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Non-Smoker Protection Act Rules
Statement of Necessity Requiring Public Necessity Rules

The Commissioner of the Tennessee Department of Health ("Commissioner") makes this
statement pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-5-209(a)(4). The Commissioner hereby
promulgates the following public necessity rules required by enactment of the Non-
Smoker Protection Act, 2007 Tenn. Pub. Acts ch. 410 ("Act") (June 11, 2007).

Under the Act, the Commissioner must promulgate rules to implement the Act by
October 1, 2007, its effective date. 2007 Tenn. Pub. Acts ch. 410, § 5. Based upon the
effective date of the Act for rulemaking purposes (June 11, 2007), the Commissioner is
precluded from utilizing ordinary rulemaking procedures under Uniform Administrative
Procedures Act to timely promulgate permanent rules. 2007 Tenn. Pub. Acts ch. 410, §
5. Therefore, the Commissioner may properly promulgate these rules as public necessity
rules.

For purposes of promulgating these rules as rulemaking hearing rules, the earliest date
upon which the notice of rulemaking could have been filed for publication in the
Tennessee Administrative Register ("TAR") would have been on July 1, 2007, for
publication in the July, 15, 2007, issue of the TAR. Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-5-203(a). The
rulemaking hearing pursuant to that notice could not be held until 45 days from the date
of publication in the TAR, or, at the earliest, on August 15, 2007. Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-
5-203(b). Assuming that the Commissioner filed with the Secretary of State rulemaking
hearing rules on August 15, 2007, the rules would not become effective until the
expiration of 75 days from the date of filing with the Secretary of State, or, at the earliest,
on November 1, 2007. Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-5-207.

For purposes of promulgating these rules as proposed rules, assuming that the
- Commissioner filed the rules with the Secretary of State on June 11, 2007, and assuming
that no request for a rulemaking hearing is filed, the rules would not become effective
until the expiration of 120 days from the date of filing with the Secretary of State, or, at
the earliest, on October 9, 2007.

Further, the Act requires that, for purposes of promuigating rules, the Commissioner
consult with the Department of Labor and Workforce Development, 2007 Tenn. Pub.
Acts ch. 410, § 2. The Commissioner has acted as timely as possible under the
circumstances, and both agencies have jointly and expeditiously developed and
promulgated these rules. Under no circumstances, however, could these rules have been
effective on October 1, 2007, utilizing ordinary rulemaking procedures to timely
promulgate permanent rules.
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For a copy of this public necessity rule contact: Robert J. Kraemer, Jr., Assistant General
Counsel, Office of General Counsel, 220 Athens Way, Suite 210, Nashville, TN 37243,
(615) 741-1611.

DUoar Locpu LS

Susan R. Cooper, MSN, RN, Commissioner
Tennessee Department of Health
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1200-32-1-.01 Purpose.

(1)  The Non-Smoker Protection Act (“Act”) requires that on and after October
1, 2007, smoking be prohibited in all enclosed public places within the
State of Tennessee. It is the purpose of these rules to supplement the
provisions of that Act and provide the mechanisms by which the
Department of Health (“Department”) shall implement the enforcement
duties placed upon it by Section 1 of Chapter 410 of the Public Acts of
2007.

Authority: 2007 Tenn. Public Acts, ch. 410.
1200-32-1-.02 Public Places Regulated.

(1)  The Department shall be responsible for the enforcement activities
required by the Act in the following enclosed public places:

(a)  All health care facilities licensed, permitted or certified pursuant to
Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 68, Chapter 11; and

(b) All enclosed public places for which a license, permit or
certification must be obtained from any health related board
assigned to the Department’s Division of Health Related Boards
pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated, 68-1-101 before a health
related profession may be practiced therein; and
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(c)  All enclosed public places for which a license, permit or
certification must be obtained from the Department’s Division of
Emergency Medical Services; and

(d)  All other enclosed public places over which the Department has
regulatory authority pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated, Title
62, Title 68 or otherwise, including, but not limited, to the

following:

1. Restaurants

2. Indoor swimming pools

3. Food Service Establishments

4. Hotels

5. Bed and Breakfasts

6. Fast Food Establishments

7. Primary Health Care Centers

8. County and District Health Departments
9. Tattoo and Body Piercing Parlors
10. Organized Camps

For enforcement purposes as to the establishments listed above that choose
to be an “age-restricted venue”, and consistent with the liberal
construction required pursuant to Section 3 of Chapter 410 of the Public
Acts of 2007, the twenty one (21) years of age requirement contained in
the definition of “age-restricted venue,” set forth in Section 1 of Chapter
410 of the Public Acts of 2007, is intended to apply also to employees of
such venues.

To the extent that the Department of Labor and Workforce Development
has concurrent jurisdiction over those enclosed public places identified
above, all documentation of violations of the Act created or collected by
that Department during its normal inspection or regulatory duties may be
forwarded to the Department of Health for processing and disposition.

Authority: 2007 Tenn. Public Acts, ch. 410.

1200-32-1-.03 Signage.

(D

The “No Smoking” signs or the international “No Smoking” symbol
required by Section 1 of Chapter 410 of the Public Acts of 2007 to be
posted at every entrance to every public place and place of employment
where smoking is prohibited shall be clearly and conspicuously placed at a
height, location and in such a size as to be easily seen by a person with
normal vision entering the establishment and shall not be obscured in any
way.
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Authority: 2007 Tenn. Public Acts, ch. 410.

1200-32-1-.04 Violations.

(1)

During its routine inspections, investigations, surveys or other required
regulatory activities in the enclosed public places under its jurisdiction or
in response to complaints of violations of the Act occurring in any of those
enclosed public places, the Department shall document and collect
necessary information on any of the following listed violations of the Act:

(2)

(b)

Any persons knowingly smoking in a place where it is prohibited,;

or

Any owners, managers, operators or persons who otherwise control
a public place who knowingly fail to do any of the following:

1.

Communicate the smoking prohibition to existing and
prospective employees. For purposes of enforcement of this
rule, the existence of a written policy, handout or statement
for distribution to all employees and prospective employees
or a sign posted in any area(s) necessarily frequented by all
employees either or both of which communicates the
smoking prohibition constitutes compliance; and/or

Post no smoking sign or the universal no smoking symbol -
at every entrance to the public place as required by Section
1 of Chapter 410 of the Public Acts of 2007 and rule 1200-
32-1-.03; and/or

Either themselves or through their employees inform any
person violating the Act of the appropriate provisions of the
law.

Authority: 2007 Tenn. Public Acts, ch. 410.

1200-32-1-.05 Complaints.

M

Any person wishing to file a complaint against any person or public place
where smoking is prohibited for not complying with the provisions of this
Act may do so in one of the following ways:

(a)
(b)
(©)

By a telephone call to the Department; or

By submitting a complaint via the Internet; or

In writing to the Department.
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Authority: 2007 Tenn. Public Acts, ch. 410.

1200-32-1-.06 Penalties.

(D

e

3)

(4)

A person who knowingly smokes in an area where smoking is prohibited
by the provisions of the Act shall be subject to a civil penalty of fifty
dollars ($50).

A person who owns, manages, operates or otherwise controls any public
place where smoking is prohibited pursuant to the provisions of the Act
and who knowingly fails to comply with any provision of the Act shall be
subject to the following:

(a)  For a first violation in any twelve-month period, a written warning
from the Department, as appropriate;

(b)  For a second violation in any twelve-month period, a civil penalty
of one hundred dollars ($100); and

(c) For a third or subsequent violation in any twelve-month period, a
civil penalty of five hundred dollars ($500).

Each day on which a knowing violation of the Act occurs shall be
considered a separate and distinct violation.

The Department may, in those instances when a reported violation cannot
be substantiated, issue advisory letters to the public place wherein the
violation was alleged to have occurred. '

Authority: 2007 Tenn. Public Acts, ch. 410.

1200-32-1-.07 Enforcement Process, Appeals and Payment of Penalties.

(1)

@)

3)

Upon receipt of verification of a violation of the Act the Department shall
issue a written notice to the offender of the violation and the penalty
applicable to the violation. The written notice may be issued by certified
mail, delivery service, or personal service.

Any person receiving a notice of violation and penalty who wishes to
contest the determination of the violation and/or the assessment of the
penalty must, within ten (10) business days of receipt of the notice, file a
written request for an appeal with the Department.

Any request for an appeal timely received by the Department shall be
conducted pursuant to the provisions of the Uniform Administrative
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Procedures Act complied at Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5
and the Administrative Procedures Division of the Secretary of State’s
rules governing contested case proceedings compiled at Chapter 1360-4-1.

() In contested cases pursuant to this rule, the Department shall have
the burden of proof by a preponderance of the evidence to establish
that a person violated the Act.

Civil Penalty Payments

(a) Any person who is assessed a civil penalty pursuant to the Act who
does not timely file an appeal of that assessment must pay such
civil penalty on or before the thirtieth (30th) day after receipt of the
notice of violation and penalty.

(b) If the assessed civil penalty is timely appealed, the assessed
penalty must be paid no later than thirty (30) days after the date of
a final order affirming the assessed penalty.

(¢)  Payment of any civil penalty shall be made by check or money
order made payable to “Treasurer, State of Tennessee” and mailed
or delivered in person to the Department.

Authority: T.C.A. § 4-5-102(3), 68-1-103, 68-1-104 2007 Tenn. Public Acts, ch. 410;
Tenn. Const. art. 1, § 8.

1200-32-1-.08 Copy Costs.

(M

@)

Information gathered under or generated pursuant to the Act or rules
promulgated pursuant thereto shall, pursuant to the Public Records Act, be
made available to any citizen of the State of Tennessee upon request and
payment of a fee in the amount of twenty-five cents ($0.25) per page.

Payment of fees set forth in this rule shall be by check or money order
made payable to “Treasurer, State of Tennessee.” Fees must be prepaid
before requested information is sent. Payment of fees in cash shall not be
accepted by the Department.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 68-1-103, 10-7-503 and 10-7-506 and 2007 Tenn. Public Acts, ch.

410.

Legal Contact: Robert J. Kraemer, Jr., Assistant General Counsel, Office of General
Counsel, 220 Athens Way, Suite 210, Nashville, TN 37243, (615) 741-1611.

Contact for disk acquisition and/or party who will approve final copy: Robert J. Kraemer,
Jr., 220 Athens Way, Suite 210, Nashville, TN 37243, (615) 741-1611.
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Signature of the agency officer directly responsible for proposing and/or drafting these
rules and certifying that this is an accurate and complete copy of public necessity rules,

lawfully promulgated and adopted by the Department of Health on the / b4 (o) day of
September, 2007.

Suoa 1 RLEQAL I 1

Susan R. Cooper, MSN, RN, Commissioner
Tennessee Department of Health
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Subscribed and sworn to before me this the day of September, 20QFW 7
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My commission expires on the o?(—/ "hday of I’\/{)M-éw/ ,2007.

All public necessity rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney
General and Reporter of the State of Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant

to the provisions of the Adminisjrgtive Procedures Act, Tennessee Code Annotated, Title
4, Chapter 5, -~

The public necessity rulgs set out herein were properly filed in the Department of State

v, 200 -1, and will become effective from the
date of filing for a pgriod o days. These public necessity rules will remain in
.effect through the Z l day of archh ,200.4 .

Riley C. Darn
Secretary of State

By:




