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TO: All Insurance Companies doing business in Tennessee
FROM: Allan S. Curtis, Commissioner of Commerce and Insurance
RE: Regulation of Excess Stop-Loss Coverage

DATE: July 1, 1994

Tennessee Code Annotated Section 56-2-201(1) defines accident and health insurance as
"providing aggregate or excess stop-loss coverage in connection with self-funded employee
welfare benefit plans, health maintenance organizations, managed care organizations partici-
pating in the TennCare program, and long-term care facilities."” In addition, section 56-2-
121 defines excess/stop-loss coverage for self-funded non-profit rural health corporations
as insurance regulated by this code. If any of these entities require protection for the
risk of excessive health care expense, the only available coverage within Tennessee statutes

direct excess stop-loss insurance, not reinsurance. The entities listed above are not de-
Lined as "insurers" for the purpose of reinsurance and in accordance with Tennessee Code An-
notated Section 56-2-207 do not have risks and policy liabilities to reinsure and must pur-
chase direct excess insurance. Please note, excess/stop-loss coverage EE subject to the pre-
mium tax.

Tennessee Code Annotated Section 56-26-102 requires approval of all policies of acci-
dent and sickness prior to issuance or delivery in the state of Tennessee. It is contrary to
gstate law for the Commissioner to approve accident and health policies for issuance by unau-
thorized carriers, therefore, excess stop-loss coverage may only be purchased through an
insurance company holding a valid certificate of authority issued by this Department. This
type of insurance is not available through a Surplus Lines insurer as defined in the Surplus
Lines Insurance Act, Tennessee Code Annotated Section 56-14-101 et seq. due to health cover-
age being widely available through authorized carriers.

The Department will not approve an excess stop loss policy for an authorized carrier
that is offering less than catastrophic coverage. The exception to the prohibition for cata-
strophic coverage is based upon Attorney General's Opinion Number 103 dated June 9, 1986 and
the definition of "catastrophic loss" can be found in the Tennessee Code Annotated Section
56-40-101 (b). The definition of mcatastrophic loss" is set forth in Tennessee Code Anno-
tated Section 56-40-101 (b). The payment of claim threshold in the law is $25,000 per person
and $150,000 for the entire plan for one (1) contract year. Any policy issued to cover less
than this catastrophic threshold will be considered a group health policy and must meet all
standards set forth in the code for such coverage.

r As stated previously, Tennessee code Annotated Section 56-26-102 requires that all ag-
yregate or excess stop-loss policies be filed and approved prior to use in this state. Each
filing will be reviewed as an individual policy and will require an actuarial memorandum and
complete schedule of premium rates as required by Rule 0780-1-20. All excess stop-loss poli-
cies "filed" prior to January 1, 1994 must be submitted to the Department for review and ap-
proval.




