
Case	Manager	Rules		

Frequently	Asked	Questions			

Tennessee	Bureau	of	Workers’	Compensation		

	

1	Where	will	the	new	rules	be	posted?	

	 	 a.	See	http://share.tn.gov/sos/rules_filings/05-19-16.pdf.	

	

2.		Who	is	considered	to	be	a	case	manager	that	has	to	comply	with	the	new	
rules?	

	 	 a.	Review	the	elements	of	case	management	(see	rule	0800-02-07-	
	 .04,	http://share.tn.gov/sos/rules_filings/05-19-16.pdf).		If	you	are	
	 providing	these	services	in	the	Tennessee	Workers’	Compensation	system,	
	 you	are	considered	to	be	a	case	manager	and	are	subject	to	these	rules,	
	 whether	your	services	are	provided	in	the	field	or	telephonically.	

	

3.		The	effective	date	of	the	rules	is	August	29,	2016.		What	does	that	mean?	

	 a.	While	the	effective	date	of	the	rule	is	August	29,	2016,	the	new	
certification,	continuing	educational	units	and	fee	requirements	will	go	into	
effect	January	1,	2017.			

	 b.	The	timeline	for	the	two-year	requirement	of	a	registered	Case	
Manager	Assistant	(CMA)	to	become	certified	in	one	of	the	categories	
under	the	definition	of	a	Case	Manager	(CM)	will	become	effective	January	
1,	2017.		This	means	that	any	active	CMA	registered	with	the	state	before	
January	1,	2017	will	be	required	to	become	a	CM	no	later	than	January	1,	
2019.		A	CMA	previously	registered	in	Tennessee	who	is	inactive	as	of	
January	1,	2017,	will	be	required	to	become	a	CM	within	two	years	of	



verification	of	renewed	active	status.	Any	CMA	that	registers	after	January	
1,	2017	will	be	required	to	be	a	CM	within	two	years	of	the	initial	
registration	date	(ex:	on	or	before	March	1,	2020	for	an	initial	CMA	
registration	dated	March	1,	2018).			

c.	Registration	fees	will	be	collected	starting	with	initial	registrations	
($100)	received	on	or	after	January	1,	2017.		The	renewal	fee	($50)	for	
these	applicants	will	be	required	every	two	years	thereafter	with	each	
renewal	application.	

d.	The	renewal	fee	($50)	for	CMs	and	CMAs	registered	prior	to	
January	1,	2017	will	be	collected	at	their	renewal	date	after	January	1,	
2017.		

	

4.		When	does	a	CM	have	to	provide	evidence	of	continuing	education	
units/hours?	

	 a.	Proof	of	at	least	4	hours	per	year	of	continuing	educational	units	
(for	each	year	of	the	registration	period)	specific	to	the	treatment	of	
injured	workers	under	the	Tennessee	Workers’	Compensation	law	must	be	
provided	with	every	registration	renewal	after	2017.		Renewals	in	2017	do	
not	have	to	show	evidence	of	the	hours.		Renewals	in	2018	will	have	to	
show	4	hours.		Renewals	after	2018	will	have	to	show	the	minimum	of	4	
hours	per	year.		Failure	to	provide	proof	of	this	requirement	will	result	in	
the	suspension	of	a	CM’s	ability	to	work	as	a	CM	in	Tennessee	workers’	
compensation	cases.			

	 		

5.		Do	the	new	rules	change	requirements	related	to	certifications/licenses	that	
have	been	provided	to	the	Bureau	in	the	past?	

		 a.	The	need	to	keep	certifications	(CCM,	etc.)	and/or	licenses	(RN,	
etc.)	up-to-date	with	the	Bureau	will	not	change.		This	means	that	as	soon	
as	a	renewed	certification	or	state	license	is	obtained,	the	Bureau	must	be	



sent	a	copy.	This	is	the	only	way	to	remain	actively	registered	with	the	
Bureau.		Allowing	a	license	or	certification	to	lapse	or	not	notifying	the	
Bureau	of	renewals	will	automatically	result	in	the	suspension	of	the	
person’s	registration,	and,	therefore,	the	person	will	not	be	allowed	to	
provide	case	management	services	to	workers’	compensation	cases	in	the	
Tennessee.		

	 b.	Only	CMs	and	CMAs	with	an	active	status	will	be	able	to	access	the	
workers’	compensation	portal	and	complete	the	required	notification	and	
closure	forms.		

	

6.	When	will	the	new	requirements	for	face-to-face	meetings	and	time	frames	
become	effective?	

	 	 a.	January	1,	2017.			

	

7.		When	will	the	new	complaint	provisions,	penalties,	disciplinary	and	appeal	
procedures	go	into	effect?	

a.	January	1,	2017.	A	complaint	received	prior	to	that	date	will	be	
judged	by	the	previous	rules.			

b.	A	complaint	received	after	January	1,	2017	for	behavior	or	activity	
that	occurred	before	that	date	will	likewise	be	judged	by	the	previous	rules.			

	


