Applying for a Tennessee Pharmacy or

Manufacturer /Wholesale /Distributor License

For Resident and Non-Resident Applicants



Contents
[

01 Definitions and Rules
-1 Registration Fees

0 License Modifier Fees
1 Sending Applications
-1 Licensure Process

0 License Status

1 Useful Links

1 Contact Us




Definitions and Rules

O Rule 1140-01-.01

0 (26) "Pharmacy practice site” means any place within this state where
prescription drugs or prescription devices are dispensed and where
pharmaceutical care is provided, and any place outside of the state where
prescription drugs or prescription devices are dispensed and pharmaceutical
care is provided to persons residing in this state.

O Rule 1140-09-.01

0 (1) Manufacturers and Wholesaler /Distributors — Every manufacturer or
wholesaler/distributor, before engaging in the manufacture, sale or
distribution of prescription drugs and prescription devices in this state, must be
licensed by the Board in accordance with this chapter.



Definitions and Rules (cont'd)
B

0 Rule1140-01-.01 O

o (33) “Sterile product” means any dosage O
form, drug product, or biological product
devoid from all living microorganisms,
including but not limited to bacteria and
fungus.

o (34) “Sterile manufacturing” means the
production, propagation, processing,
pooling, or repackaging of sterile
products for wholesale or any other form
of distribution, not pursuant to a
prescription or medical order.

means d
drug, substance, or immediate precursor
in Schedules | through VI as defined or

listed in the Tennessee Drug Control Act,

compiled in T.C.A,, Title 39, Chapter 17,
part 4;




Registration Fees
N

. Manufacturer/Wholesale/Distributor
Pharmacy License .
License

-1 Application Fee o1 Application Fee
o $300.00 0 $525.00

0 State Regulatory Fee 0 State Regulatory Fee
0 $10.00 0 $10.00

New fee structure effective January 31, 2014

All fees are NON-REFUNDABLE



License Modifier Fees
I e

0 Controlled Substance Modifier - $40.00

1 Pursuant to Rule 1140-01-.11: No licensee may obtain, possess, administer, dispense,
distribute, or manufacture any controlled substance in this state, and no representative
of a manufacturer or wholesaler/distributor may distribute any controlled substance in

this state, without obtaining a controlled substance registration from the board.

0 Sterile Compounding Modifier - $250.00

1 Pursuant to Rule 1140-01-.12(1): No licensee may compound, manufacture, prepare,
propagate, or process any sterile product to be dispensed, sold, traded, or other wise
distributed in or from this state without first obtaining a sterile compounding modifier

form the Board of Pharmacy.



Sending Applications and Documents
S S

Please send all fees, applications, and supporting documents to:

(Courier services use 37228)

Note: Sending applications and/or documents by special courier services will not appreciably reduce the time it takes to process an
application. It takes approximately eight (8) weeks for a license to be issued.



Understanding the Licensure Process

* Please allow ten (10) business days for information to be received.

* Once an application has been entered in our records, please allow up to 48 hours for an application status to

AEEUER  yndate online
Arrival P .

* Applications will undergo a preliminary review by a member of the administrative staff.
Nl sl ° Notification of application deficiencies will be provided via regular or electronic mail.

Review

* Resident facilities must satisfactorily pass an inspection conducted by a Board of Pharmacy investigator.
* Non-resident facilities must show proof of inspection by the state licensing agency.

* T.C.A. §63-10-216 requires compounding pharmacies to submit an inspection report issued within the previous
twelve(12) months.

* Upon receipt of all required documents, including proof of a satisfactory inspection, all applications will
undergo a final review.

* Upon approval, a license will be issued and mailed to the address provided. Please allow 7-14 business days
for receipt of the license certificate.



Verifying a License Status
S

—_1n

Please [imif phone colls and/or emaoils fo fhe
board c(ﬁrr recorcing fhe sfefus of an

applicafion.

You may verify license statuses here:
http:/ /health.state.tn.us /HCF /Facilities Listings /facilities.htm



http://health.state.tn.us/HCF/Facilities_Listings/facilities.htm
http://health.state.tn.us/HCF/Facilities_Listings/facilities.htm

Useful Links

Application for Pharmacy Business

Application for Manufacturer /Wholesale /Distributor License

Board of Pharmacy Rules

Controlled Substance Monitoring Database (CSMD)

Dispenser Exemption or Waiver Request form

Automation of Reports & Consolidated Order System (ARCOS) Reporting

National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP)

United States Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA)
U.S. Food & Drug Administration (FDA)

License Status Verification

o o O o o o o o o O



http://health.state.tn.us/boards/Pharmacy/PDFs/PH-4014.pdf
http://health.state.tn.us/boards/Pharmacy/PDFs/PH-4021.pdf
http://www.state.tn.us/sos/rules/1140/1140.htm
http://health.state.tn.us/boards/Controlledsubstance/index.shtml
http://health.state.tn.us/boards/Controlledsubstance/PDFs/PH-4138.pdf
http://health.tn.gov/apps/ARCOS/
http://www.nabp.net/
http://www.justice.gov/dea/index.shtml
http://www.fda.gov/
http://health.state.tn.us/HCF/Facilities_Listings/facilities.htm

Contacting the Board of Pharmacy

|-J_ ~ rrrecttorr e el recereterr e ?
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Contact the Board of Pharmacy _'

Phenes (615) 741=271
Fazs (61 5) 741 =27 22



