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Mission Statement 

The Mission of the Tennessee Auctioneers  
Commission is to protect the public and licensees  

by monitoring the auctioneer profession through licen-
sure and regulation 

Notification of  

Rulemaking hearing 

The Tennessee Auctioneer Commission has drafted amendments to the Rules and  
Regulations of Auctioneers and added some new rules.  A rulemaking hearing has been set 
for October 6, 2014 at 9:00 a.m., Conference Room 1-B, Davy Crockett Tower, 500 James 

Robertson Parkway, Nashville, TN 37243. 
The notice of hearing is officially posted at tn.gov/sos/rules_filings/06-21-14.pdf.  Questions 

should be directed to Julie.Cropp@tn.gov.  Any individual with disabilities who wishes to 
participate in these proceedings (to review these filings) and may require aid to facilitate 

such participation should contact Don Coleman at 615-741-6500 or Don.Coleman@tn.gov. 
         

 

Chapter 0160-01 
Regulations of Auctioneers 

 

Amendments 
 

Rule 0160-01-.01 Duties of Auctioneer is amended by numbering the existing paragraph 
as paragraph (1) and adding a new paragraph (2), which shall read as follows: 
 

   (1) The Auctioneer shall be responsible for the advertising and management of the sale 
and account for all proceeds therefrom and shall, over  his signature, issue a closing 
statement to the seller or sellers. 

 

   (2) No licensed auctioneer shall accept offers for hire to call bids at any auction  held by 
an auction house, auction barn, or auction gallery that is not either:   

 

 (a) owned and operated by a licensed auctioneer holding a valid firm license; or 
 (b) licensed as a gallery pursuant to the provisions of T.C.A. § 62-19-125. 
 

Authority: T.C.A. §§62-19-106 and 62-19-125. 
 

Rule 0160-01-.05 Publication of Name is amended by deleting the phrase “name of its  
sponsoring auctioneer, and the auctioneer” in paragraph (2) and replacing it with the 
phrase “name of its principal auctioneer, and the principal auctioneer” so that, as 
amended, the paragraph shall read: 
 

(2) All advertising of an auction sale by an auction firm not owned by a licensed auction-
eer shall include the name of its principal auctioneer, and the principal auctioneer 
shall attend all auction sales.  

 

Authority:  T.C.A. §§62-19-106 and 62-19-111. 
 

Rule 0160-01-.11 Civil Penalties is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety 
and substituting, instead, the following language so that, as amended, the rule shall read: 
 

     (1) With respect to any person required to be licensed by the Commission, the  
 Commission may assess a civil penalty against such person in accordance with the 

following schedule: 

   Violation    Penalty 
 

  T.C.A. §62-19-102(a)(1)   0 - $ 1000 
  T.C.A. §62-19-102(a)(2)   0 - $ 1000 
  T.C.A. §62-19-102(a)(3)   0 - $ 1000 
  T.C.A. §62-19-102(b)   0 - $ 1000 
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Amended Rules  (Continued) 
 

    Violation    Penalty 
 

 T.C.A. §62-19-112(b)(1)   0 - $ 1000 
 T.C.A. §62-19-112(b)(2)   0 - $ 1000 
 T.C.A. §62-19-112(b)(3)   0 - $ 1000 
 T.C.A. §62-19-112(b)(4)   0 - $ 1000 
 T.C.A. §62-19-112(b)(5)   0 - $ 1000 
 T.C.A. §62-19-112(b)(6)   0 - $ 1000
 T.C.A. §62-19-112(b)(7)   0 - $ 1000 
 T.C.A. §62-19-112(b)(8)   0 - $ 1000 
 T.C.A. §62-19-112(b)(9)   0 - $ 1000 
 T.C.A. §62-19-112(b)(10)   0 - $ 1000 
 T.C.A. §62-19-112(b)(11)   0 - $ 1000
 T.C.A. §62-19-112(b)(12)   0 - $ 1000
 T.C.A. §62-19-112(b)(13)   0 - $ 1000 
 T.C.A. §62-19-125(a)   0 - $ 1000 
 T.C.A. §62-19-125(b)   0 - $ 1000 
 T.C.A. §62-19-128(b)   0 - $ 1000 
 T.C.A. §62-19-128(c)   0 - $ 1000 
 T.C.A. §62-19-128(d)   0 - $ 1000 
 T.C.A. §62-19-125(e)   0 - $ 1000 
 T.C.A. §62-19-125(f)   0 - $ 1000 
 Any Commission Rule or Order  0 - $ 1000 
 

   (2) Each day of a continued violation under paragraph (1) may consti-
tute a separate violation. 

 

       (3) The Commission’s administrative director and investigator, acting 
on behalf of the Commission, may issue citations to unlicensed 
individuals or entities in accordance with T.C.A. §62-19-126 and 
the following schedule: 

 

     Violation    Penalty 
 

 T.C.A. § 62-19-102(a)(1)   $ 50 -$ 2500 
 T.C.A. § 62-19-102(a)(2)   $ 50 -$ 2500 
 T.C.A. § 62-19-102(b)   $ 50 -$ 2500 
 T.C.A. § 62-19-125(a)   $ 50 -$ 2500 
 

   (4) In determining the amount of any penalty to be assessed pursuant 
to this rule, the Commission may consider such factors as the 
following: 

 

 (a) Whether the amount imposed will be a substantial eco
       nomic deterrent to the violator; 
 (b) The circumstances leading to the violation; 
 (c) The severity of the violation and the risk of harm to 
       the public; 
 (d) The economic benefits gained by the violator as a  
        result of non-compliance; and 
 (e) The interest of the public. 
 

Authority:  T.C.A. §§56-1-308, 62-19-106, 62-19-116, and 62-19-126. 
 

Rule 0160-01-.14 Fees is amended by deleting paragraph (6) in its  
entirety. 
 

Authority:  T.C.A. §§ 62-19-106(b).  
 

Rule 0160-01-.16 Non-Auctioneer Firm License Application is amended 
by deleting the name and text of the rule in its entirety and substituting, 
instead, the following language so that, as amended, the name and rule 
shall read: 
 

0106-01-.16 NON-AUCTIONEER OWNED FIRMS. 
 

   (1) A non-auctioneer owned firm is an auction firm which is not owned 
in any part by a person who holds a Tennessee auctioneer’s  

 license. 
 

   (2) Every application by a business entity, including a limited liability 
company, corporation or partnership not principally engaged in 
the auction business, for an auction firm license or license re-
newal shall designate as the applicant a natural person who is an 
employee, owner, shareholder, partner, or member of the entity 
and meets the applicable requirements of T.C.A. § 62-19-111.  
The designated applicant shall be the individual responsible for 
the firm’s license.   

 

             (continued on page 3) 
 
 

February 2014 
 

Respondent:  Tyler Brothers Farm 
            Maryville, TN 
Violation:  Unlicensed Activity - Auctioning Vehicles      
without a Public Auto Auction License 
Action:  $ 1500 Civil Penalty 
 
Respondent:  Blevins Auction Co. 
            Elizabethtown, TN 
Violation:  Advertising did not include auction firm name  
Action:  $ 500 Civil Penalty 
 

March 2014 
 

Respondent:  Keller Williams/Pozy Auctions 
            Knoxville, TN 
Violation:  Advertising Violation 
Action:  $ 1000 Civil Penalty 

 
Respondent:  High Bid, LLC d/b/a Roebuck Auctions 
           Memphis, TN 
Violation:  Advertising Violation 
Action:  $ 500 Civil Penalty 

 
Respondent:  Dale’s Country Auction 
            Ashland City, TN 
Violation:  Failing to account for or remit, within a  
reasonable time, any money belonging to others that 
comes into the licensee’s possession 
Action:  $ 500 Civil Penalty 

 
Respondent:  Kenneth R. Campbell 
            Lawrenceburg, TN 
Violation:  Unlicensed Activity 
Action:  $ 1000 Civil Penalty 

 
Respondent:  Supreme Auctions 
            Scottsdale, AZ 
Violation:  Unlicensed Activity 
Action:  $ 1500 Civil Penalty 

at 

The Millennium Centre 
Johnson City, Tennessee 

 

September 22, 2014 
 

Watch your mail & the website for more information 

August 4, 2014 - Commission Meeting   
      9:00 am (central) 
      1st Floor Conference Room  1-B 
      Davy Crockett Building 
 

September 22, 2014 - CE Seminar   
      9:00 a.m. - 4:00 pm (eastern) 
     Millennium Centre -  Buffalo Mountain Auditorium 
      Johnson City, Tennessee 
 

October 6, 2014 - Rulemaking Hearing  
      9:00 am (central) 
      1st Floor Conference Room 1-B       
      Davy Crockett Building 

Disciplinary Action Report 

East Tennessee 

Continuing Education Seminar 

Commission Calendar 
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Amended Rules (Continued) 
 

(3) A non-auctioneer owned firm must also designate in its auction firm license application one (1) licensed auctioneer who    
      shall serve as the firm’s principal auctioneer.  The principal auctioneer shall attend and, along with the firm, shall accept  

     responsibility for all auctions conducted by the firm.                      
 

 (4) Any non-auctioneer owned firm must notify the Commission within ten (10) days of the death, resignation, termination or   
      other extended absence of the firm’s principal auctioneer.  The firm shall have no longer than thirty (30) days from the   
      death, resignation, termination or other extended absence within which to replace the principal auctioneer and must  
      immediately notify the Commission in writing of the auctioneer’s replacement. The firm shall not conduct any auctions until    
      the Commission has received its designation of a new principal auctioneer. 
 

Authority:  T.C.A. §§ 62-19-102, 62-19-106, and 62-19-111. 
 

Rule 0160-01-.24 Notification of Change of Information is amended by adding the following language as a new paragraph (2): 
 

 (2) Any firm must notify the Commission within ten (10) days of the death, resignation, termination or other extended  
      absence of the firm’s principal auctioneer.  The firm shall have no longer than thirty (30) days from the death, resignation,  
      termination or other extended absence within which to replace the principal auctioneer and must immediately notify the  
      Commission in writing of the auctioneer’s replacement. 
 

Authority:  T.C.A. §§ 62-19-106 and 62-19-111. 
 

New Rules 
 

0160-01-.26 Escrow Account Requirement 
 

All licensed auction firms and galleries shall maintain an escrow or trustee account for all funds that belong to others but which are held 
by the firm or gallery as a result of an auction sale. 
 

Authority:  T.C.A. §§ 62-19-106 and 62-19-112(b)(4). 
 

0160-01-.27 Livestock Auction Sales 
 

 (1) Pursuant to T.C.A. § 62-19-103(8), the provisions of title 62, chapter 19 do not apply to any livestock auction sale regulated 
      by the United States Department of Agriculture Packers & Stockyards Administration, if the sale uses: 
 

  (a) The shipper’s proceeds account required by federal regulations; and 
 

  (b) A Tennessee licensed auctioneer. 
 

 (2) Any operator of a livestock auction sale that is not registered with and regulated by the Packers & Stockyards Administration 
      shall not qualify for the firm or gallery license exemption under T.C.A. § 62-19-103(8) and must be appropriately licensed. 
 

 (3) If the operator of a livestock auction sale that is registered with and regulated by the Packers & Stockyards Administration   
      sells any items other than livestock at a regulated livestock auction and the proceeds are deposited into the shipper’s  
      proceeds account, then neither a Tennessee auction firm nor a Tennessee auction gallery is required.  Any such auction     
      must still be conducted by a Tennessee licensed auctioneer. 
 

 (4) Any person acting as an auction firm or gallery outside of a livestock auction regulated by the Packer’s & Stockyards  
      Administration shall hold a Tennessee auction firm or gallery license and is subject to all statutes and rules of the Tennessee  
      Auctioneer Commission notwithstanding such person’s registration with the Packers & Stockyards Administration. 
 

 (5) Nothing in this rule shall be construed as exempting any person acting as or advertising or representing to be an auctioneer 
      or apprentice auctioneer from the license requirements of  T.C.A. § 62-19-102. 
 

Authority:  T.C.A. §§ 62-19-102, 62-19-103, and 62-19-106. 
 

0160-01-.28 Online Auctions 
 

If the time for an online only auction with a fixed bidding time is extended beyond the online auction’s fixed ending time, then the auction                   
and the person conducting the auction are not included within the exemption specified at T.C.A. § 62-19-103, and the statutes and rules 
of the Tennessee Auctioneer Commission shall govern the online auction. 
  

Authority:  T.C.A. §§ 62-19-102, 62-19-103, and 62-19-106. 
 

0160-01-.29 Military Applicants 
  

 (1)  An Applicant for licensure meeting the requirements of T.C.A. § 4-3-1304(d)(1) may: 
 

  (a) Be issued a license upon application and payment of all fees required for the issuance of a regular license of the  
       same type if, in the opinion of the Commission, the requirements for licensure of such other state are substantially  
       equivalent to that required in Tennessee; or 
 

                             (b) Be issued a temporary permit as described herein if the Commission determines that the applicant’s license does 
not meet the requirements for substantial equivalency, but that the applicant could perform additional acts, including 
- but not limited to - education, training, or experience, in order to meet the requirements for the license to be sub-
stantially equivalent.  In that case, the Commission may issue a temporary permit upon application and payment of 
all fees required for issuance of a regular license of the same type which shall allow such person to perform ser-
vices as if fully licensed for a set period of time that is determined to be sufficient by the Commission for the appli-
cant to complete such requirements.   

 

 1.  After completing those additional requirements and providing the Commission with sufficient proof thereof as    
may be required, a full license shall be issued to the applicant with an issuance date of the date of the original issu-
ance of the temporary permit and an expiration date as if the full license had been issued at that time. 

  

 2.  A temporary permit shall be issued for a period of less than the length of a renewal cycle for a full license. 
 

 3.  A temporary permit shall expire upon the date set by the Commission and shall not be subject to renewal  
 

(continued on page 4) 
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New Rules (Continued from page 3) 
 

 through the timely completion of the requirement for substantial equivalency as required by the Commission or by 
an extension of time granted for good cause by the Commission. 

 

 4.  Should an extension to a temporary permit cause the permit to be in effect longer than the renewal cycle of a 
full license, then the holder of the temporary permit shall file a renewal application with such documentation and 
fees, including completion of continuing education, as are required by the Commission for all other renewals of a 
full license of the same type.     

 

 (2) Military education, training, or experience completed by a person described at T.C.A. § 4-3-1304(d)(1)(B)(ii)(a)-(c)  shall be       
      accepted toward the qualifications, in whole or in part, to receive any license issued by the Commission under the Division     
      of Regulatory Boards if such military education, training or experience is determined by the Commission to be substantially 
      equivalent to the education, training, or experience required for the issuance of such license. 
  

 (3) Renewal: 
  

  (a) Any licensee who is a member of the national guard or a reserve component of the armed forces of the United  
            States called to active duty whose license expires during the period of activation shall be eligible to be renewed         
           upon the licensee being released from activity duty without: 
 

       1.  Payment of late fees or other penalties; 
 

       2.  Obtaining continuing education credits when: 
 

   (i) Circumstances associated with the person’s military duty prevented the obtaining of continuing   
             education credits and a waiver request has been submitted to the Commission; or 
   (ii) The person performs the licensed occupation as part of such person’s military duties and provides  
        documentation sufficient to demonstrate such to the Commission. 
 

       3.  Performing any other similar act typically required for the renewal of a license. 
 

  (b) The license shall be eligible for renewal pursuant to this subsection for six (6) months from the person’s release  
              from active duty. 
 

  (c) Any person renewing under this paragraph shall provide the Commission such supporting documentation  
       evidencing activation as may be required by the Commission prior to renewal of any license pursuant to this  
            paragraph. 
 

Authority:  T.C.A. §§4-3-1304 and 62-19-106. 
 


