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Commerical Pesticide Applicator Certification Information Sheet 
 

The Tennessee law requires certification for anyone applying, buying or selling a restricted-use 
pesticide or must work directly under the supervision of a certified applicator.  It also requires 
commercial certification for all solicitors and technicians working for pest control companies.  
The application of pesticides for a fee requires licensing and a pest control charter. 
 
Commerical Certification: 
 
Certification testing varies by location and time.  One must prepay 2 weeks prior to taking the 
certification exam. Then the applicant will receive confirmation of date, time, and location of the 
exam.  Make your payment with a check or money order payable to the Tennessee Department of 
Agriculture, at the following address, Porter Building, P.O. Box 40627 Melrose Station, 
Nashville, TN  37204.  We will also accept payments by Mastercard, Visa, Discover and Am 
Express.   The cost for each exam is $25.00.   
 
Check for available locations and times in the Nashville office by calling (615) 837-5148,  
(615) 837-5232 or our website http://www.tn.gov/agriculture under ‘Licenses and Permits’ – 
just click on Pesticide Forms. 
 
To become commercially certified an individual must successfully complete a Certification exam 
in the area of work.  Study materials are available from the University of Tennessee Agricultural 
Extension Service for a fee.  It is strongly recommended that you study this material thoroughly 
prior to taking the exam.  All the study materials come from UT- Knoxville and can be ordered 
by calling 865-974-1286 or by going to their website, 
https://secure.touchnet.com/C21610_ustores/web/store_cat.jsp?STOREID=5&CATID=3 . 
 
TDA will reciprocate certification with bordering states, when possible.  Obtain a reciprocity 
form from one of our offices or the internet and complete according to the instructions.  
Applicants will not receive reciprocal certification unless a current home address and social 
security number are provided. This form can be downloaded at  http://www.tn.gov/agriculture 
under ‘Licenses and Permits’ – just click on Pesticide Forms. 
 
It is your responsibility to maintain your Tennessee certification by accumulating recertification 
points.  Recertification points are assigned per category.  The points are pre-assigned by the 
following agencies:   
 

Industry training:  Certification & Licensing Section, Tennessee Department  
of Agriculture, Porter Building, PO Box 40627, Nashville, TN  37204, phone  
number (615) 837-5310, e-mail: mary.borthick@tn.gov 
 
Educational Institutions: Pesticide Safety Education Program (PSEP) , University of 
Tennessee, 2431 Joe Johnson Dr, 205 PSB,  Knoxville, TN 37996-4560, phone number 
(865) 974-7958 email: dhensley@utk.edu 

 
The primary purpose of  the point system is to further enhance the skills of applicators and 
routinely update your knowledge as new information and technologies become available. 
 
Individuals may check their point status on the TDA website.  You may login with your social 
security number, ID number,or last name. The address is https://agriculture.tn.gov/default.asp 

http://www.tn.gov/agriculture
https://secure.touchnet.com/C21610_ustores/web/store_cat.jsp?STOREID=5&CATID=3
http://www.tn.gov/agriculture
https://agriculture.tn.gov/default.asp
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Additional Requirements for Commercial Recertification: 
 
1. Individuals may accrue all of their points by attending external meetings in their category of 

certification.  You may earn no more than 75% of your point total by attending any one 
external meeting.  All points cannot be accrued in one year. 

 
2. In-house points will be limited to 50% of your total point requirement during the 

recertification period.  All training must be submitted to the office no later than 30 days 
prior to the date of the training session.  Those approving certification training reserve the 
right not to grant points for training submitted late.   An announcement of the training date, 
time, place and points assigned per category will be placed on the Tennessee Department of 
Agriculture’s and the University of Tennessee Agricultural Extension Service, Dept.of 
Entomology & Plant Pathology web sites located at http://tn.gov/agriculture and 
http://psep.utk.edu  Rosters must be submitted into TDA 30 days after training.     

 
The following qualifies as in-house training:  Internet training (including, but not limited 
to) computer-based training and training that is covered by employees of the company 
applying for the points. 

 
3. The sponsor must agree to permit representatives from the Department of Agriculture and/or 

UT employees to attend training sessions without registration fees or costs. 
 
4. After attending a training session The Tennessee Department of Agriculture or the University 

of Tennessee Agricultural Extension Service, upon consultation between these two agencies, 
training and point assignment may be re-evaluated.  Point assignment may be withdrawn or 
revised as deemed necessary. 

 
5. Points are not carried over from one recertification period to the next. 
 
Assignment of Points: 
 
Recertification points will be allowed only for approved topics in your category related to pests, 
pest control, WPS, pesticides, pesticide safety, IPM, environmental issues (water quality, 
endangered species, etc.) pesticide laws and regulations.  Safety, environmental issues, and laws, 
IPM and regulations apply to all categories for assignment of points.  Points will not be 
assigned to individual videos. 
 
Programs submitted should include the following information.   A list of topics, speakers (with 
their titles) and length of each topic to be presented.  Sponsors shall provide biographical 
information on instructors or other program participants upon request.  An application form, 
E&PP info #82, should be used, when the meeting sponsor applies for points.  A list of dates 
and locations for the year must be included on the application for repeated meetings.   
 
**************************************************************************** 
If the required number of points are not accrued , a recertification exam will be required 
the third year.       
 
It is your responsibility to contact the Nashville office if you have a name or address 
change.   

http://tn.gov/agriculture
http://psep.utk.edu/
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POINTS or CEU’s REQUIRED TO MAINTAIN CERTIFICATION 
 

Points may not be accrued prior to obtaining certification. All certifications will expire on 
December 31, 2017 if the required number of points is not accrued.  All points cannot be 
accrued in one certification year (Ending Dec 31st). 

 
 
Example:  If you were certified on December 31, 2014 in category 7 and category 8, you will 
need 30 points in cat.7 and 18 points in cat. 8 by December 31, 2017.  All points cannot be 
accrued in one certification year unless you became certified within the 3rd year. 
 
Examples:  If you become certified on December 31, 2015 in category 6 you will need 18 
points by December 31, 2017.  If you become certified on January 14, 2016 in category 3 you 
will need 12 points by December 31, 2017. 
 
Examples:  If you become certified on April 18, 2017 in category 7 you will need 10 points by 
December 31, 2017.  If you become certified on July 25, 2017 you are certified through 
December 31, 2020 and would begin accruing points on January 1, 2018. 
 
NOTE: 
Individuals who obtain certification after December 31, 2016 and prior to July 1, 2017 must 
accrue all points required as indicated above by December 31, 2017. 
 
Individuals certified on or after July 1, 2017 will be certified through December 31,  
2020 and will begin accruing points on January 1, 2018. 
 
You cannot earn more than 75% of your total point requirement at any one school. 
No more than 50% of the total required number of points can be ‘In-House’ points. 
 
*LHA - Limited Herbicide Applicator  

Categories Certified prior to 
Dec. 31, 2014 & 
before Dec 31, 
2015 

Certified on or 
after  Jan. 1st, 
2016 & before 
Dec. 31, 2016 

Certified on or 
after  Jan. 1st, 
2017 & before 
July 1, 2017 

Certified on or 
after July 1, 
2017 

C 1 18 pts 12 pts 6pts 0 
C 2 12 pts 8 pts 4 pts 0 
C 3  or LHA* 18 pts 12pts 6pts 0 
C 4 12pts 8pts 4 pts 0 
C 5 12 pts 8pts 4pts 0 
C 6 18pts 12pts 6pts 0 
C 7 30pts 20pts 10pts 0 
C 8 18pts 12pts 6pts 0 
C10 18pts 12pts 6pts 0 
C11 9pts 6pts 3pts 0 
C12 18 pts 12 pts 6pts 0 
C13 9pts 6pts 3pts 0 
C14 9pts 6pts 3pts 0 
C16 9pts 6pts 3pts 0 


