Tennessee Newborn Screening Program Report for
STATE OF TENNESSEE
(Hospitals Only)

Tennessee State Law (TCA 68-5-401) requires that all infants born in the State of Tennessee receive screening for certain
conditions using a dried blood spot (DBS) screen, for critical congenital heart disease (CCHD) using pulse oximetry and for
congenital hearing loss via hearing screening. Contact us with any questions: 615-532-8462.

Screens Performed for Date of BIRTH Range: 12/1/2014 - 12/31/2014
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Total Births with Screens Performed (Goal: 100%)
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Total births include number of infants born in Tennessee hospitals. Screens could have been performed
in a facility other than the birth hospital.

Unsatisfactory Specimen Rate for Date of RECEIPT Range: 12/1/2014 - 12/31/2014

The unsatisfactory specimen rate of the DBS submitted for the State (hospitals only): 2.68% (Goal <1%)

Age at Collection and Transit Time Rates for Date of COLLECTION Range: 12/1/2014 - 12/31/2014

Transit Time from DBS Collection to the State Lab (%)

Age at Initial DBS Collection (%) (Initial and Repeats)
Target: Collected between 24-48 hrs of age* Target: Arrive in lab <2 days from collection*
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Age at collection and transit time data are for specimens collected by hospitals. For transit time: Same Day means specimen arrived the same
day as collection,1 Day means specimen arrived one day after collection, 2 Days means specimen arrived 2 days after collection etc.

*Numbers cannot be compared to previous reports due to revisions and exclusion changes.



