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Mission Statement

The Mission of the Tennessee Auctioneers Commission is to
protect the public and licensees by monitoring the auctioneer

profession through licensure and regulation
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AUCTIONEER COMMISSION REPORT

The Commission welcomes Howard Phillips to the board as the East Tennessee
member. Commissioner Phillips served on the Auctioneer Commission from 2000
until 2009. He owns Powell Auction & Realty in Knoxville, which he operates with
his wife, Barbara, and sons Kenny and Brian.

The Auctioneer Commission staff has identified an increase in the number of inquir-
ies about reinstatement of delinquent and lapsed licenses. The Commission
strongly encourages licensees to formally retire their license, as opposed to letting
it lapse. The process for retirement is as follows:

1. Submit a letter to the auctioneer commission requesting that your
license be retired;

2. Submit a fee of $ 150.00;
3.  Submit your current and valid license.

Once a license is placed into retirement, the licensee will not be required to obtain
continuing education. The licensee may elect to reactivate a retired license by ob-
taining six (6) hours of continuing education and a completed application with the
appropriate licensing fees.

Unfortunately, some auctioneers will allow their license to lapse to avoid paying
the retirement fee.

In 2010, a chart was drawn to reflect the legal requirements established for auc-
tioneer licenses in Tennessee. The chart addresses both on-time and late renewals.
This chart was approved by the auctioneer commission and it is the definitive
guide to license renewal issues.

Please take a moment to review this chart on Page 3 of this newsletter.

The Commission meeting schedule for 2013 has been approved. Upcoming meet-
ings are scheduled for:

February 4, 2013, March 4, 2013 and April 1, 2013. Meetings begin at 9:00 a.m.
(CST). Some meetings may be cancelled 30 days prior to the actual meeting. Be-
fore planning to attend a meeting, please be certain the meeting is being held as
originally scheduled.

LEGAL REMINDER: 62-19-112. Denial, revocation or suspension of
license by commission - Retirement of license.

(b) The commission may suspend, revoke or refuse to renew any license
issued under this chapter where such license has been obtained by false or
fraudulent representations, or for any of the following causes:

.....(9) Failing prior to the sale at public auction to enter into a written
contract with the owner or consignee of any property to be sold, con-
taining the terms and conditions upon which such licensee receives the
property for sale; ...




ABSOLUTE VS. RESERVE

One of the most contentious topics of discussion in
the auction industry centers around absolute auctions
vs. reserve auctions. In the coming months, the TAC
will be wrangling through discussions on these types
of auctions to clarify the confusion that exist amongst
auctioneers.

Commission Rule 0160-1-.19 Types of Auctions De-
fined gives us the following definitions:

(1) Absolute auction/auction without reserve - An
auction at which property put up for sale is sold to the
highest bidder, where the seller may not withdraw
the property from the auction after the auctioneer
calls for bids unless no bid is made in a reasonable
time, where the seller may not bid himself or through
an agent, and where the seller will deliver market-
able title. [Emphasis added).

(2) At Auction/auction with reserve - An auction at
which the seller or his agents reserves the right to
establish a minimum bid, to accept or reject any and
all bids, and to withdraw the property at any time

prior to the completion of the sale by the auctioneer.
[Emphasis added].

Confusion and disagreement on absolute vs. reserve
generally arise over real estate auctions specific to
contingencies on the property. The Sales Article
(Section 2) of the Uniform Commercial Code lends
some clarity for personal property auctions but the
UCC does not apply to real estate transaction. Section
2-328(3) states:

Such a sale (by auction) is with reserve unless the
goods are in explicit terms put up without reserve. In
an auction with reserve the auctioneer may withdraw
the goods at any time until he announces the comple-
tion of the sale. In an auction without reserve, after
the auctioneer calls for bids on an article or lot, that
article or lot cannot be withdrawn unless no bid is
made in a reasonable time. In either case a bidder may
retract his bid until the auctioneer’s announcement of
completion of the sale, but a bidder’s retraction does
not revive any previous bid.

Note: The UCC does not use the word absolute, but
instead differentiates between auctions with reserve
and auctions without reserve. TAC Rule 0160-1-.19
connects the term absolute auction with auction
without reserve, and connects the term at auction
with the phrase auction with reserve.

As the Commission continues to discuss absolute vs.
reserve auctions in Tennessee, licensees are reminded

of Rule 0160-1.20 (3): Advertising for a sale at which some
items will be auctioned with reserve and some items will be
auctioned without reserve shall clearly and conspicuously
indicate this fact to the public. In written advertisements
for such a sale, the font size, style and case of the type
used in publicizing the part of the sale is to be held without
reserve shall not differ from the font size, style and case
used to publicize the part of the sale to be held with
reserve.

Licensees are encouraged to attend the commission meet-
ings. If you cannot attend, you can view the meetings
online at the “Public Meeting Calendars” tab .

To Winterize or not to Winterize?

With winter upon us and the coldest days of the season
still ahead of us, auctioneers with properties in the pipe-
line are considering whether their sellers need to winter-
ize the property. Following are some helpful tips for win-
terizing a property.

1. Turning off the water to the property.

2. After the water is turned off, turn off the water
heater and drain it. For a gas water heater, turn the tem-
perature control to the Off position and turn off the gas
valve. An electric water heater can be shut off at the
breaker. Open a faucet to allow the air to flow into the
water lines.

3. Drain the supply lines. Some water may re-
main in the pipes and may freeze. A professional winter-
ization will include blowing out the pipes to prevent this.

4. Drain other appliances such as washing ma-
chines, dishwashers and ice makers.

5. Turn off electrical appliances at the breaker
and post a reminder on the breaker box to turn the water
on before restarting the water heater.

6. Flush toilets until empty and fill with a non-
toxic RV type (pink) antifreeze.

7. Be sure to post signs that the property has
been Winterized in the kitchen, bathrooms and other ar-
eas of the property.

De-winterizing is a careful process as well. When warmer
weather returns or when the property sells, reverse these
actions. Of course, it is always recommended to use a
professional plumber to winterize your property.




Auctioneer License Renewal Options ++
T.C.A. 62-19-111(i) and (j) (1) & (2) and Rule 0160-01-.22

Renewal Fees*

Regular Renewal Requirements
(on-time)

+

6 hours Continuing Education

*Renewal Fees = $ 175 license + $ 50 Education/Recovery Fund

$ 225 Renewal Fees
+
6 hours Continuing Education
+
$ 50 Late Fee

Requirements

$ 225 Renewal Fees
+

6 hours Continuing Education
+
$ 150 Late Fee

More than 2 Months Requirements

but Less Than 6 Months

Late Renewal (1)
2 Months or Less

)

Re-educate - Retest - Reapply**
+
Requirements $ 225 Renewal Fees
+
6 hours Continuing Education
+
$ 200 Late Fee

- J

**Licensee may request a waiver from the Commission on Re-educate, Retest and Reapply for Late Renewals (2) & (3)

/ Retest \

Late Renewal (4) +
Reapply
+
$ 225 License Fees

+

Proof of 80 hour & Apprenticeship
+

30 additional hours education

N /

Per Rule 0160-1-.22(4): Upon written submission of good cause the Commission may waive penalty fees, re-examination &
additional education requirements in Late Renewals (2) and (3) above. Requirements in Late Renewal (4) cannot be waived.
++Similar standards will apply for Late Renewal of Apprentice, Gallery & Firm Licenses

Late Renewal (3)

More than 6 Months
But less than 2 Years

4 Re-educate - Retest - Reapply** )
Late Renewal (2) } i
-

Requirements

2 Years or More
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Continuing Education Seminar

Monday, February 18, 2013
9:00 a.m. (Central)

Natchez Trace State Park

24845 Natchez Trace Road
Wildersville, TN 38388
1-800-250-8616

About Lunch: The Park will be opening
the dining room for lunch FOR CONFIRMED
ATTENDEES only. Please call NAS at 800-543-
7061 before February 1, 2013 to reserve a buffet
lunch at the Park Restaurant.

PRSRT STD
AUTO
US POSTAGE PAID
PULASKI TN
PERMIT NO. 955

Selling Firearms at Auction
2 Hours
Featuring

The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms & Explosives

Agent Bill Gallivan will be accompanied by agents
from the East Tennessee office for this presentation.

Ad. . ...

Contracts
and

The Uniform Commercial Code
4 Hours

Featuring
John Shultz
John is a leading expert in how our use of technology
in the auction industry is changing and how we handle
contracts and UCC compliance.

**Please have your pocket card available
at registration**

Remember to give a confirmation for tunch by
Friday, February 1, 2013
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