
No child is too 
      young to test�.

Developmental Milestones
These are things your baby should be doing if he or she has 
normal hearing. If you are concerned that your baby is not 
showing one or more of these behaviors, it is important to 
tell your baby’s doctor immediately.

No later than 3 months
•	 Startles to loud sounds
•	 Quiets to your voice
•	 Changes sucking pattern to sounds
•	 Makes pleasure sounds (coos, goos)
•	 Cries differently for different needs

No later than 6 months
•	 Turns eyes toward sounds
•	 Notices that toys make sounds
•	 Starts babbling using sounds like “m,” “b,” “p”
•	 Uses voice to indicate excitement or unhappiness

No later than 12 months
•	 Imitates some speech sounds
•	 Uses different sounds to babble (nana, upuh, bibibi)
•	 Has one or two words which may not be clear (bye-bye, mama)
•	 Responds to her/his own name
•	 Understands common words like “cup”, “shoe,” and “juice”
•	 Turns head toward softer sounds
•	 Responds to music with movement

To Learn More About Newborn Hearing Screening

Tennessee Newborn Hearing Screening Program
State of Tennessee
Department of Health
630 Hart Lane
Nashville, Tennessee 37243
615-262-6160 or 262-6304
http://health.state.tn.us/womenshealth

The University of Tennessee Center on Deafness
Newborn Hearing Program
865-765-3586 or 1-866-961-2397
http://centerondeafness.utk.edu/newborn/

My Baby’s Hearing
www.babyhearing.org

The National Center for Hearing Assessment  
and Management (NCHAM)
www.infanthearing.org
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Why does my baby need a hearing screen?
Permanent hearing loss occurs in approximately 2 to 3 
babies per 1,000 births. Hearing loss in babies is easy to 
overlook because you cannot see it, and babies cannot 
tell us they are unable to hear. About half of the babies 
born with hearing loss are healthy and have no family 
history of hearing loss. 

To make sure each baby with hearing loss is 
identified shortly after birth, Tennessee law requires 
hospitals to screen all babies before leaving the hospital. 

Finding out that your baby has a hearing loss 
soon after birth means that he or she will not miss 
opportunities to learn how to use language. Research 
shows that children whose hearing loss is identified 
early have better language, social, and academic skills.

How is a hearing screen performed?
There are two kinds of hearing screening methods: 
Automated Auditory Brainstem Response (AABR) and 
Otoacoustic Emissions (OAE). Both are very safe and 
take only a few minutes. Most babies sleep through 
their hearing screen. 

The AABR method uses little earphones and 
sticker sensors that measure your baby’s brainwaves. 
A computer looks at the brainwaves to determine if 
sounds are heard normally. The OAE method uses a soft 
ear tip to measure faint sounds that echo from the ear.  
A computer determines if these sounds are normal. 

Both AABR and OAE are widely accepted ways to rule 
out significant hearing loss. However, neither method 
detects mild hearing loss, and OAE screening will not 
identify a more rare kind of hearing loss called auditory 
neuropathy. Hospitals may choose which method they 
use for screening, and some hospitals use both.

What if my baby does not “pass”  
the hearing screen?
If your baby does not “pass” the hearing screen, you will 
need to have your baby tested again. The hospital staff 
should provide you with an appointment for this second 
test before you are discharged. It is very important to 
get this appointment no later than two weeks after your 
baby leaves the hospital.

Can my doctor perform the hearing screen?
There are only a few doctors who have the specialized 
equipment that is needed to perform a hearing screen, 
which is why Tennessee requires hospitals to perform 
the test on newborns. If your baby missed the hospital 
hearing screen, ask your baby’s doctor to schedule 
an appointment with a local audiologist. If your baby 
needs a second test, ask the hospital staff or your baby’s 
doctor to assist you in making an appointment with an 
audiologist. 

Will my baby ever need another hearing screen?
Some babies who pass their hearing screen at birth 
may develop a hearing loss later for a variety of reasons. 
If you ever have concerns that your child cannot hear 
normally or is developing speech at a slow rate, ask 
your baby’s doctor to help you schedule another 
hearing screen. 

“	When Claire was born, newborn 
hearing screening was not 
mandatory in the state of 
Tennessee. When we discovered 
that Claire could have easily 
received this simple test but did 
not, we were devastated. We 
could have known right away 
that Claire had a hearing loss and 
we could have started making 
decisions regarding her hearing 
immediately, rather than losing 
five very precious months—the 
age at which she was finally 
diagnosed.”

—Michelle Puryear, Nashville

This mother pushed to have “Claire’s Law” 
passed in Tennessee—a law that requires 
hearing screening for all babies before 
discharge from the hospital.
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