith, the directors of a not
for profit corporation that provides community residen-
tial services or supports for persons with mental ill-
ness, serious emotional disturbance, or developmental
disability shall not be held personally liable for tortious
acts committed by the corporation’s service recipients.

(b) Subsection (a) does not preclude imposition of
personal liability on a director who also acts as a paid
officer or employee of the corporation.

History.
Acts 1979, ch. 33,§ 2; T.C.A., §§ 33-17-202, 33-10-202; Acts 2000, ch.
947, § 1.

33-3-203 — 33-3-205. [Reserved.]

Compiler’s Notes.

Former § 33-3-203, concerning temporary legal custody of minors,
commitment, treatment and discharge, was transferred to § 37-1-175
in 2000.

33-3-206. Duty to predict, warn or take precau-
tions to provide protection —
Liability.

IF AND ONLY IF

(1) a service recipient has communicated to a
qualified mental health professional or behavior ana-
lyst an actual threat of bodily harm against a clearly
identified victim, AND

(2) the professional, using the reasonable skill,
knowledge, and care ordinarily possessed and exer-
cised by the professional’s specialty under similar
circumstances, has determined or reasonably should
have determined that the service recipient has the
apparent ability to commit such an act and is likely
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to carry out the threat unless prevented from doing
so,
THEN
(8) the professional shall take reasonable care to
predict, warn of, or take precautions to protect the

identified victim from the service recipient’s violent
behavior.

History.
Acts 1989, ch. 549, § 1; T.C.A., § 33-10-302(a); Acts 2000, ch. 947,
§ 1; 2001, ch. 334, § 3; 2002, ch. 730, § 17.

33-3-207. Discharge of duty.

The duty imposed by § 33-3-206 may be discharged
by the professional or service provider by:

(1) Informing the clearly identified victim of the
threat;

(2) Having the service recipient admitted on a
voluntary basis to a hospital;

(8) Taking steps to seek admission of the service
recipient to a hospital or treatment resource on an
involuntary basis pursuant to chapter 6 of this title;
or

(4) Pursuing a course of action consistent with
current professional standards that will discharge
the duty.

History.
Acts 1989, ch. 549, § 1; T.C.A,, § 33-10-302(b); Acts 2000, ch. 947,
§ 1

33-3-208. Duty of employees who transmit or re-
cord patient communications.

IF AND ONLY IF
(1) an employee of a service provider is normally
responsible for transmitting or recording communi-
cations from a service recipient to a qualified mental
health professional or behavior analyst, AND
(2) the employee receives a communication from a
service recipient of an actual threat of bodily harm
against a clearly identified victim,
THEN
(3) the employee shall communicate the threat to
the professional employed by the service provider.
History.
Acts 1989, ch. 549, § 1; T.C.A., § 33-10-303; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1;
2001, ch. 334, § 4; 2002, ch. 730, § 17.

33-3-209. Immunity from liability where duty
satisfied.

If a professional or an employee has satisfied the
person’s duty under § 33-3-206, § 33-3-208, or § 33-3-
210, no monetary liability and no cause of action may
arise against the professional, an employee, or any
service provider in whose service the duty arose for the
professional or employee not predicting, warning of, or
taking precautions to provide protection from violent
behavior by the person with mental illness, serious
emotional disturbance, or developmental disability.
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History.
Acts 1989, ch. 549, § 1; T.C.A,, §§ 33-10-302(a), 33-10-303; Acts
2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2013, ch. 300, § 10.

33-3-210. Reporting to local law enforcement by a
qualified mental health professional
or behavior analyst of an actual
threat of serious bodily harm or
death against an identifiable victim.

(a) If a service recipient has communicated to a
qualified mental health professional or behavior ana-
lyst an actual threat of serious bodily harm or death
against a reasonably identifiable victim or victims, the
qualified mental health professional or behavior ana-
lyst, using the reasonable skill, knowledge, and care
ordinarily possessed and exercised by the professional’s
specialty under similar circumstances, who has deter-
mined or reasonably should have determined that the
service recipient has the apparent ability to commit
such an act and is likely to carry out the threat unless
prevented from doing so, shall immediately report the
service recipient to local law enforcement, who shall
take appropriate action based upon the information
reported.

(b) If a mental health professional or behavior ana-
lyst is required to report pursuant to subsection (a), the
professional or analyst shall report the following
information:

(1) Complete name and all aliases of the service
recipient;

(2) Name of the mental health professional or
behavior analyst and the name of the private or state
hospital or treatment resource from which the indi-
vidual may be receiving services;

(3) Date of birth of the service recipient;

(4) Race and sex of the service recipient; and

(5) Social security number of the service recipient
if available.

(¢) The information in subdivisions (b)(1)-(3), the
confidentiality of which is protected by other statutes
or regulations, shall be maintained as confidential and
not subject to public inspection pursuant to such stat-
utes or regulations, except for such use as may be
necessary in the conduct of any proceedings pursuant
to §§ 39-17-1316, 39-17-1353 and 39-17-1354.

History.
Acts 2013, ch. 300, § 9; 2018, ch. 799, § 4.

33-3-211. [Reserved.]

33-3-212. Immunity for refusal to perform act
prohibited by this title.

IF

(1)(A) a person has refused to perform any act that

is prohibited by or is not lawful under this title, OR
(B) a person has relinquished authority over a

service recipient based on a decision by another to

whom this title gives express authority to make the

decision,

THEN
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(2) no monetary liability and no cause of action
may arise against the person or the service provider
in whose service the person was acting for the con-
duct.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-213 — 33-3-216. [Reserved.]

33-3-217. Uniform assessment process for deter-
mining recipient’s decision making
capacity.

The department shall by rule prescribe a uniform
assessment process by which to determine whether a
service recipient lacks capacity to make decisions on
issues within the meaning of § 33-3-218.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-218. Decision making capacity of recipient.

IF
(1)(A) a service recipient, due to intellectual dis-
ability or mental impairment related to a develop-
mental disability, is unable to make an informed
decision about application for admission to a devel-
opmental center under § 33-5-301, request dis-
charge under § 33-5-303, or a routine medical,
dental, or mental health treatment, OR
(B) a service recipient, due to a diagnosed men-
tal illness or serious emotional disorder, is unable
to make an informed decision about application to
a hospital or inpatient treatment resource under
§ 33-6-201, requesting discharge under § 33-6-
206, inpatient mental health treatment, release of
information, or getting information, AND
(2) the incapacity is shown by the fact that the
person is not able to understand the proposed proce-
dure, its risks and benefits, or the available alterna-
tive procedures,
THEN
(3) the person “lacks capacity” under this title for
decision about that matter at this time.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2002, ch. 730, § 18; 2005, ch. 150, § 1; 2010,
ch. 734, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

For the Preamble to the act regarding changing the term “mental
retardation” to “intellectual disability”, please refer to Acts 2010, ch.
734.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 1 provided that the Tennessee code commission
is directed to change all references to “mental retardation”, wherever
such references appear in titles 33, 39 and 41, to “intellectual disabil-
ity”, as supplements are issued and volumes are replaced.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 7 provided that for purposes of each provision
amended by the act, a reference to intellectual disability shall be
considered to refer to mental retardation, as defined by that provision
on the day before the date of enactment of the act.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 8 provided that nothing in the act shall be
construed to alter or otherwise affect the eligibility for services or the
rights or responsibilities of individuals covered by the provision on the
day before the date of enactment of the act.
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33-3-219. Surrogate decision maker for medical
decisions — Immunity from liability.

IF
(1)(A) an adult with developmental disability that
is not based solely on a diagnosis of mental illness
or serious emotional disturbance does not have a
conservator, OR
(B) a child with developmental disability that is
not based solely on a diagnosis of mental illness or
serious emotional disturbance does not have a
parent or legal guardian, AND
(2)(A) a licensed dentist determines that the per-
son lacks capacity to make a decision about a
routine dental decision, OR
(B) a licensed psychologist with health service
provider designation determines that the person
lacks capacity to make a decision about routine
mental health treatment, OR
(C) a licensed physician determines that the
person lacks capacity to make a decision about
routine medical or mental health treatment, AND
(3) the physician, psychologist, or dentist uses the
assessment process prescribed by rule under § 33-3-
217, AND
(4) the physician, psychologist, or dentist deter-
mines that someone is eligible to serve as a surrogate
decision maker for the service recipient on the matter
in question under § 33-3-220, AND
(5) the service recipient does not reject the pro-
posed surrogate for the decision in any way, AND
(6) the physician, psychologist or dentist provides
the surrogate the information necessary to an in-
formed decision,
THEN
(7) the surrogate may decide for the service recipi-
ent with respect to the matter in question, AND
(8) the surrogate who acts in good faith, reason-
ably and without malice in connection with the
decision shall be free from all liability, civil or crimi-
nal, by reason of the decision.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2002, ch. 730, § 19.

33-3-220. Eligibility to serve as surrogate deci-
sion maker.

IF
(1) aphysician, psychologist, or dentist reasonably
determines that an adult:

(A) knows about a service recipient’s develop-
mental disability and condition as it relates to the
matter in question,

(B) is actively involved in the service recipient’s
life,

(C) is willing to make a decision for the service
recipient on the matter in question,

(D) appears to be reasonably capable of making
the decision and likely to make it objectively in the
service recipient’s interest,

(E) appears to have no conflict of interest with
the service recipient, and

(F) is, in order of descending preference for
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service as a surrogate:
(i) the service recipient’s spouse,
(ii) the service recipient’s adult child,
(iii) the service recipient’s parent or
stepparent,
(iv) the service recipient’s adult sibling,
(v) any other adult relative of the service
recipient, or
(vi) any other adult,
THEN
(2) the adult is eligible to serve as a surrogate
decision maker for the service recipient on the matter
in question under §§ 33-3-219 — 33-3-221.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2002, ch. 730, § 20.

33-3-221. Immunity of medical professional act-
ing in accordance with decision of
surrogate decision maker.

IF
(1) the physician, psychologist, or dentist knows of
no family member, of the same or higher order of
preference as the surrogate under § 33-3-220(1)(F),
who objects to the surrogate’s decision, AND
(2) the proposed treatment is not solely for behav-
ior control of a service recipient,
THEN
(3) the physician, psychologist, or dentist may act
on the surrogate’s decision as if the service recipient
had the capacity to consent and had consented per-
sonally, AND
(4) the physician, psychologist, or dentist who
acts in accord with and in good faith reliance on the
surrogate’s decision is not subject to criminal pros-
ecution, civil liability, or professional disciplinary
action based on a subsequent finding of the invalidity
of the surrogate’s decision.
History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2002, ch. 730, § 20.

PART 3

TRANSFERS OF RESIDENTIAL SERVICE
RECIPIENTS

33-3-301. Transfer between facilities.

(a) The commissioner may authorize the transfer of a
person in a facility of the department to another
department facility or to a private facility under this
section. The commissioner shall give due consideration
to the relationship of the person to family, guardian,
conservator, and friends so as to maintain relationships
and encourage visitation beneficial to the person. If a
person whose transfer is authorized has been admitted
or committed by court order, a certified copy of the court
order shall be sent to the facility to which the person is
transferred.

(b)(1) If the commissioner determines that a person

could more properly be cared for and treated in a

facility other than the one in which the person is a
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service recipient and that the transfer is in the
person’s best interest, the commissioner may autho-
rize the person to be transferred for an indefinite
period to another department facility. The person
may be transferred to a secure facility, if, and only if,
in addition, the commissioner determines that the
person is substantially likely to injure the person or
others if not treated in a secure facility. Notwith-
standing any other provisions of this section, any
transfer to a developmental center authorized under
this section shall not exceed forty-five (45) days
unless the transfer complies with department rules.

(2) Before a transfer is authorized, the person
shall be given a physical examination by a licensed
physician and a mental assessment and evaluation
by a qualified professional, and complete written
reports of the examination, assessment, and evalua-
tion shall be forwarded to the commissioner by the
chief officer who recommends the transfer. The re-
ports and the chief officer’s recommendation shall
each include a certification that the transfer is in the
person’s best interests and a statement of the rea-
sons for the conclusion.

(3) The chief officer, upon recommending transfer,
shall immediately give personal notice of the recom-
mendation by telephone or otherwise to the person’s
spouse, parent, adult child, legal guardian, or conser-
vator, if any, and to the person. No person may be
transferred less than twenty-four (24) hours after the
notices required by this subdivision (b)(3) have been
given, unless the person’s spouse, parent, adult child,
or legal guardian or conservator, if any, has agreed to
the transfer or unless a diligent attempt by the chief
officer to give notice is unsuccessful.

(4) The commissioner, upon authorizing transfer,
shall immediately give to the person’s spouse, par-
ent, or adult child, legal guardian or conservator, if
any, the committing court, if any, and to the service
recipient written notice of the decision and a com-
plaint form for review of transfer in the circuit court
under part 7 of this chapter. The person may then be
transferred immediately.

(c)(1) If the commissioner determines, upon the rec-
ommendation of the chief officer who requests a
transfer, that:

(A) A person requires emergency care and treat-
ment that cannot be provided by the transferring
facility; and

(B) The transfer is in the person’s best interest,
the commissioner may authorize the person to be
transferred immediately to another department
facility. The person may be transferred to a secure
facility, if, and only if, in addition, the commis-
sioner determines that the person is substantially
likely to injure such person or others if not treated
in a secure facility.

(2) If the commissioner approves the emergency
transfer, the commissioner shall notify the chief
officers of the transferring and receiving facilities.
The chief officer of the transferring facility shall then
have the person transferred immediately. A bed shall
remain open at the transferring facility for seventy-
two (72) hours after the transfer for the readmission
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of the person.

(8) Within seventy-two (72) hours after the trans-
fer, the chief officer of the receiving facility shall
determine whether the transfer was appropriate. If
the chief officer determines that the transfer was not
appropriate, the chief officer shall return the person
to the sending facility. If the chief officer determines
that the transfer was appropriate, the chief officer
shall immediately give the person written notice of
the decision.

(4) The transfer shall not exceed thirty (30) days,
after which the chief officer shall return the person to
the facility from which the person came.

(5) If the chief officer of the receiving facility
determines that the person requires treatment be-
yond the thirty-day period, the chief officer shall
notify the person in writing and apply for indetermi-
nate transfer under subsection (b). The person shall
remain in the receiving facility unless the commis-
sioner denies the application for transfer. If the
commissioner denies the application, the chief officer
of the receiving facility shall have the person trans-
ferred to the sending facility immediately.

(d) A person may be transferred from a state facility
to a licensed private facility or from a licensed private
facility to a state facility, upon proper application,
approval of the sending and receiving facilities, and
written notice to the committing court, if the person is
committed. Once transferred, the person is lawfully
admitted to the receiving facility, and the facility may
retain the person under the authority of the admission
or order applicable to the facility from which the person
was transferred.

History.

Acts 1965, ch. 38, § 4(a); 1974, ch. 802, § 22; 1975, ch. 248, § 7;
modified; Acts 1976, ch. 763, § 1; Acts 1978, ch. 533, § 4; T.C.A.,
§ 33-309; Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 4; 2000, ch. 947, §§ 1, 6; 2009, ch. 531,
§ 35.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former chapter 3, §§ 33-3-101 — 33-3-112, 33-3-201 — 33-3-203,
33-3-301 — 33-3-303, 33-3-401 — 33-3-412, 33-3-501 — 504, 33-3-601
— 33-3-603, 33-3-605 — 33-3-619, 33-3-623, 33-3-701 — 33-3-711,
33-3-801, 33-3-901 — 33-3-908 (Acts 1955, ch. 187, § 1; 1965, ch. 38,
§§ 4-7, 16-19, 23-26; 1974, ch. 802, §§ 17-20, 22-25, 29-32; 1975, ch.
248, §§ 1, 5-7, 11; 1976, ch. 489, §§ 1, 2; 1976, ch. 763, §§ 1, 2, 10;
1977, ch. 482, § 11; 1978, ch. 533, §§ 3-5; 1978, ch. 533, § 7; 1978, ch.
877, §§ 1, 2; 1979, ch. 366, § 15; 1980, ch. 838, § 5; 1983, ch. 323,
§ 4-7, 9, 12, 15, 16; T.C.A. §§ 33-303 — 33-307, 33-309 — 33-312,
33-317 — 33-320, 33-330 — 33-337, 33-345 — 33-347, 33-355, 33-360 —
33-362, 33-364 — 33-378, 33-382, 33-610, 33-1101; Acts 1984, ch. 922,
§§ 2-5, 7, 16-23, 34; 1984, ch. 986, §§ 1, 2; 1985, ch. 437, §§ 6-13, 33;
1986, ch. 570, §§ 2-4; 1986, ch. 836, § 3, 5; 1987, ch. 143, §§ 2, 3, 7,
1988, ch. 828, § 1; 1989, ch. 278, §§ 30-33; 1989, ch. 513, §§ 2, 5-13;
1989, ch. 591, §§ 29-31, 113; 1992, ch. 991, § 13; 1993, ch. 66, § 44;
1993, ch. 439, § 1; 1993, ch. 356, § 4; 1994, ch. 630, §§ 1, 2; 1994, ch.
743,8 1;1995, ch. 320, § 1;1995, ch. 411,§ 1;1996, ch. 669, § 1; 1996,
ch. 675, § 15; 1996, ch. 1079, §§ 31-47, 49-56; 2000, ch. 947, § 6);
§ 33-3-304 (Acts 1974, ch. 464, § 1; 1975, ch. 248, § 20; T.C.A.,
§ 33-702), which was previously repealed by Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 33;
§ 33-3-604 (Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 9; T.C.A,, § 33-363), which was
repealed by Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 33; § 33-3-620, which was previously
transferred to § 33-6-104(e) and (f) in 1984; § 33-3-621, which was
previously transferred to § 33-6-104(g) in 1984; and § 33-3-622, which
was previously transferred to § 33-6-104(h) in 1984, is deleted and
replaced in the revision of title 33 by Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1, effective
March 1, 2001.
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For the Preamble to the act concerning the operation and funding of
state government and to fund the state budget for the fiscal years
beginning on July 1, 2008, and July 1, 2009, please refer to Acts 2009,
ch. 531.

PART 4

TRANSFERS FROM DEPARTMENT OF
CORRECTION AND DEPARTMENT OF
CHILDREN’S SERVICES

33-3-401. Mentally ill or intellectually disabled
minors in youth development
centers.

(a) If the chief officer of a youth development center of
the department of children’s services determines, on
the basis of a written report of a licensed physician or
licensed psychologist designated as a health service
provider, that a person in the youth development
center:

(1) Has serious emotional disturbance, mental ill-
ness, or intellectual disability; and

(2) Isin need of residential care and treatment for

the condition that cannot be provided by the depart-
ment of children’s services and that can be provided
at a residential facility of the department of mental
health and substance abuse services or the depart-
ment of intellectual and developmental disabilities,
the chief officer of the youth development center shall
order the person’s transfer and shall notify the per-
son of the decision and the reasons in writing not less
than twenty-four (24) hours in advance of the pro-
posed transfer.
(b)(1) If the person does not object to the transfer
within twenty-four (24) hours of notice of the pro-
posed transfer, the person shall be transferred to the
appropriate residential program of the department of
mental health and substance abuse services or the
department of intellectual and developmental dis-
abilities that is designated by the commissioner of
mental health and substance abuse services or the
commissioner of intellectual and developmental dis-
abilities as having available suitable accommoda-
tions. The department of children’s services shall
retain legal custody of the person after the person
has been transferred to an appropriate residential
program of the department of mental health and
substance abuse services or the department of intel-
lectual and developmental disabilities.

(2) If the person objects to the transfer within
twenty-four (24) hours of notice of the proposed
transfer, the chief officer of the youth development
center shall convene a transfer committee not less
than seven (7) nor more than fourteen (14) days
thereafter, and the person shall remain in the youth
development center pending the decision of the
transfer committee.
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History.

Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 34;1989, ch. 278, § 30;1989, ch.513,§ 5;1992,
ch. 991, § 13; 1996, ch. 1079, §§ 40-42; 2000, ch. 947, §§ 1, 6; 2010, ch.
734, § 1; 2010, ch. 1100, § 36; 2012, ch. 575, §§ 1, 2.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former chapter 3, §§ 33-3-101 — 33-3-112, 33-3-201 — 33-3-203,
33-3-301 — 33-3-303, 33-3-401 — 33-3-412, 33-3-501 — 504, 33-3-601
— 33-3-603, 33-3-605 — 33-3-619, 33-3-623, 33-3-701 — 33-3-711,
33-3-801, 33-3-901 — 33-3-908 (Acts 1955, ch. 187, § 1; 1965, ch. 38,
§§ 4-7, 16-19, 23-26; 1974, ch. 802, §§ 17-20, 22-25, 29-32; 1975, ch.
248, §§ 1, 5-7, 11; 1976, ch. 489, §§ 1, 2; 1976, ch. 763, §§ 1, 2, 10;
1977, ch. 482, § 11; 1978, ch. 533, §§ 3-5; 1978, ch. 533, § 7; 1978, ch.
877, §§ 1, 2; 1979, ch. 366, § 15; 1980, ch. 838, § 5; 1983, ch. 323,
§ 4-7, 9, 12, 15, 16; T.C.A. §§ 33-303 — 33-307, 33-309 — 33-312,
33-317 — 33-320, 33-330 — 33-337, 33-345 — 33-347, 33-355, 33-360 —
33-362, 33-364 — 33-378, 33-382, 33-610, 33-1101; Acts 1984, ch. 922,
§§ 2-5, 7, 16-23, 34; 1984, ch. 986, §§ 1, 2; 1985, ch. 437, §§ 6-13, 33;
1986, ch. 570, §§ 2-4; 1986, ch. 836, § 3, 5; 1987, ch. 143, §§ 2, 3, 7;
1988, ch. 828, § 1; 1989, ch. 278, §§ 30-33; 1989, ch. 513, §§ 2, 5-13;
1989, ch. 591, §§ 29-31, 113; 1992, ch. 991, § 13; 1993, ch. 66, § 44,
1993, ch. 439, § 1; 1993, ch. 356, § 4; 1994, ch. 630, §§ 1, 2; 1994, ch.
743,8 1;1995, ch. 320, § 1;1995, ch. 411,§ 1;1996, ch. 669, § 1; 1996,
ch. 675, § 15; 1996, ch. 1079, §§ 31-47, 49-56; 2000, ch. 947, § 6);
§ 33-3-304 (Acts 1974, ch. 464, § 1; 1975, ch. 248, § 20; T.C.A.,
§ 33-702), which was previously repealed by Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 33;
§ 33-3-604 (Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 9; T.C.A,, § 33-363), which was
repealed by Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 33; § 33-3-620, which was previously
transferred to § 33-6-104(e) and (f) in 1984; § 33-3-621, which was
previously transferred to § 33-6-104(g) in 1984; and § 33-3-622, which
was previously transferred to § 33-6-104(h) in 1984, is deleted and
replaced in the revision of title 33 by Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1, effective
March 1, 2001.

For the Preamble to the act regarding changing the term “mental
retardation” to “intellectual disability”, please refer to Acts 2010, ch.
734.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 1 provided that the Tennessee code commission
is directed to change all references to “mental retardation”, wherever
such references appear in titles 33, 39 and 41, to “intellectual disabil-
ity”, as supplements are issued and volumes are replaced.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 7 provided that for purposes of each provision
amended by the act, a reference to intellectual disability shall be
considered to refer to mental retardation, as defined by that provision
on the day before the date of enactment of the act.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 8 provided that nothing in the act shall be
construed to alter or otherwise affect the eligibility for services or the
rights or responsibilities of individuals covered by the provision on the
day before the date of enactment of the act.

Acts 2010, ch. 1100, § 153 provided that the commissioner of mental
health and developmental disabilities, the commissioner of mental
health (now commissioner of mental health and substance abuse
services), the commissioner of intellectual and developmental disabili-
ties, and the commissioner of finance and administration are autho-
rized to promulgate rules and regulations to effectuate the purposes of
the act. All such rules and regulations shall be promulgated in
accordance with the provisions of the Uniform Administrative Proce-
dures Act, compiled in title 4, chapter 5.

33-3-402. Mentally ill or intellectually disabled
adult inmates.

(a) If the director of a facility of the department of
correction determines, on the basis of a written report
of a licensed physician or a licensed psychologist with
health service provider designation, that a person in
the director’s custody:

(1) Has mental illness, serious emotional distur-
bance, or intellectual disability; and

(2) Isin need of residential care and treatment for
the condition that cannot be provided at an appropri-
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ate facility of the department of correction and that
can be provided at an appropriate residential pro-
gram of the department of mental health and sub-
stance abuse services or the department of intellec-
tual and developmental disabilities,
the director shall order the person’s transfer and shall
notify the person of the decision and the reasons in
writing not less than twenty-four (24) hours in advance
of the proposed transfer.
(b)(1) If the person is competent and waives in
writing the right to a transfer hearing, the person
shall be transferred to the custody of the commis-
sioner at a secure facility that is designated by the
commissioner as having available suitable
accommodations.

(2) If the person does not so waive the right to a
hearing, the director shall convene a transfer com-
mittee not less than seven (7) nor more than fourteen
(14) days thereafter, and the person shall remain in
the facility of the department of correction pending
the decision of the transfer committee.

History.
Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 34; 2000, ch. 947, §§ 1, 6; 2004, ch. 565, § 6;
2010, ch. 734, § 1; 2010, ch. 1100, § 37; 2012, ch. 575, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

For the Preamble to the act regarding changing the term “mental
retardation” to “intellectual disability”, please refer to Acts 2010, ch.
734.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 1 provided that the Tennessee code commission
is directed to change all references to “mental retardation”, wherever
such references appear in titles 33, 39 and 41, to “intellectual disabil-
ity”, as supplements are issued and volumes are replaced.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 7 provided that for purposes of each provision
amended by the act, a reference to intellectual disability shall be
considered to refer to mental retardation, as defined by that provision
on the day before the date of enactment of the act.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 8 provided that nothing in the act shall be
construed to alter or otherwise affect the eligibility for services or the
rights or responsibilities of individuals covered by the provision on the
day before the date of enactment of the act.

Acts 2010, ch. 1100, § 153 provided that the commissioner of mental
health and developmental disabilities, the commissioner of mental
health (now commissioner of mental health and substance abuse
services), the commissioner of intellectual and developmental disabili-
ties, and the commissioner of finance and administration are autho-
rized to promulgate rules and regulations to effectuate the purposes of
the act. All such rules and regulations shall be promulgated in
accordance with the provisions of the Uniform Administrative Proce-
dures Act, compiled in title 4, chapter 5.

33-3-403. Emergency residential care and

treatment.

(a) If the director of a facility of the department of
correction determines, on the basis of a written report
of a licensed physician or a licensed psychologist des-
ignated as a health service provider, that a person in
the director’s custody:

(1) Has mental illness or serious emotional distur-
bance; and

(2) Is in need of emergency residential care and
treatment for the condition that cannot be provided
at an appropriate facility of the department of cor-
rection and that can be provided at an appropriate
residential program of the department of mental
health and substance abuse services,

33-3-404

the director shall immediately have the person trans-
ferred to the custody of the commissioner at a facility
designated by the commissioner.

(b) When a person is transferred from the depart-
ment of correction to the department of mental health
and substance abuse services under this section, the
chief officer of the receiving facility shall convene a
transfer committee not less than seven (7) nor more
than fourteen (14) days thereafter unless the person is
returned to the department of correction before the
scheduled hearing date.

History.

Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 34; 1989, ch. 278, § 33; 1996, ch. 1079,
§§ 43-45; 2000, ch. 947, §§ 1, 6; 2010, ch. 1100, § 38; 2012, ch. 575,
§ 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

Acts 2010, ch. 1100, § 153 provided that the commissioner of mental
health and developmental disabilities, the commissioner of mental
health (now commissioner of mental health and substance abuse
services), the commissioner of intellectual and developmental disabili-
ties, and the commissioner of finance and administration are autho-
rized to promulgate rules and regulations to effectuate the purposes of
the act. All such rules and regulations shall be promulgated in
accordance with the provisions of the Uniform Administrative Proce-
dures Act, compiled in title 4, chapter 5.

33-3-404. Transfer committees — Appointment of
members.

A transfer committee consists of five (5) persons. If
the person to be transferred is in the custody of the
department of children’s services, the commissioner of
children’s services shall appoint two (2) members of the
committee, neither of whom may be the transferring
chief officer. If the person to be transferred is in the
custody of the department of correction, the commis-
sioner of correction shall appoint two (2) members of
the committee, neither of whom may be the transfer-
ring director. The commissioner of mental health and
substance abuse services or the commissioner of intel-
lectual and developmental disabilities, as appropriate,
shall appoint three (3) members to review transfers of
adults and two (2) members to review transfers of
children. The executive director of the state commis-
sion on children and youth or the director’s designee
shall be a member of a transfer committee that reviews
transfers of children. The committee members shall
serve at the pleasure of the appointing commissioners.
The commissioners may appoint alternate committee
members.

History.

Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 34; 1989, ch. 278, § 31; 1996, ch. 1079, § 47;

2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2010, ch. 1100, § 39; 2012, ch. 575, § 2.

Compiler’s Notes.

Acts 2010, ch. 1100, § 153 provided that the commissioner of mental
health and developmental disabilities, the commissioner of mental
health (now commissioner of mental health and substance abuse
services), the commissioner of intellectual and developmental disabili-
ties, and the commissioner of finance and administration are autho-
rized to promulgate rules and regulations to effectuate the purposes of
the act. All such rules and regulations shall be promulgated in
accordance with the provisions of the Uniform Administrative Proce-
dures Act, compiled in title 4, chapter 5.
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33-3-405. Transfer committee — Chair — Vice
chair — Voting — Hearings — Rights
of transferees — Evidence.

(a) The committee may elect a chair and a vice chair.
The committee shall act by majority vote. No member
of the committee is disqualified to participate in a
hearing by virtue of prior knowledge of the case. The
chair may postpone the hearing for a reasonable time
upon request of the person whose transfer is proposed
to permit that person to obtain counsel and witnesses.
In the hearing, the committee shall receive all relevant
evidence. The transferee shall be permitted to speak
personally and by counsel and to present witnesses.

(b) Transfer committee proceedings under this part
are not governed by the Uniform Administrative Pro-
cedures Act, compiled in title 4, chapter 5.

History.
Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 34; 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-406. Approval or disapproval of transfer.

(a) If the committee determines that the transfer
meets the standards for a transfer under this part, it
shall approve the transfer. The chair shall immediately
give the person written notice of the committee’s deci-
sion and a summary of the factual basis for the decision
and a complaint form for review of the transfer in the
circuit court under part 7 of this chapter.

(b) If the transfer committee determines that the
transfer does not meet the standards for a transfer
under this part, it shall disapprove the transfer, and if
the person has already been transferred, shall order
the person returned to the transferring facility. The
chair shall immediately give the person written notice
of the committee’s decision and a summary of the
factual basis for the decision.

History.
Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 34; 1989, ch. 513, § 6; 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-407. When person to be transferred.

(a) The person shall be transferred five (5) days after
the receipt of the committee’s notice if the person has
not filed a complaint under part 7 of this chapter.

(b) The person may be transferred immediately after
receipt of the notice if the person is competent and
consents in writing to the transfer.

History.
Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 34; 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-408. Determination of appropriateness of
transfer.

(a) Within five (5) days, excluding Saturdays, Sun-
days, and legal holidays, after any transfer made
without objection by the transferee under § 33-3-401 or
§ 33-3-402, or any transfer under § 33-3-403, the chief
officer of the receiving facility of the department shall
determine whether the transfer was appropriate under
this part. If the transfer was based on mental illness or
serious emotional disturbance, the chief officer’s deci-
sion shall be based on the advice of a licensed physi-
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cian. If the transfer was based on intellectual disability,
the chief officer’s decision shall be based on the advice
of a licensed physician or a licensed psychologist with
health service provider designation.
(b)(1) Ifthe chief officer determines that the transfer
of a person in the custody of the department of
correction was not appropriate, the chief officer shall
immediately transfer the person back to the custody
of the department of correction.

(2) If the chief officer of the receiving department
facility determines that the transfer of a person in
the custody of the department of children’s services
was not appropriate, the chief officer shall immedi-
ately transfer the person back to the youth develop-
ment center or other appropriate program desig-
nated by the commissioner of children’s services.

(3) If the chief officer determines that the transfer
was appropriate, the chief officer shall immediately
give the person written notice of the decision.

History.

Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 34;1987, ch. 143, § 2; 1989, ch. 278, § 33; 1989,
ch. 513, § 7;1996, ch. 1079, §§ 48, 49; 2000, ch. 947, §§ 1, 6; 2004, ch.
565, § 7; 2010, ch. 734, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

For the Preamble to the act regarding changing the term “mental
retardation” to “intellectual disability”, please refer to Acts 2010, ch.
734.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 1 provided that the Tennessee code commission
is directed to change all references to “mental retardation”, wherever
such references appear in titles 33, 39 and 41, to “intellectual disabil-
ity”, as supplements are issued and volumes are replaced.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 7 provided that for purposes of each provision
amended by the act, a reference to intellectual disability shall be
considered to refer to mental retardation, as defined by that provision
on the day before the date of enactment of the act.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 8 provided that nothing in the act shall be
construed to alter or otherwise affect the eligibility for services or the
rights or responsibilities of individuals covered by the provision on the
day before the date of enactment of the act.

33-3-409. Return of transferee from public
facility.

(a) If the chief officer of a receiving facility of the
department or, upon approval by the commissioner, the
chief officer of a private facility that operates a program
for the department determines more than five (5) days,
excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and legal holidays, af-
ter a person has been transferred, that a person no
longer meets the standards for a transfer under this
part or that residential care and treatment in the
facility are no longer advisable or beneficial, the chief
officer shall order the person’s return to the depart-
ment of correction or the department of children’s
services.

(b) The chief officer shall notify the person of the
decision in writing not less than seventy-two (72) hours
in advance of the proposed transfer. If the person does
not object within seventy-two (72) hours of the notice to
the proposed return, the person shall be returned to the
department of correction or the department of chil-
dren’s services. If the person objects within seventy-two
(72) hours of the notice, the chief officer shall convene a
transfer committee to review the decision not less than
seven (7) days nor more than fourteen (14) days there-
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after. The person shall remain at the facility pending
the decision of the transfer committee.

(¢) If the transfer committee determines that the
person no longer meets the standards for a transfer
under this part or that residential care and treatment
in the facility are no longer advisable or beneficial, it
shall approve the transfer.

(d) The decision of a transfer committee approving
or disapproving a transfer under this section is final.
The judicial remedy and procedures under part 7 of this
chapter do not apply to the transfer committee deci-
sion.

History.
Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 34;1988, ch. 828, § 1;1989, ch. 278,§ 33; 1989,
ch. 513, §§ 8-12; 1996, ch. 1079, § 50; 2000, ch. 947, §§ 1, 6.

33-3-410. Return of transferee from private
facility.

(a) If the chief officer of a private facility that oper-
ates a program for the department determines that
residential care and treatment of a transferee in the
facility are no longer advisable or beneficial, the chief
officer shall notify the transferee and the commissioner
of the determination and of the basis for it.

(b) If the commissioner, after receipt of the notice,
determines that an emergency exists and that the
determination appears to be correct, the commissioner
shall order the transfer immediately to a facility of the
department. Within seven (7) days after the transfer,
the commissioner shall have a transfer committee
composed only of three (3) persons appointed by the
commissioner hold a hearing to determine whether
residential care and treatment of a transferee in the
transferring facility are no longer advisable or benefi-
cial. If the committee determines that the chief officer
was correct, it shall approve the transfer. Otherwise,
the committee shall order the person returned to the
transferring facility or to another appropriate facility.

(¢) If the commissioner, after receipt of the notice,
determines that an emergency does not exist and that
the determination appears to be correct, the commis-
sioner shall have a transfer committee composed only
of three (3) persons appointed by the commissioner hold
a hearing not less than seven (7) nor more than
fourteen (14) days after receipt of the notice to deter-
mine whether residential care and treatment of a
transferee in the transferring facility are no longer
advisable or beneficial. If the committee determines
that the chief officer was correct, it shall approve the
transfer. Otherwise, the committee shall disapprove
the transfer. The person shall remain in the transfer-
ring facility until the committee has made its determi-
nation.

History.
Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 34; 2000, ch. 947, §§ 1, 6.

33-3-411. Runaways — Custody.

If a transferee runs away from a department facility
or a program that is operated by a private contractor
for the department and is taken into custody within
thirty (30) days after running away, the transferee

33-3-501

shall be returned to the custody of the commissioner at
a facility designated by the commissioner. If a trans-
feree runs away from the facility or program and is
taken into custody more than thirty (30) days after
running away, the department that initiated the trans-
fer shall designate a facility or program at which the
transferee shall be returned to the custody of the
transferring department.
History.

Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 34; 1989, ch. 278, §§ 32, 33; 1996, ch. 1079,
§ 51; 2000, ch. 947, §§ 1, 6.

33-3-412. Emergency residential care and treat-
ment for minors in youth develop-
ment centers.

(a) The chief officer of a youth development center
shall immediately have a person transferred to a facil-
ity of the department designated by the commissioner,
if the chief officer of the youth development center of
the department of children’s services determines, on
the basis of a written report of a licensed physician or a
licensed psychologist designated as a health service
provider, that the person in the youth development
center:

(1) Has a serious emotional disturbance or mental
illness; and

(2) Is in need of emergency residential care and
treatment for the condition that cannot be provided
at the youth development center and that can be
provided by an appropriate residential program of
the department.

(b) When a person in the custody of the department
of children’s services is transferred to a facility of the
department under this section, the chief officer of the
receiving facility shall convene a transfer committee
not less than seven (7) nor more than fourteen (14) days
thereafter, unless the person is returned to the youth
development center or other appropriate program of
the department of children’s services before the sched-
uled hearing date.

History.
Acts 1996, ch. 1079, § 46; 2000, ch. 947, §§ 1, 6;2010, ch. 1100, § 24.

Compiler’s Notes.

Acts 2010, ch. 1100, § 153 provided that the commissioner of mental
health and developmental disabilities, the commissioner of mental
health (now commissioner of mental health and substance abuse
services), the commissioner of intellectual and developmental disabili-
ties, and the commissioner of finance and administration are autho-
rized to promulgate rules and regulations to effectuate the purposes of
the act. All such rules and regulations shall be promulgated in
accordance with the provisions of the Uniform Administrative Proce-
dures Act, compiled in title 4, chapter 5.

PART 5
JUDICIAL PROCEDURES GENERALLY
33-3-501. Patient or resident not released during

pendency of proceedings —
Exceptions.

(a) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this title,
no person with mental illness, serious emotional dis-



33-3-502

turbance, or developmental disability with respect to
whom proceedings for hospitalization or admission
under a court order have been commenced, shall be
released or discharged during the pendency of the
proceedings, unless ordered by the court upon applica-
tion of the person with mental illness, serious emo-
tional disturbance, or developmental disability or of the
parent, legal guardian, legal custodian, conservator,
spouse or adult next of kin of the person, or upon the
report of the chief officer that the person with mental
illness, serious emotional disturbance, or developmen-
tal disability may be discharged with safety.

(b) This section does not limit the duties to release
persons with mental illness, serious emotional distur-
bance, or developmental disability imposed by §§ 33-5-
302, 33-5-303, and 33-6-207, and chapter 6, parts 3, 4,
and 8 of this title.

History.

Acts 1965, ch. 38, § 7; 1974, ch. 802, § 23; 1978, ch. 533, § 5; 1983,
ch.323,§ 12; T.C.A,, § 33-310; Acts 1985, ch. 437, § 11;1996, ch. 1079,
§ 52; 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former chapter 3, §§ 33-3-101 — 33-3-112, 33-3-201 — 33-3-203,
33-3-301 — 33-3-303, 33-3-401 — 33-3-412, 33-3-501 — 504, 33-3-601
— 33-3-603, 33-3-605 — 33-3-619, 33-3-623, 33-3-701 — 33-3-711,
33-3-801, 33-3-901 — 33-3-908 (Acts 1955, ch. 187, § 1; 1965, ch. 38,
§§ 4-7, 16-19, 23-26; 1974, ch. 802, §§ 17-20, 22-25, 29-32; 1975, ch.
248, §§ 1, 5-7, 11; 1976, ch. 489, §§ 1, 2; 1976, ch. 763, §§ 1, 2, 10;
1977, ch. 482, § 11; 1978, ch. 533, §§ 3-5; 1978, ch. 533, § 7; 1978, ch.
877, §§ 1, 2; 1979, ch. 366, § 15; 1980, ch. 838, § 5; 1983, ch. 323,
§ 4-7, 9, 12, 15, 16; T.C.A. §§ 33-303 — 33-307, 33-309 — 33-312,
33-317 — 33-320, 33-330 — 33-337, 33-345 — 33-347, 33-355, 33-360 —
33-362, 33-364 — 33-378, 33-382, 33-610, 33-1101; Acts 1984, ch. 922,
§§ 2-5, 7, 16-23, 34; 1984, ch. 986, §§ 1, 2; 1985, ch. 437, §§ 6-13, 33;
1986, ch. 570, §§ 2-4; 1986, ch. 836, § 3, 5; 1987, ch. 143, §§ 2, 3, 7;
1988, ch. 828, § 1; 1989, ch. 278, §§ 30-33; 1989, ch. 513, §§ 2, 5-13;
1989, ch. 591, §§ 29-31, 113; 1992, ch. 991, § 13; 1993, ch. 66, § 44;
1993, ch. 439, § 1; 1993, ch. 356, § 4; 1994, ch. 630, §§ 1, 2; 1994, ch.
743,§ 1;1995, ch. 320, § 1;1995, ch. 411, § 1;1996, ch. 669, § 1;1996,
ch. 675, § 15; 1996, ch. 1079, §§ 31-47, 49-56; 2000, ch. 947, § 6);
§ 33-3-304 (Acts 1974, ch. 464, § 1; 1975, ch. 248, § 20; T.C.A,,
§ 33-702), which was previously repealed by Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 33;
§ 33-3-604 (Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 9; T.C.A., § 33-363), which was
repealed by Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 33; § 33-3-620, which was previously
transferred to § 33-6-104(e) and (f) in 1984; § 33-3-621, which was
previously transferred to § 33-6-104(g) in 1984; and § 33-3-622, which
was previously transferred to § 33-6-104(h) in 1984, is deleted and
replaced in the revision of title 33 by Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1, effective
March 1, 2001.

33-3-502. Record of proceedings — Copy of court
order with recipient’s history to
hospital or developmental center.

(a) In all judicial proceedings under this title the
clerk of the court in which the proceedings are held
shall keep a careful and accurate record of the proceed-
ings.

(b)(1) Whenever, in a judicial proceeding under this

title, a person has been ordered hospitalized or

admitted, the clerk of the court shall immediately
communicate the action of the court to the chief
officer of the hospital or developmental center.

(2) A copy of the court order shall be forwarded to

the hospital or developmental center, together with a

personal and family history of the person with men-

tal illness, serious emotional disturbance, or devel-
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opmental disability that the clerk shall complete, and
any other forms or documents required by rules of
the department.

(3) The department shall furnish a supply of all
necessary forms to the clerks of the various courts.
(c) The clerk may communicate to the chief officer of

the hospital or developmental center the cost that shall
be included in the costs and expenses of the case.

History.
Acts 1965, ch. 38,8 16; 1974, ch. 802,§ 24;1975,ch. 248,§ 1;T.C.A.,
§ 33-311; Acts 2000, ch. 947, §§ 1, 6.

33-3-503. Costs of proceedings.

(a) The reasonable costs incurred in judicial proceed-
ings under this title shall be paid by the subject of the
proceedings or the subject’s estate or by the subject’s
responsible relatives and shall be a charge upon the
estate of those liable.

(b) The reasonable costs incurred in judicial proceed-
ings filed by the chief officer of a department facility to
have a guardian or conservator appointed under title
34, shall be paid by the subject of the proceedings in
conformity with that law.

(c)(1) If a subject of proceedings under this title is
indigent and does not have responsible relatives able
to pay the costs or if a subject of guardianship or
conservatorship proceedings filed by the chief officer
of a department facility is indigent under the guard-
ianship or conservatorship law under title 34, the
state shall pay the costs.

(2) For the purpose of subdivision (c)(1), the su-
preme court shall prescribe by rule the nature of
costs for which reimbursement may be allowed, and
limitations on and conditions for reimbursement of
costs as it deems appropriate in the public interest,
subject to this section. The rules shall also specify the
form and content of applications for reimbursement
of costs to be filed under this section. The adminis-
trative director of the courts shall administer this
subsection (c) and rules adopted under this subsec-
tion (c), and shall audit and review all applications
for reimbursement of costs. Upon finding payment to
be in order, the administrative director of the courts
shall process the payment from money appropriated
for that purpose.

(d) In any case where the subject of the proceedings
is judicially determined not to be involuntarily hospi-
talized, committed, or transferred, the costs may be
taxed against the person who seeks hospitalization,
commitment, or transfer of the subject of the proceed-
ings.

(e) The court may require any petitioner to file an
undertaking with surety to be approved by the court in
an amount the court considers proper to assure the
payment of costs and expenses and to save harmless
the respondent by reason of costs incurred, including
attorney’s fees, if any, and damages suffered by the
respondent as a result of the action.

(f) Witnesses subpoenaed to appear in proceedings
held under this title shall be paid fees and mileage as
provided by law for witnesses generally.
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History.

Acts 1965, ch. 38,§ 17;1974, ch. 802,§ 25;1976,ch. 763,§ 2; T.C.A.,
§ 33-312; Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 3; 1985, ch. 437, § 12; 1993, ch. 66,
§ 44; 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2001, ch. 349, § 1.

33-3-504. Physician, psychologist, or other per-
son, as witness.

A physician, psychologist, person designated by the
commissioner under § 33-6-427(b), or other profes-
sional who makes an application or conducts an exami-
nation under this title is a competent and compellable
witness at any judicial proceeding conducted under it.
History.

Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 15; T.C.A., § 33-355; Acts 1993, ch. 356, § 4;
2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-505. Use of audio visual technology in judi-
cial proceeding.

(a)(1) Any judicial proceeding under this title may be
conducted by the use of audio visual technology as set
out in this section.

(2) For proceedings under chapter 6, part 4 of this
title, the use of audio visual technology is permissible
at the court’s discretion, but the court may grant any
reasonable request by counsel, a party, or a guardian
ad litem to conduct the proceedings in the physical
presence of the court.

(3) For any other proceedings under this title, the
use of audio visual technology is permissible with the
agreement of all parties and at the court’s discretion.
(b) Subject to the availability of suitable equipment

and notwithstanding any law to the contrary, proceed-
ings may be conducted through two-way electronic
audio-video communication without the physical pres-
ence of the defendant, plaintiff, witnesses or attorneys
before the court. Any such hearing must be conducted
so that:

(1) The defendant, plaintiff, and judge can see and
hear each other throughout the entire hearing, ex-
cept for the private communications excluded under
subdivision (b)(5);

(2) The judge, defendant, plaintiff and their attor-
neys can see and hear all witnesses while they testify
orally during the hearing;

(3) The judge, defendant, plaintiff and their attor-
neys can hear all questions asked of witnesses during
their testimony;

(4) The judge, defendant, plaintiff and their attor-
neys can hear all questions, statements, objections,
motions and arguments of any attorney or party
participating in the hearing; and

(5) The defendant and defendant’s attorney and
plaintiff and plaintiff’s attorney can communicate
privately with each other during the hearing.

History.
Acts 2004, ch. 929, § 1.

33-3-506. Delivery of pleadings and certificates of
need for care and treatment by tele-
fax transmission.

Pleadings and any certificates of need for care and
treatment that must be filed in proceedings under this

33-3-602

chapter, and chapters 5-8 of this title may be delivered
to the court by telefax transmission in conformity with
the Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure.

History.
Acts 2004, ch. 929, § 1.

PART 6

JUDICIAL PROCEDURES FOR RESIDENTIAL
TREATMENT

33-3-601. Application of part.

This part governs only proceedings under statutes
that designate use of this part.

History.
Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 9; T.C.A,, § 33-360; Acts 1987, ch. 143, § 7;
2000, ch. 947, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former chapter 3, §§ 33-3-101 — 33-3-112, 33-3-201 — 33-3-203,
33-3-301 — 33-3-303, 33-3-401 — 33-3-412, 33-3-501 — 504, 33-3-601
— 33-3-603, 33-3-605 — 33-3-619, 33-3-623, 33-3-701 — 33-3-711,
33-3-801, 33-3-901 — 33-3-908 (Acts 1955, ch. 187, § 1; 1965, ch. 38,
§§ 4-7, 16-19, 23-26; 1974, ch. 802, §§ 17-20, 22-25, 29-32; 1975, ch.
248, §§ 1, 5-7, 11; 1976, ch. 489, §§ 1, 2; 1976, ch. 763, §§ 1, 2, 10;
1977, ch. 482, § 11; 1978, ch. 533, §§ 3-5; 1978, ch. 533, § 7; 1978, ch.
877, §§ 1, 2; 1979, ch. 366, § 15; 1980, ch. 838, § 5; 1983, ch. 323,
§ 4-7, 9, 12, 15, 16; T.C.A. §§ 33-303 — 33-307, 33-309 — 33-312,
33-317 — 33-320, 33-330 — 33-337, 33-345 — 33-347, 33-355, 33-360 —
33-362, 33-364 — 33-378, 33-382, 33-610, 33-1101; Acts 1984, ch. 922,
§§ 2-5, 7, 16-23, 34; 1984, ch. 986, §§ 1, 2; 1985, ch. 437, §§ 6-13, 33;
1986, ch. 570, §§ 2-4; 1986, ch. 836, § 3, 5; 1987, ch. 143, §§ 2, 3, 7;
1988, ch. 828, § 1; 1989, ch. 278, §§ 30-33; 1989, ch. 513, §§ 2, 5-13;
1989, ch. 591, §§ 29-31, 113; 1992, ch. 991, § 13; 1993, ch. 66, § 44;
1993, ch. 439, § 1; 1993, ch. 356, § 4; 1994, ch. 630, §§ 1, 2; 1994, ch.
743,8§ 1;1995, ch. 320, § 1;1995, ch. 411,§ 1;1996, ch. 669, § 1; 1996,
ch. 675, § 15; 1996, ch. 1079, §§ 31-47, 49-56; 2000, ch. 947, § 6);
§ 33-3-304 (Acts 1974, ch. 464, § 1; 1975, ch. 248, § 20; T.C.A,,
§ 33-702), which was previously repealed by Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 33;
§ 33-3-604 (Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 9; T.C.A,, § 33-363), which was
repealed by Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 33; § 33-3-620, which was previously
transferred to § 33-6-104(e) and (f) in 1984; § 33-3-621, which was
previously transferred to § 33-6-104(g) in 1984; and § 33-3-622, which
was previously transferred to § 33-6-104(h) in 1984, is deleted and
replaced in the revision of title 33 by Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1, effective
March 1, 2001.

33-3-602. Contents of complaint for commitment.

A complaint for commitment shall be sworn and shall
show that the defendant is subject to involuntary care
and treatment under the commitment statute on which
the complaint is based, and shall be accompanied either
by a sworn statement by the plaintiff that the defen-
dant has refused to be examined by certifying profes-
sionals or by certificates of need as required by the
commitment statute showing:

(1) That the certifying professionals have exam-
ined the defendant within three (3) days of the date
of the certificate;

(2) That they are of the opinion that the defendant
is subject to involuntary care and treatment under
the commitment statute; and

(3) The factual foundation for their conclusions on
each item of the commitment statute.



33-3-603

History.
Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 9; T.C.A., § 33-361; Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 16;
2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-603. Jurisdiction and venue.

(a) The complaint may be filed in a county in which
the defendant resides or may be found. If the defendant
is in a developmental center, hospital, or treatment
resource, the complaint shall be filed where the person
is, and jurisdiction of the proceedings may be trans-
ferred for good cause to the court of residence. This
venue requirement does not apply to complaints filed in
accordance with § 33-7-301 or § 33-7-303.

(b) Except as otherwise expressly provided in this
title, only the following courts have jurisdiction over
the complaint:

(1) Chancery court;

(2) Circuit court;

(3) Juvenile courts in proceedings held by judges
who are lawyers or by referees;

(4) Probate court in counties having a population
of more than four hundred thousand (400,000) ac-
cording to the 1980 federal census or any subsequent
federal census; and

(5) Court of general sessions in counties having a
metropolitan form of government and having a popu-
lation of more than four hundred thousand (400,000)
according to the 1990 federal census or any subse-
quent federal census; provided, that the jurisdiction
conferred by this subdivision (b)(5) is conferred only
for petitions concerning mandatory outpatient treat-
ment.

History.

Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 9; T.C.A., § 33-362; Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 16;
1985, ch. 437, 8§ 13;1986, ch. 570, § 4; 1986, ch. 836,§ 5;1994, ch. 743,
§ 1; 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.
For table of U.S. decennial populations of Tennessee counties, see
Volume 13 and its supplement.

33-3-604. [Reserved.]

33-3-605. Service on defendant.

Upon receipt of a complaint, the clerk shall have a
copy of the complaint with a notice of the time and
place of the hearing, the defendant’s right to counsel,
and the standards for commitment that apply to the
proceeding served on the defendant by personal service
if the person is at liberty, or by mail, if the person is not
at liberty, and shall send a copy by mail to the defen-
dant’s attorney, the chief officer of a facility in which
the defendant is, and the defendant’s legal guardian,
legal custodian, or conservator, if any, and to the
spouse, parent, or adult next of kin if there is no
guardian or conservator. If mailing addresses are un-
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known, notice may be given by any other reasonable
means.

History.
Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 9; T.C.A., § 33-364; Acts 1984, ch. 922, §§ 16,
17; 1987, ch. 143, § 3; 1996, ch. 1079, § 53; 2000, ch. 947, §§ 1, 6.

33-3-606. Time for hearing.

The hearing shall be held as soon as possible, but not
more than twenty (20) days after the complaint was
filed, except that the court may continue the hearing
for up to ten (10) days for good cause and may continue
the hearing for as long as necessary to impanel a jury if
the defendant demands a jury trial.

History.
Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 9; T.C.A., § 33-365; Acts 1984, ch. 922, §§ 16,
18; 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-607. Examination of defendant — Detention
and release.

If the complaint includes or is accompanied by a
sworn statement by the plaintiff that the defendant has
refused to be examined by certifying professionals and
the court finds that probable cause exists to believe
that the defendant is subject to involuntary care and
treatment and has refused to be examined by a certi-
fying professional, the court shall order a law enforce-
ment officer to take the defendant into custody for an
examination by two (2) certifying professionals who
meet the requirements of the commitment statute. The
defendant may be detained for the period required to
complete the examinations, but not more than forty-
eight (48) hours. Upon completion of the examinations,
the person shall be released, and the certifying profes-
sionals shall report their findings to the court. For good
cause, the court may order further examination, includ-
ing independent examination, as to the mental condi-
tion of the person and may continue the hearing until
the report of the examination is made to the court.

History.
Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 9; T.C.A., § 33-366; Acts 1984, ch. 922, §§ 16,
19; 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-608. Attorney — Notification of representa-
tion — Appointment by court.

The defendant’s attorney shall notify the court of the
representation immediately after accepting it. If the
defendant does not employ an attorney, the court shall
appoint an attorney to represent the defendant not less
than five (5) days in advance of the hearing. An attor-
ney representing the defendant shall not serve as
guardian ad litem. If the court determines that the
defendant is not able to understand the nature of the
proceedings and cannot communicate with counsel in
the conduct of the case, the court may appoint another
person to serve as the defendant’s guardian ad litem.
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History.
Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 9; T.C.A., § 33-367; Acts 1984, ch. 922, §§ 16,
20; 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-609. Jury trial.
Either party may demand a jury trial on the issues.

History.
Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 9; T.C.A., § 33-368; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-610. Place of hearing.

The hearing shall be conducted in a place where the
court is usually held or in a physical setting not likely
to have a harmful effect on the mental condition of the
defendant. No hearing shall be conducted in a jail or
other custodial facility for the detention of persons
charged with or convicted of criminal offenses. The
court shall determine the place of the hearing and may
exclude the public from the hearing on motion of the
defendant if the interests of the defendant and the
public would best be served by exclusion.

History.

Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 9; T.C.A., § 33-369; Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 16;

2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-611. Transportation to hearing.

The chief officer of a facility in which the defendant is
found shall arrange for suitable transportation of the
person to the court where the hearing is to be held,
except that the sheriff shall provide transportation if
the defendant has been committed in connection with
criminal charges.

History.
Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 9; T.C.A., § 33-370; Acts 1984, ch. 922, §§ 16,
19; 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-612. Evidence — Witnesses — Continuances
— Presence or exclusion of
defendant.

(a) The court shall give the defendant, the plaintiff,
and all other persons to whom the clerk is required to
give notice of the proceeding, an opportunity to appear
at the hearing, to testify, and to present and cross-
examine witnesses.

(b) The defendant shall be present at the hearing
unless the defendant waives the right to be present in
writing. If the defendant’s attorney shows that the
defendant’s physical health would be endangered by
being at the hearing, the court may order a continuance
until the risk is terminated, and the defendant shall
not be discharged during the continuance unless the
hospital determines that the defendant no longer meets
the commitment standards applicable in the hearing
that has been continued. If the court determines that
the defendant’s conduct at the hearing is so violent or
otherwise disruptive that it creates a serious risk of
harm to the defendant or others at the hearing or so
disrupts the proceedings that they cannot be conducted
in a proper manner, the court may order the defendant
restrained or excluded to the extent necessary to the
proper conduct of the proceedings. If the defendant is

33-3-617

not present at or is excluded from the hearing, the court
shall make a written finding of fact as to why the
hearing is held in defendant’s absence.

History.
Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 9; T.C.A., § 33-371; Acts 1984, ch. 922, §§ 16,
21; 1996, ch. 1079, § 54; 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-613. Conduct of hearing.

The hearing shall be conducted in as informal a
manner as may be consistent with orderly procedure.

History.
Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 9; T.C.A., § 33-372; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-614. Names of examining professionals —
Availability to defendant.

If the names of examining professionals who certified
the person’s need for care and treatment did not
accompany the complaint, they shall be made available
to the defendant and counsel prior to the hearing.
History.

Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 9; T.C.A., § 33-373; Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 16;
2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-615. Testimony of professionals — Deposi-
tions or affidavits.

(a) The testimony of a certifying professional may be
made by deposition or affidavit only with the consent of
the defendant’s counsel. If the testimony is given by
deposition or affidavit, the court shall make a specific
finding of fact that the defendant or the defendant’s
counsel has consented, and the defendant’s right of
cross-examination of the certifying professional shall
be preserved.

(b) If consent is not given for testimony by deposition
or affidavit, a professional who would be qualified as a
certifying professional under the commitment statute
may testify instead of a certifying professional if the
person has examined the defendant within ten (10)
days of the hearing, and the person shall testify as to
each point of the commitment statute.

History.

Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 9; T.C.A., § 33-374; Acts 1984, ch. 922, §§ 16,
29; 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-616. Place of detention.

No defendant shall be detained at a jail or other
custodial facility for the detention of persons charged
with or convicted of criminal offenses, unless the defen-
dant is under arrest for the commission of a crime.
History.

Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 9; T.C.A., § 33-375; Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 16;
2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-617. Requisites for commitment.

IF AND ONLY IF

(1) the certificates required by law have been filed
with the court showing the need for involuntary care
and treatment, AND



33-3-618

(2) the court finds on the basis of clear, unequivo-
cal and convincing evidence that the defendant is
subject to involuntary care and treatment under the
statute under which the commitment is sought,

THEN

(3) the court shall commit the person under the

commitment statute on which the complaint is based.

History.
Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 9; T.C.A,, § 33-376; Acts 1984, ch. 922, §§ 16,
23; 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-618. Dismissal of proceedings — Release of
defendant.

(a) If the court does not commit the defendant to
involuntary care and treatment, the court shall enter
an order dismissing the proceedings for involuntary
care and treatment.

(b) Ifthe defendant is being held involuntarily under
this title, the court shall order the immediate release of
the defendant unless the defendant is in the custody of
the chief officer of a facility under another law or is
being held on charges of the commission of a criminal
offense or of juvenile delinquency.

History.

Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 9; T.C.A., § 33-377; Acts 1984, ch. 922, §§ 16,

19; 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-619. Commitment to involuntary care — Dis-
closure of information.

If a commitment to involuntary care and treatment is
entered, the certifying professionals shall disclose to
the hospital, treatment resource, or developmental
center that admits the person on its request informa-
tion they have about the person, including diagnosis,
past treatment, and anything else relating to the per-
son’s condition that may aid the facility in providing
appropriate care and treatment.

History.

Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 9; T.C.A., § 33-378; Acts 1984, ch. 922, §§ 16,
19; 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-620. Appeals.

Appeals from proceedings for involuntary care and
treatment shall be taken under the general law gov-
erning appeals.

History.

Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 9; T.C.A., §§ 33-382, 33-3-623; Acts 2000, ch.
947, § 1.

PART 7

JUDICIAL PROCEDURES FOR REVIEW OF
TRANSFERS

33-3-701. Commencement of proceedings.

Judicial proceedings for the determination of
whether a person may be transferred to a facility or
continues to be eligible for treatment in a facility to
which that person was transferred under part 3 or 4 of
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this chapter, may be commenced by filing a complaint
in circuit court where the receiving department facility
is located. The person or a parent, legal guardian, legal
custodian, conservator, spouse or responsible relative of
the person may initiate the review proceedings.

History.
Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 5; 1989, ch. 513, § 13; 1996, ch. 1079, § 55;
2000, ch. 947, §§ 1, 6.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former chapter 3, §§ 33-3-101 — 33-3-112, 33-3-201 — 33-3-203,
33-3-301 — 33-3-303, 33-3-401 — 33-3-412, 33-3-501 — 504, 33-3-601
— 33-3-603, 33-3-605 — 33-3-619, 33-3-623, 33-3-701 — 33-3-711,
33-3-801, 33-3-901 — 33-3-908 (Acts 1955, ch. 187, § 1; 1965, ch. 38,
§8 4-7, 16-19, 23-26; 1974, ch. 802, §§ 17-20, 22-25, 29-32; 1975, ch.
248, §§ 1, 5-7, 11; 1976, ch. 489, §§ 1, 2; 1976, ch. 763, §§ 1, 2, 10;
1977, ch. 482, § 11; 1978, ch. 533, §§ 3-5; 1978, ch. 533, § 7; 1978, ch.
8717, §§ 1, 2; 1979, ch. 366, § 15; 1980, ch. 838, § 5; 1983, ch. 323,
§ 4-7, 9, 12, 15, 16; T.C.A. §§ 33-303 — 33-307, 33-309 — 33-312,
33-317 — 33-320, 33-330 — 33-337, 33-345 — 33-347, 33-355, 33-360 —
33-362, 33-364 — 33-378, 33-382, 33-610, 33-1101; Acts 1984, ch. 922,
§§ 2-5, 7, 16-23, 34; 1984, ch. 986, §§ 1, 2; 1985, ch. 437, §§ 6-13, 33;
1986, ch. 570, §§ 2-4; 1986, ch. 836, § 3, 5; 1987, ch. 143, §§ 2,3, 7;
1988, ch. 828, § 1; 1989, ch. 278, §§ 30-33; 1989, ch. 513, §§ 2, 5-13;
1989, ch. 591, §§ 29-31, 113; 1992, ch. 991, § 13; 1993, ch. 66, § 44;
1993, ch. 439, § 1; 1993, ch. 356, § 4; 1994, ch. 630, §§ 1, 2; 1994, ch.
743,8 1;1995, ch. 320, § 1;1995, ch. 411,§ 1;1996, ch. 669, § 1; 1996,
ch. 675, § 15; 1996, ch. 1079, §§ 31-47, 49-56; 2000, ch. 947, § 6);
§ 33-3-304 (Acts 1974, ch. 464, § 1; 1975, ch. 248, § 20; T.C.A,,
§ 33-702), which was previously repealed by Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 33;
§ 33-3-604 (Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 9; T.C.A,, § 33-363), which was
repealed by Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 33; § 33-3-620, which was previously
transferred to § 33-6-104(e) and (f) in 1984; § 33-3-621, which was
previously transferred to § 33-6-104(g) in 1984; and § 33-3-622, which
was previously transferred to § 33-6-104(h) in 1984, is deleted and
replaced in the revision of title 33 by Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1, effective
March 1, 2001.

33-3-702. Notice of complaint and hearing.

Upon receipt of a complaint the clerk shall mail
notice of the filing and of the time and place of the
hearing to the transferee and the plaintiff and shall
mail notice and a copy of the complaint to the chief
officers of the transferring facility and of the receiving
facility and to the transferee’s spouse, parent, respon-
sible relative, legal guardian, legal custodian, or con-
servator. If mailing addresses are unknown, notice may
be given by any other reasonable means.

History.
Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 5; 1996, ch. 1079, § 56; 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-703. When hearings held — Continuances.

The hearing shall be held as soon as possible after
the complaint was filed. At the request of counsel for
the transferee, the hearing shall be continued for up to
ten (10) days for preparation of the case.

History.
Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 5; 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-704. Transferee’s attorney.

The transferee’s attorney shall notify the court of the
representation immediately after accepting it. If the
transferee or others on the transferee’s behalf do not
employ an attorney for the transferee, the court shall
appoint an attorney to represent the transferee. An
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attorney representing the transferee shall not serve as
guardian ad litem. If the court determines that the
transferee is not able to understand the nature of the
proceedings and cannot communicate with counsel in
the conduct of the case, the court may appoint another
person to serve as the transferee’s guardian ad litem.

History.
Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 5; 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-705. Jury trial.
Either party may demand a jury trial on the issues.

History.
Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 5; 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-706. Place of hearings — Exclusion of public.

The hearing shall be conducted in a place where the
court is usually held or in a physical setting not likely
to have a harmful effect on the mental condition of the
transferee. No hearing shall be conducted in a jail or
other custodial facility for the detention of persons
charged with or convicted of criminal offenses unless
the transferee is being held in connection with the
offenses. The court shall determine the place of the
hearing and may exclude the public from the hearing
on motion of the transferee if the interests of the
transferee and the public would best be served by
exclusion.

History.
Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 5; T.C.A. § 33-3-612; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-707. Evidence — Witnesses — Continuances
— Presence or exclusion of
transferee.

(a) The court shall give the plaintiff, the transferee,
and all other persons to whom the clerk is required to
give notice of the proceeding an opportunity to appear
at the hearing, to testify, and to present and cross-
examine witnesses.

(b) The transferee shall be present at the hearing
unless the transferee waives the right to be present in
writing. If the transferee’s attorney shows that the
transferee’s physical health would be endangered by
being at the hearing, the court may order a continuance
until the risk is terminated. If the court determines
that the transferee’s conduct at the hearing is so violent
or otherwise disruptive that it creates a serious risk of
harm to the transferee or others at the hearing or so
disrupts the proceedings that they cannot be conducted
in a proper manner, the court may order the transferee
restrained or excluded to the extent necessary to the
proper conduct of the proceedings. If the transferee is
not present at or is excluded from the hearing, the court
shall make a written fact finding as to why the hearing
is held in the transferee’s absence.

History.
Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 5; 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-708. Hearings informal.

The hearing shall be conducted in as informal a
manner as may be consistent with orderly procedure.

33-3-801

History.
Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 5; 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-709. Testimony of examining professionals
— Depositions and affidavits.

The testimony of an examining professional may be
made by deposition or affidavit only with the consent of
the transferee’s counsel. If the testimony is given by
deposition or affidavit, the court shall make a specific
finding of fact that the transferee’s counsel has con-
sented, and the transferee’s right of cross-examination
of the examining professional shall be preserved. If
consent is not given for testimony by deposition or
affidavit, a professional who would be qualified as an
examining professional under the commitment statute
may testify instead of an examining professional, if the
person has examined the transferee within ten (10)
days of the hearing.

History.
Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 5; 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-710. Findings by court or jury.

If the court finds by a preponderance of the evidence
under the transfer statute that the transferee is subject
to transfer or continues to be eligible for care and
treatment in a facility to which the person was trans-
ferred, the court shall so declare. If the court finds
otherwise, the court shall order the person’s transfer
from the receiving facility to the transferring facility or
shall order that the person not be transferred to the
proposed facility. Findings of a jury with respect to the
transfer criteria shall be reported by special verdict.

History.
Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 5; 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-711. Limitations on filing complaint.

No complaint under this part may be filed by or on
behalf of a transferee within six (6) months after a
hearing on a previous complaint under this part.

History.
Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 5; 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

PART 8
HABEAS CORPUS

33-3-801. Right to file for writ of habeas corpus.

Any person with mental illness, serious emotional
disturbance, or developmental disability in a public or
private residential facility for persons with mental
illness, serious emotional disturbance, or developmen-
tal disability is entitled to file for a writ of habeas
corpus upon petition by the person with mental illness,
serious emotional disturbance, or developmental dis-
ability or a friend to any court generally empowered to
issue the writ of habeas corpus in the county in which
the person with mental illness, serious emotional dis-
turbance, or developmental disability is detained.



33-3-802

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former chapter 3, §§ 33-3-101 — 33-3-112, 33-3-201 — 33-3-203,
33-3-301 — 33-3-303, 33-3-401 — 33-3-412, 33-3-501 — 504, 33-3-601
— 33-3-603, 33-3-605 — 33-3-619, 33-3-623, 33-3-701 — 33-3-711,
33-3-801, 33-3-901 — 33-3-908 (Acts 1955, ch. 187, § 1; 1965, ch. 38,
§§ 4-7, 16-19, 23-26; 1974, ch. 802, §§ 17-20, 22-25, 29-32; 1975, ch.
248, §§ 1, 5-7, 11; 1976, ch. 489, §§ 1, 2; 1976, ch. 763, §§ 1, 2, 10;
1977, ch. 482, § 11; 1978, ch. 533, §§ 3-5; 1978, ch. 533, § 7; 1978, ch.
877, §§ 1, 2; 1979, ch. 366, § 15; 1980, ch. 838, § 5; 1983, ch. 323,
§ 4-7, 9, 12, 15, 16; T.C.A. §§ 33-303 — 33-307, 33-309 — 33-312,
33-317 — 33-320, 33-330 — 33-337, 33-345 — 33-347, 33-355, 33-360 —
33-362, 33-364 — 33-378, 33-382, 33-610, 33-1101; Acts 1984, ch. 922,
§§ 2-5, 7, 16-23, 34; 1984, ch. 986, §§ 1, 2; 1985, ch. 437, §§ 6-13, 33;
1986, ch. 570, §§ 2-4; 1986, ch. 836, § 3, 5; 1987, ch. 143, §§ 2, 3, 7;
1988, ch. 828, § 1; 1989, ch. 278, §§ 30-33; 1989, ch. 513, §§ 2, 5-13;
1989, ch. 591, §§ 29-31, 113; 1992, ch. 991, § 13; 1993, ch. 66, § 44;
1993, ch. 439, § 1; 1993, ch. 356, § 4; 1994, ch. 630, §§ 1, 2; 1994, ch.
743,8 1;1995, ch. 320, § 1;1995, ch. 411,§ 1;1996, ch. 669, § 1;1996,
ch. 675, § 15; 1996, ch. 1079, §§ 31-47, 49-56; 2000, ch. 947, § 6);
§ 33-3-304 (Acts 1974, ch. 464, § 1; 1975, ch. 248, § 20; T.C.A.,
§ 33-702), which was was previously repealed by Acts 1984, ch. 922,
§ 33;8 33-3-604 (Acts 1983, ch. 323,§ 9; T.C.A., § 33-363), which was
repealed by Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 33; § 33-3-620, which was previously
transferred to § 33-6-104(e) and (f) in 1984; § 33-3-621, which was
previously transferred to § 33-6-104(g) in 1984; and § 33-3-622, which
was previously transferred to § 33-6-104(h) in 1984, is deleted and
replaced in the revision of title 33 by Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1, effective
March 1, 2001.

33-3-802. Determination of mental condition of
person seeking release.

During any proceeding to determine whether to re-
lease a person with mental illness, serious emotional
disturbance, or intellectual disability seeking release
by means of a writ of habeas corpus under this part or
§ 33-3-101, or otherwise, the court shall also, if the
issue is raised in the responsive pleading, determine
whether the person seeking release presently has men-
tal illness, serious emotional disturbance, or intellec-
tual disability and meets the standards for involuntary
commitment under chapter 6, part 5 of this title, or
§§ 33-5-402 and 33-5-403.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2002, ch. 730, § 21; 2010, ch. 734, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

For the Preamble to the act regarding changing the term “mental
retardation” to “intellectual disability”, please refer to Acts 2010, ch.
734.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 1 provided that the Tennessee code commission
is directed to change all references to “mental retardation”, wherever
such references appear in titles 33, 39 and 41, to “intellectual disabil-
ity”, as supplements are issued and volumes are replaced.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 7 provided that for purposes of each provision
amended by the act, a reference to intellectual disability shall be
considered to refer to mental retardation, as defined by that provision
on the day before the date of enactment of the act.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 8 provided that nothing in the act shall be
construed to alter or otherwise affect the eligibility for services or the
rights or responsibilities of individuals covered by the provision on the
day before the date of enactment of the act.

33-3-803. Disposition of case.

If the court determines that the person was not
admitted or committed under the governing provisions
of this title or was not afforded due process of law, but
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that the person has a mental illness, serious emotional
disturbance, or intellectual disability and because of
the condition poses a likelihood of serious harm to the
person or others as determined under § 33-6-501, the
court may order the person returned to the hospital or
developmental center where the person was located on
the date of filing the petition for not more than fifteen
(15) days, exclusive of Saturdays, Sundays or holidays,
if, and only if, a petition under §§ 33-5-402 and 33-5-
403, or chapter 6, part 5 of this title is filed immediately
and is disposed of within fifteen (15) days of the court’s
order, exclusive of Saturdays, Sundays or holidays,
unless the case is continued on request of petitioner;
otherwise the person shall be released.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2002, ch. 730, § 22; 2010, ch. 734, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

For the Preamble to the act regarding changing the term “mental
retardation” to “intellectual disability”, please refer to Acts 2010, ch.
734.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 1 provided that the Tennessee code commission
is directed to change all references to “mental retardation”, wherever
such references appear in titles 33, 39 and 41, to “intellectual disabil-
ity”, as supplements are issued and volumes are replaced.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 7 provided that for purposes of each provision
amended by the act, a reference to intellectual disability shall be
considered to refer to mental retardation, as defined by that provision
on the day before the date of enactment of the act.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 8 provided that nothing in the act shall be
construed to alter or otherwise affect the eligibility for services or the
rights or responsibilities of individuals covered by the provision on the
day before the date of enactment of the act.

33-3-804. Order of discharge.

If the court ordering the discharge is not the court
that ordered the commitment or admission, the court
shall transmit a certified copy of the order to the court
that ordered the commitment or admission. Upon re-
ceipt of the copy, the court that ordered the commit-
ment or admission shall enter an order finding that the
person has been discharged by order of the court that
issued the writ of habeas corpus.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

PART 9

VIOLATIONS OF SERVICE RECIPIENT
RIGHTS

33-3-901. Wrongful hospitalization or admission
— Instituting wrongful action —
Penalties — Immunity.

(a) A person commits a Class E felony who:

(1) Without probable cause to believe a person has
developmental disability, mental illness, or serious
emotional disturbance, causes or conspires with or
assists a third person to cause the hospitalization or
admission of the person under this title; or

(2) Causes or conspires with or assists another to
cause the denial to a person of any right accorded to
a person under this title.
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(b) A person commits a Class E felony who:

(1) Without probable cause to believe a person has
developmental disability, mental illness, or serious
emotional disturbance executes a petition, applica-
tion, or certificate under this title, or otherwise
secures or attempts to secure the apprehension,
detention, hospitalization, admission, or restraint of
the person; or

(2) Knowingly makes any false certificate or appli-
cation under this title.

(c) The commissioner or the chief officer of any
hospital, developmental center, or treatment resource
acting pursuant to this title shall be entitled to rely in
good faith upon the representations made for admis-
sion by any person or any certification with respect to
any person made by a professional authorized to pro-
vide certificates under this title or any court.

(d) All persons acting in good faith, reasonably and
without negligence in connection with the preparation
of petitions, applications, certificates or other docu-
ments or the apprehension, detention, discharge, ex-
amination, transportation or treatment of a person
under this title shall be free from all liability, civil or
criminal, by reason of the acts.

History.

Acts 1965, ch. 38, § 6; 1974, ch. 802, § 17; 1975, ch. 248,§ 1; T.C.A.,
§ 33-304; Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 2; 1986, ch. 570, § 2; 1989, ch. 591,
§ 29; T.C.A., § 33-3-102; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former chapter 3, §§ 33-3-101 — 33-3-112, 33-3-201 — 33-3-203,
33-3-301 — 33-3-303, 33-3-401 — 33-3-412, 33-3-501 — 504, 33-3-601
— 33-3-603, 33-3-605 — 33-3-619, 33-3-623, 33-3-701 — 33-3-711,
33-3-801, 33-3-901 — 33-3-908 (Acts 1955, ch. 187, § 1; 1965, ch. 38,
§§ 4-7, 16-19, 23-26; 1974, ch. 802, §§ 17-20, 22-25, 29-32; 1975, ch.
248, §§ 1, 5-7, 11; 1976, ch. 489, §§ 1, 2; 1976, ch. 763, §§ 1, 2, 10;
1977, ch. 482, § 11; 1978, ch. 533, §§ 3-5; 1978, ch. 533, § 7; 1978, ch.
877, §§ 1, 2; 1979, ch. 366, § 15; 1980, ch. 838, § 5; 1983, ch. 323,
§ 4-7, 9, 12, 15, 16; T.C.A. §§ 33-303 — 33-307, 33-309 — 33-312,
33-317 — 33-320, 33-330 — 33-337, 33-345 — 33-347, 33-355, 33-360 —
33-362, 33-364 — 33-378, 33-382, 33-610, 33-1101; Acts 1984, ch. 922,
§§ 2-5, 7, 16-23, 34; 1984, ch. 986, §§ 1, 2; 1985, ch. 437, §§ 6-13, 33;
1986, ch. 570, §§ 2-4; 1986, ch. 836, § 3, 5; 1987, ch. 143, §§ 2, 3, 7;
1988, ch. 828, § 1; 1989, ch. 278, §§ 30-33; 1989, ch. 513, §§ 2, 5-13;
1989, ch. 591, §§ 29-31, 113; 1992, ch. 991, § 13; 1993, ch. 66, § 44;
1993, ch. 439, § 1; 1993, ch. 356, § 4; 1994, ch. 630, §§ 1, 2; 1994, ch.
743,§ 1;1995, ch. 320, § 1;1995, ch. 411,§ 1;1996, ch. 669, § 1;1996,
ch. 675, § 15; 1996, ch. 1079, §§ 31-47, 49-56; 2000, ch. 947, § 6);
§ 33-3-304 (Acts 1974, ch. 464, § 1; 1975, ch. 248, § 20; T.C.A,,
§ 33-702), which was previously repealed by Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 33;
§ 33-3-604 (Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 9; T.C.A., § 33-363), which was
repealed by Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 33; § 33-3-620, which was previously
transferred to § 33-6-104(e) and (f) in 1984; § 33-3-621, which was
previously transferred to § 33-6-104(g) in 1984; and § 33-3-622, which
was previously transferred to § 33-6-104(h) in 1984, is deleted and
replaced in the revision of title 33 by Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1, effective
March 1, 2001.

33-3-902. Furnishing false
Misdemeanor.

information —

It is a Class C misdemeanor for any person know-
ingly to furnish false information for the purpose of
securing the hospitalization or admission of any person

33-3-904

to a facility for persons with developmental disability,
mental illness, or serious emotional disturbance.
History.

Acts 1965, ch. 38, § 19; 1974, ch. 802, § 18; T.C.A., § 33-305; Acts
1989, ch. 591, § 113; T.C.A., § 33-3-103; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-903. Sexual relations with service recipient.

Any employee of a service provider who has sexual
intercourse with a service recipient of the service
provider other than the employee’s spouse or commits
sexual battery on a service recipient, knowing or hav-
ing reason to believe that the service recipient is a
service recipient of the service provider, is subject to
discharge for that conduct.

History.

Acts 1965, ch. 38,§ 23; 1974, ch. 802, § 30; 1980, ch. 838,§ 5; T.C.A.,
§ 33-317; Acts 1989, ch. 591, §§ 30, 31, 113; T.C.A., § 33-3-106(e); Acts
2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-3-904. Aiding or abetting escape — Inciting
service recipient to violence — Sup-
plying with dangerous or intoxicat-
ing substances.

(a) A person commits a Class E felony who:

(1) Counsels, causes, influences, aids or assists a
service recipient with mental illness, serious emo-
tional disturbance, or developmental disability to
leave a hospital or developmental center without
authority after the service recipient was admitted
under court order;

(2) Harbors or conceals a service recipient with
mental illness, serious emotional disturbance, or
developmental disability who has left a hospital or
developmental center without authority;

(3) Incites a service recipient with mental illness,
serious emotional disturbance, or developmental dis-
ability, while the service recipient is admitted to a
hospital or developmental center, to hurt or injure
another person anywhere; or

(4) Gives or sells to a service recipient with mental
illness, serious emotional disturbance, or develop-
mental disability in a hospital or developmental
center, whether on the premises of the facility or
elsewhere, knowing the person to be a person with
mental illness, serious emotional disturbance, or
developmental disability, any firearms, intoxicating
drinks, drugs, or any other harmful articles.

(b) A hospital or developmental center employee or
official who receives from a person with mental illness,
serious emotional disturbance, or developmental dis-
ability anything of value as a gift or for a consideration
commits a Class C misdemeanor.

(¢) A person, who aids or abets in the commission of
any of the foregoing offenses or aids or abets in a
prohibited attempt, is guilty as if the person were a
principal and shall be punished as a principal.
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History.

Acts 1965, ch. 38,§ 23;1974, ch. 802,§ 30; 1980, ch. 838,§ 5;T.C.A.,
§ 33-317; Acts 1989, ch. 591, §§ 30, 31, 113; T.C.A., § 33-3-106(b)-(d);
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

CHAPTER 4

SPECIAL RULES FOR RESIDENTIAL SERVICE
RECIPIENTS

Part 1. Rights of Residential Service Recipients

SECTION.

33-4-101. Right to receive visitors — Right to communicate with
family, attorney, physician, minister and courts.

[Reserved.]

Notice of admission to guardian or family.

Treatment for physical disorder prior to admission.

Written statement of release procedures and other rights.

Unauthorized leave from facility.

Commitment to private facility — Certificate by disinter-
ested professional.

Certificate of need — Basis — Contents — Violation.

Notice of death to next of kin — Notification to office of
medical examiner to investigate death — Disposal of
unclaimed property after discharge or death.

Inability to exercise rights — Appointment of a conservator.

33-4-102.
33-4-103.
33-4-104.
33-4-105.
33-4-106.
33-4-107.

33-4-108.
33-4-109.

33-4-110.
Part 2. Employees as Guardians and Conservators in State Facilities

33-4-201.
33-4-202.
33-4-203.
33-4-204.
33-4-205.
33-4-206.
33-4-207.

Designation of employee as legal guardian or conservator.

Qualifications of guardian, conservator or trustee.

Bond.

Duration of guardianship or conservatorship.

Funds received by guardian or conservator.

Other assets received by guardian or conservator.

Disposition of assets after termination of guardianship or
conservatorship.

Annual report.

Designation of trustees for patients or residents — Audit.

33-4-208.
33-4-209.

33-4-210. Coercion of guardian, conservator or trustee — Penalty.
PART 1
RIGHTS OF RESIDENTIAL SERVICE
RECIPIENTS

33-4-101. Right to receive visitors — Right to
communicate with family, attorney,
physician, minister and courts.

(a) A person with mental illness, serious emotional
disturbance, or developmental disability is entitled to:
(1) Receive visitors during regular visiting hours;
and
(2) Communicate, orally or by sending and receiv-
ing uncensored mail, with the service recipient’s
family, attorney, personal physician, minister, and
the courts.

(b) All other incoming mail or parcels may be read or
opened before being delivered to a service recipient, if
the chief officer of the facility believes the action is
necessary for the physical or mental health of the
service recipient who is the intended recipient. Mail or
other communication that is not delivered to the ser-
vice recipient for whom it is intended shall be returned
immediately to the sender.

(¢) The chief officer may make reasonable rules re-
garding visitors, visiting hours, and the use of commu-
nication resources.
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History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former chapter 4, §§ 33-4-101 — 33-4-103, 33-4-105, 33-4-107 —
33-4-109, 33-4-111 — 33-4-113 (Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 32; T.C.A,,
§§ 33-4-106, 33-4-107, 33-7-110; 1996, ch. 795, §§ 1-10. Former § 33-
4-104 was merged with § 33-4-103 by Acts 1996, ch. 795, § 3; § 33-4-
106, which was transferred to § 33-4-105 in 1996; and § 33-4-110,
which was transferred to the second sentence of § 33-4-109 in 1996, is
deleted and replaced in the revision of title 33 by Acts 2000, ch. 947,
§ 1, effective March 1, 2001.

33-4-102. [Reserved.]

33-4-103. Notice of admission to guardian or
family.

If a person is admitted to a hospital, developmental
center, or other residential service on the application of
any person other than the person’s parent, legal guard-
ian, legal custodian, conservator, spouse or adult next
of kin, the chief officer shall immediately notify the
person’s parent, legal guardian, legal custodian, con-
servator, spouse, or adult next of kin, if known.

History.
Acts 1965, ch. 38, § 45; T.C.A., § 33-608; Acts 1985, ch. 437, § 17,
1996, ch. 1079, § 62; T.C.A., § 33-6-107; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-4-104. Treatment for physical disorder prior
to admission.

In considering an applicant for admission, if it ap-
pears that the person has a physical disorder that
requires immediate medical care and the admitting
facility cannot appropriately provide the medical care,
the person shall be taken first to a physician or hospital
for treatment of the medical condition. When the per-
son has received appropriate medical attention and
treatment, the person may then be transported to the
appropriate facility for treatment of the person’s men-
tal illness, serious emotional disturbance, or develop-
mental disability.

History.

Acts 1965, ch. 38, § 18; 1974, ch. 802, § 20; 1975, ch. 248, § 6; 1976,
ch. 489, § 2; 1978, ch. 533, § 1; T.C.A., § 33-307; Acts 1985, ch. 437,
§§ 9, 10; 1996, ch. 1079, §§ 34, 35; T.C.A., § 33-3-105(b); Acts 2000, ch.
947, § 1.

33-4-105. Written statement of release proce-
dures and other rights.

(a) Upon admission of a person with mental illness,
serious emotional disturbance, or developmental dis-
ability to a hospital, developmental center, or other
residential service, the chief officer shall provide the
person a written statement outlining in simple, non-
technical language all release procedures and all other
rights of persons under this title. The chief officer shall
have the service recipient informed in language under-
stood by the service recipient, including the service
recipient’s native language or sign language, if appro-
priate. The chief officer also shall provide the written
statement to the person’s parent, legal guardian, legal
custodian, conservator, spouse or other nearest known
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adult relative. The chief officer shall provide reasonable
means and arrangements for assisting the person in
making and presenting requests for release, including
petitions to the proper court.

(b) The service recipient shall sign on the line for
signature to acknowledge having been informed of the
service recipient’s rights orally and in writing. The
service recipient’s signature shall be acknowledged in
writing by at least one (1) disinterested witness.

History.

Acts 1965, ch. 38, § 5; 1974, ch. 802, § 19; 1975, ch. 248, §§ 1, 5;
1977, ch. 482, § 11; 1978, ch. 533, § 3; 1983, ch. 323, § 7; T.C.A,,
§ 33-306; Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 3; 1985, ch. 437, §§ 6-8, 33; 1986, ch.
570, § 3; 1989, ch. 513, § 2; 1989, ch. 591, § 113; 1993, ch. 439, § 1;
1994, ch. 630, §§ 1, 2; 1995, ch. 411, § 1; 1996, ch. 675, § 15; 1996, ch.
1079, §§ 31-33; T.C.A., §§ 33-3-104(8), 33-3-111; Acts 2000, ch. 947,
§§ 1, 6.

33-4-106. Unauthorized leave from facility.

(a) If a person admitted under court order leaves a
hospital, developmental center, or other residential
service without authority, the chief officer shall imme-
diately notify the court regardless of the length of the
person’s absence. If the person is taken into custody,
the person may be returned to the facility upon an
order by the court. After thirty (30) days absence the
person may be dropped from the facility’s records. A
return after thirty (30) days absence is a new admis-
sion. A person’s absence beyond thirty (30) days does
not limit the power of the court to order the person’s
return to a facility under this section.

(b) The committing court shall be notified of the
policy regarding temporary leave, and the court shall
be given an opportunity to register its objection to
granting temporary leave. An objection by the court
does not prohibit authorization of leave. Temporary
leave is not a discharge from the facility.

History.

Acts 1965, ch. 38,§ 23;1974, ch. 802, § 30; 1980, ch. 838,§ 5; T.C.A.,
§ 33-317; Acts 1989, ch. 591, §§ 30, 31, 113; T.C.A., § 33-3-106(a)(1)-
(3); Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2002, ch. 730, § 24.

33-4-107. Commitment to private facility — Cer-
tificate by disinterested
professional.

(a) If a person is proposed to be committed to a
private facility under this title, at least one (1) of the
required certificates of need shall be from a profes-
sional who is not an employee of the private facility.

(b) For purposes of this section, employment as a
faculty member by a school of medicine at a university
or college associated with a hospital shall not constitute
employment at a private facility.

History.
Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 16; T.C.A., § 33-346; Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 7;
1995, ch. 320, § 1; T.C.A., § 33-3-109; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-4-108. Certificate of need — Basis — Contents
— Violation.

(a) A certificate of need for commitment for care and
treatment of a person with mental illness, serious

33-4-109

emotional disturbance, or developmental disability is
not valid for any purpose unless it is based on personal
observation and examination of the person made by the
professional not more than three (3) days prior to the
making of the certificate. The certificate shall state the
facts and reasoning on which the opinions and conclu-
sions are based.

(b) The execution of a certificate concerning the
mental condition of a person by a professional who has
not personally observed and examined the person is a
Class E felony.

History.

Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 16; T.C.A., §§ 33-347, 33-3-110; Acts 2000, ch.

947, 8§ 1.

33-4-109. Notice of death to next of kin — Notifi-
cation to office of medical examiner
to investigate death — Disposal of
unclaimed property after discharge
or death.

(a)(1) Upon the death of a person admitted to a
facility, the chief officer of the facility shall mail
written notice of death to the next of kin, if known,
and notify the office of the medical examiner having
jurisdiction to investigate the death.

(2) Upon the death of a person admitted to a
facility under chapter 7 of this title, the chief officer
of the facility shall mail written notice of death to the
court that entered the order resulting in the admis-
sion, mail written notice of death to the next of kin, if
known, and notify the office of the medical examiner
having jurisdiction to investigate the death.

(8) A chief officer of a facility that is required by
this subsection (a) to make a notice to the medical
examiner having jurisdiction to investigate a death
shall make such notice as soon as reasonably practi-
cable, but in no event more than twelve (12) hours
after the discovery of the death. A chief officer of a
facility shall mail the other notices required by this
subsection (a) within ten (10) days of the discovery of
the death.

(b) Notice of a death shall also be given promptly to
the person’s legal guardian, legal custodian, or conser-
vator. The administrator, executor or personal repre-
sentative of the deceased person, or if there is none, one
(1) or more of the heirs at law or next of kin, shall be
notified by registered mail of the deceased’s personal
property at the facility at the time of death. Notice to an
administrator, executor or personal representative
shall be directed to the probate court of the county in
which that person is qualified to administer the estate
of the deceased.

(¢) Property left by the deceased person in the facil-
ity shall be disposed of pursuant to subsection (e) if,
after diligent search and inquiry, none of the persons
required to be notified can be found and notified or if
the persons notified do not open the estate or otherwise
proceed to dispose of the estate in a lawful manner.

(d) If a person is discharged and leaves personal
property in the facility, the chief officer shall promptly
notify the person by registered mail addressed to the
person’s last known address that the property has been
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left and is subject to sale under subsection (e) if not
claimed.

(e) The chief officer shall keep the deceased or dis-
charged person’s personal property for six (6) months if
it is not claimed. The chief officer shall then sell the
property, with the approval of the commissioner, and
deposit the proceeds in a fund, maintained under the
supervision of the chief officer, for the benefit of needy
service recipients.

History.

Acts 1965, ch. 38, § 25; 1974, ch. 802, § 31; 1975, ch. 248, § 1; 1983,
ch. 323, §§ 5, 6; T.C.A., § 33-318; Acts 1996, ch. 1079, § 36; T.C.A.,
§ 33-3-107; Acts 2000, ch. 947, §§ 1, 6; 2021, ch. 62, §§ 2, 3.

33-4-110. Inability to exercise rights — Appoint-
ment of a conservator.

If the chief officer of a facility in which a service
recipient is hospitalized or admitted is of the opinion
that the service recipient is unable to exercise any of
the rights afforded by this chapter and chapter 3 of this
title, the chief officer shall notify immediately the
service recipient and the service recipient’s attorney,
parent, legal custodian, spouse or other nearest known
adult relative of the fact, and the chief officer may file
for the appointment of a conservator and shall notify
those persons as to whether the chief officer intends to
do so.

History.
Acts 2002, ch. 730, § 9.

PART 2

EMPLOYEES AS GUARDIANS AND
CONSERVATORS IN STATE FACILITIES

33-4-201. Designation of employee as legal guard-
ian or conservator.

The commissioner shall designate an employee of the
department whom courts may appoint, regardless of
whether the employee resides in the same county as the
ward, as legal guardian or conservator for a service
recipient in a state facility under title 34, if the court
determines that no other person or legally qualified
organization will serve for the service recipient and
that it is for the best interests of the service recipient
that the person be appointed.

History.
Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 4; T.C.A., §§ 33-330, 33-3-901; Acts 2000, ch.
947, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former chapter 4, §§ 33-4-101 — 33-4-103, 33-4-105, 33-4-107 —
33-4-109, 33-4-111 — 33-4-113 (Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 32; T.C.A,,
§§ 33-4-106, 33-4-107, 33-7-110; 1996, ch. 795, §§ 1-10. Former § 33-
4-104 was merged with § 33-4-103 by Acts 1996, ch. 795, § 3; § 33-4-
106, which was transferred to § 33-4-105 in 1996; and § 33-4-110,
which was transferred to the second sentence of § 33-4-109 in 1996, is
deleted and replaced in the revision of title 33 by Acts 2000, ch. 947,
§ 1, effective March 1, 2001.
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33-4-202. Qualifications of guardian, conservator
or trustee.

An employee appointed under this part as legal
guardian, conservator, or trustee for a person shall
have sufficient background to understand the person’s
mental illness, serious emotional disturbance, or devel-
opmental disability. Accepting an appointment may not
be made a condition of employment unless the duties
are a normal part of the employee’s duties and there is
no conflict of interest. No employee may be appointed
as legal guardian, conservator, or trustee of a person
who is in the facility in which the employee works.
History.

Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 4; T.C.A., §§ 33-336, 33-3-907; Acts 2000, ch.
947, § 1.

33-4-203. Bond.

If the total value of the assets that are turned over to
an employee for a ward does not exceed five thousand
dollars ($5,000) exclusive of the burial fund, the court
shall not require a bond.

History.

Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 4; T.C.A., §§ 33-331, 33-3-902; Acts 2000, ch.

947, 8§ 1.

33-4-204. Duration of guardianship or
conservatorship.

An employee serving as legal guardian or conserva-
tor under this part may serve under these provisions
only so long as the employee continues to be an em-
ployee of the department and for up to ninety (90) days
after the ward leaves the state facility.

History.

Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 4; T.C.A,, §§ 33-332, 33-3-903; Acts 2000, ch.
947, § 1.

33-4-205. Funds received by guardian or
conservator.

All funds received by a legal guardian or conservator
appointed under this part shall be handled as state
funds, be accountable as all other state funds, and be
audited annually by the state. All earnings on the funds
shall inure to the benefit of the ward. The department
shall file a copy of the annual audit with the appointing
court.

History.

Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 4; T.C.A., §§ 33-333, 33-3-904(a); Acts 2000, ch.
947, § 1.

33-4-206. Other assets received by guardian or
conservator.

All other assets received by a legal guardian or
conservator appointed under this part shall be handled
as state property, except that the legal guardian or
conservator may dispose of the assets in the exercise of
the appointment free of laws governing the disposition



69 INTELLECTUAL AND DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES SERVICES

of state property and shall keep a record of the dispo-
sition of all the property and the reason for the dispo-
sition.
History.

Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 4; T.C.A., §§ 33-333, 33-3-904(b); Acts 2000, ch.
947, § 1.

33-4-207. Disposition of assets after termination
of guardianship or conservatorship.

Upon termination of the guardianship or conserva-
torship, all assets remaining in the estate shall be paid
to the ward or to the ward’s legal representative.
History.

Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 4; T.C.A., §§ 33-333, 33-3-904(c); Acts 2000, ch.
947, § 1.

33-4-208. Annual report.

An employee serving as legal guardian or conserva-
tor shall file the annual report required by title 34 with
the appointing court on a form approved by the com-
missioner.

History.
Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 4; T.C.A., §§ 33-334, 33-3-905; Acts 2000, ch.
947, 8 1.

33-4-209. Designation of trustees for patients or
residents — Audit.

(a) The commissioner may designate employees of
the department to serve as trustees for service recipi-
ents if the terms of the trust have been approved in
writing by the commissioner and the attorney general
and reporter.

(b) All assets, funds, and other property held as a
part of the corpus of trust and income from the trust
shall be audited annually by the state.

History.
Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 4; T.C.A., §§ 33-335, 33-3-906; Acts 2000, ch.
947, § 1.

33-4-210. Coercion of guardian, conservator or
trustee — Penalty.

An employee who attempts to coerce a legal guard-
ian, conservator, or trustee serving under this part to
take any particular action as legal guardian, conserva-
tor, or trustee shall be dismissed.

History.

Acts 1983, ch. 323, § 4; T.C.A, §§ 33-337; 33-3-908; Acts 2000, ch.
947, § 1.
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PART 1
SERVICE SYSTEM
33-5-101. Application of title to persons with de-
velopmental disabilities.

Services to persons with developmental disabilities
are governed generally by this title, including chapters
1-4,7, 8 and 9.



33-5-102

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former chapter 5, §§ 33-5-101, 33-5-105, 33-5-201, 33-5-301 —
33-5-303, 33-5-305 — 33-5-310, 33-5-401 — 33-5-412 (Acts 1971, ch.
289, § 1; 1975, ch. 248, § 13; 1976, ch. 763, § 4; 1976, ch. 764, § 3;
1978, ch. 527, § 3; 1978, ch. 667, § 2; 1980, ch. 822, § 1; 1981, ch. 224,
§§ 5, 6, 10; 1982, ch. 862, § 2; 1983, ch. 323, § 10; T.C.A., §§ 33-313,
33-501, 33-505 — 33-507, 33-510, 33-515, 33-516, 33-523, 33-524,
33-1601; Acts 1984, ch. 922, §§ 6, 8-11; 1988, ch. 828, § 2; 1989, ch.
504, § 1;1992, ch. 981, §§ 2-13, 15; 1992, ch. 991, § 14; 1993, ch. 283,
§ 1; 1994, ch. 683, § 1; 1995, ch. 468, § 1; 2000, ch. 947, § 6);
§ 33-5-102 (Acts 1975, ch. 248, § 13; T.C.A. § 33-502), which was
repealed by Acts 1993, ch. 283, § 2; § 33-5-103 (Acts 1975, ch. 248,
§ 13; T.C.A. § 33-503), which was repealed by Acts 1993, ch. 283, § 2;
§ 33-5-104 (Acts 1975, ch. 248, § 13; 1976, ch. 763, § 3; 1978, ch. 527,
§ 1; T.C.A. § 33-504), which was repealed by Acts 1993, ch. 283, § 2;
and § 33-5-304 (Acts 1975, ch. 248, § 13; 1978, ch. 527, § 2; 1978, ch.
667, 8 1; 1981, ch. 224, § 8; T.C.A., § 33-508), which was repealed by
Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 33, is deleted and replaced in the revision of title
33 by Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1, effective March 1, 2001.

33-5-102. Effective date of part.

Persons with developmental disabilities based on
conditions other than an intellectual disability are
eligible for direct service under this part on March 1,
2002. Persons with an intellectual disability are eli-
gible for direct service under this part on March 1,
2001.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2010, ch. 734, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

For the Preamble to the act regarding changing the term “mental
retardation” to “intellectual disability”, please refer to Acts 2010, ch.
734.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 1 provided that the Tennessee code commission
is directed to change all references to “mental retardation”, wherever
such references appear in titles 33, 39 and 41, to “intellectual disabil-
ity”, as supplements are issued and volumes are replaced.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 7 provided that for purposes of each provision
amended by the act, a reference to intellectual disability shall be
considered to refer to mental retardation, as defined by that provision
on the day before the date of enactment of the act.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 8 provided that nothing in the act shall be
construed to alter or otherwise affect the eligibility for services or the
rights or responsibilities of individuals covered by the provision on the
day before the date of enactment of the act.

33-5-103. Persons with developmental disability
based solely on mental illness or
serious emotional disturbance.

If a person has a developmental disability solely on
the basis of having a mental illness or serious emo-
tional disturbance, the person is not eligible to have
services or supports provided for the developmental
disability primarily under this chapter.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-5-104. Developmental disabilities occurring
after twenty-two years of age.

Within the limits of available services, the depart-
ment may serve persons who have conditions that
would constitute a developmental disability except that
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the disability occurred after twenty-two (22) years of
age.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-5-105. Factors in assessing eligibility for ser-
vice and support under this chapter.

A person is eligible for service and support under this
chapter on the basis of an intellectual disability only if
the assessment that the person has an intellectual
disability takes into account:

(1) Cultural and linguistic diversity as well as
differences in communication and behavioral factors;

(2) Whether the person’s limitations in adaptive
skills occur in the context of community environ-
ments typical of the person’s age peers and is indexed
to the person’s individualized needs for supports;

(3) Specific adaptive limitations often coexist with
strengths in other adaptive skills or other personal
capabilities; and

(4) With appropriate supports over a sustained
period, the life functioning of a person with an
intellectual disability will generally improve.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2010, ch. 734, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

For the Preamble to the act regarding changing the term “mental
retardation” to “intellectual disability”, please refer to Acts 2010, ch.
734.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 1 provided that the Tennessee code commission
is directed to change all references to “mental retardation”, wherever
such references appear in titles 33, 39 and 41, to “intellectual disabil-
ity”, as supplements are issued and volumes are replaced.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 7 provided that for purposes of each provision
amended by the act, a reference to intellectual disability shall be
considered to refer to mental retardation, as defined by that provision
on the day before the date of enactment of the act.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 8 provided that nothing in the act shall be
construed to alter or otherwise affect the eligibility for services or the
rights or responsibilities of individuals covered by the provision on the
day before the date of enactment of the act.

33-5-106. Application process.

A person with a developmental disability, a parent or
legal guardian of a child with a developmental disabil-
ity, a conservator of a person with a developmental
disability, the department of children’s services on
behalf of a person in its legal custody who has a
developmental disability, or the department of human
services on behalf of a person in its legal custody who
has a developmental disability, referred to as the appli-
cant, may apply to the department through its desig-
nated entities for services and supports that they
provide directly or by contract. The designated entity
shall inform the applicant about all options for services
and supports. When services and supports appropriate
for the applicant are not available, the designated
entity shall notify the applicant in writing of the basis
on which the decision was made, possible service op-
tions, the prospects for obtaining service, and the time
estimated before the service may be available. The
applicant shall be notified periodically and in a timely
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manner of the status of the application. Based upon
additional information, change in status may be deter-
mined by the designated entity.

History.

Acts 1975, ch. 248, § 13; 1983, ch. 323, § 10; T.C.A,, § 33-501; Acts
1984, ch. 922, § 8; 1988, ch. 828, § 2; 1993, ch. 283, § 1; 1995, ch. 468,
§ 1; T.C.A, § 33-5-101(a); Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2002, ch. 730, § 25.

33-5-107. Types of services available.

If, and only if, no suitable alternative provider is
available, the chief officer of a department facility may
authorize nonresidential services and supports of the
developmental center to persons with developmental
disabilities. A person with a developmental disability, a
parent or legal guardian of a child with a developmen-
tal disability, or the conservator of a person with a
developmental disability may request nonresidential
services and supports. The chief officer may, in the best
interests of the person, discontinue the nonresidential
services and supports of a person at any time.

History.

Acts 1975, ch. 248, § 13; 1983, ch. 323, § 10; T.C.A,, § 33-501; Acts
1984, ch. 922, § 8; 1988, ch. 828, § 2; 1993, ch. 283, § 1; 1995, ch. 468,
§ 1, T.C.A,, § 33-5-101(b)(4); Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-5-108. Determination of fiscal impact on li-
censees following regulatory or
policy changes — Notice.

As used in this section, “fiscal impact” means any
increase, decrease, or other change in revenue, expen-
ditures, or fiscal liability. The department of intellec-
tual and developmental disabilities shall assess in
writing the fiscal impact on licensees under chapter 2,
part 4 of this title, of any change to any rule, regulation,
policy or guideline relating to the staffing, physical
plant or operating procedures of the licensee for ren-
dering services pursuant to a contract, grant or agree-
ment with the department. Unless exigent circum-
stances require the change to be implemented sooner,
no less than thirty (30) days before the change in the
rule, regulation, policy or guideline is to take effect, the
department’s estimate of fiscal impact shall be trans-
mitted by the commissioner of intellectual and devel-
opmental disabilities to the finance, ways and means
committee of the house of representatives, the finance,
ways and means committee of the senate and the
comptroller of the treasury for any appropriate review.
If exigent circumstances, such as an unforeseen court
order, require a change to be implemented sooner, then
the department’s statement describing the exigent cir-
cumstances that prevented thirty (30) days’ notice shall
be provided to the finance, ways and means committee
of the house of representatives, the finance, ways and
means committee of the senate and the comptroller of
the treasury not later than five (5) days after imple-
menting the change. In that case the department shall
provide the estimate of fiscal impact to the entities
above within sixty (60) days after implementing the
change.

33-5-109

History.
Acts 2001, ch. 137, § 1; 2002, ch. 730, § 26; 2009, ch. 477, § 1; 2010,
ch. 734, § 1; 2010, ch. 1100, § 41; 2016, ch. 797, § 9.

Compiler’s Notes.

Acts 2001, ch. 137, § 2, provided that this section shall apply to any
change to any rule, regulation, policy or guideline relating to the
staffing, physical plant or operating procedures of such licensee for
rendering services pursuant to a contract, grant or agreement with the
division for mental retardation services (now department of develop-
mental disabilities) occurring on and after March 1, 2001. Additionally,
it is the “clear and unequivocal intent” of the general assembly that this
section has retroactive application to March 1, 2001.

Acts 2009, ch. 477, § 1, directed the code commission to change all
references from “division of mental retardation services” to “division of
intellectual disabilities services” (now department of intellectual and
developmental disabilities) and to include the changes in supplements
and replacement volumes for the Tennessee Code Annotated.

For the Preamble to the act regarding changing the term “mental
retardation” to “intellectual disability”, please refer to Acts 2010, ch.
734.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 1 provided that the Tennessee code commission
is directed to change all references to “mental retardation”, wherever
such references appear in titles 33, 39 and 41, to “intellectual disabil-
ity”, as supplements are issued and volumes are replaced.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 7 provided that for purposes of each provision
amended by the act, a reference to intellectual disability shall be
considered to refer to mental retardation, as defined by that provision
on the day before the date of enactment of the act.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 8 provided that nothing in the act shall be
construed to alter or otherwise affect the eligibility for services or the
rights or responsibilities of individuals covered by the provision on the
day before the date of enactment of the act.

Acts 2010, ch. 1100, § 153 provided that the commissioner of mental
health and developmental disabilities, the commissioner of mental
health (now commissioner of mental health and substance abuse
services), the commissioner of intellectual and developmental disabili-
ties, and the commissioner of finance and administration are autho-
rized to promulgate rules and regulations to effectuate the purposes of
the act. All such rules and regulations shall be promulgated in
accordance with the provisions of the Uniform Administrative Proce-
dures Act, compiled in title 4, chapter 5.

33-5-109. Study of issues relating to services pro-
vided to persons with developmen-
tal disabilities, intellectual disabili-
ties and other disabilities.

(a) There is created a special joint committee to study
the issues relating to services provided to persons with
developmental disabilities, intellectual disability and
other disabilities. This study shall include, but not be
limited to:

(1) A review of the different agencies in state
government providing services;

(2) The structure and location of state services to
persons with developmental disabilities, intellectual
disability and other disabilities;

(3) The efficiency of providing services to persons
with disabilities and costs associated with providing
services;

(4) An evaluation of the cost of the division of
intellectual disabilities services (DIDS) waiting list
and the means to reduce or eliminate it; and

(5) Alook at the cost structure of services in DIDS
and evaluation of differences in cost.

(b) The special joint committee shall consist of:

(1) Four (4) members of the senate, to be ap-
pointed by the speaker of the senate; and

(2) Four (4) members of the house of representa-
tives, to be appointed by the speaker of the house of
representatives.
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(c) All appropriate agencies of state government
shall provide assistance to the special joint committee
upon request of the chair.

(d) All legislative members of the special joint com-
mittee who are duly elected members of the general
assembly shall remain members of the committee until
the committee reports its final findings and recommen-
dations.

(e) The special joint committee shall be convened by
the member having the greatest number of years of
continuous service within the general assembly, and at
its first meeting shall elect from among its legislative
membership a chair, vice-chair, and other officers the
committee deems necessary.

(f) The special joint committee shall timely report its
final findings and recommendations to the One Hun-
dred Sixth General Assembly no later than February 1,
2010.

History.
Acts 2008, ch. 1157, §§ 1-6; 2009, ch. 477, § 1; 2010, ch. 734, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

For the Preamble to the act regarding a study of issues relating to
services provided to persons with developmental disabilities, mental
retardation and other disabilities, please refer to Acts 2008, ch. 1157.

Acts 2009, ch. 477, § 1, directed the code commission to change all
references from “division of mental retardation services” to “division of
intellectual disabilities services” (now department of intellectual and
developmental disabilities) and to include the changes in supplements
and replacement volumes for the Tennessee Code Annotated.

For the Preamble to the act regarding changing the term “mental
retardation” to “intellectual disability”, please refer to Acts 2010, ch.
734.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 1 provided that the Tennessee code commission
is directed to change all references to “mental retardation”, wherever
such references appear in titles 33, 39 and 41, to “intellectual disabil-
ity”, as supplements are issued and volumes are replaced.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 7 provided that for purposes of each provision
amended by the act, a reference to intellectual disability shall be
considered to refer to mental retardation, as defined by that provision
on the day before the date of enactment of the act.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 8 provided that nothing in the act shall be
construed to alter or otherwise affect the eligibility for services or the
rights or responsibilities of individuals covered by the provision on the
day before the date of enactment of the act.

The division of intellectual disabilities services (DIDS), referred to in
this section, was replaced by the department of intellectual and
developmental disabilities by Acts 2010, ch. 1100, effective January 15,
2011.

33-5-110. Residential and day provider agencies
task force.

(a) The speakers of the senate and house of represen-
tatives shall jointly appoint a twenty-five-person task
force to review the regulations of the residential and
day provider agencies contracted by the department of
intellectual and developmental disabilities (DIDD) and
make initial recommendations with regard to relieving
expensive and unnecessary regulations on such provid-
ers to the general assembly and governor by January 1,
2011. The task force shall subsequently make annual
reports to the governor and the general assembly by
January 1 of each year thereafter.

(b) Eleven (11) of the members of the task force shall
be appointed from a list of persons provided by DIDD’s
service providers. Eight (8) members shall be appointed
from DIDD, at least one (1) of whom shall be an
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assistant commissioner with the department. One (1)
member shall be an assistant commissioner with the
bureau of TennCare, and one (1) member shall be
appointed from the department office of licensure. Four
(4) members shall be appointed from the DIDD advi-
sory council, or its successor body.

(¢) The speakers of the senate and house of repre-
sentatives shall jointly designate two (2) of the mem-
bers to serve as co-chairs of the task force. One (1)
co-chair shall be a DIDD service provider, and one (1)
co-chair shall be a DIDD staff person.

(d) The task force created by this section shall as-
sume the duties and responsibilities of the regulatory
relief board.

(e) Members of the task force shall serve without
compensation. The task force shall complete its ap-
pointed duties and make its final report to the governor
and the general assembly by June 30, 2014, at which
time the task force shall cease to exist.

History.
Acts 2010, ch. 808, § 1;2010, ch. 1100, § 24; 2011, ch. 158, §§ 17, 18.

Compiler’s Notes.

Acts 2010, ch. 1100, § 153 provided that the commissioner of mental
health and developmental disabilities, the commissioner of mental
health (now commissioner of mental health and substance abuse
services), the commissioner of intellectual and developmental disabili-
ties, and the commissioner of finance and administration are autho-
rized to promulgate rules and regulations to effectuate the purposes of
the act. All such rules and regulations shall be promulgated in
accordance with the provisions of the Uniform Administrative Proce-
dures Act, compiled in title 4, chapter 5.

33-5-111. Eligibility criteria for medical assis-
tance programs and services.

(a) Notwithstanding any state law to the contrary,
eligibility criteria for medical assistance programs and
services pursuant to title 71, chapter 5, for persons
with intellectual or developmental disabilities shall be
established by the bureau of TennCare, and set forth in
the medicaid state plan, federal waivers, or in rules
promulgated by the bureau of TennCare, and shall be
subject to the availability of funding in each year’s
general appropriations act.

(b) Notwithstanding any state law to the contrary,
eligibility criteria for state-funded programs and ser-
vices for persons with intellectual or developmental
disabilities shall be established by the department of
intellectual and developmental disabilities and set
forth in department rules, and shall be subject to the
availability of funding in each year’s general appropria-
tions act.

History.
Acts 2011, ch. 158, § 45.

33-5-112. Person on waiting list for services to be
enrolled in community based ser-
vices program within six months of
custodial parent or caregiver at-
taining certain age.

(a) An eligible person with an intellectual disability
who is on the referral list for services and whose older
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custodial parent, or custodial caregiver, attains sev-
enty-five (75) years of age shall be enrolled in employ-
ment and community first choices Group 5 or a simi-
larly capped home and community based services
program within six (6) months of the person’s parent or
caregiver attaining that age.

(b) An eligible person with a developmental disabil-
ity other than an intellectual disability who is on the
referral list for services and whose older custodial
parent, or custodial caregiver, attains eighty (80) years
of age shall be enrolled in employment and community
first choices Group 5 or a similarly capped home and
community based services program within six (6)
months of the person’s parent or caregiver attaining
that age.

History.
Acts 2015, ch. 430, § 1; 2016, ch. 707, § 1; 2018, ch. 986, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

For the Preamble to the act concerning the need for changes to the
administration of waiting lists for persons with intellectual disabilities
to receive services, see Acts 2015, ch. 430.

For the Preamble to the act concerning services and supports for
people with disabilities, see Acts 2018, ch. 986.

PART 2
FAMILY SUPPORT

33-5-201. Part definitions.

As used in this part, unless the context otherwise
requires:

(1) “Council” means the state family support coun-
cil appointed under § 33-5-208;

(2) “Family” means a unit that consists of either a
person with a severe or developmental disability and
the parent, relative, or other care giver who resides
in the same household or a person with a severe or
developmental disability who lives alone without
such support;

(3) “Family support” means goods and services
needed by families to care for their family members
with a severe or developmental disability and to
enjoy a quality of life comparable to other community
members;

(4) “Family support program” means a coordi-
nated system of family support services administered
by the department directly or through contracts;

(5) “Severe disability” means a disability that is
functionally similar to a developmental disability but
occurred after the person was twenty-two (22) years
of age; and

(6) “State family support council” means the coun-
cil established by the department to carry out the
responsibilities specified in this part.

History.
Acts 1992, ch. 981, § 3; 1994, ch. 683, § 1; T.C.A.,, § 33-5-402; Acts
2000, ch. 947, §§ 1, 6.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former chapter 5, §§ 33-5-101, 33-5-105, 33-5-201, 33-5-301 —
33-5-303, 33-5-305 — 33-5-310, 33-5-401 — 33-5-412 (Acts 1971, ch.
289, § 1; 1975, ch. 248, § 13; 1976, ch. 763, § 4; 1976, ch. 764, § 3;
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1978, ch. 527, § 3; 1978, ch. 667, § 2; 1980, ch. 822, § 1; 1981, ch. 224,
§§ 5, 6, 10; 1982, ch. 862, § 2; 1983, ch. 323, § 10; T.C.A., §§ 33-313,
33-501, 33-505 — 33-507, 33-510, 33-515, 33-516, 33-523, 33-524,
33-1601; Acts 1984, ch. 922, §§ 6, 8-11; 1988, ch. 828, § 2; 1989, ch.
504, § 1; 1992, ch. 981, §§ 2-13, 15; 1992, ch. 991, § 14; 1993, ch. 283,
§ 1; 1994, ch. 683, § 1; 1995, ch. 468, § 1; 2000, ch. 947, § 6);
§ 33-5-102 (Acts 1975, ch. 248, § 13; T.C.A. § 33-502), which was
repealed by Acts 1993, ch. 283, § 2; § 33-5-103 (Acts 1975, ch. 248,
§ 13; T.C.A. § 33-503), which was repealed by Acts 1993, ch. 283, § 2;
§ 33-5-104 (Acts 1975, ch. 248, § 13; 1976, ch. 763, § 3; 1978, ch. 527,
§ 1; T.C.A. § 33-504), which was repealed by Acts 1993, ch. 283, § 2;
and § 33-5-304 (Acts 1975, ch. 248, § 13; 1978, ch. 527, § 2; 1978, ch.
667, 8 1; 1981, ch. 224, § 8; T.C.A., § 33-508), which was repealed by
Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 33, is deleted and replaced in the revision of title
33 by Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1, effective March 1, 2001.

33-5-202. State policy — Principles for develop-
ing programs.

(a) The policy of the state is that persons with severe
or developmental disabilities and their families be
afforded supports that emphasize community living
and enable them to enjoy typical lifestyles.

(b) Programs to support families shall be based on
the following principles:

(1) Families and individuals with severe or devel-
opmental disabilities are best able to determine their
own needs and should be empowered to make deci-
sions concerning necessary, desirable, and appropri-
ate services and supports;

(2) Families should receive the support necessary
to care for their relatives at home;

(8) Family support is needed throughout the life
span of the person who has a severe or developmental
disability;

(4) Family support services should be sensitive to
the unique needs, strengths, and values of the person
and the family, and should be responsive to the needs
of the entire family;

(5) Family support should build on existing social
networks and natural sources of support in
communities;

(6) Family support services should be provided in
a manner that develops comprehensive, responsive,
and flexible support to families as their needs evolve
over time;

(7) Family support services should be provided
equitably across the state and be coordinated across
the numerous agencies likely to provide resources
and services and support to families; and

(8) Family, individual, and community-based ser-
vices and supports should be based on sharing ordi-
nary places, developing meaningful relationships,
learning things that are useful, and making choices,
as well as increasing the status and enhancing the
reputation of persons served.

History.

Acts 1992, ch. 981, § 2; T.C.A,, § 33-5-401; Acts 2000, ch. 947, §§ 1,

6.

33-5-203. Primary focus.

The primary focus of the family support program is
supporting:
(1) Families with children with severe or develop-
mental disabilities, school age and younger;
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(2) Adults with severe or developmental disabili-
ties who choose to live with their families; and

(3) Adults with severe or developmental disabili-
ties who are residing in the community in an unsup-
ported setting not a state or federally funded pro-

gram.

History.
Acts 1992, ch. 981, § 5; T.C.A., § 33-5-404; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-5-204. Duties of contracted agency.

The contracted agency shall be responsible for assist-
ing each family for whom services and support will be
provided in assessing each family’s needs and shall
prepare a written plan with the person and family. The
needs and preferences of the family and individual will
be the basis for determining what goods and services
will be made available within the resources available.

History.
Acts 1992, ch. 981, § 6; T.C.A., § 33-5-405; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-5-205. Scope of family support services.

The family support services included in this program
include, but are not limited to, family support services
coordination, information, referral, advocacy, educa-
tional materials, emergency and outreach services, and
other individual and family-centered assistance ser-
vices, such as:

(1) Respite care;

(2) Personal assistance services;
(3) Child care;

(4) Homemaker services;

(56) Minor home modifications and vehicular

modifications;

(6) Specialized equipment and maintenance and
repair;

(7) Specialized nutrition and clothing and
supplies;

(8) Transportation services;

(9) Health-related costs not otherwise covered;

(10) Licensed nursing and nurses aid services; and

(11) Family counseling, training and support
groups.

History.
Acts 1992, ch. 981, § 7; T.C.A,, § 33-5-406; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-5-206. Coordination of services.

As a part of the family support program, the con-
tracted agency shall provide service coordination for
each family that includes information, coordination,
and other assistance as needed by the family.

History.
Acts 1992, ch. 981, § 8; T.C.A., § 33-5-407; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-5-207. Families of adults with disabilities —
Services and resources.

The family support program shall assist families of
adults with a severe or developmental disabilities in
planning and obtaining community living arrange-
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ments, employment services, and other resources
needed to achieve, to the greatest extent possible,
independence, productivity, and integration into the
community.

History.
Acts 1992, ch. 981, § 9; T.C.A., § 33-5-408; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-5-208. State family support council.

The commissioner shall appoint a state family sup-
port council comprised of fifteen (15) members, of whom
at least a majority shall be persons with severe or
developmental disabilities or their parents or primary
care givers. The council shall have one (1) representa-
tive from each development district of the state, one (1)
representative of the council on developmental disabili-
ties, one (1) representative of the Tennessee disability
coalition, one (1) representative of the Tennessee com-
munity organizations, and one (1) representative of a
center for independent living. The commissioner shall
appoint two (2) at-large members for the department.
History.

Acts 1992, ch. 981, § 10; T.C.A., § 33-5-409; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1;
2002, ch. 730, § 27; 2005, ch. 27, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.
The state family support council, created by this section, terminates
June 30, 2028. See §§ 4-29-112, 4-29-249.

33-5-209. Department to participate with council
— Policies and procedures.

(a) The department shall adopt policies and proce-
dures regarding the development of appropriations
requested for family support.

(b) Unless the commissioner determines an exigent
circumstance exists, the department shall seek input
from the state family support council prior to adopting
policies and procedures regarding:

(1) Program specifications:

(A) Criteria for program services;

(B) Methodology for allocating resources to
families within the funds available;

(C) Eligibility determination and admissions;
and

(D) Limits on benefits;

(2) Coordination of the family support program
and the use of its funds equitably throughout the
state, with other publicly funded programs, including
medicaid;

(3) Resolution of grievances filed by families per-
taining to actions of the family support program, and
an appeals process;

(4) Quality assurance; and

(5) Annual evaluation of services, including con-
sumer satisfaction.

History.

Acts 1992, ch. 981, § 11; T.C.A, § 33-5-410; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1;
2015, ch. 301, § 1.
33-5-210. Meetings — Duties — Expenses.

(a) The state family support council shall meet at
least quarterly. The council shall participate in the
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development of program policies and procedures, and
perform other duties as are necessary for statewide
implementation of the family support program. All
reimbursement for travel expenses shall be in confor-
mity with the comprehensive state travel regulations
as promulgated by the commissioner of finance and
administration and approved by the attorney general
and reporter.
(b)(1) Any council member who misses more than
fifty percent (50%) of the scheduled meetings in a
calendar year shall be removed as a member of the
council.

(2) The chair of the council shall promptly notify,
or cause to be notified, the appointing authority of
any member who fails to satisfy the attendance
requirement as prescribed in subdivision (b)(1).

History.
Acts 1992, ch. 981, § 12; T.C.A., § 33-5-411; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1;
2016, ch. 615, § 3.

33-5-211. Administration of program — Funding.

The department shall administer the family support
services program and shall establish annual benefit
levels per family served. Implementation of this part
and the program and annual benefit levels, or any
portion of the program or benefits levels, are contingent
upon annual line item appropriation of sufficient fund-
ing for the programs and benefits.

History.
Acts 1992, ch. 981, §§ 13, 15; T.C.A,, § 33-5-412; Acts 2000, ch. 947,
§ 1

33-5-212. Provision of information gathered
through family support program to
DIDD.

In accordance with policies and procedures developed
and adopted by the state family support council and the
department of intellectual and developmental disabili-
ties (DIDD), information gathered through the family
support program on persons with a developmental
disability, other than an intellectual disability, for
whom services are needed shall be provided to DIDD on
at least a quarterly basis.

History.
Acts 2006, ch. 604, § 1; 2009, ch. 477, § 1; 2010, ch. 734, § 1; 2010,
ch. 1100, § 42; 2015, ch. 301, § 2.

Compiler’s Notes.

Acts 2006, ch. 604, § 2 provided that the provisions of the act shall
not be construed to be an appropriation of funds and no funds shall be
obligated or expended pursuant to the act unless such funds are
specifically appropriated by the general appropriations act.

For the Preamble to the act regarding changing the term “mental
retardation” to “intellectual disability”, please refer to Acts 2010, ch.
734.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 1 provided that the Tennessee code commission
is directed to change all references to “mental retardation”, wherever
such references appear in titles 33, 39 and 41, to “intellectual disabil-
ity”, as supplements are issued and volumes are replaced.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 7 provided that for purposes of each provision
amended by the act, a reference to intellectual disability shall be
considered to refer to mental retardation, as defined by that provision
on the day before the date of enactment of the act.
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Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 8 provided that nothing in the act shall be
construed to alter or otherwise affect the eligibility for services or the
rights or responsibilities of individuals covered by the provision on the
day before the date of enactment of the act.

Acts 2010, ch. 1100, § 153 provided that the commissioner of mental
health and developmental disabilities, the commissioner of mental
health (now commissioner of mental health and substance abuse
services), the commissioner of intellectual and developmental disabili-
ties, and the commissioner of finance and administration are autho-
rized to promulgate rules and regulations to effectuate the purposes of
the act. All such rules and regulations shall be promulgated in
accordance with the provisions of the Uniform Administrative Proce-
dures Act, compiled in title 4, chapter 5.

PART 3
RESIDENTIAL ADMISSION

33-5-301. Part definitions — Admission to devel-
opmental center — Emergency re-
spite admission — Review.

(a) As used in this part, unless the context otherwise
requires:

(1) “Emergency respite admission” means an ad-
mission for up to forty-five (45) days authorized due
to an emergency situation that results in the tempo-
rary inability of the person who has the care, custody,
and control of a person with intellectual or develop-
mental disability to provide proper care, custody, and
control;

(2) “Regular voluntary admission” means an ad-
mission authorized by a statewide admission review
committee for a specified period of time;

(3) “Respite admission” means an admission for
up to forty-five (45) days authorized solely for the
purpose of providing a respite for the person having
responsibility for the care, custody, and control of a
person with intellectual or developmental disability;
and

(4) “Short-term training admission” means an ad-
mission authorized by a written agreement between
a developmental center and an applicant that the
center provide services and supports for a person
with intellectual or developmental disability to learn
how to perform a certain function or functions for a
specified period of time, not exceeding six (6) months,
at the end of which the center will discharge the
person with intellectual or developmental disability
to the care, custody, and control of the applicant.
(b)(1) Under department rules and pursuant to the
direction of the statewide admission review commit-
tee, the chief officer or director of a center or the
appointed designee of a developmental center, sub-
ject to the availability of suitable accommodations
and the absence of a less restrictive alternative, may
admit for diagnosis, care, training and treatment:

(A) A person with intellectual or developmental
disability who applies for voluntary admission and

does not lack capacity to apply under § 33-3-218;

(B) A child with intellectual or developmental
disability whose parent or legal guardian applies
for voluntary admission; or

(C) An adult whose conservator applies for vol-
untary admission.
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(2) The departments of human services and chil-
dren’s services may apply for respite and emergency
respite admission on behalf of a person with intellec-
tual or developmental disability who is in their custody.
Admissions to a developmental center under respite,
emergency respite, or short-term training admission, or
any combination of these, shall not exceed two hundred
twenty-five (225) days within a twelve-month period
from the first day of admission in any of the categories.
A respite admission, emergency respite admission,
short-term training admission, or combination of such
admissions shall not be used to circumvent appearance
before the statewide admission review committee when
regular voluntary admission is actually sought or ap-
propriate. No regular voluntary admission shall be
based on the premise that it is for a lifetime.

(¢) The statewide admission review committee shall
informally review a person’s emergency respite admis-
sion within seven (7) days after the person is admitted.
If the review is not done, then a hearing shall be held by
the committee to review the propriety of the admission
as in the case of regular voluntary admissions and shall
make its decision within twenty-five (25) days after
admission.

(d) Upon receipt of an application for admission, the
developmental center shall evaluate the person with
intellectual or developmental disability to assess the
person’s need for services and supports and the least
restrictive alternative available to provide appropriate
services and supports to the person. If the evaluation
results in a recommendation for a regular voluntary
admission and there is an available suitable accommo-
dation, the developmental center will report its find-
ings and recommendations to the statewide admission
review committee.

(e) The department may adopt rules to implement
the statewide admissions review committee and to
specify its duties and membership.

History.

Acts 1975, ch. 248, § 13; 1983, ch. 323, § 10; T.C.A., § 33-501; Acts
1984, ch. 922, § 8; 1988, ch. 828, § 2; 1993, ch. 283, § 1; 1995, ch. 468,
§ 1; T.C.A.,, § 33-5-101(b); Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2012, ch. 636,
§§ 1-5.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former § 33-5-301 (Acts 1975, ch. 248, § 13; T.C.A., § 33-505),
concerning mental health and mental retardation services, was re-
pealed by Acts 2000, ch. 809, § 2, effective May 24, 2000. For present
law, see § 33-5-106.

Former chapter 5, §§ 33-5-101, 33-5-105, 33-5-201, 33-5-301 —
33-5-303, 33-5-305 — 33-5-310, 33-5-401 — 33-5-412 (Acts 1971, ch.
289, § 1; 1975, ch. 248, § 13; 1976, ch. 763, § 4; 1976, ch. 764, § 3;
1978, ch. 527, § 3; 1978, ch. 667, § 2; 1980, ch. 822, § 1; 1981, ch. 224,
§§ 5, 6, 10; 1982, ch. 862, § 2; 1983, ch. 323, § 10; T.C.A., §§ 33-313,
33-501, 33-505 — 33-507, 33-510, 33-515, 33-516, 33-523, 33-524,
33-1601; Acts 1984, ch. 922, §§ 6, 8-11; 1988, ch. 828, § 2; 1989, ch.
504, § 1;1992, ch. 981, §§ 2-13, 15; 1992, ch. 991, § 14; 1993, ch. 283,
§ 1; 1994, ch. 683, § 1; 1995, ch. 468, § 1; 2000, ch. 947, § 6);
§ 33-5-102 (Acts 1975, ch. 248, § 13; T.C.A. § 33-502), which was
repealed by Acts 1993, ch. 283, § 2; § 33-5-103 (Acts 1975, ch. 248,
§ 13; T.C.A. § 33-503), which was repealed by Acts 1993, ch. 283, § 2;
§ 33-5-104 (Acts 1975, ch. 248, § 13; 1976, ch. 763, § 3; 1978, ch. 527,
§ 1; T.C.A. § 33-504), which was repealed by Acts 1993, ch. 283, § 2;
and § 33-5-304 (Acts 1975, ch. 248, § 13; 1978, ch. 527, § 2; 1978, ch.
667, § 1; 1981, ch. 224, § 8; T.C.A., § 33-508), which was repealed by
Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 33, is deleted and replaced in the revision of title
33 by Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1, effective March 1, 2001.
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33-5-302. Periodic evaluation of admitted person
— Discharge.

The chief officer or director of a center or the ap-
pointed designee:

(1) Shall cause each person admitted under § 33-
5-301 or transferred under § 33-3-301 or chapter 3,
part 4 of this title to be evaluated as often as
necessary, but not less often than every six (6)
months;

(2) Shall discharge a person admitted under § 33-
5-301 when the chief officer, director or designee and
the statewide admission review committee deter-
mine that the person no longer meets the standards
under which the person was admitted; or

(8) May discharge a person admitted under § 33-
5-301 at any time when it is in the person’s best
interest.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2012, ch. 636, § 6.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former § 33-5-302 (Acts 1975, ch. 248, § 13; 1981, ch. 224, § 5;
T.C.A., § 33-506), concerning mental health and mental retardation
services, was repealed by Acts 2000, ch. 809, § 2, effective May 24,
2000. For present law, see § 33-5-106.

Former chapter 5, §§ 33-5-101, 33-5-105, 33-5-201, 33-5-301 —
33-5-303, 33-5-305 — 33-5-310, 33-5-401 — 33-5-412 (Acts 1971, ch.
289, § 1; 1975, ch. 248, § 13; 1976, ch. 763, § 4; 1976, ch. 764, § 3;
1978, ch. 527, § 3; 1978, ch. 667, § 2; 1980, ch. 822, § 1; 1981, ch. 224,
§§ 5, 6, 10; 1982, ch. 862, § 2; 1983, ch. 323, § 10; T.C.A., §§ 33-313,
33-501, 33-505 — 33-507, 33-510, 33-515, 33-516, 33-523, 33-524,
33-1601; Acts 1984, ch. 922, §§ 6, 8-11; 1988, ch. 828, § 2; 1989, ch.
504, § 1; 1992, ch. 981, §§ 2-13, 15; 1992, ch. 991, § 14; 1993, ch. 283,
§ 1; 1994, ch. 683, § 1; 1995, ch. 468, § 1; 2000, ch. 947, § 6);
§ 33-5-102 (Acts 1975, ch. 248, § 13; T.C.A. § 33-502), which was
repealed by Acts 1993, ch. 283, § 2; § 33-5-103 (Acts 1975, ch. 248,
§ 13; T.C.A. § 33-503), which was repealed by Acts 1993, ch. 283, § 2;
§ 33-5-104 (Acts 1975, ch. 248, § 13; 1976, ch. 763, § 3; 1978, ch. 527,
§ 1; T.C.A. § 33-504), which was repealed by Acts 1993, ch. 283, § 2;
and § 33-5-304 (Acts 1975, ch. 248, § 13; 1978, ch. 527, § 2; 1978, ch.
667, § 1; 1981, ch. 224, § 8; T.C.A., § 33-508), which was repealed by
Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 33, is deleted and replaced in the revision of title
33 by Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1, effective March 1, 2001.

33-5-303. Request for discharge by parent or
other representative.

In the case of a person admitted under § 33-5-301, a
parent or legal guardian of a child with intellectual or
development disability on behalf of the child, a conser-
vator of a person with intellectual or development
disability on behalf of the person, or a person with
intellectual or development disability who was admit-
ted on the person’s own application and does not lack
capacity under § 33-3-218 may request discharge from
a developmental center at any time by filing a request
with the chief officer or director of a center or the
appointed designee. If the person cannot file a written
request, anyone acting on the person’s behalf may file
the request with the person’s consent. The chief officer
or director of a center or the appointed designee shall
discharge the person with intellectual or development
disability within twelve (12) hours after receipt of the
request or at the time stated in the request, whichever
is later.
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History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2012, ch. 636, §§ 7, 8.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former § 33-5-303 (Acts 1975, ch. 248, § 13; 1981, ch. 224, § 6;
T.C.A., § 33-507), concerning mental health and mental retardation
services, was repealed by Acts 2000, ch. 809, § 2, effective May 24,
2000. For present law, see § 33-5-106.

Former chapter 5, §§ 33-5-101, 33-5-105, 33-5-201, 33-5-301 —
33-5-303, 33-5-305 — 33-5-310, 33-5-401 — 33-5-412 (Acts 1971, ch.
289, § 1; 1975, ch. 248, § 13; 1976, ch. 763, § 4; 1976, ch. 764, § 3;
1978, ch. 527, § 3; 1978, ch. 667, § 2; 1980, ch. 822, § 1; 1981, ch. 224,
§§ 5, 6, 10; 1982, ch. 862, § 2; 1983, ch. 323, § 10; T.C.A., §§ 33-313,
33-501, 33-505 — 33-507, 33-510, 33-515, 33-516, 33-523, 33-524,
33-1601; Acts 1984, ch. 922, §§ 6, 8-11; 1988, ch. 828, § 2; 1989, ch.
504, § 1; 1992, ch. 981, §§ 2-13, 15; 1992, ch. 991, § 14; 1993, ch. 283,
§ 1; 1994, ch. 683, § 1, 1995, ch. 468, § 1, 2000, ch. 947, § 6);
§ 33-5-102 (Acts 1975, ch. 248, § 13; T.C.A. § 33-502), which was
repealed by Acts 1993, ch. 283, § 2; § 33-5-103 (Acts 1975, ch. 248,
§ 13; T.C.A. § 33-503), which was repealed by Acts 1993, ch. 283, § 2;
§ 33-5-104 (Acts 1975, ch. 248, § 13; 1976, ch. 763, § 3; 1978, ch. 527,
§ 1; T.C.A. § 33-504), which was repealed by Acts 1993, ch. 283, § 2;
and § 33-5-304 (Acts 1975, ch. 248, § 13; 1978, ch. 527, § 2; 1978, ch.
667, 8 1; 1981, ch. 224, § 8; T.C.A., § 33-508), which was repealed by
Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 33, is deleted and replaced in the revision of title
33 by Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1, effective March 1, 2001.

33-5-304. Departmental review of admission.

(a)(1) The department may review the appropriate-
ness of admission to a privately or publicly funded
residential facility for persons with intellectual or
developmental disabilities due to mental impair-
ment. The department shall investigate to assess the
validity of an allegation of:

(A) Deprivation of liberty without consent;

(B) Abuse, neglect, or exploitation;

(C) Placement that is inappropriate to meet the

needs of a service recipient;

(D) Violation of a fiduciary relationship; or

(E) Any other violation of a right.

(2) If the department finds probable cause to be-
lieve the allegation after an investigation by inspection
of records and interviews with personnel, service re-
cipients and their families and there is no suitable
remedy under chapter 2, part 4 of this title, the
department may require a plan of compliance or may
require independent review of admissions under this
section for a period of time set by the department.

(b) Within five (5) days after a recommendation is
made that a person with intellectual or developmental
disability be admitted to a residential facility for which
the department requires independent review under
subsection (a), an independent reviewer designated by
the department shall determine the appropriateness of
the recommended residential service for the person on
the basis of the interests and welfare of the person. The
reviewer’s decision shall not be influenced by any
benefits flowing from the admission solely to the family,
parents, guardian, or conservator of the person. The
reviewer’s decision shall be written and shall state the
reasons for the decision.

(¢c) The reviewer’s decision on publicly funded place-
ments may be appealed to a designee of the commis-
sioner by filing the appeal within seven (7) days after
receipt of the decision. The designee of the commis-
sioner shall review and decide the appeal within four-
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teen (14) days after receipt of the appeal. The only
appeal of the reviewer’s decision on privately funded
placements is a request for reconsideration by the
reviewer filed within fourteen (14) days after receipt of
the decision, and the reviewer’s decision is final admin-
istratively. If granted, reconsideration by the reviewer
shall occur within five (5) working days after receipt of
the request.

(d) The department shall designate persons from
among its employees or by contract to serve as inde-
pendent reviewers. A person designated to serve as the
independent reviewer for a case shall have no conflict of
interest with any party to the case and shall be trained
with respect to the laws, rules, and information re-
quired to make competent decisions as an independent
reviewer.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2002, ch. 730, § 28; 2012, ch. 636, § 9.

PART 4

FORENSIC SERVICES FOR PERSONS WITH
INTELLECTUAL DISABILITIES

33-5-401. Rehabilitation for persons with intel-
lectual disability.

(a) For purposes of this part, unless the context
otherwise requires, “commissioner” means the commis-
sioner of intellectual and developmental disabilities or
the commissioner’s designee.

(b) The commissioner may establish programs, in-
cluding community-based programs, for training, ha-
bilitating, or rehabilitating persons with intellectual
disabilities under this part.

History.
Acts 1975, ch. 248, § 13; T.C.A,, §§ 33-505, 33-5-301; Acts 2000, ch.
947, § 1; 2006, ch. 1008, § 1; 2010, ch. 734, § 1; 2010, ch. 1100, § 43.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former chapter 5, §§ 33-5-101, 33-5-105, 33-5-201, 33-5-301 —
33-5-303, 33-5-305 — 33-5-310, 33-5-401 — 33-5-412 (Acts 1971, ch.
289, § 1; 1975, ch. 248, § 13; 1976, ch. 763, § 4; 1976, ch. 764, § 3;
1978, ch. 527, § 3; 1978, ch. 667, § 2; 1980, ch. 822, § 1; 1981, ch. 224,
§§ 5, 6, 10; 1982, ch. 862, § 2; 1983, ch. 323, § 10; T.C.A., §§ 33-313,
33-501, 33-505 — 33-507, 33-510, 33-515, 33-516, 33-523, 33-524,
33-1601; Acts 1984, ch. 922, §§ 6, 8-11; 1988, ch. 828, § 2; 1989, ch.
504, § 1; 1992, ch. 981, §§ 2-13, 15; 1992, ch. 991, § 14; 1993, ch. 283,
§ 1; 1994, ch. 683, § 1; 1995, ch. 468, § 1; 2000, ch. 947, § 6);
§ 33-5-102 (Acts 1975, ch. 248, § 13; T.C.A. § 33-502), which was
repealed by Acts 1993, ch. 283, § 2; § 33-5-103 (Acts 1975, ch. 248,
§ 13; T.C.A. § 33-503), which was repealed by Acts 1993, ch. 283, § 2;
§ 33-5-104 (Acts 1975, ch. 248, § 13; 1976, ch. 763, § 3; 1978, ch. 527,
§ 1; T.C.A. § 33-504), which was repealed by Acts 1993, ch. 283, § 2;
and § 33-5-304 (Acts 1975, ch. 248, § 13; 1978, ch. 527, § 2; 1978, ch.
667, § 1; 1981, ch. 224, § 8; T.C.A., § 33-508), which was repealed by
Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 33, is deleted and replaced in the revision of title
33 by Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1, effective March 1, 2001.

For the Preamble to the act regarding changing the term “mental
retardation” to “intellectual disability”, please refer to Acts 2010, ch.
734.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 1 provided that the Tennessee code commission
is directed to change all references to “mental retardation”, wherever
such references appear in titles 33, 39 and 41, to “intellectual disabil-
ity”, as supplements are issued and volumes are replaced.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 7 provided that for purposes of each provision
amended by the act, a reference to intellectual disability shall be
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considered to refer to mental retardation, as defined by that provision
on the day before the date of enactment of the act.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 8 provided that nothing in the act shall be
construed to alter or otherwise affect the eligibility for services or the
rights or responsibilities of individuals covered by the provision on the
day before the date of enactment of the act.

Acts 2010, ch. 1100, § 153 provided that the commissioner of mental
health and developmental disabilities, the commissioner of mental
health (now commissioner of mental health and substance abuse
services), the commissioner of intellectual and developmental disabili-
ties, and the commissioner of finance and administration are autho-
rized to promulgate rules and regulations to effectuate the purposes of
the act. All such rules and regulations shall be promulgated in
accordance with the provisions of the Uniform Administrative Proce-
dures Act, compiled in title 4, chapter 5.

33-5-402. Procedure for commitment of person
under this part.

IF AND ONLY IF

(1)(A) a juvenile court determines in a delin-

quency proceeding, on the basis of an evaluation

under § 37-1-128(c), that a child has an intellec-

tual disability, OR

(B) a circuit, criminal, or general sessions court

determines on the basis of an evaluation under

§ 33-7-301(a) that a criminal defendant is incom-

petent to stand trial due to an intellectual disabil-

ity, OR

(C) a circuit or criminal court enters a verdict of
not guilty by reason of insanity on a capital offense
against a defendant with an intellectual disability,
THEN

(2) the district attorney general may file a com-
plaint to require involuntary care and treatment of
the defendant under § 33-5-403, AND

(3) only the juvenile court that has jurisdiction of
the child or the circuit or criminal court before which
the defendant’s criminal case is pending or that
would hear the case if the defendant were bound over
to the grand jury has jurisdiction to hear a complaint
filed under § 33-5-403.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2010, ch. 734, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

For the Preamble to the act regarding changing the term “mental
retardation” to “intellectual disability”, please refer to Acts 2010, ch.
734.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 1 provided that the Tennessee code commission
is directed to change all references to “mental retardation”, wherever
such references appear in titles 33, 39 and 41, to “intellectual disabil-
ity”, as supplements are issued and volumes are replaced.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 7 provided that for purposes of each provision
amended by the act, a reference to intellectual disability shall be
considered to refer to mental retardation, as defined by that provision
on the day before the date of enactment of the act.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 8 provided that nothing in the act shall be
construed to alter or otherwise affect the eligibility for services or the
rights or responsibilities of individuals covered by the provision on the
day before the date of enactment of the act.

33-5-403. Prerequisites to
commitment.

IF AND ONLY IF
(1) a person has an intellectual disability, AND

involuntary
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(2) the person poses a substantial likelihood of
serious harm under § 33-6-501 because of the intel-
lectual disability, AND

(3) the person needs care, training, or treatment
because of the intellectual disability, AND

(4) all available less drastic alternatives to judicial
commitment are unsuitable to meet the needs of the
person, AND

(5) the district attorney general files a complaint
to require involuntary care and treatment under
§ 33-5-402,

THEN

(6) the person may be judicially committed to
involuntary care and treatment in the custody of the
commissioner in proceedings conducted in confor-
mity with chapter 3, part 6 of this title.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2010, ch. 734, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

For the Preamble to the act regarding changing the term “mental
retardation” to “intellectual disability”, please refer to Acts 2010, ch.
734.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 1 provided that the Tennessee code commission
is directed to change all references to “mental retardation”, wherever
such references appear in titles 33, 39 and 41, to “intellectual disabil-
ity”, as supplements are issued and volumes are replaced.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 7 provided that for purposes of each provision
amended by the act, a reference to intellectual disability shall be
considered to refer to mental retardation, as defined by that provision
on the day before the date of enactment of the act.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 8 provided that nothing in the act shall be
construed to alter or otherwise affect the eligibility for services or the
rights or responsibilities of individuals covered by the provision on the
day before the date of enactment of the act.

33-5-404. Finding of need for involuntary com-
mitment by designated
psychologists.

No defendant may be judicially committed under
§ 33-5-403 unless the commissioner designates li-
censed physicians or licensed psychologists designated
as health service providers who file in the commitment
proceeding two (2) certificates of need for training and
treatment certifying that the defendant satisfies the
requirements of § 33-5-403(1)-(4) and showing the fac-
tual foundation for the conclusions on each item.

History.

Acts 1975, ch. 248, § 13; 1976, ch. 764, § 1; 1978, ch. 527, § 3; 1978,
ch. 667, § 2; 1981, ch. 449, § 2(20); 1982, ch. 862, § 13; T.C.A.,
§ 33-510; Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 9; 1992, ch. 991, § 14; T.C.A., § 33-5-
305(c); Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-5-405. Admission subject to availability of
accommodation.

A judicially committed defendant does not come into
the custody of the commissioner until the commissioner
determines that the state has an available suitable
accommodation and designates a licensed state facility
to admit the defendant.
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History.

Acts 1975, ch. 248, § 13; 1976, ch. 764, § 1; 1978, ch. 527, § 3; 1978,
ch. 667, § 2; 1981, ch. 449, § 2(20); 1982, ch. 862, § 13; T.C.A,,
§ 33-510; Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 9; 1992, ch. 991, § 14; T.C.A. § 33-5-
305(d); Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2002, ch. 730, § 29.

33-5-406. Credit on sentence for time in custody.

Whenever a person receives evaluation, training or
treatment services under this part or part 5 of this
chapter in connection with a criminal charge or convic-
tion, wherever incarcerated, the person shall receive
credit toward the satisfaction of the sentence for the
time spent in the custody of the commissioner.

History.
Acts 1975, ch. 248, § 13; 1976, ch. 763, § 4; T.C.A., §§ 33-515,
33-5-306; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-5-407. Court order as transfer.

Without regard to its wording, any court order of
commitment under this part shall be considered in law
as a transfer of the person to the custody of the
commissioner.

History.
Acts 1975, ch. 248, § 13; T.C.A,, §§ 33-516, 33-5-307; Acts 2000, ch.
947, § 1.

33-5-408. Periodic evaluations.

(a) The commissioner shall cause each person com-
mitted under § 33-5-403 or transferred under § 33-3-
301 or chapter 3, part 4 of this title, to be evaluated as
often as necessary but not less often than every six (6)
months.

(b) The commissioner or the commissioner’s desig-
nee shall report the details of the findings of the
evaluation performed under subsection (a) regarding
persons with intellectual disabilities committed under
§ 33-5-403. The report shall include an assessment of
the person’s present condition and prospects for resto-
ration to competence to stand trial, and shall be sent to
the clerk of the court that ordered commitment, the
person, the person’s attorney, parents, spouse, legal
guardian or conservator, if any, and the district attor-
ney general.

(c) If, upon completion of the evaluation under sub-
section (a), the commissioner or the commissioner’s
designee determines that a person with an intellectual
disability transferred under § 33-3-301, no longer
meets the standards under which the person was
admitted, the person shall be immediately discharged
or transferred to the facility from which the person was
transferred or to another appropriate facility of the
department under § 33-3-301.

History.
Acts 1981, ch. 224, § 10; T.C.A,, § 33-523; Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 10;
T.C.A., § 33-5-308; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2010, ch. 734, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

For the Preamble to the act regarding changing the term “mental
retardation” to “intellectual disability”, please refer to Acts 2010, ch.
734.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 1 provided that the Tennessee code commission
is directed to change all references to “mental retardation”, wherever
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such references appear in titles 33, 39 and 41, to “intellectual disabil-
ity”, as supplements are issued and volumes are replaced.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 7 provided that for purposes of each provision
amended by the act, a reference to intellectual disability shall be
considered to refer to mental retardation, as defined by that provision
on the day before the date of enactment of the act.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 8 provided that nothing in the act shall be
construed to alter or otherwise affect the eligibility for services or the
rights or responsibilities of individuals covered by the provision on the
day before the date of enactment of the act.

33-5-409. Release of intellectually disabled of-
fenders — Delivery to custody of
court.

(a) When the commissioner or the commissioner’s
designee determines that any person committed under
§ 33-5-403, no longer meets the standards under which
the person was committed, the decision maker shall
immediately order the person’s release and cause the
person to be discharged except as provided in subsec-
tion (b) or § 33-5-410.

(b) When the commissioner or the commissioner’s
designee determines that a person who was committed
under § 33-5-403 and who is charged with a crime for
which the person is subject to being tried is restored to
competence to stand trial, the decision maker shall give
notice of that fact to the clerk of the court that ordered
the person’s commitment and deliver the person to the
custody of the sheriff of the county from which the
person was admitted, who shall transport the person
back to the custody of the court.

History.
Acts 1981, ch. 224, § 11; T.C.A., §§ 33-524, 33-5-309; Acts 2000, ch.
947, § 1.

33-5-410. Discharge proceedings for criminal de-
fendant involuntarily committed to
an intellectual disability facility.

(a) Whenever an intellectual disability facility deter-
mines that a person, who has been committed under
§ 33-5-403 by a criminal court in connection with a
capital offense or with a verdict of not guilty by reason
of insanity on a capital offense, no longer meets the
commitment standards under which the person was
committed, it shall follow the procedures set out in this
section to effect the person’s release from involuntary
commitment.

(b) When the intellectual disability facility deter-
mines that the person no longer meets the commitment
criteria under which the person was committed, it shall
notify the committing court of this fact and the reasons.
The determination by the department shall create a
rebuttable presumption of its correctness. The court
may, within ten (10) business days, holidays excluded,
of receipt of the notice, set a hearing to be held within
twenty-one (21) business days, holidays excluded, of
receipt of the facility’s notice on whether the person
continues to meet the commitment criteria under
which the person was committed. The court shall send
notice of the hearing to the following: the person, chief
officer of the facility, the person’s counsel, the person’s
next of kin, and the district attorney general.
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(c) If the court does not set a hearing and notify the
facility within fifteen (15) business days, holidays ex-
cluded, of its receipt of the facility’s notice, the facility
shall release the person from involuntary commitment.

(d) The hearing to determine whether the person
continues to meet the commitment criteria under
which the person was committed shall be held within
twenty-one (21) business days, holidays excluded, of
the court’s receipt of notice from the facility. The person
shall attend the hearing unless the person’s presence is
waived in writing by counsel before the hearing. If the
person does not have counsel, the court shall appoint
counsel to represent the person.

(e) Following the hearing, if the court finds by clear,
unequivocal, and convincing evidence that the person
meets the standards of § 33-5-403, it shall order the
person’s return to the intellectual disability facility
under the authority of the person’s commitment. Oth-
erwise, it shall order the person’s release from commit-
ment.

(f) Either party may appeal a final adjudication
under this section to the court of criminal appeals.
History.

Acts 1980, ch. 822, § 1; 1982, ch. 862, § 2; T.C.A., § 33-313; Acts

1984, ch. 922, § 6; T.C.A., § 33-5-310; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1;2010, ch.
714, § 1; 2010, ch. 734, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

For the Preamble to the act regarding changing the term “mental
retardation” to “intellectual disability”, please refer to Acts 2010, ch.
734.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 1 provided that the Tennessee code commission
is directed to change all references to “mental retardation”, wherever
such references appear in titles 33, 39 and 41, to “intellectual disabil-
ity”, as supplements are issued and volumes are replaced.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 7 provided that for purposes of each provision
amended by the act, a reference to intellectual disability shall be
considered to refer to mental retardation, as defined by that provision
on the day before the date of enactment of the act.

Acts 2010, ch. 734, § 8 provided that nothing in the act shall be
construed to alter or otherwise affect the eligibility for services or the
rights or responsibilities of individuals covered by the provision on the
day before the date of enactment of the act.

PART 5
MANDATORY COMMUNITY-BASED SERVICES

33-5-505. Hearing on contest of plan.

If a defendant contests a plan proposed by the
department under § 33-5-501, § 33-5-502, or § 33-5-
503, the court shall hold a hearing within seven (7)
days of receipt of the request to determine whether the
plan is programmatically appropriate and legally per-
missible. The court shall either approve the plan or
approve the plan as modified by the department to
correct deficiencies found by the court.
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History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

CHAPTER 6
MENTAL HEALTH SERVICE

Part 1. Mental Health Service System

SECTION.

33-6-104. Community-based screening process — Prescreening agents.

33-6-108. Admissions to a state-owned or operated hospital or treat-
ment resource.

Part 2. Voluntary Admission to Inpatient Treatment

33-6-201.
33-6-202.
33-6-203.
33-6-204.
33-6-205.
33-6-206.
33-6-207.
33-6-208.

Persons who may apply for voluntary admission.

Admission upon finding of need for hospitalization.

Limitations on admission of child.

Admissions review committee — Members — Expenses.

Approval of commitment.

Request for release.

Procedure for release following request.

Notification of parent, guardian or custodian prior to release
of child.

Part 3. Persons with Severe Impairments

33-6-301.
33-6-302.
33-6-303.
33-6-304.
33-6-305.
33-6-306.
33-6-307.
33-6-308.
33-6-309.

“Severe impairment” defined.

Detention of persons with severe impairments — Record.

Examination of person.

Detention following finding of severe impairment.

Extended detention after confirmation of initial finding.

Notice of status and rights as service recipient.

Request for release.

Release of person no longer in need of immediate care.

Admission of person to treatment facility beyond seventy-
two-hour period.

Monitoring of admissions to ensure service recipients’ rights.

Service under this part not substitute for outpatient care.

33-6-310.
33-6-311.

Part 4. Emergency Involuntary Admission to Inpatient Treatment

33-6-401.
33-6-402.
33-6-403.
33-6-404.

Emergency detention.

Detention without warrant authorized.

Admission to treatment facility.

Certificate of need for emergency treatment and transporta-
tion.

[Reserved.]

Transportation of detainee to treatment facility.

Examination to determine need for hospitalization.

Admission of person already at treatment facility.

[Reserved.]

Admission of detainee to state facility.

Admission of detainee to private or local facility with con-
tractual relationship with state.

Admission of detainee to other private or local facility —
Payment for services.

Notice of admission to general sessions court — Notice of
defendant’s rights and status.

Detention for twenty-four (24) hours if judge not available.

Treatment not to render defendant unable to participate in
probable cause hearing.

Order of admission — Notice to next of kin or representative.

Release or transfer prior to hearing.

Procedure for probable cause hearing.

Notice to court of legal representation — Appointment of
counsel.

Waiver of hearing.

Filing of certificates of need.

33-6-405.
33-6-406.
33-6-407.
33-6-408.
33-6-409.
33-6-410.
33-6-411.

33-6-412.

33-6-413.

33-6-414.
33-6-415.

33-6-416.
33-6-417.
33-6-418.
33-6-419.

33-6-420.
33-6-421.



81 MENTAL HEALTH SERVICE

SECTION.

33-6-422. Finding of probable cause — Involuntary commitment for
care for up to fifteen (15) days.

Release of defendant if findings not made by court.

Release of defendant if chief officer determines certificates of
need not supported by facts.

Detention not to be at jail or other criminal custodial facility
unless defendant under arrest for crime.

Certification by physician required.

Authority of licensed psychologist or other mental health
professional.

33-6-423.
33-6-424.

33-6-425.

33-6-426.
33-6-427.

Part 5. Nonemergency Involuntary Admission to Inpatient Treatment

33-6-501. “Substantial likelihood of serious harm” defined.

33-6-502. Prerequisites to judicial commitment for involuntary care
and treatment.

Two (2) certificates of need required — Defendants under
sixteen (16) years of age.

Persons who may file complaint for commitment under this
part.

Commitment to state facility.

Commitment to other public or private facility.

Commitment to contract facility — Conformance with con-
tract.

Commitment to non-state facility where third-party pay-
ment has been arranged.

Suitable accommodations required.

Person eligible for care as armed forces veteran.

33-6-503.
33-6-504.

33-6-505.
33-6-506.
33-6-507.

33-6-508.

33-6-509.
33-6-510.

Part 6. Mandatory Outpatient Treatment

33-6-601. Disclosure of patient information relating to outpatient
treatment.

Release from hospitalization subject to outpatient treat-
ment.

Outpatient treatment plan.

Review of plan.

Discharge of patient — Notice to court of discharge subject to
outpatient treatment.

Amendment of outpatient treatment plan.

Payment for outpatient services.

Admission to treatment facility — Outpatient care sus-
pended — Outpatient care reinstituted following re-
lease.

Failure to comply with outpatient treatment plan — Action
to enforce.

Hearing to determine compliance — Findings — Order to
comply — Recommitment upon failure or inability to
comply.

Failure to appear at hearing — Custody order — Transpor-
tation to hospital — Admission — Notice to attorney
or other representative.

Failure to appear where no affidavit by qualified mental
health professional.

Substitution of qualified mental health professional.

Findings by qualified mental health professional — Release.

Findings by qualified mental health professional — Recom-
mitment — Notice to representative, next of kin and
court.

Recommitment hearing.

Person eligible for discharge.

Rights of defendant in proceedings under this part.

Dismissal of proceedings pending against person recommit-
ted under this part.

Termination of legally mandated outpatient care — Notice to
court.

Reinstatement of mandatory outpatient care.

Hearing on reinstatement order.

Outpatient treatment obligation limited to six (6) months.

Pilot program for patients to receive assisted outpatient
treatment.

33-6-602.

33-6-603.
33-6-604.
33-6-605.

33-6-606.
33-6-607.
33-6-608.

33-6-609.

33-6-610.

33-6-611.

33-6-612.

33-6-613.
33-6-614.
33-6-615.

33-6-616.
33-6-617.
33-6-618.
33-6-619.

33-6-620.

33-6-621.
33-6-622.
33-6-623.
33-6-624.

Part 7. Discharge from Inpatient Treatment

33-6-701. Review of admitted persons to determine eligibility for
discharge.
Request for current examination of mental condition —

Payment.

33-6-702.

33-6-104

SECTION.

33-6-703. Discharge of person eligible for release — Petition for review
where one (1) or more physicians finds admission no
longer needed.

33-6-704. Procedure for reviewing petition.

33-6-705. Discharge of person no longer meeting standards for admis-
sion.

33-6-706. Discharge of involuntarily committed person — Person no
longer mentally ill or in remission — Person unlikely
to cause harm — Voluntary outpatient treatment
possible.

33-6-707. Persons eligible for discharge subject to mandatory outpa-
tient treatment.

33-6-708. Discharge procedure for involuntarily committed persons.

Part 8. Sex Offenders

33-6-801. Part definitions.

33-6-802. Examination upon conviction for sex crime.

33-6-803. Certification for treatment.

33-6-804. Examination prior to release — Petition for commitment.
33-6-805. Post-plea treatment system.

Part 9. Special Provisions for Mental Health Transportation

33-6-901. Transportation of persons under part 4 or 5 of this chapter by
sheriff, secondary transport agent, municipal officer
or other authorized person.

33-6-902. Transportation of patient to hospital — Temporary deten-
tion.

PART 1
MENTAL HEALTH SERVICE SYSTEM

33-6-104. Community-based screening process —
Prescreening agents.

(a) The department shall maintain a community-
based screening process designed to provide alterna-
tives to hospitalization, minimize length of confine-
ment, promote speedy return to the community, and
maximize each service recipient’s ability to remain in a
community setting.

(b) As part of the system the commissioner shall
designate individuals to serve as mandatory prescreen-
ing agents. The commissioner may base designation on
criteria consistent with § 33-6-427 and may set limits
on an agent’s authority. The commissioner may decline
to designate a person who satisfies the requirements of
§ 33-6-427. The commissioner may remove authority
as a mandatory prescreening agent from a person
without cause. Designation of a person as a mandatory
prescreening agent does not vest any property right,
and limitations on authority and removal of designa-
tion as a mandatory prescreening agent are not gov-
erned by the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act,
compiled in title 4, chapter 5, or by title 8, chapter 30.

(¢c) An agent has only the authority designated by
the commissioner and, if the agent is not a physician,
the authority of the agent terminates if the person no
longer satisfies § 33-6-427. An agent’s authority is
valid in connection with hospitalization of a privately
funded person at a private hospital or treatment re-
source only if the private hospital or treatment re-
source files notice of acceptance of the designated
person’s authority with the commissioner.

(d) When performing the duties authorized by this
section an individual agent shall be considered to be a
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state employee pursuant to § 8-42-101(3)(D). When
performing the duties authorized by this section an
individual agent shall not be considered as an employee
of such agent’s regular employer, and the agent’s regu-
lar employer, whether public or private, shall not be
held liable in any damages to any person or govern-
ment entity in a civil action for injury, death or loss to
person or property that allegedly results from the
actions of the individual agent while acting as a state
employee pursuant to this section.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2001, ch. 377, § 3;2002, ch. 730, § 31; 2010,
ch. 633, § 1.

33-6-108. Admissions to a state-owned or oper-
ated hospital or treatment resource.

Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, all
admissions or transfers to a state-owned or operated
hospital or treatment resource shall be subject to
available suitable accommodations, as defined in § 33-
1-101, and no admission to a state-owned or operated
hospital or treatment resource shall occur until the
department has designated the state-owned or oper-
ated facility as having available suitable accommoda-
tions; provided, that if there are no suitable available
accommodations at the time of the determination, then
the commissioner shall expeditiously find a state-
owned or operated hospital or treatment resource to
accommodate the person upon the availability of suit-
able available accommodations.

History.
Acts 2009, ch. 531, § 36.

Compiler’s Notes.

For the Preamble to the act concerning the operation and funding of
state government and to fund the state budget for the fiscal years
beginning on July 1, 2008, and July 1, 2009, please refer to Acts 2009,
ch. 531.

PART 2

VOLUNTARY ADMISSION TO INPATIENT
TREATMENT

33-6-201. Persons who may apply for voluntary
admission.

(a) The following persons may apply for admission to
a public or private hospital or treatment resource for
diagnosis, observation and treatment of a mental ill-
ness or serious emotional disturbance:

(1) A person who is sixteen (16) years of age or
over and who does not lack capacity to apply under
§ 33-3-218;

(2) A parent, legal custodian, or legal guardian
who is acting on behalf of a child;

(8) A conservator whom the appointing court has
expressly granted authority to apply for the person’s
admission to a hospital or treatment resource for
mental illness or serious emotional disturbance;

(4) A qualified mental health professional acting
on the basis of the terms of the person’s declaration
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for mental health treatment;

(5) A person’s attorney in fact under a durable
power of attorney for health care, under title 34,
chapter 6, part 2;

(6) A caregiver under title 34, chapter 6, part 3,
who is acting on behalf of a child; or

(7) An individual acting as an agent under the
Tennessee Health Care Decisions Act, compiled in
title 68, chapter 11, part 18 or an individual desig-
nated as a surrogate under § 68-11-1806(a).

(b) An individual’s surrogate as designated under
§ 68-11-1806(c) may also apply for such admission
provided no person may be admitted by a surrogate
under this subsection (b) for more than twenty-one (21)
consecutive days unless a petition has been filed pur-
suant to part 5 of this chapter, or unless an individual
who meets any of the criteria set out in subdivisions
(a)(1)-(7) of this section applies for voluntary admission
subsequent to an application by a surrogate for volun-
tary admission under this section.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2002, ch. 730, § 35; 2004, ch. 565, § 4; 2013,
ch. 238, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former chapter 6, §§ 33-6-101 — 33-6-111; 33-6-201 — 33-6-209;
33-6-301 — 33-6-306 (Acts 1957, ch. 288, §§ 1-5; impl. am. Acts 1957,
ch. 127, §§ 1, 3, 4; 1963, ch. 315, §§ 1, 2; 1965, ch. 38, §§ 37-40, 43, 45,
46; 1967, ch. 44, § 1; 1967, ch. 58, § 1;1973, ch. 127, § 11; 1974, ch.
464, § 3; 1974, ch. 802, §§ 43, 45, 46, 52, 53; 1975, ch. 199, §§ 1-3;
1975, ch. 248, §§ 1, 14, 16-18; 1976, ch. 610, § 1; 1976, ch. 763, § 5;
1976, ch. 764, §§ 2, 3; 1977, ch. 165, § 1; 1977, ch. 386, § 2; 1977, ch.
449, §§ 1, 2; 1978, ch. 527, §§ 5, 6; 1980, ch. 621, § 1; 1981, ch. 224,
§§ 25-27; 1981, ch. 445, § 1; 1981, ch. 449, § 2(21); 1981, ch. 536, § 1;
1982, ch. 862, § 1, 3-11; 1983, ch. 323, §§ 8, 9, 11, 13, 14, 17-22, 24;
T.C.A., § 33-314, 33-325, 33-603, 33-601, 33-604, 33-606 — 33-609,
33-614 — 33-619; 33-379 — 33-381, 33-1301 — 33-1305, 33-3-620 —
33-3-622, 33-6-203 — 33-6-205; Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 8, 11-16, 23-25,
27, 28-32, 39, 40; 1985, ch. 437, §§ 14-25; 1985, ch. 478, § 37; Acts
1986, ch. 595, §§ 1, 2; 1986, ch. 836, §§ 4, 6; 1987, ch. 145, § 26; 1988,
ch. 862, §§ 1-5; 1988, ch 953, § 8; 1989, ch. 99, § 1; 1989, ch. 311,
§§ 1-4; 1989, ch. 513, §§ 3, 15-17; 1990, ch. 630, §§ 1, 2; 1992, ch. 893,
§§ 1, 2; 1992, ch. 991, §§ 15, 16; 1993, ch. 356, §§ 1-3; 1993, ch. 376,
§§ 1-4; 1994, ch. 676, § 1;1994, ch. 779, § 1; 1996, ch. 1079, §§ 57-66;
2000, ch. 947, § 6), is deleted and replaced in the revision of title 33 by
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1, effective March 1, 2001.

33-6-202. Admission upon finding of need for
hospitalization.

Upon application, if an examination by an admitting
physician determines the need for hospitalization, the
chief officer of a public hospital shall admit and the
chief officer of a private hospital or treatment resource
may admit the person. If the service recipient is a child,
the chief officer shall notify the child’s parent, legal
guardian or legal custodian of the admission. Admis-
sion is subject to the availability of suitable accommo-
dations.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-203. Limitations on admission of child.

No unemancipated child may be admitted under this
part for more than one (1) six-month period in any
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twelve-month period unless the admissions review
committee approves further hospitalization.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-204. Admissions review committee — Mem-
bers — Expenses.

The admissions review committee consists of four (4)
persons. Two (2) members shall be appointed from the
hospital or treatment resource by the chief officer and
two (2) members shall be appointed from the commu-
nity contiguous to the hospital or treatment resource by
the chair of the state commission on children and
youth. The members appointed by the chair of the state
commission on children and youth shall not be employ-
ees or staff members of the hospital or treatment
resource. The committee members shall be trained or
experienced specifically in child mental health. Com-
mittee members shall serve voluntarily, and the hospi-
tal or treatment resource shall reimburse them for
their travel and per diem living expenses.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-205. Approval of commitment.

The admissions review committee shall approve con-
tinued hospitalization by a vote of at least three (3) of
its members. The committee may recommend the per-
son’s continued hospitalization for a period not to
exceed six (6) months. If the committee does not ap-
prove continued hospitalization, the person shall be
released, unless, prior to the committee’s decision, a
petition for judicial hospitalization has been filed under
chapter 6, part 5 of this title.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-206. Request for release.

(a) The following persons may at any time request
the service recipient’s release by filing a written appli-
cation with the chief officer:

(1) An adult service recipient;

(2) A service recipient’s conservator;

(3) A service recipient’s attorney in fact under a
durable power of attorney for health care;

(4) The parent, legal custodian, or legal guardian
who applied for the admission of a child,

(5) A child who is sixteen (16) years of age or over
and who was admitted on the child’s own application;

(6) A caregiver under title 34, chapter 6, part 3,
who is acting on behalf of a child; or

(7) An individual acting as an agent under the

Tennessee Health Care Decisions Act, compiled in

title 68, chapter 11, part 18 or a person’s surrogate as

designated under title 68, chapter 11, part 18.

(b) If a competent service recipient cannot file a
written request, a person acting on the service recipi-
ent’s behalf may file the request with the service
recipient’s consent.

33-6-301

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2002, ch. 730, § 36; 2004, ch. 565, § 5; 2013,
ch. 238, § 2.

33-6-207. Procedure
request.

for release following

If the chief officer receives a request for discharge
under § 33-6-206 and does not admit the service recipi-
ent under chapter 6, part 4 of this title, the chief officer
shall release the service recipient, if a child, within
twenty-four (24) hours and, if an adult, within twelve
(12) hours after receipt of the request or at the time
stated in the request, whichever is later.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-208. Notification of parent, guardian or cus-
todian prior to release of child.

The chief officer shall notify the parent, legal guard-
ian, or legal custodian of a service recipient who is a
child, before releasing the child. If the chief officer has
reason to believe that the child is likely to be dependent
and neglected upon release, then the chief officer shall
notify the department of children’s services before the
release.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

PART 3
PERSONS WITH SEVERE IMPAIRMENTS

33-6-301. “Severe impairment” defined.

For purposes of this part, unless the context requires
otherwise, “severe impairment” means a condition in
which an adult or an emancipated child:

(1) As a result of a mental illness or serious
emotional disturbance:

(A) Isin danger of serious physical harm result-
ing from the person’s failure to provide for the
person’s essential human needs of health or safety;
or

(B) Manifests severe deterioration in routine
functioning evidenced by repeated and escalating
loss of cognitive or volitional control over the
person’s actions; and
(2) Is not receiving care that is essential for the

person’s health or safety.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former chapter 6, §§ 33-6-101 — 33-6-111; 33-6-201 — 33-6-209;
33-6-301 — 33-6-306 (Acts 1957, ch. 288, §§ 1-5; impl. am. Acts 1957,
ch. 127, §§ 1, 3, 4; 1963, ch. 315, §§ 1, 2; 1965, ch. 38, §§ 37-40, 43, 45,
46; 1967, ch. 44, § 1; 1967, ch. 58, § 1;1973, ch. 127, § 11; 1974, ch.
464, § 3; 1974, ch. 802, §§ 43, 45, 46, 52, 53; 1975, ch. 199, §§ 1-3;
1975, ch. 248, §§ 1, 14, 16-18; 1976, ch. 610, § 1; 1976, ch. 763, § 5;
1976, ch. 764, §§ 2, 3; 1977, ch. 165, § 1; 1977, ch. 386, § 2; 1977, ch.
449, §§ 1, 2; 1978, ch. 527, §§ 5, 6; 1980, ch. 621, § 1; 1981, ch. 224,
§§ 25-27; 1981, ch. 445, § 1; 1981, ch. 449, § 2(21); 1981, ch. 536, § 1;
1982, ch. 862, § 1, 3-11; 1983, ch. 323, §§ 8, 9, 11, 13, 14, 17-22, 24,
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T.C.A., § 33-314, 33-325, 33-603, 33-601, 33-604, 33-606 — 33-609,
33-614 — 33-619; 33-379 — 33-381, 33-1301 — 33-1305, 33-3-620 —
33-3-622, 33-6-203 — 33-6-205; Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 8, 11-16, 23-25,
27, 28-32, 39, 40; 1985, ch. 437, §§ 14-25; 1985, ch. 478, § 37; Acts
1986, ch. 595, §§ 1, 2; 1986, ch. 836, §§ 4, 6; 1987, ch. 145, § 26; 1988,
ch. 862, §§ 1-5; 1988, ch 953, § 8; 1989, ch. 99, § 1; 1989, ch. 311,
§§ 1-4; 1989, ch. 513, §§ 3, 15-17; 1990, ch. 630, §§ 1, 2; 1992, ch. 893,
§§ 1, 2; 1992, ch. 991, §§ 15, 16; 1993, ch. 356, §§ 1-3; 1993, ch. 376,
§§ 1-4; 1994, ch. 676, § 1; 1994, ch. 779, § 1; 1996, ch. 1079, §§ 57-66;
2000, ch. 947, § 6), is deleted and replaced in the revision of title 33 by
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1, effective March 1, 2001.

33-6-302. Detention of persons with severe im-
pairments — Record.

(a) No person shall be detained under this part
except in a treatment resource that provides psychiat-
ric services, twenty-four hour crisis services, and su-
pervised observation beds, participates in mandatory
prescreening authority under § 33-6-104, and is ap-
proved by the department for service under this part.
The chief officer may detain a person alleged to:

(1) Have a mental illness or serious emotional
disturbance for which immediate observation, care
and treatment in the program is appropriate; and

(2) Be experiencing severe impairment that is
likely to result in serious harm to the person.

(b) The chief officer shall have entered on the record
the reasons why and with whom the person came to the
treatment resource.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-303. Examination of person.

A physician shall examine the person as soon as
practicable but at least within six (6) hours after the
person arrives at the treatment resource.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-304. Detention following finding of severe
impairment.

IF AND ONLY IF

(1) the physician determines that the person has a
mental illness or serious emotional disturbance for
which immediate observation, care and treatment in
a treatment resource is appropriate, AND

(2) the physician determines that the person is
experiencing “severe impairment” that is likely to
result in serious harm to the person,

THEN

(3) the person may be detained for observation,
care and treatment and further examination for up to
twelve (12) hours from the time the person arrived at
the treatment resource.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-305. Extended detention after confirmation
of initial finding.

IF AND ONLY IF
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(1) another physician examines the person and
confirms the determination of the first examining
physician under § 33-6-304 within twelve (12) hours
after the time the person arrived, AND

(2) the person is admitted to an extended observa-
tion bed for observation, care, and treatment,

THEN

(3) the person may be detained under this part for
up to seventy-two (72) hours from the time the
person arrived at the treatment resource.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2002, ch. 730, § 37.

33-6-306. Notice of status and rights as service
recipient.

At the time of admission to an extended observation
bed, the person shall be given written notice of the
person’s status and rights as a service recipient under
this title. The notice shall contain the service recipi-
ent’s name. The notice shall be provided to the same
persons and in the manner as if the service recipient
had been admitted under chapter 6, part 4 of this title.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-307. Request for release.

If the person or anyone acting on the person’s behalf
demands that the person be released and the chief
officer does not detain the person in conformity with
chapter 6, part 4 or 5 of this title, the chief officer shall
discharge the person.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-308. Release of person no longer in need of
immediate care.

If at any time it is determined that the person is no
longer in need of immediate observation, care and
treatment in accordance with this part and is not in
need of involuntary care and treatment in a hospital,
the person shall be released unless the person agrees to
be admitted to a hospital or treatment resource.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-309. Admission of person to treatment facil-
ity beyond seventy-two-hour period.

If at any time within the seventy-two hour period it is
determined that the person continues to require imme-
diate observation, assessment, and treatment in accor-
dance with this part and that the requirement is likely
to continue beyond the seventy-two hour period, the
person shall be moved immediately to an appropriate
hospital or treatment resource authorized to receive
and detain persons with mental illness or serious
emotional disturbance under chapter 6, part 4 of this
title. The person shall be evaluated for admission and,
if appropriate, shall be admitted in accordance with
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chapter 6, part 4 of this title, and if the person is so
admitted, the fifteen-day retention period of chapter 6,
part 4 of this title, shall be reduced by the number of
days the person was detained under this part. Any
person moved to a hospital pursuant to this section
shall be moved without regard to the transfer provi-
sions of this title. Evaluation for admission to a state-
owned or operated hospital or treatment resource must
conform to § 33-6-105.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2002, ch. 730, § 38.

33-6-310. Monitoring of admissions to ensure ser-
vice recipients’ rights.

The department shall monitor admissions under this
part to assure that they are not used in any way that
violates the rights of service recipients with mental
illness or serious emotional disturbance.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2002, ch. 730, § 39.

33-6-311. Service under this part not substitute
for outpatient care.

Service under this part shall not be used instead of
assessment or evaluation that can be performed on an
outpatient basis.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

PART 4

EMERGENCY INVOLUNTARY ADMISSION TO
INPATIENT TREATMENT

33-6-401. Emergency detention.

IF AND ONLY IF

(1) a person has a mental illness or serious emo-
tional disturbance, AND

(2) the person poses an immediate substantial
likelihood of serious harm under § 33-6-501 because
of the mental illness or serious emotional distur-
bance,

THEN

(3) the person may be detained under § 33-6-402
to obtain examination for certification of need for
care and treatment.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former chapter 6, §§ 33-6-101 — 33-6-111; 33-6-201 — 33-6-209;
33-6-301 — 33-6-306 (Acts 1957, ch. 288, §§ 1-5; impl. am. Acts 1957,
ch. 127, §§ 1, 3, 4; 1963, ch. 315, §§ 1, 2; 1965, ch. 38, §§ 37-40, 43, 45,
46; 1967, ch. 44, § 1; 1967, ch. 58, § 1;1973, ch. 127, § 11; 1974, ch.
464, § 3; 1974, ch. 802, §§ 43, 45, 46, 52, 53; 1975, ch. 199, §§ 1-3;
1975, ch. 248, §§ 1, 14, 16-18; 1976, ch. 610, § 1; 1976, ch. 763, § 5;
1976, ch. 764, §§ 2, 3; 1977, ch. 165, § 1; 1977, ch. 386, § 2; 1977, ch.
449, §§ 1, 2; 1978, ch. 527, §§ 5, 6; 1980, ch. 621, § 1; 1981, ch. 224,
§§ 25-27; 1981, ch. 445, § 1; 1981, ch. 449, § 2(21); 1981, ch. 536, § 1;
1982, ch. 862, § 1, 3-11; 1983, ch. 323, §§ 8, 9, 11, 13, 14, 17-22, 24;
T.C.A,, § 33-314, 33-325, 33-603, 33-601, 33-604, 33-606 — 33-609,

33-6-404

33-614 — 33-619; 33-379 — 33-381, 33-1301 — 33-1305, 33-3-620 —
33-3-622, 33-6-203 — 33-6-205; Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 8, 11-16, 23-25,
27, 28-32, 39, 40; 1985, ch. 437, §§ 14-25; 1985, ch. 478, § 37; Acts
1986, ch. 595, §§ 1, 2; 1986, ch. 836, §§ 4, 6; 1987, ch. 145, § 26; 1988,
ch. 862, §§ 1-5; 1988, ch 953, § 8; 1989, ch. 99, § 1; 1989, ch. 311,
§§ 1-4; 1989, ch. 513, §§ 3, 15-17; 1990, ch. 630, §§ 1, 2; 1992, ch. 893,
§§ 1, 2; 1992, ch. 991, §§ 15, 16; 1993, ch. 356, §§ 1-3; 1993, ch. 376,
§§ 1-4; 1994, ch. 676, § 1;1994, ch. 779, § 1; 1996, ch. 1079, §§ 57-66;
2000, ch. 947, § 6), is deleted and replaced in the revision of title 33 by
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1, effective March 1, 2001.

33-6-402. Detention without warrant authorized.

If an officer authorized to make arrests in the state,
a licensed physician, a psychologist authorized under
§ 33-6-427(a), or a professional designated by the com-
missioner under § 33-6-427(b) has reason to believe
that a person is subject to detention under § 33-6-401,
then the officer, physician, psychologist, or designated
professional may take the person into custody without
a civil order or warrant for immediate examination
under § 33-6-404 for certification of need for care and
treatment.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-403. Admission to treatment facility.

IF AND ONLY IF

(1) a person has a mental illness or serious emo-
tional disturbance, AND

(2) the person poses an immediate substantial
likelihood of serious harm, under § 33-6-501, be-
cause of the mental illness or serious emotional
disturbance, AND

(3) the person needs care, training, or treatment
because of the mental illness or serious emotional
disturbance, AND

(4) all available less drastic alternatives to place-
ment in a hospital or treatment resource are unsuit-
able to meet the needs of the person,

THEN

(5) the person may be admitted and detained by a
hospital or treatment resource for emergency diag-
nosis, evaluation, and treatment under this part.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-404. Certificate of need for emergency treat-
ment and transportation.

IF
(1)(A) a licensed physician, psychologist, or desig-
nated professional takes a person into custody
under § 33-6-402, OR
(B) a person is brought to the physician, psy-
chologist, or designated professional for examina-
tion under this section,
THEN
(2) the physician, psychologist, or designated pro-
fessional shall immediately examine the person and
decide whether the person is subject to admission to
a hospital or treatment resource under § 33-6-403,
AND
3)A) IF



33-6-405

(i) the person is not subject to admission,
THEN

(ii) the physician, psychologist, or designated
professional shall release the person, AND
(B) IF

(i) the person is subject to admission, THEN

(i) the physician, psychologist, or designated
professional shall complete a certificate of need
for the emergency diagnosis, evaluation, and
treatment showing the factual foundation for the
conclusions on each item of § 33-6-403, AND

(iii) the physician, psychologist, or designated
professional shall assess the person’s clinical
needs and need for physical restraint or vehicle
security and determine the mode of transporta-
tion to the hospital in consultation with the
mandatory prescreening agent, other mental
health professional familiar with the person, or a
knowledgeable family member, AND

(iv) if admission is sought at a state-owned or
operated hospital or treatment resource, the
physician, psychologist or designated profes-
sional shall verify that the state-owned or oper-
ated hospital or treatment resource has been
contacted and has available suitable accommo-
dations, acknowledging such verification in writ-
ing.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2009, ch. 531, § 37.

Compiler’s Notes.

For the Preamble to the act concerning the operation and funding of
state government and to fund the state budget for the fiscal years
beginning on July 1, 2008, and July 1, 2009, please refer to Acts 2009,
ch. 531.

33-6-405. [Reserved.]

33-6-406. Transportation of detainee to treat-
ment facility.

(a) If the person certified for admission under § 33-
6-404 is not already at the facility, hospital or treat-
ment resource at which the person is proposed to be
admitted, the physician, psychologist or designated
professional who completed the certificate of need un-
der § 33-6-404 shall give the sheriff or the transporta-
tion agent designated under part 9 of this chapter the
original of the certificate and turn the person over to
the custody of the sheriff or transportation agent who
shall transport the person to a hospital or treatment
resource that has available suitable accommodations
for the person for proceedings under § 33-6-407; pro-
vided, that, if admission is sought to a state-owned or
operated hospital or treatment resource, the physician,
psychologist or designated professional who completed
the certificate of need under § 33-6-404 shall also
provide to the sheriff or transportation agent a written
statement verifying that the state-owned or operated
hospital or treatment resource has been contacted and
has available suitable accommodations, and the sheriff
or transportation agent shall not be required to take
custody of the person for transportation unless both the
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original of the certificate and the written statement are
provided. If the original of the certificate is unavailable,
then an identical hard copy or electronic copy submit-
ted by reliable electronic means must be accepted for
purposes of this section. Failure of the sheriff or other
county transportation agent to provide both a certifi-
cate of need and the written statement to the receiving
state-owned or operated hospital or treatment resource
for proceedings under § 33-6-407 shall result in all
costs attendant to the person’s admission and treat-
ment being assessed to the transporting county.
(b)(1) Before transportation begins, the sheriff or
transportation agent shall notify the hospital or
treatment resource at which the person is proposed
to be admitted as to where the person is and the best
estimate of anticipated time of arrival at the hospital
or treatment resource.

(2) The sheriff or transportation agent shall notify
the hospital or treatment resource of the anticipated
time of arrival. If the sheriff or transportation agent
has given notice and arrives at the hospital or treat-
ment resource within the anticipated time of arrival,
then the sheriff or transportation agent is required to
remain at the hospital or treatment resource long
enough for the person to be evaluated for admission
under § 33-6-407, but not longer than one (1) hour
and forty-five (45) minutes. After one (1) hour and
forty-five (45) minutes, the person is the responsibil-
ity of the evaluating hospital or treatment resource,
and the sheriff or transportation agent may leave.

(3) In counties having a population of six hundred

thousand (600,000) or more according to the 1970
federal census of population or any subsequent fed-
eral census, subdivisions (b)(1) and (2) do not apply,
and the sheriff or transportation agent is relieved of
further transportation duties after the person has
been delivered to the hospital or treatment resource,
and transportation duties shall be assumed by ap-
propriate personnel of the hospital or treatment
resource.
(c)(1) Subject to annual appropriations, there is es-
tablished a grant program to assist sheriff’s required
to transport persons to a hospital or treatment re-
source for emergency mental health transport under
this section. The department of finance and admin-
istration, in consultation with the department of
mental health and substance abuse services and the
division of TennCare, shall develop and administer
the grant program. Assistance from this grant pro-
gram must not be provided for emergency mental
health transports where a physician, psychologist, or
designated professional determines that the person
can be transported by one (1) or more friends, neigh-
bors, or other mental health professionals familiar
with the person, relatives of the person, or a member
of the clergy pursuant to § 33-6-901.

(2) A sheriff may contract with one (1) or more
third parties or other law enforcement agencies to
transport persons to a hospital or treatment resource
in accordance with this section. The sheriff shall
deem a third party or law enforcement agency con-
tracted to perform this function to be the designated
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secondary transportation agent pursuant to § 33-6-
901. Any contract entered into under this subsection
(c) is subject to audit by the comptroller of the
treasury or the comptroller’s designee.

(8) A sheriff may receive grant funds provided
under this subsection (¢) and pay the grant funds to
third parties or other law enforcement agencies with
which the sheriff contracts to transport persons to a
hospital or treatment resource in accordance with
this section. The receipt or expenditure of grant
funds received by a sheriff under this subsection (c¢) is
subject to audit by the comptroller of the treasury or
the comptroller’s designee.

(d) Iftelehealth services are available and offered by
a hospital or treatment resource at which a person is
proposed to be admitted pursuant to this part, then the
hospital or treatment resource may elect to conduct an
evaluation for admission under § 33-6-407 through
telehealth as defined in § 56-7-1002.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2002, ch. 730, § 40; 2009, ch. 531, §§ 38-40;
2019, ch. 512, § 1; 2021, ch. 538, § 3.

Compiler’s Notes.

For table of U.S. decennial populations of Tennessee counties, see
Volume 13 and its supplement.

For the Preamble to the act concerning the operation and funding of
state government and to fund the state budget for the fiscal years
beginning on July 1, 2008, and July 1, 2009, please refer to Acts 2009,
ch. 531.

33-6-407. Examination to determine need for
hospitalization.

(a) As used in this section, “qualified advanced prac-
tice provider” means an individual working in collabo-
ration with a licensed physician, and who is a:

(1) Licensed advanced practice nurse with a cur-
rent certification from a national certifying organiza-
tion as a psychiatric-mental health advanced prac-
tice nurse; or

(2) Physician assistant with a current certification
from a national certifying organization as having
additional qualifications in psychiatry.

(b) A hospital or treatment resource that receives a
person transported under § 33-6-406 must have a
licensed physician or a qualified advanced practice
provider examine the person to determine whether the
person is subject to admission under § 33-6-403.

(¢) If the person is subject to admission under § 33-
6-403, then the physician or qualified advanced prac-
tice provider must complete a certificate of need for the
emergency diagnosis, evaluation, and treatment show-
ing the factual foundation for the conclusions on each
item of § 33-6-403, and the person who took the service
recipient to the hospital or treatment resource may
then apply for the admission for the purpose of emer-
gency diagnosis, evaluation, and treatment.

(d) If the person is not subject to admission and the
sheriff or transportation agent is under a duty to
remain at the hospital or treatment resource under
§ 33-6-406, then the sheriff or transportation agent
shall return the person to the county.

33-6-411

(e) If the person is not subject to admission and the
sheriff or transportation agent is not under a duty to
remain at the hospital or treatment resource under
§ 33-6-406, then the hospital or treatment resource
shall return the person to the county.

(f) Ahospital, treatment resource, or healthcare pro-
vider is immune from civil liability and has an affirma-
tive defense to criminal liability arising either from a
determination relative to admission of a person to a
facility or treatment resource or from the transporta-
tion of a person to and from the hospital or treatment
resource.

History.

Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2009, ch. 531, § 41; 2013, ch. 32, § 1; 2023,

ch. 199, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

For the Preamble to the act concerning the operation and funding of
state government and to fund the state budget for the fiscal years
beginning on July 1, 2008, and July 1, 2009, please refer to Acts 2009,
ch. 531.

33-6-408. Admission of person already at treat-
ment facility.

If the person has been certified as subject to admis-
sion under § 33-6-403 and is already at the hospital or
treatment resource at which the person is proposed to
be admitted, then the person who took the service
recipient to the hospital or treatment resource may
then apply for the admission for the purpose of emer-
gency diagnosis, evaluation, and treatment. The appli-
cation must be accompanied by the two (2) certificates
of need or the one (1) certificate of need executed
pursuant to § 33-6-426(b) and must state the reasons
and circumstances under which the person was taken
into custody.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2023, ch. 199, § 3.

33-6-409. [Reserved.]

33-6-410. Admission of detainee to state facility.

If the chief officer of a state hospital or treatment
resource determines that the person is subject to ad-
mission under § 33-6-403 and has the required certifi-
cates of need, then the chief officer of the state facility
shall admit and detain the person for emergency diag-
nosis, evaluation and treatment.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-411. Admission of detainee to private or lo-
cal facility with contractual rela-
tionship with state.

IF
(1) the chief officer of a licensed private or local
public hospital or treatment resource determines
that the person is subject to admission under § 33-
6-403 and has the required certificates of need, AND
(2) the facility has contracted with the state to
serve persons in the region,
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THEN
(3) the facility shall admit and detain the person
in conformity with its obligations under its contract
with the state for emergency diagnosis, evaluation
and treatment.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-412. Admission of detainee to other private
or local facility — Payment for
services.

IF

(1) the chief officer of a licensed private or local
public hospital or treatment resource determines
that the person is subject to admission under § 33-
6-403 and has the required certificates of need or the
one (1) certificate of need executed pursuant to § 33-
6-426(b), AND

(2)(A) a parent, legal guardian, legal custodian,

conservator, spouse, or an adult relative of the

person, or any other person has made arrange-

ments to pay the cost of care and treatment in a

hospital, or treatment resource, OR

(B) the facility chooses to accept the person

when no third person has made arrangements to

pay the cost,

THEN

(3) the facility may admit and detain the person
for emergency diagnosis, evaluation, and treatment.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2023, ch. 199, § 4.

33-6-413. Notice of admission to general sessions
court — Notice of defendant’s rights
and status.

(a) The chief officer, upon admission of the person,
shall notify the judge of the general sessions court
where the hospital or treatment resource is located, by
telephone or in person, and shall provide the informa-
tion from the certificates of need or the one (1) certifi-
cate of need executed pursuant to § 33-6-426(b) and
such other information as the court may desire, that is
in the possession of the hospital or treatment resource,
bearing on the condition of the person. If the general
sessions court finds that there is probable cause to
believe that the defendant is subject to admission to a
hospital or treatment resource under § 33-6-403, then
the court may order the defendant admitted for not
more than five (5) days from the date of the order,
excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays, for emer-
gency diagnosis, evaluation, and treatment pending a
probable cause hearing under § 33-6-422. If the court
does not order the defendant admitted, then the defen-
dant must be released.

(b) The court shall cause a notice containing the
information described in this subsection (b) to be
mailed to the defendant, the defendant’s attorney, the
chief officer of the hospital or treatment resource and
the parent, legal guardian, conservator, spouse or adult
next of kin of the defendant. The notice shall contain
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the following information:

(1) The time and place of the probable cause
hearing;

(2) The defendant’s rights, including, but not lim-
ited to, right to counsel, right to waive a hearing,
right to confront and cross-examine witnesses, and
right to be  protected from  compelled
self-incrimination;

(3) The status of the defendant if judicially com-
mitted, including, but not limited to:

(A) The person’s prohibition against purchasing
a firearm under § 39-17-1316;

(B) The person’s prohibition against obtaining a
handgun carry permit under § 39-17-1351or§ 39-
17-1366; and

(C) The suspension or revocation of a handgun
carry permit under § 39-17-1352 once judicially
committed to a hospital or treatment resource
pursuant to this title;

(4) The person’s right to appeal the prohibition
against purchasing a firearm pursuant to § 39-17-
1316; and

(5) The person’s right to appeal the denial of a
handgun carry permit pursuant to §§ 39-17-1352,
39-17-1353, and 39-17-1354.

History.

Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1;2009 ch. 578, § 7; 2019, ch. 479, § 13; 2023,
ch. 199, § 5.

33-6-414. Detention for twenty-four (24) hours if
judge not available.

If the judge is not available and all other provisions
of this part have been complied with, the admitting
facility may hold the defendant for not more than
twenty-four (24) hours pending a court order under
§ 33-6-413, and the staff may render only necessary
emergency treatment.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-415. Treatment not to render defendant un-
able to participate in probable
cause hearing.

Pending the probable cause hearing under § 33-6-
422, no treatment shall be given that will make the
defendant unable to consult with counsel or to prepare
a defense in proceedings for involuntary care and
treatment. No psychosurgery, convulsive treatments,
or insulin treatment shall be undertaken for any psy-
chiatric disorder until an order has been entered, after
the § 33-6-422 probable cause hearing in accordance
with this part, requiring continued involuntary care
and treatment of the defendant.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-416. Order of admission — Notice to next of
kin or representative.

If the court orders the admission of the defendant for
diagnosis, evaluation and treatment under § 33-6-413,
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the chief officer shall give notice of the order to the
defendant and by mail or telephone to the parent, legal
guardian, legal custodian, conservator, spouse, or adult
next of kin of the defendant. The notice shall state
specifically the basis for the defendant’s detention and
the standards for possible future commitment. The
notice shall also inform the defendant of the defen-
dant’s right to counsel during the course of proceedings
for involuntary care and treatment.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-417. Release or transfer prior to hearing.

If the defendant is released under § 33-6-705 or this
part before the § 33-6-422 hearing, the chief officer
shall notify the court that ordered the defendant’s
emergency diagnosis, evaluation and treatment. If the
defendant is transferred to another facility before the
§ 33-6-422 hearing, the court shall transfer the hear-
ing to the general sessions court of the county to which
the defendant is transferred, and the hearing shall be
held within five (5) days of the defendant’s original
detention under this part.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-418. Procedure for probable cause hearing.

Probable cause proceedings under § 33-6-422 shall
be conducted in conformity with §§ 33-3-610—33-3-
615.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-419. Notice to court of legal representation
— Appointment of counsel.

The defendant’s attorney shall notify the court of the
representation immediately after accepting it. If the
defendant does not employ an attorney, the court shall
appoint an attorney to represent the defendant not
later than two (2) days after the original detention or
three (3) days before the date of the hearing, whichever
is earlier. An attorney representing the defendant shall
not serve as guardian ad litem. If the court determines
that the defendant is not able to understand the nature
of the proceedings and cannot communicate with coun-
sel in the conduct of the case, the court may appoint
another person to serve as the defendant’s guardian ad
litem.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-420. Waiver of hearing.

If the defendant consents in writing to a waiver of
hearing, counsel may waive the hearing upon proper
notice to the court.

33-6-423

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-421. Filing of certificates of need.

The chief officer shall file with the court, by the time
of the probable cause hearing, certificates of need for
care and treatment from two (2) licensed physicians or
one (1) licensed physician and a psychologist qualified
under § 33-6-427(a), certifying that the defendant sat-
isfies the requirements of § 33-6-502(1)-(4), and that if
involuntary treatment is not continued the defendant’s
condition resulting from mental illness or serious emo-
tional disturbance is likely to deteriorate rapidly to the
point that the defendant would be again admissible
under § 33-6-403, and showing the factual foundation
for the conclusions on each item of the certificates.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2002, ch. 730, § 42.

33-6-422. Finding of probable cause — Involun-
tary commitment for care for up to
fifteen (15) days.

If, after the hearing is waived or is completed and the
court has completed its consideration of the evidence,
including the certificates of the examining profession-
als, and any other information relevant to the mental
condition of the defendant, the court finds probable
cause to believe that the defendant is subject to care
and treatment under § 33-6-502, and that if involun-
tary treatment is not continued the defendant’s condi-
tion resulting from mental illness or serious emotional
disturbance is likely to deteriorate rapidly to the point
that the defendant would be again admissible under
§ 33-6-403, the court may order the defendant held for
care and treatment pending a hearing under chapter 6,
part 5 of this title, for not more than fifteen (15) days
after the probable cause hearing unless a complaint is
filed under chapter 6, part 5 of this title, within the
fifteen (15) days.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-423. Release of defendant if findings not
made by court.

The court shall order the release of the defendant
from the hospital or treatment resource and terminate
the proceedings under this part, if the court does not
find both that:

(1) There is probable cause to believe that the
defendant is subject to care and treatment under

§ 33-6-502; and

(2) There is probable cause to believe that if invol-
untary treatment is not continued, the defendant’s
condition resulting from mental illness or serious
emotional disturbance is likely to deteriorate rapidly
to the point that the defendant would be again

admissible under § 33-6-403.



33-6-424

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-424. Release of defendant if chief officer de-
termines certificates of need not
supported by facts.

If the chief officer determines that the defendant’s
condition does not support the filing of the certificates
required by § 33-6-422, the chief officer shall release
the defendant. The chief officer shall release the defen-
dant five (5) days, excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and
holidays, from the date of the general sessions court’s
original order to hold the defendant, unless the general
sessions court has ordered the defendant’s further care
and treatment under § 33-6-422 or the defendant has
been committed under chapter 6, part 5 of this title.
The chief officer shall release the defendant not later
than fifteen (15) days after the probable cause hearing
unless a complaint is filed under chapter 6, part 5,
within the fifteen (15) days.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-425. Detention not to be at jail or other
criminal custodial facility unless de-
fendant under arrest for crime.

No defendant shall be detained at a jail or other
custodial facility for the detention of persons charged
with or convicted of criminal offenses, unless the defen-
dant is under arrest for the commission of a crime.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-426. Certification by physician required.

(a) If a person who is not a licensed physician
executes the first certificate of need in support of
hospitalization under this part, then only a licensed
physician may execute the second certificate of need in
support of hospitalization under this part.

(b) If a person who is a licensed physician and board
certified as a psychiatrist by the American Board of
Psychiatry and Neurology executes the first certificate
of need in support of hospitalization under this part,
then the patient may be subject to admission under
§ 33-6-403 without the execution of a second certificate
of need in support of hospitalization under this part.

(c) A certificate of need in support of hospitalization
pursuant to subsection (b) is not valid if:

(1) Itis made by a professional who is a relative by
blood, marriage, or adoption, or the legal guardian,
conservator, or legal custodian of the person who is
the subject of the petition, application, or certificate;

(2) It is made by a professional who has an own-
ership interest in a private facility in which the
person is to be admitted; or

(3) Itis made by a professional who is employed by
or contracts with the admitting hospital or treatment
resource.

(d) A certificate of need in support of hospitalization
executed pursuant to subsection (b) does not relieve the
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hospital or treatment resource’s chief officer from filing
with the court, by the time of the probable cause
hearing, the required certificates of need under § 33-
6-421 and § 33-6-422.

(e) The admitting hospital or treatment resource
may rescind the certificate of need executed pursuant
to subsection (b), if a licensed physician or other quali-
fied professional in examining the patient determines
that the patient no longer meets admission criteria
under § 33-6-403.

(f) Subsection (b) does not apply to a state-owned or
-operated hospital or treatment resource or a hospital
or treatment resource that contracts with the depart-
ment of mental health and substance abuse services for
in-patient psychiatric services.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2023, ch. 199, § 2.

33-6-427. Authority of licensed psychologist or
other mental health professional.

(a) If a person is a licensed psychologist designated as
a health service provider by the board of healing arts
and is actively practicing as such, the person may take
any action authorized and perform any duty imposed
on a physician by §§ 33-6-401 — 33-6-406.

(b) The commissioner may designate a person to
take any action authorized and perform any duty
imposed on a physician by §§ 33-6-401 — 33-6-406 to
the extent the duties are within the scope of practice of
the profession in which the person is licensed or certi-
fied, if the person:

(1) Is a qualified mental health professional under

§ 33-1-101 oris a licensed physician assistant with a

master’s degree and expertise in psychiatry as deter-

mined by the department based upon training, edu-
cation or experience;

(2) Is licensed or certified to practice in the state if
required for the discipline; and

(3) Satisfactorily completes a training program
approved and provided by the department on emer-
gency commitment criteria and procedures.

(c) Subsection (b) does not affect any property right
of an employee of the state while the person is acting in
the person’s capacity as employee of the state.

History.

Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2001, ch. 334, § 5;2002, ch. 730, § 43; 2014,

ch. 688, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.
The reference in (a) and (b) to §§ 33-6-401 — 33-6-406 includes
§ 33-6-405 which is currently reserved.

PART 5

NONEMERGENCY INVOLUNTARY ADMISSION
TO INPATIENT TREATMENT

33-6-501. “Substantial likelihood of
harm” defined.

IF AND ONLY IF

serious
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(1)(A) a person has threatened or attempted sui-
cide or to inflict serious bodily harm on the person,
OR
(B) the person has threatened or attempted ho-
micide or other violent behavior, OR
(C) the person has placed others in reasonable
fear of violent behavior and serious physical harm
to them, OR
(D) the person is unable to avoid severe impair-
ment or injury from specific risks, AND
(2) there is a substantial likelihood that the harm
will occur unless the person is placed under involun-
tary treatment,
THEN
(3) the person poses a “substantial likelihood of
serious harm” for purposes of this title.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former chapter 6, §§ 33-6-101 — 33-6-111; 33-6-201 — 33-6-209;
33-6-301 — 33-6-306 (Acts 1957, ch. 288, §§ 1-5; impl. am. Acts 1957,
ch. 127, §§ 1, 3, 4; 1963, ch. 315, §§ 1, 2; 1965, ch. 38, §§ 37-40, 43, 45,
46; 1967, ch. 44, § 1; 1967, ch. 58, § 1;1973, ch. 127, § 11; 1974, ch.
464, § 3; 1974, ch. 802, §§ 43, 45, 46, 52, 53; 1975, ch. 199, §§ 1-3;
1975, ch. 248, §§ 1, 14, 16-18; 1976, ch. 610, § 1; 1976, ch. 763, § 5;
1976, ch. 764, §§ 2, 3; 1977, ch. 165, § 1; 1977, ch. 386, § 2; 1977, ch.
449, §§ 1, 2; 1978, ch. 527, §§ 5, 6; 1980, ch. 621, § 1; 1981, ch. 224,
§§ 25-27; 1981, ch. 445, § 1; 1981, ch. 449, § 2(21); 1981, ch. 536, § 1;
1982, ch. 862, § 1, 3-11; 1983, ch. 323, §§ 8, 9, 11, 13, 14, 17-22, 24;
T.C.A., § 33-314, 33-325, 33-603, 33-601, 33-604, 33-606 — 33-609,
33-614 — 33-619; 33-379 — 33-381, 33-1301 — 33-1305, 33-3-620 —
33-3-622, 33-6-203 — 33-6-205; Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 8, 11-16, 23-25,
27, 28-32, 39, 40; 1985, ch. 437, §§ 14-25; 1985, ch. 478, § 37; Acts
1986, ch. 595, §§ 1, 2; 1986, ch. 836, §§ 4, 6; 1987, ch. 145, § 26; 1988,
ch. 862, §§ 1-5; 1988, ch 953, § 8; 1989, ch. 99, § 1; 1989, ch. 311,
§§ 1-4; 1989, ch. 513, §§ 3, 15-17; 1990, ch. 630, §§ 1, 2; 1992, ch. 893,
§§ 1, 2; 1992, ch. 991, §§ 15, 16; 1993, ch. 356, §§ 1-3; 1993, ch. 376,
§§ 1-4; 1994, ch. 676, § 1; 1994, ch. 779, § 1; 1996, ch. 1079, §§ 57-66;
2000, ch. 947, § 6), is deleted and replaced in the revision of title 33 by
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1, effective March 1, 2001.

33-6-502. Prerequisites to judicial commitment
for involuntary care and treatment.

IF AND ONLY IF

(1) a person has a mental illness or serious emo-
tional disturbance, AND

(2) the person poses a substantial likelihood of
serious harm because of the mental illness or serious
emotional disturbance, AND

(3) the person needs care, training, or treatment
because of the mental illness or serious emotional
disturbance, AND

(4) all available less drastic alternatives to place-
ment in a hospital or treatment resource are unsuit-
able to meet the needs of the person,

THEN

(5) the person may be judicially committed to
involuntary care and treatment in a hospital or
treatment resource in proceedings conducted in con-
formity with chapter 3, part 6 of this title.

33-6-505

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-503. Two (2) certificates of need required —
Defendants under sixteen (16) years
of age.

No defendant may be judicially committed under this
part, unless two (2) licensed physicians, or one (1)
licensed physician and one (1) licensed psychologist
qualified as provided in § 33-6-427(a), file in the com-
mitment proceeding certificates of need for care and
treatment certifying that the defendant satisfies the
requirements of § 33-6-502(1)-(4) and showing the fac-
tual foundation for the conclusions on each item. No
defendant who is a child under sixteen (16) years of age
may be judicially committed under this part unless one
(1) of the certificates is by a physician or psychologist
with experience with children.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2004, ch. 565, § 8.

33-6-504. Persons who may file complaint for
commitment under this part.

The parent, legal guardian, legal custodian, conser-
vator, spouse, or a responsible relative of the person
alleged to be in need of care and treatment, a licensed
physician, a licensed psychologist who meets the re-
quirements of § 33-6-427(a), a health or public welfare
officer, an officer authorized to make arrests in the
state, or the chief officer of a facility that the person is
in, may file a complaint to require involuntary care and
treatment of a person with mental illness or serious
emotional disturbance under this part.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2004, ch. 565, § 8.

33-6-505. Commitment to state facility.

If the court commits a person under this section, the
person comes into the commissioner’s custody only if
the state-owned or operated facility or treatment re-
source has available suitable accommodations; pro-
vided, that, if there are no suitable available accommo-
dations at the time of the determination, then the
commissioner shall expeditiously find a state-owned or
operated hospital or treatment resource to accommo-
date the person upon the availability of suitable avail-
able accommodations. Prior to transporting a person
for such commitment, the sheriff or other transporta-
tion agent shall determine that the receiving state-
owned or operated facility or treatment resource has
available suitable accommodations.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2009, ch. 531, § 42.

Compiler’s Notes.
For the Preamble to the act concerning the operation and funding of
state government and to fund the state budget for the fiscal years



33-6-506

beginning on July 1, 2008, and July 1, 2009, please refer to Acts 2009,
ch. 531.

33-6-506. Commitment to other public or private
facility.

If a licensed public hospital or treatment resource
other than a state facility has available suitable accom-
modations, the court may commit the defendant to the
public hospital or treatment resource.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-507. Commitment to contract facility — Con-
formance with contract.

If a licensed private or local public hospital or treat-
ment resource has contracted with the department to
serve defendants in the region and has available suit-
able accommodations, the court shall commit the de-
fendant to the facility, and the facility shall admit and
detain the defendant in conformity with its obligations
under its contract with the department.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-508. Commitment to non-state facility where
third-party payment has been
arranged.

IF
(1)(A) a parent, legal guardian, legal custodian,
conservator, spouse, or an adult relative of the
defendant, or any other person has made arrange-
ments to pay the cost of care and treatment in a
licensed private hospital or treatment resources,
OR
(B) the facility chooses to accept the defendant
when no third person has made arrangements to
pay the cost, AND
(2) placement in the facility is more appropriate to
the needs of the defendant than placement in a state
facility,
THEN
(3) the court may commit the defendant to the
facility.
History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-509. Suitable accommodations required.

The chief officer of a facility to which a person is
committed under this part shall not admit the person
until the facility has available suitable accommoda-
tions. If a person is committed to a state facility under
this part, the person does not come into the custody of
the commissioner until the facility has available suit-
able accommodations.
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History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-510. Person eligible for care as armed forces
veteran.

If a person ordered to be hospitalized under this part
is eligible for hospital care or treatment by the veter-
ans’ administration of the United States within this
state, the court, upon receipt of a certificate from the
veterans’ administration showing that facilities are
available and that the person is eligible for care or
treatment there, may order the person to be placed in
the custody of the agency for hospitalization within this
state. With respect to those persons the appropriate
provisions of § 34-5-118, being a part of the Uniform
Veterans’ Guardianship Law, shall apply.

History.

Acts 1965, ch. 38, § 43; T.C.A., §§ 33-606, 33-6-105; Acts 2000, ch.

947, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.
The Uniform Veterans’ Guardianship Law, referred to in this section,
is compiled in title 34, ch. 5.

PART 6
MANDATORY OUTPATIENT TREATMENT

33-6-601. Disclosure of patient information relat-
ing to outpatient treatment.

IF
(1) a person with mental illness or serious emo-
tional disturbance was committed involuntarily un-
der chapter 6, part 5 of this title, AND
(2) the hospital staff determines preliminarily
that:
(A) the person will need to participate in outpa-
tient treatment on discharge, and
(B) there is a likelihood that the discharge will
be subject to the outpatient treatment obligation of
this part, AND
(8) the person refuses to give consent to disclose
information that is legally confidential under this
title to the proposed outpatient qualified mental
health professional,
THEN
(4) the hospital and qualified mental health pro-
fessional may exchange information as necessary to
carry out this part.
History.
Acts 1982, ch. 862, § 4;1983, ch. 323,§§ 19,20, 22; T.C.A.,§ 33-615;

Acts 1984, ch. 922, §§ 24, 25;1985, ch. 437, § 21; T.C.A.,§ 33-6-201(a);
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former chapter 6, §§ 33-6-101 — 33-6-111; 33-6-201 — 33-6-209;
33-6-301 — 33-6-306 (Acts 1957, ch. 288, §§ 1-5; impl. am. Acts 1957,
ch. 127, §§ 1, 3, 4; 1963, ch. 315, §§ 1, 2; 1965, ch. 38, §§ 37-40, 43, 45,
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46; 1967, ch. 44, § 1; 1967, ch. 58, § 1;1973, ch. 127, § 11; 1974, ch.
464, § 3; 1974, ch. 802, §§ 43, 45, 46, 52, 53; 1975, ch. 199, §§ 1-3;
1975, ch. 248, §§ 1, 14, 16-18; 1976, ch. 610, § 1; 1976, ch. 763, § 5;
1976, ch. 764, §§ 2, 3; 1977, ch. 165, § 1; 1977, ch. 386, § 2; 1977, ch.
449, §§ 1, 2; 1978, ch. 527, §§ 5, 6; 1980, ch. 621, § 1; 1981, ch. 224,
§§ 25-27; 1981, ch. 445, § 1; 1981, ch. 449, § 2(21); 1981, ch. 536, § 1;
1982, ch. 862, § 1, 3-11; 1983, ch. 323, §§ 8, 9, 11, 13, 14, 17-22, 24;
T.C.A., § 33-314, 33-325, 33-603, 33-601, 33-604, 33-606 — 33-609,
33-614 — 33-619; 33-379 — 33-381, 33-1301 — 33-1305, 33-3-620 —
33-3-622, 33-6-203 — 33-6-205; Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 8, 11-16, 23-25,
27, 28-32, 39, 40; 1985, ch. 437, §§ 14-25; 1985, ch. 478, § 37; Acts
1986, ch. 595, §§ 1, 2; 1986, ch. 836, §§ 4, 6; 1987, ch. 145, § 26; 1988,
ch. 862, §§ 1-5; 1988, ch 953, § 8; 1989, ch. 99, § 1; 1989, ch. 311,
§§ 1-4; 1989, ch. 513, §§ 3, 15-17; 1990, ch. 630, §§ 1, 2; 1992, ch. 893,
§§ 1, 2; 1992, ch. 991, §§ 15, 16; 1993, ch. 356, §§ 1-3; 1993, ch. 376,
§§ 1-4; 1994, ch. 676, § 1; 1994, ch. 779, § 1; 1996, ch. 1079, §§ 57-66;
2000, ch. 947, § 6), is deleted and replaced in the revision of title 33 by
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1, effective March 1, 2001.

33-6-602. Release from hospitalization subject to
outpatient treatment.

IF

(1) on the basis of a review of the person’s history
before and during hospitalization, the hospital staff
concludes that:

(A) the person has a mental illness or serious
emotional disturbance or has a mental illness or
serious emotional disturbance in remission,

(B) the person’s condition resulting from mental
illness or serious emotional disturbance is likely to
deteriorate rapidly to the point that the person will
pose a likelihood of serious harm under § 33-6-501
unless treatment is continued,

(C) the person is likely to participate in outpa-
tient treatment with a legal obligation to do so,

(D) the person is not likely to participate in
outpatient treatment unless legally obligated to do
so, and

(E) mandatory outpatient treatment is a suit-
able less drastic alternative to commitment,

THEN

(2) the person shall be eligible for discharge sub-
ject to the obligation to participate in any medically
appropriate outpatient treatment, including, but not
limited to, psychotherapy, medication, or day treat-
ment, under a plan approved by the releasing facility
and the outpatient qualified mental health profes-
sional.

History.

Acts 1982, ch. 862, § 4; 1983, ch. 323, §§ 19, 20, 22; T.C.A., § 33-615;
Acts 1984, ch. 922, §§ 24, 25; 1985, ch. 437, § 21; T.C.A.,§ 33-6-201(b);
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-603. Outpatient treatment plan.

(a) In developing the plan, the releasing facility and
the outpatient qualified mental health professional
shall consult with the service recipient; the service
recipient’s parents, legal custodian, or legal guardian if
the service recipient is a child; and the service recipi-
ent’s conservator, if any. Subject to obtaining any
necessary consent before making a disclosure of patient
information relating to outpatient treatment, the re-
leasing facility and the outpatient qualified mental
health professional may also consult with the service
recipient’s spouse or other adult family member with

33-6-605

whom the service recipient would live concerning the
outpatient treatment plan. Before approving the out-
patient treatment plan, the releasing facility and the
outpatient qualified mental health professional shall
obtain the service recipient’s consent to the plan to the
extent practical and shall obtain the consent of the
service recipient’s parents, legal custodian, or legal
guardian if the service recipient is a child.

(b) The releasing facility shall provide a clear writ-
ten statement of what the service recipient shall do to
stay in compliance with the plan to the service recipi-
ent; the service recipient’s parents, legal custodian, or
legal guardian if the service recipient is a child; the
service recipient’s spouse or other adult family member
with whom the service recipient would live; and the
service recipient’s conservator. If the service recipient
is a child, the statement shall specify the duties of the
service recipient’s parents, legal custodian, or legal
guardian.

History.

Acts 1982, ch. 862, § 4;1983, ch. 323, §§ 19, 20,22; T.C.A., § 33-615;
Acts 1984, ch. 922, §§ 24, 25; 1985, ch. 437, § 21; T.C.A,, § 33-6-201;
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2010, ch. 659, § 1.

33-6-604. Review of plan.

IF

(1) the person requests judicial review of the treat-
ment plan within forty-eight (48) hours after being
advised of the person’s eligibility for release under it,

THEN

(2) the hospital shall notify the court where the
hospital is located that has the same jurisdiction as
the committing court that the person is eligible for
discharge, subject to the obligation to participate in
outpatient treatment under the plan agreed to by the
releasing facility and the outpatient qualified mental
health professional, AND

(3) the court shall hold a hearing within seven (7)
days of receipt of the request to determine whether
the treatment plan is medically appropriate and
legally permissible, AND

(4) the court shall either approve the plan or
approve the plan as modified by the releasing facility
and the outpatient qualified mental health profes-
sional to correct deficiencies found by the court.

History.

Acts 1982, ch. 862, § 4; 1983, ch. 323, §§ 19, 20, 22; T.C.A.,§ 33-615;
Acts 1984, ch. 922, §§ 24, 25; 1985, ch. 437,§ 21; T.C.A., § 33-6-201(c);
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-605. Discharge of patient — Notice to court
of discharge subject to outpatient
treatment.

(a) IF
(1)(A) the person does not request judicial review
of the discharge plan, OR

(B) the court approves an outpatient treatment
plan after a hearing under § 33-6-604,
THEN

(b) IF

(1)(A) the person is subject to judicial review un-
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der § 33-6-708,
THEN
(B) the person shall be discharged in conformity
with § 33-6-708, AND
(o) IF
(1)(A) the person is not subject to judicial review
under § 33-6-708,
THEN
(B) the hospital shall discharge the person, AND
(2) the hospital shall notify the committing court
that the person has been discharged subject to the
obligation to participate in the outpatient treatment.
History.
Acts 1982, ch. 862, § 4;1983, ch. 323, §§ 19, 20,22; T.C.A.,§ 33-615;

Acts 1984, ch. 922, §§ 24, 25; 1985, ch. 437, § 21; T.C.A., § 33-6-201(d);
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-606. Amendment of outpatient treatment
plan.

After discharge the qualified mental health profes-
sional may change the treatment plan to meet the
person’s treatment needs. If the qualified mental
health professional changes the treatment plan, the
person’s obligation to participate in the treatment
continues.

History.

Acts 1982, ch. 862, § 4; 1983, ch. 323, §§ 19, 20, 22; T.C.A., § 33-615;
Acts 1984, ch. 922, §§ 24, 25; 1985, ch. 437,§ 21; T.C.A,, § 33-6-201(e);
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-607. Payment for outpatient services.

If the person is indigent and is not eligible for
payment for service under any other governmentally or
privately funded system, the department shall provide
for the outpatient services. The person is responsible
for payment for the services, if:

(1) The person is not indigent; or
(2) The person is eligible for payment for services
under any other governmentally or privately funded
system.
History.
Acts 1982, ch. 862, § 4;1983, ch. 323, §§ 19, 20,22; T.C.A.,§ 33-615;

Acts 1984, ch. 922, §§ 24, 25; 1985, ch. 437, § 21; T.C.A., § 33-6-201(D);
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-608. Admission to treatment facility — Out-

patient care suspended — Outpa-
tient care reinstituted following
release.

IF

(1) a person who has been discharged subject to
the obligation to participate in outpatient treatment
is admitted to a hospital or treatment resource before
the obligation terminates,

THEN

(2) the obligation to participate in outpatient
treatment is suspended, AND

(3) the obligation resumes on discharge unless it
has been terminated under § 33-6-620, § 33-6-622,
or § 33-6-623 or the discharge is under § 33-6-706.
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History.

Acts 1982, ch. 862, § 4;1983, ch. 323, §§ 19, 20, 22; T.C.A.,§ 33-615;
Acts 1984, ch. 922, §§ 24, 25; 1985, ch. 437, § 21; T.C.A., § 33-6-201(g);
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-609. Failure to comply with outpatient
treatment plan — Action to enforce.

IF
(1) the parent, legal guardian, conservator,
spouse, responsible relative, or qualified mental
health professional of a service recipient who has
been discharged subject to the obligation to partici-
pate in outpatient treatment, the person who initi-
ated the commitment proceeding of the service recipi-
ent, or the chief officer of the discharging facility files
an affidavit with the court that committed the service
recipient or any court with jurisdiction under chapter
6, part 5, of this title in the county where the person
is being treated or is staying showing that:
(A) the person is required to be participating in
outpatient treatment under § 33-6-602,
(B) the person is, without good cause, out of
compliance with the treatment plan, and
(C) the qualified mental health professional be-
lieves the noncompliance is not likely to be cor-
rected voluntarily,
THEN
(2) the court shall have jurisdiction to conduct
original proceedings to enforce the outpatient treat-
ment obligation, AND
(3) the court may order the person to appear
before the court at a stated time not later than five
(5) business days after the order is issued to deter-
mine whether the person is required by this part to
be participating in the outpatient treatment and has
failed, without good cause, to participate in the
treatment as required, AND
(4) the order and a copy of the affidavit shall be
served immediately on the person, the qualified men-
tal health professional, and, if the discharge was
under § 33-6-708, the district attorney general for
the jurisdiction in which the committing court is
located.

History.

Acts 1982, ch. 862, § 5; 1983, ch. 323, § 21; T.C.A., § 33-616; Acts
1984, ch. 922, §§ 28-30; 1988, ch. 862, § 3; T.C.A., § 33-6-202; Acts
2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2002, ch. 730, § 44.

33-6-610. Hearing to determine compliance —
Findings — Order to comply — Re-
commitment upon failure or inabil-
ity to comply.

(a) If the person appears in person before the court,
the court shall hold a hearing to determine whether the
person is required to be participating in outpatient
treatment and is, without good cause, not complying
with the treatment plan.

(b) The court shall release the person, if the court
determines that:

(1) The person is complying with the treatment
plan; or



95 MENTAL HEALTH SERVICE

(2) The person is out of compliance for good cause
and will be restored to compliance without further
action.

(c) If the court determines that the person is out of
compliance with the treatment plan without good cause
and that the person can be put immediately in compli-
ance with the treatment plan and can be expected to
stay in compliance without further hospitalization, the
court shall make written findings of fact and conclu-
sions of law on the issues, order the person to comply
immediately with the treatment plan, and dismiss the
proceedings upon a showing that the person is in
compliance.

(d)(1) The court shall make written findings of fact

and conclusions of law on the issues and order the

person recommitted to the hospital from which the
person was released, if the court determines that the
person is out of compliance with the treatment plan
without good cause and that:
(A) The person cannot be put in compliance with
the treatment plan immediately; or
(B) The person cannot be expected to stay in
compliance without further hospitalization.

(2) The sheriff shall immediately transport the
person as ordered, and the hospital shall admit the
person and give notice of the recommitment to the
person’s attorney, legal guardian, legal custodian,
conservator, and spouse or nearest adult relative, to
the qualified mental health professional, to the com-
mitting court, and, if the discharge was under § 33-
6-708, to the district attorney general in the commit-
ting jurisdiction.

History.

Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 29; 1988, ch. 862, § 4; 1996, ch. 1079, § 64;

T.C.A,, § 33-6-203; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-611. Failure to appear at hearing — Custody
order — Transportation to hospital
— Admission — Notice to attorney
or other representative.

IF
(1) the qualified mental health professional has
filed an affidavit showing that:
(A) the person with mental illness or serious
emotional disturbance is required to be participat-
ing in outpatient treatment,
(B) the person is, without good cause, not com-
plying with the treatment plan, AND
(C) the qualified mental health professional be-
lieves the noncompliance is not likely to be cor-
rected voluntarily, AND
(2) the person does not respond to the order to
appear,
THEN

(3) the court shall order the person taken into
custody, AND

(4) the sheriff shall immediately transport the
person to the hospital from which the person was
discharged, AND

(5) the hospital shall admit the person and give
notice of the temporary recommitment and that a
hearing under § 33-6-610 will be held to the person’s

33-6-614

attorney, legal guardian, legal custodian, conserva-
tor, and spouse or nearest adult relative, to the
qualified mental health professional, to the court
that ordered the temporary recommitment of the
person, and to the court where the hospital is located
that has the same jurisdiction as the recommitting
court.

History.
Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 28; 1985, ch. 437, §§ 22-25; 1996, ch. 1079,
§§ 65, 66; T.C.A., § 33-6-204(a); Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-612. Failure to appear where no affidavit by
qualified mental health
professional.

IF

(1) the qualified mental health professional has
not filed an affidavit with the court regarding the
person with mental illness or serious emotional dis-
turbance, AND

(2) the person does not respond to the order to
appear,

THEN

(3) the court shall order the person taken into
custody, AND

(4) the officer who serves the order on the person
shall take the person to the qualified mental health
professional or the professional’s appointed substi-
tute.

History.
Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 28; 1985, ch. 437, §§ 22-25; 1996, ch. 1079,
§§ 65, 66; T.C.A., § 33-6-204(b); Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-613. Substitution of qualified mental health
professional.

A person’s qualified mental health professional shall
appoint a qualified mental health professional as a
substitute in the absence of the appointing profes-
sional.

History.
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-614. Findings by qualified mental health
professional — Release.

(a) The qualified mental health professional shall
release the person and notify the court of the basis for
the release, if the qualified mental health professional
determines that:

(1) The person with mental illness or serious emo-
tional disturbance is in compliance with the treat-
ment plan; or

(2) The person is out of compliance for good cause,
is put in compliance immediately, and can be ex-
pected to stay in compliance without further hospi-
talization.

(b) The qualified mental health professional shall
release the person and notify the court of the basis for
the release, if the qualified mental health professional
determines that:

(1) The person is out of compliance with the treat-
ment plan without good cause;
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(2) The person can be put in compliance with the
treatment plan immediately;
(3) The person complies immediately with the
treatment plan; and
(4) The person can be expected to stay in compli-
ance without further hospitalization.
History.

Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 28; 1985, ch. 437, §§ 22-25; 1996, ch. 1079,
§§ 65, 66; T.C.A., § 33-6-204(d); Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-615. Findings by qualified mental health

professional — Recommitment —
Notice to representative, next of kin
and court.

IF
(1) the qualified mental health professional deter-
mines that:

(A) the person with mental illness or serious
emotional disturbance is out of compliance with
the treatment plan without good cause, and

(B)1) the person cannot be put immediately in

compliance with the treatment plan, or

(i) the person cannot be expected to stay in
compliance without further hospitalization, or
(iii) the person does not comply immediately
with the treatment plan,
THEN
(2) the qualified mental health professional shall
contact the sheriff, AND
(3) the sheriff shall immediately transport the
person to the hospital from which the person was
discharged, AND
(4) the hospital shall admit the person and give
notice of the temporary recommitment and that a
hearing under § 33-6-610 will be held to the person,
the person’s attorney, legal guardian, legal custodian,
conservator, and spouse or nearest adult relative, to
the qualified mental health professional, to the court
that ordered the temporary recommitment of the
person, and to the court where the hospital is located
that has the same jurisdiction as the recommitting
court.
History.
Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 28; 1985, ch. 437, §§ 22-25; 1996, ch. 1079,
§§ 65, 66; T.C.A., § 33-6-204(e); Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-616. Recommitment hearing.

The court where the hospital is located is vested with
jurisdiction to hold the hearing on a person returned
under § 33-6-611. The court shall schedule a hearing to
be held under § 33-6-610 within five (5) business days
of receipt of the notice.

History.
Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 28; 1985, ch. 437, §§ 22-25; 1996, ch. 1079,

§§ 65,66; T.C.A., § 33-6-204(f); Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1; 2002, ch. 730,
§ 45.

33-6-617. Person eligible for discharge.

If the person, upon being readmitted under this part,
is eligible for discharge under § 33-6-602, the person
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shall be discharged under § 33-6-602 notwithstanding
§ 33-3-501. The hospital shall give notice of the dis-
charge to the courts that had been notified of the
admission, and the judicial proceedings for recommit-
ment shall be dismissed.

History.
Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 28; 1985, ch. 437, §§ 22-25; 1996, ch. 1079,
§§ 65, 66; T.C.A., § 33-6-204(g); Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-618. Rights of defendant in proceedings un-
der this part.

In judicial proceedings under this part the person
with mental illness or serious emotional disturbance
has the following rights:

(1) The burden of proof to establish, as appropri-
ate to the proceedings, that the outpatient treatment
plan is proper, that the person is subject to return to
the hospital, or that the plan is subject to extension,
shall be by clear, unequivocal, and convincing evi-
dence and shall be borne by the party seeking to
impose the obligations;

(2) The person shall be present at the hearing
unless the person waives such presence in writing. If
the person’s attorney shows that the person’s physi-
cal health would be endangered by being at the
hearing, the court may order a continuance until the
risk is terminated. If the court determines that the
person’s conduct at the hearing is so violent or
otherwise disruptive that it creates a serious risk of
harm to the person or others at the hearing or so
disrupts the proceedings that they cannot be con-
ducted in a proper manner, the court may order the
person restrained or excluded to the extent necessary
to the proper conduct of the proceedings. If the
person is not present at or is excluded from the
hearing, the court shall make a written fact finding
as to why the hearing is held in the person’s absence;
and

(3) The person’s attorney shall notify the court of
the representation immediately after accepting it. If
the person does not employ an attorney, the court
shall appoint an attorney to represent the person as
soon as possible after the case is docketed. An attor-
ney representing the person shall not serve as guard-
ian ad litem. If the court determines that the person
is not able to understand the nature of the proceed-
ings and cannot communicate with counsel in the
conduct of the case, the court may appoint another
person to serve as the person’s guardian ad litem.

History.
Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 31; T.C.A., § 33-6-205; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-619. Dismissal of proceedings pending
against person recommitted under
this part.

If a person is ordered to be rehospitalized for non-
compliance with the treatment plan after a hearing
under § 33-6-609, § 33-6-610 or § 33-6-611, upon re-
admission the person shall be held under the authority
of the original court order of commitment entered in
the proceedings under chapter 6, part 5 of this title, and
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any other pending proceedings under chapter 6, part 4
or 5 of this title shall be dismissed.

History.
Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 32; T.C.A., § 33-6-206; Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-620. Termination of legally mandated outpa-
tient care — Notice to court.

IF
(1) at any time the qualified mental health profes-
sional determines that:

(A) the person with mental illness or serious
emotional disturbance is likely to participate in
outpatient treatment without being legally obli-
gated to do so, or

(B) the person no longer needs treatment for the
mental illness or serious emotional disturbance,

THEN
(2) the qualified mental health professional shall
terminate the treatment obligation, AND
(3) the qualified mental health professional shall
notify the committing court and the hospital that
discharged the person.
History.
Acts 1982, ch. 862, § 6; T.C.A., §§ 33-617, 33-6-203; Acts 1984, ch.
922, § 26; T.C.A., § 33-6-207(a); Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-621. Reinstatement of mandatory outpa-
tient care.

IF

(1) during the sixth month after discharge or after
the last renewal the qualified mental health profes-
sional determines that:

(A) the person has a mental illness or serious
emotional disturbance or has a mental illness or
serious emotional disturbance in remission, AND

(B) the person’s condition resulting from mental
illness or serious emotional disturbance is likely to
deteriorate rapidly to the point that the person will
pose a likelihood of serious harm under § 33-6-501
unless treatment is continued, AND

(C) the person is not likely to participate in
outpatient treatment unless legally obligated to do
so, AND

(D) mandatory outpatient treatment is a suit-
able less drastic alternative to commitment,

THEN

(2) the obligation to participate in outpatient
treatment is renewed for six (6) months, AND

(3) the qualified mental health professional shall
notify the person, the person’s attorney, the hospital
that discharged the person, and the committing court
of the decision and of the basis for it and of the
person’s right to request a hearing in the committing
court.

History.

Acts 1982, ch. 862, § 6; T.C.A., §§ 33-617, 33-6-203; Acts 1984, ch.
922, § 26; TC.A., § 33-6-207(b); Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.
33-6-622. Hearing on reinstatement order.

(a) If the person files a written request for a hearing
with the committing court, within thirty (30) days after

33-6-624

receipt of notice the committing court shall hold a
hearing to review the decision of the qualified mental
health professional. IF AND ONLY IF the court deter-
mines that:

(1) The person has a mental illness or serious
emotional disturbance or has a mental illness or
serious emotional disturbance in remission,

(2) The person’s condition resulting from mental
illness or serious emotional disturbance is likely to
deteriorate rapidly to the point that the person will
pose a likelihood of serious harm under § 33-6-501
unless treatment is continued,

(8) The person is not likely to participate in out-
patient treatment unless legally obligated to do so,
AND

(4) Mandatory outpatient treatment is a suitable
less drastic alternative to commitment,

THEN
(5) the obligation to participate in outpatient
treatment is renewed for six (6) months.
(b)(1) IF, after a hearing, the court does not deter-
mine the obligation to participate in outpatient treat-
ment to be renewed,

(2) THEN the person is discharged from the out-

patient treatment obligation.

History.

Acts 1982, ch. 862, § 4; 1983, ch. 323, §§ 19, 20, 22; T.C.A., § 33-615;
Acts 1984, ch. 922, §§ 24, 25; 1985, ch. 437,§ 21; T.C.A., § 33-6-201(c);
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-623. Outpatient treatment obligation lim-
ited to six (6) months.

IF

(1) a person with mental illness or serious emo-
tional disturbance is discharged subject to an outpa-
tient treatment obligation under § 33-6-602, AND

(2) the qualified mental health professional has
not terminated the outpatient treatment obligation
under § 33-6-620,

THEN

(3) the person’s obligation to participate in outpa-
tient treatment terminates six (6) months after the
discharge or the last renewal of the obligation.

History.

Acts 1982, ch. 862, § 4; 1983, ch. 323, §§ 19, 20,22; T.C.A.,,§ 33-615;
Acts 1984, ch. 922, §§ 24, 25; 1985, ch. 437, § 21; T.C.A., § 33-6-201(d);
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-624. Pilot program for patients to receive
assisted outpatient treatment.

(a)(1) There shall be created a pilot project in Knox

County, Tennessee, which shall expire on June 30,

2015, for a maximum of ten (10) patients at any given

time to receive assisted outpatient treatment.

(2) In addition to any authorized action under

§ 33-6-502, a court of competent jurisdiction may

order a proposed patient to receive assisted outpa-

tient treatment upon finding that the conditions of

§ 33-6-502(1)-(3) have been met.

(b) Before ordering an outpatient treatment plan
pursuant to this part, the court shall comply with
subsections (c)-(f).
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(c)(1) A proposed outpatient treatment plan, devel-
oped pursuant to this section by a physician or a
professional designated under § 33-6-427(a) or (b)
who has examined the proposed patient no more than
ten (10) days prior to the entering of an order
pursuant to this part, shall be presented to the court
in writing. The plan shall include all services the
examining physician or a professional designated
under § 33-6-427(a) or (b) recommends that the
proposed patient receive, and for each such recom-
mended service, identify an appropriate community-
based provider that has agreed to provide it.

(2) If the proposed outpatient treatment plan in-
cludes alcohol or substance abuse counseling and
treatment, it may include a provision requiring rel-
evant testing for either alcohol or illegal substances;
provided, that the clinical basis of the physician or a
professional designated under § 33-6-427(a) or (b)
for recommending such plan provides sufficient facts
for the court to find:

(A) That such person has a history of alcohol or
substance abuse that is clinically related to the
mental illness; and

(B) That such testing is necessary to prevent a
relapse or deterioration which would be likely to
result in serious harm to the person or others.

(3) The examining physician or a professional des-
ignated under § 33-6-427(a) or (b) shall:

(A) Provide an opportunity to actively partici-
pate in the development of the treatment plan to
the proposed patient, the treating physician or a
professional designated under § 33-6-427(a) or (b),
if any, and, upon the request of the proposed
patient, any other individual significant to the
proposed patient; and

(B) Make reasonable efforts to gather informa-
tion that may be relevant in the development of the
treatment plan from the proposed patient’s family
or significant others.

(d) At all stages of a proceeding commenced under
this section, the proposed patient shall have the right
to be represented by counsel. If neither the patient nor
others provide counsel, the court shall appoint counsel
for the proposed patient. Upon request of the proposed
patient, the court shall order an independent examina-
tion by a physician or a professional designated under
§ 33-6-427(a) or (b) only when retained by the proposed
patient.

(e)(1) Upon receipt of a petition for which assisted

outpatient treatment may be an option, the court

shall fix the date for a hearing. Such date shall be no
later than ten (10) days from the date such petition is
received by the court excluding Saturdays, Sundays,
and holidays. Adjournments shall be permitted only
for good cause shown. In granting adjournments, the
court shall consider the need for further examination
of the proposed patient and the potential need to
provide assisted outpatient treatment expeditiously.

The court shall cause the proposed patient, any other

person to whom notice is due under this chapter, the

petitioner, the physician or a professional designated
under § 33-6-427(a) or (b) whose affirmation or affi-

davit accompanied the petition, and such other per-
sons as the court may determine to be advised of such
date. Upon such date, or upon such other date to
which the proceeding may be adjourned, the court
shall hear testimony and, if it is deemed advisable
and the proposed patient is available, examine the
proposed patient in or out of court. If the proposed
patient does not appear at the hearing, and appro-
priate attempts to elicit the attendance of the pro-
posed patient have failed, the court may conduct the
hearing in the proposed patient’s absence. In such
case, the court shall set forth the factual basis for
such determination.

(2) If the affidavit or affirmation of the physician
or a professional designated under § 33-6-427(a) or
(b) accompanying the petition indicates that the
proposed patient has not submitted to an examina-
tion in the ten (10) days prior to the filing of the
petition, the court may request the proposed patient
to submit to an examination by a physician or a
professional designated under § 33-6-427(a) or (b)
appointed by the court. If the proposed patient does
not consent and the court finds reasonable cause to
believe that the allegations in the petition are true,
the court may order law enforcement officers to take
the proposed patient into custody in accordance with
§ 33-6-618 and transport the patient to a hospital for
examination by a physician or a professional desig-
nated under § 33-6-427(a) or (b). Transportation will
be conducted in accordance with parts 4 and 9 of this
chapter. The subject may be detained for the period
required to complete the examination, but not more
than forty-eight (48) hours. The physician or a pro-
fessional designated under § 33-6-427(a) or (b)
whose affirmation or affidavit accompanied the peti-
tion may perform such examination of the proposed
patient if the physician or a professional designated
under § 33-6-427(a) or (b) is privileged or otherwise
authorized by such hospital to do so. If such exami-
nation is performed by another physician or a profes-
sional designated under § 33-6-427(a) or (b), the
examining physician or a professional designated
under § 33-6-427(a) or (b) may consult with the
physician or a professional designated under § 33-6-
427(a) or (b) whose affirmation or affidavit accompa-
nied the petition as to whether the subject meets the
criteria for assisted outpatient treatment. Upon
completion of the examination, the subject shall be
released and the examining physician or a profes-
sional designated under § 33-6-427(a) or (b) shall
report the findings of the examination to the court.
The court shall not hold a hearing on the petition
unless and until the examining physician or a pro-
fessional designated under § 33-6-427(a) or (b) sub-
mits to the court:

(A) An affidavit or affirmation stating that the
physician or a professional designated under § 33-
6-427(a) or (b) concurs that the proposed patient
meets the criteria for assisted outpatient treat-
ment; and

(B) A proposed assisted outpatient treatment
plan for the proposed patient, developed by the
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examining physician or a professional designated

under § 33-6-427(a) or (b), and conforming to the

requirements of subsection (c).

(3) The court shall not order assisted outpatient
treatment unless an examining physician or a pro-
fessional designated under § 33-6-427(a) or (b) who
has personally examined the proposed patient no
more than ten (10) days before the filing of the
petition and recommends assisted outpatient treat-
ment, testifies at the hearing. Such physician or a
professional designated under § 33-6-427(a) or (b)
shall testify to:

(A) The facts and clinical determinations that
support the allegations that the proposed patient
meets each of the criteria for assisted outpatient
treatment; and

(B) The proposed assisted outpatient treatment
plan, the rationale for each component of such
plan, and whether each such component is the
least restrictive available alternative to serve the
clinical needs of the proposed patient; and

(C) A history of medication compliance.

(4) The proposed patient shall be afforded an op-
portunity to present evidence, to call witnesses on
the patient’s behalf, and to cross-examine adverse
witnesses.

(5) Unless the proposed patient requests a public

hearing, the hearing shall be confidential and a
report of the proceedings shall not be released to the
public or press.
(f)(1) If after hearing all relevant evidence, the court
does not find by clear and convincing evidence that
the proposed patient meets the criteria for assisted
outpatient treatment, the court shall not order out-
patient treatment under this section and shall order
inpatient care and treatment under § 33-6-502 or
make other dispositions as authorized by law.

(2) If after hearing all relevant evidence, the court
finds by clear and convincing evidence that the
proposed patient meets the criteria for assisted out-
patient treatment, the court may order the proposed
patient to receive assisted outpatient treatment for
an initial period not to exceed six (6) months. In
fashioning the order, the court shall specifically make
findings by clear and convincing evidence that the
ordered treatment is the least restrictive treatment
appropriate and feasible for the proposed patient,
and that community resources and a willing treat-
ment provider are available to support such treat-
ment. The order shall state an assisted outpatient
treatment plan, which shall include all categories of
assisted outpatient treatment that the proposed pa-
tient is to receive, but shall not include any such
category that has not been recommended in both the
proposed written treatment plan and the testimony
provided to the court.

(3) If after hearing all relevant evidence, the court
finds by clear and convincing evidence that the
proposed patient meets the criteria for assisted out-
patient treatment and that the treatment recom-
mended by the examining physician or a professional
designated under § 33-6-427(a) or (b) is in whole or

33-6-624

in part appropriate, but the court does not find by
clear and convincing evidence that community re-
sources and a willing treatment provider are avail-
able to provide such treatment, the court shall state
such findings of fact on the record and deny assisted
outpatient treatment without prejudice and may
order such other treatment or commitment as autho-
rized by law.

(4) The petitioner shall cause a copy of any court
order issued pursuant to this section to be served
personally, or by mail, facsimile or electronic means,
upon the assisted outpatient and all service provid-
ers identified in the treatment plan.

(g) In addition to any other right or remedy available
by law with respect to the order for assisted outpatient
treatment, either party to the order may apply to the
court, on notice to the other party and all others
entitled to notice, to stay, vacate, or modify the order.

(h) The treatment provider may modify the treat-
ment plan according to the treatment needs of the
assisted outpatient and provide notice to the court and
petitioner.

(1) Within thirty (30) days prior to the expiration of
an order for assisted outpatient treatment, the original
applicant, if the petitioner retains the status of an
authorized petitioner pursuant to this chapter, or, in
the absence of a timely petition by the original peti-
tioner, any other person authorized to petition pursu-
ant to this chapter, may apply to the court to order
continued assisted outpatient treatment and the court
may order continued assisted outpatient treatment for
a period not to exceed six (6) months from the expira-
tion date of the current order if the court finds by clear
and convincing evidence that the assisted outpatient
treatment continues to meet the criteria in this part. If
the court’s disposition of such petition does not occur
prior to the expiration date of the current order, the
current order shall remain in effect for up to an
additional thirty (30) days without further action of the
court. If the court’s disposition of such petition does not
occur within thirty (30) days after the expiration date
of the current order, the order for assisted outpatient
treatment shall terminate. The procedures for obtain-
ing any order pursuant to this subsection (i) shall be in
accordance with this section.

(j) Section 33-6-607 shall apply to the costs incurred
for services ordered under this section.

(k) An assisted outpatient’s substantial failure to
comply with the order of the court shall constitute
reason for a physician or a professional designated
under § 33-6-427(a) or (b) to determine whether the
assisted outpatient is subject to emergency detention
under § 33-6-401, and shall give rise to the authority
under § 33-6-402 for such physician or a professional
designated under § 33-6-427(a) or (b) to take custody of
the assisted outpatient. Failure to comply with an
order of assisted outpatient treatment shall not be
grounds for a finding of contempt of court or for
nonemergency involuntary detention under this title.
Nothing in this section precludes the use of detention
by law enforcement officers under § 33-6-402.

(/) The commissioner of mental health and sub-
stance abuse services is authorized to promulgate rules
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to implement this section in accordance with the Uni-
form Administration Procedures Act, compiled in title
4, chapter 5.

History.
Acts 2012, ch. 575, § 2; 2012, ch. 1060, § 1; 2014, ch. 1000, § 1.

PART 7
DISCHARGE FROM INPATIENT TREATMENT

33-6-701. Review of admitted persons to deter-
mine eligibility for discharge.

The chief officer of a public or private hospital shall,
as often as practicable, but not less often than every six
(6) months, examine or cause to be examined each
person admitted under this title for treatment of men-
tal illness or serious emotional disturbance. If the chief
officer determines on the basis of the examination that
the person is eligible for discharge under § 33-6-602,
§ 33-6-705 or § 33-6-706, and that the discharge is not
subject to judicial review under § 33-6-708, the chief
officer shall order the immediate release of the person
and shall notify the person upon whose application the
person was admitted and, if the person was involun-
tarily hospitalized, the court that ordered the hospital-
ization.

History.

Acts 1965, ch. 38, § 46; 1974, ch. 464, § 3; 1975, ch. 248, §§ 1, 18;
1982, ch. 862, §§ 9, 10; T.C.A., § 33-609; Acts 1996, ch. 1079, § 63;
T.C.A., § 33-6-108(d); Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former chapter 6, §§ 33-6-101 — 33-6-111; 33-6-201 — 33-6-209;
33-6-301 — 33-6-306 (Acts 1957, ch. 288, §§ 1-5; impl. am. Acts 1957,
ch. 127, §§ 1, 3, 4; 1963, ch. 315, §§ 1, 2; 1965, ch. 38, §§ 37-40, 43, 45,
46; 1967, ch. 44, § 1; 1967, ch. 58, § 1;1973, ch. 127, § 11; 1974, ch.
464, § 3; 1974, ch. 802, §§ 43, 45, 46, 52, 53; 1975, ch. 199, §§ 1-3;
1975, ch. 248, §§ 1, 14, 16-18; 1976, ch. 610, § 1; 1976, ch. 763, § 5;
1976, ch. 764, §§ 2, 3; 1977, ch. 165, § 1; 1977, ch. 386, § 2; 1977, ch.
449, §§ 1, 2; 1978, ch. 527, §§ 5, 6; 1980, ch. 621, § 1; 1981, ch. 224,
§§ 25-27; 1981, ch. 445, § 1; 1981, ch. 449, § 2(21); 1981, ch. 536, § 1;
1982, ch. 862, § 1, 3-11; 1983, ch. 323, §§ 8, 9, 11, 13, 14, 17-22, 24;
T.C.A., § 33-314, 33-325, 33-603, 33-601, 33-604, 33-606 — 33-609,
33-614 — 33-619; 33-379 — 33-381, 33-1301 — 33-1305, 33-3-620 —
33-3-622, 33-6-203 — 33-6-205; Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 8, 11-16, 23-25,
27, 28-32, 39, 40; 1985, ch. 437, §§ 14-25; 1985, ch. 478, § 37; Acts
1986, ch. 595, §§ 1, 2; 1986, ch. 836, §§ 4, 6; 1987, ch. 145, § 26; 1988,
ch. 862, §§ 1-5; 1988, ch 953, § 8; 1989, ch. 99, § 1; 1989, ch. 311,
§§ 1-4; 1989, ch. 513, §§ 3, 15-17; 1990, ch. 630, §§ 1, 2; 1992, ch. 893,
§§ 1, 2; 1992, ch. 991, §§ 15, 16; 1993, ch. 356, §§ 1-3; 1993, ch. 376,
§§ 1-4; 1994, ch. 676, § 1; 1994, ch. 779, § 1; 1996, ch. 1079, §§ 57-66;
2000, ch. 947, § 6), is deleted and replaced in the revision of title 33 by
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1, effective March 1, 2001.

33-6-702. Request for current examination of
mental condition — Payment.

Any person hospitalized under a court order obtained
under chapter 6, part 5 of this title, or the person’s
attorney, parent, legal guardian, legal custodian, con-
servator, spouse or adult next of kin, shall be entitled,
upon the expiration of ninety (90) days following the
order and not more frequently than every six (6)
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months thereafter, to request, in writing, the chief
officer of the hospital in which the person is hospital-
ized to have a current examination of the person’s
mental condition made by one (1) or more physicians. If
the request is timely, it shall be granted. The person
shall be entitled at the person’s own expense to have a
licensed physician not connected with the hospital to
participate in the examination. If the person is indi-
gent, is in a department facility, and makes a written
request for examination, with the approval of the
commissioner, the department shall assist the person
in obtaining a licensed physician to participate in the
examination in the person’s behalf. A physician so
obtained by the indigent person shall be compensated
for services out of unobligated funds of the department
in an amount the department determines to be fair and
reasonable.

History.

Acts 1965, ch. 38, § 46; 1974, ch. 464, § 3; 1975, ch. 248, §§ 1, 18;
1982, ch. 862, §§ 9, 10; T.C.A., § 33-609; Acts 1996, ch. 1079, § 63;
T.C.A,, § 33-6-108(b)(1); Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-703. Discharge of person eligible for release
— Petition for review where one (1)
or more physicians finds admission
no longer needed.

If, after considering the reports of the physicians and
other relevant information, the chief officer determines
that the person is eligible for discharge under § 33-6-
602, § 33-6-705 or § 33-6-706 and that the discharge is
not subject to judicial review under § 33-6-708, the
chief officer shall order the immediate release of the
person and notify the committing court. If one (1) or
more of the physicians participating in the examination
reports that the person no longer meets the standards
under which the person was admitted, the person may
petition the court that ordered the hospitalization for
an order directing the person’s release. The person
shall be apprised of the results of the examination
reports and shall be furnished true copies of them,
which shall accompany the person’s petition.

History.

Acts 1965, ch. 38, § 46; 1974, ch. 464, § 3; 1975, ch. 248, §§ 1, 18;
1982, ch. 862, §§ 9, 10; T.C.A., § 33-609; Acts 1996, ch. 1079, § 63;
T.C.A., § 33-6-108(b)(2); Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-704. Procedure for reviewing petition.

(a) In considering the petition, the court shall con-
sider the testimony of the physicians who participated
in the examination of the person and their reports
accompanying the petition. After considering the testi-
mony and reports, the court shall either:

(1) Reject the petition and order the continued
hospitalization of the person; or
(2) Order the immediate release of the person.

(b) Any physician participating in the examination
shall be a competent and compellable witness at any
judicial proceeding held under this title.
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History.

Acts 1965, ch. 38, § 46; 1974, ch. 464, § 3; 1975, ch. 248, §§ 1, 18;
1982, ch. 862, §§ 9, 10; T.C.A., § 33-609; Acts 1996, ch. 1079, § 63;
T.C.A., § 33-6-108(c); Acts 2000, ch. 947, §§ 1, 6.

33-6-705. Discharge of person no longer meeting
standards for admission.

IF

(1) a person was admitted to a hospital for treat-
ment of mental illness or serious emotional distur-
bance under any provision of this title other than
chapter 6, part 5 of this title, AND

(2) the person no longer meets the standards un-
der which the admission took place, AND

(3) the person’s detention is not otherwise autho-
rized under the part under which the person was
admitted,

THEN
(4) the person shall be discharged.

History.
Acts 1982, ch. 862, § 3; 1983, ch. 323, §§ 18, 19; T.C.A,, § 33-614;
Acts 1985, ch. 437, § 18; T.C.A,, § 33-6-109(a); Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-706. Discharge of involuntarily committed
person — Person no longer mentally
ill or in remission — Person unlikely
to cause harm — Voluntary outpa-
tient treatment possible.

IF
(1) a person was committed involuntarily under
chapter 6, part 5 of this title, AND
(2)(A) the person does not have a mental illness or
serious emotional disturbance, OR
(B)3) the person has a mental illness or serious
emotional disturbance or has a mental illness or
serious emotional disturbance in remission,
AND
(i1) the person does not pose a likelihood of
serious harm under § 33-6-501, OR
(C)d) the person would pose a likelihood of seri-
ous harm under § 33-6-501 unless treatment is
continued, AND
(i) voluntary outpatient treatment is a suit-
able less drastic alternative to commitment be-
cause the person is likely to participate in out-

patient treatment without being legally
obligated to do so,
THEN
(3) IF

(A) the person is not subject to judicial review
under § 33-6-708,
THEN

(B) the person shall be discharged, AND
(4) IF

(A) the person is subject to judicial review under
§ 33-6-708,
THEN

(B) the person shall be discharged in conformity
with § 33-6-708.
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History.
Acts 1982, ch. 862, § 3; 1983, ch. 323, §§ 18, 19; T.C.A., § 33-614;
Acts 1985, ch. 437, § 18; T.C.A., § 33-6-109(b); Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-707. Persons eligible for discharge subject
to mandatory outpatient treatment.

IF

(1) a person was committed involuntarily under
chapter 6, part 5 of this title, AND

(2) the person has a mental illness or serious
emotional disturbance or has a mental illness or
serious emotional disturbance in remission, AND

(3) the person would pose a likelihood of serious
harm under § 33-6-501 unless treatment continues,
AND

(4) voluntary outpatient treatment is not a suit-
able less drastic alternative to commitment because
the person is not likely to participate in outpatient
treatment without being legally obligated to do so,

THEN

(5) the person is eligible for discharge only under

§ 33-6-602.

History.
Acts 1982, ch. 862, § 3; 1983, ch. 323, §§ 18, 19; T.C.A., § 33-614;
Acts 1985, ch. 437, § 18; T.C.A., § 33-6-109(c); Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1.

33-6-708. Discharge procedure for involuntarily
committed persons.

(a) If a person is committed involuntarily by a crimi-
nal or juvenile court under chapter 6, part 5 of this title
and the court determines at the time of commitment
that, due to the nature of the person’s criminal conduct
that created a serious risk of physical harm to other
persons, the person should not be discharged from the
commitment without proceedings under this section to
review eligibility for discharge under §§ 33-6-602, 33-
6-705 and 33-6-706, the hospital shall proceed under
this section to effect discharge from the commitment.

(b) Any person who was committed involuntarily on
the basis of mental illness between April 23, 1980, and
July 1, 1982, and who was subject to the discharge
procedures of former § 33-313 during that period is
subject to discharge only under the procedures of
subdivisions (¢)(1)-(5).

(c)(1) When the chief officer determines that the

person is eligible for discharge under § 33-6-602,

§ 33-6-705 or § 33-6-706, the chief officer shall notify

the committing court of that conclusion, of the basis

for it, and, if discharge is under § 33-6-602, of the
outpatient treatment plan approved by the releasing
facility and the qualified mental health professional
for the person. The determination by the chief officer
shall create a rebuttable presumption of its correct-
ness. The clerk shall send a copy of that complete
notice and plan to the person’s counsel and to the
district attorney general for the jurisdiction in which
the committing court is located. The court may, on its
own motion or that of the district attorney general,
order a hearing to be held within twenty-one (21)
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days of the receipt of the chief officer’s notice. The
court shall send notice of the hearing to the person,
the chief officer, the person’s counsel, the person’s
next of kin, and the district attorney general.

(2) If the court does not set a hearing and notify
the chief officer within fifteen (15) days of its receipt
of the chief officer’s notice, the chief officer shall
release the person from involuntary commitment
under § 33-6-602, § 33-6-705 or § 33-6-706, as
appropriate.

(3) Ifthe court sets a hearing, the hearing shall be
held within twenty-one (21) days of the court’s re-
ceipt of notice from the chief officer. The person shall
attend the hearing, unless the person’s presence is
waived in writing by counsel before the hearing. If
the person does not have counsel, the court shall
appoint counsel to represent the person throughout
the proceedings and any appeal. The person’s counsel
shall advocate for the least drastic alternative to
commitment, unless directed otherwise by the per-
son. Compensation of appointed counsel for the per-
son shall be pursuant to Tennessee Rules of the
Supreme Court, Rule 15.

(4) Following the hearing, if the court finds by
clear, unequivocal, and convincing evidence that the
person is not eligible for discharge under § 33-6-602,
§ 33-6-705 or § 33-6-706, it shall order the person’s
return to the hospital under the original commit-
ment. If the court finds otherwise, it shall order the
person’s release from involuntary commitment in
accordance with the recommendations of the chief
officer.

(5) The district attorney general on behalf of the
state or the person may file a notice of appeal of a
final adjudication under this section to the court of
criminal appeals.

History.

Acts 1982, ch. 862, § 1; T.C.A., § 33-314; Acts 1985, ch. 437, §§ 19,
20; 1986, ch. 836, § 6; 1988, ch. 862, §§ 1,2,5; T.C.A., § 33-6-110; Acts
2000, ch. 947, § 1.

Compiler’s Notes.
Former T.C.A. § 33-313 is now compiled as part of § 33-5-410.

PART 8
SEX OFFENDERS

33-6-801. Part definitions.

As used in this part, unless the context otherwise
requires:

(1) “Sex crime” means any offense involving the
unlawful sexual abuse, molestation, fondling, or car-
nal knowledge of a child of fourteen (14) years of age
or under or incest, a crime against nature, assault
with intent to commit rape or rape; and

(2) “Sex offender” means any person who has been
convicted of a crime involving the unlawful sexual
abuse, molestation, fondling, or carnal knowledge of
a child of fourteen (14) years of age or under or any
person convicted of incest, a crime against nature,
assault with intent to commit rape or rape.
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History.

Acts 1957, ch. 288, § 1; 1963, ch. 315, §§ 1, 2; 1975, ch. 248, § 1;
1977, ch. 449, §§ 1, 2; 1981, ch. 224, § 25; T.C.A., §§ 33-1301, 33-6-301;
Acts 2000, ch. 947, §§ 1, 6.

Compiler’s Notes.

Former chapter 6, §§ 33-6-101 — 33-6-111; 33-6-201 — 33-6-209;
33-6-301 — 33-6-306 (Acts 1957, ch. 288, §§ 1-5; impl. am. Acts 1957,
ch. 127, §§ 1, 3, 4; 1963, ch. 315, §§ 1, 2; 1965, ch. 38, §§ 37-40, 43, 45,
46; 1967, ch. 44, § 1; 1967, ch. 58, § 1;1973, ch. 127, § 11; 1974, ch.
464, § 3; 1974, ch. 802, §§ 43, 45, 46, 52, 53; 1975, ch. 199, §§ 1-3;
1975, ch. 248, §§ 1, 14, 16-18; 1976, ch. 610, § 1; 1976, ch. 763, § 5;
1976, ch. 764, §§ 2, 3; 1977, ch. 165, § 1; 1977, ch. 386, § 2; 1977, ch.
449, §§ 1, 2; 1978, ch. 527, §§ 5, 6; 1980, ch. 621, § 1; 1981, ch. 224,
§§ 25-27; 1981, ch. 445, § 1; 1981, ch. 449, § 2(21); 1981, ch. 536, § 1;
1982, ch. 862, § 1, 3-11; 1983, ch. 323, §§ 8, 9, 11, 13, 14, 17-22, 24;
T.C.A., § 33-314, 33-325, 33-603, 33-601, 33-604, 33-606 — 33-609,
33-614 — 33-619; 33-379 — 33-381, 33-1301 — 33-1305, 33-3-620 —
33-3-622, 33-6-203 — 33-6-205; Acts 1984, ch. 922, § 8, 11-16, 23-25,
27, 28-32, 39, 40; 1985, ch. 437, §§ 14-25; 1985, ch. 478, § 37; Acts
1986, ch. 595, §§ 1, 2; 1986, ch. 836, §§ 4, 6; 1987, ch. 145, § 26; 1988,
ch. 862, §§ 1-5; 1988, ch 953, § 8; 1989, ch. 99, § 1; 1989, ch. 311,
§§ 1-4; 1989, ch. 513, §§ 3, 15-17; 1990, ch. 630, §§ 1, 2; 1992, ch. 893,
§§ 1, 2; 1992, ch. 991, §§ 15, 16; 1993, ch. 356, §§ 1-3; 1993, ch. 376,
§§ 1-4; 1994, ch. 676, § 1;1994, ch. 779, § 1; 1996, ch. 1079, §§ 57-66;
2000, ch. 947, § 6), is deleted and replaced in the revision of title 33 by
Acts 2000, ch. 947, § 1, effective March 1, 2001.

33-6-802. Examination upon conviction for sex
crime.

Any person convicted of a sex crime shall be exam-
ined thoroughly by a psychiatrist, licensed psycholo-
gist, licensed psychological examiner, licensed senior
psychological examiner, clinical nurse specialist in psy-
chiatry, licensed professional counselor, or licensed
clinical social worker from the department of correction
as soon as practicable after admittance to the penal
facility. A community mental health center may provide
the examination when the service is specifically con-
tracted for and funded by the department of mental
health and substance abuse services or the department
of correction.

History.

Acts 1957, ch. 288, § 3; 1974, ch. 802, § 52; 1975,