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The Board will employ investigators, as are deemed necessary to
effectually carry out the provisions of chapter law and rules.

The optometrist instructs the patient on the use of the contact
lenses, and the optician instructs the patient on insertion and
removal.

The Board shall require an applicant whose license has been
revoked, suspended, or retired for a period of three (3) or more
years to reapply, take and pass the ABO, NCLE, and state practical
examinations to be considered for reinstatement.

It is acceptable for a non-licensed person to perform the duties of
an optician as long as a licensed optician is in the dispensary.

Continuing education must be maintained during the retirement
period if reinstatement is desired.

The practice of dispensing opticians includes the preparation,
adaptation, and dispensing of lenses, spectacles, eye glasses and
optical devices, but does not include prescription interpretation or
ocular measurements.

Tennessee law allows opticians to refract as long as they have the
proper continuing education credits.

Licensed opticians may not examine, exercise, diagnose, treat, or
prescribe for any human injury, disease, or ailment.

An apprentice may practice and perform the duties of a dispensing
optician in the presence of a licensed dispensing optician who is not
registered as his/her designated sponsor.

Registration in the apprenticeship program is unnecessary to
dispense contacts and eyeglasses, unless the employee is seeking
a license as a dispensing optician.

A 2 year degree or a 2 year apprenticeship will satisfy the
education or experience requirements for licensure.
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The Board may rescind its approval of any apprenticeship training
program if it determines that the facilities and equipment available
to the apprentice are not adequate or when the apprentice is not
being properly trained or supervised.

All licensed dispensing opticians shall be required to wear an
identification badge containing his/her name, photograph, and
Tennessee license number.

The due date for license renewal is the expiration date indicated
on the licensee’s initial certificate of registration or renewal
certificate.

Any person who has a change of address must update their new
address and place of employment to the Board’s Administrative
office within 30 days of the change.

The price of frames and lenses as advertised must be in effect for
a period of not less than seven (7) days, and each advertisement
shall set forth an expiration date.

The renewal period for a licensed optician is three (3) years.

A licensed dispensing optician may supervise no more than two
(2) apprentices concurrently.

The Board does not have the power to revoke or suspend the
license of a licensee who is found guilty of an unlawful act.

Failure to meet the minimum continuing education requirements
shall be deemed a violation of this chapter for which disciplinary
action pursuant to T.C.A.863-14-111 may be sanctioned.

Rule 0480-01-.14 states an apprentice must be trained in laboratory
procedures in a optical laboratory.

All complaints should be directed to the Investigations Division of
The Health Related Boards.

The Tennessee Board of Opticians board meeting is not open to the
public.

If a license is lost, it can never be replaced.

Continuing education is always due on a calendar year basis.



